Submitted by Douglas Smith

TO: The People of Barbados

We have contemplated this letter for some time but have restrained ourselves, believing that the behaviour would cease. However, we were listening to the Down to BrassTacks call-in show on Monday and we were once again assaulted by a contribution of the country’s most popular teenager, one Khaleel Kothdiwala. We recognized that this intervention is essential.

We hear many individuals in this country boldly proclaiming that Kothdiwala is headed to political office at the highest levels, most believing with certainty that he shall ascend to the office of Prime Minister. If this is the case, and he is to lead this country, we feel entitled to some answers to some vital questions.

We well remember his first public speech at the Lower Green some years ago, and the presence of two adults behind him on the stage, who we presume to have been his parents. At a cursory glance, one appears of African descent, and the other Indian. Does this ‘future leader’ of a nation of Blacks identify more as black or Indian? How do this self-identification affect his ability to lead?

Observing that he is partly-Indian, does he accept that many of his people have engaged in rank economic exploitation of black people by buying items and reselling to poor people at exorbitant mark-up? Is he ‘contrite’, as he likes to say, for this occurrence?

Is it true that young gentlemen attended an elite private school at the primary level, where most students are of wealthy, Caucasian extraction, meaning that he would have spent many of his formative years surrounded by rich whites? The entire country is aware that he now attends Queen’s College, considered to be an ‘intellectually elite’ grammar school. Does his and his parents’ choice of schooling show an implicit bias and elitism? Is he the best voice of the black working class? 

We are reliably informed by several students at Queen’s College that he is universally-loved there and is in fact their Head Boy. We also know that he has many ‘fans’ in the wider Barbados, who adore his appearance on a CBC youth show and fawn over his various mouthings and writings. Does he recognise that having so many black people almost hero-worshipping someone who looks like him is problematic and unhealthy for the black psyche?

Kothdiwala is well-known for his rabid attacks on a black-led political party as well as notable, successful black people, such as Senator Caswell Franklyn, our hero of democracy. He is perhaps best known for his campaign against the CXC, a black-conceived and black-led regional institution. Does he believe it is healthy that almost his entire fame and popularity is based upon his attacks on black personalities and institutions?

This is not intended as an attack on the young boy. We will leave attacks to him. We merely would like the answers to some key questions that will allow us to determine if he is an acceptable candidate to lead Barbados. We await his response. 

171 responses to “Who Is Khaleel Kothdiwala?”

1. Here we go again with the Overseas Bajan Leave Barbados Contingent!

Still seeing success through narrow eyes.

As successful as they claim to be I would not wish to emulate any of them.

2. “One day you shall lift the pot of hot coals, receive the mark of a shaolin monk and leave the monastery to make your contribution to the wide wide world”

but you have not passed that test sensei it reminds me of a teacher preacher with no spiritual energy who shall not be named as it makes him vexed with stress in his mind and body

3. @TLSN

I see you are getting your history from the cinema?

@Critical
    We are talking about medical racism and you are talking about vitamin D. Are you saying give black people more vitamin D and racism will end?
    Be serious. You sound like @Quaker John, but not as funny.

4. GPMarch 18, 2021 10:17 AM

RE GP I don’t see any private investor pumping money into that old broken down dead 🐴 called the Transport Board even if govt gave it away for free

ANGELA COX
    THAT WAS NOT THE POINT THAT I WAS MAKING….AND YOU KNOW IT.

LET ME REMIND YOU AGAIN THAT IT WAS THE DLP GOVERNMENT OF THE DAY, WHO AMALGAMATED MANY OF THE SMALL INDEPENDENT OR PRIVATE BUS COMPANIES IN 1969.
    AT A LATER DATE THIS FOLLY WAS CONTINUED TO ITS PRESENT STATE

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

A Fascist State takes over and controls the means of production.

Barbados thus qualifies.

Back then it was called Democratic Socialism, same leftist ideology as Fascism and Communism.

The ills in our economy today stem from there.

5. @ Hal,
    Absolutely not. I always use to love the classic Curtis Mayfield song “Freddie’s dead”. But was too young to associate it with political activism.

I was just making the point that the USA has always been blessed with a talent of young radical and political negro activists.

Unfortunately this movement never had the opportunity to grow and spread its roots in Barbados.

Who would have thought that a young man could be utilised in Barbados by this government as a storm trooper to suppress political debate within the country.

Hal, these are serious time for Barbados black masses. I fear for their long time survival.

6. @ John March 18, 2021 10:58 AM
    “Back then it was called Democratic Socialism, same leftist ideology as Fascism and Communism.
    The ills in our economy today stem from there.”

How then- compared to Barbados- do you explain China’s roaring economic success to the extent it has become the industrial HQ of the world to which the massive economy of the grand USA is symbiotically tied?

Wasn’t the modern State of Israel founded on socialist principles?

Do you know what the kibbutz system is?

Isn’t Quakerism a form of ‘enlightened’ Socialism?

7. RE MillerMarch 18, 2021 10:33 AM

@ GP March 18, 2021 10:02 AM

But, but Brother GP, who is doing the judging other than you who condemn all of us to the pits of hell unless they are Baptists like you?
    I AM NOT BAPTIST SATAN

RE Aren’t you judging people when you slanderously refer to the as the Sons and Daughters of Satan? Who has given you that right?
    THE WORD OF GOD SATAN.
    WHEN I COMPARE WHAT THE WORD OFGOD SAYS ABOIUT YOUR DADDY, I CAN CLEARLY SEE THAT YOU ARE HIS SON

RE Who is always predicting the coming of some ‘Rapture’ to rupture the skies and kill off the entire humanity except born again in the blood of your Jesus Christ?

ALTHOUGH THE RAPTURE IS NOT AN OT DOCTRINE, PER SE, IN THE OT RECORD THE TRANSLATION OF BOTH ENOCH AND ELIJAH PREFIGURESTHE RAPTURE
    THE RAPTURE IS ALLUDED TO BY JESUS IN JOHN 14:1-3 & 11: 25-26, AND EXPRESSLY TAUGHT IN 1 CORINTHIANS 15:51- 57, AS WELL AS 1 THESSALONIANS 4:14-18

RE Aren’t Muslims, of whom KK is one, going to be major victims of your coming holocaust?
    THIS IS NOWHERE TO BE FOUND IN THE BIBLE

RE Who has been judging Obama, his wife and children, the PM Mottley the Prime W. and now Joe Biden and his “hoe” Harris?
    WE SHALL SOON SEE, AS THE FATE OF SUCH MALEFACTORS ARE WELL DESCRIBED IN SEVERAL BIBLE PASSAGES, THAT YOU HAVE READ, AND THAT YOUR DADDY KNOWS WELL….AND TREMBLES

If you were a real follower of Yeshua aka Isa you would exemplify his No.1 ‘Golden Rule’ in your good works instead of your wicked diatribes.
    YOU KNOW NOTHING ABOUT ME OR MY WORKS

RE So what about his (Yeshua) No.2 rule:
    “Judge not, that you be not judged.
    For with the judgment you pronounce you will be judged, and with the measure you use it will be measured to you.
    IF YOU READ THIS WEEK’S SSS YOU WILL SEE THAT THE MEANING OF THIS VERSE IS THERE VERY WELL EXPLAINED

AS I SAID BEFORE YOU ARE GOOD PRACTICE FOR USE IN TEACHING A COURSE IN CHRISTIAN APOLOGETICS

IN CRICKET TERMS => WAYWARD UP AND DOWN BOWLING OF BOTH POOR LENGTH AND LINE

8. RE How then- compared to Barbados- do you explain China’s roaring economic success to the extent it has become the industrial HQ of the world to which the massive economy of the grand USA is symbiotically tied?

SLAVE CAMPS AND OTHER FORMS OF CORRUPTION INCLUDING AID FROM THE SWAMP IN THE USA WHICH TRUMP SOUGHT TO QUELL

9. @TLSN

In the 1960s, we had Leroy Harewood, John Connell, Calvin Alleyne, Glenroy Straughan, et al. We had the People’s Progressive Movement, and in the 1970s we had other organisations, of which @William can give more information.
    Before that, in the 1940s and 50s, we had Wynter Crawford, Dan Blackett, Bolden, who had a welding shop in Carrington Village, et al.
    This is the most conservative and reactionary generation of Barbadians since the turn of the 20th century – and the best formally educated.
    Then we had Barbadians outside of Barbados: Peter Blackman senior (an old HC man), the grandfather of our outstanding children’s author; Phil Sealy, Aaron Haynes, and numerous other men and women.
    We also had CLR James (of Barbadian heritage) Chris Brathwaite, George Padmore, Claudia Jones, her sister Althea LeCointe (of Mangrove Nine fame), her husband Eddie LeCointe, Cecil Gutzmore, Rhodan Gordon (of Mangrove Nine), Darcus Howe (of Barbadian heritage and Mangrove Nine), et al.
    Do not forget the Barbadians and other Caribbean people who contributed to the Harlem Renaissance and the later Black Power movement.
    There is a long history of Caribbean radicalism. Cinema is entertainment, and we have to be careful we do not get our history from the cinema and TV.

10. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Donna’
    “Here we go again with the Overseas Bajan Leave Barbados Contingent!”
    It is not about success, but OPPORTUNITY. The opportunity to exist where diversity is celebrated. Imagine, a few months back, a K, KH vs KK, of very similar ancestry was being celebrated by many. Not in Bim. His lack of 100% African ancestry is a problem. He may identify as Asian?? He is less Barbadian than if both his parents were African?? (even though the lot of us have all kind of mixed heritages)
    Before you call out this a**hole who penned this thread, you are vexed we are playing the ‘get out jail free’ card. The jail (intolerance) was inculcated by this racial profiling, seemingly born from some angle of political opposition. Your friend(?) Waru must be under the weather, for even she, the self proclaimed spokesperson of the Black Majority population, has taken apart the CXC.

11. GP it is not a matter of who sells what
    There are also mitigating factors which lends themselves to the return of a profitable margin which also entails how much the market will bear in an unstable and unsteady Covid environment and how much impact the sale would serve or not serve purpose to those already employed at the Transport Board
    The Hilton if had been sold would not have presented that many negatives
    Most likely those employed would have retain their positions with very little movement towards redundancy

12. “shall we name and shame the Indian haters in pre-emptive strikes
    waru”

so now ya speaking for me when i did not give you permission…since i don’t use the word hate…

any mixed ancestry can be found in my bloodlines…but that does not mean i will not pull up and EXPOSE racists and thieves from any of the groups…not here to coddle those who engage in oppression, suppression, disenfranchisement and OUTRIGHT DISREPECT….of the majority Black population…..and many, many indians and others in Barbados engage in this…IT’S NO SECRET…

so if you don’t know what ya talking about, i suggest you ask people on the island who do..

and we haven’t even gotten to Guyana and Trinidad yet.

13. Northern…CXC is not to be given any free pass…they have proven that some delusional ego trip exists among them other things goes on with those behind the scenes where THEY DO NOT HAVE THE BEST INTERESTS OF the region’s children as a prioritiy….i won’t trust them as far as i can see that shady looking building they got there in Collymore Rock..

14. AC
    i UNDERSTAN WHAT YOU ARE SAYING, BUT HAVE YOU UNDERSTOOD WHAT I SAID?
    I AM SAYING THAT IN THE DAYS OF APPARENT PROSPERITY, THAT DECISIONS WERE MADE BY SOME OF OUR INFERIOR SUPERIORS, BEFORE THEY WENT TO THEIR GRAVES, THAT HAVE NOW YEARS LATER LED US TO OUR ECONOMIC, MORAL AD SPIRITUAL GRAVE……AND WE ARE NOT ALLOWED HERE TO MENTION THIER PARTICULAR PROPENSITIES AND PROLIVITIES.

15. @ Hal,
    Thanks for the roll call of names. I would be interested to know how many Bajans throughout the world would have heard of these names.

@ Waru,
    Race may be the elephant in room. But please remember that it is a subject that cannot be discussed openly in a coloured blind country. After all we do not want our minorities to feel uncomfortable; nor our tourists or long term visitors.

16. Just out of interest, have you ever stopped to consider why black+white=black? Are the genes stronger?
    So tired of all this. And don’t talk about having to discuss. If we/you just accept ourselves surely we would have truly moved on. We would have then been able to appreciate more where we reached and build better for were we wish to go.
    ?

17. MillerMarch 18, 2021 11:20 AM

Isn’t Quakerism a form of ‘enlightened’ Socialism?

No, individuals own their means of production in Quakerism.

Slavery however produced a socialist utopia on the plantation where the slave was taken care of from cradle to grave.

Quakers ended this socialist utopia they came and found and gave the individual slaves their freedom and the rights to own their own means of production and to be recompensed for their labour.

Slaves, whether they realised it or not gave up their rights to be fed, housed and clothed and have their medical needs attended to.

These they purchased after emancipation from the income generated by their individual toil.

As it should be.

18. Quaker John

Barclays, Jordans, Rowntrees, Birkbeck, Cadbury, Fry – all great Quakers and all with a passion for workers’ rights.
    Is there a difference between Philanthropic Capitalism and social democracy?

19. “Unfortunately this movement never had the opportunity to grow and spread its roots in Barbados.”

house Slaves would still do the most to stop it although they see how the island is declining at a rapid pace.

“Errol Barrow, who was an elitist, stated that the black conscious movement was not to be imported into the country.”

the mentally enslaved indoctrinated that cemented the neo-colonialism and crypto-racism firmly in place and destroyed all things African…we see the rot and decay today…..have no clue what they thought would happen when they let those twin cancers on the loose in a vulnerable Black majority country….just out of emancipaton.

20. “After all we do not want our minorities to feel uncomfortable; nor our tourists or long term visitors.”

too late, it’s already been exposed to the world, all they can do is watch what happens next…watch it all unfold, no one give one damn what they think or how they fell…

I posted a recent video where an African leader refuses to continue exporting cocoa and gold….this is just one of a hundred or more reasons why….the greedy picgs for western companies continue to exploit and enslave…

https://youtu.be/DXEHKptinSM

21. no one gives one damn what they think or how they feel…that REIGN IS OVER, the parliament Negros and the Slaves can work and take care of them…..coddle and massage them, no one needs any of them, they deserve each other…

22. “Slavery however produced a socialist utopia on the plantation where the slave was taken care of from cradle to grave.
    :: ::
    Slaves, whether they realised it or not gave up their rights to be fed, housed and clothed and have their medical needs attended to.

You were fooled stupid by your parents in their plantation with fairy tales of how good slavery was and you sound just like a brainwashed white South African when they used to defend apartheid

Slavery was about exploitation of the black race for capitalism by the white race

No doubt you will talk about ‘slavery’ by other races which was more akin to having servants

starting at 05:27​ Slavery Dubplate, Icho Candy

23. “so if you don’t know what ya talking about, i suggest you ask people on the island who do..”

Give some specifics of how Indians mistreated you.
    I called out racism for black diatribes against Indians
    they may think they are liberators for blacks but seem like hypocrites to me

24. @ John March 18, 2021 1:49 PM
    “Quakers ended this socialist utopia they came and found and gave the individual slaves their freedom and the rights to own their own means of production and to be recompensed for their labour.”

You are contradicting yourself, John!

The same way you confused yourself with your ‘trumped-up’ tissue of lies about the last November presidential election outcome with you even having the guts to lie up to the bitter end of January 20th.

You are even still lacking the basic decency to accept that your idol is nothing more than a Covid-infected tissue discarded to the political dustbin of history.

How could the Quakers in Barbados be enlightened capitalists when they themselves were the biggest owners of the slaves living on the same socialist utopian plantations? Can’t the Anglican argue the same humanitarian approach to their involvement in black chattel slavery?
    Who do you think used to work those ‘glebe’ lands? Monkeys in straw hats?

How could have the black slaves ever become owners of their own “means of production” when they were legally banned from owning land and lacking the independent means to earn money to even entertain such a venture?

Why did you think the Freehold Tenantries Act was put on the statute book in the early 1980’s or thereabout?

Stop telling lies on the poor Quakers. There were first and foremost slave owners even if with the compassionately lustful intention of impregnating their own stock of nigg**er bed wenches.

25. I have not read most of the responses, but will address the article itself, only in short form, because that is all that it deserves.

The article is blatantly racist and is hypocritical. ”We do not intend this as an attack on the young boy. We will leave the attacks to him”.

It is most surely a direct attack on him and his history. It directly blames his ancestors for exploitation of black people and tries to place blame on him. No? Then why even ask how he considers it? The second sentence is also a barb. Whomever wrote this is one of those who whispers rumours and then puts a caveat that ‘but that ent come from me, I ent so’.

Honestly I have not read most of the young fellow’s submissions. However, the few that I have read showed someone trying to discuss rationally and that is enough for me. Surely I would disagree with some of his assertions, but in the matter of the CXC, he is quite right to stand up and be counted.

The lack of responsive action and interactive discussion by those at the CXC, with students, is appalling.

THIS is the destructive mentality that Barbados cannot afford. Especially seeing someone young and positive who wishes to contribute to the development of Barbados.

I actually wonder, if the article is a blast piece, trying to paint mud on him, but coming from an altogether different source, who is threatened by his youthful agitation, under the guise of an alter ego?

26. @Crusoe

You comment defines what is meant when some quote ‘you shall know them by their fruit’.

27. cRUSOE’S COMMENT IS NO MORE LAUDABLE THAN OTHERS THAT HAVE BEEN ALREADY MADE TODAY
    IS CRUSOE IN THE CLUB? AND OF THE CLIQUE?

28. Trump hopes Meghan Markle runs for US Presidency in 2024 if Biden does not run as he believes he can beat her.
    GP will not live to see that day as he believes the rapture and end times are coming on it’s way and is doubling down on the dumbness of his delusion.

29. 555dubstreetMarch 18, 2021 3:46 PM

Only someone born in the US can be President. So, for example, Her and Harry’s daughter could be President one day. Especially if she goes through Harvard or Yale as is a possibility.

Imagine that, the Royals may have a cousin who is Pres on the other side of the pond.

30. 🐇
    When all else fails, quaker tales

“Slavery however produced a socialist utopia on the plantation where the slave was taken care of from cradle to grave.”
    Utopia? Taken care of from cradle to grave? Did you realize that it was the that sent many to the grave?

“Slaves, whether they realised it or not gave up their rights to be fed, housed and clothed and have their medical needs attended to.”
    If slavery was so good, how come you refuse my offer of free food, housing, clothing and medical care. I have a dental plan that will have you screaming ..

31. Correction 555Dub, I thought that Meghan was born in Canada. I was wrong.

32. @David, I wonder about the constant attempts to derail the blog. Have you figured out the motive?

33. @Crusoe

Yes, prefer not to elaborate at this time.

34. Blogmaster,
    Rabbit needs his own SSS blog. Sham Slave Stories.

35. The Meghan and Harry blog is blocked. Given the latest report, it should be re-opened. Once again the tabloids are at it.

36. @Crusoe,
    In my opinion, this is a blog that should be put to bed.
    It represent yet another vicious assault on the youths of Barbados.
    Same game, different name.

37. If you block the blog will the malevolence go away or is it a case of papering over. It is important for Khaleel to know what he is up against. A few on the blog can learn from.

38. TheOGazertsMarch 18, 2021 6:08 AM

Struggling to understand this post. Was never a fan of KK but I strongly disagree with this anti-KK rant.

He did not choose his parents, his race or where he was born and where choices could be made it appears that fellow citizens chose him.

Unable to contribute.

Grasshopper

I thought you said you had nothing to contribute.

Here I was thinking you had progressed in your spiritual growth

39. Barbadians must unite – Barbadians must unite: https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/03/18/barbadians-must-unite/

40. Hal

I am Interested in the Jordan family locally.

Quaker for sure, from the north of the island.

41. GP can not comment for or against what took place in those years going back to the sixties of which u spoke
    However my point presently is of concern how privatisation in a small economy having no real economic productivity which would have to become a safety net for those losing jobs when private ownership replace govt management
    Looking at the workforce of the Transport board and there is no doubt that new owners would not have an appetite to maintain the man power which govt holds
    Also govt would not be able to escape such a fallout leading to more people having to turn to social programs for help
    Another financial burden which govt would have to absorb

42. @Rabbit
    I do not see suggesting the blog should be closed as a contribution to the rant.
    If KK was my son, I would tell him not to read this blog. He does not need the negativity.

43. David BU this article is a failed blatant attempt at mudslinging at the youngster.A very poor attempt probably by one of Mariposa, s dems.I would encourage the youngster to continue to have his say and stay strong.All will not agree but c’est la vie.

44. Hal AustinMarch 18, 2021 2:04 PM

Quaker John

Barclays, Jordans, Rowntrees, Birkbeck, Cadbury, Fry – all great Quakers and all with a passion for workers’ rights.
    Is there a difference between Philanthropic Capitalism and social democracy?

The secret to a successful capitalist system is good treatment of labour.

Mutual respect works wonders!!

45. You could hush.

46. Sometimes issues and blogs that address racism feed the racists and gives them fodder for their psyops and propaganda.
    USA and UK have showed what happens when you empower racists in politics with Trump and Brexit which offered nothing and is setting the bar low and the lowest common denominator for cheap votes. Politicians may not even believe their own crap but it kills debate in elections.

47. @ TheoGazerts who wrote ” If KK was my son, I would tell him not to read this blog. He does not need the negativity.”

I suggest you do a little research and see the role his parents are playing in his political ascendancy .

48. @ Quaker John

The Jordans are rather interesting. They are best known in the UK for Jordans Cereals. There is a village called Jordans, about 40 miles outside London in Buckinghamshire, a typical Quaker village.
    They have a very good cricket team which I used to play against. Alcohol is not allowed in the village, and as a result all around the village are pubs, off licences and restaurants.
    The net result was that after the game there was a mad rush for the pubs/restaurants. I love the cereals.

49. William Skinner Avatar

@ 555 Dubstreet
    You are totally out of line reference me as an Indian hater. You know absolutely nothing about me and I know less about you. Furthermore, I can embarrass you fully right now but I tend to keep my family out of my political and social activism. There is no way I can be an Indian hater . I completely reject the local Indians parasitic corporate and social behavior and that is known by now by the whole of Barbados. That’s not hatred – it’s a personally held political view based on fact and not misplaced emotionalism. You or nobody else on this blog can shame me . My views are known to all and sundry.
    Furthermore, from the time Mr. Kothdiwala’ wrote his first article on BU,I said that it was refreshing to have a young Barbadian so engaged. As far as I am concerned any Barbadian of any race or any social and economic standing has a right to enter politics or anything else that he or she deems in their interest. Mr. Kithdiwala is certainly no exception as far as I am concerned.
    So the next time you put pen to paper or hit the keys think before you write and by the way if you or anybody else think,you will gain Massa points by exposing me- think again every white and Indian in Barbados knows how William Skinner views them and he has made it public going back more than 50 years that they are exploiters of the working class and have a disproportionate wealth that must be questioned by any body who believes that such wealth was built on the backs of the Black working class aided and abetted by the Black political class.
    I don’t hate ; I educate and agitate.
    I wish Mr. Kothduwala all the best in his activism and politics. However I disagree with at least 90 percent of what he writes. I don’t expect him to agree with anything I write.

50. @Hants
    I would love for my son to rule the world. I would motivate, plan, pull, push, drag and carry him if it was necessary for me to do so.

I would discourage him from imbibing negativity. The kid still has some years in the wilderness.

Leave a Reply to 555dubstreetCancel reply