Submitted by Douglas Smith

TO: The People of Barbados

We have contemplated this letter for some time but have restrained ourselves, believing that the behaviour would cease. However, we were listening to the Down to BrassTacks call-in show on Monday and we were once again assaulted by a contribution of the country’s most popular teenager, one Khaleel Kothdiwala. We recognized that this intervention is essential.

We hear many individuals in this country boldly proclaiming that Kothdiwala is headed to political office at the highest levels, most believing with certainty that he shall ascend to the office of Prime Minister. If this is the case, and he is to lead this country, we feel entitled to some answers to some vital questions.

We well remember his first public speech at the Lower Green some years ago, and the presence of two adults behind him on the stage, who we presume to have been his parents. At a cursory glance, one appears of African descent, and the other Indian. Does this ‘future leader’ of a nation of Blacks identify more as black or Indian? How do this self-identification affect his ability to lead?

Observing that he is partly-Indian, does he accept that many of his people have engaged in rank economic exploitation of black people by buying items and reselling to poor people at exorbitant mark-up? Is he ‘contrite’, as he likes to say, for this occurrence?

Is it true that young gentlemen attended an elite private school at the primary level, where most students are of wealthy, Caucasian extraction, meaning that he would have spent many of his formative years surrounded by rich whites? The entire country is aware that he now attends Queen’s College, considered to be an ‘intellectually elite’ grammar school. Does his and his parents’ choice of schooling show an implicit bias and elitism? Is he the best voice of the black working class? 

We are reliably informed by several students at Queen’s College that he is universally-loved there and is in fact their Head Boy. We also know that he has many ‘fans’ in the wider Barbados, who adore his appearance on a CBC youth show and fawn over his various mouthings and writings. Does he recognise that having so many black people almost hero-worshipping someone who looks like him is problematic and unhealthy for the black psyche?

Kothdiwala is well-known for his rabid attacks on a black-led political party as well as notable, successful black people, such as Senator Caswell Franklyn, our hero of democracy. He is perhaps best known for his campaign against the CXC, a black-conceived and black-led regional institution. Does he believe it is healthy that almost his entire fame and popularity is based upon his attacks on black personalities and institutions?

This is not intended as an attack on the young boy. We will leave attacks to him. We merely would like the answers to some key questions that will allow us to determine if he is an acceptable candidate to lead Barbados. We await his response. 

171 responses to “Who Is Khaleel Kothdiwala?”

1. Not suspended, comments go to be moderated by the blogmaster.

2. Aphria, Aurora And Other Big Ag Cannabis Companies Pull Out Of Jamaica

Cnn

3. THESE PEOPLE ARE NOT IN
    THE TRIBE

4. Dub555 and things have mellowed out for 1 day which was a good day.

Yes, the comments were all very balanced and responsible, compared to the past many months which have been infected with inventive and nonsense.

So, think on whether the motives of any persons who have been on the blog are here with the intent to genuinely contribute or to distract and demean the blog.

5. A lotta a what some ah wunna contribute to BU gives succour to the author of this bilge. I recall the conditioned one referring to Khaleel as if his WHOLE mother isn’t as dark as he himself. Yet likes to talk about attacking personalities? I just caaant!

6. Hope Barbados govt is paying close attention to what is happening in Jamaica with the stunning unfolding situation going on in the cannabis industry
    Hmm

7. All of them a bunch of small time SELLOUT FRAUDS and Jokers.

“#BTEditorial – Time for action, or shut up and drive! – by Barbados Today March 19, 2021
    “Around and around we go, where we stop nobody knows.” This rhyming idiom readily comes to mind when we repeatedly hear talk of “privatisation” because the State can no longer foot the close to $200 million bills annually to provide public transport.

For decades, minister after minister, administration after administration have used the hallowed halls of the House of Assembly to lament and pontificate about the hefty load that the Government continues to carry.

This week’s Annual Estimates Debate 2021-2022 was no different. With only months into his new portfolio Minister of Transport, Works and Water Resources, Ian Gooding-Edghill joined the chorus on the floor of Parliament. His ministry, incidentally, is to be allotted $110,164, 376 for the financial year starting April 1.

Gooding-Edghill said: “The Government of Barbados continues to carry a substantial investment in public transport; the investment in electric vehicles plus the ongoing annual subsidy. Now the Government cannot continue to carry such a load . . .”

He then swiftly assured that plans to tackle the haemorrhage at the Transport Board would not affect jobs.

“The plan that we envisage for public transport will not realise or see any persons being displaced in terms of unemployment. It will be a wholesome plan, but at the end of the day, the plan will result in the Government being freed up from carrying the substantial load that they currently carry.”

And therein lies the problem.

Any decision made on the future of the Transport Board may have an initial adverse effect. Continuing to foot the bill will hurt the Treasury and by extension taxpayers. A move to privatise could affect jobs. So instead of opting to take the road less travelled, those in authority at the Transport Board often talk but never get the vehicle started. However, it is clear that the decision has to be made. Make it and simply stick to it. The years of talk and talk and talk on this topic is now amounting to verbal diarrhoea.”

8. WURA-War-on-UMarch 20, 2021 9:45 AM

How in the blazes can a public entity operate profitably when it is competing against privately run operators, who hustle the most profitable short routes.

Only a complete johnny would expect that to generate a profit. The private operators are also owned by gosh knows whom and have made multi-millions from the Barbadian public and taxpayers over the years.

In effect, what you have is the taxpayer SUBSIDISING THE PROFITS of private operators. Yes, that it actually it. You are taking taxpayer money to run unprofitable long routes and letting the private people corn revenue in the quick runs.

Either immediately nationalise ALL publicly available transport or immediately privatise all publicly available transport.

One or the other.

My own preference would be to nationalise all. Then together with the buses, you implement a ferry from Speightstown to Bridgetown and Oistins to take pressure off of the roads.

This will also be a tourist attraction, taking the ferries up and down the coast.

For the St.Joseph route, assess the feasibility of re-installing a train from Belleplaine and Bathsheba to Oistins. From Oistins people can either catch the bus or ferry.

Another train running from St.John to either Rowans or Lower Estate.

The idea would be to move volume quickly and more cheaply per head. People so doing could also bring produce to town cheaper.

In Bridgetown, implement a circle train and no vehicular traffic through. All traffic around Bridgetown with parking at lots just outside.

9. Stop telling half stories! I am sure it was said that 18 contractors, including Preconco, were selected after a public tender for JV with government to build houses. If more of you talked less and acted more, you would have invested in a black construction company or established one and submitted a bid. But wunna is all talk and grandstanding. JV is the only way government-assisted housing at the levels required can be provided.

10. @EnuffMarch 20, 2021 12:05 PM

Very true!

We need a new emergency directive against false claims on the Internet.

11. I see Baje has decided to keep his “cunt”.

12. @ Enuff March 20, 2021 12:05 PM
    “Stop telling half stories! I am sure it was said that 18 contractors, including Preconco, were selected after a public tender for JV with government to build houses. If more of you talked less and acted more, you would have invested in a black construction company or established one and submitted a bid. But wunna is all talk and grandstanding. JV is the only way government-assisted housing at the levels required can be provided.”

Is your “Preconco” the same entity whose principal is the same person vilified by the current administration when it was in Opposition looking to overthrow and replace the corrupt crooks in yellow and blue?

Is this the same company which was criticised for constructing overly expensive social housing units whose deliberate cost overruns had to be paid for only by way of the previous administration breaking the rules through raiding the Housing Credit Fund?

Is this the same ‘contractor company’ whose principal was viewed by your Supreme leader as being ‘contributory negligent’ for the death of a child because he refused to adhere to the lawfully issued instructions from the CTO of the MTW to cease and desist and remove an ‘erection’ technically deemed dangerous to road users?

Why should those public officers entrusted with the spending of taxpayers money entertain any proposal to provide social housing solutions from a person who has shown such blatant disrespect for the Town & Country planning laws of the Land?

Why can’t other contractors with solid track records take up any share(s) which the law-breaking principal driving around in a duty-free luxury Mercedes by a ghost Sales Director as his chauffeur must morally NOT be entitled to?

Let him complete his contracted commitments of building the Hyatt hotel before he can drive around at taxpayers’ expense in luxury to observe the building of houses for poor people.

Now Go ahead and do your usual intellectual disrespectful Bajan ‘Stupsing’ and political low-class “blocking” as is your custom on BU.

13. The GROTTO fiasco alone should disqualify Maloney companies from taxpayer funded contracts.

14. David
    I ain’t here to defend Maloney, you know very well I have repeatedly said on BU I am not a fan. But on what grounds would he be disqualified? All yuh ain’t busy touting the unconstitutionality of the Emergency Act? Maybe if the woke crew on BU acted more and talked less, the government would not have to engage with Maloney. In case you missed it, that was the crux of my post.

15. @ Enuff March 20, 2021 5:11 PM
    “But on what grounds would he be disqualified?”

You have been told!

This is a taxpayer-funded social housing project.
    Not a private sector profit-maximizing scheme like the Coverly military housing camp.

For breaking the T&CP rules (on more than once occasion) with which you are quite au fait.

Because of too much cost overruns in the Grotto fiasco about which you were most exuberantly critical.

More so, for failing to live up to his commitment to construct a hotel to create significant employment opportunities in exchange for a duty-free luxury vehicle and other promised tax breaks.

‘Those who seek equity must come with clean hands’.

16. @ David March 20, 2021 3:51 PM

The island belongs to Baloney, Jerkham, Kyffin and the Williams brothers. The rest is just tropical theater.

It would therefore finally be time to reflect the true balance of power in the Senate. Instead of the opposition senators (especially the outspoken senator), the above-mentioned gentlemen should sit there. Should we get a presidential constitution in the medium term, I propose that the gentlemen mentioned be promoted to the rank of presidential councillors. In general, I think it is time to bestow a knighthood on Baloney. He has done more for alchemy than any other Barbadian, specifically the art of charging grossly inflated prices for cheap concrete.

17. @enuff

Have no idea the grounds but what we know transpired on the Grotto project there should be enough evidence somewhere. The blogmaster is mighty uncomfortable that taxpayers were robbed on that deal with no consequences to key players.

18. So now the fowl Slave is blaming BU bloggers for the government consorting with crooks that they said were corrupt and they had this big red bag of evidence of maloney corruption with DLP TO PROSECUTE……..so what are bloggers getting blamed for again…

is alyuh LIES and FRAUD to the electorate, biting yo asses now….

2023…SOON HERE…

many people are rising above short memory syndrome, so they will FORGET NOTHING….all the lies and false promises made while running around everywhere and invoking the names of minority thieves., and setting up the people to be ROBBED…..tiktok.

19. Miller…ya done know if the racists and thieves in the community feel that this government will be KICKED TO THE CURB….they will shift gears and start recruiting another bunch of nogood sellout negros….these are replaceable…they are the only ones who think they are not…

20. “My own preference would be to nationalise all. Then together with the buses, you implement a ferry from Speightstown to Bridgetown and Oistins to take pressure off of the roads.”

all you are suggesting calls for MAINTAINANCE and Barbados’ governments maintain nothing…

they turn off people with that backward nonsense…i won’t put stock or money in anything they do..

21. Congrats to young Khaleel.

New Nation columnist
    The Daily Nation will have a new columnist on Tuesdays.
    He is young Khaleel Kothdiwala, who was the subject of a recent failed bid by Government to have an 18-year-old sit in the Senate.
    Khaleel says he is eager to add Another Voice – the title of his column – to the debate on national and international issues, particularly from a youth’s perspective.
    So look out for this Tuesday’s Daily Nation and read what he has to say.