Submitted by Dr. GP

2 Timothy 2 v 15 is certainly one of my favourite Bible verses. As the Apostle Paul  approached death he wrote  the letter to his protege Timothy which we know as 2 Timothy. In chapter two of this missive he gives the philosophy of education of any sort,  i. e  And the things that thou hast heard of me among many witnesses, the same commit thou to faithful men, who shall be able to teach others also. In other words, knowledge and instruction must always be passed on the faithful trustworthy persons, who would pass such information on to  other faithful trustworthy persons, in a chain.

At verse 15, Paul asserts that to do this well, one must practice the discipline and endurance of a farmer, a soldier and an athlete and STUDY! Study to shew thyself approved unto God, a workman that needeth not to be ashamed, rightly dividing the word of truth.

This week’s Sweet Sunday Sermon are my notes on this verse, and  is thus entitled “Study to shew thyself approved unto God”

136 responses to “Sweet Sunday Sermon – Study to shew thyself approved unto God”

1. David
    You speak as though this status quo existed from the begining of time.

The truth is that your super being is not a human condition at all and is really a very recent imposition. Afrikans in these here islands never knew of this White man’s god until 500 years ago, max.

Well, yuh can’t never have both your White god in the sky and real community of earth. Choose ye this day whom you will serve!

2. Religion was also used to form a cohesive society.

Were the first gods invented by white men?

Is Christianity the white man’s creation or was it harnessed, distorted and misused by the white man?

Religion, like everything else is not inherently evil. It depends on the hands it falls into.

3. @Pacha

A white god or a black god – potato potatoe. Individuals have the right to embrace the theology they are minded. This is especially so in an enlightened age. Agree with that religion has been used and continues to be as a tool by 2nd estate.

4. (Quote):
    “Religion was also used to form a cohesive society.” (Unquote).

That’s what ‘civilization’ is all about.

How could the pale skin people invent the “first gods” when they were not the first “civilized” people on the planet?

Maybe we could check out the Sumerians and their belief in the Anunnaki gods.

Isn’t the Hindu pantheon of gods for every human desire under the Sun the most attractive equal opportunity ‘scheme of religion’ on offer today?

5. Psalm 14

King James Version

14 The fool hath said in his heart, There is no God. They are corrupt, they have done abominable works, there is none that doeth good.

2 The Lord looked down from heaven upon the children of men, to see if there were any that did understand, and seek God.

3 They are all gone aside, they are all together become filthy: there is none that doeth good, no, not one.

6. Neither Donna nor David want to answer the central question.

Where within the annuls of mankind has a people served somebody else’s god and was able to develop a sturdy community with economy as base.

Stop circling around the edges and get to the centre.

7. ““If we accept the premise that the present-day education of our youth both deeducate and miseducate them, we then should examine carefully what is taught in the schools and strive carefully to supplement, augment, repudiate or reject those teaching that continue to drive black people mad. But most urgently, we really have no alternative but to Africanize the curriculum.” Dr. Jacob H. Carruthers aka Jedi Shemsu Jehewty”

8. Buddhism and Jesus moved away from social rules of their respective religions to develop philosophies for unity of humanity.
    People are the same with more in common regardless of their tribes and cultures. In order to meditate for long periods monks started practise of yoga to cultivate internal energy drawing external energy from earth, air around and heavens above. Their movements of exercise are similar to the dance moves of African and other native tribes as their bodies work the same way.
    Liberation and Freedom is better than control.

9. I have no idea and so I cannot answer the question that Pachamama asks.

You will have to start the ball rolling if you want Bajans to make their own gods. If you are suggesting they return to African religion, I doubt that is possible. The best that will happen is that they will believe in nothing. We are well on our way to that. I hope you are happy with the results.

10. The dominant religion in Japan is Buddhism. Gautama Buddha was an Indian. Japan is the third or fourth biggest economy in the world.

11. I had forgotten about the Japanese.

12. Pachamama,

As much as I love my African roots I don’t see myself returning to all things African. I would love to link up and learn more about my ancestors but I doubt that would totally remake me in their image. For me it has been enough to recognise and celebrate the remnants that have stubbornly survived and those remnants are actually quite significant.

Like it or not we are a new concoction. I have no problem with that.

13. Humanity Version 1.0

14. perfect occasion for this;.

“Hail, O ye who make perfect souls to enter into the House of Osiris, make ye the well-instructed soul of the Osiris the scribe Ani, whose word is true, to enter in and to be with you in the House of Osiris. Let him hear even as ye hear; let him have sight even as ye have sight; let him stand up even as ye stand up; let him take his seat even as ye take your seats. “

15. ‘The devil advocate’s son (GP), appears not to be playing ball with Satan’s off-spring on his very own religious blog.’

GP, where art thou?

16. Donna March 15, 2021 8:50 AM Religion was also used to form a cohesive society. Were the first gods invented by white men?
    Is Christianity the white man’s creation or was it harnessed, distorted and misused by the white man? Religion, like everything else is not inherently evil. It depends on the hands it falls into.

Excellent comment, accurate and to the point.

17. The problem with the indoctrinated of the european negro slave bible, they believe that is all…

.disconnnected and lost..

18. Who is a goy?
    You may have heard the term “goyim” and know this is the way that Jews often refer to non-Jews, or in English, “Gentiles.” You might even think this is a negative term, an insult which expresses animosity towards those who are not Jewish. In fact, the opposite is true!
    • In the days of the Bible, the Hebrew word goy גוֹי was simply the way of saying “nation.” Each of the great peoples of the world (the Egyptians, the Babylonians, the Assyrians) is called a goy in the Bible. The people of Israel are also called a goy (Genesis 12:2). The prophet Isaiah imagines a wonderful messianic future where, “nation (goy) shall not lift up sword against nation (goy)” (Isa. 2:4).

The Chosen People Alone
    If the nations of the world are all goyim (plural of goy), there is no inherent difference between Jews and Gentiles. So why are the Jews the “chosen people”? The Bible says explicitly that Israel did nothing to deserve being chosen (Deut. 7:6-8). Rather God decided to give Israel the weighty responsibly of being his “special treasure” (segula) so they could be the channel of blessing to all people on earth.

From Abraham’s family tree, came Israel, from whom eventually the Messiah was born. Now is the time to fulfill the prophecy of Isaiah that “all the nations (goyim) shall stream to Jerusalem” to worship the Lord in perfect harmony (Isa. 2:2

watch now watch

19. @ WURA-War-on-U March 15, 2021 12:59 PM

It is ideologically puzzling how the Jewish culture is primarily focussed on keeping it in tact by avoiding a repeat of their so-called captivity in both Egypt and Babylon.

On the other hand, the so-called New Testament of the Christian religion, as pushed by the European man, is aimed at the black man to accept his lot in life whether as an enslaved or as a colonised people.

“Culture is the root of politics, and religion is the root of culture.”⁓ Richard John Neuhaus.

20. Slavery was a spiritual disconnect from family tribe religion culture music history
    Psalm 137

1 By the rivers of Babylon we sat and wept
    when we remembered Zion.
    2 There on the poplars
    we hung our harps,
    3 for there our captors asked us for songs,
    our tormentors demanded songs of joy;
    they said, “Sing us one of the songs of Zion!”
    4 How can we sing the songs of the Lord
    while in a foreign land?

21. @ GP March 15, 2021 2:41 PM
    “From Abraham’s family tree, came Israel, from whom eventually the Messiah was born. Now is the time to fulfill the prophecy of Isaiah that “all the nations (goyim) shall stream to Jerusalem” to worship the Lord in perfect harmony ..”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Was that ‘born’ Messiah David or Isa? As far as it is known David’s mother Nitzevet was not a virgin when she delivered the king into the world.

So what about Abraham’s ancestors in Ur? Weren’t they also the chosen people descended from the “sons of God” spoken about in your mythical Book of Genesis as narrated in Chapter 6?

22. @Miller

Remind the blog what are the dominant religions in Mother Africa?

23. @ David March 15, 2021 3:35 PM

Those that represent the dominant political forces on the continent; Islam and its elder brother Christianity with a little bit of Hinduism left over from the British colonial presence all practised behind a traditional smokescreen of pagan animism.

Why not ask who are the major suppliers of armaments to Mother Africa to kill on another behind the veil of competing gods?

24. @The Miller

The more pertinent question is why are you not questioning the majority of Africans who have gone the way of Islam and Christianity? They are at ground zero in the Mother County no?

25. “by avoiding a repeat of their so-called captivity in both Egypt and Babylon.”

they all lie, that’s why i pay attention to none of them and only read what i know our ancestors left for us, which we can interpret ourselves..

it’s the number of decades the mentally enslaved wasted with that false shit…all those wasted years

26. @ David March 15, 2021 3:52 PM

For the same way you will not “question” or even count the majority of blacks in the Americas who have done the same thing.

Why do you think the Arabic and European man have been so readily generous feeding the black man with their brands of religion and not technologies?

Why a transfer of religion Instead of a transfer of technology to hasten the economic enfranchisement of the indigenous people on the most endowed continent with its wide range of natural resources?

For the day the black race is awaken and eats from the tree of knowledge (science) they would become like gods!

27. @The Miller

You concede we are so inferior a people that we would welcome what the white man is selling without nary a questioning? Are we that ignorant a people?

28. @ David March 15, 2021 4:20 PM

If they can so gullibly fall for the image of Jesus as God born of a virgin white woman then they will continue to be hewers of wood and drawers of water to other races until they look up and see that lucky old Sun rolling around heaven all day just waiting to smile on them and say:

‘These are my beloved children (the ones closest to me in skin tone) and in whom I am now most pleased!’

29. Then the issue dear Miller is not with them, it is who?

Who should we be chastising? Who should we be educating?

We live to blame others.

30. @ David March 15, 2021 4:33 PM

Maybe the same European man- whom blacks like to use as a scapegoat and whipping boy as penance for their current ‘condition’-have it right when he emulated ‘correctly’ the dedication of the day called “SUNDAY” to be the day of worship of a supreme being.

Since we are on this ‘religion’ thingie blog here is what GP’s ‘monotheistic’ Yahweh had to say about those who bow down to worship other people’s idols:

“And the Lord said to Moses, “Behold, you are about to lie down with your fathers. Then this people will rise and whore after the foreign gods among them in the land that they are entering, and they will forsake me and break my covenant that I have made with them.”

“Then my anger will be kindled against them in that day, and I will forsake them and hide my face from them, and they will be devoured. And many evils and troubles will come upon them, so that they will say in that day, ‘Have not these evils come upon us because our God is not among us?’”

“And I will surely hide my face in that day because of all the evil that they have done, because they have turned to other gods..”

31. Yep…one must pay for one’s stupidity…

32. I REALLY MISS THE LATE ZOE, AS HE WAS THE ONLY PERSON BU WHO COULD CARRY ON A SENSIBLE CONVERSATION ON THE WORD OF GOD.

I POSTED AN EXCELLENT EXEGESIS ON A KEY NT VERSE, BUT SINCE NO ONE HERE CAN DISCUSS IT , AS IS THE CASE EACH WEEK WE HAVE A LOT OF RUBBISH IN RESPONSE

THE PRINCIPLE ADVOCATED IN THIS VERSE IS PERTINENT TO ALL DISCIPLINES.
    IF ONE WILL BE ABLE TO PRESENT THEMSELVES APPROVED TO THIER EMPLOYER ONE STUDIES OR ELSE THEY WILL BE ASHAMED AT THE TIME OF INSPECTION.

THE SAME IS THE CASE TO THOSE WHO HANDLE THE WORD OF GOD AS THIER JOB, OR JTHOSE WHO DO SO JUST BECAUSE THEY LOVE TO DO SO.

33. certain Kemetic writings lay it out straight up…it’s like our ancestors saw thousands of years into the future and knew this would happen…

34. When people came to Africa for trade and then colonising they brought their religions. All of Africa was colonised by Europe (except Ethiopia). I suspect slave trade was also about Christians targeting Muslims as West Africa were Islamic regions.
    African religion is always evolving and adopting other faiths. Christianity is a business for wealth nowadays and is always expanding into new territories like Asia and Africa.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0OU_ut74Qa4

35. @ GP March 15, 2021 5:30 PM
    “I REALLY MISS THE LATE ZOE, AS HE WAS THE ONLY PERSON BU WHO COULD CARRY ON A SENSIBLE CONVERSATION ON THE WORD OF GOD.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

So why not join him in paradise so both of you can argue with the Devil Lucifer over Mary Magdalene holding a bowl of milk and honey between her legs?

Everybody wants to go to heaven but nobody wants to die (including you Doc. GP)!

36. “Everybody wants to go to heaven but nobody wants to die (including you Doc. GP)!”

😂😂🤣🤣..we would even buy GPs ticket.

37. RE So why not join him in paradise so both of you can argue with the Devil Lucifer
    WHY DO THAT WHEN I GET TO ARGUE WITH A NUMBER OF DEVILS ON BU WEEKLY.

38. “THE SAME IS THE CASE TO THOSE WHO HANDLE THE WORD OF GOD AS THIER JOB, OR JTHOSE WHO DO SO JUST BECAUSE THEY LOVE TO DO SO.”

Did not jesus say STFU you punk ass bitch to all the false preachers who chatted shit

dash away your bible

God’s works are all around you not in a book of hook and crook

your words do not resonate

I channel God when I speak

39. THE HATRED FOR THE GOD OF HEAVEN, AND THE IGNORANCE AND HATRED OF THE BIBLE IS WELL DISPLAYED AND EXPRESSED ON BU

NEVER IN MY LIFE HAVE I HEARD THE UTTER CONCENTRATED RUBBISH SEEN ON BU

IT IS AMAZING THAT BOTH THE PURVEYORS AND THE FACILITATOR THINK THAT THEY ARE HURTING EITHER GOD OR ME

40. What did your Church going Bible bashing pals say about your Trump Vs Biden Harris = End Times delusional theorem.
    Did they say it was well fucked up like the BU posse or do you avoid speaking that crap in public.

41. We are debunking lies. And destroying a false god. And the seminal purveyor of ignorance here. A madman called GP.

42. I sinned, and straightway, posthaste, Satan flew
    Before the presence of the Most High God,
    And made a railing accusation there.
    He said, “This soul, this thing of clay and sod, Has sinned.
    ‘Tis true that he has named thy Name,But I demand his death, for Thou hast said,
    ‘The soul that sinneth, it shall die.’ Shall notThy sentence be fulfilled? Is Justice dead?
    Send now this wretched sinner to his doom.What other thing can righteous ruler do?And thus he did accuse me day and night.

And every word he spoke, O God, was true!
    Then quickly One rose up from God’s right hand Before whose glory angels veiled their eyes.
    He spoke, ‘Each jot and tittle of the Law Must be fulfilled; the guilty sinner dies!
    But wait! Suppose his guilt were all transferred To Me,and that I paid his penalty.
    Behold, my hands, my side, my feet!
    One dayI was made sin for him, and died that he Might be presented faultless at Thy throne.”
    And Satan flew away. Full well he knew That he could not prevail against such love,
    For every word my dear Lord spoke was true!”

IT SEEMS THAT SATANS CHILDREN ON BU ARE MUCH MORE RESILIENT THAN THEIR FATHER FOR THEY PERSIST PERSISTENTLY AND PERENNIALY TO PURVEY PITIFUL PURULENT PABLUM HERE EACH WEEK

WATCH THEM NOW COME AGAIN LIKE SANBALLOT GESHEM AND TOBIAH IN NEHEMIAH 6: 1-17

43. REVELATION 12 Verse 11 is very important because it shows how the saints of any age can overcome the wiles of the devil.
    We too are assaulted by the devil continually. Lies and misleading propaganda pour into our ears from every side today. Philosophies that are wrong and hurtful are widely believed. We are being accused before the presence of God, and in our own hearts we hear these accusations by the devil. We need to know how to answer. There are three steps to take:

First, “they overcame him by the blood of the Lamb.” Have you ever heard the devil accusing you? Did you ever hear in your inner ear a voice saying, “What kind of a Christian are you? Look at the way you have acted. God could never love you! What makes you think you are acceptable in his sight? You are a mess!” How do you handle that?
    According to this text you ought to admit it. It is true. We mess up all the time. We believe lies, we act selfishly, we are malicious and self-indulgent at times, we hurt others thoughtlessly. It is all true. Admit it!
    But then, remind the devil of the blood of the Lamb, the cross of Christ. There on that cross Jesus bore our sins so that we are no longer to be judged or even accused before God. That is why Paul can say in Romans 8, “Therefore there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus!” (Romans 8:1 NIV).

That is the meaning of the blood of the Lamb. There is no way to handle Satan, and avoid the guilt and shame of which he accuses us, without resting upon the work of the Cross, the blood of the Lamb! When Jesus makes you a new creature, Satan can accuse you only of something that is past and gone. The blood of Christ is sufficient for your own problems with guilt, but how do you help others?

There are millions of people today whose lives are lonely, empty and fear-ridden. All around us they are trying to overcome some inner sense of guilt or shame. They seek to lose themselves in pleasure, drugs, alcohol, sex, or whatever. How do you help them?

The answer is, “by the word of their testimony.” Christians need to share with others the freedom into which Christ has brought them. How many among us here have come to Christ because some person you had been watching told you one day that at the cross he or she found forgiveness of sins, and that you could have that, too? They witnessed of the joy and peace the Lord had brought into their life — it was “by the word of their testimony” that you came to Christ.

Third, Satan was overcome because “they loved not their lives unto death.” They would give up anything but Christ. They cared more for his honor and truth than all their possessions, all their status before men — even their own lives! It was apparent from their actions that nothing was worth more to them than Christ’s presence in their lives. They would rather die than deliberately to bring shame to his name. That is the way to overcome Satan. It means that you have not only exercised faith in the blood of the cross, and love towards others who are bound by Satan’s lies, but also you are laying hold of the hope of a Christian — the fact that death is rendered meaningless because you have been promised an inheritance beyond.

44. IN REVELATION 12 The TRIBULATION SAINTS are said to have overcame the devil by the blood of the Lamb: The blood overcomes Satan’s accusations. Those accusations mean nothing against us because Jesus has already paid the penalty our sins deserved. We may be even worse than Satan’s accusations, but we are still made righteous by the work of Jesus on the cross (Ephesians 1:7, Colossians 1:14, and Hebrews 9:14).

Although, it is important to say that we should not regard the blood of Jesus in a superstitious manner. It is not a magical potion, nor is it the literal blood of Jesus, literally applied that saves or cleanses us. If that were so, then His Roman executioners, splattered with His blood, would have been automatically saved, and the actual number of molecules of Jesus’ literal blood would limit the number of people who could be saved.

The blood speaks to us of the real, physical death of Jesus Christ in our place, on our behalf, before God. That literal death in our place, and the literal judgment He bore on our behalf, is what saves us.
     By the blood emphasizes the death of Jesus. He did not only suffer, He died. Of the Lamb emphasizes the substitutionary work of His death, because the Passover Lamb died as a substitute for others.

The blood of Jesus heals our troubled conscience, because we know that by His death our sin is atoned for (Hebrews 9:14). But to only use the blood of Jesus in that way is selfish. We should be like “these saints used the doctrine of atonement not as a pillow to rest their weariness, but as a weapon to subdue their sin.” (Spurgeon)

How does the blood of the Lamb conquer Satan in the life of the believer? How does the death of Jesus on the cross as our substitute bring us victory? 

It works first because His victory is our victory. “First, you are to regard Satan this day as being already literally and truly overcome through the death of the Lord Jesus. Satan is already a vanquished enemy. By faith grasp your Lord’s victory as your own, since he triumphed in your nature and on your behalf . . . Come, my soul, thou hast conquered Satan by thy Lord’s victory. Wilt thou not be brave enough to fight a vanquished foe, and trample down the enemy whom thy Lord has already thrust down? Thou needest not be afraid, but say, ‘Thanks be to God which giveth us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ.’ ” (Spurgeon)
    It works because the work of Jesus on the cross for us is the ultimate demonstration of God’s love (Romans 5:8), and a constant remembrance of the blood of the Lamb assures us that every fear Satan whispers into our mind is a lie.
    It works because the death of Jesus on the cross as our substitute reveals the true nature of sin, and this makes us want to avoid sin. “Satan makes sin seem pleasurable, but the cross reveals its bitterness. If Jesus died because of sin, men begin to see that sin must be a murderous thing.” (Spurgeon)

It works because the death of Jesus on the cross as our substitute purchases us as God’s personal property, and this makes us want to live unto God. “If anything can make a man holy it is a firm faith in the atoning sacrifice. When a man knows that Jesus died for him, he feels that he is not his own, but bought with a price, and therefore he must live unto him that died for him and rose again.” (Spurgeon)
    Therefore, we use the blood of the Lamb in spiritual warfare – not as a Christian “abracadabra,” as if chanting “The blood of Jesus, the blood of Jesus” could keep Satan away like garlic is said to keep away vampires. Rather, our understanding, our apprehension, our focus – may I say our obsession with the death of Jesus on the cross as our substitute wins the battle.
    “The precious blood of Jesus is not meant for us merely to admire and exhibit. We must not be content to talk about it, and extol it, and do nothing with it; but we are to use it in the great crusade against unholiness and unrighteousness, till it is said of us, ‘They overcame him by the blood of the Lamb.’ This precious blood is to be used for overcoming, and consequently for holy warfare. We dishonor it if we do not use it to that end . . . The dog of hell knows the dread name which makes him lie down: we must confront him with the authority, and specially with the atonement of the Lamb of God.” (Spurgeon)

NOW WATCH THE SUBPAR PITIFUL PUERILE RESPONSE BY SATAN’S SURROGATES ON BU

45. Fucking Hell
    GP has started babbling away in tongues spewing out bible verses like it’s going out of style
    He needs an exorcism forthwith GTFOH
    Begone Satan the power of Christ commands you

46. Satan’s power is real but not because he is triumphant, but because he knows he is beaten and has a short time left. He is like a wounded, cornered animal that fights ferociously. as exemplified by his pathethic suurogates here on BU

Satan should give up his fight against God and humanity made in God’s image, but he is utterly depraved, and probably insane in some way; Satan may have deceived even himself into thinking that he has a chance.

Our rebellion against God makes even less sense than Satan’s rebellion does.

47. @ GP March 16, 2021 8:12 AM
    “IT SEEMS THAT SATANS CHILDREN ON BU ARE MUCH MORE RESILIENT THAN THEIR FATHER FOR THEY PERSIST PERSISTENTLY AND PERENNIALY TO PURVEY PITIFUL PURULENT PABLUM HERE EACH WEEK..”

Why not look at it from the other (bright) side to see those same ‘children’ as bearers of Light to assist the Goddess Karma to right the innumerable wrongs committed against the ‘holy’ innocents by those lying thieving killers hiding behind the bloody banner stained with the Christian cross?

Maybe with our digital pens we are merely depositing into your memory bank ‘bits’ of the many blood-letting ‘Christian’ crusades undertaken in the Middle East and Northern Africa to desecrate the mosques of the then fast expanding Islamic faith.

What about the pillage and destruction of all the religious buildings, icons made of pure gold and silver and the sacred writings belonging to the indigenous peoples of the so-called New World carried out under the banner of spreading bogus Christianity concocted by the Vatican?

Wasn’t the sole objective not one of spreading the Gospel according to the teachings of Yeshua but to kill off and steal the lands and resources from the indigenous peoples of the Americas and which you have successfully achieved (through genocide and disease) to even have the intestinally racist arrogance to call the biggest prize from the spoils of Christian warfare the grand ole USA the ‘New Jerusalem’?

48. For all anti God and anti Bible devils, here are some NAMES THAT DESCRIBE SATAN, your daddy
    I am sure that you can indentify some characteristics in your selves that are clearly discernable.

(1) “The great dragon” stresses Satan’s vicious and cruel character and emphasizes his end time activity and behavior.

(2) “The serpent of old” clearly identifies him as Satan and draws our attention to his crafty character. It reminds us of the garden of Eden, the fall of man, his usurpation of man’s rule on earth, and his constant activity of temptation and deception.

(3) “The devil” is the Greek diabolos and means “slanderer, defamer.” It reminds us of Satan’s activity to impugn the character of God (see Job 1) and to accuse believers for whom Christ died (cf. Rev. 12:10 and Rom. 8:34).

(4) “Satan” is the Greek satanas and is derived from the Hebrew satan which means “adversary.” It points to Satan as the opponent of God, of believers, and of all that is right and good. Satan may appear as an angel of light (2 Cor. 11:14), but it is only a sham of deception to further aid him in his work as the arch adversary and opponent of God.
    In 1 Peter 5:8 Satan is called “your adversary, the devil.” Here the word “adversary” is not satanas, but antidikos, and though similar in meaning, antidikos is more explicit. It specifically refers to “an opponent in a lawsuit.”
    It was used of a court scene where accusations are made. God has indicted Satan for his sin, found him guilty, and sentenced him to the lake of fire (Matt. 12:41).
    By the implications of Scripture, as in the titles of Satan and in the keen interest of angels in man (cf.Eph. 3:10; 1 Pet. 1:12), it appears that Satan has appealed the sentence and called God unfair, unjust, and unloving. He has impugned the character of the supreme judge. He stands as the defamer of God’s character, the accuser of believers, and our adversary in general.

(5) “Lucifer,” “Star of the Morning,” and “Son of the Dawn” (Isa. 14:12). The term “Lucifer” of the KJV is Helel which means literally “the shining one.” Ironically, it comes from the Hebrew verb halal meaning “to shine, boast, praise.”
    As the shining one Satan got his eyes off of God, the source and cause of his brilliance, and became proud and boastful instead of being full of praise to God. Whenever we boast, we are occupied with ourselves, but when we are full of praise to God we are occupied with Him. This name stresses Satan’s state before the fall, and the nature and cause of his fall, the sin of arrogance.

(6) “The evil one” (1 John 5:19). Here, the word “evil” is the Greek word poneros, an active noun that points to an active and malignant kind of evil. It refers to what is not only ugly and useless, but to that which is injurious and destructive. Satan, as the poneros one, is actively engaged in destruction, in causing pain, injury and death. He is like a cancer to the human race and no time in history will reveal this like the Tribulation.

(7) “The ruler of this world” (John 12:31). This description points to Satan as the unseen head and energy behind the arrangement of world affairs as they stand in total opposition to the arrangements and divine viewpoint set forth in the Word of God.
    This would include such things as internationalism, materialism, humanism, religionism, spiritualism (demonism), hedonism, etc.

(8) “The god of this age” (2 Cor. 4:4). This again emphasizes Satan’s rule and increased activity in the dispensation of the church which will be marked by a continual increase of apostasy and deception and by extreme moral degeneration. This title particularly associates him with blinding men to the good news of Jesus Christ.

49. Here are some more NAMES THAT DESCRIBE SATAN, your daddy, all you God & Bible haters

Maybe you can indentify some characteristics in your selves that are clearly discernable.

(9) “The prince of the power of the air” (Eph. 2:2). This title is of particular importance because it points to Satan as the head of the demonic hosts (fallen angels) who operate night and day in our immediate atmosphere to fill it with satanic deception, satanic viewpoint, doubts, and temptations. The word “power” is singular and refers to the demonic forces as a corporate body that operate as one under the authority and power of Satan, their prince (Eph. 6:12).

“Air” is the Greek word aer and most likely refers to the immediate atmosphere above the earth which evidently forms their base of operations and the domain of the demonic, their sphere of power, authority, activity, and influence. In other words, our atmosphere is the vehicle or medium of their evil operations and influence. This not only looks at the locality of Satan’s operations, but emblematically portrays the prevailing influence or evil atmosphere in which every individual and the world moves—a world atmosphere of demonic influence controlled by Satan.

(10) “Of the spirit that is now working” (Eph. 2:2). This is often taken as another title for Satan. When it is so understood, it is taken as an appositional phrase describing “the prince of the power,” i.e., a further description of the prince. So the prince is also the unholy spirit (1 Cor. 2:12) who apes the operations of his divine counterpart by working in the sons of disobedience in opposition to the Holy Spirit.

Now it is true that Satan, as a fallen angel, is a spirit being, actually an unclean spirit, who works in the world to promote disobedience and unbelief in mankind, but because of the rules of Greek syntax, others believe that this is not a reference to Satan, but to an impersonal force or atmosphere Satan controls.

The reason is simply this. For the phrase, “of the spirit,” to be appositional, one would expect this phrase to be in the accusative case, but it is in the genitive case. According to the principles of Greek syntax an appositional word or phrase would normally be in the same case as the noun or noun phrase it modifies, though there is the possibility for a different case by attraction to the word that precedes it.

The word “prince,”arconta, is in the accusative case, but “of the spirit” is in the genitive case. So, as a genitive it describes another aspect of the prince’s (Satan’s) rule. The idea is that Satan controls unbelievers through an evil principle at work in the world. The result is a spirit of disobedience.

The last clause of verse 2, in this view, refers to the disposition, the outlook, the way of thinking and acting which one finds in the world of today. It is much like our phrase “the spirit of the age.” It is an outlook, a viewpoint, a disposition that Satan is constantly promoting.
    Note it is “in the sons of disobedience.”

“Disobedience” is the Greek apeiqeia which means “disbelief, obstinate,” and so “disobedient.” Men are disobedient to Scripture because of a spirit of disbelief and stubbornness—they will not be persuaded by the admonitions, appeals and instructions of Scripture.

“Working” is the Greek energew, “to energize, be active, be at work.” It is in the present continuous tense. Satan is constantly at work to promote and produce his viewpoint in order to create disobedience in man. This will be at an all time high during the Tribulation. People are either being energized by the viewpoint and attitude of the world (Satan’s) which produces disobedience, or by the divine viewpoint of Scripture and the Holy Spirit which produces obedience.

Notice in this regard that in Hebrews 4:12 we have energes, “active,” the noun form of the verb energhs. Then in 1 Thessalonians 2:13 Paul uses this same verb of the powerful activity of Scripture. Both of these passages emphasize the active, energizing and working power of the word of God in the lives of men.

(11) “Belial” (2 Cor. 6:15) is another name used of Satan. “Belial” is the Greek word beliar which comes from an Old Testament word meaning “worthless” or “hopeless ruin.” In 2 Corinthians 6:15 it is used as a name for Satan who is the epitome of worthlessness, hopeless ruin, and the source of all idolatry and the futile religious works of man.

(12) “Beelzebul” or “Beelzebub” or “Beelzeboul” (Mark 3:22; Matt. 12:24). There are three possible spellings of this word because of variant manuscripts and each spelling has a slightly different meaning so I have listed them all.
    (1) Beelzebul means “lord of the dung.” It is a name of reproach and uncleanness for Satan.
    (2) Beelzebub means “lord of the flies.” This has the same implication as the above.
    (3) Beelzeboul means the “lord of the dwelling.” This may portray Satan as the leader and head of the unclean spirits of demon possession! This best fits the context of Matthew 10:25 and 12:29 and has the best manuscript evidence behind it. Note that Matthew, Mark and Luke all define Beelzeboul as the prince of demons.

(13) “Abaddon” and “Apollyon” (Rev. 9:11). Abaddon is the Greek form and Apollyon is the Hebrew equivalent. They mean “destroyer” or “destruction.” As seen previously this name connects Satan with the demons of the Abyss (their leader) and their work of destruction on earth in the Tribulation.

Primarily, however, it stresses his character and activity as the great source of destruction and ruin in the world. 

50. I take it from your conspicuous silence and lack of response that you didn’t tell you bible bum chums about your wacky Trump is God’s chosen King and Biden is the coming of the End Times nonsense as that is stupid and best kept to yourself.

You should denounce your ill conceived prophesies to free your mind and soul as you shouldn’t take your bible studies in vain for your own vanity and it can’t be that hard to admit you are wrong when you are wrong otherwise you will never ever have any credibility as a christian preacher and teacher ever again.

Leave a Reply to DonnaCancel reply