Submitted by Senator Caswell Franklyn

Many commentators have weighed in on the application of the COVID-19 directives, particularly with regards to the sentencing of offenders and the apparent gusto displayed by the chief magistrate while presiding over the resulting cases. My own view is that these directives are flawed, but for the purposes of this article I would consider them as valid. Mind you, I am reminded by no lesser person than the Prime Minister that I am not a lawyer. But as a lawmaker, I believe that I have an obligation to question laws that appear to my untrained mind to be applied unfairly or irregularly; and a right as a concerned citizen to ask whether my rights as a member of the public are being infringed by the government.

Under the provisions of the Emergency Management Act, as amended last year, the Cabinet was empowered to delegate its power to make rules to the Prime Minister. As a result, a series of directives were issued by her to regulate, and where necessary, punish people’s behaviour during the state of emergency.

I believe in many cases that these directives are ill conceived and contrary to law but I must point out that they are the law and must be obeyed until such time as they are revoked or struck down by a court of law.

I am concerned by the penalties being imposed by the court on persons who violate the directives issued by the Prime Minister. The statutory instruments made by the PM provide that a person who contravenes the directives is guilty of an offence and liable on summary conviction to a fine of $50,000 or to imprisonment for a term of one year or to both. Since I am no lawyer and not expected to understand these things, I must ask the Prime Minister to explain how she could specify such hefty punishments in the statutory instruments that she has made so far, in light of the provisions of section 19.(10) of the Interpretation Act? It states:

Where an enactment confers power to make any statutory instrument-

(a) there may be annexed to a contravention of that statutory instrument a punishment by way of a fine not exceeding five hundred dollars or imprisonment for a term not exceeding three months or both.

My elementary understanding of the law has led me to believe that the Prime Minister has no power to override the provisions of the Interpretation Act. But even if she has, I would still like this Queen’s Counsel to explain where she derived the power to legislate without bringing the statutory instruments to Parliament for approval.

It is my understanding that the Emergency Management (Amendment) Act, 2020 and the Interpretation Act allow the Cabinet to delegate its functions to the Prime Minister or anyone else. But, I’m also aware that section 49 of the Interpretation Act states that any such of delegation of functions shall forthwith be published in the Gazette. At my request, staff at the Government Printing Department, publishers of the Official Gazette, have been unable to locate a copy of the order that delegated those functions. Was that order ever made and published? I shudder to think that the Prime Minister would have been making rules/directives without first obtaining the requisite order that would have enabled her to do so.

As a non-lawyer, I am asking the Queen’s Counsel: what would happen to persons who were convicted and sentenced under these rules/directives? Would they be entitled to compensation or a refund? Or would you amend the Constitution to make wrong things right?

165 responses to “Prime Minister, Caswell is no Lawyer but …”

1. There is the boy in all of us some more than others LOL

2. RE There is the boy in all of us some more than others LOL
    WHY DONT I HEAR YOU MAKE SUCH INANE COMMENTS ON SSS IN RESPONSE TO THE SATANIC SIBLINGS WHO ENGAGE IN SLANDER & BLASPHEMY THERE?

RE
    Well Mr Blogmaster, it seems I stayed away too long … causing de doc like he did miss me … oh lordie.
    ACTUALLY I LOVE WOMEN NOT SEMI ILLITERATE FOOLISH MEN SO I DIDNT MISS YOU
    MY WIFE IS CONSTANTLY HERE AT MY BECK AND CALL
    JUST WAITING FUH TO COME AND BULLSHIT AS YOU TRY TO DEFEND THE INDEFENSIBLE

MY FEMALE FRIENDS DONT TALK BS ABOUT CERVICAL INJURIES OR EMERGENCY POST MORTEMS

NOW THAT YOU ARE BACK MAKE MIRTH BY TRYING TO DEFEND THE INDEFENSIBLE YA STUPID MEMBER OF THE LOWEST OF THE EQUINOIDS

RE I thought he had mended his wayward ways since last I posted … NO I AM CONSISTENT AND PERSISTENT

what a wierd concept that was INDEED EMERGENCY POST MORTEMS IS A WEIRD CONCEPT AND SO IS THE IGNORNCE YOU SPEWED ON BU ABOUT CERVICAL INJURIES

3. Lawyers dominate a judicial system that has come under fire for limiting access to its services to primarily the most affluent members of society. Lawyers also have a pervasive influence throughout other parts of government. This is the first book offering a critical comprehensive overview of the legal profession’s role in failing to serve the majority of the public and in contributing to the formation of inefficient public policies that reduce public welfare.

In Trouble at the Bar, the authors use an economic approach to provide empirical support for legal reformers who are concerned about their own profession. The authors highlight the adverse effects of the legal profession’s self-regulation, which raises the cost of legal education, decreases the supply of lawyers, and limits the public’s access to justice to the point where, in general, only certified lawyers can execute even simple contracts. At the same time, barriers to entry that limit competition create a closed environment that inhibits valid approaches to analyzing and solving legal problems that are at the heart of effective public policy.

Deregulating the legal profession, the authors argue, would allow more people to provide a variety of legal services without jeopardizing their quality, reduce the cost of those services, spur competition and innovation in the private sector, and increase the quality of lawyers who pursue careers in the public sector. Legal practitioners would enjoy more fulfilling careers, and society in general and its most vulnerable members in particular would benefit greatly.

BOOK DETAILS
    251 Pages
    Brookings Institution Press, March 2, 2021
    Paperback ISBN: 9780815739111
    Ebook ISBN: 9780815739128….(Quote)

4. Good, the issue is not a Barbados only challenge.

5. In Barbados’ case it’s simple to pull off the legal parasites by STOP electing LAWYERS to parliament or anything that requires them to be too upclose and personal to PUBLIC FUNDS, LAND, WILLS AND ESTATES, the registry, etc…they are too dishonest and sellout…more so than any other crooks.

6. @ David,

Did you congratulate the newly weds ?

7. @Hants

Let us wish them well.

8. Sent malicious me looking.

Love it.

An outsider, but wishing them years of togetherness and happiness.

9. Opposition Senator: Parliament, not PM, passes laws
    Randy Bennett
    Article by
    Randy Bennett
    Published on
    March 11, 2021

https://barbadostoday.bb/wp-content/uploads/2020/02/IMG_0582-730×456.jpg
    Government is facing yet another lawsuit in relation to its COVID-19 directives.

Fed-up with what he described as “unlawful” actions by the Mia Mottley-led administration, Opposition Senator Caswell Franklyn is headed to the High Court tomorrow to challenge the manner in which the legislation crafted by Government to control the spread of COVID-19 on the island was imposed.

Under the current Emergency Management (COVID-19) (Curfew) (No.4) directive, a fine of $50,000 or one year imprisonment, or both, may be imposed on anyone who fails to comply with the terms and conditions of the ongoing curfew.

“Only a court in Barbados can rule them to be illegal. I am filing the case tomorrow because I am taking the Government to court. I can’t allow this Government to continue to break the law and flout the law and do as it likes. I have to get it adjudicated one way or the other,” Franklyn told Barbados TODAY in a telephone interview.

“I’m taking them to court on the COVID-19 directives. They have not been done in accordance with the laws of Barbados. The Prime Minister has no authority under the Constitution of Barbados or any other laws for that matter…the Prime Minister cannot make laws by herself.

“Any minister who has the power to make a statement must bring a statutory instrument before the House for the House to approve it because only the House can pass laws. So even if the minister makes the law it is only valid after the House approves it and the House has not approved any such directive so far.

“We as parliamentarians should have a say in these regulations. They are not legally on the books as far as I am concerned and I am willing to put my money where my mouth is. I actually have a lawyer drafting and I think by tomorrow we should be filing in court,” the outspoken trade unionist added.

It will be the second lawsuit filed against Government in five days.

Last Friday shopkeeper Benson Straker disclosed he was suing Attorney General Dale Marshall and Commissioner of Police Tyrone Griffith for acting unlawfully and beyond their legal power of authority with respect to measures implemented following the amendment of the Emergency Management (Amendment) Act, 2020.

Franklyn said while he had no issues with Government trying its best to contain the spread of COVID-19, he maintained there was a right way to do it.

In fact, the outspoken senator and trade unionist said the matter was of such importance to him he was willing to go as far as the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) if necessary.

“I’m not saying that the directives do not have a purpose or that they shouldn’t be done, but if you’re going to do it, do it right.

“I want the courts of Barbados, and if the High Court doesn’t do anything about it the Court of Appeal will and if the Court of Appeal doesn’t then I’m going to the Caribbean Court of Justice. This Government has to follow the law,” the Opposition Senator insisted.

“I don’t have the money but I will find it because I believe this is important enough and I am willing to put what little bit I have to get the case put forward because it is too important…and the people in Barbados are seeing nothing wrong with it.”

Franklyn said he was surprised no magistrate had spoken on the legality of the directives to date.
    (randybennett@barbadostoday.bb)

10. So Mia and the labor minister dont know to SHUT DOWN this tiefing, racist oppressive parasitic company….and all the other companies that are just like them..

“Workers of Preconco Limited withdrew their labour today after eight shop stewards were suspended until further notice, reportedly for attending a meeting with Minister of Labour Colin Jordan and the Barbados Workers’ Union (BWU).

And outside the headquarters of the Lears Quarry, St Michael company this afternoon, Deputy General Secretary of the BWU Dwaine Paul accused the company of attempting to destroy and attack trade unionism in Barbados and putting workers back in the dark ages.

Paul explained that Preconco and the BWU were invited to attend an 11 a.m. Zoom meeting with Minister Jordan today to address disputes at the company and to avoid a work stoppage.

He said Preconco’s management was informed on Tuesday that all shop stewards were needed to attend the meeting because of the critical nature of the pressing issues to be discussed, including the company cutting workers’ wages without their consent since 2020 and workers being forced to pay for Personal Protective Equipment (PPE).

However, Paul said the company insisted that in order for all the delegates to attend the meeting, it must be held at 4 p.m. instead of the scheduled 11 a.m.

“The delegates came to management this morning and said that they need to go to the meeting and the management allowed them to go ahead. Nobody didn’t tell them they couldn’t go. They were asking them to pick four [delegates], claiming that there is an agreement with the union to pick four. The union has no such agreement with them.

“Anybody that has been around trade unions long enough knows the union would never agree to such a condition. We have from time-to-time adjusted our delegation numbers because of operational matters. But nobody says to us how that is supposed to be done.

“But here, they want to dictate how that is to be done. They want to insist that we do four people. And it is not a matter of work you know, because the delegates went to the meeting, the company didn’t shut down and it operated all morning. But it is about trying to dictate to labour what labour must do,” he said.

The Deputy General Secretary also accused the company of insulting the labour minister by refusing to participate in this morning’s meeting because more than four delegates attended.

“They say it must be four, we say it can’t be four and they decide them ain’t coming to the meeting. Mind you, the minister said the meeting must go on. So, the union met with the minister. When the delegates returned to this compound, they received two-page letters typed today sending them home on suspension pending investigation and disciplinary action,” Paul explained.

The letter dated March 10 which was delivered by hand, confirmed that the employees have been suspended from work until further notice pending an investigation into an allegation of misconduct against them. The correspondence stated that the company reserved the right to change or add to the allegations against the employees, as appropriate, in the light of the investigation.

But, Paul was adamant that Preconco cannot be allowed to continue to victimize shop stewards, cut the workers’ pay, treat them as though they were the concrete slabs being manufactured at the company.

Paul said the workers were tired of the treatment being meted out to them, and they hold the view that the issues affecting them cannot be allowed to continue.

“PPE is something that is supposed to be distributed to workers. Preconco in here selling their workers’ PPE. When you want a pair of construction boots, you go to the storeroom and let them take out your pay when the week comes. This is happening in Barbados. And don’t care how you talk, the people refuse to stop. So these guys have had enough and I applaud them for being patient so long.

“One thing that one should know about Preconco and its subsidiaries, it has produced a lot of rich men in Barbados and none of them ain’t out here. And whilst they were getting rich and building their empire, these men here were providing the funds to do it and they have continued to suffer.

“There has not been a pay increase in Preconco for more than ten years, but they paid their supervisors and managers bonus last year, but still claiming that they have no work. You don’t have any work but you hiring staff every day to keep up with capacity. But when the workers want what is theirs you are saying you got to wait on me,” Paul said.

The BWU senior official said he understood from the Chief Labour Officer that there was a scheduled meeting between minister Jordan and the company tomorrow.

However, Paul warned that while that meeting must go ahead, the union would not turn away from its word that until the letters issued to the workers today are rescinded and a commitment to discuss the pressing issues made, all employees will stay off the job.

“And I am prepared to go to the General Secretary [Toni Moore] and ask that they be supported. COVID cannot be a time in Barbados to unfair workers and we keep saying that and people keep saying not but here is an example of it. Who wants to see will see, and who don’t want to see will not see, but this union will not be quiet on these matters. So we off the job until further notice”.

Preconco’s General Manager Joshua Harvey Read who issued a statement this evening said Preconco Limited has an expressed agreement with the BWU relating to the attendance of a certain number of delegates at meetings, which was reached under the chairmanship of the Labour Department.

He said the BWU breached the agreement in respect of the meeting scheduled for this morning, while Preconco indicated to the union that it could meet another day at a different time if all delegates were required to attend.

Read added that the delegates were advised that if they left work without authorization disciplinary action would be taken.

The company said the BWU incited the delegates to breach the terms of their employment contracts in instructing them to leave work without authorization and contrary to the agreement between the BWU and Preconco.

“All delegates from the factory that left to attend the meeting have been suspended with full pay pending an investigation. The BWU attended the factory with media this afternoon and wrongly claimed that the delegates had been sent home, and sought to incite our workers based on this misinformation. Preconco refutes any wrongdoing and will continue to carry out all obligations in accordance with all agreements and labour laws of Barbados,” Read said.
    (anestahenry@barbadostoday.bb)

11. these racists and wannabe white trash….even DISRESPECT THE BLACK MINISTERS and the unions…but they don’t know how to put them in their place…and SHUT THEM DOWN.

12. […] two questions posted by the blogmaster to Prime Minister, Caswell is no Lawyer but … submission were in response to a commenter who lauded Senator Caswell Franklyn for taking the […]

13. AG not fazed
    Marshall welcomes court challenge
    by BARRY ALLEYNE barryalleyne@nationnews.com
    BRING ON THE LAWSUITS and let the courts decide!
    That’s the word from Attorney General Dale Marshall, who said he had no problem with the Supreme Court deciding just who is right and who is wrong about the emergency management directives brought to help the country battle the COVID-19 pandemic while at the same time trying to protect citizens.
    Within the last two weeks, a shopkeeper filed a suit against Government’s decision to now allow his business to operate in a certain time frame.
    Last Thursday, outspoken Opposition Senator Caswell Franklyn also started a challenge, claiming the Emergency Management (Amendment) Act, 2020, which provides the basis for the COVID-19 directives, was contrary to the provisions of the Constitution.
    Marshall said he saw no wrongdoing in Government’s actions in the middle of a public health crisis affecting the entire world.
    “We are confident that we have followed the full requirements of the law and we are happy to defend our actions in court,” he told the DAILY NATION yesterday.
    “From the very beginning, we recognised that there would be some concern about the constitutional ramifications of the measures that we have taken, but at all times we made sure that the limitations on the freedoms of Barbadians directly related to the fight against the COVID-19 virus,” he added.
    He stressed that at all times, the Mia Amor Mottley administration had done things the right way.
    “Moreover, we have consulted with all stakeholders, the health officials in the public sector and with the private sector, in settling the broad principles that we would follow.”
    Marshall said the courts’ decisions would go a long way in determining if and how things could be changed.
    ‘Beneficial to Govt’
    “This administration has no difficulty with subjecting our directives to judicial scrutiny. Judicial review is actually beneficial to the administration of Government and to the protection of constitutionally guaranteed freedoms. Every citizen who feels that the state has infringed his rights is entitled to have recourse to the courts. This strengthens our democracy and our system of governance, and no serious administration would feel hard done by, or take umbrage, when citizens challenge its actions in the manner authorised by law,” he added.
    Last week, attorney Neil Marshall, who was representing Franklyn, informed the media there was a strong likelihood that other shopkeepers would join in a class action suit, following in the footsteps of Benson Straker.
    Straker, a shopkeeper, sued the Attorney General and the Commissioner of Police, claiming the two had acted unlawfully and in breach of their legal power regarding the measures implemented through the Emergency Management (Amendment) Act, 2020.
    Straker claimed the directive breached his rights as a citizen of Barbados under the Constitution.
    Franklyn is not seeking any compensation from Government but instead wants the Supreme Court to state clearly its ruling on about ten grounds which fall under the emergency directive.
    The trade unionist claimed that some Barbadians who faced the courts for breaching the directives had been wronged because the instrument was not properly passed in the House of Assembly.
    He has also taken issue with the $50 000 maximum fine and alternative one-year imprisonment under the directive, saying that under the country’s Interpretation Act the maximum penalty Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley could put in any statute was $500.

14. Judge to hear matters against Govt ‘quickly’ – Judge to hear matters against Govt ‘quickly’: https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/03/17/judge-to-hear-matters-against-govt-quickly/

15. The outspoken senator should read this: https://gisbarbados.gov.bb/the-official-gazette/

Our Supreme Leader published all these nice directives in the Official Gazette.

Time to send the outspoken to Brazil or South Africa as an ambassador without vaccination!