The following analysis prepared by Amit @caribbeansignal.com

The last time I researched and wrote anything COVID-19 related was back in June, 2020. Back then, I wrote a series of weekly “Covid-19 vs. The Caribbean” articles. Every Friday night, I’d scour several data sources for reports of confirmed new cases across the Caribbean, compile the data into spreadsheets, and publish some basic analysis on this site. All in all, I analyzed 13 weeks of data.

Much has changed since then. People across the globe are still suffering, as are our economies. Our lives have changed, no matter who you are or what you have (or don’t). Life events are either pre-Covid or post-Covid. Such is the scale and scope of this deadly virus. Despite that, Science has offered solutions. Vaccines were quickly developed (some would argue to quickly?) and are now being deployed globally and across the Region. We Humans have also learned to adapt, as Humans often do. Of-course, the Virus has adapted (as they often do), and the impact of vaccines on mutations is neither clear, nor certain. Ironically, neither is Life in general, except for death and taxes, or so they say.

Read full article: COVID-19 vs The Caribbean: Deaths Per Capita

625 responses to “COVID 19 Versus The Caribbean”

1. JohnMarch 5, 2021 4:50 AM

Yesterday

Singapore New Cases = 19, New Deaths = 0, Total Deaths = 29, Total Cases = 59,998
    New Zealand New Cases = 5, New Deaths = 0, Total Deaths = 26, Total Cases = 2,389
    Australia New Cases = 11, New Deaths = 0, Total Deaths = 909, Total Cases = 29,007
    Dominica, New cases = 0, New Deaths = 0 , Total deaths = 0, Total Cases = 144
    Bermuda, New Cases = 5, New Deaths = 0, Total Deaths = 12, Total Cases = 718
    Greenland New Cases = 1, New Deaths = 0, Total Deaths = 0, Total Cases = 31
    Grenada New Cases = 0, New Deaths = 0, Total Deaths = 1, Total Cases = 148
    St. Vincent New Cases = 0 New Deaths = 0, Total Deaths = 8, Total Cases = 1,645
    Iceland
    etc.
    etc.
    etc.

They all have one thing in common.

NO SEWAGE IN DRINKING WATER!!

They accomplish it in three ways.

Technology – Singapore, New Zealand, Australia
    Nature – Dominica, Greenland, Grenada, St. Vincent
    Roof collection – Bermuda

I can add others if you like.

The desal plant is the obvious culprit here.

So, what’s the score yesterday in these countries with good water supplies?

Any one looked?

Singapore
    New Zealand
    Australia
    Dominica,
    Bermuda,
    Greenland
    Grenada
    St. Vincent

2. John; Re your 3:30 pm post today
    You said “The desal plant is the obvious culprit here.”

No it isn’t. No data has been provided in the now voluminous literature that there is a new means of transfer of infectious viral particles to humans in addition to the ones accepted so far by practically all medical epidemiologists. Ask Dr. GP if he agrees with your thesis and with the underlying thesis.

3. oops! Last paragraph above should be Ask Dr. G.P. if he agrees with your opinion.

4. Enclosed are the charts for week ending 12th March 2021. The daily +cases chart gives a clearer picture, through the trendline, of the clear trend of reduction in daily cases over the past few weeks. This trend is also evident in the positivity percentage chart for Barbados. Re. the comparison of Active cases in the 6 Caribbean countries; Jamaica is still in an explosive upward trend; Guyana is showing a slight but low upward trend while Barbados is trending downwards. T&T is maintaining a consistent downward trend for that metric – Source: Lyall Small

5. The improving covid situation can be assessed also in the number of active cases.

6. Plse spot the contradiction in these two Barbados Today paragraphs. What is he really trying to say?

No one in Barbados who received the Covishield Oxford AstraZeneca COVID-19 vaccine has had any adverse reactions, the Chief Medical Officer (CMO) said Friday, as he sought to assure the jab’s safety after a specific batch of the vaccine was held back in some European Union nations based on unconfirmed reports of blood clotting.
    CMO Dr Kenneth George said that those who received the India-made vaccine which was donated by the Indian government, have reported only mild side effects, including soreness and redness at the site, while younger people reported feeling unwell for between 24 and 48 hours after the inoculation…..(Quote)

7. HAL
    you need to read and comment rarely
    I AGREE WITH YOUR ABOVE STATEMENT
    if you dont jump on the BU band wagon, you are deemed a twit, and the pile on begins
    there is a lot of rubbish here on BU that i READ AND IGNORE BECAUSE IT IS OFTEN JUST RUBBISH AND ERRONEOUS
    SOME TIMES IT IS JUST BEST TO SMILE OR LAUGH AND MOVE ON
    IT IS NOT WORTH HAVING NIT WITS AND SEMI-ILLITERATES CUSSING YOU
    AC CAN BE A SOURCE OF PROCTALGIA FUGAX SOMETIMES BUT SHE IS OFTEN QUITE VERY CORRECT
    SHE JUST NEEDS TO FORGET HER DLP BIAS SOMETIMES

8. The CMOs statement must be taken in context I.e reported deaths in those countries where inoculation was suspended.

9. RE The CMOs statement must be taken in context I.e reported deaths in those countries where inoculation was suspended.
    THE CURRENT CMO IS NO MAURICE BYER OR VAUGHN WELLS

10. Deal with the issue. Some countries suspended Aztrazeneca vaccine because it is suspected to have caused deaths, the CMO in Barbados issued a statement to the effect besides the normal symptoms associated with taking a vaccine no death related cases have been reported.

11. RE Some countries suspended Aztrazeneca vaccine because it is suspected to have caused deaths, the CMO in Barbados issued a statement to the effect besides the normal symptoms associated with taking a vaccine no death related cases have been reported.
    SO WHAT?
    HE SHOULD HAVE SAID no death related cases have been reported. YET!
    YOU CANT TEACH ME BOUT THIS SIR.
    THIS IS MY WHEELHOUSE
    ONE OF THE REASONS I JUST READ LAUGH AND MOVE ON

12. Here is a nice link which shows the various package units one manufacturer of water treatment solution s offers.

There are the Reverse Osmosis packages, the Ultra filtration etc right down to the Ultra violet package systems.

https://pureaqua.com/?gclid=EAIaIQobChMI0qHP_7at7wIVxKOzCh2OHwpGEAEYASAAEgJk5vD_BwE

13. So, here is the UV sterilizer.

https://pureaqua.com/uv-sterilizers/

There is also a point of use sterilizer which supports a 1Gallon per Minute flow rate.

Something like this could be put under your sink if you did not want to boil the water.

Looks like the claim is UV gets rid of 99.9% kill rate on bacteria and viruses.

Some obviously still can get through.

14. DavidMarch 13, 2021 9:50 AM

Deal with the issue. Some countries suspended Aztrazeneca vaccine because it is suspected to have caused deaths, the CMO in Barbados issued a statement to the effect besides the normal symptoms associated with taking a vaccine no death related cases have been reported.

What exactly is a death related case and how significant is it?

15. Tongue in cheek

16. ” the normal symptoms associated with taking a vaccine ” ARE ACTUALLY ADVERSE EFFECTS.!
    THERE IS NOTHING NORMAL ABOUT AN ADVERSE EFFECT OF ANY DRUG.OR PHARMACEUTICAL AGENT
    ARE THE SYMPTOMS OR DEATHS DUE TO A DRUG IDIOSYNCRASY, OR ATOPIC INFLENCES TO THE DRUGS CONSTITUENTS? IF SO, WHICH ONE ANSD WHY SO?
    RE What exactly is a death related case and how significant is it?
    THAT IS A VERY GOOD AND IMPORTANT QUESTION

17. Steuspe

18. Look at the daily new cases graph and you will immediately see it supports exactly what I am saying, the virus is being spread in the water.

It had been present all the time in people and all the lock downs, curfews and what ever have not and CANNOT make it go away.

In the water it resides and will after a time die unless it is consumed by an unfortunate individual or individuals.

The drinking water acts as reservoir where it lays in wait.

There are few cases because it is a matter of luck and chance as to whether it is consumed by an individual or not and there is in all probability only ONE SOURCE, THE DESAL PLANT..

Note the last data points are not zero or close to zero so it is continuing to spread.

The zoning policy around normal water wells works to kill the virus by leaving out of contact with a human host for a long period.

The lack of zoning around the Desal plant and its proximity to sources of sewage and wastewater mean that the virus can get back into the human population while still alive.

So people will continue to be infected and unlike Singapore, New Zealand, Australia, Dominica, Bermuda etc the daily new cases will never trend to zero.

Every single day, we are always just days away from some new flare up once we don’t get the new daily cases to trend to zero on the graph.

19. We have one goal if I am right and it is easy.

Keep it in the water and let it die.

Prevent it from getting back into the population by any means necessary.

It will go away and the daily new cases will trend to zero, just like the various countries which have control over their water supplies.

20. If there is no UV sterilisation at the output of the desal plant, get it or lock it down.

21. There is no rocket science involved here.

22. No public disclosures on local hotspots – No public disclosures on local hotspots: https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/03/13/no-public-disclosures-on-local-hotspots/

23. @ John March 13, 2021 10:33 AM
    “If there is no UV sterilisation at the output of the desal plant, get it or lock it down.”

Do not worry too much, Johnny ma boi!

The natural “UV sterilisation” is on its way in full glory direct from God.

Just give it a few more Solar days and you will soon feel the disinfecting heat from its face as the celestial equator appears on the horizon.

Get the people out of their houses and into the Sunshine and send the ‘cold’ Covid on the run!

24. re March 13, 2021 10:24 AM Steuspe
    YOU WILL HAVE TO Steuspe BECAUSE YOU CAN NOT REFUTE OR DISPUTE ANY OF THE SOUND PHARMACOLOGY PRINCIPALS I HAVE STATED LOL

25. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@David March 13, 2021 11:03 AM
    We don’t need to know the local hotspots but for all the transmissions we should be getting and need the frequency statistics for type of location, air quality and crowd size when the suspected infection occurred.

26. @CA

What we need is to rigidly observe COVID protocols.

27. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@David March 13, 2021 11:51 AM

My problem is these people are making declarations without any repercussions for themselves or company it turns out to be wrong.

Can we sue them if believing their claims causes us serious injury?

28. DavidMarch 13, 2021 11:59 AM

@CA

What we need is to rigidly observe COVID protocols.

What we need to do is to find the reservoir where the virus hides out and keep it confined there until it dies.

29. COVID Protocols on their own will not stamp out the virus.

30. The data shows that.

31. Critical Analyzer Avatar

The protocols are not as perfect as the authorities will have us believe.
    They want us to keep our guard up 24 hours a day, 7 days a week but transmissions are still occurring.

There was an article about a makeup artist who caught COVID while wearing a mask. Were all the other transmission cases occurring when protocols fully followed, partially or not or was it more to do with the environment.

I don’t believe some of the protocols are as effective as they will have us believe but they are not releasing any stats.

32. @CA

Is wearing a mask on its own the only protection? What guarantee can you give wearing a mask was slavishly done?

33. DavidMarch 13, 2021 12:12 PM

@CA

Is wearing a mask on its own the only protection? What guarantee can you give wearing a mask was slavishly done?

A mask is as useless as Joe Biden.

https://www.amazon.com/FACEMASK-Double-Layer-Protective-Repeatedly-Anti-Haze/dp/B08GCWGB9J

34. RE WHO says AstraZeneca safe
    SO WHAT?
    WHO IS WHO?
    HOW IS IT THAT SOME FOLK DONT BELIEVE GOD’S WORD AND THEY BELIEVE WHO- MAN’S WORD.
    I KNOW SUFFICIENT PHARMACOLOGY TO BE CAUTIOUS ABOUT ANY PHARMACEUTICAL. BECAUSE EVEN PANADOL CAN KILL…..AND HAS KILLED

LET ME STEUPSE FOR YOUR SIR

35. RE Critical AnalyzerMarch 13, 2021 12:09 PM

The protocols are not as perfect as the authorities will have us believe.
    They want us to keep our guard up 24 hours a day, 7 days a week but transmissions are still occurring.

There was an article about a makeup artist who caught COVID while wearing a mask. Were all the other transmission cases occurring when protocols fully followed, partially or not or was it more to do with the environment.

I don’t believe some of the protocols are as effective as they will have us believe but they are not releasing any stats.

CRITICAL ANALYZER I AGREE WITH YOU 1OO%
    WHAT YOU HAVE SAID ABOVE CAN NOT BE REFUTED

36. @ Critical (12.09)

You are right. A lot of it is the professed certainty of science. Scientists can never accept that they do not know. They are the new secular priests.
    Most of the protocols came in during the first weeks of the pandemic, when scientists did not even know how it was transmitted.
    If it is a respiratory disease, why some of the protocols? We are told social distance because of the aerosol spread. But this can be anything from three feet to six feet.
    What about the sanitiser? The hand washing? What about herd immunity? Sometime ago the CMO said some doctors in private practice were misdiagnosing CoVid. Whatever happened to that allegation?

37. @Critical A
    The protocols are not as perfect as the authorities will have us believe
    +++++++++++++++
    So what is your point? No one has ever said that masks were fool proof, shouldn’t individuals wear seat belts because someone has died in an accident while wearing a seat belt?

38. Has a seat belt ever saved a life? Or is that the official narrative?

39. RE Sometime ago the CMO said some doctors in private practice were misdiagnosing CoVid. Whatever happened to that allegation?

WHAT DO YOU WANT TO HAPPEN?
    WHEN YOU HAVE A PATIENT BEFORE YOU, ONE OFTEN FIRST COMES UP WITH WHAT IS CALLED A DIFFERENTIAL DIAGNOSIS. ONE THEN BY A PROCESS OF ELIMINATION COMES TO A DEFINITIVE DIAGNOSIS, BY GOOD HISTORY TAKING. OFTEN ONE HAS TO GO TO TESTS TO ASSIST IN GETTING TO THE DEFINITIVE DIAGNOSIS.

WHAT WOULD THE doctors in private practice DO IF THEY HAVE REACHED A DIFFERENTIAL BETWEEN DENGUE FEVER & COVID. WHAT RAPID TESTS DO YOU HAVE AVAILABLE?

DO YOU THINK THE STATEMENT BY THE CMO IS A RESPONSIBLE ONE?
    WHY DO YOU KEEP ON ASKING THIS QUESTION?

40. The make-up artist said her clients were not wearing masks and they were conversing with her, animatedly, most likely because they were at a party. Obviously they were no farther than arm’s length.

She felt that she should have donned her face shield but decided against it.

That is not doing all she should have done.

Where were you when I went through this with Angela Cox?

41. After all the rain last year and early this year, there is plenty dengue floating about.

42. In fact I know a guy who had symptoms and was immediately sent for COVID testing.

Came back negative.

Turns out it was dengue.

I remember years ago the dengue test was sent to Trinidad so it took some time to get confirmation or not.

43. If you can catch it from water, face shields and masks won’t stop you getting it.

It is worrying for me that the GOB wants to conceal hotspots.

What is already out there is enough for a pretty informed reasoning that it is the desal plant.

44. How come I can go on the internet and find information on hotspots for dengue for several years in Barbados?

https://www.ajtmh.org/view/journals/tpmd/103/1/article-p149.xml

What is the point of hiding COVID hotspots?

45. I ask the question because it has not been publicly resolved.

46. It looks as if we recycle our conversations. Hang around long enough and we start back at square one.

47. RE I ask the question because it has not been publicly resolved.

WHY DOES THE QUESTION HAVE TO BE PUBLICLY RESOLVED HAL? WHY?
    HOW WILL IT BE PUBLICLY RESOLVED?

HAVE YOU EVER BEEN IN A SITUATION WHERE YOU HAD TO MAKE A DIFFICULT DEFINITIVE DIAGNOSIS? NO! SO SHUT UP AND LISTEN AND TRY TO UNDERSTAND, AND LEARN. THATS WHAT IS WRONG WITH BU. EVERYBODY THINK THEY KNOW AND THEY DONT KNOW A THING

THE CMO’S STATEMENT WAS IRRESPONSIBLE AND ONLY SERVES TO MAKE MEDICAL ILITERATES LIKE YOU UNNECCESSARILY SKEPTICAL AND CRITICAL, AND TO ADD MORE ANXIETY TO THE SOCIETY

HIS JOB IS TO CIRCULATE CORRECT INFO TO THE GP’S THAT WOULD ASSIST THEM IN COMING TO THE CORRECT DIAGNOSIS IN THE FACE OF WHAT IS FOR THEM AN APPARENTLY DIFFICULT DIFFERENTIAL DIAGNOSIS.

DO YOU KNOW THAT THE CMO IS PROBABLY NOT SEEING ANY CASES AT ALL BUT JUST LISTENING TO REPORTS FROM JOKERS LIKE WHO & FALSY

HIS JOB IS TO CIRCULATE TO THE PUBLIC CORRECT & RELEVANT INFORMATION FOR THEM

I UNDERSTAND WHO THOSE YOUNG DOCTORS DOWN THERE MUST FEEL
    I CAN SEE HOW THEY WILL SAY DENGUE INSTEAD OF COVID TOO.

SOME JACKASS WILL NOW COME AND TRY TO CONTRADICT ME NOW
    HILARIOUS

48. RE I remember years ago the dengue test was sent to Trinidad so it took some time to get confirmation or not.
    TELL THAT TO HAL JOHN.
    YOU SEEM TO UNDERSTAND THE ISSUE….HAL CERTAINLY DOES NOT

Leave a Reply to ArtaxCancel reply