The following analysis prepared by Amit @caribbeansignal.com

The last time I researched and wrote anything COVID-19 related was back in June, 2020. Back then, I wrote a series of weekly “Covid-19 vs. The Caribbean” articles. Every Friday night, I’d scour several data sources for reports of confirmed new cases across the Caribbean, compile the data into spreadsheets, and publish some basic analysis on this site. All in all, I analyzed 13 weeks of data.

Much has changed since then. People across the globe are still suffering, as are our economies. Our lives have changed, no matter who you are or what you have (or don’t). Life events are either pre-Covid or post-Covid. Such is the scale and scope of this deadly virus. Despite that, Science has offered solutions. Vaccines were quickly developed (some would argue to quickly?) and are now being deployed globally and across the Region. We Humans have also learned to adapt, as Humans often do. Of-course, the Virus has adapted (as they often do), and the impact of vaccines on mutations is neither clear, nor certain. Ironically, neither is Life in general, except for death and taxes, or so they say.

Read full article: COVID-19 vs The Caribbean: Deaths Per Capita

625 responses to “COVID 19 Versus The Caribbean”

1. A review by the EU’s medicines regulator has concluded the Oxford-AstraZeneca Covid-19 vaccine is “safe and effective”, and its benefits outweigh the risks.
    The European Medicines Agency (EMA) found the vaccine was “not associated” with a higher risk of blood clots….(Quote)

This is called taking a precautionary measure. Exactly what we should have done in Barbados.

2. You have failed to address the substantive issue which is, others thought the blogmaster gave you preferential treatment as well.
    WHY I SHOULD “address the substantive issue” WHEN IT IS ERRONEOUS, AND WHEN
    THOSE OTHERS OF AN INFERIOR MENTALITY AND ENVIOUS NATURE WERE WRONG—- VERY WRONGl
    NONE OF THEM CAN HIRE OR FIRE ME, AND THANK GOD, I DONT “RICE” AT ANY OF THEM uh lie?

3. one of the delights of life is to sit at the back and watch obvious “inferior superiors” work very hard at playing that they know …….when I sit there just playing and bored. lol

4. “watch obvious “inferior superiors” work very hard at playing that they know ”
    Rocking and Mocking
    stuffing a stocking
    Isn’t that shocking
    That was some hard work. Took me half a day to find two words that rhyme with shocking. Actually I found a third word “docking”; did not use it as it had doc in it, you might take that as apersonal attack.

Did I convince you that I know?

5. 🐰
    You still drinking wastewater?
    Did that theory die…
    Did that hole come to an end…
    We need new theories.

6. THEO
    RE Rocking and Mocking
    stuffing a stocking
    Isn’t that shocking

NOT BAD AND I GUESS ONE CAN DO THE ABOVE WHILE “docking”

RE Did I convince you that I know? BUT I RESPECT THAT YOU ARE A TRIER LOL

7. Next.

8. RE NEXT

HERE IT IS …………TODAY IS THE 1 Year Anniversary of “15 Days to Flatten the Curve”

NEVER IN THE HISTORY OF MEDICINE, WHETHER ANCIENT OR MODERN AS SUCH A DUMB IDEA BEEN GIVEN TO A LEADER OF A COUNTRY………….WHO COULD NOT PERCIEVE THAT HE WAS IN THE PRESENCE OF A MISSIVE FROM SATAN HIMSELF.

SATAN HIMSELF, IS AS STUPID AS HIS SURROGATES.
    HE DID NOT UNDERSTAND THAT DESTROYING THE US ECONOMY AND TRUMP WOULD LEAD TO THE CURRENT DISASTER THAT IS LEADING HEADLONG TO

1- THE OBVIOUS DEMISE & IMPLOSION OF THE USA
    2- THE PROGRESS TOWARDS THE ONE WORLD GOVERNMENT OF THE REVISED ROMAN EMPIRE AS PREDICTED BY THE PROPHET DANIEL IN DANIEL 9
    3- THE ADVANCE OF REBELLION OR APOSTASY WHICH WILL CULMINATE IN
    4- THE RISE OF ANTICHRIST OR THE LAWLESS ONE AS PREDICTED IN 2 THESSALONIANS 2.
    GUESS WHAT WILL HAPPEN NEXT?
    MARANATHA .
    NONE OF THESE THINGS CAN BE REFUTED CORRECTLY

9. @ David,

” Next ” should by !

For but NOT on the behalf of the late HC canteen concessioneer John Gibbs, that word is defacto copyrighted and should only be used in the proper context by thoae of us who bought JuCs, Mud and bottled milk !

buh doan tex me too seriously . lol

10. YES HANTS THOSE WERE SIMPLE BUT GLORIOUS DAYS IN BARBADOS.
    I DID NOT SO OFTEN BUY DRINKS FROM JOHN BECAUSE I TOOK TO SCHOOL A TIGER MALT. BUT I HAVE HEARD HIM SNAP NEXT WHILE VISITING ONE OF THE MARY’S FOR CASAVA PONE.

11. @ The OGazerts March 18, 2021 12:56 PM
    “Rocking and Mocking
    stuffing a stocking
    Isn’t that shocking
    That was some hard work. Took me half a day to find two words that rhyme with shocking. Actually I found a third word “docking”; did not use it as it had doc in it, you might take that as apersonal attack.”

LOL!! That’s a good piece of rhyming on the Doc’s habit of rubbing and sliming while sitting in the BU dock.

That “docking” analogy should be right up GP’s ‘back’ street with his Captain Shitbama at the helm.

Maybe the old-fashioned self-gratifying god and cocky self-flagellating judge of all ‘man’ kind is more acquainted with his old choir boy habit called ‘cocky-knocking’ rather than its modern version called docking.

We can now dissect in the most desiccated Freudian style why he Doc. GP has such an intensively erotic love for his idol Trump.

Oh what a sight to behold as two limp dickheads try to make permanent berthing of their phallic spacecraft in their urinal heaven!

12. Where are you when Hal Austin is attacking the blogmaster????

Where are you when he calls people all sorts of nasty names????

And yuh blasted lie too! When Hal Austin posts something sensible, I am the first to say so. Artax and I agreed just a few weeks ago that his contributions on the subject of pensions were solid.

But….

The man is a hypocrite, a pompous prig, and a liar. Once he said that telling someone they should just curl up and die if they are so miserable would constitute a threat in any civilised jurisdiction.

Damn liar!

13. It is a tragedy that the BU family has become intolerant towards its own.

The voices of H.A. and G.P may not be to everyone’s taste. If you see their name; ignore their post.

14. @Hal Austin March 18, 2021 5:27 AM “Instead the [we/] bought the myth of poverty, over-crowded homes, etc.”

You may have bought it. I certainly did not.My sibling who lives there told me last year that she knows that they will let her die it she gets covid, and smile and sweet talk while the dying takes place. and this notwithstanding that she spent 40+ years working as a registered nurse in the NHS. But who values elderly, unmarried, childless black women?

So she got covid and nursed after herself at home.

15. How about you ignore mine if they are not to YOUR liking!

Take your own advice or stuff it where the monkey stuffed the nuts!

16. TLSNMarch 18, 2021 7:28 PM It is a tragedy that the BU family has become intolerant towards its own.

What is sad is the constant trolling by a couple of people. For clarity, I do not think Hal is one. He has his opinions which may counteract with others, but that is normal.

However, the deliberate attempt to bait or ridicule others and interject repetitive nonsense on literally every article, is the issue.

Moreover, I may be wrong, but I suspect that in the case of one, it is done with a specific motive, other than twisted personal enjoyment of responses.

I am not sure if he is being paid, or if there is another reason, but bear in mind that BU does attract wide readership and some opinions may have upset someone, who may be trying to discredit and demean the blog.

Information = control = power = money.

Some may fear enlightenment.

17. Hal Austin March 18, 2021 8:45 AM #: “Another one called me an insurance salesman agent or financial adviser. I have never been any of those.”

There you go again.

Why not ‘tell’ BU about when you used an article written by Tom Brenner of the New York Times I posted, in which he mentioned “President Trump relentlessly cited the stock market’s meteoric rise as a sign of his success at restoring confidence in the American economy,” as the basis to repeatedly claim in every one of your contributions thereafter, I did not “know the difference between the stock market and the economy,” when I never made any correlation between the two?

Or, the occasion when you asked about the disciplinary body for accountants in BARBADOS and I ‘said’ ICAB and you went on a rant thereafter, ‘saying’ I don’t know the disciplinary body for accountants in the UK?

Then you would come on BU to play the ‘victim,’ and the members of your fan club would come out and offer you sympathy. One idiot even mentioned some nonsense about ‘envy,’ while ignoring the pejorative terms you use to describe people and the reality is you’re a lying, nasty piece of work.

18. Chaneling Ronald Regan? Who remembers this
    https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=there+you+go+again.

19. @ Brother Crusoe,
    Since the days of the plantation, blacks have always been undermined by a minority of their own people. The highest ranked negro on the plantation was bestowed the title; Uncle Tom. He was vigilant and was the eyes and ears for his master.

The growth of the mullato class during the plantation era ensured that the negro would remain rooted to the plantation; forever impoverished.

The same dynamics are in place today and have always come to the forefront, especially, when blacks have sought to empower themselves at a social, economic and political level.

There is a large black underclass in Barbados who exist under the radar. It is this group of people who I share solidarity with.

It appears to be off-limits to discuss social and racial inequality on this blog. The rampant corruption on the island that fuels this inequality appears equally to be off-limits.

The best way to diffuse and to shut down such debate is to target individuals and to take the discussion down a cul-de-sac.

It is evident that the views from the Barbados diaspora are unwelcome. They are a targeted group.

Barbados is heading towards penury; however we appear more comfortable debating individuals.

Crusoe, the Uncle Tom from the plantation has now been replaced with our government and their civil servants; who in turn are been controlled by others.

We need to study Barbados rasta community as they are the only group who are following the words of Marcus Garvey. This group is, aggressively, pushing for self-automony. I wish them all the best.

20. Bad news for our tourist industry. It has been heavily reported that the rush to take a foreign holiday may have to be postponed due to a surge in covid-19 cases mainly in Europe.

I hope that our government is taking account.

21. I would like to add to the following, but am unable to do so

“There is a large black underclass in Barbados who exist under the radar. It is this group of people who I share solidarity with.
    It appears to be off-limits to discuss social and racial inequality on this blog. The rampant corruption on the island that fuels this inequality appears equally to be off-limits.
    The best way to diffuse and to shut down such debate is to target individuals and to take the discussion down a cul-de-sac.
    It is evident that the views from the Barbados diaspora are unwelcome. They are a targeted group.
    Barbados is heading towards penury; however we appear more comfortable debating individuals.
    Crusoe, the Uncle Tom from the plantation has now been replaced with our government and their civil servants; who in turn are been controlled by others.”
    A+

22. Have you noticed that the doom and gloom crowd snuck out of the room?

Time and good policies were allies to the GOB. But now that it appears that we have rounded the bend, time is an ally to the doom and gloom crowd;

Formula:
    Looks as if we have an upper hand: Time is an ally to the D&G crew
    Looks as if Covid is winning: Time is an ally to the GOB.

Sound and sensible protocols will always be an ally to the GOB.

Well, I guess the D&G crew are waiting silently around the corner

23. Suddenly, not a a=squeak on covid-19

24. The number of deaths related to novel coronavirus (COVID-19) moved to 40 on Saturday, March 20, when a 61-year-old Barbadian woman passed away at the Harrison Point Isolation Facility.

https://www.nationnews.com/2021/03/22/covid-deaths-40/

25. HantsMarch 22, 2021 5:45 PM

The number of deaths related to novel coronavirus (COVID-19) moved to 40 on Saturday, March 20, when a 61-year-old

Barbadian woman passed away at the Harrison Point Isolation Facility.

So where did she live?