In May 2018 the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) achieved the unprecedented in a general election by winning all 30 seats. Although Bishop Joseph Atherley seized the opportunity to defect and by default forced the Governor General to appoint him Leader of the Opposition, it does not detract from the shellacking of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) at the 2018 polls.

Immediately on winning the government Prime Minister Mottley continued with the unprecedented by establishing the largest Cabinet in the history of Barbados AND the world. Her rationale- ‘many hands make light work’. In an interview soon after her momentous win Mottley explained to retired journalist David Ellis that Barbadians should judge her government over time on its performance to justify the large selection – An Interview with Prime Minister Mottley.

Students of politics are aware the appointment of a large front bench is designed to blunt the back bench. Unfortunately it is the political gamesmanship and chicanery our adversarial politics encourages.

As the countdown to the next general election 2023 starts the question included in the poll must be fairly considered.

Related Link: An Invisible Mottley Cabinet

176 responses to “Some Ministers of Government Not Earning Pay”

1. The only way we will see significant improvement in Barbados or any other developing nation is to provide broad base personal improvement opportunities and not “trickle down” economics by only giving the rich campaign supporters the opportunities. There is no more patience with this model. All government has to do is provide the enabling framework then get out of the way.

…”A recently published study on the long-run effects of mobile money on economic outcomes in Kenya provides some valuable insights that will benefit economic development and financial inclusion policies across Africa.

The study found that increased access to mobile money has reduced poverty in Kenya, particularly among female-headed households. Rapid expansion of mobile money has lifted an estimated 2% of Kenyan households (some 194,000) out of extreme poverty. It has also enabled 185,000 women to move out of subsistence farming and into business or sales occupations”…

LETS GO BARBADOS

https://www.cnbcafrica.com/2017/mpesa-economic-impact-on-kenya/

2. @Bajanabroad

Believe it or not Haiti has a few mobile wallets that are well utilized by the population. Go figure.

3. GP,

Maybe he is telling us to watch out for her dictatorial tendencies and the dangers of trusting like sheep while bleating, “Auntie Mia!”

Once a distant relative, coworker and friend told me she does not allow her daughter to call anyone but her real auntie by that title. No fake aunties and no fake uncles. She did not want her daughter to feel that level of trust for too many people.

Once I corrected her daughter on a simple little thing and said, “Trust me!” She retorted that she trusted her mother only. I thought it was a little unnecessary for her to say but I understood the point.

Ms. Mottley is the prime minister not our auntie. We must keep our eyes on her. We must not assume she loves us and knows what is best for us.

Even the covid message coming out on the truck rubs me the wrong way!

“My people, this is Mia, your prime minister.”

The tone was hilarious! My son was inside working with headphones on so I mimicked it for him. He nearly hit the floor.

And her habit of saying “believe you me” and “trust me” is annoying..

I voted for her party because there was a worse alternative.

Period.

4. Reverting to the earlier point- if Mottley and government are of the view her large cabinet is worth its weight in gold, let them come to the public to articulate policies and tactics of execution; status of implementations and related. The time for showing heads only when it is time for election gearing is over.

5. DONNA

RE Maybe he is telling us to watch out for her dictatorial tendencies and the dangers of trusting like sheep while bleating, “Auntie Mia!”
    MAYBE YOU ARE CORRECT

RE Ms. Mottley is the prime minister not our auntie. We must keep our eyes on her.
    I CAN HONESTLY SAY THAT NOW I LOOK ONLY TO JESUS AS IS TAUGHT CLEARLY IN HEBREWS 12:1-2 THUS
    12 Wherefore seeing we also are compassed about with so great a cloud of witnesses, let us lay aside every weight, and the sin which doth so easily beset us, and let us run with patience the race that is set before us,

2 Looking unto Jesus the author and finisher of our faith; who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is set down at the right hand of the throne of God.

6. David,

As an old boyfriend of mine used to say, “Report!”

7. The trick is that if Mottley approves such an approach i.e. ministers making themselves available it will expose the flanks to attack from opposition forces/voices given the difficult environment it has to be managing.

8. @David
    These Ministers only come to the public when they are given permission to. All roads lead to and from MAM. It’s as simple as that. None of them dare speak on their own on any policy matter without being given the heads up.

Remember Dale and the Deputy Commissioner thing?
    Remember Duguid back in the day with his seatbelt mouthings and traffic policies?
    Where are the outspoken George, Gline and Trevor now??
    When last anybody heard Ronald Toppin or Cynthia Forde aka the Old Guard?
    Where did Minister Moe disappear to??

We have a large Cabinet willing to sing for their supper but a single choirmaster who holds all the notes. The question is, are we comfortable with having a country run like that, especially in the absence of any opposition??

And for the avoidance of doubt believe you me my friends, Jong and Henry will forever ensure that communication is tight, scripted and with the usual flair and propaganda when possible. After all, this is who we are.

Just observing

9. Good question about Senator Moe. No explanation, none has been forthcoming about here demise. Another act of disrespect to taxpayers.

10. @ David.

My point exaclty you can have nuff ministers and say many hands make light work, so the question then becomes where is the diversification plan then?

Based on the many hand logic diversification plans should be flowing like the constitution river after heavy rain!

11. “We keep looking to the wrong people to drive diversification. ”

that’s why the Black population is being NUDGED…to move away from the system that’s overloaded with debt they didn’t create and DON’T OWE and remake themselves WITHIN theBlack family….leave the system for the minorities and the haunted house inhabitants, they are the only ones who benefit anyway…..time to get real..

12. The question of the large cabinet should not even be a topic of debate, everyone with a pulse knows this to be a fact. As to not earning their pay, David Thompson in probably a politicians unguarded moment put a name to it “the fatted calf”; he could have easily said “the golden calf” absent any religious connotation.

13. Why is it that some people are now prepared to criticise the government, when all the problems they talk about now were obvious for the last two and a half years?.

14. Well lookee here ya got some Barbados/Caribbean ancestry rocking in the Gambia

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=KWVm0WE_6W4

15. @ Hal.

I think what is happening now is the reality of our economy is now sinking in to the heads of many and the political 3 step can no longer rule the dance floor. People want answers as they are worried about the future as is every hotel work and taxi driver.

The other thing I would like the goverment to do is stop talking about how strong they are to weather the covid blow based on the high level of reserves. Wunna seem to forget that 80% of those reserves are made up Of loans which must be repaid.

That is like me saying I got $3000 in cash today when my $2500 mortgage due tomor. If you want to speak honestly of your financial ability to weather the storm, then please speak to NET RESERVES with loan balances and interest cost taken out.

16. By the way, in Uganda they replaced Idi Amin with Museveni; in Zimbabwe with Mnangagwa; we also had changes from the worse in Iraq and Libya.
    In Barbados we went from Stuart to Mottley. Was that an improvement? Where is George Payne?

17. Leave them (Mia etc) to handle the economy, they are the experts. And millionaires.They need no help.

18. George Payne is looki g forward to his 73rd birthday later this year.

Steuspe

19. @ John A

All Mia has to do to marginalise her critics is to turn any talk of economic development in to a party political conversation. Then the Bees and Dees will come out swinging.
    I said before, if you are taught by rote and make no attempt to change your mind set you behave like a house-trained family pet.

20. See, you got your own tribe.

Am not from that tribe.

21. Mia has taken over ministry why should the ministers work
    She has become the Minister of Everything u name it she is up front to do what is expected of each ministry
    Steupse

22. @ Hal
    What did the 300 pounds rat say to the cat ?
    Answer : Here kitty kitty…….here kitty kitty

@ John A
    Have you visited your family on Mars recently?
    You would probably visit them again before you hear or see any diversification plan from Mottley. She is now quoting Biden , I think, “ Build back better”
    @ Tron
    Congrats on your BU Literary Award . Hard work often pays off. Looking forward to your book of gems.
    Nice try !

What a beautiful Sunday afternoon,. Thanks David. You have a way of bringing out the very best in all of us.
    Cheers!

23. Work for John King Minister of culture. Copy your Jamaican counterpart.

24. The young have the opportunity to move forward. They need no permission.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=LndkHzkiy74

25. Work for the ministers. Free exercise and vitamin D

” Cotton pickers are advised that harvesting attire must comprise the following: long sleeve shirts, long pants, headgear (hat, scarf or head tie), and fully enclosed shoes. They should also have an umbrella and water.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/02/28/cotton-harvesting-restarts-tomorrow/

26. The army of ministers / consultants etc is obviously a safety net (blanket).
    Remember once bitten twice shy.
    It will be up to others to decide if Bajans can be easily bought.
    To the victor goes the spoils.

27. Virtual crop over music festival ?

28. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

It’s appalling that black face leaders, allow these crimes to continue in Black majority countries like Barbados and REFUSE to criminalize these ignorant, intolerate racist haters….but they will now all be exposed to the world on the REGULAR…no more escape hatches because of backward, wicked leaders.

https://www.instagram.com/p/CL2_BVTnKEF/?utm_source=ig_web_copy_link

29. Well, Well, Well.

President Sarkozy of France has been sent to jail for corruption. Vive la justice francaise!

Would our justice system in Barbados tolerate the imprisonment of our leaders for similar crimes?

https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2021/3/1/frances-sarkozy-convicted-of-corruption-sentenced-to-jail

30. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

TLSN…good for the little prick, a nasty piece of work. Long overdue.

31. “The court said Sarkozy, a former lawyer himself, was “perfectly informed” about committing such illegal action. His two co-defendants were also found guilty and handed the same sentence.”

small island ministers/lawyers also love to pretend that they don’t know when they’re breaking the law, especially human rights laws against Black people, but they always know when the poor does something illegal…..

they too will get what’s coming to them…soon come.

32. It is amazing that only in Barbados will they expect a people whose culture is based on religion, caste and complexion would change once they arrive in Barbados.

33. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Wait them out and get it for $300,000. Doubtful any overseas investors are interested right now with all the turmoil…especially if the Black population spend their money only with each other.

“[COMMERCIAL PROPERTY FOR SALE]
    Musson Warehouse, Bridgetown, St. Michael
    Floor Area: 26,634 Sq.Ft.
    Land Area: 23,091 Sq. Ft.
    Sale Price: US$ 2,000,000.00
    “[COMMERCIAL PROPERTY FOR SALE]
    Musson Warehouse, Bridgetown, St. Michael
    Floor Area: 26,634 Sq.Ft.
    Land Area: 23,091 Sq. Ft.
    Sale Price: US$ 2,000,000.00
    https://bit.ly/BTMussWHWeb
    This historic 2-storey structure is accessible from both St. George and Hincks Street in Bridgetown. Located across from the historic Lower Green/Jubilee Gardens, it includes a small mall and several shop spaces.”

34. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Those in the parliament and the minority crooks…who the Black population, reparations TOO…..thieves..$50 billions to build SHITE in a St. Lucy Project and NOTHING for the descendants of the enslaved….and acutally told themselves that they’re getting away with another vicious crime like that….

https://blackamericaweb.com/2021/02/27/reversing-course-obama-says-he-favors-reparations-as-proposed-legislation-gains-more-support/

“Former President Barack Obama said he believes America owes a debt to the descendants of enslaved Africans, reversing his position on reparations as debate about legislation on the contentious topic gains steam in Congress.”

35. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Those in the parliament and the minority crooks…OWE the Black population, reparations TOO…

36. @ de minster ah culcha. We got nuff talented Bajan musicians.

Looking forward to virtual cropover music and shows.

37. NorthernObserver Avatar

@WW&C
    Wait you think they are not Black overseas investors, or locals, able to buy the old BS&T buildings that Massy are trying to convert to cash. You could open a DOTE Fund and buy one or two.

38. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Northern….did you see the price i quoted, in Bajan dollars…who is going to buy some musty oldbond from the early 19th century or thereabouts for 4 million dollars, in these times, location not withstanding, many people could afford 300K.

I saw Teets promoting this, did not pay attention at the time, but someone was…

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/02/28/btcolumn-open-letter-to-ag-and-gg/

“Sir and Madam:

Your government wants to introduce new computer chip national identity with fingerprinting and you offer as reasons that the past government was going to do it and the card will now be secure!

As reasons those insult intelligence.

The past administration was put OUT because people did not like things they were doing. Your administration got an overwhelming yes because you offered the possibility of something new. But now you hark back for a Pavlovian reaction of party politics! Mr. Attorney General, you can do better than that.”

39. @ northern

I think any investors eyeing those properties will do one of 2 things. Either go in dirt cheap bottom fishing, or wait to see what size and value this economy settles at post covid.

40. In all the mess, music is a constant. I remember after Buju had his show in Barbados a black uppity member of cabinet tried to shove a knife in his back, but look at Buju now. Haven’t heard about Dr. Death in a long time though.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=M1auJZzAIJc

41. NorthernObserver Avatar

@JohnA
    I was merely sparring with Waru. I have no idea about property in Bim. The comeyehs (I think that is slang for Canadians) have been buying a lot in recent years, while the comefrays (UK) own plenty. When the Trinis bought BS&T, it came with a lot of property. They have been unloading (turning it into cash), or trying to unload, for a few years.

42. Why would anyone buy commercial property in the city or its environs at this time? It makes no economic sense.

43. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“The comeyehs” (I think that is slang for Canadians)

“the comefrays (UK)”

very good….all now wishing they could sell every shite and leave…some already sold their gated community homes, paradise turned into a nightmare, they don’t need to come to the Caribbean to get that…….yep

44. Why would anyone buy commercial property in the city or its environs at this time? It makes no economic sense…..(Quote)

Economic illiteracy. It makes massive economic sense to buy a run-down warehouse in the centre of the city at this time since its value will rise as the city develops.
    An asking price of Bds $4m is cheap for the location for any commercial developer. What commercial property sales such as do is to expose the underdevelopment of financial services in Barbados.
    Good business heads would raise debt to buy the property, develop it, then sell on. It could turn it in to a hotel, a small business facility, rental office, etc.
    Or, they can establish a fund (4m/10= $400000), fora example a Real Estate Investment Trust, apply for planning permission to redevelop the site, or simply refurbish the building.
    Bds$4m is not an intimidating amount. We must reclaim our country.

45. You are clueless what is happening at thos time and in the medium term for the city.

46. Then explain. You always come on with nonsense then get aggressive. The property is a great commercial opportunity. It makes economic sense to buy it.
    You said it made no economic sense. You are wrong. Now you are claiming you are privy to developments that no-one else knows. Tell us what those development plans are.

47. @ David March 2, 2021 3:19 AM
    “Why would anyone buy commercial property in the city or its environs at this time? It makes no economic sense.”

Even before the advent of Covid Bridgetown was on its last legs as an attractive place for commercial investment with many enterprises exiting the ‘City’ to move to more appealing locations like Warrens with the situation made worse by the GoB itself ‘scuttling’ its own “Capital “ by moving many of its offices out of the same Bridgetown.

Any gentrification of Bridgetown would require a few hundred millions in private sector investment to convert those derelict buildings which once served as import/export storage bonds into modern housing cum commercial sites with some turned into windows to the sea to ‘expose’ clear vistas to the beautiful Carlisle Bay which might have turned out, “accidentally”, to be the case with the proposed Hyatt hotel site.

The government has neither the money nor access to foreign loans to undertake such a wide-ranging infrastructural project, parts of which Hal Austin et al were proposing since many moons ago.

The moot question is whether the parasitic private sector investment magnates in Barbados (including the likes of Altman, Abed and Maloney with his US 175 mill. now sitting idle) are prepared to put their money where their parasitic big mouths are in order to save the country from total economic stagnation.

48. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

BUT….am not Angela Cole, i will invite the whole earth to watch this….that’s one of my strengths..

“The Predetermined Victimization of Personal Injury Claimants in Barbados’ Courts.”
    Copyright ⓒ 2021.

49. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Keep playing games…tiktok…the LONGER this can go on.

“Weaponizing the colonial court system against Black people is never more evident and recognizable than when a person finds themself having to traverse the Supreme Court for a civil matter through no fault of their own. Whether it’s personal injury or a land dispute.” Copyright ⓒ 2021.

Leave a Reply to TLSNCancel reply