Kudos to the Nation newspaper for highlighting the human interest story Family lacks electricity for online classes. The story resonated with the blogmaster for many reasons that should be obvious to sensible people. Leaders in education of late, forced to implement Covid 19 measures, have been repeatedly braying the cliche “no child must be left behind‘ – what does that mean? What does the image of children clustered around a mobile device in a less than an ideal arrangement say to fellow citizens?

Credit: Nation News

For too long better educated individuals than this buffoon, illiterate blogmaster have promoted the view we must modify the system of education to make it fit for purpose. The pandemic razing the global economic and social landscape of developed and developing countries has exposed weaknesses in the system successive governments have largely ignored or demonstrated a lack of competence to effectively manage.

We live in a country, a world it seems that consumes and distil ALL issues through a political lens. Factors influencing policymaking require several inputs be considered with the political being ONE.

Now the pandemic has humbled the education system the consequence of which we will not be able to determine for years to come. Are we there yet to do what is required? Are we ready to critically review and implement innovations required to enable our children to successfully compete in the global economy?

The task of not adequately preparing our children for the world has dire consequences for our small, beautiful paradise we love. An island that has accomplished so much considering its limited natural resources. Let us work together to show we love Barbados by continuing constructive engagement; sharing ideas, holding citizens, leaders accountable.

Read the Nation article Family lacks electricity for online classes.

Family lacks electricity for online classes 

Six children in one household cannot log on to the virtual classroom because their home lacks electricity.

Grandmother Cora Eastmond told the Weekend Nation that she has to give the devices to a friend who lives in Black Rock, St Michael, to get them charged and, depending on his schedule, she may get them back in a day or two.

The 61-year-old woman, who lives in My Lord’s Hill, St Michael, has been featured in this newspaper in the past and continues to receive assistance in the form of food and clothing for the children. Though unemployed, she is the sole guardian of three of the children, following the death of their mother five years ago.

The grandchildren range in age from five to 12.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic and classes being shifted online, Eastmond said she had now reached the stage where there was a desperate need for the utilities.

“The house does not have electricity. I does got to send the phones and tablets to get charged and the tablets does have to go all the way to Black Rock,” she cried. “Sometimes the children don’t get their schoolwork done,” she said, adding that all of them had received devices.

The woman inherited the small two-bedroom wooden house in which the family lives when her mother passed away. Eastmond said she started to get it wired for electricity but did not have the money to complete the process even though she had some of the fittings stored.

She added that the house also had natural gas attached but it was disconnected many years ago.

“We does got to go by the $3 Store and buy batteries and go by an Indian store and buy lights and sometimes the batteries only lasting two or three nights,” she said, as she produced the small lanterns which the family used to illuminate the house at night.

In terms of cooking gas, she said while she buys the 25-pound cylinder bottle, it only lasts about a week because of the cooking which had to be done for the family.

“So I does have to walk down the road to the gasstation and if they don’t have gas I have to gofurther and my knees can’t take it because I have

arthritis.”

Eastmond said she felt helpless when it came to the needs of her family since they were all dependent on her.

“It is six children and three adults that live here. My son is out working and he tries his best but this is too much. I am getting old. I don’t know how much of this I can take. I don’t know how much longer I got on this Earth but I want better for the children,” she said, tears rolling down her face.

Eastmond said someone from the Barbados Light & Power recently visited the house but she did not know why since he only asked questions about the occupants. (MB)

85 responses to “To Barbadians: No Child Must be Left Behind”

1. @ Mia Mottley Prime Minister of Barbados 🇧🇧

We love you because you understand, dear
    Every single thing we try to do
    You’re always there to lend a helping hand, dear
    We love you most of all because you’re you

No matter what the world may say about you
    I know your love will always see us through
    We love you for the way you never doubt us
    But most of all we love you cause you’re you

We love you because our heart is lighter
    Every time I’m walking by your side
    We love you because the future’s brighter
    The door to happiness, you open wide

No matter what the world may say about you
    I know your love will always see Us through
    We love you for a hundred thousand reasons
    But most of all we love you cause you’re you…

🙏

2. file:///C:/Users/User/Desktop/Higher%20education.pdf

3. Ricardo
    You talking shite

When school in Barbados were opened to face to face. The school in the USA were doing online only

Barbados had an under 20 / a child died a few weeks ago

Children may not be affected much like an over 80. But when they go school and pick up the virus the will take it home to granny

4. @John2
    as well as pass it on to teachers.

While Ricardo has many misguided points the substantive point remains that not enough focus, planning, policy direction and attention has been placed on education generally, and education during and after a Covid-19 environment.

btw, Has anyone seen or heard Santia lately???

Just Observing

5. John2 and Theo well done. 2021.

6. @ Hal
    I remember the elitism that was practiced back then, grading schools etc.
    We really don’t like these subjects r
    because we are afraid to even discuss farless encourage them.

7. This is how nasty some of these $5 a hr security guards can be to children, disabled, elderly, they don’t care….then they call themselves the most educated people in the Caribbean.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/02/27/mother-laments-the-discriminatory-treatment-of-her-disabled-son-at-a-recent-polyclinic-visit/

“A mother is outraged at what she is describing as the “inhumane” treatment meted out to her disabled son when they visited the Randall Phillips Polyclinic in Oistins, Christ Church on February 11.

Lisa Scott, who claims that a security guard at the polyclinic refused access to a chair for her son while he waited outside to be vaccinated at the public polyclinic, told Barbados TODAY that she has made an official complaint to authorities at the facility, “

8. A promising Santia Bradshaw was last seen spouting about the necessary overhaul of our education system to accommodate the various known intelligences that lead us to places other than law school, medical school or jail. Although in more and more cases it law school AND jail!

Unfortunately, she said the middle schools /specialist schools will cost money and would therefore not materialise overnight. And the Common Entrance too lives on!

Since then she has been spotted with various nothing mouthings that will no doubt be blamed on the pandemic.

Everyting pon pause!

9. “Therefore, enquiring minds are curious and wonder why none of this vital intelligence was never taught in schools from primary to tertiary level, quickly becoming part of the curricula to both enlighten and advise current and future nuclear families about their vulnerabilities and the expert, sophisticated methods still employed to subdue and dominate them, devoid of any privilege that would respect basic African human rights.” Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved.

they have no shame, still pretending that an education system of indoctrination is helpful to AFRICAN DESCENDED people….just looking at them, we can see how destructive the system that has nothing uplifting to boast about…. turned them into what they are…a disgraceful lot..

10. Some challenges???

Navigating online technologies for education presents many challenges, besides the obvious concerns about students’ ability to access the necessary tools and technologies. The interaction between teachers and students in the digital space is different from face-to-face engagement and depends on the level of digital literacy possessed by both parties. To carry out “formal” educational processes online requires both competence and confidence. For evidence of this, just ask any of the many members of parliament or local government councillors who have assisted members of the public with submitting online applications for social services

11. Kids shouldnt even bother going to school now, besides the fact that the teachers of the past have become self indulgent political hacks ,what are they actually teaching. This is no joke, I had my kids and their friends over for cocktails the other night. They were talking about babble and rosetta stone for learning spanish, I asked you know what the rosetta stone is right and nobody knew, I thought they were joking so I went into how it was found when napoleon was in egypt 1799 etc and thats how they were able to decipher hieroglyphics. Not one knew university degrees galore. About 10 years ago I was in the pub and the waitresses were talking about my bald buddy out on the patio. I said when he was younger he was a real good looking guy had a thick head of hair…like stalin…again the girls had all been to university and didnt know who stalin was….save your damned money go to trade school.

12. “save your damned money go to trade school.”

yep…trade school it is or IT, internet security, programming etc…ya can’t go wrong.

13. Apathetic ?

The No. 1 reason for the underrepresentation of students in gifted education is the lack of teacher referrals, even when students are highly gifted. I definitely think stereotypes and biases hinder educators from seeing students’ gifts and talents. In most schools on the Island, if you are not referred by an educator, you will not move through the identification pipeline for gifted education programs and services, as well as Advanced Placement. It starts and it stops with teachers.

14. @ Tony February 27, 2021 11:54 AM

Well done!

Obviously, I am not the only concerned, neutral citizen here who believes the official government news and not the diabolical opposition.

15. @John get your shite right. Public schools here with zero cases never opened to face to face learning for more than 2 days per week.

Meanwhile all of europe reopened schools April 2020 and stayed open until this Christmas with some countries closing for half to all of January. In Republican states like Florida and Georgia school was open in face to face in September , in Canada every province every school open, in USA politics and the Democrat conspiracy to beat Trump kept the schools closed in those states.
    Zero cases in Barbados and school has been closed since March 2020….and to be exact they opened in June for only 11plus study and cxc exam. Then Sept to Christmas 2 day per week in class learning.
    This government doesn’t give a shit about education, coconut vending and talking about partying is all that matters.
    And guess what kids get sick and can pass it to adults, adults can get sick and pass to kids…that’s how nature works. I hope you realize life is finite, people die. 2100 die every year in Barbados. There is no moral reason that any school university included should be closed even if 80 year olds were dying in droves on the streets. Covid is here to stay, the most important thing is the future which is kids and education,
    And even if you disagree which you shouldn’t it doesn’t take away that a PM gave a 48 minute speech about covid response and didn’t spend 1 second talking about schools and education
    Pathetic

16. Ricardo

I am in the republic state of Georgia and I can tell you School were opened and there was a spike in strident and teachers and the schools were closed to face to face

Up to Friday some school are not opened to 100% face to face
    Some schools the teachers report to work and teach there students online

Get your fact straight
    I can’t speak for fl or any of the other places u mentioned but I know over all in the USA all schools are not opened to face to face bacause if Concern by teachers some of them being high risk etc

Some schools are opened but the parents got the option to send their kids or let them remain at home

Barbados is doing what is best for Barbados

17. @William Skinner February 27, 2021 11:02 AM “I have been pushing Continuous Assessment since the early 70s. The major problem with the Eleven plus is that it does not capture the full talents of the children and is lop-sided , favoring those who are academically inclined
    There is also the problem with transferring children to the secondary stage with little or no relevant information to bridge the connection.”

Agreed.

When my children’s 11+ turn came I was surprised to learn that their elementary school report cards did not go with them to secondary school. Only the 11 grade went with them. This was foolish 29 years ago and it is foolish now. The new school/new teachers should know the child as fully as possible. As is is all they are given is 2 numbers.

I also ask what do we mean when we say “academically inclined”

I noticed that one of my children had extraordinary spatial intelligence when the child was 26 months old and started giving me driving directions. The 11+ does not assess spatial, artistic, athletic, nor musical intelligences. The 11+ cannot help us to discover a Garry Sobers, nor a Rihanna nor many, many more. I am not even sure if our parents and our society values such intelligences. However I don’t believe that this child was hurt by the 11+. Did moderately well in the 11+, did not go to QC, nor HC nor Combermere, but got a good secondary education never the less. A couple of teachers at secondary school noticed what I had silently observed, as did a teacher at BCC, so yes we do have some wonderful perceptive teachers in the system. Youngster is not a doctor, not a lawyer, not an engineer, not an accountant, not an economist, not a banker. Graduated from a university in a field that highly values spatial intelligence. Tells me regularly of the joy that work provides.

All of us, the state, the parents, the teachers must learn to value each child, and do all that we can to help each child discover his or her gifts and do what we can to help each young person to hone his or her gifts. Because as a cousin if mine likes to say “God does not send a bird unless he sends a berry.”

18. Beautiful de beautiful.

Situated in the Atlantic Ocean, just east of the Caribbean Sea, Barbados is the eastern outlier of the West Indies. Among the Caribbean islands, Barbados breaks from the gently curving Lesser Antilles islands, which include formerly French islands such as St. Lucia, St. Vincent and St. Kitts. These islands trace the edge of the Caribbean tectonic plate as it intersects with the North and South American Places, forming an arc of volcanic islands. Barbados lies on an ocean shelf east of the volcanic arc and does not have its own volcano.

Island Formation
    Barbados lies directly over the intersection of the Caribbean plate and the South American plate in a region known as a subduction zone. Beneath the ocean floor, the South American plate slowly slides below the Caribbean plate. The marine sediment — essentially the sand or soil at the base of the ocean floor — is scraped off the top of the South American plate and forms a buildup known as an accretionary prism. In the case of Barbados, coral grew over this pile of sediment, and the coral was pushed closer and closer to the ocean surface as more sediment added to the accretionary prism. Barbados is known as a coral island because its base is made from upwardly-moving coral, not volcanic lava flow.

Eastern Cliffs and Beaches
    Eastern Barbados, with treacherous currents and pounding surf, is no place for casual swimmers. The area has become popular with surfers, who take advantage of the heavy Atlantic waves. This side of the island differs so markedly from the smooth eastern beaches because of a combination of the strong Atlantic wave patterns and the underlying rock composition. Closer to the continental plate convergence, the eastern shore of Barbados rose from the water first and is geologically older than the lower, terraced sections to the west. Small white and tan sand beaches dot the limestone and sandstone cliffs on the eastern shore, made respectively from compacted carbonate coral and marine sediment.

Western Beaches
    The jutting land masses of the east slope in a defined terrace structure out to the low-lying western beaches. Terracing provides gentle descents on both land and underwater, so swimmers can wade far out into the water as the ocean floor slopes gradually. The terraces formed when Barbados was pushed above the ocean surface by marine sediment accumulation at the site of the accretionary prism and coral grew at each newly exposed surface level. As the coral was pushed further out of the water, it died and dried up. Ocean waves eroded the coral into the fine sand and white or pinkish color that makes up the island’s beaches today.

19. Good job John2
    I live next door to a kindergarten school in NJ. It’s not open.

There is no uniform policy for opening or closing of schools in the USA. Even within a state there is some variation on openings and closings.

Trying hard to sit on the sidelines and read, but have to chirp in every now and then.

20. I am a modest user of electricity, small family and I use about $70 per month. This much larger family will need about $120 BDS per month for electricity, and about $20 for natural gas, so once the electricity is set up $140 BDS per month for a year or two until more than one of the adults can find work would make a great difference. I wonder if Light and Power would permit some people to pay forward the electric bill and the same with the gas company?

We did not get electricity at our rural home until I was about 11 or 12 and I remember how magical the experience was.

21. @ Tony February 27, 2021 9:48 PM

If we truly believe in the almighty Goddess Bim, she will grant her prophet Mia the power to defeat the demon Corona and to found the People´s Republic of Barbados.

22. Checked school openings with a friend in Georgia. In that district the schools started virtually in late August, then went to in person in October, but closed just before Thanksgiving because of covid spikes. Went back after Thanksgiving but closed just before Christmas again because of Covid spikes. Have started back again with special needs kids going in first, 2 weeks later elementary, then 2 more weeks later high and middle school, but only for 4 days per week as the classrooms are given a careful sanitizing mid-week. Masks mandatory for teachers but optional for students. Vaccinations will begin the second week of March.

23. Published Wednesday, February 3, 2021 5:14AM EST

“In-person learning will resume at schools in most of Ontario next week but students in Toronto, Peel and York regions will have to wait until Feb. 16 for their return to the classroom.

The Ford government has announced that schools will reopen in an additional 13 public health units as of Monday, including Durham and Halton regions.

But it says that schools will remain remote-only in Toronto, Peel and York for another week and will instead reopen after the Family Day long weekend on Feb. 16.”

P.S. Toronto, Peel and York are the most heavily populated areas of the Province of Ontario.

Source: https://www.cp24.com/news/schools-in-toronto-peel-and-york-can-reopen-feb-16-all-other-schools-set-to-reopen-monday-1.5293504

24. @Ricardo February 27, 2021 11:45 AM “The average public school physical plant facility would not pass any of the standards setup in the USA, Canada or the EU. Schools get closed down for odours, mold…”

How about ventilation?

25. Our schools will reopen once the teachers have been immunized.

Why are you people getting your knickers in a knot.

The truth is it does not matter whether a child starts elementary school at 4 or 5 or 6

It does not matter whether the 11+ is done at 10, or 11, or 12

It does not matter whether a child writes CXC exams at 15, or 16, or 17

It does not matter if a young person writes their A’Levels at 16 or 17 or 18 or 19

It does not matter whether a young person begins university at 18 or 19 or 20

It does not matter whether we we join the work force at 16 or at anytime up to 26 or 30.

The traditional ages all came into use when the life expectancy was about 60. They bear no relevance to today.

To tell the truth for most people does it really matter if they do paid work for 40 years or 45 or 50?

Human beings are not mathematical symbols. The human child’s brain is flexible, it is mallable. We worry too much. Our children will be fine. Most of them will do better than their parents or grandparents.

26. Ric
    TheO and cuddear put my shite straight enuff for you?

Now let me tell you why the school in Barbados are not going to open any time soon until the covid situation is cleared up.
    The TEACHERS/UNIONS WILL PUT THEIR HEALTH FIRST AND WILL NOT TURN UP. you should know the barbados teachers/unions by now. so if you got kids that need face to face teaching then you can sent them to school and then go and teach them yourself.

No cases in school —- school closed…….school closed!!!!
    school age child died in feb when school are normally opened.
    How many school age kids are quarantine or isolation?
    How many of the are obese or suffer from asthma?

Can you tell me how many months/year the education of the child that died has been set back because of the closing of face to face schooling? Or how much further if would be today if face to face was allowed?

27. ” I live next door to a kindergarten school and its not open “…….Theo is that even legal .?…dont you have to register or something whether its open or not.?

28. Good morning to all.

Lawson, thanks for the laugh. It reminded me of some weak bowling that I gave to John and he smashed it.

You guys have excellent brains, if only you find ways to use them productively.

29. Thats what life is all about having fun and a laugh, your right I will think about how I can increase productivity when I am at the bar this afternoon having a few vodka sodas.

30. Cuhdear Bajan at 9.47 p.m. Feb 27.

Precisely. This doctor/ lawyer nonsense has got to stop! All children have intelligence. We need to identify, develop, value and use those intelligences. It really is not that hard. It costs us more NOT to do so than it would to get it done.

That is why I had to make noise at my son’s graduation, where the skit was all about valuing success in Maths and English only and where the principal called the names of the eight who gained entry to the older secondary schools and labelled the others as “the rest”.

Left me with my two hands up and ready to clap at my son’s name. He was entering Deighton Griffith and was next on the list.

I got up and scrapped my chair on the floor and walked off. Then there was the skit Another walk out for me.

“I got to pass for Harrison College!”

I was sure to tell the teachers to pass on the message to the principal. I did not trust myself to do so.

31. @ Lawson February 28, 2021 7:46 AM #: “” I live next door to a kindergarten school and its not open “…….Theo is that even legal .?…dont you have to register or something whether its open or not.?”

https://media.tenor.com/images/b056d7d835ff43ee381a6efbbf1f14db/tenor.gif

That was brilliant…….. the best joke for the year so far (NOT because it was directed at TheO). A good one for a sitcom.

You and Tron break the ‘monotonous regularity’ of negativity on BU.

32. By the way, let’s congratulate some teachers who are making sure that students about to enter the real world…know that our history did not begin nor end with the slave trade and they make sure these fortunate kids are exposed to the reality that’s their birthright….must give these FORWARD THINKERS their props…

yes, these teachers are in Barbados.

33. CXC exams in full this year
    STUDENTS TAKING Caribbean Examination Council (CXC) tests this year will be required to sit the necessary three components.
    And if all goes well, both the Caribbean Advanced Proficiency Examination (CAPE) and Caribbean Secondary Education Certificate (CSEC) examinations will begin on June 14 and end on July 16.
    CXC’s chief executive officer and registrar Dr Wayne Wesley made the announcement yesterday during an online meeting of CARICOM ministers of education on the administration of the 2021 CAPE and CSEC examinations.
    Way forward
    This change comes after the regional ministers of education and officials of the CARICOM Secretariat met to discuss the way forward.
    Last year, thousands of students across the region took a modified version of the examinations in 2020, in which the extensive Paper II was excluded. Due to the COVID-19 outbreak, the students were only required to complete the multiple-choice Paper I and submit schoolbased assessments (SBA).
    “We will offer Paper II this year, and all other forms we administer examinations remain the same,” Wesley said.
    “So I guess there is a greater level of acceptance for what persons had become accustomed to over the years in writing all three papers, and this year will be no different. They will be writing all three papers.”
    After the results were released, there were several protests around the region, as many students said there were discrepancies with their grades.
    An independent review team (IRT) was formed to investigate the process, and although thousands of requests for reviews were sent in and the papers were regraded, many students were still unsatisfied.
    A Group of Concerned Parents of Barbados announced earlier this year that they were taking the body to court with the assistance of Aegis Chambers.
    In response to questions from reporters about the action, Wesley said he was satisfied with the progress made.
    “We are satisfied with the review process because the review process reflected what the stakeholders requested.
    “In the cases where persons submitted a review, those papers were remarked and that remark process would then give a greater level of scrutiny that will ensure that the mark given would be reflective of the students’ performance, as was the case previously.
    Recommendations
    “So the additional aspect of having every review paper going through an actual remark is one of the recommendations from the IRT that we implemented to ensure that they would have addressed the concerns of stakeholders. So from that standpoint, I am pleased with how far the review process has come,” he added.
    Another issue with the last year’s examination was the SBAs, but Wesley maintained they were working much closer with teachers this year to ensure they were on the same page.
    “As it relates to the schoolbased assessments, given the issues experienced by candidates for 2020, CXC reviewed the assessment requirements for SBAs to as much as 50 per cent in some instances. And now there is also a one-month submission for all SBAs.
    “CXC will maintain the 100 per cent moderation of SBAs across all centres for all subjects,” he added During the press conference, CXC’s director of operations Dr Nicole Manning also gave an update on the number of students who submitted requests for review. She said no grades were lowered in the process.
    She said there were 21 450 requests for reviews, and close to 92 per cent were completed for CSEC and over 93 per cent were completed for CAPE.
    “We had no grade diminishing for any candidate who requested a review. In relation to positive grade changes for CAPE, of the 9 118 completed, we had 1.77 per cent positive grade changes, and for CSEC, .45 per cent,” she said.
    The Caribbean Certificate of Secondary Level Competence (CCSLC) will be administered between July 19 and 22 and the Caribbean Vocational Qualification tests are set to be conducted between May and August. (TG)

34. Divide on CXC exam move
    by TRE GREAVES tregreaves@nationnews.com
    SOME PEOPLE HAVE given the Caribbean Examination Council’s (CXC) 2021 plan a failing grade.
    Several student advocates also believe the health of thousands of students could be in jeopardy if the examinations are held in the summer, while another group thinks the proposed June 14 to July 16 period for Caribbean Advanced Proficiency Examination (CAPE) and Caribbean Secondary Education Certificate (CSEC) testing is appropriate.
    Following the CXC’s announcement on Monday, president of the Barbados Union of Teachers (BUT) Pedro Shepherd said yesterday that they were closely watching the developments, but he said holding the examinations beyond that period could make some anxious.
    “We are aware there are to be some changes made to those exams and we are currently reviewing those. But the position of the BUT is that we would prefer to have the exams as outlined by CXC in June-July as opposed to having the exams further down and creating any further anxiety or anxiousness among the student population,” he said.
    However, spokesperson and coordinator of the Group of Concerned Parents of Barbados and the Regional Coalition for CXC Redress, Paula-Anne Moore, and student advocate Khaleel Kothdiwala chided the regional body for inadequate consultation, possibly risking the safety of the students, their staff and “not fixing” the 2020 problems.
    During the press conference on Monday, CXC registrar Dr Wayne Wesley announced the proposed time, but suggested they would be flexible if necessary. Wesley added that they would also reintroduce the Paper II component which was excluded last year due to the COVID-19 pandemic.
    Students were only required to take the multiple-choice paper and submit school-based assessments.
    Some who were dissatisfied with their first results protested and that led to the formation of the group which is still pursuing their legal options. Several scripts were also remarked and grades improved.
    During the press update, CXC’s director of operations Dr Nicole Manning said no grades were diminished after the reviews. She said they had 1.77 per cent positive grade changes for CAPE, and for CSEC, .45 per cent, which student advocates were still concerned about.
    ‘Disheartened’
    “CARICOM seems to be the only region that cannot come up with an internationally recognised alternative to assessment, both for 2020 and 2021, so we remain disheartened by the lack of engagement.
    “And the vast majority of the reviews remain unchanged. There were a few bones thrown to some but CXC themselves admitted that less than two per cent of the CAPE reviews resulted in upgrades and clearly the numbers who request reviews demonstrated there were significant issues with respect to the 2020 results,” Moore said.
    After the backlash, CXC chairman Professor Sir Hilary Beckles called for an independent review team to investigate the process.
    In response, Moore said: “Despite that, on October 18, Sir Hilary undertook to turn around reviews within a week, clearly that has not happened, but we will still explore all options available to us to ensure that ultimately these hundreds of children in Barbados and thousands throughout the Caribbean get the results they earned and that they deserved.”
    Kothdiwala cited Barbados and other regional countries’ increase in COVID-19 cases and suggested it might not be safe to schedule more examinations during that period.
    “We’ve had an explosion of cases and it is exponentially worse than it was last year. And last year CXC took the decision to lessen the components.
    “In this environment where the situation is manifestly worse, the idea that CXC will go back to administering two papers, recognising that the Paper One is an hour and a half, and you have the Paper II which can run for at least two hours or to three hours in some instances for CAPE . . . that is unconscionable,” Kothdiwala said.

35. TheO & Donna

There are other chapters. / complications. The usually “bajan” stuff

@ David.
    Can you pass on to the above two?