Submitted by Grenville Phillips II

We have been asked how we would have responded to COVID-19.  We provided our best advice about one year ago, but the Government rejected it at that time.  Given the foreseen nightmare scenario, they should reconsider – for all our sakes.

In the past 15 days, we had 15 new deaths.  In the previous 15 days, we had 7.  In the previous 15, we had none, as shown in the attached graph.  This wave of deaths appears to have started after the UK variant arrived in Barbados.

On 3 March 2021, we can expect a total of 44 deaths if the growth rate is linear, or 59 if it is exponential.  If the growth is exponential, as the data suggests, then we can expect a total of over 100 deaths by 18 March 2021.  The assumed growth rate may be verified on 3 March 2021.

GOOD MANAGEMENT.

The only way to avoid the nightmare exponential growth scenario, is to manage all aspects of the COVID-19 response well.  We cannot risk using our home-grown management methods to manage this pandemic anymore.  Those methods have consistently failed us over the past 50 years.

When our management systems failed, the normal consequences were being forced to pay higher taxes, to wait longer for declining standards of service.  There were blips of improvement, but that only lasted until the quality employee was seen as a threat, and was made redundant.

Bad management only appears to work if there are few customers and products.  Once the number of customers and products increases, the system normally fails.  When it fails, the only thing left is public relations to give sorry excuses.  If the public relations is effective, the customers will blame themselves.

GOOD ADVICE.

It seems that we must comply with the WHO and PAHO requirements to receive their assistance.  Therefore, we must keep our borders open.  However, we should mandate that all visitors to Barbados must be properly quarantined at authorised facilities, for 14 days – no exceptions.

We should manage the: air and sea ports, transportation to quarantine facilities, quarantine facilities, QEH and other health clinics, isolation facility at Harrison point, contact tracing, and the Best Dos Santos lab, to ISO 9001 principles.  Even at this late stage, all of that can still be accomplished within 2 weeks.

REJECTING AN INTERNATIONAL STANDARD.

For some strange reason, the Government rejected the international management standard when I first recommended it about 17 years ago.  I since repeatedly offered to implement it in all statutory corporations in Barbados, free of cost.  But no takers.

About 3 years ago, all statutory corporation CEOs were invited to a free public workshop on implementing the standard.  They were guaranteed that following the training, they would be capable of implementing the ISO 9001 principles the following day.  Not a single CEO attended.  The Government has since publicly trashed the international standard – for political reasons.

NOT HAPPENING.

Based on my 17 years of active efforts, I do not expect the Government to consider the desperately needed international management standard at this time.  Especially since it is designed to delight customers with exceptional service, and eliminate corruption.  We simply cannot reject our 50-year cultural traditions so easily.  That is not who we are.

The weakness of our management system is evident, with over 30 unnecessary deaths.  Yet, we persist with it, and continue to reject the obvious solution.  Instead of surrendering our pride, retreating from what is not working, and embracing what will, we are encouraged to stay the course – to foreseen destruction.

LETTER FROM THE FUTURE.

I expect the Government will finally see the light in May 2021.  That is when the total forecasted deaths from exponential growth exceed 1,000, and we should get a scathing rebuke from the WHO for our politically motivated stubbornness.

At that time, we would wish that we could go back in time to this point, and change-course to avoid the foreseen and likely nightmare.  Well, think of this as a letter from the future, encouraging us to do just that.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

168 responses to “Difficult Conversations – What Would We Do?”

1. “The extended lockdown caught many business owners by surprise and as a result they may be forced to lay off workers.”

My interpretation of the messages being sent from the heavens is money is not all.
    The children of the children of the children of the children of the children of slaves should be told this as their ancestors were sold for money for the purpose of making more money from the suffering and exploitation of others lives. My spiritual father who’s house has many mansions told me to tell you that to free yourselves and free your minds. Regardless of what the other man might say Black Lives Matter.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ySCqJ0lI5kw

2. So a doctor, not even a public health specialist, is now threatening that vaccinations should (would) become mandatory.
    Who elected him?

3. Please point to where in the article Dr, Cave is threatening anybody? He stated something that is known.

4. I ignore the jackasses looking for fame. WHEN the human trials for this vaccine ARE OVER…then they should come out and talk, until then, they will be looked on favorably if they shut up until they KNOW the effects of a vaccine that has not had any MANDATORY trials…BECAUSE THERE WAS NO TIME..

Europe is not making the vaccine mandatory, neither is North America because they KNOW that they have to wait……but an ignoramus in Barbados and all his fellow ignoramuses believe that it should be made mandatory…ignorance is a disease.

5. If ISO 9001 is so dynamic, and after a one-day course managers will be equipped to manage world-class organisations, then this can be the next big winner for Junior and Barbados.
    Package it, offer it to the private and public sectors in CARICOM, the region and the world. Monetise it, turn it in to a business winner.
    An MBA at Harvard is about US$100000. Think how much Barbados could earn in foreign currency (to use the bogus language of local economists) if Junior was to offer this new paradigm to the world.

6. Please point to where in the article Dr, Cave is threatening anybody? She stated something that is known…..(Quote)

COVID-19 vaccinations could become mandatory for health care workers and for travel, says Director of Medical Services at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital, Dr Clyde Cave….(Quote)

I suggest you learn English as a foreign language. I hope you are not typical of young Barbadians.

7. Even worse, watch out for the slave master’s spawn and their lies. Mancock the disease in UK claimed that they had a trial and Vitamin D does not work, when they researched the LIE…they found that there was never any trial, so he looks like the lying beheaded sperm that he is and they exposed the trash all over FB …

8. The doctor stated his personal opinion and was clear that this was not yet public policy. However, it is already widespread knowledge that vaccine passports will be required. They are basically already so in Israel, where those who have been vaccinated are allowed in public venues. The UK government is clearly heading to vaccine passports.

With borders shut, it is inevitable, to avoid lengthy quarantine period and the administration problems of those, the obvious answer is the vaccine passport.

Like’um or lump’um.

No threat, just what is. Bajans will get the vaccine just to go to Miami and New York. Even if they do not care about Covid. But dum is luv dum Miami and New Yawk.

Think dem aint going stay wid cousin Gloria and guh shopping? Mekking sport.

Soon dum will be fighting fuh de vaccine, like um fighting fuh saltbreads at Pricesmart come Christmas.

An tuh get dums, dum will tell yuh ‘I ent tekking dat!’ Then dum will be at the clinic de nex mawning too besides, getting juk.

Feel dum sweet?

Stupse.

9. (Quote)
    Please point to where in the article Dr, Cave is threatening anybody? He stated something that is known…..(Quote)

COVID-19 vaccinations could become mandatory for health care workers and for travel, says Director of Medical Services at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital, Dr Clyde Cave….(Quote)

I suggest you learn English as a foreign language. I hope you are not typical of young Barbadians. (Unquote).
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

No, you are the one ‘challenged by an inadequacy in your skills set in ‘Comprehension”!

This is what the ‘experienced’ senior doctor went on to say:

Making it clear that his views were merely based on his experience and not on any official discussion on public policy, Cave said much would depend on the safety of the vaccine as well as its availability to the public.

“Once we have a safe vaccine that is effective and widely available, then it is likely we are going to follow suit like we have been doing for the other diseases. I don’t think that we can stand by watching our elderly, health care workers, family and friends, get sick while we argue over fine points. Again, let me reiterate that this is just my personal opinion as each country makes its own judgement in this department,” he explained. (Unquote).

Aren’t you, (the BU mad hat(t)er), the one- crippled by your overseas “Bajan condition”- who is always decrying the paucity of public debate coming from those professionals- mainly educated at taxpayers’ expense like doctors, lawyers and economists- on important national issues in order to inform and improve public policy and decision-making in order to facilitate effective implementation?

Now who is on the receiving end of the short end of the stick in your childish game of musical chairs played by the throwing-shade crew?

10. @Miller

What Cave has opined is already being put in motion, the UK government has agreed to issue COVID Certificates for those who require for travel and other requests although that country has not rolled out such a requirement as yet.

11. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@David February 21, 2021 5:52 AM

I wish Dr Cave would stick to medicine and not opine on historical mortality rates and causes. The largest impact on disease has never been vaccines but has always been and will always remain sanitary and infrastructure standards. Access to regular clean water and improvement in sanitary and living conditions is the real reason for our lower mortality rates.

Dr. Cave should focus on his job and making sure the QEH staff have all the PPE and support they want so we have no more martyrs for their incompetence instead of public health history.

12. @CA

Dr. Cave is a citizen and therefore entitled to his opinion, like you for example.

13. “.. We provided our best advice about one year ago, but the Government rejected it at that time…”

This is Grenville’s life story in a nutshell

the same goes for his political “career”

the people rejected his idea of full employment

even for those who have no job and don’t want a job

life’s a bitch

14. “Cave said much would depend on the safety of the vaccine as well as its availability to the public.

“Once we have a safe vaccine that is effective and widely available,”

hence the reason they should shut their dumb asses, before they cause more deaths and injuries…..it’s a wait and see.

15. @ Crusoe

Dr Cave is not just anybody. He is a senior doctor at the QEH and, more importantly, a member of the CoVid task force. So his views, personal or not, are important. That is why it is news.
    If a person in authority raises the issue of compulsory vaccinations, it suggests, that it has been discussed in official corridors, or that, at the very least, it ought to be. That person considers it important.
    What is a threat: it is a statement that reduces our right to make personal decisions under penalty. So, by definition, if someone in authority is saying that you need a vaccination passport to work in my factory, implicit is that if you do not comply your livelihood is at risk.
    If a senior doctor in Barbados is telling people that they need mandatory vaccinations (and proof of that) in order to travel, s/he is stepping outside his/her authority. It is the receiving country that determines the requirements to enter. Some jurisdictions may say you need a visa, others may not.
    I do not want to go in to the nonsense about safe vaccines, since the nation is already undergoing island-wide vaccinations.
    The implication is that he is not confident the vaccines are safe. If that is the case then he should make his views on this issue known.
    The question is: has he had a jab? To return to the substantive point, if anyone in an official position raises a point, no matter how much they claim they are only speaking out loud, or it is a personal opinion, or they are not speaking for the committee, the reality is that they want that view out in public to be discussed.
    To say that unless you have not been vaccinated you cannot or should not get certain jobs or services (re Wickham’s argument with the Rastas) you are in reality denying those people their human rights.
    In Britain this issue is also being discussed. The call from some quarters is that for health and social care workers unless they take the jab they should be sacked.
    The point is the vast majority of the hesitant people are black and Asian, so, an unintended consequence of any such policy, is to wipe black people out of the NHS – a major employer of black labour. I can imagine those closet racists rubbing their hands and calling for vaccine passports. In the case of Barbados, it is just those with an authoritarian impulse.
    Where does it end? Today it is CoVid, tomorrow what?

16. I find it embarrassing some people believe that the arrival of the vaccine will see the return of international travel.

During this past year, we have seen the collapse of many airliners. The survivors have heavily reduced the number of planes on their fleet.

The cost of travelling will probably double. A £600 return ticket from the UK will probably double in price.

At least 65% of the world population has taken a huge economic hit during this pandemic. Factor in people’s anxiety over contracting Covid-19 or another virus; then it becomes a certainty that people will remain at home

17. Critical Analyzer Avatar

Dr. Cave is not a regular citizen like me or you. He has been given a post of authority and has to wield that power in a responsible way.

He ought to watch more Spider-man movies. There have been so many over the years but they all have one theme. ‘With great power comes great responsibility’ and what happens when that power is not wielded wisely.

He is either disingenuous, blind or stupid when he says he does not know why there is all this debate over this vaccine. The reason for all the debate and caution is this is not the traditional vaccine based on a dead or weakened form of the whole virus but based on forcing some of your body’s own cells to produce the spike protein from the real virus and trust the body only targets that and nothing else. Only long term monitoring will tell if this is effective or causes something else to happen.

18. @CA

He is a citizen and entitled to share a view like you. This cannot be refuted. BTW, what has he shared that is untrue?

19. @John
    I will not speculate or go down a rabbit hole. If I find the numbers I will check for myself to make certain we are playing apples with apples.

@Tony
    “Did SARS viruses hitch a ride to earth 🌏???”.

It is quite unlikely a parent would allow a child to travel so far alone. Perhaps, they sent along a few cousins covid-19, covid-21, uk variant …. to keep SARS company.

20. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@Hal Austin February 21, 2021 8:44 AM

I realize this is a repeating pattern with this government. Throw some people out there to float some proposal they might be thinking of implementing in an unofficial capacity to test the temperature out there before announcing the decision and getting their PR people and yard fowls out there to drum up support.

There is no way Dr. Cave gave an interview to the media without getting marching orders from government officials on the message he is to convey and anyone who believes otherwise is naive.

21. @CA

Will ask the question again, what did Cave say that is not widely known.

22. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@ David February 21, 2021 9:09 AM

This particular statement is untrue where he said mandatory vaccination was the only thing that curbed disease. Sanitary conditions is number one reason by far but that is vastly ignored because is not sexy and its failure directly implicates and embarrasses governments.

He added: “Older people would tell you that when they had ten children, only two or three were expected to grow up and that is certainly not our reality now and it is only so because we accepted a mandatory vaccination programme. You only have to look at what happened when people forgot this, as we started to see a resurgence of mumps and measles, diseases that we thought were gone for good. So that balance between personal choice and public health is the crux of the question.”

23. @CA

Besides vaccinations what other medical interventions would have curbed the rise of polio, messles etc?

24. @ Critical

You are right. It is a perverse rewriting of history. It was the Victorians introducing decent public sanitation – public toilets, public baths, stand pipes, etc – that improved public health.
    Improvements in child mortality had very little to do with vaccination; they helped, of course, but it is not the full story.
    It is an issue raised by @PLT sometime ago. I asked him then to explain, but he did not. Now we get nonsense about yellow fever, and smallpox, and TB, etc. But disease has always been part of the human experience.
    For 50000 years we have co-existed with wild animals, some of which we not only domesticated but eat daily, with the only intervention being the discovery of fire.
    Politics is a terrible substitute for poor historical scholarship. Who is going to write the history of CoVid in Barbados? Who is going to write the wider medical history of Barbados? Who is going to write the history of traditional medicines in Barbados?
    Coming on a blog, Googling the history of some diseases, then painting them over the history of the island is fraudulent.

25. Australia and New Zealand have COVID death rates which are 35 and 5 per million of population.

Ours currently is 108 per million, 20 times that of New Zealand and 3 times that of Australia.

It is not surprising.

New Zealanders and Australians have both received vaccinations against NCD’s.

It is called exercise and it was not recently invented there!!

It isn’t 100% effective, some still die.

26. DavidFebruary 21, 2021 9:38 AM

@CA

Besides vaccinations what other medical interventions would have curbed the rise of polio, messles etc?

What was the rate of increase of polio and measles of which you opine and when was it greatest in Barbados?

27. The Polio epidemic in Barbados.

https://www.jstor.org/stable/4592440?seq=1

28. If you look at the abstract of the article by the three doctors on Polio in Barbados you will see that the outbreak terminated BEFORE the advent of oral vaccinations.

M.A. Byer was Sir Maurice Byer

Albert Graham was Sir Bertie Graham.

29. One problem with barbajans is they appear to be too heavy in the talk and light in the action and the talk seems to be more about their ego and who is lesser great and greatest and seems to be about conflict and argument and not peace in the heart for conflict resolution. I’m not having a pop but trying to facilitate the raising of the vibration to take it to the next higher level.

Hal has got his knickers twisted up about somebody putting out there the concept of mandatory vaccines.
    Maybe a more organic approach would be mandatory exercise instead as a national means to improve health during these times of sickness.

Instead of fearing changes, get excited about the progress

30. Sorry, in the 1963 outbreak, abrupt termination was temporarily related to the administration of the vaccine.

The vaccine rid the island of the annual 0-7 cases it was experiencing in the 50’s.

It seems disingenuous to compare the situation with Polio to that with COVID.

31. None of the COVID vaccines will rid the island of COVID.

32. Can you point to where the government has promoted the covid 19 vaccine of getting rid if the virus?

33. @john
    “If you look at the abstract of the article by the three doctors on Polio in Barbados you will see that the outbreak terminated BEFORE the advent of oral vaccinations.”

What you stated contradicts what is in the excerpt that you provided.
    “showed abrupt termination of the outbreak temporally related to the mass island wide administration of toral poliovirus vaccine”

34. Two different kinds of vaccine are available:

An inactivated (killed) polio vaccine (IPV) developed by Dr. Jonas Salk and first used in 1955, and

A live attenuated (weakened) oral polio vaccine (OPV) developed by Dr. Albert Sabin and first used in 1961.

35. @John
    I see you corrected your statement.
    👍
    I see now it was an honest error.

36. @ Critical AnalyzerFebruary 21, 2021 9:29 AM
    “@ David February 21, 2021 9:09 AM

This particular statement is untrue where he said mandatory vaccination was the only thing that curbed disease. Sanitary conditions is number one reason by far but that is vastly ignored because is not sexy and its failure directly implicates and embarrasses governments.”

Where in the interview can one find the paediatrician making such a dogmatic claim that “mandatory vaccination was the only thing that curbed disease…”?

This is what the goodly doctor said (with emphasis on “partly attributed”):
    The paediatrician argued that much of the advancements in modern medicine that are now taken for granted, are due to vaccines that were first met with some degree of resistance. Currently, Barbados’ infant mortality rate as of 2019 was 11.7 to 1 000 births, which is one of the lower rates in the region, an accomplishment which Cave partly attributed to mandatory vaccination of children. (Unquote).

It cannot be gainsaid that improved sanitary conditions over the last 2 centuries -due mainly to easy access to potable water- have had a significant impact in reducing the infant mortality rate not only in Barbados but right across the globe.

A public health fact which not even your ‘out-of-order’ (in your biased eyes) Doc Cave would seek to deny unless he is more of a scientific jenny than a medical jack of an ass.

Oh how Edward Jenner must be crying shouts of hallelujah from his grave since 1823 just to know that “educated” people like Hal Austin- who is not that’ naively’ stupid as to allow himself and his offspring, all members of the ethnic minorities- to kick against the ‘pricks’ and stubbornly refuse the jabs required to help counter the rising incidences of measles, mumps, rubella, polio and tetanus, etc. in the UK.

37. Mr Williams reporting in..
    “@ Critical

You are right. It is a perverse rewriting of history. It was the Victorians introducing decent public sanitation – public toilets, public baths, stand pipes, etc – that improved public health.
    Improvements in child mortality had very little to do with vaccination; they helped, of course, but it is not the full story.”

“Coming on a blog, Googling the history of some diseases, then painting them over the history of the island is fraudulent.”

Just as fraudulent is coming on a blog and down playing the role of modern medicine in reducing child mortality. I find it difficult to understand how some are able to neatly separate things that are linked together and then apply a ‘weight’ to the various parts.

38. TheOGazertsFebruary 21, 2021 10:33 AM

I see you corrected your statement.
    👍
    I see now it was an honest error.

You of course also noted that the 1933 outbreak abruptly terminated WITHOUT any vaccinations!!

In fact, in 1933 there were no vaccinations.

39. Pretty sure you would have figured that out on your own.

40. Perhaps, Miller should inquire if they are paid full-time positions at BU.

These guys throw it against the wall with such authority that they would make you doubt your own common sense.

41. DavidFebruary 21, 2021 10:14 AM

Can you point to where the government has promoted the covid 19 vaccine of getting rid if the virus?

How many people in Barbados believe it?

42. “You of course also noted that the 1933 outbreak abruptly terminated WITHOUT any vaccinations!!

In fact, in 1933 there were no vaccinations.”

Since it is you who asked the question, I will ask you for an answer. Do not mention the word “Quaker”

43. I am still studying, researching and thinking of mandatory vaccinations.

Sadly, I have come to realize that I am slow when compared to some of you.

I seem to lack the capacity to provide an instant answer on most topics. Perhaps that part of my Bajan condition was impaired and replaced by passive-aggressiveness.

It just dawned on me who is the most aggressive-aggressive of us 😃

44. Polio (infantile paralysis) is a communicable disease, which is categorized as a disease of civilization. Polio spreads through human-to-human contact, usually entering the body through the mouth due to faecally contaminated water or food.

Even Polio can be spread by water.

It isn’t only vaccinations that helped, water chlorination ended it that means of its spread.

So we are back to basic public health measures.

Sir Maurice was obviously sharing a fact of life with me which I never doubted.

Modern medicine is great but extremely limited,

If you get other public health issues right, then serious problems can be dramatically reduced where its limitations are not exposed.

The more this discussion goes on the more respect I have for the folks at the BWA, formerly the WWD.

45. When I was growing up in the 50’s and 60’s my father ensured that every drop of water for our consumption was boiled on the kerosene stove we had back then.

We even had a water filter into which the boiled water was poured for storage.

No plastics back then!!

Stored about 5 gallons or so.

He had spent 16 years as an engineer in the oilfields of Venezuela and understood the issues associated with water.

46. Going to leave this topic
    “The more this discussion goes on the more respect I have for the folks at the BWA, formerly the WWD.”

Indeed there is merit in what was said by HA and CA. It is the assignment of weights that I have difficulty with. I see you too assigned weights in the preceding paragraphs.

Could it be that changes is basic public health measures were brought about by an increase of medical knowledge?

47. Grasshopper

That is why you are a grasshopper.

Slow to learn!!

Unfortunately, you may be past it!!

48. … slow to learn and confident in your ignorance.

49. @ Williams

You are amazing. Where is the downplaying? I said it was improvements in public sanitation that drove improvement in public health, although vaccines played a part. You may be right, but that is what is taught in basic social history.
    I am not a scientist, nor am I interested in science, but vaccines control the existing problem, and the concomitant herd immunity helps to keep disease at bay.
    The treatment for smallpox came out of West Africa and it was not medical vaccines as we know them today. but the development of a herd immunity.
    They introduced it to Turkey, and from there to the UK, then US. It was Onesimus the slave who taught his maser Cotton Mather, who went on to historical fame.
    But improvements in public sanitation are the greater contribution to better public health. No-one is down playing the role of medical science in the past, and the role it continues to play now.
    If you are unhappy with the order I have out them in, plse tell me what weight you will give to the various policies which contributed to improvements in public health.
    Public health is not an exclusively medical field; one can be a public health officer without having a medical qualification, it is multi-disciplinary, from environmental officers, dustmen, to sociologists, economists, community nurses, and contributions come from every aspect of the field.
    Some people now wrongly talk of crime as a public health issue (the Glasgow experiment). Crime is a social construct. It was medical hygiene that greatly reduced cholera in Barbados.
    Chid mortality was mentioned. Every year a large number of black women die in child birth in the UK, one of the most medically advanced countries in the world. How do we explain that?
    There are parts of North West London and East London where there are high incidences of tuberculosis and now CoVid; again, how do you explain that? Barbados has got a high per capita rate of HIV?Aids, how do you explain that?
    You do not have to be a doctor or medical scientist to know this; it is part of social history and anyone who studies the social history of where they live will know the background to these policies. And this is the history that forms the syllabuses of some exams.

Leave a Reply to WURA-War-on-UCancel reply