The Adrian Loveridge Column usually occupies this space on Monday mornings. The blogmaster takes this opportunity to thank Adrian for being a strident social commentator over the years and willingness to enter the BU fray, especially as it relates to promoting and defending the tourism sector he is very familiar. The BU household extends best wishes as he takes a voluntary timeout to ‘recharge’ – David, blogmaster 

The market certainly doesn’t know! The massive public financing in many places is nothing more than a band-aid, it is when that dressing is removed, we will see who has healed and can function, and who needs an amputation or worse. For Barbados, the acid test will be employment.

The raging COVID 19 pandemic has hammered home a reality- individuals, organizations, governments are being forced to change business model. Specifically as it relates to E-commerce and doing business in a digital space. The new way of doing business demands a reskilling and redeployment of the workforce that must be equally supported with reallocation of budgets. In a January report prepared by Hyun Song Shin titled E-commerce in the pandemic and beyond 3-takeaways are identified:

1. E-commerce has ramped up during the pandemic around the world. The growth has differed across sectors and over different stages of the pandemic.
  2. The growth of e-commerce has been higher in countries where there were more stringent containment measures and where e-commerce was initially less developed.
  3. Some changes in consumers’ shopping habits and payment behaviour may be longer-lasting. This may have implications for structural change and the growth of the digital economy.

There has been robust discussion in this forum recently about how we foresee business being done in Barbados. The blogmaster sides with the argument supported in the report mentioned that even before the pandemic wrecked global economies and livelihoods, there was a push to shift business and other activity from bricks-and-mortar to the digital space. Covid 19 has accelerated the shift. Welcome to a view of what a post COVID 19 landscape will look like whether we like it or not.

Another forecast coming out of the pandemic is that people will have to coexist with COVID 19 AND other viruses likely to follow. It means in the future traditional supply chains and business related travel will be disrupted. Individuals, businesses and governments are already adjusting to a post COVID 19 reality with greater use of the digital space defined as the new normal.

As expected some countries start with an advantage in the new normal space- the so-called developed world. Barbados unfortunately has been lazy to rely on manual, redundant models not fit for purpose exposed in the current environment. Our private sector is not far behind if we accept reports of disruption to large companies being attacked by ransomware, supermarkets and essential businesses unable to efficiently manage spikes in demand for services and distribution during lockdowns and so on.

What is required is a nimble approach by public and private sectors supported by NGOs to strategise next steps how as a country we narrow the gap between existing and the new business model to sustains livelihoods in a post COVID 19 world. In fact the blogmaster will be disappointed if after a year of managing the pandemic this is not a work in progress.

The blogmaster is sympathetic to the current leadership of the country demanded to manage in unprecedented times. Let the blogmaster be clear, leadership is defined as government and private sector. For too long Barbados has relied on government to lead in all areas of managing the country.

The big question: what is the strategy to reposition Barbados to be able to compete in a post COVID world?

#socialpartnership

178 responses to “Post Covid 19 World Demands New Approaches from Government and Private Sector”

1. @ David February 17, 2021 3:04 PM
    (Quote)
    Is pursuing cannabis market one way to go? (Unquote).

Medical marijuana is the future. It offers a chance for the country to create new jobs and lower its debt burden. As a result, increasing its tax revenues. It is time Barbados and the wider Caribbean, take their share of this huge pie. (Unquote).

Blogmaster, is this the same plant which only a few years ago was look upon as the female equivalent to Satan?

Are the political powers-that-be going to offer a national pardon to those who were the early entrepreneurs in this newly embraced venture as was done for those who lost their innocent lives or were incarcerated at Glendairy for long periods of time for simply participating in the 1937 riots (and earlier rebellions) for merely ‘fighting’ for fair play and a level playing field in the social and economic race?

Oh, how the lowly ‘street’ girl called Mary Jane has risen, all of a sudden, to the top of the foreign investment heap to be the only attraction in Bridgetown!

Now here is a ‘green’ opportunity for your local investment magnate man Mal(m)oney to shift gears in his duty-free’ automatic Mercedes Benz machine by putting some of that US $175 mill sitting idle in some ‘foreign’ bank account to good ROI use not only to save the Bajan economy from pending implosion but also to turn Barbados into a ‘high-living’ hotspot sans the Hyatt-made concrete lighthouse of a scammer’s imagination.

2. “Blogmaster, is this the same plant which only a few years ago was look upon as the female equivalent to Satan?”

hypocrites, frauds and sellouts…who will still lockup Black people only for the plant.

3. @Miller

There is the tipping point for all things. You are aware of the Elliot Ness era?

4. @Miller, Are the political powers-that-be going to offer a national pardon to those who were the early entrepreneurs in this newly embraced venture as was done for those who lost their innocent lives or were incarcerated at Glendairy for long periods of time for simply participating in the 1937 riots (and earlier rebellions) for merely ‘fighting’ for fair play and a level playing field in the social and economic race?

Miller, there is a distinction between the two. The 1937 riots were a rebellion against unjust laws and inequitable application between people, all being citizens. This was a fundamental wrong and thus, action to correct should be pardoned.

In contrast, the breaking of a law that applies to everyone without fear nor favour, is still, the breaking of a law. Thus, past transgressions cannot be given a pass. That was the law, at the time.

However, from the moment that we have a concerted agreement to legalise marijuana, from that point forward, in my opinion the status of those incarcerated changes, if not absolutely, to some measure.

Yes, trafficking for the purpose of sale for pleasure is still a crime, however, when you are allowing a large section of people to make money from the production and manufacture of the same product, yet incarcerate another group, there appears to be some inequity.

One may argue that it is illegal to traffic a quantity of cocaine or other harder drug, but it is still legal to produce and use in medicine, that point may be taken. So, how do we reconcile the two?

To get it out of the way quickly, I will first address the possession for personal use. I believe that it should be made legal to hold some reasonable quantity of marijuana for personal use. While it begs the question of where you get it from, such an approach will reduce the waste of resources chasing every user or everyone in possession, whether they traffic or not.

Let us now look at the other equation, being:

Cocaine for medical use, legal VS cocaine for pleasure, unlicensed sale, illegal

Marijuana for medical use, legal VC marijuana for pleasure, unlicensed sale, illegal

The two equations are identical in principle.

So, what is our real issue? I submit that the issue is that, as you say, those early producers are marginalised by not having the resources and legal know how, to combat the new entrants.

While the sale for pleasure will still be illegal, the sale for medicinal use will be legal and the market should be opened up for all producers, who can maintain medical grade quality.

This is where these growers need legal and business assistance, to ensure that their product can be processed to medical grade and sold as branded product.

That is where one focus point needs to be.

The solution is possibly:

legislate that all personal use up to a specific level is legal for possession
    institute an assistance program to convert current illegal producers to legitimate production of medical marijuana
    legislate to reduce the sentences of all those currently incarcerated for the production and or sale of marijuana, to time served and immediately release them. While this does not absolve them from breaking the law, in existence at the time of the crime, it ensures that they are not unfairly treated in the transfer of illegal to legal production and sale.
    implement a new punitive framework for those who choose to continue to work illegally, outside of the legal production of the drug.

This will be the most suitable and just approach to addressing current inequity in the system.

On the assistance program for current illegal producers, it will require substantial work, including assistance in processing and standards education, to ensure that these producers can cope with a new playing field of operation.

5. …..who patented their medical marijuana product…so impressed and pleased to post that the BLACK person delivered a world class product…

.destroying black people to elevate trash will be the end of sellouts.

6. WURA-War-on-UFebruary 17, 2021 4:36 PM “Blogmaster, is this the same plant which only a few years ago was look upon as the female equivalent to Satan?” hypocrites, frauds and sellouts…who will still lockup Black people only for the plant.

While I agree that the playing field needs to be level, the problem is ensuring that the legal framework is consistent with internaitonal principles.

As such, the issue is really to bring the status quo up to speed by

releasing those currently incarcerated for the sale of the drug, as of the point of legalisation their status effectively changes. At the time of incarceration, they committed a crime, but as of the day the drug is legalised, it would not be a crime, so natural justice would indicate they be released as of that date.
    ensuring that producers have the resources to convert their process to that for medical grade marijuana products.

That is really the crux of it.

Often what we may see as about intent, is actually about a lack of understanding of principles and imagination as to how to apply these principles to practical scenarios.

7. According to the Pentagon, up to a third of US service people refuse to be vaccinated.

8. My head is beginning to spin as I try to connect the dots and link all the stories together.

First we had drug smuggling men on a yacht named ‘Ecstacy’. Strange name for a boat.

Even stranger was use of the boat for drug smuggling. Was the name a bold signal for the movement/availability of drugs?

Anyhow, one of the men on the yacht subsequently appeared in a ‘marIjuana video rant’ with a big mouth Canadian.
    Truth is stranger than fiction.

Then we had a son of the soil a braniac preaching against food security.

A few days later we have a Canadian supporting food security with an acre for marijuana security.

Prophesy
    Ten years down the road, the food security Canadian cites the braniac and says ‘i dun wid dat. I gun plant marijuana’

Braniac says ‘yuh see. I wuz right:

Waru saying ‘i saw it coming. I knew it was marijuana from Day 1’

Theo and other bajans saying ‘dem trick we’

Hants asking “way de hay’

9. GPFebruary 17, 2021 12:45 PM

Good grief. I see you on a soapbox ranting about end times. Did you and John both smoke some stuff at the same time that was off in some way?

Two erstwhile brainiacs gone nutty.

The world will go on, milleniums after both of us. Mankind, centuries after.

But, enjoy YOUR world. That is what it is about anyway.

10. TheOGazertsFebruary 17, 2021 5:11 PM

Have no fear. These new farms will give the term ‘cane fire’ a wild new meaning. It will raise Bajans and visitors to higher heights.

11. @ Crusoe February 17, 2021 4:59 PM
    “Miller, there is a distinction between the two. The 1937 riots were a rebellion against unjust laws and inequitable application between people, all being citizens. This was a fundamental wrong and thus, action to correct should be pardoned.
    In contrast, the breaking of a law that applies to everyone without fear nor favour, is still, the breaking of a law. Thus, past transgressions cannot be given a pass. That was the law, at the time.”

You would make a (very) good defence lawyer (for the Crown).

On behalf of the ‘victims’ of the marijuana holocaust, all that can be submitted to the judge and jury is a plea for mitigation by arguing that the keeping of slaves and its attendant institutions- including the ‘holy’ Church which was deeply complicit- were also seen in the eyes of the then Law as ‘kosher’.

But weren’t the same slave owners including the same Church handsomely compensated for the loss of their profitable property?

And what did the ex-slaves and their descendants receive as compensation for their exploitation and dehumanisation other than a white Jesus to brainwash the mind of the likes of both GPs?

Wasn’t it lawful under the Nazi Third Reich to send non-Aryans to concentration camps as part of the ‘final solution’ to the Jewish problem?

Should we, therefore, allow history to repeat itself to the moral disadvantage of the more enlightened’ descendants of the1937 riots?

12. Cruseo…reality, logic, commonsense and dumb politicians giddy on small power dont mix.

13. MillerFebruary 17, 2021 5:47 PM Wasn’t it lawful under the Nazi Third Reich to send non-Aryans to concentration camps as part of the ‘final solution’ to the Jewish problem? // Should we, therefore, allow history to repeat itself to the moral disadvantage of the more enlightened’ descendants of the1937 riots?

The first one aligns with my explanation of the pardoning of those who fought in the 1937 rebellion. The Nazi action was a fundamental wrong, just as the laws existing prior to 1937.

On the second point, I have outlined a remedy that addresses the balancing of the playing field. If you think that more needs to be given in the remedy, then so be it. But the framework has been outlined.

14. @ Crusoe February 17, 2021 6:00 PM
    “On the second point, I have outlined a remedy that addresses the balancing of the playing field. If you think that more needs to be given in the remedy, then so be it. But the framework has been outlined.”

Now here is a proposal in regard to the levelling of the playing field which you might find not up your socially and financially ‘well-paved’ street.

How about making the ‘God-given’ naturally-growing cannabis plant freely available for cultivation on a home or cottage-industry basis just like any other ‘agricultural’ product e.g. thyme, parsley neem, moringa, aloe vera.

If it is to be produced on a larger scale to generate big profits for investors like rum from sugarcane or cigarettes from tobacco, then it should be subject to a licensing regime and the ‘final output’ taxed at the point of production.

Then we should have no small fry players going to jail for hustling spliffs while the big players ‘buy-out’ their way like C H walking free for any ‘assumed’ role in the Redlands cum Ecstasy affair.

15. RE GPFebruary 17, 2021 12:45 PM
    Good grief. I see you on a soapbox ranting about end times. Did you and John both smoke some stuff at the same time that was off in some way? Two erstwhile brainiacs gone nutty.
    The world will go on, milleniums after both of us. Mankind, centuries after.But, enjoy YOUR world. That is what it is about anyway.
    MANY MANY YEARS AGO,A MAN WAS BUILDING A LARGE BOAT WAY IN LAND. HE CLAIMED THAT THERE WOULD BE A FLOOD. HIS PEERS MOCKED HIM FOR ABOUT 300 YEARS UNTIL…….AS RECORDED IN THE SAYINGS OF THE SAME JESUS THAT SAID LOVE YOUR NEIGHBOUR AS YOURSELF IN Matthew 24:37-39 KJV THUS►
    37 But as the days of Noah were, so shall also the coming of the Son of man be.
    38 For as in the days that were before the flood they were eating and drinking, marrying and giving in marriage, until the day that Noe entered into the ark,
    39 And knew not until the flood came, and took them all away; so shall also the coming of the Son of man be.
    IN ANOTHER SECTION OF THE WORD OF TRUTH WE READ IN 2 PETER THUS
    3 Knowing this first, that there shall come in the last days scoffers, walking after their own lusts,
    4 And saying, Where is the promise of his coming? for since the fathers fell asleep, all things continue as they were from the beginning of the creation.
    5 For this they willingly are ignorant of, that by the word of God the heavens were of old, and the earth standing out of the water and in the water:
    6 Whereby the world that then was, being overflowed with water, perished:
    7 But the heavens and the earth, which are now, by the same word are kept in store, reserved unto fire against the day of judgment and perdition of ungodly men.
    8 But, beloved, be not ignorant of this one thing, that one day is with the Lord as a thousand years, and a thousand years as one day.
    9 The Lord is not slack concerning his promise, as some men count slackness; but is longsuffering to us-ward, not willing that any should perish, but that all should come to repentance.
    10 But the day of the Lord will come as a thief in the night; in the which the heavens shall pass away with a great noise, and the elements shall melt with fervent heat, the earth also and the works that are therein shall be burned up.
    11 Seeing then that all these things shall be dissolved, what manner of persons ought ye to be in all holy conversation and godliness,
    12 Looking for and hasting unto the coming of the day of God, wherein the heavens being on fire shall be dissolved, and the elements shall melt with fervent heat?
    JUST AS SOME FOLK WILL REFUSE TO TAKE THE VACCINE, SOME WILL REJECT PETER’S MESSAGE ABOVE ON THE ESCHATON.
    A FEW WILL ACCEPT BOTH.

16. Canadians love the Caribbean.

In 20015
    ” Ernie Eves, former Ontario premier, joins board of Jamaican medical marijuana business Timeless Herbal Care “

17. Maybe not in Barbados and the Caribbean but…

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=xRPgdxhBLac

18. MillerFebruary 17, 2021 6:44 PM

Miller, I have no issue with that. That takes my reference to remove any penalties for personal use and expands to the cottage industry.

No problem at all.

Back to the currently incarcerated offenders. Just an analogy, but I think a fair one.

Today, the speed limit on a road is 20mph. Ten people get caught and jailed for two months, five for driving at 30mph and five for driving at 40mph.

End of the month, a new speed limit is legislated at 35mph.

Is it fair to keep the prior convicted in prison, when every other person is driving at 35mph now?

I would say, because it was a crime at the time, there is no need to revisit the conviction. However, in the interest of natural justice, it is right, to immediately release them, such that going forward, they are on even field with their peers. That is only fair.

Is there a difference between the 35mph and 40mph rule breakers? I think not. The essential parameters of the situation have changed. That the 40mph rule breakers still surpassed the ‘new limit’ is irrelevant.

In the same way, there is no need to revisit prior sentencing for marijuana convictions, however, from the day of legalisation, the parameters have changed and they should be freed forthwith.

Breaking of laws henceforth, based on the new existing laws, determine their future, as with everyone else.

Thoughts?

19. TheOGazertsFebruary 17, 2021 5:11 PM

We are on the same page with much of that. Curiouser and curiouser. Makes on wonder what is real and what is not.

Also gives some further credence to Miller view re legalisation of cottage industry, because a level playing field must be done and be seen to be done. Let us get real and be honest about things.

How many of these people locked up for a spliff brought in a container of grass through the port?

If we are not honest about a level playing field, we are wasting time.

N’est pas?

20. Crusoe..this should not even be a discussion. Every country so far that has legalized marijuana have included policies that releases people who were convicted for the pland and wiped the convictions of many….even the ones who were serving life sentences. It’s the backward Barbados AG jumped out braying his jackassness that people who were convicted for marijuana can’t participate in the trade when forward thinking jurisdications are training these same people to create legal businesses in every area that could promote financial success, and prevent recidivism. Barbados’ leaders are backward and take pleasure in destroying any opportunity that would elevate black lives…..that’s why Karma is on their asses like a second skin and will go nowhere as long as they continue to be as*holes oppressing and criminalizing only Black people.

21. Barbados AG jumped out braying his jackassness that people who were convicted for marijuana can’t participate in the trade when forward thinking jurisdications are training these same people to create legal businesses in every area that could promote financial success, and prevent recidivism….that alerted us that the shitheads of parliament with their minority foreign and local slavemaster wannabes were going to use the marijuana to once against enslave Black people on those blighted and cursed slave plantations…while ripping off the treasury of concessions….all those leaders should be jailed for this clear crime they all plotted against the Black citizens.

22. Financial education key, says Haynes
    Financial education is vital during these troubling economic times, says Central Bank Governor Cleviston Haynes.
    During the Barbados Association of Insurance and Financial Advisors virtual monthly meeting on Friday, he said Barbados was undergoing financial system reform by going more digital and moving away from cash. He said it was important for financial advisers to help keep the public abreast of the changing dynamics of finance.
    “Education is very important as we adopt new [financial] instruments and it is important we improve our ability to educate the public. Not everyone is financially savvy, and often there is a fear of using new instruments, particularly for the older folk and I think as financial advisers, you are in a position to reach out to your clientèle, some young and some not so young, and you have an opportunity . . . to share information on these instruments,” he said..
    Choices critical
    Haynes said the Central Bank would soon be launching its own education programmes, adding it was critical for people to have a choice of alternative products to ensure Barbados’ economy remained competitive.
    “Developments in digital technology, computer networks, internet businesses and e-commerce platforms are influencing the nature and scope of finance. Digital payments represent the trend of the future . . . and in recent times both Government and the bank have recommended the reduced use of cash and the movement towards digital payments, accelerated by the pandemic,” he said.
    Moving away
    Haynes said more companies were moving away from distributing cheques and opting for direct payments, which in turn accelerated
    the acceptance of e-commerce and e-banking, adding Government was utilising direct payments through the automated clearing house (ACH) system. He saidhe thought a direct payment system could also be apotential solution to the current problems regarding pension cheques, where long lines of people were seen at post offices on Friday.
    The Governor also spoke about the upcoming National Payment System Bill, which he said was to “promote a safe, efficient, resilient and competitive payment system”, which will be under the supervision of the Central Bank. “This new legislation will create a framework for licensing payment services and will establish a payments council to advise the bank. The bank will, over time, give force to this legislation and will be prepared to take action against licensees who breach the law,” he said.
    Haynes said the Central Bank was also changing its internal governance, with the Governor and board serving six years instead of five following his tenure. In addition, he said the bank would be limiting how much money it lent Government.
    “In December a new Central Bank Act came into force, which makes a number of innovations. The act now clearly defines what the key objectives of the bank are – which is to protect the value of our currency and to maintain financial stability across the financial system.
    “One of the major changes is that there are limitations on how much financing the Central Bank can provide to Government at any point in time. The new act seeksto reduce the capacity of thebank to provide inordinate amounts of financing to Government. We will continue to provide some financing through the overdraft facility – bearing in mind Government, like any business, has cash flow needs – but we will not be active on the primary market in order to fund
    Government in the near term,” he said. (CA)

23. Governor warns of ‘blessing
    circles

Central Bank Governor Cleviston Haynes advised anyone taking part in any financial schemes such as “blessing circles” to exercise caution and seek advice first.
    While he admitted he did not know all the details concerning blessing circles, he said “it seems to be speculative” and there was risk with any such mechanism.
    “There could be a relationship between adversity and the emergence of schemes which appear to be somewhat disingenuous. You probably stand a good chance of being a loser at the end of the day –which goes back to education and understanding.
    Significant investment
    “If you are being asked to make a significant investment of that type, perhaps it may be wise to have someone who you can sit with and who can give you [sound] advice,” he said.
    Haynes said traditional meeting turns carried risks as well and advised anyone considering entering any such scheme to seek out information, get sound financial advice and not invest what they were not prepared to lose.
    Haynes’ comments were made on Friday during his address at the Barbados Association of Insurance and Financial Advisors virtual monthly meeting. (CA)

24. Haynes’ comments were made on Friday during his address at the Barbados Association of Insurance and Financial Advisors virtual monthly meeting…..(Quote)

Insurance agents work for insurance companies, financial advisers work for their clients. Is this an organisation of chalk and cheese?

25. ‘Blessing circle’? Sounds like a small version of Ponzi scheme. Is it like the old Meeting Turn?

Problem is, in the old days, people had scruples. Not now.

26. The majority have to find a way to create their own investments and get away from the crooks in the private sector and in the parliament who will STEAL ALL THEIR MONEY and keep them in poverty….all the evidence is right there…don’t give them any time to regroup and restart robbing Black people, that’s the opportunities they are all now talking about….shut them down….let them find other fools to rob, hopefully this time they will be finished off.

that’s what Haynes should be saying, but he’s a creature of the same massive rob the Black population thefts..

27. WURA
    YOU IS A BRIGHT WOMAN RIGHT ? AND A KNOWER OF MANY THINGS RIGHT?
    CAN YOU PLEASE KINDLY TELL ME WHAT IS THE DEFINITION OF A POST COVID WORLD?

28. GP……it’s a reboot….with the Black population once again at the bottom with all the scum, thieves and racists at the top, but only if Black people allow their lowclass no good covetous black face leaders to maneuver them into that position again..