Kemar J.D Stuart is an Economist and Director Business Development , Finance and Investment Stuart & Perkins Caribbean

The recent announcement by the IMF states that Barbados is in line for reform to it’s pension system. With drastically reduced revenue intake due to Covid-19, the expenditure associated with pensions , gratuity and retirement benefits will of course take the spotlight .

The intended pension reform is preparing government for the reality of an ageing population, declining birthrate, declining workforce which will be further depressed by further digitization of the public service and by extension agreed retrenchments under the BERT plan along with high youth unemployment in the public sector. As government now seeks to prioritize limited revenue, funds will be redirected to other areas in order to free up revenue . The amount of funds will be determined by the depth of the cut to the pension budget.

The budgeted expenditure for financial year 2020 is $298 million. The expenditure for 2021 is $335 million and projected total for 2022 is $369 million which suggests that pension expenditure is increasing $36 million on average yearly. Such a rapid increase in spending will pose financial challenges to government especially in this environment. Any intention to maintain this level of expenditure will result in more borrowing or increases in taxation.

To curb these economic and social challenges posed ahead the following measures are likely to face Barbadians from a legislative angle via bills of parliament which may be amended to match IMF’s fiscal affairs policies on pension reform.

1. An increase in the retirement age across all pension schemes which will decrease outpayment from government while linking the retirement to average life expectancy.
  2. Limiting retirement benefits for highly paid civil servants which may come in the form of reduced direct contribution now to save output later. The reduction maybe recouped through an increase in contribution on other groups.
  3. An end to specific offerings e.g non-contributory pension as it should be noted the IMF is on record stating that such schemes are programs poorly targeted at poverty alleviation.
  4. New entrants will face strict regulations as it relates to digital payments only, increased contribution rates, increased penalties on early retirement.
  5. The NIS will be restructured from the board level to revamp its operations i.e relaxed regulation to allow the fund to invest in riskier financial options in order to increase financial rewards. Increased payment of NIS contributions are likely and a legal restriction on buying government paper similar to the restrictions the central bank has on printing money. Although funded by private citizens any strains on the fund as seen with unemployment claims will expose government to financial liability The main aim of amendments to the NIS act will be to protect government from being shouldered with debt from the institution which will starve off a potential crisis when payments of financial obligations to vulnerable groups become due.

The social implications are grave to bear with the BERT plan in place. As a new Barbados will emerge with less state responsibility to its citizens.

88 responses to “Kemar Stuart on IMF Reform to Public Service Pension System”

1. Cuhdear BajanFebruary 9, 2021 3:32 PM

6 to 9 hours of hard outdoor exercise most weeks. Eat mostly ground food. Will have a nice breadfruit cou-cou and fish this evening. Some carrots and brocolli ‘longside, and some home grown paw-paw for dessert, unless the Bico truck passes, in which case the healthy dessert can go to hell. Never smoked neffen. Never took drugs.

… and after all of that food and exercise, still with an insatiable thirst when the night comes!!

It works!!

2. Uh-oh! Lack of sleep again!

KNOW-IT-ALL not No-it-all!

3. I’m partial to BICO too.

Cherry vanilla.

4. I admitted to the doctor I was eating too much icecream and I knew it was bad for me.

He had to tell me how could something that taste’s so good be bad for you.

Since then I am cool with the icecream, just do it in moderation.

5. Donna and John:

The way I look at it the shareholders of Bico have to eat too. So from time to time I indulge in rum and raisin.

And John I quench my thirst ONLY with WATER, a Bowmanston special or maybe a Bizzy desal special.

6. @Hal Austin February 8, 2021 2:47 PM “I remember the leading UK pensions lawyer of his generation used to holiday every year in Barbados. I once asked him if he would like to run a seminar while in the island to break up the boredom and he was very keen.
    I THEN GOT ON THE PHONE TO A PROMINENT QC who was anxious to tell me how many good lawyers there were in Barbados.

I really should charge Hal for this advice, but if you want to organize a seminar you don’t call a prominent QC who has probably never organized an event in his whole life, nor even a brandy and punanny bus crawl.

Once you have your speaker, then you get your audience.
    Who wants to hear about pensions?
    The board, management and staff of the NIS?
    BARP executive and members?
    Central bankers?
    Other bankers?
    Insurance companies?
    Students of economics, finance, accounting etc.?
    Teachers of economics, finance, accounting etc.?
    Those in the private sector who are responsible for seeking out and managing pension funds for their employees?
    Trade unions who wish better pensions for their members?
    Professional associations of accountants, economists etc?
    Media
    As you can see we have not even got to prominent QC’s yet.

Then you think about your venue, perhaps the university, perhaps the Central Bank, perhaps the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Center, perhaps a hotel with an appropriate sized conference room.

Then you find a way to pay for the conference facility, perhaps one of the big pocket insurance companies can do so.

Since the seminar speaker is British perhaps you should rope in the British High Commission. because surely they would be glad to “show off” one of their brightest and best?

Absolutely NO NEED for a QC, regardless of how prominent. Unless you too believe that prominent QC’s make the sun rise in the morning [metaphorically speaking of course]

The truth is the prominent QC was likely too embarrassed to tell you that he [and I expect it was a he] to tell you that he has no idea how to organize a seminar nor a no panty bus crawl.

7. @John February 9, 2021 2:47 AM “Nowadays it is rare to see anyone smoking in Barbados but my impression is that there are more female smokers than male!!”

The female smokers are mostly young white women. Smoking is not cool. Smoking is NOT sexy. Somebody needs to counsel the young white gals. I nominate you..

8. Cuhdear Bajan,

Yup! That is who he is. He is not self-aware at all. His attitude gets in the way of the information he wants to convey. People will just stick cheese in their ears like the German soldiers in the British comedy ‘Allo ‘Allo when the French restaurant owner started to sing.

In the case of the French singer, they did not miss anything. That is not always the case with Hal Austin.

Pity!

P.S. I know you don’t watch t.v. but the cheese image came to mind when I thought of myself at a Hal Austin presentation because his attitude grates on my last nerve.

9. Before I went to HC, my school teacher organised a tour of the BAT cigarette manufacturing factory in Green Hill.

It was a big deal.

Probably 1964/5.

Two of my five uncles and one of my four aunts chain smoked cigarettes back then.

One of my uncles only smoked cigars/cigarillos when he could afford them to show how well heeled he was.

A real poser!!

It is amazing to realise how smoking has practically vanished from Barbados.

Last year when I looked, it has the second lowest incidence of smoking in the world.

Panama is lowest.

When I see someone smoking now here, and it is both colours, and it is rare, they really stick out and I wonder if they missed the thing about the lung cancer.

I have to bite my tongue to avoid saying something.

Barbados owes a debt of gratitude to Dr. Gale and the Cancer Society, Ms. Cooke-Johnson who did say something and said it loud.

No doubt we still have lung and throat cancer deaths but at least we could do something about that statistic and we did.

Maybe we might see Bajans getting off their bums, eating well and in moderation and enjoying life.

.. and putting their mortal fear and dread of COVID behind them.

10. This is a concise overall summary for cancer.

Lung cancer deaths are small.

https://www.who.int/cancer/country-profiles/brb_en.pdf

11. @John “No doubt we still have lung and throat cancer deaths but at least we could do something about that statistic and we did.”

Dr. Gale especially was a real-real anti-smoking missionary. And he was so charming while he did it.

My secondary school headmistress was a smoker, she did not smoke in the school but her home was in the school yard so sometimes we saw her smoking. She beseeched us never to smoke. Yes she died prematurely of smoking related disease.

In the early to mid-70’s Barbados had the world’s 3rd highest rate of cervical cancer. We did something about it. Now we need to do something about prostate cancer. Our men deserve better. And contrary to what miller, whitehill etc. think, “no” I do not hate men. But “yes” it distresses me when they do not take care of themselves.

12. Oops! My comment on Hal Austin was meant for Artax.

13. @ John February 9, 2021 9:14 PM
    “It is amazing to realise how smoking has practically vanished from Barbados.

Last year when I looked, it has the second lowest incidence of smoking in the world.”

As usual you are living in the past of a more ‘smokey’ Barbadoes; for you are simplistically referring to the smoking of ‘rolled’ tobacco.

The average ‘smoker’, especially among the young, is now into another more expensive plant ‘inhaled’ as a contraband substance and disguised in ‘rolled’ cigarette paper.

Since ‘Smoking’ is so dangerous why can’t the government ban the importation and consumption of all forms of tobacco?

What the government is eager to do is to find a replacement taxable habit (aka ‘sin’ tax) in order to make up for the shortfall in revenues from the reduction in tobacco consumption and possibly alcohol.

Since it is extremely difficult to tax the new form of smoking of another (“dangerous” or Satan-created) plant which requires little processing to add taxable value and ‘fixed’ distribution outlets aka tax points, the Bajan government will continue to use the judicial system as its tax collector along with the introduction of a profitable revenue generating licensing regime under the ‘legalised’ guise medicinal marijuana.

14. The three major killers in Barbados are related to obesity.

Not all diabetics will be obese nor will all of those with heart disease be so inclined either.

Turns out those with the comorbidities of diabetes and heart disease are more likely to succumb to COVID.

Let’s for a moment accept that obesity is something we can do something about in most cases, not all.

If we were to become more physically active and eat sensibly then not only would the death rate form these three killers fall, but we would be less susceptible to dying from COVID.

By all means measure the cases of COVID, but if we actually want to literally kill two birds with one stone, then concentrate on reducing the incidence of NCD’s like diabetes and heart disease.

Forget the morbid fear and dread of COVID.

Get healthy in mind and body.

The shutdowns may result in people sitting down at home, eating and worrying.

Perfect targets for COVID!!!

Move on and keep moving.

15. MillerFebruary 10, 2021 8:36 AM

@ John February 9, 2021 9:14 PM
    “It is amazing to realise how smoking has practically vanished from Barbados.

Last year when I looked, it has the second lowest incidence of smoking in the world.”

As usual you are living in the past of a more ‘smokey’ Barbadoes; for you are simplistically referring to the smoking of ‘rolled’ tobacco.

The average ‘smoker’, especially among the young, is now into another more expensive plant ‘inhaled’ as a contraband substance and disguised in ‘rolled’ cigarette paper.

Since ‘Smoking’ is so dangerous why can’t the government ban the importation and consumption of all forms of tobacco?

Why would the GOB promote the legalisation of marijuana and investigate its large scale growing?

16. Who will act as if they did not know all this time? Until a white man gets on the news with money to tell slaves they are being robbed by crooks in the BBDLP government of Liars! There is a point with no shame that these government Ministers will show their crimes for money they have no way of paying back, Mia needs to be in jail for her crimes, and the lot of 30 elected by fraud! The People of Barbados put all the crooks in Office and now are being robbed, some will die when you go in line for your untested vaccine! Many will not see 2022 and will never have to worry about 2023! RIP, Support your Crime Minister get in line!

17. This is from Barbados Today.

Two more deaths but read what else!!

Chronic NCD’s!!

https://imgur.com/9JDi2KI

18. We need to address the NCD’s in Barbados.

Get up and move.

19. @ John February 10, 2021 8:42 AM
    “Why would the GOB promote the legalisation of marijuana and investigate its large scale growing?”

Sir Johnny, since you have the everlasting plaster for every human sore why can’t you look into your own ‘wooden’ mirror and simply ask yourself why are you still unable to figure out why your mad narcissistic idol Trump lost the foretold “rigged elections” by just 11,000 Georgian votes?

It’s all about making money and the Executing Arm of the State called the government ‘s might and right to a share of the once illegal pie just like it is with alcohol or tobacco or firearms to feed the always hungry behemoth called the public service and its ‘supervising’ parasitic political class which has its genesis in the days of the lazy unproductive Pharaohs, Emperors, Kings, Queens, Popes and now G Gs, Presidents and Prime Ministers and even Bishops.

20. MTA

Have you ever considered that Trump may end up with 3 terms?!!

21. .. with control by the Republicans of both the Senate and House?

22. Steupse! That would simply finish America. It would be “America alone in the world”!

23. It is reported Kemar has resigned from the post of GS but remains a member of the party.

24. It is reported Kemar has resigned from the post of GS but remains a member of the party…..(Quote)

Plse explain in simple English. In any case, there is still a lot to be explained about whey he was prosecuted in the first place. When was he apprehended? How long was the delay between arrest and court appearance? What cause the delay? Why did he appear in court during the St George North bye-election? Was that a political decision?

25. When original postings are changed they distort the record.

26. What has happened to our parliamentary democracy? Why is it that our so-called consultants, all unelected, continue to defend government policy in public? Where are the people who were elected?
    When I talk about a presidency some people become offended. Here is another classic example.

A senior advisor to the Mia Mottley administration is refuting claims that the International Monetary Fund (IMF) intends to reform Barbados’ public sector pension scheme.

In fact, Economic Advisor Dr. Kevin Greenidge has dismissed growing concerns as “much ado about nothing”, contending Government’s front-burner issues all surround the COVID -19 pandemic.

He was responding to increasing anxiety among public workers following the IMF’s latest review that followed a virtual staff visit. Contained in the report are intended revisions to the country’s public service pension law to occur no later than June 2021 based on the findings of a recent independent actuarial report. According to the IMF document, once the findings are reviewed, a pension reform white paper will be brought to Cabinet for discussions on the long-term sustainability of the public service pension scheme.

The developments are causing rumblings within the country’s largest public sector trade union, whose acting General Secretary Wayne Waldrond sought to allay the fears of members as he spoke on radio today.

According to Walrond, numerous pension reform proposals have been “bandied about” that include increasing the early retirement age from 60 to 62. The union leader explained that some of the proposals have been considered reasonable, while others have been vehemently rejected. He, however, stressed that existing public servants will not be affected by any of these adjustments.

Setting the record straight on Friday, Dr. Greenidge rejected outright, suggestions that the proposed reforms were IMF conditionalities. Instead, the advisor explained the paper was merely reporting on planned reforms and argued last year’s actuarial review is a bi-annual occurrence.

“Let me start from the beginning and set the record straight. The IMF has not, did not and will not recommend any sort of pension reform for Barbados. None of its reports recommend any kind of pension reforms for Barbados. What the IMF report did was to report on what we are doing,” Dr. Greenidge explained.

“Every two years we do an actuarial review. That is nothing new. We did that actuarial review and that has not even been discussed. But coming out of the actuarial review, the Government will prepare a white paper to discuss possible recommendations and the way forward.

“So I can’t tell you that there will be an increase in the pensionable age or anything like that because I haven’t seen the recommendations coming out of the actuarial review report…No one knows and I think some people are trying to cause fear and confusion…In my view, it’s much ado about nothing,” he contended.

Government’s advisory team, he added, has been much more focused on economic national stability amid repeated shocks brought on by the pandemic.

“The [IMF] report says the government will prepare a white paper in Cabinet. That really is supposed to take place over the next few months, but given where we are with COVID, I don’t know if that is feasible because there are limited resources to deal with all the things that we have to deal with…COVID is the main concern right now – responding to COVID and taking care of people,” said Dr Greenidge.

“The IMF has not told Barbados what to do and as I keep telling people, this is the Barbados Economic and Recovery and Transformation Programme (BERT). Barbadians set the programme, not the IMF,” stressed the economist.

Meanwhile, the NUPW’s Walrond said he has been “bombarded with numerous calls” from nervous members demanding to know the status of their pension benefits in the wake of the recent IMF document.

Walrond, however, noted that any adjustments to the existing arrangement would only affect new entrants to the public sector. Nevertheless, he admitted some previously-mentioned proposals would not receive the blessing of the union. These include moving the number of pensionable years of service from 33 1/3 to 40 years, reducing the annual rate of accrual from 2 per cent to 1.67 per cent.

Conversely, Walrond admitted discussions on extending the age of early retirement from 60 to 62 would be more favourable to the union.

“Obviously public officers hearing about the IMF and looking towards the public sector pension, it creates some unease about the impact, if their benefits are going to be reduced and what is the future for pensions,” he told listeners on Starcom Network’s Down-to-Brass-Tacks programme.

“The NUPW is seeking to preserve the pension. Pension has been treated over the years as deferred earnings and as a part of your salary. There was a concept that a retired public officer should live with a level of social security in terms of their standard of living and to erode this would mean that pensioners would not enjoy the same income traditionally and that safety net would then be eroded,” he added. (kareemsmith@barbadostoday.bb)

27. JohnFebruary 10, 2021 10:07 AM MTA Have you ever considered that Trump may end up with 3 terms?!!

Will never happen.

28. JohnFebruary 10, 2021 8:39 AM

As you so real real scholastic, please explain the real cause of NCD’s and morbidity.

29. @ Hal Austin February 13, 2021 8:41 AM

Greendidge is a total failure.

Of course, we must radically cut the pensions of civil servants. Not only are our civil servants overwhelmingly far too fat and too indolent, they retire far too early and get far too high pensions in view of their failures.

Without a doubt, the civil service is the number one institution in Barbados working under the principles of the old plantation system. It seduces young black men and women into doing nothing and discourages them from becoming successful, wealthy entrepreneurs.

I wonder why our nationalist BLM activists do not denounce this injustice and instead threaten only certain entrepreneurs who could never become civil servants in Barbados.

We need more intelligent people like PLT to promote free enterprise. The more black entrepreneurs in Barbados, the better off we will be. A first step would be to dismantle the state apparatus so that people see that the state cannot take care of everything.

30. @ Tron February 13, 2021 12:18 PM
    “We need more intelligent people like PLT to promote free enterprise. The more black entrepreneurs in Barbados, the better off we will be. A first step would be to dismantle the state apparatus so that people see that the state cannot take care of everything.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Then there would be NO need for so many career politicians and their obese coterie of sycophants aka consultants sucking on the excessively sore udders of the growingly poor taxpayers.

How else would your Supreme goddess MAM sparkle if she is not surrounded by a highly-paid circle of dull ass-licking empty vessels?

31. @ Miller February 13, 2021 12:40 PM

Our Supreme Leader would certainly like to cut pensions in half and kick out many civil servants. The problem is that the state apparatus, in its current monstrous size, represents the largest group of voters. Taking the right measures would be the equivalent of suicide in the next elections.

However, that doesn’t mean that we don’t have to keep pointing out the racist nature of the civil service: blacks are seduced into being civil servants so that white entrepreneurs can continue to rule the island and the black masses stay poor as ever. And who came up with this system? Right, old Barrow. What an irony. The father of independence as the true architect of Barbadian apartheid. LOL.

32. Greenidge: No pension reform
    Recent concerns raised about possible changes to Government’s pension arrangement with public workers, which was mentioned in the most recent review of the Barbados economy by the International Monetary Fund (IMF), is being categorised by a senior economic advisor to the ruling administration, as much ado about nothing.
    Dr Kevin Greenidge says contrary to the views of some pundits, the IMF has instigated no such reform to the pension system. Rather the report was pointing to Government’s commitment to do an actuarial review of the pension system every two years and one such review was completed last November. He said that this has been par for the course for years and was by no means a new pre-requisite.
    “The IMF has not and did not tell Barbados that it had to do anything on its pension, instead it reported what the Government of Barbados says it is going to do. Every two years we do an actuarial review of our pension system, and Government did that last year and based on the recommendations coming out of that it would implement certain things based on recommendations in the review,” Greenidge explained.
    White paper
    On Page 57 of the report, which is part of the section titled Memorandum of Economic And Financial Policy, which is attached to the IMF report, it states: “We will review the civil service pension scheme to address its long-run sustainability. To this end, we will table in Parliament a revised public pension law by end-June 2021 (proposed reset structural benchmark) informed by the actuarial review that
    is expected by end-November 2020.
    “We will prepare a pension reform white paper and discuss this in Cabinet. We hired external consultants to cost different pension systems for new entrants into the public service. We will carefully weigh different options, with important considerations to making the public service scheme contributory for new employees, increasing the earliest age of eligibility for new employees, and reducing the rate of benefit accrual for each year of service for new employees,” he said.
    The economist told the Sunday Sun that he had not seen a copy of the review nor had it been discussed at the level of Cabinet as yet, therefore, he was baffled as to why some people appear to believe that they possess the clairvoyance to predict what changes, if any, would come.
    “People put forward what they want for one reason or another. I have not even read the actuarial review as yet. It has been done and that needs to first be discussed at the level of Cabinet before any process can be done, so I cannot possibly tell you what is going to happen.
    Cabinet has to first decide what areas of the recommendations they are going to accept. This thing has not been discussed at all and even when it is, there will be a white paper prepared and therefore the country will be consulted. I don’t understand the fearmongering behaviour that some people choose to indulge in,” said Greenidge.
    He added: “These people are jumping the gun and they don’t know heads or tails about what they are talking about. The actuarial review is required by law every two years and coming out of that
    recommendations would be made. Anyone who can tell you what is going to happen beforehand must have a crystal ball.”
    (CLM)

33. The article by Greenidge rightly speaks about reform for new entrants. This seems to be in recognition of the fact that pension is deferred earnings. And if pension is deferred earnings one cannot legally change entitlement after a person has accepted and worked in the post.

I have long argued this and am happy to see it acknowledged, even if implicitly.

34. @DonnaFebruary 14, 2021 11:34 AM

If the government has to cut everywhere (bonds, infrastructure, health, schools, military, social services), it may also cut pensions that already exist. This is common practice in developed countries. Even people who are already retired have their pensions cut there – with the consent of constitutional courts. Why should the countries of the North cut the pensions of their retired civil servants, but transfer money to Barbados via the IMF so that pensioners in our country can continue to live in luxury?

A pension is nothing more than property. This property is not limitless, but is bound to the society and the common good. So if social transfers are cut across the board in Barbados, our government may of course do the same with state pensions for civil servants.

It is quite another question whether our government will survive this politically. Given the fact that civil servants in Barbados are lazier and more pampered than average, I dare to doubt it. Without any doubt, the civil service is the very biggest liability for our island, even ahead of Corona and hurricanes.

35. @ Tron

A state pension is not deferred wages. It is a benefit. However, it is very extreme for the state to cut the amount of benefits a beneficiaries receive. It is an act of desperation.
    You mention that in Europe the state sometimes cuts pensions. Plse name one country and when.

36. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Donna
    the good gentleman, Dr G, said nothing of any substance. The beauty of doing so, is you can infer whatever you choose.
    The resident Jester, occasionally seeks higher ground. He has told you the challenge.

Leave a Reply to TheOGazertsCancel reply