During the current lockdown it’s perhaps an ideal opportunity to reflect on the positives and negatives of an everyday small business and hope that these experiences can benefit us all in the recovery days to come.

While not directly tourism related, any reasonable person has to ponder what on earth was on the minds of the management of one or more ‘local’ banks to increase their charges during the current pandemic, especially when it was abundantly imminent that another lockdown was about to be enacted.

When the majority of customers are already reeling from the effects of dramatically reduced ‘service’ delivery, the closure of branches without any meaningful consultation with the people who fund their operation and being literally forced into migrated online websites, some of which are far from user-friendly.

In our own personal transactions over the last couple of months, the tardy response of at least two different banks that we deal with have caused us substantial monetary losses and hugely increased unnecessary stress.

Even when the particular bank makes obvious mistakes, the procedure often involves lengthy phone calls to remote ‘customer care’ centres and spent precious hours rectifying their problem, all at our expense, in terms of time and resources, without even a hint of an apology or compensation.

Sadly as a country we have grown to accept a diminished level of service from our financial institutions, at least partially due to Government default of debt, giving these organisations little opportunity other than to extract additional revenue from the ‘little people’ to make up that deficit.

What is so alarming is that the overwhelming number of businesses here, both small and large, will critically depend on these lending entities to sustain them until some degree of normality and viability returns.

And with seemingly such detached directors at the top of the management tree, which can only be a logical explanation for the poor levels of service meted out by the lower level of employees, it is difficult to comprehend how many of our private sector entities will survive.

Perhaps the biggest puzzle is why do we tolerate such a general poor level of service, when the majority of these foreign owned banks could not get away with it in their own domains located in the more developed countries?

My first days as a lifetime entrepreneur at the age of 12 years were spent walking door-to-door with a cheap suitcase selling kitchen items to houses in the UK from the monies I earned selling imperfect shirts from stalls in markets like London’s Petticoat Lane.

In the near six decades that have followed, I have desperately tried to understand how bank managers and their employers rationally think and sadly, do not appear to be any closer to comprehending them.

But I do know that unless there is a seismic shift in the way that ‘our’ banks respond to the immediate needs of local small to medium size businesses in the very near future, many of those enterprises will cease to exist by the end of this year.

That will inevitably take a further toll on Government coffers, so perhaps it is now long overdue that the current administration bites the bullet and encourages banking reform.

99 responses to “Adrian Loveridge Column – Poor Service by Foreign Banks”

1. @ Crusoe

You are absolutely right. What is also missing is sound financial education, which can be taught in schools, as part of maths, on television or in the aimless newspapers.
    We urgently need a consumer protection organisation, which will not only fight for consumer rights, but will embark on a mass financial education programme.
    Why can’t the unions and community groups use empty school halls in the evenings to teach people about basic finance?

2. Crusoe February 11, 2021 9:19 AM #: “Note which companies have become financial institutions instead of retail stores.”

@ Crusoe

There is a particular company in Barbados that is registered as a financial institution and also offers loan financing through its subsidiary retail store.

3. Courts Artax?

4. Aye, David.

5. To expand on the point to Cruise, there maybe a demand by the senior segment for financial services defined by numbers, however, would such an operation be profitable? The blogmaster assumes such an entity is projected to be profitable and fit for purpose.

6. @ David

That establishment, along with some other financial institutions (Carilend Ltd., FastCash, TravelCash) offer short term loans at high interest rates, for which the qualifying requirements are not as stringent as those of commercial banks and companies such as Consolidated Finance or Signia Globe Finance.

And, there is a high demand for those types of loans.

7. @Atax

There is a reason why interest rate is high, because of the associated risk.

8. Bankers confident systems will detect laundering – Bankers confident systems will detect laundering: https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/02/11/bankers-confident-systems-will-detect-laundering/

9. ‘Dirty’ money alert – ‘Dirty’ money alert: https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/02/11/dirty-money-alert/

10. An urgent warning has been issued to local attorneys-at-law, against being lured into a possible money laundering scheme, involving “large sums” of United States dollars from overseas “clients”.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/02/11/dirty-money-alert/

11. LOL LOL LOL yes that was how big fry do it no calendar

12. NorthernObserver Avatar

“British television channel BBC World News has been barred from airing in China, the National Radio and Television Administration said on Friday, a week after Britain’s media regulator revoked Chinese state television’s broadcast licence.
    In a statement issued on the stroke of the Lunar New Year, the administration said an investigation found BBC World News’ China-related reports had “seriously violated” regulations, including that news should be “truthful and fair,” had harmed China’s national interests and undermined national unity.(quote)

13. NorthernObserver Avatar

Some form of digital banking IS the future. While many of the established brick and mortar banks, have opted to sit on the fence, and dangle a leg over both the digital and traditional sides, one is growing, while the other dies as its users pass on.
    My children last wrote a cheque when forced to do so by their 65+ year old landlords at University; sign a lease and hand over a slew of post dated cheques. Today, they don’t even know where their Bank is. It’s on their phone.

14. @ Northern Observer

You are missing the point. I am talking about basic banking for moderately paid people with no interest in investments or sophisticated banking.
    There are 44000 people aged over 75 in Barbados and most, like people in other countries, are unlikely to have an interest in digital banking.
    Digital payments are fine, but three, four, five years later when you want a record what do you do? Of course you can walk in to your bank and ask for a print out, but to do that in Barbados will be another charge.
    Why do I need a bank account that offers travel, life and motor insurance, investments, that sends me constant nonsense about loans?

15. Not just the state-funded BBC, every night CNN runs a lot of anti-China propaganda, behind a shadow of anti-Trumpian angst..

16. Suspect that ‘dirty money alert’ is describing the set-up for a scam and not money laundering. One-smart will die at two-smart door.

Hopefully our lawyers are also above believing in a billionaire relative in Nigeria

17. NorthernObserver Avatar

@HA
    those “44000 people aged over 75” will be “20,000 people aged over 85” in 10 years (guesstimate) You are correct, those with established ways, don’t wish (cannot?) to change and just want an economical way to keep doing as they always have. And 15 years on, there will be 6,000 of them? Not a growing future, rather servicing an ageing population in a manner to which they are accustomed. By dangling legs on both sides of the wall, this is what many traditional banks are doing. A non-digital bank set up via a post office (another dwindling bricks and mortar place) is a stop gap measure. I must admit I haven’t mailed anything in 6yrs+. I email cards, pay online, and if I have a package I can’t deliver myself, I call one of the local couriers. In fact, many a Canadian post office has morphed into a section in a local store, usually drug or hardware. They simply cannot afford the real estate, and the employees, for the revenue they generate. All my bills are sent via e-mail, or a notification ‘it is ready’ at the providers website. Several today are notifications by text/whatsapp.
    The digital accounts are far more ‘bare minimum’ than the bricks and mortar. But like the traditional banks, if I need a hard copy of a transaction past (whatever time period it is free), there is a charge.
    Like the delivery crews, who notify you digitally, via a picture of the delivery wherever it was to be delivered, I have got in the habit of snapping a picture of every paper bill/receipt etc, which I monthly sort into a permanent file (on my cloud lol) My kids do it on their phones, I am not that accomplished!!!

18. NorthernObserver Avatar

For the blogmaster from behind a paywall

“Governments around the world have turned on the taps to deal with the pandemic, so far spending about US$14-trillion to help their citizens weather the economic consequences of COVID-19. Much of this spending has been financed by new debt that has gone on to be purchased by central banks, in what has seemed like a painless process; even the most indebted countries, such as Italy, have had no trouble borrowing money, thanks to expansive monetary policies that have seen central banks buy up government bonds soon after they hit the market.

More than one-third of all bonds issued by the government of Canada are now owned by the Bank of Canada, up from one-fifth before the pandemic. Over all, the central bank’s holdings of federal bonds have surged to $320-billion, from about $120-billion before it committed to weekly bond purchases last March, under a program known as quantitative easing, or QE. Those purchases have made it exceptionally easy for Ottawa to borrow record amounts of money.

The story is much the same in the United States and Europe, where the central banks have also been hoovering up government bonds. The U.S. Federal Reserve has increased its holdings of Treasury bonds and other government debt instruments by US$2.7-trillion since last March. The European Central Bank has bought up more than €800-billion ($1.24-trillion) since the pandemic began, bringing its total holdings of government debt issued by euro zone countries to about €2.5-trillion, or around 25 per cent of all such debt.

In theory, these central bank bond-buying programs are supposed to be only temporary. Bank of Canada officials have insisted that the federal government must reimburse it when the bonds it holds come due. The dollars created out of thin air would then be cancelled, preventing a permanent increase in the money supply that could lead to higher inflation. In reality, it may not work that way.

To retire the debt held by the central bank, the federal government would need to borrow from investors on the open market. Indeed, without dramatically raising taxes or cutting spending, Ottawa is expected to run large deficits for years to come, requiring it to borrow to finance new spending and to roll over existing debt.

More than 100 European economists on the left insist they have a better idea. Instead of forcing euro zone governments to repay the bonds held by the ECB, the central bank should just cancel them. That’s right – they say the ECB should wipe the slate clean so that governments can emerge from the pandemic freed of debt obligations in order to pursue a green recovery.

“Our solution is therefore simple: Let’s make a deal between the European states and the ECB,” the group that includes noted French economist Thomas Piketty wrote last week in an op-ed published in several leading European newspapers. “Let it cancel the debts that it holds (or transform them into perpetual debts with 0-per-cent interest rate) and let the European states commit the same amount to a widespread social and ecological recovery plan.”

The group has found plenty of support among left-leaning European politicians. Its suggestions echo those Riccardo Fraccaro, an aide to former Italian prime minister Giuseppe Conte, who in November called on the ECB to cancel “sovereign bonds bought during the pandemic or perpetually [extend] their maturity.” Italy’s sovereign debt is set to surpass 160 per cent of gross domestic product this year, but its government has been able to borrow at interest rates of just 0.6 per cent, largely because of the ECB’s massive bond purchases.

ECB president Christine Lagarde wasted no time shooting down Prof. Piketty’s idea, describing it as “inconceivable.” In an interview with France’s Journal du Dimanche, she said cancelling the debt “would be in violation of the [European Union] treaty which strictly prohibits monetary financing.”

In their op-ed, however, Prof. Piketty and his co-signatories argued that some monetary purists argued that QE also violated EU treaties when the ECB began its bond-buying program more than five years ago. “Let us not be distracted by legal fallacies; in the end only political will matters,” they wrote. “And history has shown countless times that petty legal issues fade away in front of robust political deals.”

Similar arguments have emerged on this side of the Atlantic as progressive economists worry that pandemic debts will hamstring governments in Canada and the United States for years to come. After all, debt cancellation sounds so much more palatable than austerity, doesn’t it?

QE was always bound to lead us to this place. The everlasting appeal of the free lunch lives on. But sooner or later, someone – or some generation – has to foot the bill.

19. @ Northern Observer February 11, 2021 2:46 PM

We must view the proposal of a resuscitated Post Office bank in its previous over-the-counter incarnation as a mere financially-impossible pipedream similar to a former Bajan politician’s mad dream of building a ‘second’ international airport in Moon Town to be called the Denis Kellman International.

The Bajan government cannot even collect on a quarterly basis the straightforward VAT due to the Treasury far less own and manage an old-fashioned politically blighted bank in a growingly competitive digital world of finance, banking and commerce.

20. People, do you know how many working people, even younger age, do not have an email address let alone a digitally accessed account? Many workers rely on cash and a traditional bank account.

They, rightfully, also see digital money as an easy segway to credit loans that they cannot repay.

30% APR.

That is why the bog banks do not want a traditional bank to compete against. If you can get a loan for your two drive mowers, or five sewing machines, or new washing machines, from the PO bank at 12%, why get one from a credit institution asking for 20%+ or more APR. And got forbid you get it on the credit card. 30% APR.

That is why a PO bank, well run, will work.

Credit is the new money churner for some. New fangled money lenders.

21. @NorthernObserver

We live in interesting times but what will post Covid financial/ capital landscape look like?

@Crusoe

Those who do not have email addresses or … innovate products will be created to serve them, bricks and mortar is on it’s what out.

22. @ David,

Maybe this is a segway to the post Covid economy. This will likely lean to speculation and a view of where we are going, but could be worth considering at this time.

23. @ Northern

You are still missing the point. Those who want digital banking with its bits and pieces will go to digital, those who want basic banking will go to basic banking. It is a matter of choice.
    Every time I go in to my bank they want me to go digital or mobile and I repeat, over and over again, no. I am not alone. Every day there is a queue of people waiting to go in to the bank for some service, and this is one of the biggest retail banks in Europe.
    It was the move towards digital that opened the space for what we call challenger banks, of which Metro Bank is the best known, it led to the re-birth of the TSB bank and the strengthening of the building societies.
    Ore, in typical Bajan style, we can always punch above our weight and be at the cutting edge of technological banking.
    Just look at Republic, the most incompetent bank I have ever had to deal with, so much so that I had to close a small account I had with them. And they fabricate. The last letter I got from them was in the Spring and was dated the previous October.
    They did that because they wanted to declare my account dormant. Talk to Bajans in the UK about problems with dormant accounts in Barbados. It is a rip off, which they blame on the central bank.
    Ordinary people want ordinary banking.

24. Who will pay for it?

25. @ Crusoe February 11, 2021 5:35 PM

What you are proposing is altruistic and more ‘socialist’ in outlook than the Bajan economy is being prepped to adopt under the IMF-directed BERT & BEST programmes.

Here is what the policymakers under instruction from the IMF would say to such a ‘petty-cash’ proposal:

‘Let them join an existing cooperative credit union providing such small-time services.’

The commercial banking system of the future- whether the players are private or government-sponsored or local or international- ‘small’ accounts, whether personal or business, are in essence of mere nuisance value and do not add to the shareholders’ bottom line and CEO’s bonuses.

26. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Crusoe
    look around, most have phones. They can learn. That is why I said, the one leg on each side of the fence, is the model being followed. I question how much profit there is, in the PO Bank model. And how long the cash and minimal digital interface will continue. I still say it is a ‘stop-gap’ measure, which if its in public hands, has the potential to boondoggle into another suckwell.

@Blogmaster
    The market certainly doesn’t know!! The massive public financing in many places is nothing more than a band-aid, it is when that dressing is removed, we will see who has healed and can function, and who needs an amputation or worse. For Barbados, the acid test will be employment.

27. The size of the entire Bajan economy is such t hat it can be called an nuisance. There are a handful of really wealthy people in Barbados, apart from the gangster Irish on the West Coast.
    Remember a Bds$1m is only about £35000, or the price of a terrace house in London. Most returnees are Bajan millionaires. Some have pensions bigger than the salaries of government lawyers.
    We are a poor third world island, and not the crap people talk about being first world. There is nothing wrong with a credit union bank. Try it and see.

28. Stop talking about profit in a post office bank and talk about service. We do not all have mobile phones. I have never owned one. When the FT Group tried to get me to take a company phone I kept refusing.

29. @Crusoe
    Put it on hire purchase or credit card is the call. All with exorbitant interest rates.
    +++++++
    So what else is new? Hire purchase was rampant in Barbados for more than 40 years, what has changed is that there are more ways to access credit. Back then people were purchasing radiograms, now its big screen TV’s. The Canadian banks also provided credit for car loans and other consumer products with registered liens via Bill of Sales etc. After noticing the success of those banks other FI’s. e.g. Barclays and the American Banks in Barbados at the time jumped on the bandwagon.

30. Who will pay for the service.

31. NorthernObserver Avatar

@HA
    not sure, any of us are missing the point. IF, said services can be provided in such a manner where break even is the minimum result, fine. It’s a declining market, guaranteed. Remember, “we doan wuk fah free nah more”. Maybe negative interest rates may be the impetus needed for change.

32. Pension cheques delayed – Pension cheques delayed: https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/02/11/pension-cheques-delayed/

33. @NO

Scary.

#QE

34. @Northern

Hal does have a point. The elephant in the room is that the large banks do not see any profit in the small man business. Man, you and I both know that if they could belt it out of here tomorrow, except for the IBC’s and wealth people, they would bolt.

But cannot have one without the other. That is all that is keeping them in it. So, not much profit in it anyway. Fooling ourselves otherwise. But the service is needed.

And it can spring more than the break even, by competing against those HP and credit card interest rates.

If those companies see profits in that area, surely the PO bank can compete there? The trick is to keep overheads low and fraud down.

35. You anticipate a PO bank as a government agency can achieve what you have stated? Where is the example it is possible? Bear in mind Barbados is a failed state to coin a phrase. Let us see the business case before we assume this type of operation is viable.

36. DavidFebruary 12, 2021 3:25 AM

I get your point. But really the question may not be whether it should exist, the question is whether there is truly an alternative for this socioeconomic band.

Hint: post-Covid economy.

37. @Crusoe

As stated a solution will emerge but it will not be bricks and mortar.

38. @ David February 12, 2021 3:34 AM
    “@Crusoe
    As stated a solution will emerge but it will not be bricks and mortar.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

What Crusoe is reminiscing about are those halcyon’ financial’ days when the Barbados [Penny] Savings bank- operating out of the precincts and possibly under the aegis of the Barbados GPO- was there for the ‘ordinary’ Bajans who were deprived ‘easy’ access to the ‘High Street’ banks on the then upmarket Broad Street dominated by the likes of BarclaysBank DCO, RBC, CIBC, the Bank of Nova Scotia and by the later arrival of the American banks like Chase Manhattan and Bank of America.

What the proposed reinvented Post Office bank would be mandated to do is what the Barbados National Bank was established by the Tom Adams BLP administration to achieve proving that there is nothing new under the Bajan commercial banking sun and that what goes around always comes around in whatever technological incarnation.

Still, the constant question (of change) remains:

Who or what would be footing the bill for this rebirth of another commercial SOE the likes of which the IMF would like to banish from the Bajan economic landscape.

39. @ Crusoe

It is very difficult to discuss any subject seriously when some people just want cheap laughs. Those cash-rich households who like modernity will find digital banks interesting and they will be prepared to accept the risk of having their accounts hacked.
    For ordinary poor people basic banking is all they need, and that goes for the majority of Barbadians.

40. Typical, you are asked hard questions and you resort to your usual pejorative as and disparaging position. The question is- how will this segment whose demand is transactional with a low borrowing appetite support a PO Bank operating as a profit centre. What are the revenue drivers.

41. You do not understand what you are talking about and are in danger of misleading the readers. We are going round and round in circles. If you want a revenue driver get a taxi.

42. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Crusoe
    The GoB has been able to legislate Banks to keep an increasing amount of their deposits with the CBB, they have torn apart legislation regarding interest rates, and we think they cannot legislate the terms of a basic bank account?
    In regards to basic banking, when I speak of profit, I refer to a minimum ‘covering of costs’. Not ‘making lots of money’
    The basic challenge is that retail banks/credit unions and government have had an adversarial relationship for years. For what is a declining customer base (those who are incapable or refuse to use technology for whatever reason), it would seem the services required can be legislated via existing entities, whether retail banks or credit unions. And since age would appear to be a major factor to who requires this level of ‘service’, addressing costs is made easier. I mean we are just discussing basic safekeeping of money.

43. @ Crusoe

@Northern is making a bold claim about legislating for basic bank accounts. Where is his evidence. The UK has legislated, in fact the regulator has enforced, a basic bank account.
    It was based on all the false claims we are now seeing on BU, such as profitability and revenue streams; The emphasis was on SERVICE and the need to provide a competent service for a large number of people, who, without such service, would have been marginalised.
    ‘Minimum’ costs are covered by the basic bank charges. First , the monies deposited would be invested since it is unlikely there will be a run on the bank; then there are the principles of lending: interest, if any, on a current account will be less than the interest on loans, such as the base rate plus, that is basic banking.
    As I have said Post Office bank will provide credit cards, debit cards, etc, all those will include so-called revenue-making charges. All these carry fees.
    Banks are not free, the big difference will be the quality of service, treating people as if their are important and as if it is their money they want to access.
    I am not sure how retail banking works in Canada, but for years most leading banks have been compelling people to shift to digital, mobile and telephone banking, not out of the interest of the account holders, but because it is convenient for the banks. They did so until the regulator stepped in. Now all high street banks MUST offer a basic bank account.
    Wherever there has been an alternative, such as challenger banks (ie Metro) people have flooded to them. Of course, some customers will prefer digital banking for its convenience, while others will prefer basic banking. What is wrong with giving Barbadians a choice?
    I am not sure what @Northern means by an adversarial relationship. Maybe he can explain that. One minute he is saying the government (ie GoB) cannot legislate a basic bank account, a misunderstanding of parliament’s legislative powers, then he claims they can legislate via existing entities. What does this mean?
    Age is an important factor not a MAJOR factor; the influential factor is low pay, poverty. The basic discussion is about providing a service for low paid and marginalised people, especially at a time when most people have their wages paid in to their bank accounts.

44. NorthernObserver Avatar

@HA
    I don’t know what you are on about. I said from the get go, that Banks in Canada (only because they dominate the Barbadian landscape) have one leg of each side of the fence. That fence is the line between digital banking and traditional bricks and mortar banking.
    Further, the GoB CAN legislate whatever they choose. This includes the fees and services provided. “they can legislate via existing entities”, means, the GoB can legislate ‘existing entities’ (retail banks and credit unions). You don’t need some new entity. If somebody thinks/feels that a new entity will provide better ‘service’, then by all means open one.
    I’m not investing in it, but you are free to do so.
    You can split the hair strand between important and major.

45. @ Northern

There is no hair splitting. The proposal was for a Post Office bank in Barbados providing a basic balance sheet service.
    There was nothing about Canadian banking from you, that was your intervention. Most high street banks do offer digital and bricks and mortar. Plse re-read what I said. I mentioned the challenger banks as providers for low-paid and marginalised people.
    Again you are the one who introduced the idea that government cannot legislate the terms of a basic bank account. I said yes they can and, in the case of the UK, the regulator did.
    I also raised the point that to suggest government cannot legislate for a basic bank account is to misunderstand parliamentary democracy. They do not have to legislate via existing entities, they want a new model.
    Your original argument was about profits, I said forget profits and think of service. There will be digital, mobile and telephone banks, but there is also space for a basic balance sheet bank, offering basic current and savings accounts, without any bells and whistles.
    That is what I believe Barbados urgently needs. Such bans exist all over the world.

46. Myers is new BTMI chair
    The Barbados Tourism Marketing Inc. (BTMI) has a new chairman.
    Longstanding tourism practitioner Roseanne Myers has been appointed chairman of the island’s top tourism marketing agency, which consists of the BTMI and the Barbados Tourism Product Authority (BTPA).
    Making the announcement Friday in a press release, Minister of Tourism and International Transport Senator Lisa Cummins said Myers’ selection for the position was made at “a critical time for tourism” when the island’s “best thinkers on economics, investment, business, trade, social policy and industrial relations, education, international and community development” were needed.
    Myers, who has 39 years’ experience under her belt and is currently the general manager of Atlantis Submarines Barbados, was the first non-hotelier to chair the Barbados Hotel and Tourism Association.
    She has served as director on the boards of several major public and private sector tourism institutions including the BTMI, Barbados Port Inc., Tourism Development Corporation, and as deputy chair of Kensington Oval Management Inc.
    She has been given the mandate “to build and execute a revamped tourism framework that will competitively position Destination Barbados coming out of COVID-19”.
    Commenting on her immediate plans and objectives to take the BTMI through the current crisis, the new chairman said she
    was committed to leading the tourism sector to creating a path for ‘when’ and not ‘if’ tourism survives this shock and to shaping the form in which it emerges.
    “The first task is to align national and organisational goals; second is to listen and respect the institutional knowledge; and third to structure a data-driven approach to craft the way forward.”
    Myers said she looked forward to working with the BTMI and BTPA team and the public and private sector in this regard.
    She told the Sunday Sun she accepted the responsibility, conscious of the state of the economy and out of concern for the future of the island’s tourism industry.
    “At the end of the day I cannot say no. We need all hands on deck,” said the new BTMI chairman.
    (GC/PR)

47. I have not heard from Adrian in a long time. The forecasted reopening of the tourist industry appears to be a pipe dream.

Here are two other individuals who may have become surplus to requirements in an industry which shows no signs of revival.

April the sixth and we have had several hours of snow and the temperature peaked at 1-2 degrees. It’s suppose to be summer here in Blighty!

https://www.nationnews.com/2021/04/06/two-tourism-executives-resign/