Prime Minister Mia Mottley will address Barbadians at 11:30AM, 02.02.2021. Her address comes on the eve of another ‘lockdown’ designed to combat the surge in COVID 19 infections.

Attached are the usual 2 charts showing progress in Covid incidence up to 29th Jan. The data was taken from the latest (last night’s) Worldometer updates. There have been major developments re. Covid-19 incidence during last week. The Barbados authorities reduced Active cases by 360. The rationale for the underlying major releases from quarantine was explained in Government’s Press releases. A new shutdown starting from 3rd February for 15 days was announced. The Barbados Chart above shows significant fluctuations in daily cases that might be primarily reflections on major problems encountered in the last 2 weeks in testing. Those problems seem to have now been corrected. However, the overall picture seems to be that there has been a trending down of new cases over the past week, suggesting that the Covid contact tracing and testing teams are in the process of regaining the upper hand in the fight against Covid-19. The other major development is the announcement that the British variant is here, not unexpectedly. We all need to follow the Protocols to the utmost best of our individual situations, to have a chance of controlling Covid-19- Lyall Small

277 responses to “Covid 19 Update – 02.02.2021”

1. 4,096 cases in 7 days is what I understood Ms. Mockley to say was possible.

So far for almost a year we have had 1,586 cases discovered.

The rest must be hiding good.

13 new cases.

There is something else at work here.

2. NorthernObserver Avatar

@WW&C
    everybody knew full well, the situation was very fluid and subject to change. One cannot blame the GoB for changes made by a foreign government? If a foreign government demanded all incoming passengers to be vaccinated, does the GoB now have a need to provide vaccinations? Nobody forced anybody to travel?
    Interestingly, while they have changed from AC966, to another flight code, AC has a flight to BGI tomorrow.
    Also, Lawson’s BF can only ban Canadian carriers. Obviously Florida and Arizona are not ‘sun destinations’ because I can still get there in any number of ways. When PH and politics collide.

3. ” As a Canadian citizen you are entitled to receive all of her GIS and OAS pension and you are allowed to stay out of Canada, in the as long as you like..HOWEVER if you stay out of your province for longer than six or seven months (depending on your province of residence)you might lose yourr provincial health insurance benefits. Check with your Province health ministry.

http://www.health.gov.on.ca/en/public/publications/ohip/docs/longer_absences_fs_en.pdf

4. Our government must rule with a hard hand during the lockdown to eliminate the virus. This means:

Banning opposition members from speaking
    Surveillance of all citizens via mobile phone with a special Charles Jong app
    Curfew from 5 pm to 6 am
    etc.

Since tourists will not come back until November 2021 at the earliest, it would also finally be time to implement my STARVE initiative, i.e. cutting social welfare and salaries and tax breaks for top performers, e.g. suspension of land tax.

5. This is not doom and gloom…

we get to see how lazy Caribbean leaders operate in an environment not in their control and outside of the prop that is the bubble of dependency tourism…they now have to use more than the few brain cells that’s always on display….this is actually a blessing in disguise.

we didn’t even have to pray for it, the universe sees and knows.

6. NorthernObserver Avatar

Receiving your OAS pension outside of Canada
    You can qualify to receive Old Age Security pension payments while living outside of Canada if one if these reasons applies to you:

you lived in Canada for at least 20 years after turning 18
    you lived and worked in a country that has a social security agreement with Canada. The time you lived or worked in that country and Canada must be at least 20 years

see https://www.canada.ca/en/services/benefits/publicpensions/cpp/old-age-security/while-receiving.html

ps…you should know that Waru who has lived all bout and knows how to work every system, is aware of the various rules…lol

7. “Nobody forced anybody to travel?”

am not arguing with anyone…all I WANT…is the END of the DEPENDENCY tourism, i don’t think it’s a lot to ask for.

8. “There is something else at work here.”

why don’t you spell out what it is instead of putting your trumpesque shit out there

infections grow exponentially
    if each person infected is in contact with 10 people
    1 x 10 = 10
    10 x 10 = 100
    100 x 10 = 1000
    1000 x 10 = 10000
    10000 x 10 = 100000
    100000 x 10 = 100000

9. Victims can now have two variants of CoVid at the same time.

10. Hal

Ms Mockley is taking advice from an article she read in the Guardian last night at 3 o’clock in the morning.

She works hard for her money!!

I seem to remember you saying somewhere that you were singularly unimpressed with that outfit.

11. Waitresses can’t get none.

12. @ John 2

You can’t compare a once a year flu shot to a covid vaccine.

In less than 3 weeks at least 2 new strains have evolved which the vacinne manufacturers admit they may now have to introduce a third more powerful booster shot for, or tweak the vacinne to deal with. The big difference between the flu and covid is that covid is quickly developing new strains and as I said before i have no doubt that sooner rather than later one of these will be vacinne resistant.

Are you saying the vacinne producers can tweak and deliver an enhanced product every 3 weeks? They will be playing catch up always. Stop and think on this. Do we have a cure for the Aids Virus? No. Do we have a cure for the flu virus? No and so it goes.

I agree with our authorities the only real weapon is masks wearing and social distancing along with sanitizing. My friend this may just be one we have to live with long term. The sooner we prepare our lives and economy for this the better we all will be.

13. I get the sense that many in and outside of Barbados are not aware of what is really going down.

sorry, am not sharing…i love seeing yall happy.

14. @ Quaker John

I have long suspect ed the president does not sleep well. This is dangerous. She should take sleeping pills. And taking information from the Gruniad? The paper cannot even spell its name right. Why do you think its does not have a pay wall on its website?

15. @ David.

The only thing going in this body from Russia is a little stolly from time to time.lol

Seriously though I know we have to have emergency use authorisation from the FDA at times like these, but in my opinion neither the Russian or Indian vaccine have been tested enough at this point.

16. @ John A

You are right to be cautious. Now they are talking about mixing the different vaccines. Ask Mottley to tell the nation which vaccine she has received and when is the second dose?

17. @ Hal

I work on data and facts not suppositions, so when I see enough hard independent data on any issue it is only then that I believe. My mother did not raise a sheep! When I hear vaccine companies using words like ” should be effectice” or “we anticipate it will work” well that ain’t enough for me. They have been too many cases over the years where rush to use has been a bad decision.

18. Government will learn that food don’t grow in supermarkets and they are seasonal.

“Not being able to sell their produce during the lockdown could present some challenges for farmers with respect to spoilage, says chief executive officer of the Barbados Agricultural Society (BAS) James Paul.

While the assistance of farmers will be sought by Government as it works towards distributing an estimated 60,000 care packages to vulnerable and underprivileged persons during the February 3-17 national pause, farmers will not be allowed to sell their produce otherwise.”

19. @ John A

Or emergency use authorisation. We have a hospital in London, Northwick Park, where a few years ago some students taking art in drug trials to make quick money sadly came a cropper.
    It is not a theoretical thing. It is real. That is why I ask if the Indian CoVid drugs have been given full authorisation.
    Get the politicians to take the Indian drugs first.

A STUDENT whose head swelled up to TWICE its normal size in a botched drugs trial has claimed he is yet to receive a penny in compensation – 12 years on.

“Elephant Man” Nav Modi screamed in agony as he felt like his brain was on fire and his eyeballs were going to pop out……(Quote)

20. Another approach to COVID.

Media did not like it!!

… but it works.

21. “I seem to remember you saying somewhere that you were singularly unimpressed with that outfit.”

Hal takes his brainwashing from rightwing trash like Times, where they still are getting over their inherent racism.
    The trope that Keith Stramer is embracing nationalism racism populism and is a bigger threat than Corbyn is because he is like them. When you are strong they will say that you are weak and when you are weak they will say that you are strong.
    Rightwing are for Oldies like him who used to absorb racism and know his place to be subordinated to white man, but the youths are getting bigger, stronger and more conscious than the subservient negroes of old.

22. @John February 3, 2021 2:59 AM “When is White History month[s]?”

January

and

March to December.

23. NorthernObserver Avatar

David February 3, 2021 1:32 PM
    what do EGH, and OR after the Honourable PM’s name stand for?

24. “When is White History month[s]?”

Black History is White History of Slavery Rape and Racism Ism and Schism Capitalism exploitation and Iniquity workers the Devil’s finest works

25. Colonialism + 3rd world poverty by design

Robbery with aggravation

Crimes to humankind

26. Not sure but …

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Post-nominal_letters?wprov=sfti1

The other maybe a conferral by Kenya?

#guessing

27. Our Supreme Leader has recently started wearing a safari costume. Very nice. The beige colour matches the curtains in her presidential palace perfectly.

The only thing missing is the pith helmet, the buffalo leather whip and the hunting knife.

28. TronFebruary 3, 2021 2:14 PMThe only thing missing is the pith helmet, the buffalo leather whip and the hunting knife.

Just a thought. One may wish to keep one’s fantasies to oneself.

29. My recommendation on the Corona vaccination: we should vaccinate our expats, businessmen and cabinet ministers first, in that order. So first the top performers who bring foreign currency into the country, then the rest of the population. Or we sell the vaccine doses to the highest bidder.

30. Dear John, (ha, never done that before)

The Russian and Chinese vaccines are quite safe, after all, my first dose was Russian and my second Chinese, they are quite saСумасшедший пьян and there should be no 疯了传染性 政治 смешно 狂热 ….

31. @John2 February 3, 2021 8:43 AM “Didn’t one of the doctors stated that asystomatic patients will be release once their do their 14 days?”

I thought that I heard that too. That is if a person had been tested and after 14 days they still have no symptoms then they would be released. But still I think that the “release” should come as a message from the Ministry of Health.

32. SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) Avatar
    SirFuzzy (Former Sheep)

I have one question that has been on my mind. I have been hearing that although a person recovers from Covid-19 they are sometimes lingering issues with that person. As covid-19 is rather new, there is no real “known timeframe” for these “after illness effects” to manifest and what they will manifest as.
    Our health care system is under stress dealing with the known NCDs; I don’t think it’s ready for post-covid-19 after-effects (PCAEs)
    We have a long struggle on the frontlines of the battle field, but it may be a “guerrilla war” in the peacetime that follows if PCAEs turn out to be what some say they are.

Just saying.

33. NorthernObserver Avatar

@SS
    fyi
    February African American History Month
    March National Women’s History Month
    April Sikh Heritage Month (Canada)
    May Asian/Pacific American Heritage Month
    May Asian Heritage Month (Canada)
    June Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Pride Month
    June National Indigenous History Month (Canada)
    Sept 15 — Oct 15 National Hispanic Heritage Month
    October National Disability Employment Awareness Month
    October Islamic History Month (Canada)
    November National American Indian/Alaska Native Heritage Month

34. @Tron February 3, 2021 2:14 PM “Our Supreme Leader has recently started wearing a safari costume. Very nice. The beige colour matches the curtains in her presidential palace perfectly.”

Nope. She “disappeared” into the curtains. She should have worn something bright and cheerful.

35. You are absolutely right about the colour effect. However, I think you will also admit that our Supreme Leader dresses appropriately for the climate.

36. “UK finds more virus cases with ‘worrying’ mutations
    London – Public Health England is investigating cases of coronavirus with “worrying” new genetic changes that have been found in some regions of the United Kingdom.

Tests show they have a mutation, called E484K, that is already seen in the South Africa variant.

Although this change may reduce vaccine effectiveness, the current ones in use should still work, say experts.

There have been 11 cases in Bristol and a cluster of 32 cases in Liverpool.

Urgent testing for the South Africa variant is already starting in parts of England and could be rolled out to other areas seeing different variants with the same E484K mutation.

Scientists working with Public Health England found a small number of cases of the UK ‘Kent’ variant with the E484K mutation – it was seen in 11 out of 214,159 samples that they tested, and predominantly from the South West of England.

It is likely there may be more cases that haven’t yet been found. The Liverpool area has seen 32 cases of original coronavirus that have the E484K mutation too.

It’s not unexpected that variants are appearing or that they will continue to change – all viruses mutate as they make new copies of themselves to spread and thrive.

Dr Julian Tang, a virus expert at the University of Leicester, described the finding as “a worrying development, though not entirely unexpected”.

He said it was important people follow the lockdown rules and get cases of coronavirus down to prevent opportunities for the virus to mutate further.

“Otherwise not only can the virus continue to spread, it can also evolve.”

He said that allowing spread could allow a “melting pot” for different emerging variants.

Scientists have already been checking what these new mutations might mean for existing coronavirus vaccines that were designed around earlier versions of the virus that started the pandemic.

Some research appears to show E484K may help the virus evade parts of the immune system called antibodies.

But early results from Moderna suggest its vaccine is still effective against variants with this mutation – although the body’s immune response may not be as strong or prolonged.

Two new coronavirus vaccines that could be approved soon – one from Novavax and another from Janssen – also appear to offer good cover against variants, protecting against serious illness.

Even in the worst case scenario, vaccines can be redesigned and tweaked to be a better match in a matter or weeks or months, if necessary, say experts.

A silver lining may be that the variants are mutating in a similar way rather than diverging from each other.

Prof Ravi Gupta from the University of Cambridge said: “This gives us a sign that it has certain favoured routes – and we can work to block those off with a vaccine.”

Former UK health secretary Jeremy Hunt said the race was on to vaccinate as many people as quickly as possible in order to keep a step ahead of the virus.

Measures such as washing your hands, keeping your distance from other people and wearing a face covering will still help prevent infections. (BBC)”

37. Lawson,

I thought you wanted me to eat your ashes. Now you are worried that I might eat them????

Not bothered about any vaccine for myself. I don’t need to leave home but once a month. Actually, I could fix it so I don’t need to leave at all. Online could work for all my financial transactions. My son need not leave at all and is quite happy to stay home working at his craft until. His sales are online. Under normal circumstances we crave only occasional social interaction. We like home more than most. So…following the protocols would work for me for months.

38. @NorthernObserver February 3, 2021 11:48 AM? “Interestingly, while they have changed from AC966, to another flight code, AC has a flight to BGI tomorrow. Also, Lawson’s BF can only ban Canadian carriers. Obviously Florida and Arizona are not ‘sun destinations’ because I can still get there in any number of ways. When PH and politics collide.”

Word on the ground is that the Canadians are flying into Miami, and from there to Barbados or or other “forbidden” sun destinations.

AC966 or whatever it is being called now is likely here or was here to pick up “stranded” Canadians. Because the Canadian givernment did say that it would repatriate “stranded” Canadians.

39. @Tron February 3, 2021 11:55 AM “Surveillance of all citizens via mobile phone”

How does that work if when I want to go to a “speakeasy” to quench my thirst or by my outside man to quench my other thirst and I decide to leave my mobile phone at home and go ‘long ’bout my business. If the government–any government anywhere– decides to track me using my mobile phone, how will they know where I am when my phone is in Christ Church and my body is in St. Lucy?

You think that all people walk ‘but with their phone all the time?

40. Jan. 1: New Year’s Day, National Hangover Day
    Jan. 2: National Science Fiction Day
    Jan. 3: J.R.R. Tolkien Day, Festival of Sleep Day, Humiliation Day
    Jan. 4: Trivia Day, National Spaghetti Day
    Jan. 5: National Bird Day
    Jan. 6: Sherlock Holmes’ Birthday, Cuddle Up Day, Bean Day
    Jan. 7: Old Rock Day
    Jan. 8: Bubble Bath Day
    Jan. 9: National Static Electricity Day, National Word Nerd Day
    Jan. 10: Peculiar People Day, Houseplant Appreciation Day, National Bittersweet Chocolate Day
    Jan. 11: Learn Your Name in Morse Code Day
    Jan. 12: National Pharmacist Day, National Hot Tea Day
    Jan. 13: Make Your Dream Come True Day, National Rubber Ducky Day
    Jan. 14: Dress Up Your Pet Day
    Jan. 15: National Hat Day, National Bagel Day
    Jan. 16: Appreciate a Dragon Day, National Nothing Day
    Jan. 17: Benjamin Franklin Day, Ditch New Year’s Resolutions Day
    Jan. 18: Thesaurus Day, Winnie the Pooh Day, Martin Luther King Jr. Day (third Monday of January)
    Jan. 19: National Popcorn Day, National Tin Can Day
    Jan. 20: National Cheese Lovers Day, Penguin Awareness Day

Jan. 21: National Hugging Day, Squirrel Appreciation Day
    Jan. 22: National Blonde Brownie Day
    Jan. 23: National Handwriting Day, National Pie Day
    Jan. 24: Compliment Day, Belly Laugh Day
    Jan. 25: Opposite Day
    Jan. 26: Spouse’s Day
    Jan. 27: National Chocolate Cake Day, Punch the Clock Day
    Jan. 28: National Kazoo Day, Data Privacy Day
    Jan. 29: National Puzzle Day, National Corn Chip Day
    Jan. 30: Draw a Dinosaur Day
    Jan. 31: Backward Day, Inspire Your Heart With Art Day
    Fun Fact

41. “We like home more than most. So…following the protocols would work for me for months.”

try and exercise a likkle at home to keep the bug and age decline at bay
    the chinese like to have better value for their buck
    this 20 min routine is good 4 U (2000 years old)

Ma Wang Dui English Explained – 马王堆英文解说
    Chinese Health Qigong Association
    1 / 18

42. Conspiracy Hypothesis Times

UK has most CCTV cameras in the world and are using drones for surveillance in Covid lockdown and want satellites in space to watch your anus

US has ALEC Corps [American Legislative Exchange Council] which is private sector companies dictating policies to senate state legislators they sponsor who just have to sign legal papers they produce for them for law policy changes in senate and run prison industries immigrant facilities and want to roll out home arrest monitoring in the mark of the beast revelation times

43. @Tron February 3, 2021 4:02 PM “However, I think you will also admit that our Supreme Leader dresses appropriately for the climate.”

Nope.

I would be so happy if she dumps the scarfs.

It is never hot enough in Barbados to wear a scarf.

If I had my way I would ban the importation of scarfs, ties, waistcoats, long pants, ALL long sleeved garments, and any fabric containing any wool.

44. cuddear bajan
    Please do’nt ban the long pants and long sleeved garments. Yuh want dengue tuh tek over from covid?

45. FOLLOW THE MONEY THE INEPT AND CROOKED BLP GOVERNMENT 2021 AND BEYOND.

THEY WILL ALWAYS FIND A SCHEME TO FLEECE BLACK BAJANS ON THE 2 X 3 ISLAND AFTER LETTING IN THE VIRUS UNCHECKED.

XXXXXXXXXX

Govt seeks $37 million to fund ‘new COVID battle’ –

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/02/03/govt-seeks-37-million-to-fund-new-covid-battle/

46. @lyallsmall February 3, 2021 6:13 PM “cuddear bajan. Please do’nt ban the long pants and long sleeved garments. Yuh want dengue tuh tek over from covid?”

Understand about dengue etc.

How about if i used the money saved from importing all that waste vloth to screen every window and door in the whole country, since I believe that the mosquitoes bit mostly when we are asleep, at rest?

But don’t worry too much, nobody is going to elect me any time soon.

Lol!

47. 37 million will buy a lot of anal swabs!!

Leave a Reply to JohnCancel reply