For readers who are unfamiliar with the name Saga Holidays, it is a British based tour operator with nearly seven decades of experience, specializing in offering over 50 year-old customers or travellers holidays and cruises worldwide. On 21st January the company announced that all clients must be fully vaccinated against Covid-19 at least 14 days before departure on all holidays, tours and cruises, which entails having both a first and secondary jab. The decision was made after conducting a customer poll in which a reported ’95 per cent of regular Saga customers would support such a policy change’.

At first, many may consider this decision quite radical. In reality when they resume both long haul holidays and cruises in May, it is expected that the vast majority of Brits in this age group will have been inoculated against coronavirus anyway. Under the British Government’s plan, 15 million people designated as the fourth highest priority risk vaccination group, including all those in the UK over the age of 70 will have received at least their first shot by the middle of February.

Interestingly, Saga stated that their cruise crew would not need to be vaccinated before working on board and ‘that other protocols would be in place to protect staff until they’re able to receive inoculation’.

Saga Holiday offerings currently features Barbados as one of the three island destinations in their 14 night fly-holiday ‘Jewels of the Caribbean’ programme, which includes a 4 night stay at the Sugar Cane Club with a starting cost of GB Pounds 3,499 per person.

Purely, from a cruise perspective, while some will consider the return of these giant floating self-contained ‘hotels’ another threat to our land based tourism product, could our tourism planners and policymakers use this innovative Saga initiative and vaccination requirement to lure more ships back to our shores this winter? One thing for sure, we will need all the help we can get to restore both volume and connectivity of airlift to anything like previous levels. Home porting of at least one Saga ship would greatly assist that.

Their existing two ocean going ships may already be committed to 2021/22 itineraries, but in these challenging days with widespread scrapping or sale of relatively ‘new’ ships, just maybe there is an opportunity to launch a third vessel dedicated solely to ply the Caribbean for the upcoming winter. Many of our land based visitors have been happy to fly to and from Barbados on 20 plus year old aircraft, so ships of a similar age still have plenty of untapped potential, especially towards targeted consumers.

Despite all the obvious challenges the entire tourism industry currently faces, it will become abundantly clear over the next year that there are still people out there with vision, drive and the ability to see a much bigger picture and will use this time to exploit those opportunities that clearly still exist.

69 responses to “Adrian Loveridge Column – Cruising Opportunity”

1. When it rains it pours.

2. @ David

3. Antigua and Barbuda minister blisters Mia calling her a deceiver and a manipulator in her bid to steal Liat

4. Read ePaper
    Home / Top Featured Article / Antigua govt minister charges airline’s destruction was ‘deliberate’

Antigua govt minister charges airline’s destruction was ‘deliberate’ – by Emmanuel Joseph February 13, 2021

5. @Angela

Two points about LIAT and the minister’s outburst. First, we have still not been told who drew up the agreement to sell the Barbados 49 per cent shareholding for US/EC/Bds$1, yet now the Antiguans are telling us we shave debt liabilities.
    Even if you are selling a second-hand you make a better deal. Is that person or persons still employed by the government of Barbados? If so, why?
    The second point, and one the minister hs made, is that our professional class is not as bright as it thinks it is. The minister made the point that they outshine them in class and in professional practice. I assume he is talking about the UWI.
    The only people who think the Barbados professional class is bright are their fan club. Being world class is a fantasy.
    It is this contempt that underlines the Antiguan aggressive approach to dealing with Barbadians. They no longer respect us. We have lost that currency of example, which most of those islands looked to Barbados for.
    We have our politicians to blame.

6. Hal sound and insightful analysis

7. Perhaps you may want to point us to where in the article the “Antigua and Barbuda minister blisters Mia calling her a deceiver and a manipulator in her bid to steal Liat.”

As long as you see anything you believe reflects negatively on the ‘government,’ you would jump for joy, even if it means misrepresenting the facts or ‘throwing reason through the window’ to do so.

You were one of those individuals who supported the former administration’s efforts when former tourism minister Richard Sealy presented a proposal for the establishment of a Barbados Air Carrier Aerocentury (ACY), which was supposed to replace LIAT.

The only criticism I have of Mottley in this entire LIAT debacle was she should have sold the 49.4% shareholding to Antigua, rather than being forced to subsequently sell them for EC$1. The Antiguans would have been happy if she had continued to pump Barbadian ‘taxpayers money’ into a failing airline, controlled by them, under the guise of regional unity.

With BGI and SVG no longer being shareholders, ANU achieved its objective to control LIAT. So, why continue fretting?

8. Mia thinks that fighting with these poor small islands is better way to go
    For what she doesn’t realize all are in the same boat
    My mind always reflect on Dominca and the way in which Mia decision making help to remove Ross which was an economic staple in Dominica economy
    Say what may Ross wanted to leave
    However Mia also must be reminded to live by her own words ” we are our brothers keeper”

9. Artax i am not joyful but saddened when pooe small island nations who ought to be unified fight amongst themselves
    The way in which the minister laid out the story places barbados PM in a manner which cannot be pleasing to any reader
    His outburst makes all to reflect and think on how some small island PM belive that they were given power to have a dog eat dog mentality
    Isnt it Mia who always blow the trumpet of “we are all our brothers keeper
    This story goes to such a principle underlined with people of power having a rogue mentality

10. “This story goes to such a principle underlined with people of power having a rogue mentality.”

I remember you mentioning something similar about Gaston Browne and calling him a ‘TIN HORN DICTATOR,’ (we all know your criticisms of Browne changes according to who is involved), when he dismissed Richard Sealy saying a decision was made to relocate LIAT’s headquarters to Barbados as “IDLE CHATTER.”
    Browne also said, “Even in terms of the share holding positions of the various governments, I believe the SHARES of Barbados should be DILUTED because they believe that because they have the MAJORITY SHARES, that everything MUST MOVE to Barbados.”

This is one of several examples of disrespect. Successive Antiguan political administrations have been disrespectful to us for several years now, spanning over successive DLP and BLP administration……….. from Sandiford to Mottley, especially as it relates to LIAT. Gaston Browne also disrespected the other heads of shareholder governments when, for example, he ‘went behind their backs’ to negotiate with Richard Branson and each time he made decisions relative to LIAT without their knowledge or approval. He also enacted legislation to prevent former LIAT employee from suing the Antigua government. Read the BU and local and regional newspapers articles on LIAT.
    So, I’ll agree with ‘Mr. know-it-all’ that the Antiguans “no longer respect us,” but not for the reasons he offered.

However, his comment re: “we have still not been told who drew up the agreement to sell the Barbados 49 per cent shareholding for US/EC/Bds$1,” is both silly and disingenuous. Everyone knows about that arrangement and it was discussed on BU as well.

The problem is, while Sandiford, Arthur and Stuart did not ‘stand up’ to Vere Bird, Lester Bird, Baldwin Spencer and Gaston Browne………… Mia Mottley is prepared to ‘stand up’ to Browne. Browne and his ministers can ‘jump up and down and shout out’ as much as they please in their parliament or on Browne’s radio station. Who cares?????

The fact remains LIAT is no longer a FINANCIAL BURDEN on the backs of Barbadian tax payers.

I’ll repeat myself once again. As long as you and one or two others hear the name Mia Mottley and anything you believe reflects negatively on the ‘government,’ you would jump for joy, even if it means misrepresenting the facts or ‘throwing reason through the window’ to do so.

11. Artax
    We are now talking about what has happen presently along with Barbados having a new PM
    The Antigua minister did not sound words of a personnel nature but set out to tell what proposal were made at meetings and what barbados PM had proposed to manipulate with changes by having LIAT base in barbados
    From what i gather the minister saw a wrong being done against the people of Antigua

12. The point is that you are on record in this forum Barbados needed to stop throwing away taxpayers money on LIAT. Extracting the country from the arrangement which saw Barbados (DLP/BLP) increase equity was not affordable given our current economic predicament. Browne and before him the Birds ran LIAT like a department of the public service. Kudos to the Barbados PM for having the courage to make a hard decision.

13. RE: “The Antigua minister did not sound words of a personnel nature but set out to tell what proposal were made at meetings and what barbados PM had proposed to manipulate with changes by having LIAT base in barbados.”

I do not understand your above comment. Please explain.

Successive Antigua & Barbuda political administrations approach to issues dealing with LIAT has always been adversarial. So, within that context, “Barbados having a new PM” is irrelevant.

Didn’t you “gather a wrong being done against the people of Antigua,” when there were similar outcries from both the Antiguan ruling and Opposition parties in their parliament and the media, after a document outlining a proposal to establish a new Barbados based air carrier to replace LIAT was released to the public?

However, it’s useless engaging in a discussion with you on LIAT, especially from a historical perspective, simply because you don’t know anything. Rather than avail yourself of the relevant information so we could have an informative and rational debate, you prefer to ‘stab wild in the dark’ and focus specifically on Mottley.

14. Artax
    Agree it is useless when one lets the politics place blinders on ones eyes
    My sole response was drawn on what a minister said at the meeting
    Now here to defend or suggest what govts ought to resolve but to look at present circumstances and proposal made by govts
    If as the minister stated that proposals were laid out on grounds to undermine then barbados govt should speak out to correct or clarify
    Meantime the message sent by the minister is damaging to the PM Mottley reputation whether true or not

15. According to the old saying, “admittance is the first step to recovery.” I’m happy to know you’ve finally ADMITTED ‘you let the politics place blinders on YOUR eyes.’

It’s unfortunate you always view EVERY ISSUE as a BLP versus DLP scenario, to the extent you come to this forum every day to FOCUS on EVERYTHING you believe that reflects negatively on the current administration.

However, I’ll agree with you the “Barbados ‘government’ should speak out to correct or clarify.” Until then, I’m not going follow you down the ‘rabbit hole’ of assumption and believe ‘ONE SIDE of the story.’

16. Artax

However, I’ll agree with you the “Barbados ‘government’ should speak out to correct or clarify.” Until then, I’m not going follow you down the ‘rabbit hole’ of assumption and believe ‘ONE SIDE of the story

Neither i would follow you into a political circus of the got uh game
    Factual or not the minister laid out a plausible case one founded on proposals made at meetings
    The onesss is not one me to be favour of any one party or administration but can only make response to what so far been said by the Antigua minister
    For what i have gathered the message sent is not a good one
    I leave it at that

17. Follow me “into a political circus of the got uh game?”

What nonsense are you on about and how is it relevant to the discussion?

My friend, there isn’t anyone on BU who is more political than you.

Have a pleasant afternoon.

18. Steupse

19. Hahahahaha

Poor you.