Submitted by Nathan’ Jolly’ Green

The volcano is going off! what volcano is going off? They are all going off!

The volcano is going off, what volcano is going off? They are all going off. What do you mean they are all going off? When that last happened in 1816, it created the Year Without Summer and almost brought the end to all humanity.

Vincentians know what is happening in their back yard, and often in their neighbours. But currently, Saint Vincent is in such turmoil with people running frightened from the COVID 19 virus; few look over the neighbours’ fence anymore in fear of catching the COVID. Vincentians know that La Soufrière is erupting, but all the others in the world who cares.

Around the world currently, most of the volcanos are in some state of eruption. They are all smoking, rumbling, or fully erupting. We lack the final piece in the 1816 year without summer equation, Indonesia’s Mount Tambora erupting explosively.

In April of 1815, Mount Tambora exploded in a powerful eruption that killed tens of thousands of people on the Indonesian island of Sumbawa. The following Year 1816 became known as the “year without a summer” when icy, wet conditions swept across Europe and North America in August.

The Year 1816 is known as the Year Without a Summer (also the Poverty Year and Eighteen Hundred and Froze to Death) because of severe climate abnormalities that caused average global temperatures to decrease by 0.4–0.7 °C (0.7–1 °F). Summer temperatures in Europe were the coldest on record between the years of 1766–2000. This resulted in significant food shortages across the Northern Hemisphere.

Evidence suggests that the anomaly was predominantly a volcanic winter event caused by the massive 1815 eruption of Mount Tambora in April in the Dutch East Indies (known today as Indonesia). This eruption was the largest in at least 1,300 years (after the hypothesized eruption causing the extreme weather events of 535–536), and perhaps exacerbated by the 1814 eruption of Mayon in the Philippines.

With most of the Worlds volcanos making activity from 1800 causing cumulative upper atmosphere contamination, that in 1815/1816 the upper atmosphere was densely contaminated with ash and debris which blocked out the sun. Everything needs the sun to grow, needs the sun to live. But 1816 saw a year of little sun and a year-long winter. In August in New York, Frost and snow and freezing fogs, people starved around the world as crops failed, no wheat, and bread riots in Switzerland. People in the East Coast US marched across the country having heard it was a little warmer on the West Coast. Domestic farm animals were dying no food, no grains, no vegetables. Wild animals and birds stopped breeding, stopped replacing those that were dying by the millions. Had the intense volcanic activity continued for another two or three years and continued to exclude the sun. It would have most certainly been the end of humanity.

But back to the matter in hand, you can stop looking over the neighbour’s fence. Let us look again at the current evolving eruption of Saint Vincent’s Mount Soufrière. What is the worst that can happen?

Massive eruptions bring massive lightning storms, a deposit of ash that blocks rivers and closes off roads. Bridges fail due to the rivers’ blockage. The rivers in Saint Vincent are traditionally poorly maintained almost always containing lots of dead trees and debris, mix that with volcanic ash, and pop goes the bridges. Landslides block roads; roads collapse; people are stranded, no escape. Do we have to wait for all that before we attempt to evacuate our people from a situation that would prove impossible and the people may perish?

So why not rescue the people in case a tragedy unwraps, how about evacuation just in case? How about evacuation as a precaution? How about evacuation right now?

One of the most significant strains on the Vincentians’ minds living in the red and yellow zone is not knowing if or when not knowing the evacuation plan. Not knowing the meeting points, what they should bring and how to get there. No trial run of evacuation, no test run, no information, can you imagine how that plays on these people’s minds.

For the government to wait until something happens before they move into action, really may be just too late. Tell the people the whole plan, tell them now, they are not children, tell them, comrade. Give every one of them written instructions.

See also https://annsvg.com/index.php/2021/01/27/indonesian-volcano-unleashes-river-of-lava-in-new-eruption/

233 responses to “The Volcano is Going Off!”

1. That’s shapely ass, Lawson! Not flat and folded inwards like the flaps on an envelope.

Do not forget the lips that disappear into the piehole, the elephant ears, beaky nose and owl patches around the eyes that are a feature of your kind.

Don’t blame me for telling you as I SEE it! You did admit that most of you aren’t so good looking. It explains why you are so excited when one of you looks half-decent like Melania!

If she has not yet had it, there’s probably a face lift already scheduled for some time down the road. The expiration date on her skin cannot be far off! Shouldn’t be as expensive as the dental work she must have had.

(Had a British dentist once who said your teeth were crap. Had a British Physics teacher who said your skin was crap. Had a British cosmetologist for my friend’s wedding who said we don’t need makeup, only a dash of powder and lip gloss. Some of you are honest.)

2. lawsonApril 9, 2021 6:21 PMDonna we agree Melania does not have a large ass.

She does. He usually stands right next to her. Or at least within the distance that she can bear. Money can buy some semblance of love, but it is somewhat superficial.

3. @Hants

Barbados is currently being assaulted by the effect of the volcano plume creating haze like conditions and light ash falling on the island.

4. “She does. He usually stands right next to her. Or at least within the distance that she can bear.”

Not bad at all. Very good.

5. I dont know Donna it seems a lot of your boys chase the white stuff, just look at most of your sports stars and actors . I hate to think you have a little jealousy thing going on. Now I know you had a poster of Elmo Lincoln with his long hair a muscles rippling on your wall when you were a young girl so dont get all uppity with the race crap.

6. cruseo keep up
    D What they lack I have in abundance

we agree melania has small ass

7. David

In the late 70s lots of ash fell on Bim. When the Lady erupted.

8. @Pacha

79 to be exact. This is shaping up to be a dossie, nothing to compare to what Vincy people are currently experiencing.

9. DavidApril 10, 2021 10:40 AM

What if St.V goes the way of Montserrat and becomes uninhabitable? This could be tragic.

10. @Crusoe

Pachama’s call. We would have to deal with it.

11. @ David,

the whole island covered by a light haze. Bajans should stay indoors.

https://barbados.org/barbados-webcams.htm#.YHG9yehKi00

12. @ Crusoe April 10, 2021 10:46 AM
    “What if St. V goes the way of Montserrat and becomes uninhabitable? This could be tragic.”

We should look on the ‘bright’ side of how Mother Nature works!

It could also bring a readymade’ solution to Barbados’s pending demographic problem.

Don’t the Bajan policymakers always complain about the small island’s pending demographic time bomb on their ‘incapable’ hands?

Why not invite many of those potentially permanently displaced St. Vincent residents to come to Barbados to reside, permanently, as many of their compatriots have done over the years to ‘help out’ their brothers and sisters in their ‘neighbourly’ coral island since the pre-Columbus and Portugese arrival days?

13. @Hants

So far it is not as bad as 79 from reports.

14. Focus is in La Soufriere as it rightly should be but there is definite increased activity on other volcanoes in the southern Caribbean including Kick ‘Em Jenny and the deadly one Mt Pelee in Martinique. Prayers for the region and hope our governments are developing contigency plans. This s#$t is no joke as the La Soufriere eruption is showing us. St Vincent now set back by 10 years at least

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2020/dec/30/eastern-caribbean-volcanoes-la-soufriere

15. Poor Lawson persists in thinking that I am fat no matter how many times I correct him.

That’s all he got!

16. Hello, hello
    Any religious nuts out there?
    What does this volcano thing tells you?
    Are these the last days?
    Is the dust falling on Barbados a warning to change our ways?
    Is St Vincent being punished for sins?
    Do you remember hurricane Katrina?
    How it was a warning to sinful America?

Hello, hello
    Are you out there
    Should I take it to the Lord in prayer
    I want back the religious kook
    So he can point to pages in his book
    And confuse me with his explanation
    Of how God acts in an election
    choosing a man of hate an venom
    To bring his plans into fruition.

Hello, hello

Are you out there

Forgive me, I fear the brain is shutting down.

17. Theo, yuh killing muh doh. hahaha.

18. With so much.ash raining over Barbados along with hazardous weather conditions
    Why hasn’t govt issued an emergency order for business to close allowing employees to go home early before conditions further deteriorate
    Furthermore that volcanic activity contains deadly toxins which can severely affect peoples health later in life

19. This volcano like it hit TheO’s funny bone!

20. I inside de house. De dust inside wid me.

Makes little difference where you are.

21. TheOGazertsApril 10, 2021 1:08 PM

Theo, you pun a roll man. Do ya ting.

22. DonnaApril 10, 2021 12:48 PM Poor Lawson persists in thinking that I am fat no matter how many times I correct him.

Donna, please allow the man his dreams. He done fuhget Melania’s posterior. He cannot stop thinking of yours, it seems. On that note, here is a dedication, that I put from Lawson to you. Seeing as he is too shy to put it himself.

23. @ Wily Coyote January 30, 2021 12:13 PM

I commend your patriotic attitude. Only our Supreme Leader is able to enlighten us about the caprices of the volcano god Hephaestus, as she is part of the divine order and revelation as High Priestess of our national Goddess Bim.

Perhaps a human sacrifice could also help. According to what I have heard, our Supreme Leader is currently preparing this sacrifice on the legal butcher’s block in New York.

24. angela cox April 10, 2021 2:29 PM #: “With so much.ash raining over Barbados along with hazardous weather conditions. Why hasn’t govt issued an emergency order for business to close allowing employees to go home early before conditions further deteriorate. Furthermore that volcanic activity contains deadly toxins which can severely affect peoples health later in life.”

Sheesh!! You definitely need ‘stop telling lies’ and get a life.

25. Artax
    What lie did I tell
    Isn’t the ash composed of toxins
    2 did govt excute an emergency order of any kind

Sheesh why must u always be holding umbrellas over govt head

26. If you believe by highlighting how you misrepresent the facts and ‘manipulate the truth’ means I’m “always holding umbrellas over govt head,” then, I plead guilty.

However, why respond if you believe you did not tell any lies?

27. @Tron April 10, 2021 6:01 PM “Perhaps a human sacrifice could also help.”

I volunteer you are a nice fat juicy human sacrifice

28. Some humans are very stupid! They feel they can fight with a volcano and win.

29. ArtaxApril 10, 2021 7:17 PM

If you believe by highlighting how you misrepresent the facts and ‘manipulate the truth’ means I’m “always holding umbrellas over govt head,” then, I plead guilty.

However, why respond if you believe you did not tell any lies?

Do u not understand the seriousness of this situation
    Do u not understand that there are many negative components to what is happening
    Like earthquakes and Tsunami
    The govt yesterday took preference to photo ops
    Today rolled out details concerning the tourism and the volcanics effect on the industry
    However nothing said about govt rolling out measures that would be in place for the people if the situation worsens
    According to many other social platforms the situation in Barbados continues to worsen
    And as far as I am concern asking questions of govt at this time should be a top priority when citizens lives are in danger
    Yu can pout and sing your favourite song called Lying Ac and as for what u think of my observation I couldn’t care less
    Bohhhaaa

30. Donna this aint rocket science post a picture prove me wrong

31. @ Lawson,
    Are you, your family or friends planning to visit Barbados in the near future?

32. Yes Why?

33. The government seem convinced that tourists are desperate to come to Barbados. What is the likelihood of you and your associates coming to Barbados this year to help out the impoverished hoteliers and the local talent in downtown Bridgetown?

34. @ Lawson,

I only saw the last word of your reply!

In your opinion is it likely that Canadians are prepared to spend a vacation in Barbados this year?

35. Artax
    This is Barbados fool whike govt twiddle their thumbs

https://www.facebook.com/watch/?v=205374144687434

36. Boy, you stupidee! You do realise I could post somebody else’s picture, don’t you? I pointed that out last time.

And why do I need to prove you wrong when your theory has been plucked out of thin air? You have never seen me.

This is not Facebook or Instagram. This is BU.

And I am old enough to have nothing to prove! I will never be as good looking as I was before and that’s fine with me. I do not spend my days trying to recapture my youth.

No plastic surgery scheduled for face or body! No frenzied workouts! No starvation diets.

A few extra pounds gained over the last ten years but still not fat.

37. I was hoping for kadooment but a family matter has arisen., so friends are at the crane in the winter and it has been a while since I have spent new years there and have been looking forward to that if it can happen. I go for my jab on this month I am pretty sure the kids will all be vaccinated by then as they are front line workers but these times are fluid who would have thought a year since I left the last time and we are still in the dark on the future crazy. We all talked about it at our weekly cocktails tonight Barbados is front and center as soon as the stars align. TLSN like most canadians I have credits for cancelled flights and are eager to use them, Barbados from what I see have been smart in how they have handled the pandemic and tourists do notice

38. Here in Barbados I shut all of my windows and doors from about 5 on Friday evening. This morning as I was watering my plants the run-off was a little grey. This evening at about 5:45 the dust on the pants was very heavy, and the dust had transformed the appearance of the landscape. I washed down the steps and verandah this morning, but felt that it was a waste of time to do so again this evening. The street lights were on and off until after midday as they responded to the light or lack of it. The birds seemed confused and went back to their nests before midday. The monkeys did not come out at all, maybe they find the changes as confusing as both birds and humans.

The dust feels like dry rain that is the only way I can describe it. There is a sensation on the skin, but unlike rain or show it is not wet or cold. As far away as Barbados the ashfall is completely silent, so you could be indoors with the curtains closed and be completely unaware of what is going on outside. I wore a mask and my glasses outdoors so the dust did not bother my airway nor my eyes. I should have covered my hair as well, because when I came in my almost grey hair had become entirely grey with the ash and even though I did not intend to wash my hair tonight I had to do so.

There is a slight rainfall right now. Don’t know if that will wash away some or all of the dust.

39. Donna I think that you will have to Facebook or Instagram poor lawson to take him out of his misery.

40. Hello Hello out
    All eyes on St.Lucy recently there have been seismaic activity in that area
    Is govt prepared for such an event
    At present would it be worth the time for govt to alert those people living in those areas which had increased seismaic activity to move to higher ground or better locations or seek refuge with other family members not living in those areas

41. angela cox April 10, 2021 7:49 PM

RE: “The govt yesterday took preference to photo ops.”

St. Lucia, Grenada and Antigua have also indicated readiness to assist SVG. Are you suggesting the PMs and ‘governments’ of those islands also “took preference to photo ops?”

RE: “Today rolled out details concerning the tourism and the volcanics effect on the industry.”

You’re misrepresenting the facts.

RE: “However nothing said about govt rolling out measures that would be in place for the people if the situation worsens.”

Don’t you believe, similarly to what is done when tropical waves, storms or hurricanes pose an immediate threat to Barbados, the authorities would issue the relevant warnings and implement the necessary precautionary measures?

Hasn’t the Barbados Meteorological Service has issued a ‘Severe Volcanic Ash Warning,’ which is currently in effect for Barbados, valid from 8:30 am this morning (Saturday, April 10) and would be updated if the situation worsens?

Hasn’t RBPF issued a public safety bulletin, advising that all road users to observe its guidelines so as to remain safe while utilizing the island’s roadways during this period?

Hasn’t the Chief Medical Officer, Dr Kenneth George, advised against venturing outdoors, while warning of the medical effects of inhaling sulfur from the ashfall could range from acute to chronic?

During a press conference today, didn’t Director of the Barbados Meteorological Services (BAS) Sabu Best talked about the uncertainty surrounding when normal conditions will return to the island with the continuing volcanic activity in St Vincent?

RE: “According to many other social platforms the situation in Barbados continues to worsen.”

Are the people giving that information on social media experts, for example, from the Barbados Meteorological Service? If not, then surely what they’ve saying is not credible.

RE: “And as far as I am concern asking questions of govt at this time should be a top priority when citizens lives are in danger.”

If I, and, by extension, several other Barbadians are aware of the information I posted, then, it’s clear you’ve purposely ignored it to fabricate crap.

The problem with you is you’re always looking for something to criticize and when you can’t find anything, you would enter into the realm of absurdity to fabricate nonsense.

42. “All eyes on St.Lucy recently there have been seismaic activity in that area”

The melodramatics and lies continue.

Just before 10 am on Thursday, April 8, 2021 an earthquake with a magnitude of 4.1 and at a depth of 10km was recorded off Barbados.

43. the lies continue hear is another one

https://www.facebook.com/watch/?v=10158463280778191

44. I understand it is snowing heaving ash in Barbados as of an hour ago or so. Even got a video of a St.Thomas car covered with the stuff.

45. @AC,
    It has just been announced on the BBC World Service that the GofB has urged its citizens to remain in doors.

46. angela cox April 10, 2021 10:18 PM #: “the lies continue HEAR is another one.”

Spot on. You are correct. Ignore the background noises. Don’t let them get you down.

Leave a Reply to DavidCancel reply