The COVID 19 pandemic continues to be a challenge for many countries across the globe including Barbados. To shutdown or not is the question being asked by Barbadians. This evening’s briefing by the government will provide the answer.

Latest numbers presented by BU’s Lyall Small posted to COVID 19 Update page

Community spread has now been officially declared in Barbados and the testing backlog has been fixed. Attached are current charts up to 22nd Jan. We should now get a clearer picture of the dynamics of the virus in Barbados and the other 4 Caribbean countries we have been tracking. Panic now seems to be the general reaction here so far but I think that is unwarranted. I think that in about 3 weeks we should have a clearer picture of how the outbreak will likely progress here. In the meantime be very careful Lyall Small

588 responses to “COVID 19 Update – 25.01.2021”

1. @Hal Austin January 28, 2021 7:44 AM “In New Zealand, one of the safest countries in the world, two people have just caught CoVid while in quarantine. The big question is: quarantine versus closing the border. Discuss.”

You know that you are the only member of your debating club right?

2. Critical Analyzer Avatar

3. @angela cox January 28, 2021 2:05 PM “that person said that there taste and smell was not back Can’t imagine having to live another year with those senses vdepleted At some point depression would come knocking out of frustration.”

Growing up and throughout my adult life I always lost my appetite, and my sense of smell whenever I had a bad cold or the flu. In 2012 after a bad flu I lost my sense of smell. It hasn’t come back. I am NOT depressed. I am NOT frustrated. However I have to be much more careful around gas appliances so I keep my kitchen windows open 24/7/365.

As disabilities go the lost of sense of smell is a relatively minor one.

4. @Ricardo January 28, 2021 2:38 PM “…or mild cough.”

My English sister, who is nearly 70 and who caught Covid early in 2020 told me that it is not a mild cough. It is a hard cough, virtually 24/7, you can’t sleep kind of cough, an exhausting cough, a feel like ya gine pee yaself kind of cough, a cough that makes you feel like you will get a hernia. Still she was in Barbados in the fall, doing hard labour on the land with us.

5. I see Ms Bradshaw is on the covid update today.By tomorrow her biggest fan Austin will be boasting how great she was.The jackass is comparing a lightweight to a heavyweight in Ms Mottley.In my view Ms Bradshaw might one day be in the same class as Ms Mottley but she has a long long way to go to acheive that goal.This is just Austin way of petty politics of trying to drive a wedge between the two esteemed ladies but it will not work.Lastly i do not agree with this lockdown but i will be supporting the government 100% if they feel it is the right way to go.A big thank you to the frontline workers for their hard work.

6. They say even more than Complaisance will cost lives.

“If you can remember their was an American developer who on seeing a very popular beech in Barbados, patronised by blacks, allegedly stated that this beach was too good for these people and should be scaled up to more high valued individuals.”

7. They say even more than that.

8. So i see govt set up a bureaucracy plan for small businesses, assistance
    As all well knows bureaucracy is often given a failing grade which leads me to believe that when all is said and done these small businesses would be left holding a bag of long talk and nuff excuses by govt

9. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@angela cox
    That money is foolish money. The people will get their money easy but expect Mia Tax and NIS collectors to come knocking in a year or make back that money and more from all the NIS and tax you avoid paying for years.

10. CA

If they want to be paid/NIS in time like this then they should contribute in the good times.

11. Would not be surprised if their is a gimmick/ trick hidden underneath that gives way to the small business people
    However all the necessary paper work means that many cannot receive the aid leaving those who cant on shitty street trying a thing or two to get money
    For certain bills dont despair when one is unemployed

12. unemployed for two weeks? in an economy thats down the toilet? now you dont care about their health comes first and not the money? cheese on bread…. just cant please you.

13. John2 Amm u for sure not pointing a finger in my direction cause if i had a voice in this planning fuh sure ny voice would indicate borders closure in order to spot more infections from making way on the island

14. i am jucking you with my finger as i speak.
    when the hotels were closed and 300M was made available to them to help keep the workers employed at a potion of their wages. with the hotels choice of taking money or not and if they took the money then they have to pay it back….you complained that it is not being done for the smaller players.
    Now the smaller player are not making money for two week and they are being given money to compensate = and which they dont have to pay back = you still find something to complain about.

If it was up to you you would have not borrowed any money, you would have closed the borders from last year, unemployment would have been double what it is now, food would have been scarce, prices 10x what it is now, debt not being paid, no buses, no garbage trucks, sewage plants stinking up the place because of lack of maintenance, bwa, TB, bnoc etc all privatized, QEH without drugs, equipment, toilet paper etc. i can go on and on with how it would be if it was up to you.

You president, the night watchman supports the lock down and i sure she will support the small business getting a “bail out for the 2/+ weeks.
    but you just got to find something to complain about even when it was something you have been calling for for months.

Just cannot please you.

15. Lockdown is just a state of mind. You can be in your cell depressed or happy so find your peace with it.

16. John2
    Your imaginary thoughts as to the outcome within closed borders is just that imaginary
    This Govt left the borders open spends millions trying to fight the virus
    Meanwhile employment did not increase with borders open
    The numbers are astronomical for a small island
    Also infections across the island has given way to community spread meaning more money spent towards health while the economy squeaks and crawls to a stand still
    So tell me how much or what benefits did the economy retrieve

17. U are straying from what I said mainly

My maintenance point was about your complaint about the small businesses getting paid

I know if two neighbors who started back working since the flight started coming back to bim
    The last just recently start back at a restaurant but now have to break for a a few weeks for the lockdown

Tell her and her husband about closing borders when they have mortgage and car payments to make along with the other necessary bills

18. John2 u cannot direct my thoughts u made mention in regards to my reference of closing the borders to which i respond
    As for govt plan for small businesses
    How is it that small business have to go through bureaucratic loops like hotels get 300 million in govt hand outs without having to present themselves as being honest

19. hotel did not get handouts. they were offered loans with conditions attatched

the hotel had a choice either to take or not to take.

If they took then they have to pay back. From when do you pay back a hand out? and how many hotel took it?

If the government give $10 000 to every small business then the next day you and your friend will be all over social about government giving to their friends and how much they will be getting in kick backs because this and that company does only make $1000 in two weeks and now getting free tax payers money.

Then government would be paying the small business for money lost. they have to account for that payment.

if you would take off the political blinders then you would see why the different approaches.

You may have the last word.

I will not be jumping from one thing to another with your political games.

20. Whatever government does, or does not do, my advice is for individuals to look after their own selves. Stay away from crowds, isolate as much as possible, aside from work, wear your masks and wash or sanitise your hands.

Hal and I and it seems Donna and Cuhdear, are on the same page on this.

21. Ricardo ”Man, the entire prison population and every guard has now been exposed. No one sick and now all of them is immune.”

Immunity is an assumption at this stage. Ask Hal for the latest on that. I bet he knows. You are writing this off as mild. The Western governments are still playing at it. We are only just seeing the beginning.

Prepare for a paradigm shift in way of life. This could cause the collapse of capitalism as we know it.

22. Today we focus on trust.

This session is advanced, you can quote me on it.

Enjoy a quiet start. The art of listening and responding.

But what are we listening to?

My cues? Your body? What else?

Peel back another layer of onion and open to your hidden truth.

Listening cultivates trust.

Leading with your breath creates an environment for trust.

Trust the process.

Trust the path.

Give yourself permission to be here.

Now.

Remember, one present moment is a window to the next… and we get to practice that on the mat.

Trust that whatever you are coming to the mat with is good, darling. Maybe embracing the mantra,

Everything is as it should be.

What if that were true?

The dance continues.

Choose to show up.

And explore!

Uncover your hidden truth.

This session is solid. I am so excited for you!

I will meet you there.

23. Based on reports only 20 hotels have accessed the BESS program.

24. Ric.

If people or tourist are not concerned about catching the virus / a little cold or what ever u called it then how do you explain the cancellations for feb as per Barbados today ?

25. And to think that Barbados only have one hospital and officials leaves borders open id mindboggling
    SMH

26. Covid vaccine: Single dose Covid vaccine 66% effective https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/health-55857530

27. OTTAWA — Prime Minister Justin Trudeau is expected to announce Friday new measures aimed at further restricting international travel as more infectious variants of the coronavirus that causes COVID-19 spread around the globe.

Trudeau has urged Canadians for weeks not to take any non-essential trips outside the country.

And he has warned that the federal government could impose restrictions at any time that would make it harder for them to return.

28. CoVid can leave men infertile. So watchout.

29. Hal AustinJanuary 29, 2021 9:49 AM

Would be better if you tell them that Covid makes men turn funny. The bajans would lock themselves in then.

Problem solved.

That said, if what you say is true…..now THAT would make me wonder if it was really a deliberate depopulation tool.

30. And the vaccine is said to make women infertile

31. Infertility
    A form of depopulation
    That story has been widely circulated
    The scientist have been tight lip on long term affects
    Where there is smoke there is fire

32. Cuba continues support of Barbados’ COVID-19 fight – Cuba continues support of Barbados’ COVID-19 fight: https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/01/29/cuba-continues-support-of-barbados-covid-19-fight/

33. OTTAWA — Canada’s major airlines have agreed to suspend all flights to Mexico and the Caribbean until April 30 from Sunday as part of the fight against a second wave of the coronavirus, Prime Minister Justin Trudeau said on Friday.7 mins ago

34. PM Mottley & her BLP Team argued that Barbados’ borders remained open to protect the Barbadian – BRAND ‘

Presumably….some bought into that narrative.

Luckily Boris Johnson banned UK nationals from travelling abroad on leisure travel.

Canada’s PM moments ago banned Canadian citizens from travelling abroad.

That is how the Barbadian Brand is – protected – PM Mottley !

Banned the flights / tourists !

35. Did govt say that the financial pkg to small business would be around 500 to 1500 per business
    Question is the numbers given per week or the complete total amount each business for the 2wk closure

36. Ok
    I got it the question resolved and the answer is Peanuts

37. If the airline stop coming then Barbados borders are unofficially closed to tourist
    Back to how it was last year

38. Cant imagine a business making more than govt allocated amount takes easily to that measly pkg when one factor other loss of income because of the lockdown
    Also having to pay taxes on the amounts received from govt
    This got to be monkey policy implemented by monkeys handling guns called govt ministers

39. We need open borders. Our Honorable Prime Minister is doing the right thing. As she so often does. It is obvious that the opposition thinks otherwise because they want to turn Barbados into a concentration camp or a new Drax Hall Plantation.

40. This is what happens when you allow your enemies who hate you to control the narrative, they don’t ever want to give up the power they have over politicians and will conradict and obstruct as they’ve been doing for the last 60 years…

Black people need to shut the minorities down completely, let them find someone else to suck on and live off…they were never useful to the population and they’re even less useful to the Black majority now…..people like myself have absolutely no use for them, not even to clean my house…certainly don’t need their inferior quality goods.

“The two-week lockdown has not gone down well with a key spokesman of the private sector, despite the full backing of the trade union movement, the medical profession and the island’s key political players.

While the business community has said it will adhere to the order for the country to halt all but essential business operations from Wednesday, Edward Clarke, the chairman of the Barbados Private Sector Association is adamant that the action by the Mia Mottley administration is unnecessary.”

41. WW

You dont see it as a political play? look MM stand up to big business and side with the unions/majority.

42. Mia knows that the people are thisclose to throwing her ass out in 2023, so yes, ya can’t put it past them to collude and pull a fast one, but let’s see how fast that one is when the Black population stop spending their money with minorities, pool their resources together and move as a collective at last.. Something they now have no choice but to do..

43. Something they now have no choice but to do….if they want to survive.

just as Mia will have no choice…she and the other islands…but to open their borders to each other…if they want to survive…

the minorities ain’t worth shit and no one should be listening to any of them…they’re on their way out.

44. Our government must now stand firm and not give in to the opposition’s agitation. It would be best to temporarily detain opposition members who stand in the way of fighting the pandemic. The emergency legislation grants absolute power to the government. Let us use it in the interest of the people, who have long been tired of the opposition.

45. Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV Avatar
    Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV

I have listened to BrassTacks more regularly in recent times. Some people would have shared Auntie America’s SIMPLETON’S view he constantly espoused that there WAS no COVID-19 in Barbados, that all the cases were imported, that lockdowns (i.e. stay at home measures, night-time curfews) are unnecessary, heavy handed and costly for virus that has a low fatality rate. That “approach” to this virus is EQUALLY just as NAIVE and UNINFORMED as those who think that border closures IN ITSELF will stop an airborne virus spread INDEFINATELY. The CORRECT assumption was that this virus was coming and WILL penetrate BARBADOS especially after MANY countries worldwide had local\community spread by Dec 2020 and was by far the most serious pandemic for the past 100 years. It was a matter of when and not if and we had to be prepared. If many First world countries did not fare any better ,did Barbados REASONABLY EXPECT to avoid this FATE?!?!?!. Barbados is not some remote atoll in the Pacific!!!!!. The “panicked” response I am seeing indicates SOME Bajans were also naïve and were led into a false sense of security because the protocols\prevention measures that were in place for 4 months were successful and community spread was delayed for a further 5 months. During that time the world situation only got comparatively worse with regards to COVID-19.

We have to study how the Chinese government reacted to virus and the subsequent measures taken. There was a 7 week lag between the initial case and the Wuhan lockdown. The actual lockdown was announced the same day it was to take effect. On that day an estimate of 300,000 people exited Wuhan . That 7 week lag and exodus would have been detrimental with a virus that is essentially a highly contagious variant of SARS. That lockdown was essentially a “draconian” 76 day stay-at-home order where (to summarize):-
    1) One person per household was allowed to leave every two days, night-time curfews essentially established
    2) All non essential businesses and schools were closed in the initial stages
    3) Movement via land sea and air was severely restricted between Wuhan and the rest of China. quarantines, temperature checks, and other movement controls implemented.

The lockdown was extended to other cities in Hubei, when cases sprang up in neighboring provinces similar lockdowns were implemented. The Wuhan lockdown was relaxed after approx. 60 days and lifted after 76 days. This lockdown did NOT extend to all of China, no border closures IN THE TRUE SENSE even though China is the 4th largest country by size, shares a land border with several other countries and is the most populous nation. Other nations initially restricted travel to and from China by the end of January 2020 but by that time it was basically too late. The virus would have spread to other nationals who were less stigmatized and whose movement was less restricted

I juxtapose China’s response to Trinidad’s. Trinidad closed it borders approx. the same time Barbados received it first cases (Late March 2020) and relaxed them in early June 2020. During that time Trinidad also had stay-at- home orders. Up to August 1st (i’m deliberately using August 2020 as it was the month of the last general elections) Trinidad had 170 REPORTED cases. In fact Barbados and Trinidad cases numbers were similar between March and August 2020. By August 31st, Trinidad had 1700 cases, 4400 cases by Sept 30th, 7100 cases by Dec 31st. Trinidad has 7x more cases but only has 5x the population of Barbados even though Barbados is FAR more dependent on tourism than Trinidad. My conclusion is that Trinidad created a false impressions that border closures would have been adequate response when in reality the virus was already spreading. They closed their borders just after Carnival 2020 (Feb-Mar 2020) which is attended by people from ALL OVER THE WORLD.

We NOW have a world situation where the top 3 countries (in terms of total deaths from COVID-19) are USA, Brazil and Mexico. Countries that are on the OTHER SIDE of the planet of the two most populous countries that share a land border (China and India). These three countries have in common, heads of states that constantly downplayed the seriousness of the virus. THAT is the issue, not properly recognizing that COVID-19 can be fatal those persons with compromised immune systems, compromised respiratory systems, and is also producing a serious and fatal immune response IN SOME PEOPLE that prior to infection had no health issues whatsoever. Barbados has to prepare for perpetual curfews and stay at home measures as it has been PROVEN to reduce active cases OVER TIME. Bajans need to be PATIENT, DISCIPLINED and prepare for an extended fight with COVID-19

Leave a Reply to Hal AustinCancel reply