Submitted by Petko

I wish to preface this by stating in no way am I affiliated with or have any financial interest in the tourism or travel industry, as I know what I write below will have people stating I have only written to push a personal financial agenda.

The time for Barbados to open her borders completely is now. By this I mean in particular the 2nd test and hotel quarantine policy of tourists and returning Barbadians has to be terminated. As well the mandatory Harrison Point isolation of any person testing positive for Sars-Cov2 virus should also be scrapped.

The coronavirus is endemic in Barbados, no wordsmithing such as clusters or West Coast or North Coast spread can deny this fact. In addition, I put forth that it has been endemic since March. Only a naïve person can believe that the virus has not been constantly circulating since it was first tested for in March. Barbados opened her borders in mid June and did not institute the second test of incoming persons until mid-October. If people have been found positive on the second test since October, it is only logical to surmise the same percentage of people were positive from June to October that were landing here. Hence the virus has always been here and circulating. The only thing that happened during this Christmas season is that a local Bajan was tested with the virus being detected. This was followed by the mass testing to find the 500+ positives we have now. It is common knowledge that from May to now the local population has barely been tested, there were days in June with 15 tests reported – from a population of 285,000 people. Testing only reached 60-120 per day when the testing of incoming passengers began.

Based on the above we can extrapolate that with a circulating virus the health care system at no time was over-whelmed. The fact is when you don’t test for the coronavirus you don’t find the coronavirus as 98% of people who “catch” it suffer at most a common cold and thus you wouldn’t even know it existed. Currently we see that from the 560+ current cases not a single person is in serious condition. From 200 positive prisoners we see that 95% are asymptomatic. We have 1 year of data, we know that people over the age of 80 are vulnerable to this as they are to a flu – these people need protection and caution, but the 30 year old Sea-doo operator is at zero risk to Sars-Cov2.

The argument some have of shutting the borders is to be polite, pure nonsense. I find it quite hypocritical when people accuse incoming persons of bringing and spreading the “dreaded” virus. Consequently, these same people are quite happy to receive the hard currency these people bring, the pharmaceutical supplies, the TV’s and laptops and the Toyota Hilux’s that a modern society requires. We have always lived in a globalized world which trades in goods, knowledge and disease – this is the human condition.

There is no finger pointing here, the fact is with all the protocols on incoming passengers, the coronavirus is here and has been here. Even if 100% of humanity was vaccinated for this virus it will still exist as the vaccines are not eliminating the virus but making its care manageable. Manageable is the key word here. Barbados needs to manage the situation in a rational way that considers the positives and negatives of every action.

Tourism is the lifeblood of the nation; it will be the lifeblood in 100 years. Barbados nor any country in the Caribbean is going to start manufacturing pickup trucks or OLED TV’s – the core competency is the tourism product which arose from the glorious weather that this region is blessed with. We should be championing it rather than disparaging it, as some do. Currently Barbados is the only country in the region which requires the 2nd test in-country with the threat of going into isolation. What has this resulted in?

Well, the coronavirus is here and is not going anywhere, even post-vaccine. Thus, a ZERO Covid policy is sheer folly and unscientific. Next it has resulted in a drop of 95% to the tourism product resulting in up to 40% unemployment as well as a government stressed to its financial borrowing limits. Currently Barbados is receiving 350 incoming passengers per day on 4 major international flights. A quick look at our neighbours shows a different picture.

Montego Bay is handling 33 flights per day, Aruba has 19 flights daily, Cancun has 100 and Nassau 16. These locations require either no test of any kind or a negative PCR test 3-5 days old and nothing else. Yes, these countries have “cases” but so does Barbados. The difference is these countries are managing the situation and keeping their economy and tourism lifeblood functional. Travellers will put up with bringing a negative PCR test (for now – in 2 months when the entire USA has immunity do not expect Americans choosing destinations requiring tests) and they are showing it with their travel to these destinations. There is also the threat that once a long-time visitor to Barbados has tried out another destination such as Aruba, they may never come back here.

The BLP unfortunately painted itself into a corner with an unrealistic goal and message of Zero Covid. They now have the opportunity to exit this strategy and embrace that of managing the disease as well as the tourism product. I have no doubt that both can be done at an exceptional level in Barbados. Time is of the essence and the 2021 Winter tourist season is not done yet. February and March provide the traditional breaks in the source markets of the UK, USA and Canada. Literally tens of thousands of people are ready to travel to the Caribbean and if Barbados keeps its onerous and unproductive 2nd test none of these people will grace our shores. Thousands could be put back into employment, the economy would begin its rebound and we would be moving forward.

Pursuing the 2nd test strategy will only result in Barbados staying in its current sclerotic state. PM Mottley has been adamant in Barbadians should embrace change, well the BLP and herself needs to now do the same. The old policy did not and could not work, pivot and manage and let Barbados get back on her feet in 2021.

236 responses to “Time to Open”

1. The CMO s a poor communicator and appears to be easily flustered when the bright lights are turned on. His junior in rank Dr. Anton Best is more comfortable in the role and is better at organizing and presenting the date/information.

2. @ Hal,

All of what you have said is encapsulated in the link below.

Rommel, who was perhaps the greatest army general/commander of the Third Reich, implored the Fuhrer (Hitler) that the end was nigh; and hinted, strongly, that Germany should seek terms of surrender with their opponents.

The emotional and egotistical Fuhrer was not prepared to accept the harsh reality of the situation on the ground. He ignored the advice from his generals and became so contemptuous of them that he (Hitler) became the defacto Chief Commander and principal strategist for the German army. The man did not recognise his shortcomings.

The video clip speaks for itself. History continues to repeat itself. And yes, Barbados is in serious trouble.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=185vCvsvEP8

3. Barbados like many many countries is waging a war against a pandemic.

4. @TLSN

Well spotted. History can sometimes repeat itself as farce. It comes down to the prism through which people are seeing a particular event.
    It took a child to tell the Emperor he was naked.

5. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@Hal Austin January 17, 2021 6:30 AM

They still don’t realize the type of crisis they are dealing with. They are treating this increase in cases as a PR matter and supposed health crisis caused by the public’s inability to follow their orders to wear a mask, social distance and sanitize like you are a hypochondriac is going to stop the virus spread.

The problem with this pandemic is not the virus. It the fear they continue to perpetuate with words like deadly that instill fear and panic in the uninformed. I see it everyday with people jogging and riding bicycles while wearing a mask which puts them at risk of fainting. We have this headlong rush to present case numbers but the only thing that matters is how many cases are serious enough to need hospital treatment and how successful we are at treating them.

Our government first has to deal with the crisis of confidence from the past mistakes to demonstrate they are back on the right track to having this situation under control with past mistakes like
    1) Technocrats either not explaining terms like community spread, cluster, super-spreader, etc. in simple bajan terms and constant use of fear and panic inducing words.
    2) Timely scheduled reporting of statistics,
    3) Improper breakdown of cases numbers and what they truly mean
    4) What measures the public can take apart from masks, sanitize and social distance.

This pandemic is with us for the next two years so we have to figure out how to get on with life with the least disruption and inconvenience as possible. People can only go for so long the way things are now.

6. @critical analyzer 840am. You are dead on. The covid scam which is what it is , is the scam of testing. Using a PCR test that finds literally a molecule of Sars-Cov2 virus in a human body is suddenly termed a “case”. That is blatantly not true. A case of any disease is signified by corresponding symptoms such as cough, cold, fever diarrhea. We have over 200 ” cases” at the prison, however we have been now told only one person a 17 year old asthmatic had to receive some “extra care” whatever that is a couple of days ago and is now fine. In reality there were Zero cases, only 200 people with a Sars-Cov2 molecule in their body.
    The same now goes with male prostate cancer. Doctors now claim the psa test is a test of last resort as the test itself finds prostate cancer cells in 50-60% of men over the age of 50. But over 95% of these “cases” of cancer are so miniscule that medicine has realized there is no advantage to surgery or drugs. The cancer is there just not doing any inherent damage. This has now led to the practice of only testing men when there are numerous symptoms present and only then is the decision to make a highly invasive surgery as removal of the prostate made.
    Covid is a very manageable disease. These people claiming Barbados could not handle an outbreak or community spread are chicken little. In what nation have you seen a breakdown of a health system….and not a CNN tv moment but a real breakdown where care is denied and Healthy people are dropping like flies from the terrible covid, not a one! Guyana. Trinidad, Jamaica, Belize Aruba Mexico all of Central America have what can be described as lots of cases and their health care systems are functional. These countries have systems that are nowhere near as good as the one in Barbados. For goodness sake Haiti has tons of Covid and the island is completely functional.
    If Barbados plans on quarantining and testing every incoming human to this island then God help us all because with a zero tourism industry the streets will become more dangerous and not just in New Orleans but in every district of this island.

7. @cuhdear Bajan regarding vaccines and capitalism. I like your attempt but as usual you are wrong. Both Israel and the UAE negotiated for Chinese, Pfizer and Moderna vaccines and agreed to pay a price 80% higher. These companies are not rapists. They will accept 80% not 1000% as in the world of public opinion they would be lambasted.
    Next they are only selling to government at this time not private companies
    Lastly both Israel and UAE used their diplomatic skills to get their doses. I am not one to judge but we have a charismatic prime minister who seems to hobnob at the UN and other world governing bodies. We are told daily that Barbados is a satellite of none and a friend to all. I would think between all the contacts she has, getting 100,000 doses of vaccine using those diplomatic skills and paying a premium on each vax could have and should have been pulled off.
    Astra Zeneca vax is currently approved in the UK with massive production of 20 million doses already made. The FDA and EU shall be approving it within a week. Here is a chance for MAM to pick up the phone and give Boris a call or whatever contact she may have in the UK and inform Astra that their vaccine is approved for Barbados, the wire transfer is ready to go and to put the doses on tomorrow BA flight leaving Heathrow. Could have 50,000 bajans vaccinated by first week of February and could paint herself out of the zero covid corner and open schools and open tourism.
    Just my humble opinion

8. @Richard P

Barbados seems to be wedded to WHO directives.

9. @Richard Petko January 17, 2021 1:25 PM “A case of any disease is signified by corresponding symptoms such as cough, cold, fever diarrhea. We have over 200 ” cases””

This is not true.

I remember catching chicken pox also a viral illness from a 4 year old nephew even before he had symptoms. This was in the days before a chicken pox vaccine. If he had symptoms I would have avoided him. He had no symptoms, I did not avoid him. I got chicken pox. My employer demanded that I not come in to work.

And of course the reason we have an HIV pandemic, is that people with infected by the human immuno-defiency virus are mostly symptom free for many days, weeks, months or years. And during that period one or more sexual partners can become infected. Which is exactlymwhy tens of millions of people have died so far.

“75.7 million [55.9 million–100 million] people have become infected with HIV since the start of the epidemic (end 2019). 32.7 million [24.8 million–42.2 million] people have died from AIDS-related illnesses since the start of the epidemic (end 2019).”
    Source: unaids.org

10. Young children often show no symptoms of Chicken Pox but a single “pimple” renders them infectious.

Seen that already.

It took two weeks for a child I know to lay low its parents.

All the mother saw was a tiny pimple in the child’s head and examined it.

Came home from school one day with a slight fever, next day was fine and went back to school.

COVID is not spread by the same means as Chicken Pox.

To even suggest that the two are similarly contagious because they are viral shows you never understood how you were infected!!

https://www.ctvnews.ca/health/coronavirus/how-contagious-is-covid-19-compared-to-other-viral-diseases-1.4836734

Next thing you will be telling us that since a computer can get a virus it is possible that COVID is being spread over the Internet!!

11. “How is chickenpox spread? Chickenpox is transmitted from person to person by directly touching the blisters, saliva or mucus of an infected person. The virus can also be transmitted through the air by coughing and sneezing.”

All you had to do was touch the child and your ass was grass!!

12. Just pray you don’t get shingles in your old age.

13. “Complications. For those adults who didn’t catch chickenpox in childhood, or who haven’t been vaccinated, an attack of chickenpox can produce serious, sometimes lethal, complications. Adults are at risk of pneumonia and, less commonly, meningitis or encephalitis (infection of the brain).”

That’s why your boss kicked you off the premises because you could have spelt doom for those who worked with you.

I’ve always heard it is good to have chickenpox when you are a child, the younger the better.

14. @John January 17, 2021 8:23 PM “Just pray you don’t get shingles in your old age.”

My mother had shingles in her middle years and survived to old, old age. Surprisingly I did not get chicken pox in my teens from my mother’s very bad bout with shingles, painful blisters all across her shoulders, even though we shared the same small one-bathroom house.

A niece got covid in the spring, and my 70+ sister who shares the same smallish apartment [about 1,000 square feet] but each lady has her own bedroom and bathroom, surprisingly did not catch covid. But that sister spent decades administering DOT, Directly Observed Treatment to TB patients, including homeless and marginalized people and never caught TB either.

Hope that I am not talking too fast. But we seem to be tough.

I understand that covid could be waiting for me just around the corner so I continue to keep my distance, wash my hands and wear my masks in the presence of others, as I have been doing since February March of last year.

And I always spend a lot of time in the sun. I don’t mind at all being as black as midnight.

15. @John January 17, 2021 8:07 PM “COVID is not spread by the same means as Chicken Pox.”

I did not suggest that the two viral illnesses are spread the same way.

16. I was 26 when I got chicken pox. Did not become very sick. Was feverish and lethargic for a day or two. Took 3 days off and went back to work. I had only been on a job for 4 days when I realized I had to pox. I had been working Mondays to Thursdays only. Realized that I had the pox Thursday evening. Felt foolish asking for sick leave when I had only just started. Returned to work Monday morning and as it was deep in the winter and I was covered in multiple layers of clothing, to the best of my knowledge nobody else at work became infected. Either they had already had the pox or I did not go close to anybody. I am not a huggy, kissy, touchy, feely person. At least not on the job.

17. By the way regarding vaccines. With some diplomacy and 6 million USD I am sure Barbados could have 100k doses of either Sputnik V, Astra Zeneca,Pfizer or the Chinese vaccine. Forget waiting on the WHO all of the above have been or will be approved. Vaccines are only way the politicians who have created the covid panic can get themselves out of the corner. Barbados should be acting on its own and rapidly.
    Argentina receives second batch of Russia’s Sputnik vaccine

The second batch of Russia’s Sputnik V coronavirus vaccine has arrived in Argentina, allowing the South American country to apply the second part of the two-dose program aimed at inoculating front-line health workers.

Some 300,000 doses of the vaccine arrived from Moscow on a special flight of flag carrier Aerolineas Argentinas.

They will be used to complete the Sputnik treatment program that began in late December. More doses are expected to arrive in Argentina later this month and in February.

Paraguay this week became the eighth country outside Russia to approve the Sputnik V vaccine, developed by Moscow’s Gamaleya Institute.
    Brazil requests emergency use approval for Sputnik V

Brazilian pharmaceutical company Uniao Quimica said that, together with the Russian Direct Investment Fund (RDIF), it has requested regulatory approval for the emergency use of the Sputnik V vaccine.

The request, filed with Brazilian health regulator Anvisa, seeks approval for the use of 10 million doses of Sputnik V in Brazil in the first quarter of 2021, the company said in a statement issued in Moscow.
    Pakistan approves AstraZeneca vaccine for emergency use

AstraZeneca’s virus vaccine has been approved for emergency use in Pakistan, the health minister said, making it the first coronavirus vaccine to get the green light for use in the South Asian country.

Pakistan, which is seeing rising numbers of coronavirus infections, said its vaccines would be procured from multiple sources.

“DRAP granted emergency use authorisation to AstraZeneca’s COVID vaccine,” the health minister, Faisal Sultan, told Reuters.

Approval has been given to get more than a million doses of Sinopharm’s vaccine from China, he said

18. Steupse!

19. RICHARD PETKOJanuary 17, 2021 10:14 PM

Vaccines are only way the politicians who have created the covid panic can get themselves out of the corner.

When people begin to realise just what went on here, the politicians of this world are toast!!

20. I am glad to hear your brain was unaffected.

21. Barbados tourism often in the international news these days.
    Headline:
    The tourists who believe travel restrictions don’t apply to them
    By CNN staff –
    …The past month has seen a slew of high-profile cases of tourists getting in trouble for breaking the rules while on a sun-and-sand vacation.
    ….. In January, former British beauty queen and model Zara Holland and her boyfriend Elliott Love quarantined at her four-star hotel in Barbados for the required five days, before taking a second PCR test, as is required for travellers from high-risk countries. So far, so good — except that when Love’s second test came back positive, rather than face further quarantine, the couple made a dash to the airport to try and catch a flight home.

Then there was the British couple, again in Barbados, who tried to spice up self-isolation by inviting a local resident over for sex (she was caught climbing over the hotel fence), and the Jamaican tourist who popped out of his hotel quarantine for a soft drink — and has ended up doing jail time….

22. @Richard Petko,

You have made three comments that I see as totally incorrect. One, that cases should only be counted with clinical manifestation, not just positive PCR and that case reporting is thus way overblown (paraphrased).

This is incorrect for two reasons. Firstly, as Cuhdear B pointed out, we do not know how many cases have clinical manifestation and further, there appear to be grades of illness with this coronavirus. Yes, some are milder while some are more serious. But to make that generalisation for Barbados, we need to know what clinical presentation the local hospitalised have shown. The government has not released such data. I think that they should, to educate the populace.

My suspicion, based on the comparative that I posted prior, between Barbados and Jamaica, is that the Barbadian medical teams have saved a lot of lives, even if we are not directly aware. I would like that confirmed and this would also give Barbadians an idea of the true capacity of this virus. I do not believe in withholding data, for fear of panicking people, that is an old world, witchhunt mentality. Data and explanation should be the norm.

Secondly, if case reporting is way overblown, speaking globally, why are the hospitals in the USA, EU, UK, overwhelmed with coronavirus patients? To the extent, that elective surgeries have been cancelled and / or limited, ICU’s have been expanded and are still full and oxygen is being rationed in some hospitals? This is direct from hospitals and ICU doctors, not some mumbo jumbo Youtube posting.

Now, on to the ‘vaccines are the only way that politicians can get themselves out of the panic they have created’.

You cannot be serious. As mentioned, hospitals are overwhelmed with cases caused by the virus, yet the politicans have created panic? The only panic the politicians have created is the poor management and inaction by leaders such as Trump, Johnson and Bolsanero. Inaction that has caused the spread of the virus and delay in resourcing the solutions.

The USA and UK lost control of the pandemic. UK never shut its borders, not just to the ‘good’ corridor countries, but to any. That was the issue. The repetitive opening up with crowds shopping etc, against the best health advice, also added to the problem. Bosses in the UK are making Covid positive workers attend work, this is the current news. The UK government has not put proper measures in place to ensure adherence to protocols.

That idiot girl who flouted rules in Barbados, is now in the UK news, for just flouting mask rules at work in the UK. But then, so did Johnson’s own advisor Dominic Cummings, before separation from government.

Now the UK is doing with testing what Barbados did a year ago,

On the subject of opening up, where you mentioned that Jamaica et al have done fine, I did address that already, yet you stick to your narrative.

Are you willing to accept more deaths, as per the population adjusted comparison with Jamaica? Are the additional deaths worth the economic comparison? YES OR NO.

That Barbados has managed to keep deaths to seven up to now (though from reports, that number may rise), speaks more to the excellent medical care by the team of doctors and nurses assigned to the Covid unit than anything else.

But again as mentioned, open up and that resource will also be stretched.

I do agree, we cannot go on like this forever, so the two solutions should be acquiring vaccinations for the populace and expanded testing capacity, such that faster turnaround time is achievable.

23. Agree Barbados has to keep its boundaries opened. Reality is that pandemic will be a health issue for the world for a while. Onus is on Government to introduce protocols including adequate testing measures that afford quick turnaround from testing to posting of results. Hotels need to introduce measures for those in quarantine that allow those awaiting 2nd tests to (while they wait) enjoy themselves. In fact the whole tourists package needs to be repurposed to support a future of our living with the pandemic.
    There’s a lot of information on the internet about COVID-19. I am aware that there was an increased in COVID cases in the IK from late December 2020 and the talk of a new strain that’s more contagious but not fatal. Several of my family members who had avoided contacting COVID caught it in late 2020. Let me speak for my sister who died from it. She stopped going outside her home & relied on her son who lives at home for groceries etc. He like her is asthmatic so they knew they had to be very careful. They both caught it He survived but her lungs were compromised & she died within 8 days. I offer this to say we cannot speak with any assurance about COVID. Therefore safeguards that already exists need to remain & where required enhanced and improved to ensure the facilitation of tourism and support of Bajans health.
    Lastly Government needs to get rid of the non technical talking heads as well as those who do not respect Bajans and communicate facts without the need to focus on a context. This approach inclusive of listening to key stakeholders might reverse its lost of goodwill.

24. CrusoeJanuary 18, 2021 2:49 AM

@Richard Petko,

You have made three comments that I see as totally incorrect. One, that cases should only be counted with clinical manifestation, not just positive PCR and that case reporting is thus way overblown (paraphrased).

This is incorrect for two reasons. Firstly, as Cuhdear B pointed out, we do not know how many cases have clinical manifestation and further, there appear to be grades of illness with this coronavirus

How many cases of flu did we have in 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020?

25. THIS IS THE REAL 2 x 3 ISLAND THAT MANY OF YOU TRY TO COVER UP WHILST PRETENDING EVERYONE ELSE ARE IDIOTS.

WHAT A CESSPOOL OF AN ISLAND TO ITS MAJORITY BLACK RESIDENTS AND VOTERS.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

First inmate released from Dodds after outbreak

The first inmate to come out of HMP Dodds since COVID-19 struck the prison three weeks ago has described the situation there as “bare sufferation”.

The woman, who served five years and 41 days for financial crimes, was due to be released on January 12. However, like the other 842 inmates, she was placed under lockdown from December 31 as Government instituted a “no one in, no one out” policy.

Last week, Superintendent of Prisons Lieutenant Colonel John Nurse said there were 20 inmates due to be released by the end of this month.

Yesterday morning, much to the woman’s surprise, she was told by a prison officer to pack her clothes and say goodbye to her fellow inmates.

Speaking to the DAILY NATION from her St Philip home via telephone, the woman said she had retained Queen’s Counsel Michael Lashley because she believed she was treated inhumanely.
    She charged that prison authorities refused to tell them what was going on and how many inmates had contracted the virus.

“They did not tell us nothing. We looked outside and we see the men in black standing guard so we thought someone had dropped off a parcel with an illegal substance, or we thought one of the inmates or officers had dropped down dead.
    “But then they tell we they have three admissions and we on lockdown. Then later in the night they wake us up and say, ‘Everybody put on wunna clothes and put something to cover wunna face and come’. When they say so, I knew they had corona in the jail.”

She said they were immediately taken to a room for a COVID-19 test, then put back under lockdown.

She described the past three weeks as a horrible experience even though the virus did not infect the female prison.

The woman revealed that they found out how rapidly the virus was spreading among the inmates through prisoners calling their families or going on social media.

“They got everybody believing the prison running good but up there is ‘sufferation’. I gine tell people who got family in there to go and check fuh wunna family and don’t believe everything [they hear] when they call up there.”

https://www.nationnews.com/2021/01/19/first-inmate-released-dodds-outbreak/

26. And life is wonderful in prisons over in away??????

Our prison system is not good. Prisons in most places are not good. Prisons were never designed to be good. I do not agree with that but that is the reality in most countries.

Prisoners everywhere complain about prisons.

Steupse!

27. Dodds Hotel is where she stayed.

28. Did you know that Quakers were also influential in Prison Reform?

29. Yesterday there were 4,363 deaths due to COVID in America and 193758 new cases of COVID.

Biden has instituted a mask mandate.

First day on the job looks to be historic!!!!!

30. @ Quaker John

Last time we discussed this issue we (you?) resorted to playing little games. The Society of Friends is now carrying out an inquiry in to the involvement of some members (ie Penn) in the slave trade. There is even talk of re-naming Pennsylvania.

31. Facetious… lol

32. Hal

Why would they even waste time with Penn when most Quakers in Barbados, Jamaica, Tortola, Antigua had slaves?

At emancipation there were about 800K slaves in the entire British Empire and about 450K in the US.

Britain did not depend on slave labour or trade in slaves, it depended on trade in multiple commodities.

It had firstly America, then Canada, India and finally Australia as markets for and supply of goods.

Check the link below to see ship voyages to and from Britain in 18th century.

You will see it was the Dutch who mostly went to Africa for slaves to be shipped to Surinam and even they traded far more regularly with other destinations.

https://www.theguardian.com/news/datablog/2012/apr/13/shipping-routes-history-map

Supposedly about 12 million slaves escaped being sold into slavery in the horrors of the trans Saharan slave trade and made it to the New World.

The majority went to Brazil, Surinam and the Spanish colonies.

Most of the slaves in the US came after 1795 and the invention of the cotton gin, 77 years after he had died.

It was perfectly legal and moral in Penn’s day to own and trade in slave and while it may have escaped you, the Quakers are the ones who ended slavery.

You would have expected the Spanish, Portuguese or Dutch to have ended the slave trade and slavery.

It eventually was the Quakers from England who did.

It took Africa more than a century to end the practice.

33. Besides Hal

Kings of England were routinely involved in the slave trade through the Royal African Company 1660’s to 1752.

It’s primary commodity was gold from Africa but pretty sure it also traded in slaves as it got a royal charter to do so after it started.

Gold was more important as a commodity for trade out of Africa than were slaves.

Penn was a loyal subject, best buddies with the king of the time who gave him Sylvania which was eventually renamed Pennsylvania in honour of him.

His father before him had lent the King money, he inherited the debt and converted it into a land grant.

34. You will find Quakers were connected well, right to the top, so their influence was far larger than you might imagine.

35. Oh oh

Another 164,124 new COVID cases in America on day 2. and so far 3,338 deaths.

36. @Donna January 19, 2021 8:07 PM “And life is wonderful in prisons over in away??????
    Our prison system is not good. Prisons in most places are not good. Prisons were never designed to be good. I do not agree with that but that is the reality in most countries.”

I’ve gone to Dodds twice and actually it ain’t that bad, especially as the women’s section is not over crowded at all, and the women are kept busy learning trades etc. Of course all of your “room mates” are certified bad girls so as expected things can be a little uncomfortable.

37. Looks like yesterday ended at 192,065 new cases and 3,886 deaths from COVID on Day 2.

At this rate, Biden should surpass Trump in his first 100 days.

Faucci better look at reclassifying how deaths are allocated and how cases are determined to be cases.

I mean, it is slightly better than day 1 but somebody better change how the stats are collected or Biden will look like crap if he lasts the first 100 days!!

Anyway, on the positive side, he starts off with an distinct advantage, vaccines.

38. Hal

Another way of looking at slavery in the US is to consider the 65 year period where it actually did create wealth, that is to say 1795 to 1860.

The number of slaves at the end of the civil war was of the order of 450,000.

Immigration from Ireland and the rest of the Europe was several orders of magnitude higher.

“It is estimated that as many as 4.5 million Irish arrived in America between 1820 and 1930. Between 1820 and 1860, the Irish constituted over one third of all immigrants to the United States. In the 1840s, they comprised nearly half of all immigrants to this nation.”

Most of that immigration was to the North which did not depend on slavery for its economy and was more technologically inclined.

That huge immigration fueled the Union armies and allowed them to overcome the challenge from the south.

It is true that cotton had made the South more wealthy than the North in that period, 1795 to 1860 so slavery did contribute to the overall wealth of the US.

However, if you compare the progress of South America which depended on slavery with North America which did not you would have to accept that any claim that slavery was the determining factor in economic development is grossly overstated.

In fact, I would say slavery in the new world was a deterrent to economic development.

39. Apologies Hal,

I got the slave population in the US in 1860 wrong.

Memory not as good as it used to be.

Still, the comparison between north and South America is valid.

40. @ John

Ireland was always a production line for indentured servants. After the potato famine those who were still alive rushed off to the US, UK and in the main, Australia. The to and fro has never stopped.
    Interestingly, in the US the Scots-Irish formed the backbone of the KKK and in Australia they terrorised the Aborigines; evidence, if any were needed, that an oppressed people do not become angels when they are liberated.
    In contemporary Britain, the Scots and Irish are over-represented in the police, immigration and customs; in conventional trades, such as road repairs, very few black people get jobs.
    In terms of religion, the Irish, Poles and some Caribbean blacks are all Catholics, yet they cannot even worship at the same time. In London we have one service for the Poles, one for the Irish and one for the Caribbeans. I understand the same thing takes place in Chicago.
    Ethnic rivalry is real. I remember in Australia white Australians trying to stop me from speaking to Aborigines and Japanese.

41. @ Quaker John

I will read it from front to back page. The Irish occupy a strange place in the hierarchy of whiteness. A lot of British journalists who tell us how English they are, suddenly became Irish at the time of the Falklands war when it was necessary for British journalist to get foreign passports to enter Argentina.
    The same thing has happened with Brexit. Suddenly a lot of them discovered they had Irish and German roots and rushed to get their EU passports.
    What I can tell you is that a lot of the mathematicians and economists in the UK are of Irish descent.

42. Hal

I am due an EU passport too through reparations!!

As I understand it the Spanish and Portuguese government agreed to give passports to the descendants of the Sephardic Jews they expelled back in the days of Ferdinand and Isabella.

I am descended from Sephardic Jews from Spain and Portugal … nice to have already done my genealogy as far as I can.

However, I am not rushing to get it!!

Leave a Reply to CrusoeCancel reply