The conviction of former Minister Donville Inniss in the United States of America an his upcoming sentencing has been smothered by news of the Covid 19 pandemic in 2020. The matter blipped twice in the newsfeed this month when first it was reported Inniss fired his lawyer Anthony Ricco and replaced him with Joel Hirschhorn to challenge how he (Inniss) was represented in the matter heard by Judge Kiyo Matsumoto. Second, co-defendants INGRID INNES and ALEX TASKER are currently facing extradition requests from the USA to answer charges in the indictment (see link below).

The question observers continue to ask is why has the local authority not grasped the opportunity to pursue criminal action against local parties if there is agreement Barbados is the source of the charge of money laundering currently being pursued in a US court.

The other question the blogmaster has floated is to what extent the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) suffers collateral damage from the matter IF Inniss has to do jail time.

Discuss for 25 marks

198 responses to “Donville Inniss Matter Raises Questions About Unwillingness of Local Authorities to Unmask Corruption in High Places”

1. We have been repeating for years and we do so again

Logic is in everything around us. From a one cell amoeba to the largest organism.

Our argument has always been that it is not a separate and distinct branch of philosophy.

That all the branches of philosophy we recognize require an internal logic to operate but that logic in and of itself is not, for us, a separate and distinct branch as the Greeks professed.

Why would logic be a separate and distinct branch of philosophy if all others are run by an internal logic?

Ours is an opinion widely shared and not representative of dishonesty, intellectually or otherwise. Whereas we have clear evidence that Halton Austin is a liar.

2. From: Hal Austin December 31, 2020 9:16 AM

Don’t be mad. Where did I say that Cozier was alive? Stop fabricating nonsense, you idiot. (Unquote)
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

THE DEMISE OF WEST INDIAN CRICKET? From September 2016 recently updated as follows:

Hal Austin December 30, 2020 6:17 AM

John Holder, the outstanding cricket umpire of his generation, is suing the England Cricket Board. Where is Tony Cozier when you need him most?

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

David December 30, 2020 6:54 AM

Tony Cozier is dead, has been for many years.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

The Blogmaster is ‘right’ to assume that you are not aware of the ‘demise’ of Tony Cozier unless you want the same blogmaster to raise the totally decomposed body of Tony to comment on the John Holder matter.

BTW, is that the same John Holder who was a fast bowler at Combermere while you were there?

3. Blood and guts on barbados streets daily
    Visitors escaping quarantine like wild mongoose
    BU interest is elsewhere
    Happy New years

4. @ David December 31, 2020 10:44 AM

Then the same incestuously tainted political class should do a whip-round to engage the services of the likes of Gollop and even Alleyne who has a tract record of fighting successfully such extradition ‘requests’ on behalf of bigger fish wanted for robbery.

The ‘subject’ of the extradition order has the potential of corroborating what the Don himself has confessed to. That is, the receiving of bribes by politically-exposed people in Barbados is part of doing business in Barbados especially when it comes to the award of government contracts.

The local conman Greenverbs should be a tad concern about his future given his ‘former’ close relationships with business entities in the USA.

5. Our government got everything right with Donville Inniss. It is not our Supreme Leader and Lord Marshal Dale who are responsible for the local failure to prosecute corruption, money laundering and other filthy matters, but influential people in the administration and legal world with DLP party membership.

Time to clean up the state apparatus!

6. The rising murder rate is a symptom of a decaying society which is channeling a global trend…
    Got it. Good stuff: home grown. Bad stuff: the big bad world we live in.

7. @ David

As i said before this sends the message to the man on the block that they are one set of laws for the poor and another for the chosen ones. I remember when the Bs wanted my vote it was nuff talk about them dealing with corruption. So wait what happen since then?

8. No fan of US extradition and all it entails but without it, this situation would never have seen the light of day in Barbados far less be entertained in our courts.

As a country that depends heavily on international financial services, the local authorities should have been all over this but unfortunately that is not how things work “bout here”.

I hope the government does not cry wolf at the next black or grey listing.

9. Hal know-it-all Austin “The court said the council can use Arsenal’s move from Highbury to Ashburton Grove to regenerate the area. The case arose after Mr Prescott accepted Islington’s view that plans for the new stadium would make “a substantial contribution” to the regeneration of a deprived area.” You are even more knowledgeable than the Court.🤣🤣

10. Hal did not mean Tony Cozier in a literal sense. You are catching at straws.

I have spoken about ERROL WALTON BARROW. Did I mean him in a literal sense??? Some of you are so stupid at times. No wonder the WHITE BAJANS AND INDIANS are at top despite their tiny numbers.

11. Tron

Your kind is not in a position to pass judgement on any one. Bear that in mind.

When the old Corruption Law that is still on our statues book was passed. It was done against people like you , we BLACK PEOPLE were not in Parliament as yet. So it was against your tiefing, dishonest, kind. You all have it down to a science.

12. theogazerts

Happy New Year.

13. Mariposa
    Happy New Year to you as well.

14. MARIPOSA

whats the word on the streets of the night watchman vs the president? i cant hear yuh!

What the word on the street about reifer getting beat again in the next general election?

15. “These islands should never surrender their citizens to another country..”

and it would’ve been credible if Barbados in the 90s didn’t start the process of deliberately RAILROADING 2 very innocent Black Bajan men into a US prison when they were playing their tiefing games in that same Hawkesworth case that Pilgrim is talking about, those men could’ve gotten life in prison the way they were set up.

Problem is, ICBL already threw those two, Tasker and Innes under the bus and pleaded guilty to bribery in US.

16. “Visitors escaping quarantine like wild mongoose.”

🤣🤣😂😂😂heard about that one, too funny.

17. @ Carson

Thank you. It is a good habit to get in to when if you do not understand what someone says ask them to clarify. The English language is so dynamic that often we think we understand people, when we really do not.
    I am not being rude, but I think the chairman needs a few lessons. I am off to learn about logic.

18. NorthernObserver Avatar

Is Innes facing an extradition request?

19. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

If the BLP run a dog in SGN it would win. the people up there have lost their senses.

20. Pachamama in awakening Her volcanos.

21. The Devil is in the detail and geezer is banged to rights
    https://www.justice.gov/criminal-fraud/page/file/1089646/download

22. @TheOGazerts

Best you you and family. A reminder, the blogmaster is NOT thin skinned. Continue to make your points.

23. UNITED STATES V. DONVILLE INNISS: DOCKET NO. 18-CR-00134

This case was filed on March 15, 2018, in the Eastern District of New York.

This case was announced on August 6, 2018.

The defendant was found guilty on January 17, 2020.

https://www.justice.gov/criminal-fraud/fcpa/cases/donville-inniss

24. @John A and The Miller

If you followed the trial testimony referencing local was denied as it relates to players involved in corrupt behaviour on island. This should signal to a well meaning government that there is an opening to clean shop. We making sport.

25. @ HAL

WISHING YOU A SUCCESSFUL 2021.

GOING FORWARD IGNORE THE DETRACTORS AS YOU LOOK ON FROM OUTSIDE NOT THROUGH CLOUDED OR TAINTED GLASSES.

26. @ Baje

The same to you. Stay safe.

27. @ Carson C Cadogan December 31, 2020 12:27 PM

Carson,

People like you have been hibernating in the administration office for 54 years, pinning medals to their nipples for failure. At the expense of all taxpayers. Stop your post-colonial lament and stop acting like a whiny child all the time. Man up and acknowledge the many economic crimes your party has committed against the black masses since 1966. Where were you all the time when the south coast was full of sh** and your ministers were insulting the black population almost daily? People like you were residing in mansions in Florida, Canada and UK because they despise the black masses.

The failure has faces, namely Barrow and Stuart. People who come from the poor house like them just can’t handle money unlike our current government. This is not about skin color, but about integrity, righteousness and justice.

It was not the BLP or businessmen, but Senators controlled by Donville Inniss and the DLP that caused the anti-corruption bill to fail.

28. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

I don’t know if it is true or not , but on Social media here in Barbados it is being circulated that Barbados is again under Curfew from tonight.

It may or may not be correct.

29. Yep 12 pm to 5 am from tonight

30. @ John A

A midnight to 5am curfew can only be meant for the Old Year’s Night ravers. Why not just ban all large gatherings? Otherwise, apart from the Old Year celebrations, that is the time most people spend in bed.
    I still ask: what is our epidemiological model?

31. @ David December 31, 2020 1:45 PM
    This should signal to a well meaning government that there is an opening to clean shop. We making sport.

More like ‘mekking mock sport’ at the taxpayers while laughing at the international financial business regulators.

What is of equal import to the Donville & Co case is what are the local law enforcement authorities doing about the recommendations contained in the most recent Auditor General’s report especially in regard to the ‘alleged’ serious financial ‘infelicities’ which occurred at the BWA under the previous political administration.

Will the current administration (in spite of its manifesto commitments) sweep this evidence-based exposé by the Constitutionally-appointed financial watchman under the carpet while hoping the OECD/EU would say ‘wink, wink, nudge, nudge’?

32. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

TRON

I still say that the Corruption bill we have on our Statue Books and still LIVE predates BLACK PEOPLE being in Parliament. It was not aimed at us.

So guess where we learned how to receive grease hand from it from.

33. @ Theo
    Thanks. Same to you and yours. May all good things attend you and yours in 2021.

34. @ Hal

It seems the problem is coming from the young party crowd much like what you guys are facing in the U.K. After the big fete down paradise I think that is the straw that broke the authorities back.

What I must ask though is once the party started why wasn’t it shut down by the authorities? Usual approach let the horse out then close the stable door.

35. @ John A

It is the exuberance and invincibility of youth. We have all been there. The problem is the community spread. If people are asymptomatic it does not mean they are virus free.
    Remember, mist victims do not need hospitalisation. Be careful.

36. @ Hal

It would have to blow through the shop window to catch me. Lol

The challenge is the asymptomatic cases and we have been finding quite a few of them here recently from our testing.

37. Heard yall got curfew.

38. @ Hal
    The USA is known for making countries, sign on to treaties , that the USA itself never honors.

39. @ William

The UK has been trying to get the US to extradite the wife of a CIA agent who killed a young man in a road accident and they just refuse.
    If they can do that to the UK, imagine what they will do to a small island. They are bullies. However, a Happy, Prosperous and Safe 2021 to you.

40. What the hell is happening Citizens not allow to pick up. Relatives at the airport
    Houston We have a constitutional crisis in the making on our hands
    The goal post is moving further and further away from our Constitutional rights

41. This situation merely confirms why the country has plumbed such a lowly status. Good ole Uncle Sam’s arm of justice has cast a shadow over the heads of our so-called business communites and our politicians.

They are being monitored. Our legal system is not sufficiently robust to investigate and combat corruption. And our senior politicians are not interested in tackling corruption. This is why so many foreign businesses are attracted to doing business in “Wild West” Barbados.

Foreign-owned companies who are doing business in Barbados should be investigated by their own governments. If they are doing business in the country then there is a strong likelihood that they are practising some form of corruption.

If such action is taken, we will see a reduction in the number of foreign companies who are prepared to do business in our country.

42. @TLSN

They believe that wealthy individuals and dodgy corporations want to do business in Barbados because of the integrity of our regulations.
    Happy and Safe 2021 to you.

43. The corruption cultivated by the DLP is paradigmatically evident in the recent Corona outbreak. It is no coincidence that two prison officers are infected who allegedly had no contact with tourists. Corona does not just fall from the sky.

It is likely that the two became infected while picking up drugs from the crew of a Colombian or Venezuelan speedboat. After all, we all know that Dodds is Barbados’ number one drug hub.

General Bostic is now called upon to extract the necessary information from the two officers and relatives. If necessary, with the help of American or Chinese interrogators.

44. @ Hal and to the BU family,
    Let’s all hope for a for a more prosperous 2021. It has been a dreadful 2020.

45. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

The Black rock Police station is to be closed down with immediate effect. The official version it is to be renovated.

How many people believe that??????

46. @ Hal
    Thanks. All the best to you and yours in 2021. May all good things attend you.

47. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

Hal

You like you are correct as usual. We have given the impression only visitors are coming down with the virus. But it looks further from the truth.

48. @ David
    All the best to you and yours for 2021. Once more , you have given us the opportunity to express our views on matters affecting our great country and global events. Continue the good work. May all good things attend you and yours.

49. “General Bostic is now called upon to extract the necessary information from the two officers and relatives. If necessary, with the help of American or Chinese interrogators.”

Worth a😊

Leave a Reply to john2Cancel reply