Submitted by Dr. Kumar Mahabir

Barbados is located in the Caribbean near Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and Martinique. It is 34 kilometres (21 miles) in length and up to 23 km (14 miles) in width covering an area of 432 km (167 square miles). The present population of Barbados is 287,000 persons (just more than a quarter-million people) based on Worldometer elaboration of the latest United Nations data.

Five things that have made Barbados world famous: Rihanna, the international singer, songwriter, actress and designer, was born in Barbados; so too is Sir Garfield Sobers, the greatest cricket all-rounder of all time. And the Honourable Mia Mottley is the first female Prime Minister of Barbados. Barbados has also produced the oldest rum in the world from its Mount Gay Distillery. There are also its pristine, peaceful beaches.

Barbados has the head office of the Caribbean Examinations Council (CXC) which is under attack these days for its grading system. Prime Minister Mottley is also the Chair of CARICOM (the Caribbean Community) which played a critical role in restoring democracy to Guyana during the recounting of votes following the March 2020 elections.

The following are HIGHLIGHTS of an ICC ZOOM public meeting held recently (25/10/20) on the topic “The Indian community in Barbados: business, religion and race-relations.”The Pan-Caribbean meeting was hosted by the Indo-Caribbean Cultural Centre (ICC). The meeting was chaired by Sharlene Maharaj of Trinidad and Tobago (T&T) and moderated by Sadhana Mohan of Surniname.

The speakers where HAJJI SULEIMAN BULBULIA, Secretary of the Barbados Muslim Association and the Muslim Chaplain of the UWI, Cave Hill Campus; and SABIR NAKHUDA, author of the book Bengal to Barbados: A 100-year history of East Indians in Barbados (2013) extracts of which are reproduced below.The discussant was DR KUMAR MAHABIR, an anthropologist from T&T and an Organization of American States (OAS) Former Fellow.

Affectionately called “coolie-man”

East Indians (Indians) have helped shape the social, religious, cultural and economic landscape of Barbados. To understand these impacts, the focus must be on the itinerant traders (affectionately called “coolie-man”).  

For the itinerant trader, the main driver of undertaking an economic enterprise is to generate income. But his business had several unintended consequences, many of which were positive for the Barbadian society for over 100 years.

The “coolie-man” became more than a friendly trader in the neighbourhood; he became a member of the family, a counsellor and an advisor at times. The “coolie-man” in Barbados has many anecdotal stories (positive and negative) which have entered into folklore of the island and have been immortalized in local songs.

The experiences of those who benefited from access to goods on extremely favorable credit terms, at a time when buying cash was the only available option for the poor, is noteworthy. Credit to the average Barbadian was unheard of, and many residents had to struggle on the meagre earnings they received to get along as best as they could.  

In the Foreword to the book Bengal to Barbados, former Prime Minister of Barbados, Freundel Stuart, wrote: “… for many years, I experienced directly, the impact this important group made on the village in which I grew up in the parish of St. Philip. I saw these men alleviate the financial distress of many people who lived in Marchfield, St. Philip.

“They took care of back-to-school requirements for parents who could not afford to buy school uniforms by extending generous credit terms to them. At Christmas, the poorest households benefited from credit terms no less generous.”

Unlike the early Indians in Guyana, Trinidad & Tobago, St. Vincent, Grenada and other Caribbean Islands who went to work in the sugar plantations in the 1800s, Indian indentured labourers were not brought to Barbados. Those who came never intended to come to Barbados, but eventually ended up in Barbados and made the country their home.

The early Indians came from three different parts of India. The first Indian came to Barbados circa around 1910 from the Hooghly District in West Bengal: Bashart Ali Dewan initially went to Trinidad from India where his father-in-law was residing. He stayed there for a short while and then – for some unknown reason – moved to Barbados. Other Bengalis followed, and Bashart Ali Dewan and these pioneers stayed in the Bridgetown area of Barbados.

From inception, members of the Indian community have continued to practice their culture and religion. The Sindhi-Hindu community made part of their homes into mandirs [temple] until the opening of the first Hindu temple in Welches, St. Michael on the 22nd of October 1995.

The Muslim community continues to practice their faith individually and collectively. In the early days, the Friday jummah [congregational prayers] were performed at private homes at Wellington Street and Cheapside in the city. In 1951, the first masjid [mosque] was built in Kensington New Road.

330 responses to “The Indian community in Barbados: business, religion and race-relations”

1. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Artax
    I asked of @Miller earlier who owned the Civic.
    At least one of the Alleyne’s to whom @David is referring was the late Arnold Alleyne, who in partnership with, I believe a Mr.Lord(e), raced horses under the name of Mr.Civic. I knew him, but am fairly sure his surname came via his mother, not his father.

2. @ David December 22, 2020 1:17 PM
    “India has a caste system that influences that society to this day. We have to be careful how we compare, it is not an apple to apple comparison.”

And that is precisely the reason the question must be asked why those who managed to escape from the bottom of the pile of that same caste system can arrive in a country that is over 90 % black (with overly “well-educated people” in all spheres) and in less than 100 years can become the movers and shakers in the world of commerce and political influence.

What special talents did those ‘low-caste’ migrants bring which black Bajans were unable to offer?

What is really so ‘special’ about Bajans that their economic birthright can be so easily stolen from them given the post emancipation dreams?

Maybe the rascal Hal Austin does make sense when he alludes to the “Bajan Condition”.

3. PachamamaDecember 22, 2020 1:08 PM

“Walter Blackman is the quintessential of that vicious system.”

Pachamamum,
    Quintessential is an adjective. You need to use a noun.
    The word you are looking for is quintessence.

Being an international consultant, you are aware that your job calls for effective and accurate communication.

PS: I am just a poor Barbadian educating a rich Barbadian for free, in the hope that you succeed in “upping” you game so that your international clients would be impressed with the Barbados brand.

4. “What is really so ‘special’ about Bajans that their economic birthright can be so easily stolen from them given the post emancipation dreams?”

it’s ya sellout parliament negros tiefing ya money and birthright, land, opportunities and everything else and giving it away to everybody who looks nothing like them because they believe they are better than black people, don’t think they’re African and telling themselves that they got pedigree, just like they’re doing with the marijuana now, selling it out to white massas to reenslave the black population, no one is forcing them to do any of this and there is not a white, indian syrian or other would put any of those sellout clowns before their own people, they only want to see Black people broke, in poverty and working as slaves, blame ya sellouts of the black skin variety…

5. @ Northern Observer December 22, 2020 4:16 PM

“NO”, sorry about the oversight.

Yes, you are correct. The “Civic” friendly society was managed by Arnold’s father Mr. Layne. May both of them R.I.P!

The Shamrock Cash & Carry (which gave birth to the modern day supermarket) was started by another Alleyne family member from St. Philip.

6. @Miller

We have focused on the Indians, what about the other minorities residing in Barbados? Is there an interplay that we should be aware and manage to ensure a cohesive and harmonious society?

7. @ David

If I’m not mistaken, the Shamrock Credit Union was established by the St. Patrick’s Roman Catholic Church, sometime during 1947. It was probably the first one on the island.

And, since the ‘shamrock’ symbolizes St. Patrick the patron saint Ireland…….. hence, the name Shamrock Co-op Credit Union.

It is said Saint Patrick used the leaf of a shamrock plant as a method of explaining the Holy Trinity concept to Irish people.

8. @Artax

Thanks for this, a little nugget.

9. @ WURA-War-on-UDecember 22, 2020 4:26 PM
    “………….just like they’re doing with the marijuana now, selling it out to white massas to reenslave the black population, no one is forcing them to do any of this and there is not a white, indian syrian or other would put any of those sellout clowns before their own people, they only want to see Black people broke, in poverty and working as slaves, blame ya sellouts of the black skin variety…”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Spot On!

Even Walter Blackman (if not Artax) has to agree with you!

Now here is a ‘green’ opportunity (like the Alternative energy business) to purposely enfranchise the black entrepreneurial-minded class as a way of righting some of the economic and social wrongs inflicted on black people over the years.

And what does this so-called black government intend to do other than erect financial and regulatory (bribe inducing) brick walls for them to climb like Sisyphus.

10. Instead of just saying what should have been done, layout How it should be done.

11. @ Artax
    What I find strange is that we are all experts at who failed rather than who tried. There is no failure among the Alleynes Tudors, Wilsons Millars Jordan’s , Eastmonds etc.
    These are pioneers, who opened vistas for people like us, who are great at analyzing.
    The question that should really occupy our minds , is how these people were able to build such formidable businesses in what would have been a hostile business environment. We should then ask ourselves, why we can’t yet make our presence felt.
    This is not about if the business survived another generation or two.
    Look at the hundreds of people they employed, look at the wonderful lifestyles they afforded their children;look at the many meals they put on their workers’ tables; look at the school fees and uniforms that the wages they paid were able to purchase.
    Let’s take our heads out of the sky for a moment. Richie Haynes father was a shopkeeper. His son went on to a brilliant career in medicine; Cammie Tudor’s father owned a large retail business , his son went on to be a brilliant orator and political heavy weight. Who is to say that they would have been great retailers.
    Within families there are conflicts and clashes that we know nothing of. They may or may not affect the longevity of the business.
    Nothing beats a failure but a trial , these great men and women beat failure a thousand times.
    Perhaps it’s time that our generation, the greatest failures of all generations before it, come down from the sky and try , to be another Alleyne orTudor. We are here pontificating about them. I doubt there will be much to say about us. Give the majority of us a title , a company car and we are flying all over heaven. The ones before us bought they own cars; created their own wealth; did not punch anybody’s clock and did contribute greatly to this country and actually underwrite the education we received.
    And don’t for one moment think I am only referring to the aforementioned. I am talking about the thousands of small black business people who employed themselves and struggled daily not to punch Massa’s clock. They are all heroes. They made a path for all those who dare to dream.
    I have never believed that the only thing that beats a trial is a failure. I believe the only thing that beats a failure is a trial.

Peace

12. @Miller

What has happened so far to suggest average Blacks are being forced out? Are you aware of any applications that were declined from this group?

13. @ David December 22, 2020 4:30 PM

Clearly not on the fast disappearing whites who have had their day in the sun which once shone on the commercial and economic life of Barbados.

The economic future of Barbados lies within the pockets of its vast majority black population which has been well schooled’ in how to shop and buy from others.

BTW, what ever became of that electioneering pledge (from both parties) to award at least 40% of public sector work contracts to SMEs?

14. Walter ManBlack the cunt.

You are linguistically challenged, we did not complete the sentence yuh asshole, purposefully. Poetic license yuh cunt.

We had mentioned the noun in the same sentence already. Cunthole. How much more illiterate can you be.

Is this all you can do. Apart from your infantile responses why don’t yuh stop letting naynay people with a few dollars from fucking yuh. You are no man.

Real men, like lions, establish community and guard it, even in war, against any intrusion, not justify why other people could come in and fuck their women.

You cant rasssoul tell us how to write. 11-plus boys like you only prevent good food from spoiling and are therefore worthy of death.

15. Your question has been answered over and over in this forum and others. We grew a fat middle class who shifted focus and goals and the rest is history.

16. @Pacha

As usual you allow Walter to yank your chain at will?

17. I have noticed the word “Coolie” being used here, and I know that it is not the intention of the user(s) to be offensive in any way. However, it should be pointed out that the word “Coolie” is viewed as derogatory or pejorative in some quarters, so we need to tread carefully. I view BU as an international blog, so it might be prudent for us to display international sensitivity.

18. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Walter Blackman at 4:09 PM

Well said. Many of us have ambitions other than making millions of dollars. We spend time ,effort and money honing our skills in order to contribute meaningfully to the development and management of Barbados and its citizens.
    Secondly we can and do provide these services at a fraction of the costs that the taxpayers are saddled with.

19. @ Walter

Lord don’t say too much bout money please, remember we got plans for that 4 acres of land and the old tractor up by you. After all the fellow at Redlands can’t get all! You take it easy i going talk to Big Mike! LOL

Plus to avoid suspicion we going plant some lettuce between it too.

20. @ William

You are right again. Our focus should not be on New Barbadians and their business success; it should be on us and our apparent failure.

21. In a climate of vaginas
    black culture is hip hop
    demonstrated by eminem
    music to be murdered by
    zeus

22. DavidDecember 22, 2020 4:56 PM

“@Pacha
    As usual you allow Walter to yank your chain at will?”

Giggle. LOL. Barbadians underestimate their ability to make people laugh. There is foreign exchange to be earned in Barbadian entertainment!

I promise to be a good boy for the rest of the day.

23. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Walter Blackman at 4:58 PM

“Coolie” was not a pejorative term in Bajan culture. I have at least two elder relatives whose nicknames were coolie. It was purely a descriptive term of the physiognomy. They were not Indians.

24. David

This idiot has always been that way. It has always been impossible for him to have a definition of self beyond a piece of paper. Above he even, as expected, adumbrated to the applause of a fellow traveler, vincent codrington. He has fixation with trying to convince people that he’s bright, when the reverse is true. He’s a cunthole.

25. MillerDecember 22, 2020 4:45 PM

“@ WURA-War-on-UDecember 22, 2020 4:26 PM
    Spot On!

Even Walter Blackman (if not Artax) has to agree with you!

Now here is a ‘green’ opportunity (like the Alternative energy business) to purposely enfranchise the black entrepreneurial-minded class as a way of righting some of the economic and social wrongs inflicted on black people over the years.”

Miller,
    I agree with you and WURA.
    Black Barbadians should get the lion-share of any assets to be created. Financial structures (not strictures) should be put in place to facilitate this.

PS: What do you mean by “Even Walter Blackman…”? Is it usually difficult to get buy-in from me on any matter? LOL.

26. @Pacha

The blog needs your scholarly input on the weighty matters at hand. Some may not understand that writing styles are deliberately by some with grammatical and spelling errors all part of ensuring anonymity.

27. “Now here is a ‘green’ opportunity (like the Alternative energy business) to purposely enfranchise the black entrepreneurial-minded class as a way of righting some of the economic and social wrongs inflicted on black people over the years.”

People who puff trees like puff the magic dragon should be the beneficiaries of the holy herb legal style

Used to have to sit and watch them bills pile up (Yeah)
    Now I just sit back and watch them bills pile up (Haha)

They keep wantin’ me to rap responsibly
    When I’m constantly passin’ the buck like the fckin’ Dollar Tree
    But I’ma always remind you that I came from poverty
    Black people saved my life, from the Doc and Deshaun
    And all that we want is racial equality
    R.I.P. Laquan McDonald, Trayvon, and Breonna
    Atatiana, Rayshard, and Dominique
    Eric Garner and Rodney King
    No, we can’t get along ’til these white motherf
    ckin’ cops
    Who keep murderin’ Blacks are off the streets (Off the streets)

28. @ Vincent

My friends call me a coolie all the time cause they say I cheap and would sell even the wife for the right price!

For the record I am not cheap I am financially challenged. LOL

29. “Instead of just saying what should have been done, layout How it should be done.”

thought yall FRAUDS had all the answers…

“we got this”
    “watch muh nuh”
    “not bout hey”
    many tiefing hands makes light work…

“we got” a 1000 consultants being paid taxpayers money for doing WHAT”???
    “we paying” a two man show $85,000 US DOLLARS A MONTH since 2018..,,and they already got a hefty 62 MILLION DOLLARS..for what??? tell me that was not US DOLLARS…

so what do yall need any advice from a blog for….

yall crooks on ya own, everybody is breaking for they self….good luck paying back IMF the billion dollars in VAT that ya tiefing business partners stole from the people…..Black people don’t owe yall sellout asses anything, check the cows, bizzys, maloneys, bjerkhams, ya high flying partner in crimes charles herbet to help ya, he and Big Mike would know what to do…we ain’t nobody…we are only bloggers.

30. John ADecember 22, 2020 4:58 PM

“@ Walter
    Lord don’t say too much bout money please, remember we got plans for that 4 acres of land and the old tractor up by you. After all the fellow at Redlands can’t get all! You take it easy i going talk to Big Mike! LOL
    Plus to avoid suspicion we going plant some lettuce between it too.”

John A,
    LOL.

On a more serious note, I agree with the Government of Barbados to introduce the concept of medicinal marijuana first. That gets our feet in the proverbial door. Recreational marijuana is still outlawed by the Federal Government of the USA (despite the fact that many states have decriminalized it) so we have to move cautiously on that front for the time being.

The Bill decriminalizing marijuana has already passed the House of Representatives in the USA and has been sent to the Senate. Once it passes the Senate, it would no longer be illegal to possess the plant. These are important developments to note.

After reading the contributions on BU, I have accepted the view that the money is not in medicinal marijuana. It is in recreational marijuana.

The Rastas and “illegal” farmers, according to reliable sources (LOL) have produced an excellent Barbadian brand, in great demand, so there is much money to be made.
    In the not-too-distant future, Barbados can become a major exporter of recreational marijuana. This export crop can provide opportunities for all groups (Blacks, Whites, Indians, Syrian, Lebanese etc) and all interested small, medium and large-size farmers should be encouraged and accommodated.

That is the vision.

31. @ Walter

No doubt it will be no different to the experience of the Canadian growers. The ones making the money are hidden away in the woods.

32. We would not be having this conversation if our national hero Barrow(!) had not suppressed the advancement of his own people when he was in power. This man should be held accountable for all that is wrong in Barbados.

He aborted the emancipation of his own people whilst encouraging the likes of Mrs Ram and others a free run after the country had gained it’s independence in 1966.

We have to recognise that the negro race in Barbados will never advance under this current leadership and that other party.

So where do we go from here people? Do we stick with the loud mouth narcissus who promises a lot but has completely failed her own negro people or do we sideline her and find our own solution. The status quo has to be ended.

33. @TLSN

Now you have gotten that off your chest how can we push on?

34. Nobody gives anybody anything.
    People have to take it.

35. Salemite
    You can’t because you don’t have a fucking clue. Tell the blog what is the current framework and what it ought to be and why. BU gangstas good at talking eh…talk pretty as RH. I have often asked who here has had any involvement in the formulation, implementation and or management of one single public policy?

36. NorthernObserver Avatar

@WB
    the Canadians, the USA’s largest trading partner, gave the US the heave-ho, and opened up the mary jane market. The medicinal market is small. It is the recreational market where the volume lies. Now in their typical bureaucratic manner, the various Canadian provincial governments managed to make a mess of the implementation, largely because they were attempting to monopolise the distribution, like they do with alcohol. Subsequently, they under supplied and over priced, and were surprised when actual results failed to meet expectations.
    Growers in Barbados are already at an advanced stage. They are merely awaiting the green light.

37. “I have often asked who here has had any involvement in the formulation, implementation and or management of one single public policy?”

ya always telling Miller how great ya are at all the above….SO WHY ARE YA ASKING US FOR????

38. Northern…those who know more are watching it all with a smile.

39. @ Walter BlackmanDecember 22, 2020 6:04 PM
    “The Rastas and “illegal” farmers, according to reliable sources (LOL) have produced an excellent Barbadian brand, in great demand, so there is much money to be made.
    In the not-too-distant future, Barbados can become a major exporter of recreational marijuana. This export crop can provide opportunities for all groups (Blacks, Whites, Indians, Syrian, Lebanese etc) and all interested small, medium and large-size farmers should be encouraged and accommodated.

That is the vision.”

An ‘enlightened’ vision for sure even if seen through a pair of ‘red eyes’ protected by rose-tinted glasses.

Do you really feel the ‘lobby’ of producers, importers, distributors and retailers of rum and other-big mout’ alcoholic drinks like R.L. Seale, JW, Hennessey and Absolut along with the underground marijuana import and distribution cartel like those invited to the opening of that ‘Talk Shop’ would ‘support’ the ‘official’ use of cannabis for recreational purposes and allow such an ‘Act’ to be passed easily into law in Barbados?

How would the Treasury recoup such possible losses in excise duties and other taxes currently earned from the country’s rum industry and ‘imported’ alcohol consumption?.

40. “The Rastas and “illegal” farmers, according to reliable sources (LOL) have produced an excellent Barbadian brand, in great demand, so there is much money to be made.”

same Rasta and farmers they keep violating their human rights, same people they ARE STILL criminalizing for the plant, really, the “excellent brand” is not for Mia and her slave masters to tief from those who are still being criminalized and have their human rights violated…..Black people don’t need Barbados and the crooks who feel they should always be on top of Black people…how bout that…certainly don’t need any sellout negros…from a haunted parliament.

41. Miller…they’re not getting it. As soon as the population realizes who is what….ah already tell the fowl Enuff, they are on their own with all the debt traps and 5 BILLION missing tax dollars….they created that hole, so now let them all live in it by themselves..

42. @Walter
    A few years ago an accountant from Trinidad approached me for help which required some actuarial knowledge. I had to explain to him that though highly trained in analysing data, what he wanted was an actuary.

The potential client was a foreign ‘company’ in Barbados. I tell you this because there is good ‘grazing’ for an actuary independent of the GOB. I can share the information with you if you want.

BTW.. Your game is slipping. Leave the silly comments and ‘fighting’ to men like myself.

43. @ EnuffDecember 22, 2020 6:32 PM
    “Salemite
    You can’t because you don’t have a fucking clue. Tell the blog what is the current framework and what it ought to be and why. BU gangstas good at talking eh…talk pretty as RH. I have often asked who here has had any involvement in the formulation, implementation and or management of one single public policy?”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Since you, the red-painted pimp, are so much in tune with what’s going on at the heart of government why don’t you tell the BU family when is the Hyatt potential erection going to get an injection of financial blood to raise it off the ground as promised since May 2020?

Don’t you think it’s high time Bajans start to see something lifting off the ground in order to keep them wishing and hoping for some sort of visual satisfaction given that there are an additional 40,000 unemployed looking on and expecting a piece of the action either directly or indirectly given the powerful multiplier effect of US$175 million which has been promised to be pumped into the construction sector needed to impregnate the growingly sterile Bajan economy?

44. TheoGAzertsDecember 22, 2020 7:26 PM

“@Walter
    I can share the information with you if you want.”

TheoGAzerts,
    By all means. Feel free to get my contact info from the blogmaster, if that is all required. Please let me know if you need anything else.

Thanks.

45. @Miller December 22, 2020 9:29 AM “East Indians will never bow down or submit themselves to any god that does not look like them unless it is to their social and material advancement.”

FACT: Christianity is India’s third-largest religion after Hinduism and Islam, with approximately 31.9 million followers.

FACT: The southern metropolis of Karachi, Pakistan has a large Christian population, as do the cities of Lahore and Faisalabad. The 3 million Christians are about 1.6% of Pakistan’s population.

46. So where is Sitting Bull in all of this?

47. @ Artax December 22, 2020 11:59 AM “… the limey nincompoop pseudo-psychiatrist…”

Ya killin’ me den!

48. William Skinner December 22, 2020 4:52 PM #: “What I find strange is that we are all experts at who failed rather than who tried.”

@ Mr. Skinner

I don’t know where you got the idea, but, I cannot remember ‘discussing’ who failed in business. Perhaps you may want to remind me. Unless you’re suggesting ‘talking’ about some Black business owners’ children refusing to ‘carry on’ the family business means the business failed. If so, I am not of the opinion.

John A and I mentioned Lloyd Alleyne. If we were to use him as an example, it would ludicrous for anyone to suggest his business failed simply because none of his 14 children took over, especially taking into consideration how successful he was during the 1970s and 1980s, having expanded into at least 8 supermarkets mini mart outlets.

Spewing ‘fancy sounding’ knowledge of business theory or history of conglomerate businesses that doesn’t bear any relevance to small business, may impress some people. My work experience has led me to interact with several micro and medium sized business owners. You’ll be surprised to know how many successful micro and medium sized businesses there are in the island.

49. @ Cuhdear Bajan

Which would you prefer, wild barking dogs, predators, savages and wild beast that should be in the jungle, hungry dingoes, vultures or slimy pigs?

50. DavidDecember 22, 2020 5:34 PM

“Some may not understand that writing styles are deliberately by some with grammatical and spelling errors all part of ensuring anonymity.”

I certainly did not understand that.

I may occasionally tease Pacha for fun, but I am by no means an “English” policeman. Once I get the gist of what another person is trying to say, that is enough for me. However, I view education as a life long continuous process with no one being too old to learn. Being old-school, I always thought that one should always pay attention to detail, and strive to be as accurate and correct as possible in whatever one writes. We all make mistakes, and when I do, I appreciate the correction offered.

Is it ethical or morally justifiable for any “writer” to mislead or mis-educate readers by deliberately feeding them grammatical and spelling errors? Who knows what damage can be done by an unsuspecting reader who believes these errors to be standard and correct English and then proceed to reproduce them elsewhere?

I know for sure that BU readers appreciate grammar, correct spelling, and the introduction of unfamiliar words, based on their feedback related to the Jeff Cumberbatch weekly articles.

To be fair to you, at no point in time did you ever actively promote this practice on BU. Implicitly, writers told (or hinted to) you that it was a deliberate strategy being used by them to promote their anonymity, and you are now passing this information to us.

I am at a loss as to how the use of correct grammar and spelling can reveal a person’s identity, but that is not important.

Thanks for the insight.

Leave a Reply to WURA-War-on-UCancel reply