As we come to the end of another year, for many around the world, probably the most unpredictable of their entire lives, it is perhaps time to reflect, while trying to make sense and possibly attempt to plan for the future.

Even after a working lifetime involved in tourism, like so many others, we simply are not sufficiently qualified to proffer potential solutions post pandemic, but there are past experiences which tell us that until ‘we’ as a nation find any viable alternatives, that it will largely remain the ‘only game in town’.

Looking back 32 years, we can only admit to being extremely naïve when purchasing a closed semi-derelict small hotel on what was perhaps considered then, as one of the less desirable coastlines of the island.

Hindsight is a wonderful thing of course and despite all the odds including a barrage of bureaucracy (that continues to exist three decades later), uncooperative banks, who often simply did not understand what it takes to make businesses work, merchant traders and suppliers not willing to take any credit risks, we grew the business while contributing around $50 million to the local economy, directly or indirectly.

During that time, we employed people, paid their NIS and met every single Government tax and imposition, despite still being owed tens of thousands of confirmed VAT refunds, dating back from as late as 2013.

Was it easy? Absolutely not!

But if you have a vision that you share with a partner, believe in what you are doing and preparing to work 17 hours a day, seven days a week, then ‘success’, in whatever form you consider that word applicable, is possible.

As we now look on under the new owners and their extensive commitment to massive renovations, which have been underway for weeks, we have no doubt they will take the former Peach and Quiet to another level and build on any ‘success’ that we might have achieved in the past.

Clearly acceptable standards and guest expectations change over the years and our former small hotel reaching almost 50 years since construction, desperately needed upgrading.

The new owners with three generations of proven hand-on hotel ownership and management share our vision and have the sheer determination to ensure the re-named property once again reaches the award winning boutique hotel status we enjoyed.

Personally I have no doubt that our tourism sector will rebound and that we will learn valuable lessons from the pandemic.

What will be absolutely critical to its recovery is that those who have the vision and drive to invest in times like this are given all the support and encouragement to ensure this happens.

It is time for some of our banks to revisit their purpose and for our army of civil servants to carefully evaluate how they can contribute to the national interest.

From our personal experience, there are always notable exceptions to the ‘norm’ and our sincere thanks go out to the incredibly positive response we received from all involved recently at the Central Bank of Barbados.

88 responses to “Adrian Loveridge Column – Simply the Beast Game in Town”

1. CC
    You could really hush! You forget how much (more than $300M) the government owed people 2008-2018 and what it could have achieved? From personal income tax and vat returns, to payment for services and court judgements. Back when there was no pandemic but Guyson Mayers was getting a $300,000 consultancy for 15 months. It is clear you on ambush tactics, but given your role pre-2018 you lack any standing to talk. Our memories are not that short. How many new hotels were built between 2008-2018? What did the then government, which you so staunchly supported do to create a more resilient tourism industry? Did they promote and encourage alternative energy, water efficiency and technology? Any new attractions or just $400,000 to a lawyer for work at the Cave? Established better deals for taxi and tour operators, vendors, creatives? Any work on improving access to funding for players in the industry? Any expansion at the airport and besides cement, what else at the seaport..certainly not scanners. Any new legislation or policies to cut some of the red tape that hinder tourism development, whether physically or in terms of operation? When the severance is paid are you going to talk about the building in Six Roads, credit union and your constituency council? Stupse.

2. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

Enuff

Get lost.

Shoo!!!!!!

3. @ Carson C Cadogan December 21, 2020 2:09 PM
    “These INDIANS are something else.
    A young Lady worked for them on Sunday 20-12-2020. From 8.00am to 7.00pm and they looked at her and gave her $60.00 Barbados dollars for all her hard work.
    “NICE INDIANS” exploiting BLACK BARBADIANS.”

Before you can convince us that you are genuine in your concerns about the modern-day exploitation of black people in Bim you must first explain why do indigenous blacks find themselves in the unenviable position of having to work for immigrants most of whom arrived in Barbados without two pennies to rub together and semi-literate.

All over the Western world the reverse holds true where the immigrants do all the menial tasks and mainly work for the indigenous population until they find themselves in a position to ‘make it’.

Do black Bajans emigrate to the USA, Canada or Britain and employ the natives or do they find themselves working for them until ‘retirement’?

What’s really wrong with the psyche of black Bajans where they find themselves (like well-conditioned exploited slaves) working for immigrants who neither look like them nor share their cultural/religious values?

You are clearly not so ‘smart’ an ‘educated’ people as you have been foolishly ‘led’ to think or believe.

4. Cadogan
    You mean the shooo you got in May 2018 and again last month or the one from Ikie https://www.nationnews.com/2013/05/30/unpaid-light-bill-shock/

5. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

WoW!!!!!!!

I must be saying something right. These guys and gals are bitterly against BLACK PEOPLE.

6. Something is wrong with you head. Seriously so.

7. Miller

That 7%. Wasn’t my figure.

8. Heard on the news
    The vaccine may be easily adjusted for the new strain . The ones that’s using the new technologies

9. Enuff and John 2 this guy Cadogan is a big FRAUD.He cares nothing about poor people.He could not reportedly pay the lady, s light bill when he was allegefly Mr Blackett, s right hand man living high on the hog.When 5000 persons were laid off just after 2013 elections the then PM asked if persons knew the meaning of temporary not a word from Mariposa or this joker CCC.When people could not get their income tax under Mr Stuart and Mr Sinckler not a word from them.When the beautify workers could not get their severance for years not a damn word from those two.All of a sudden these two frauds Mariposa andC adogan care about poor people .Give me rh break!.As for Austin you are a real comedian telling the dem jackass Mariposa that she is sensible.As Bush tea used to say oh ma shirt never heard so much shite talk in my life.You really need to be honest with Mariposa as a so called respected journalist.

10. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

When you can not beat a man,s argument, resort to gutter language to try to make your so called point

11. Lorenzo u come here talking crap
    I asked u what has Mia done for the poor people
    Yes the poor people she had march length and breadth of barbados
    Tell muh what has she done
    On independence day she promised front line workers those she made sitting ducks in the line if covid fire medals yes medals
    None of those medals aint going worth a dime if any one of them become ill and cant work
    Feel shame Mia talk about giving out grants
    How much she never said
    Poor black business catching hell and she hasnt opened the treasury to help them
    White business she offered the whole treasury
    Now u get here talking trash but cant show one thing Mia has implemented to help poor hard working black people
    Even the illegal squatters getting free houses
    Yuh need to go hide yuh face where u find comfort up Muttley arse

12. Are the people being in for the “stay and work” program being tested properly for the virus?

Or are they being slipped in to prop up the Govt. at the next General Elections????? We know that elections is always on the Barbados Labour Party’s mind????

What assurances can the Barbados Labour Party give the Nation that these “Bajans by choice” will not be voting the next time around???

13. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

Christmas is just around the corner. It is just 4 days away from Christmas. BLACK WORKERS are to be paid their monies owed. Monies owed by their former employers. they are being treated as SLAVES.

they will have a very bleak Christmas indeed. No fault of their own. If you travel to the homes of their former employers one lavishness as they prepare for a WHITE AND MERRY CHRISTMAS. THE CHILDEN OF DISPLACED WORKERS will have to sit idly by, their bellies growling from hunger because their parents can not afford to feed them. While the children of their former employers live lavishly.

Can this be fair to BLACK PEOPLE????

I ask you.

14. Pride in crisis relief
    OVER THE WEEKEND, following months of political squabbling that preceded the November 3 presidential election, United States legislators agreed to a US$900 billion COVID-19 relief package for businesses and individuals.
    This came ahead of next month’s expiration of existing economic relief programmes, and with 12 million Americans facing the threat of losing access to unemployment benefits.
    As reported by the BBC, the new assistance will include US$600 direct stimulus payments to most Americans, and boost unemployment payments by US$300 per week. It is also set to include more than US$300 billion in support for businesses, and money for vaccine distribution.
    The latest US relief is a follow-on from March when that country’s lawmakers approved more than US$2.4 trillion in economic relief, including US$1 200 stimulus cheques, funds for businesses and money to boost weekly unemployment payments by US$600.
    The US still has the world’s largest economy. On November 25, the US Bureau of Economic Analysis reported that the country’s gross domestic product (GDP) was US$21.16 trillion. So purely from a dollars-and-cents standpoint, it is clear that the Americans can easily afford such assistance, hence why it is incredulous that politicians there should have been quarrelling about it.
    It is true that Barbados is a much smaller country, and hence the needs of its population would be smaller in a financial sense, but all Barbadians should be proud of the way Government, all political parties, the private sector, non-governmental organisations and individuals have responded during the COVID-19 crisis.
    This has left no doubt that Barbados remains a caring society regardless of what challenges we face.
    The National Insurance Scheme has its problems, but the fact that we even have such a social security programme to cushion the blows felt by 32 000 Barbadians is something much larger countries cannot claim.
    Efforts to keep households as whole as possible with monthly payments and other aid, and various forms of assistance for businesses, have helped to keep the society together.
    All of this has taken place simultaneously with fighting a pandemic that has threatened to overwhelm countries, including the same US. It is true that Government has relied on financing from entities like the International Monetary Fund and Inter-American Development Bank, but with our limited resources, this is understandable.
    Based on information from the Central Bank and the Barbados Statistical Service, Barbados’ GDP was about $6.68 billion at the end of September, down more than $1 billion when compared to the same period last year. Much of this is attributed to the $692.1 million fall in contribution from tourism over the first three quarters of this year in comparison to 2019.
    The battle is far from over, and no response is ever perfect, but all Barbadians should be proud of how they have aided their fellow citizens during a difficult time for all of us. We all have to continue carrying the weakest among us well into 2021.
    No doubt Barbados remains a caring society regardless of what challenges we face.

15. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

Simply rubbish. Tell it to those who have empty bellies.

16. When are the people going to get their NIS contributions
    Govt of Barbados gave in rapid. speed tax breaks and tax relief to businesses
    Still the poor black bajan household begging for their money

17. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

Mariposa,
    once again you are so far from the whole truth.
    As stated in my column, we are still awaiting nearly $30,000 in due and acknowledged VAT Refunds dating back from February 2013. This despite paying over to Government more than $400,000 in taxes and VAT contributions within the last month.

18. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

When are people going to get their tax returns before Christmas as promised by the Govt. ?????

Oh yeah!!!!!

A promised by this Govt. is a comfort to a fool.

19. I see from an article in Barbados Today that Sharmane Roland-Bowen, BLP henchwoman is alive and kicking??? I thought she was dead as she is not putting anymore FLAGS IN POTHOES as she did under the DLP administration. Even though there are more POTHOLES DOTTING the landscape of Barbados than ever?????

She just wanted to ensure a victory for the Barbados Labour Party Govt. at all cost????Did she really care about POTHOLES?????

20. You all notice the news article in the Barbados Today in Barbados about the cluster of Corona Virus in St. James????? In st. James????

This is just the TIP OF THE ICEBERG as we welcome our “Bajan by choice””.

21. @ Carson

Only visitors get CoVid. The virus avoids Bajans. Just look at the official statistics.

22. Trust you to enter stage centre at this point. We had a cluster in St. James a few months ago where a housekeeper caught covid from a guest and there was some spread, however because of aggressive contact tracing the cluster was circled. Once cases found can be tacked to the primary case it is not classified as community spread.

You are one unhappy man.

23. That is strange. No???

A virus that does not discriminate, somehow chooses to bypass Bajans???

Are we not lucky???

Just like we got ANGELS FROM HEAVEN in the form of WHITE BAJANS AND INDIANS who can do no wrong , only Black people???? They dont have any people in Dodds only Black people they boast and beat their chests.

Strange indeed.

24. ccc

Do u really care about the blacks in Barbados or you just trying throw punches at the blp?

25. He could be playing to the gallery —-> throwashadecrew

26. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

You go JEFFI BEAR let in as many tourists as possible with the virus from the UK. The others who close their Borders to protect their populations don’t know what they are doing. We will reap their MONEY from their ILL ADVISED actions. They don’t known what they are doing. ONLY US HERE IN BARBADOS.

Kill off some of the BLACK PEOPLE. As we contract it.

Go ahead JEFFI BEAR LIL ENGLAND is behind you.

MIA CARES.

27. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

Boy we have the WISEST govt. in the World.(certainly the biggest Cabinet))

The other 40 nation of the world who banned travel from the UK, STUPID, STUPID, STUPID. Claiming they are protecting their population from the spread of the Virus.

They need to takea leaf out Barbados book and let in anyone.

28. Second new strain of the Virus discovered:

https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-55428017

29. UK travel ban on South Africa as Second new variant of the Virus surfaces:

https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-55428953

30. @ Carson

A third st rain now from South Africa; it is already in the UK

31. We are all following the international news.

32. Dah beach belong to we……fuh now.

33. We must craft a new reality
    Many of us may say goodbye to 2020 with a sigh of relief, having managed relatively well as a nation. But there is no guarantee that 2021 will be better. Many will feel no relief with the change in digits of the year at all. Just because the country is managing does not necessarily mean that all of its citizens are.
    This is something I’ve always found strange about the economics focused conversation around the state of the nation. It often seems to have little to do with how citizens actually feel and how they are actually doing. A nation can be considered economically stable while a large number of its citizens are in shaky standing.
    I think one of the reasons some of our politicians seem to love this kind of economic discourse is because it can hide the true state of things or cover up governmental failings. Contrary to popular belief, numbers do lie. Or maybe it would be more accurate to say that humans can lie with numbers and that numbers often do not tell the full story.
    From the beginning of this column I’ve been talking about the lie or the myth, or the partial story of “The Superior Barbadian Educational System.” The mythical number 98, as in 98 per cent literacy definitely hides much of the full story.
    I am told by some teachers that the disruption in schooling has opened their eyes to the difficult economic and social situations many of their students are in. Some parents have told me that having their children being at home has opened their eyes to what a difficult job teachers are tasked with.
    But as long as we are focused on magic numbers we can avoid seeing certain mundane realities. That is, until something like the COVID comes around and rips the veil off your eyes.
    However, do not underestimate the power of denial. A human head fits snugly in sand, especially when its tail is not touched directly by the cruel hand of fate. If history is any indication, many will find a magic number to satisfy them that all is now well. They might be watching the low infection numbers, for example, and telling themselves that we can get back to normalcy.
    Some of us cringe when we hear talk of getting back to normalcy. What the Richard Hoad is normalcy? For some of us, normalcy in Bim is living in denial while systems and structures slowly degrade. We don’t want things to get back to normal. We want to move forward with eyes open and a new vision.
    The irony is many of those who want to get back to normalcy are those who are the most fearful of and panicked by apparent social decay.
    They haven’t yet linked their ignoring and ignorance of certain realities to the problems that they are seeing.
    They have long feared change and now that change is forced upon us, they are holding on to dreams of normalcy as if COVID-19 knocked them unconscious.
    The dusk of 2020 is not time to go back to sleep. The dawn of 2021 is a chance to wake up to a new reality. It is a new reality that we must craft. We have focused on being strict guardians of certain heritage with too little focus on being craftspersons of our fate.
    Great craftpersons are not only born.
    They are educated and trained. A great nation is crafted by citizens, who are themselves crafted by the nations social and educational systems.
    Life has a sense of humour such that when you don’t want to face an issue, life will force you to face it while making the issue harder to fix. The systems that craft Barbadian citizens have been malfunctioning for a long time. We now are being tasked with fixing them under most inconvenient circumstances. God help us and the Minister of Education especially. We and she will have to find new ways to craft the citizens that will craft the future. That will mean reengineering ourselves as well.
    Don’t be scared of change homie.
    Take charge of it. While we may not be breathing a sigh of relief at the end of 2020, we should still face 2021 with a smile. For one, everything is better with a positive attitude. And secondly, I think we are up to the challenge of being and creating some of the most resilient and innovative Barbadians in history.
    Adrian Green is a communications specialist. Email: Adriangreen14 @gmail.com

34. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

Scientists call for nationwide lockdown after rapid spread of Covid-19 variant

https://twitter.com/guardiannews/status/1343100971073884160

35. BAJANS WARNED
    Economists Stephen, Marshall: Expect more austerity
    By Colville Mounsey colvillemounsey@nationnews.com
    Barbadians are being cautioned that there may be more austerity as a result of the recent supplemental and concessionary financing from the International Monetary Fund (IMF), World Bank and the Inter-American Development Bank.
    This concern was raised by economist Jeremy Stephen, who said unless Government gets the foreign exchange earning sectors going outside of the flagging tourism industry, Barbadians must brace for a “reckoning” in another five years.
    His view was supported by head of the Sir Arthur Lewis Institute of Social and Economic Studies (SALISES), Dr Don Marshall, who said Government must urgently build out small businesses that have the potential to earn foreign exchange.
    Stephen said he was not seeing enough evidence of a fast-growing productive sector and, therefore, it was likely that Government, in another five years, might be forced to raise taxes or do more trims to the wage bill.
    “Relief normally comes with a cost down the road and it depends on how long the IMF is willing to hold strain in order to allow us to sustain. The reality is that a reckoning normally does come, it is just a case of just how intense that reckoning is going to be.
    Would that reckoning come at the cost of social stability or social safety net?
    The IMF has said that they are more amenable to development targets, but it will lead to some bit of dislocation.
    It is just a matter of whether it is going to be the middle class that bears the brunt of any tax increases,” said Stephen, noting the funds were needed to contain the shock of the COVID-19 pandemic.
    He argued that even though the IMF is not the same institution of the 1980s and 1990s, which imposed severe austerity in order to ensure the borrower’s ability to repay, the country still has to step up productivity in order to repay the funds.
    “The last time I checked, the IMF does not give away free money because the institution was never built on that premise. There is going to be this major onus on Barbados over the next five years, where the impetus has to be on production.
    You essentially pay back the IMF in foreign exchange, so at the end of the day the onus is to earn more foreign exchange than you are spending,” he said, noting that for the last 30 years Barbados has not earned large scale foreign exchange.
    Foreign exchange
    “Historically, Barbados, not since the 1980s, has earned substantial amounts of foreign exchange other than a major investment into the economy or through the IMF or sovereign to sovereign loans. It was never a case of registering a massive increase in foreign exchange because exports were that great. So, if we really want to avoid a reckoning, this economy has to be more productive and this comes down to whether private sector and the Government are willing to take risks. This is something that is not happening quick enough in my estimation,” Stephen added.
    Pointing out that Government had also adjusted its surplus target from six per cent to a one per cent deficit under the Barbados Economic Recovery and Transformation (BERT) programme, Marshall said Government does not have the fiscal wiggle room to boost the productive sectors.
    “The name of the game right now is waiting on a tourism rebound. If we are going to drive our innovative industries you are going to have to use strategic investment targeting.
    We have to also bailout some of those small businesses that have the potential to export. We would also have to finance some of those start-ups in industries that have the potential to earn foreign exchange.
    Government will also have to engage in infrastructural spend. So while we hear being announced every time we do secure a loan, while it is a useful loan to have, one has to question what are the terms and conditions of these loans in relation to the payback and when they become due,” he said.

Leave a Reply to John2Cancel reply