G4S has agreed to pay a minimum wage of $8.79 per hour, with a minimum of 40 hours per week. As part of the agreement, it seems that the Government must force their competitors to adopt a similar standard. It is important when setting government policies, that all perspectives be examined.

It is normal for large businesses to want to maintain their dominant market position. This is done in two ways; namely, offer better service, or damage competitors.

Those who choose the method of offering a better service, tend to view obstacles to their growth as challenges to overcome. They tend not to concern themselves with their competition. Instead, they focus on continually improving their quality of their service, by improving the management of: competent staff, quality input materials, and quality and low-maintenance equipment.

ARTIFICIAL STANDARDS.

One common method that dominant players use to harm their competitors, is to adopt an artificial standard, that has little to do with the quality of the service. Then they influence the government to make that standard mandatory for their competitors.

A minimum wage is an artificial standard. It has nothing to do with the quality of service. Paying someone a higher salary does not magically improve that person’s competence or productivity.

Established companies who compete on quality, normally reward their productive employees with higher salaries. Therefore, a minimum wage is not an issue for them. A minimum wage is an important issue for many newer companies, who have to compete on cost.

A dominant company can harm newer companies, if they can entice them to match the salaries of the dominant company. But new companies are not normally that stupid. They would never agree to such madness that would immediately make their companies uncompetitive.

Uncompetitive businesses normally accumulate high debts. This then leads to the closure of the business, and the dismissal of all employees – who then earn no wages whatsoever.

When the government meddles unnecessarily in the commercial market, the results are normally disastrous for everyone – employees, employers and the Government. A high minimum wage is a win for the dominant business, and the unions who represent entry level employees. It can be political abuse for everyone else.

POLITICAL ABUSE.

Entry level positions are not designed to be permanent for an employee. They are designed to give all employees an opportunity to demonstrate their competence and productivity, so that they can earn a higher salary.

Employees who have qualified for a higher salary, but are underpaid, are being robbed by bad employers. Unlike our physically enslaved fore-parents, we have options. Good employees can leave bad employers and offer their services to a competitor, or they can start a rival business.

Employees demonstrate their mental enslavement, when they stop trying to be better. In my opinion, one of the most tragic sights, is to see a person comfortable in an entry-level position for their entire careers – and being lauded as a loyal employee.

High minimum wages allow bad employers, to keep employees in entry level positions for longer periods. It can also make employees comfortably mentally enslaved. So what is the solution?

THE SOLUTION.

Government may mandate a minimum wage with the following attributes:

a) it it high enough to prevent mentally enslaved workers from being exploited;

b) it is low enough to allow new businesses to be competitive;

c) it is low enough to give entry level workers an incentive to qualify for higher-paying positions.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

179 responses to “Grenville Phillips Speaks : Difficult Conversations – Barbados’ Minimum Wage”

1. “We boast of our education,but it seems as if we are educated to the point of idiocy or wickedness.

We run after solutions from other places and then we put our own twist on these solutions. A twist that neuters the remedy being considered.

If a business cannot survive without paying people next to nothing, perhaps it should not be in business.”

jokers the whole lot of them, as long as their pockets are full from stealing from people and country, they don’t care…you reach the stage where you call them all thieves and slave master wannabes, as long as they are not paying a liveable wage, $2.50-$8.50 US and is not a liveable wage anywhere…unless you can pay an employee $15.00 and up an hour, you are a slave master and should be run out of business, you are contributing to enslavement. Black people should not be working for whites, indians, syrians, none of these frauds who despite having many illegal sideline businesses that hauls in tens of millions of dollars in the second economy, they still don’t want to pay a living wage and that’s what, wicked, idiot governments keep protecting….

2. I have not followed the black vs others argument when it is attached to a political party. The pecking order are as described by CCC, but things remain the same if the B or D are in power.

Positioning it as a B vs D outcome is the wrong argument. Nothing changes, no matter how often the leadership baton is passed from one party to the other.

Always the ending… the pigs are your BDLP leaders.
    Twelve voices were shouting in anger, and they were all alike. No question, now, what had happened to the faces of the pigs. The creatures outside looked from pig to man, and from man to pig, and from pig to man again; but already it was impossible to say which was which.”

3. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

Theogazerts

You are right.

It means that that the other races have somehow fortified themselves. The question has to be asked it we were ever truly Emancipated. They were always in the minority even during SLAVE DAYS, yet they ruled the roast just like now.

It would mean there is still work to be done. Work that BLACK GOVERNMENTS here in Barbados failed to do, they were just happy to be elected to the House of Assembly and to do the bidding of the WHITE BAJANS AND INDIANS. They just FOOLED THE PEOPLE that were in charge, while lining their pockets. They put themselves ahead of other BLACK PEOPLE just like now.

This is wrong on so many levels That is how they can speak of “”pedigree”””, because they feel they are special. It makes one remember the HOUSE SLAVE AND THE FIELD SLAVE and we remember what kind of treatment was meted out to both.

4. WW

If you put the minimum wages too high you will also prevent or put some black owners out of business.

In the retail sector the other races that you are against will raise prices and layoff staff (blacks) to maintain their profit margine

Rise is prices will cost a rise cost of living fir the same minimum paid workers – some of who will now become unemployed

This will sink the economy further and make thing harder and take a longer time to recover

There must be a balance or you may end up hurting who you are trying to protect more than the one u want to hurt

5. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

That what they do anyway.

6. Yuh gotta love the arrogance on BU. The gang of experts can tell you what the living wage/minimum wage should be based on their feels. No evidence and assessment required. Murdaaaa!

7. Just remember the negative mentalities in Barbados, they can only tell you how something CAN’T BE DONE, not how it can…

“The states that have approved $15 an hour minimum wage increases are California, Connecticut, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Jersey and New York. Minimum wage increases are typically popular among the electorate. Since 2000, states have held 21 referendums on the minimum wage, and all have passed, according to a tally kept by Ballotpedia.

Florida votes to raise minimum wage to $15 an hour,”

and am yet to hear about any problems……yall are frauds….

8. @ John2 December 18, 2020 9:17 AM

How about manipulating another factor/variable in the equation to bring about balance which should lead to greater Equity and hence social stability?

What about the people earning the big salaries which maintain their lifestyles of conspicuous consumption being asked to make sacrifices and cut their remuneration in line with the economy’s capacity to survive or grow?

Why should any manager worth his or her salt in any depressed economy in the West Indies be receiving remuneration packages worth millions of dollars per annum unless those packages are quoted in Guyanese or Jamaican $?

Where is the evidence to point to such corporate successes and to justify such embarrassingly high compensation for the region’s private sector inertia trapped in its mainly import and sell mentality?

Not even the PMs in the region come close to such astronomical pay packages.

Let them in the private sector continue to follow CLICO and see where they would end up if not being considered by the political establishment as being ‘too big to fail’.

9. Now they’ll tell you how much more complex it would be on a 2×3 island, in a working population of 140K or there abouts…they caused the dependency and lack of medium and large Black businesses, let them deal with the fallout.

10. @ Enuff December 18, 2020 9:46 AM

We agree with you that the “living/minimum wage” should not be based on any feelings or contributions from the ‘secret’ communists on BU trying to throw shade but on the factors which went into your ‘Red’ analysis of that long-standing socio-economic issue in order to be considered a “Critical Mission” to be wrestled to the ground within its first 6 months of being elected to office.

11. John 2,

Well put! These things are never as simple as all that.

If the small businesses go out of business, the field is left open for large players to control it all.

That never works out well.

The fact that people take these low paying jobs means they still find some benefit in doing so.

12. Any wages which govt implements would be useless to the average bajan households when cost of living and debt are applied
    Not even 12 dollars an hour would suffice
    Point being that these measures are late in coming hyperinflation not going any way soon and cost of living would continue to increase
    Too little to late

13. Miller

Sound all good but isn’t there a law that you cannot cut a person salary unless he agree to it?

Tell me any big shot that will agree to cut his salary / standard of living

Ps. The government when that cut staff cut some from the top. Some from the top of BWA went home for example

14. They all caused this, both wicked governments, they only want to cater to and for white, indian and syrian at Black people’s expense, no matter how criminal, thieving and vicious the no good minorities are, this is the fallout, i won’t give them any advice to save them, they’re too cruel and self-hating, let the world see what they’ve done, karma and retribution..

that’s what happens to wannabes, for those who love to dig in archives, they can dig up all the posts over the last 8 years warning them about what is now unfolding…..

boundaries set and in place:
    1. no giving advice to black wannabes and sellouts who should be lynched.
    2. no freeing any slaves mental, physical or otherwise.

ya reap what ya sow.

15. If small businesses go out of business because of paying their workers a decent living wage, then so be it.

Any business that can only survive by paying its workers starvation wages, then it should not be in Business. Every business that decides to close down and fires, send home, or somehow gets rid of its workers is not helping the big businesses. Each worker is a consumer. With less consumers they will also be less revenue for the big businesses. As is happening now. Their is not a minimum wage and Barbados is considered by a recent International Report as one the countries with the highest cost of living in the Whole World. So it does not make a difference. We are already dealing with sky high prices despite the removal of the NRSL. We were promised by the Barbados Labour Party when they were in opposition that it they formed the new Govt. they would bring down prices. It has not happen, they have gone up.

So the general population was lied to.

16. It is now 8 days before Christmas and the displaced workers have not been paid their monies that are legally theirs.

However their former employers are preparing for a very WHITE AND MERRY Christmas for themselves and their families.

The former workers cant even buy a toothpick.

When is the Barbados Treasury going give the refunds to workers as they were to give back before Christmas.

17. “So the general population was lied to.”

you were lied to the minute 1966 came and they told yall ya were independent and self-governing then shamelessly proceeded to SELL YA OUT, then Mia this year said that she’s taking yall republic so ya can finally be self-governing……they have no shame and are now forgetting which lie is which…

can’t blame UK or Europe for any of this…

18. One lie covering up for the pervious lie. That is how it is going.

19. @ Carson C CadoganDecember 18, 2020 10:35 AM
    “We are already dealing with sky high prices despite the removal of the NRSL. We were promised by the Barbados Labour Party when they were in opposition that it they formed the new Govt. they would bring down prices. It has not happen, they have gone up.
    So the general population was lied to.”

Job No.1 Cost of Living; Job No.2 CoL; Job No.3 Cost of Lying to the voters.

Sounds like a song lifted straight out of the 2007 blue and yellow ‘playbook’ written in Red and regurgitated by the singing Tweedle Bee and its clone Tweedle Dem.

Just exchange you, CCC the carbon copied composer or Mariposa for Lorenzo or Enuff and we have the two choirs of colourful yardfowls singing in perfect harmony.

It seems the ‘lying’ ghost of David Thompson, like that of Banquo, still haunts the corridors of the GoB.

Maybe the souls of both David T and OSA are both enjoying the playing draughts in the zero-sum game of partisan political incest in Barbados.

20. @Millet

Expected a better argument from you. All over the world countries struggle with fixing a minimum wage.

21. I BELIEVE I HAVE READ ON BU OF EMPLOYED CLEANERS CLEANING OFFICES BEING PAID 150BD$ A WEEK AND SOME HOURS DURING THE DAY NOT BEING PAID WHETHER THEY WERE PREPARING FOR JOBS OR BEING DRIVEN TO ONE WHICH IS A CRIMINAL & CIVIL ACT OVERSEAS IN DEVELOPED COUNTRIES LEADING TO HARSH PENALTIES AND HUGE FINES.

SEEMS LEFT TO THE CONTINUED WHIMS OF BUSINESSES IN BARBADOS THEY WILL CONTINUE TO EXPLOIT BLACK WORKERS “DESPERATE” FOR WORK AND WHO WILL ACCEPT ANYTHING BUT BETTER THAT NOTHING.

WHAT BLATANT NONSENSE WELCOME TO LIFE ON THE 2 X 3 ISLAND BACKWARD THINKING WITH A COST OF LIVING HIGHER THAN MOST OF THE WORLD.

22. Milluh you’re so determined to oppose me that when even there’s nothing to oppose, you talk a heap ah shiiiite. I hope you’re aware of Proctor’s fate.

23. Milluh you’re so determined to oppose me that when even there’s nothing to oppose, you talk a heap ah shiiiite. I hope you’re aware of Proctor’s fate…..(Quote)

????????

24. @ John2 December 18, 2020 10:22 AM
    “Tell me any big shot that will agree to cut his salary / standard of living..”

None!

But the shareholders can save their sorry asses from pending social implosion and fire the overpaid CEO’s- who are a dime a dozen based on their performance- and hire others prepared to make the sacrifices which the likes of Marie Antoinette refused to do.

BTW, isn’t that the very reason why your favoured political administration opted for the “BOSS” instead of obeying the IMF master’s command and fire enough in order to bring the public sector workforce in line with the fiscal capacity of Bim?

25. WW

You $15 in this state is not 100% correct

You copy and paste everything so u want to copy wages increases in the USA and paste them to Barbados ?

I other you want double the minimum wages in bim. To make it like those states that are only increasing theirs from about 10c – $1

The minimum wages in Ga is about 5 -8 per hr

26. Your $15. In this states is not 100% correct

27. Those. Not this

28. @ David December 18, 2020 11:19 AM

Well don’t promises you know that you can’t keep!

Six months is too tight a deadline for such a “Mission Critical” agenda,

Just like dealing with the debt burden of Bim or implementing Integrity legislation promises which have been made by previous administration.
    ?
    Or is that throwing a ‘blacker’ shade of pale?

How about the failure to bring to Justice to a suspended police officer for killing a man in Bank Hall while off duty as the congenitally afflicted throwing shade perpetrator Hal Austin keeps highlighting as a blatant travesty of Justice?

29. The lowest minimum wage rates of $5.15 are in Georgia and Wyoming. … However, most employers and employees would be subject to the higher federal minimum wage rate of $7.25 per hour.Dec 30, 2019

https://www.google.com/search?q=georgia+minimum+wage+2020&oq=georgia+min&aqs=chrome.2.69i57j0i433i457j0l3.11147j0j4&client=ms-android-att-aio-us&sourceid=chrome-mobile&ie=UTF-8

30. Baje I got that

It said MOST employers. That why I put that range

31. @ Enuff December 18, 2020 11:37 AM

Quite!

The miller is ‘quite’ familiar with the fate of LIARS who also “talk a heap ah shiiiite” which fits snugly within your ‘red’ yardfowl agenda.

Just like you ought to be aware of the fate of those who the gods want to destroy like Icarus.

‘Arrogance (hubris) after ‘Lying’ is the greatest curse of Man!’

But we re forced to admire your well-honed Magician skills to make the highly prosecuting evidence in that rather BIG red bag disappear as a means of putting your make-believe enemies behind bars or pay for their ‘corrupting and kickback’ sins.

For you to be taken seriously on this blog, like William Skinner, you ought to be a bit more even-handed in your adulations of the current political administration when compared to the excesses in the deplorably offensive criticisms you discharged as your duties under the previous DLP and seen in your downright refusal to accept the glaring similarities of both parties in their philosophical outlook and performance.

32. Miller
    If I am such a liar put your money wey yuh mout is. You call it adulation, I call it facts.

Hal Austin
    You still figuring out if Arsenal is a public project and benefitted from compulsory acquisition or are you busy tapping yourself on the shoulder for your groundbreaking suggestion that government starts an adult literacy programme across the many “empty” schools in a 98% literate country? The government is providing financial literacy classes according to the local newspapers….so maybe you’ll claim dem tief yuh idea.🤣🤣

33. “The states that have approved $15 an hour minimum wage increases are…………………..”

“Florida votes to raise minimum wage to $15 an hour,”

did you read what it said or are you just opposing for opposing sake as most of you do on BU…none of it said anything went into effect…Barbados is not even trying to raise the wages to a liveable level..

34. David
    I note that there is talk of Procurement legislation in the new year. I hope that legislation requires ALL companies receiving government contracts to pay at least the minimum/living wage and that Social Value is included and given a fair amounr of weight in evaluating bids.

35. Like to oppose too much, am sure i read it took 20 years to even get voted on, I remember Obama wanted to raise it to $15 statewide, he’s been gone 4 years and only now the votes are trickling in, first they vote for it and then years later you hear it’s been IMPLEMENTED, put into EFFECT…….yall need to fix ya goddamn heads…

36. But that does not mean that 2×3 Barbados should take 20 years to effect a liveable wage for the Black majority, the island can fit into any borough or state which has tens of millions of people….with room left over to fit Jamaica, Cuba and Guyana..

37. Not at, but above the min/living wage.

38. WW

Where did I apposed what you said?

I said it is not 100% correct

In others words there is other information that’s not included in what you posted

For example NY $15 was fir fast food workers in the city not fir the whole state of or all NY.Outside the city it was $14.50

Also there were some differences in some of the other states

39. @ Enuff

I’ve seen you mentioned “minimum/living wage.” Could you please explain in what context you’re using the terms?

Are you using the terms interchangeably or are you aware there’s a difference between a minimum wage and a living wage?

40. NorthernObserver Avatar

@enuff
    “that Social Value is included and given a fair amounr of weight in evaluating bids”
    I suspect that if social value = tangible benefit to decision makers, it will be given maximum value. Hasn’t it always?

41. Dont mek muh laugh
    This govt would never be able to implement a wage bill comparable and which is sufficient enough to keep up with the increasing pace of hyperinflation
    All the long talk going on is like throwing water under running under a bridge
    The horse has already bolted a living wage should be a minium of six hundred dollars bds weekly which would be around 290 US
    No one in barbados should work for less unless they dont have house hold commitments to take care of

42. “Also there were some differences in some of the other states.”

all i wanted to do was show that $15 was on the cards, given the size of US it will take a while to complete the process as it has with other wage hikes., but since you want to get into who gets what, i remember the wages some fast food restaurant workers got should have gotten employers prison time in US…so if anyone should get a raise, they should.., but at least they get their severance and other benefits from city, state and feds….and they are really more deserving than most, given the salary scales that i personally know about in US..

do you see the difference now…..unliveable wages is the norm in Barbados for the vast cross section of the majority population, there is nothing that could really prevent outright poverty as is happening now. The extreme and unnecessary cost of living is too harsh to even articulate, fast food workers in US, have choices, access to help until the economy rallies and their children from birth to age 5 get their immediate needs taken care, so that some burdens get lifted……I did not stutter.

43. So if you say that Black people in Barbados get nothing for their money, then you’ll be right…, no value, no nothing.

i don’t understand how anyone can remain comfortable with that, ya would have to be an unfeeling cave beast.

44. Black people need to get together and pool their resources. Then they would not be desperate.

One thing I have learnt with big business – they can get around any regulation. They will give with one hand and take with the other. Force a minimum wage on them and they get rid of some staff and you can wind up working twice as hard for less than twice the money.

These things should be handled through industrial relations and bargaining.

If I had to work at an entry level job, I would determine to do so for as short a time as is possible. I would do a side gig that utilises my real talents with a view to making it my own fulltime endeavour or acquire some skills to enable me to move onward and upward.

If you are married and wish to concentrate on raising your children, then your spouse could pick up the financial slack.

It is my opinion that businesses should pay a fair wage for a fair day’s work. But life is not fair and never will be.

We must find our own way around it. There is always a way- just not the way most people think about. It is much easier to control yourself than to control others.

Or at least, it should be!

45. Let me agree with Donna, who noted:

“If I had to work at an entry level job, I would determine to do so for as short a time as is possible. I would do a side gig that utilises my real talents with a view to making it my own fulltime endeavour or acquire some skills to enable me to move onward and upward.”

Entry level jobs should have a high turnover rate. There are jobs for those now looking for work, or who have fallen on hard times and just need a temporary (or additional) job to get back on their feet.

Life is never constant. There are ups and downs, times of prosperity and poverty, times of exhaustion and times of refreshing. Life is about learning to manage whatever comes. I believe that we are all in training for something better.

Of course there are those, who, for whatever reason, find themselves in an entry-level job for an extended period. That is why one of the solutions was for a minimum wage to be high enough not to exploit workers.

46. WW

You have gone into your rambling mode?

The federal minimum is about 7.25

Do u even understand why the differences between ny city and out city ?

Or ny vs ga minimum

Anyone start in fast food minimum in the USA and stay at that level us mentally ……

Those jobs are usually just a stepping stone or second job and you hardly find someone making a career out of them

47. @ Cuhdear Bajan December 17, 2020 1:45 PM

The wage cap, of course, does not apply to those who rake in foreign currency to Barbados. So not for our Supreme Leader nor for Tron.

Justice means treating equal things equally and unequal things unequally.

And this to everyone: According to my overview of the global press, the vaccination campaign will stretch well into 2022. So it’s still a long, hard road ahead for the island’s population, which has grown accustomed to social welfare. It’s time to tighten the belts, cut taxes for entrepreneurs, grant incentives for foreign investors and expats and reduce the deep welfare state in return.

48. Artax – Some on BU talk about a minimum wage and others a living wage. I think the government spoke about a living wage in their manifesto. As some pointed out earlier, they are not the same and I am a proponent of a living wage. As I don’t know what will be implemented I use min/living wage.

Northern – That ain’t the type of social value I am speaking of sir.🤣🤣

49. Artax – Both can co-exist by the way.

Leave a Reply to ArtaxCancel reply