The following is a WhatsApp message received from a BU family member. Discuss for 5 marks.

David, Blogmaster

This country is going to hell in a basket without serious intercession. We are seeing unprecedented despotism at work and spiritual ranglings that are not of the Father.

Hiya guys are you aware that the land in Pegwell and Gibbon Boggs that has been condemned for the last 20 years and land owners and farmers not yet compensated for loss of crops and use of theirs lands. These has been contaminated with over 300,000 gallons of A1 Jet fuel, a poisonous hydrocarbon content. How is it that this government sees it fit to start construction on a desalination plant in the same area?

No remedial [work] has been done whatsoever in these areas.

There was a big squabble between Estwick and Abrams with Innotech where Abrams alleged/claimed that Estwick when he was Minister with responsibility for the various ministries under the DLP had paid Innotech over and above costs. Now, the same Innotech purportedly through purchase of lands is at present carrying out construction.

Innotech has bought this land in the same area from a Ali/Lombardi an Indo-Guyanese for the project. The well has been dug and road constructed across the said land.

This was one of 3 videos showing the cutting of the road and the well for the same.

We just had a marked change in our judicial system and Knighthoods bestowed. Yet that person has sat on this matter and prevent further progress on the matter when a class action suit was filed. Refused to follow the judges instructions, agreed to mediation for a settlement and later refused to do so. I am privy to the documents filed and utterances that speaks to the untruths in this matter. There are a number of farmers who can not have a sustainable lifestyle due to this issue not being resolved.  I guess when you are on a retainer from Shell the blinkers allows only tunnel vision and not to your country man.

44 responses to “Farmers Continue to Suffer Injustice: Elites Permitted to Exploit Contaminated Pegwell and Gibbons”

1. Sellout lawyers, sell out judges, sellout governments, the picture is very clear.

2. Farmers crying out for justice seeking compensation from govt
    Govt refuses to settle
    But govt can take up tax payers money and build houses for squatters
    Squatters who never paid a dime in taxes

3. Did you even understand the article posted before rushing to comment?

4. Yeap understand maybe better than you
    The story is clear the long and short being and injustice has occured that needs resolution
    Your problem is to encourage wrong for the powerful
    A wrong which strips away the rights of the underdog
    That is your problem

5. Ask Estwick.

6. It is a strange place.A place where all issues are measured using the BDLP divide as the yardstick. Reduced to a B or D thing.

There are no victims. Forget about relief as the can is kicked down the road or the cap is fitted to another. Perhaps if the focus was on the victims we could end in a different place.

Even this comment which points at the two parties will be dissected and put in one of the two bins.

Hey B, D or possibly otherwise… Have a great day

Have a great day, Barbados.

…. I just recalled when someone was putting my “Have a great day” in one of the bins. That’s how we roll ….

Have a great day.

7. “Perhaps if the focus was on the victims we could end in a different place.”

the victims are always blamed, human rights violations rule…that is what must be exposed to the world and stripped down, with all the practitioners exposed daily, weekly, monthy, yearly, and every decade…make them world famous, punching above their weight, always seeking world attention…there could not be a better time..

8. 300,000 gallons of A1 Jet fuel,

desalination plant or decontamination plant ?

9. Here we go again. Some people are conveniently ignoring the author wrote “the land in Pegwell and Gibbon Boggs that has been condemned for the last 20 years and land owners and farmers not yet compensated for loss of crops and use of theirs lands,” which means this problem ‘spanned’ successive BLP and DLP administrations.

When their political party was ‘in power’ and then agriculture minister David Estwick did not address the problem, these same people couldn’t care less ‘an injustice occurred that needed a resolution.’ They chose to remain silent and, by doing so, “encouraged wrong for the powerful.”

Now the issue has resurfaced under this BLP administration, the hypocrites are ‘talking’ about stripping away the rights of the underdog.”

It seems as though we prefer to politicize issues, rather than acknowledge we have a problem.

10. Thanks Artax. We need to resolve these kinds of matters fairly. Instead there is a bureaucratic setup heavily influenced by the politics of the day.

11. Artax so now that you have proceeded and infer my comments as politically biased
    What is your opinion on the issue in its present state under Mia leadership
    Ammm

12. Do not work on any marijuana slave plantations in Barbados, do so at your own risk, no one is going to save or free you from slavery if you do, ya had years of warnings, you are being set up by the black faces in the parliament again, as usual.

http://www.afrikanheritage.com/carceral-cannabis/?fbclid=IwAR0Dif0BorjgvorYcj1qobJqgeC7n0wxcHU5biCmdAPNgO0sO2R-Kv3bmDI

13. @ Mariposa

Although on occasion you may post ‘spot on’ comments, more often than not, the majority of your contributions are “politically biased.” Anyone who ‘says’ otherwise would not only be hypocritical, but dishonest as well.

However, my opinion is, since this Mia Mottley led BLP administration inherited the problem, the onus is on them to resolve it as soon as possible.

14. Artax

My opinion is as follow

Since this Mia Mottley led BLP administration inherited the problem, the onus is on them to resolve it as soon as possible.

15. Hmmmm……

I can’t believe we have the same opinion.

And, it only took you four contributions and a lot of ‘political melodramatics’ to realise it.

16. On another note, what’s wrong with UPS Barbados, they refuse to notify people when their packages arrive, then when it’s been confirmed that the package is on island, refuse to answer or return any calls from the owners who are querying, despite knowing that they have tracking numbers, then 3-4 weeks later after dodging the customers got the nerve to tell them the package is being labeled as abandoned, so does that mean yall are infested with thieves eyeing people’s packages, well hear this now, your corporate office which IS NOT IN BARBADOS will be hearing all about it…yall incompetent, unprofessional fools.

17. @Artax

Rolling ny eyes

18. BU gang again.

19. @enuff

Why not shed light where there is darkness?

20. Farmers will continue to suffer injustices for a lot of reasons.

Amongst these is the relative or perceived value in relationship to other sectors.

It certainly does not help farmers, who should be some of the most important people around, when we are signatories to the WTO.

The WTO as a function of the second globalization period behaves in ways not dissimilar to the first.

21. @Pacha

It does not help that Shell and others have used deep pockets to their advantage. Those with deep pockets in most if not all democracies have this as a benefit. In theory the government is support to be the guardian of the vulnerable in society. Regrettably this is served in the breech.

22. David
    These are the same people favoured by all the governing systems.

In this, the guvment was never about any vulnerable sets. The reverse has always been the case.

We know it is fashionable for Mugabe to often say this as here favourite meme but nowhere in Christendom are any “vulnerables” the central focus of any administration.

23. It is timely the breath of your comment to include global systems. This is the big wart metastasizing on the backside of the democracy we promote- a political class that panders to the whims of the economic elite because he who has the money gets to crack the whip.

24. LONDON (Reuters) – Royal Dutch Shell’s oil traders in the Caribbean island of Barbados are getting ready for a tough gig – they’re being moved to the Bahamas next month.

https://www.reuters.com/article/us-shell-trading-bahamas-idUSKBN1L214I

25. Barbados only represents a subset of forces enabled by elsewhere.

Yes, there are some marginal things we can influence. These can in no way change the fundamentals.

26. But the ignorant black face frauds in the parliament who have cultivated black on black racism for over 60 years believes this is a good look, make a bunch of halfassed evil trash racists feel comfortable, so that the sellouts of parliament can boast of tourism numbers while making local and visiting blacks feel uncomfortable……Mia can whine about mental slavery all she wants, but she better do something to change the toxic societal black selfhatred derived from the political nastiness of DBLP….

Pacha…. “Yes, there are some marginal things we can influence. These can in no way change the fundamentals.”

Nyobi D. Naziah
    teSp11fonoSsoredh ·
    Bajans is it years of governmennt policy that has made you ashamed of being black? A Puerto Rican New York resident of White appearance tarvelled to Barbados last year with her Mother who is of visible Black appearance. Anyone familiar with Latin American ethinic heritage knows this feature is quite common within their communty. The young lady whose mother has vowed not to return to Barbados, did a public write up, which drew quite a large response, to the prejudice her mother faced in Barbados by Black Bajan “locals”. Much like the stories told by Nigerian author Chibun Onuzu when describing her recent stay in Barbados to the Guardian newspaper, this Puerto Rican New Yorker had a similar tale. Barbados this is heavily embarrasing. The pretty hair, pretty skin culture and mentality is live and in full effect on the island of Barbados. The legal treatment of non law abiding white people in Barbados compared to that of the black resident or visitor’s is completely different. Self hatred and xenophobia is spread via government directive and policy in Barbados. We can not say there is in not a fundamental problem relating to race in Barbados, which is partially encouraged by the policies of the political elite. This is a sad indictment of the governing of Barbados since so called independence. A large majority of bajan people have no self love or value for the colour of their skin. Therefore, they routinely project self hatred on to other black foreign residents and black tourist visiting their shores. We can not speak of racial issues abroad when we have such a terrible racial situation going on right here Bim. The worrying thing is that we have not even included the racism and prejudiced displayed by many Bajan whites and foreign white residents and visitors to so called black people in Barbados. The whole thing is a mess, it has arguably become prevalent since the MIa Mottley led BLP took office in 2018. Much like the overt racism in america did with the election of Donald Trump, Barbados has gone backward in race relatins since the election of Mia Mottley. Had Mia been the hue of her two full biological brothers, would black bajans view the worsening race situation on the ground the same way?

27. The last sentence is puzzling, in spite of what some burnt fowl nuisances BU like to project, Mia is a black ass woman, with black skin, no matter the pretence otherwise, no different in hue to her black brothers, black father, uncle, mother..who are all black people, hope they are not pretending to be other than Black, it would be laughable given their black skins.

Many Black visitors some with parents of black, white and other mixed lineage are complaining internationally, very publicly about the dirty racism directed at black people by both black, whites and others in Barbados, the island is now known as a CESSPIT OF RACISM, hope yall are proud, watch muh nuh, punching above their racist weight…frauds…

28. When are we going to hear the outcome of the Tinie Tempah row at the Irish-owned Sandy Lane?

29. Why is Barbados not feeling any embarrassment about this, it’s been going on and on, and complained about for many decades. Yall should feel ashamed, it’s nothing to be proud about, false pride is out of style, just a matter of time before visitors decide it’s too embarrassing to be tourists in the racist cesspit that’s Barbados….the exposure is only going to get worse…but keep it up, happy to see the poisonous racism that yall maintained, supported, enabled and condoned against Black people in a 97% black country with their own money, is what will bring ya to ya knees….karma and retribution…

a bunch of useless racist hotels sucking on the Black taxpaying population, staying open to be racist, and that makes perfect sense to the black faces in parliament. They were warned for years about the social destruction that accompanies racism, but refused to reverse the black on black self-hatred, same hypocrites running to the continent pretending they are black, that is not how it works in Africa, yall are right where ya should be, stuck on a toxic racist island,with the know how to keep the ugly structure in place but don’t know how to tear it down.

30. @ a Pacha
    It seems that we are so intellectually enslaved to foreign imperialism that we can’t use our fertile intellects to see or at least think beyond such construct.
    And that is perhaps the biggest problem we confront. This will guarantee another four hundred years of economic slavery. In other words, there is great distance between acknowledging a problem and solving it. And that is exactly where we are stuck.
    The struggle continues

31. “This will guarantee another four hundred years of economic slavery.”

William maybe in Barbados and in any other islands with very weak leadership, definitely, but not in certain countries where the African populations already figured out what’s about to happen because they did not immerse themselves in the 400 years of outright lies and inhumanity, some have levels of information at their disposal to guide, certain things cannot even be said on forums like BU because both governments blatantly refused to move away from various forms of enslavement of the population and now represent a danger to others, Barbados and other islands refused to upgrade the education system from colonial lies….so it’s their funeral….hope not literally.

32. “This will guarantee another four hundred years of economic slavery.”

William maybe in Barbados and in any other islands with very weak leadership, definitely, but not in certain countries where the African populations already figured out what’s about to happen because they did not immerse themselves in the 400 years of outright lies and inhumanity, some have levels of information at their disposal to guide, certain things cannot even be said on forums like BU because both governments blatantly refused to move away from various forms of enslavement of the population and now represent a danger to others, Barbados and other islands refused to upgrade the education system from colonial lies….so it’s their funeral….hope not literally.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

YOU ARE LIVING IN A FANTASY WORLD.

I MEET HUNDREDS OF AFRICANS RUNNING FROM ECONOMIC AND WAR INFLICTED BY THEIR OWN PEOPLE ON A WEEKLY BASIS SEEKING REFUGEE STATUS.

CAMEROON, NIGERIA, ETHIOPIA, GHANA, UGANA, SOMALIA ETC.

33. UGANDA

34. @ Baje

Look at the mass murders and kidnappings in Nigeria. Our Africanists still believe that because we are all black that Caribbean people and Africans are brothers. They should talk to returnees. We live in a fantasy world.

35. Something is clearly wrong with the likes of WURA and Hal. Them need exorcising.

36. @ Baje

Look at the mass murders and kidnappings in Nigeria. Our Africanists still believe that because we are all black that Caribbean people and Africans are brothers. They should talk to returnees. We live in a fantasy world.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

IN CAMEROON BLACKS WHO WERE COLONIZED IN ONE PART OF THE COUNTRY BY THE FRENCH ARE KILLING THEIR OWN BLACK BROTHERS AND SISTERS WHO WERE COLONIZED BY THE ENGLISH ON THE OTHER SIDE OF THE COUNTRY SO FAR KILLING MANY MANY THOUSANDS IN 2020 AND PRIOR IN A CIVIL WAR.

THE WHITE COLONIZERS BOTH FRENCH AND ENGLISH HAVE TAUGHT THEM WELL IN DIVIDE AND RULE WHILST THEY RAPE THE COUNTRY OF ITS NATURAL RESOURCES AND THE BLACK NATIVES KILL EACH OTHER UP TO TODAY.

THOUSANDS HAVE FLED TO THE WEST FOR REFUGEE STATUS AND I HAVE SPOKEN TO A NUMBER ESPECIALLY THE ONES SPEAKING ENGLISH WHICH IS HOW IN LEARNED WHAT WAS HAPPENING ON THE GROUND WHEN I FIRST MET AN ENGLISH SPEAKING GROUP IN 2018.

37. Talking out of both sides of the mouth is a particular person.

Most of Africa suffered the same colonisation and still suffers from the after effects.

Black people worldwide are in need of rehabilitation in every respect.

We need to calmly and logically dismantle the mental slavery and colonisation that still lingers.

I just do not believe that ranting and raving incessantly will accomplish anything.

We need to calmly ventilate and educate towards healing the mental scars. We need to reclaim our culture and rid ourselves of the Eurocentric world view.

And yes, we do need to agitate but armed with truth, knowledge and a reasoned plan. We also need to understand that we must commit to maintain sustained rather than spasmodic pressure. Nothing is accomplished that way.

Our parents abandoned the struggle before the mission was fully accomplished. They were content with half a loaf. Now we must pick up the struggle again in the manner of our grandparents.

But we must be smart! We must move with cool heads because somehow cool heads always seem to prevail.

38. “THE WHITE COLONIZERS BOTH FRENCH AND ENGLISH HAVE TAUGHT THEM WELL IN DIVIDE AND RULE WHILST THEY RAPE THE COUNTRY OF ITS NATURAL RESOURCES AND THE BLACK NATIVES KILL EACH OTHER UP TO TODAY.”

Some are too full of their own shit to see or articulate any of that, some things are best left unsaid or ya just repeat all the time, because, by design, their heads are also well fcuked up…lol…something like Fowl Slave Enuff, who don’t know if they’re coming or going…..🤣🤣😂😂..don’t even know that they’re still colonized and mentally enslaved, just like Nigerians..same uppity shite, knowing not that they know not, and first thing they’ll tell ya is how superior and educated they are with executive jobs and a lot of shite, those are Elizabeth’s slaves, best left alone…..they’re off limits, ah can’t wait to see them in shackles and chains again…

39. “YOU ARE LIVING IN A FANTASY WORLD”

i know most people in Barbados and around the Caribbean don’t consider themselves Africans, don’t know what or who they think they are, kick them out of Barbados or whereever they are and they’ll be stateless because they don’t view Africa as their homeland, they thought they were british and got a rude awakening with Windrush, even those born in UK are liable to be shut out or deported even if ya white as the half-assed rejects in Barbados how they got on the island, but i consider myself African and so do most of the 400 million Africans in the diaspora…,,who are AFRICAN POPULATIONS..so when i speak of Africans, i mean those in the Diaspora unless i directly speak of African countries that i know by identity, commmunicate with on a daily basis, which don’t all have conflicts and these countries are SO HUGE that conflict does not touch everyone living there even if widespread…there are 55 AFRICAN COUNTRIES…christ, wrap ya head around that…most are so big it will take decades to visit all.

not everyone in the diaspora has access to certain information…but many do.

but not in “certain countries” where the “African populations” already figured out what’s about to happen because they did not immerse themselves in the 400 years of outright lies and inhumanity, some have levels of information at their disposal to guide…..,

40. That’s part of the problem in Black Barbados, they’ve embraced racist idiot ideologies so closely that they can no identify with being African, lost identity, lots of self-hate to the point that racism against each other seems so normal….yall have to work on reclaiming ya identity, ah can’t help ya…..already reclaimed mine decades ago and drew up boundaries so there are just certain things i will no longer do or even say.

just imagine if…Canada, US, UK etc says all African descendants leave, including their colonies, remember, ya don’t even think that ya are African, lost all connections…..no, the islands are not yours, and ya are an even bigger idiot to believe that they are…….where does that leave yall…think about it…ah don’t even want to know the answer, i already got mine, that’s more than idiot Enuff for me.

41. And as usual, yall are so far behind, there are those 20-30 years ahead in that regard of reclaiming what’s rightfully theirs, retrieving their ancestral identity, yes, those from the diaspora including the Caribbean made moves decades ago, while everyone else was still pretending to be more english and racist than the british, talking utter shite about who was the better and best slaves, gushing about how proud they are and all….but i do wish everyone the best of luck…..in catching up.

42. Oh well, one island is welcoming Caricom tourists, they won’t have to worry about black on black racism at least, even people from Barbados are being invited.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/12/15/dominica-woos-caribbean-travellers/

“Dominica, the beautiful nature isle, is welcoming Barbadians and other regional tourists to experience the wonders the island has to offer with a new marketing campaign called Sa Ka Fête Dominica.

The initiative, which was launched last Thursday invites visitors to Dominica with special packages, encouraging persons to encounter the rich, vibrant culture to help stimulate travel winto the island.

Sa Ka Fête, which when translated from creole means “What’s Up?” also sends a message to tourists that Dominica is opened for business, specifically targeting travellers from the CARICOM ‘Travel Bubble’ and destinations classified as low risk.”

43. Where are the protocols
    Where are the protocols policemen those that hustled local business in bridgetown and other areas across barbados for breaking protocols
    Look at these pics all happening on boxing day

https://www.facebook.com/watch/?v=405137913938080