For decades, this week has traditionally marked the start of the critical winter season where visitor arrivals and occupancy soar and when many of our hotels and tourism enterprises achieve their most lucrative rates, which during normal times, significantly contributes to absorbing operational costs during the longer softer summer season.

While the introduction of a Covid-19 vaccine has offered hope for a return to some normality in months to come, it will clearly be some time until visitor numbers return to anything like we have almost taken for granted in years past.

Consolidation of flights from major markets continue with the ongoing disruption this causes to the traveller, hotels and other accommodation options. I would imagine now that our tourism policymakers are now looking very carefully at the demographic make-up of what might become the ‘typical visitor’ to our shores over the next few months, so they can best target any promotional and marketing efforts into appealing to those most likely to travel.

There is a real danger that price may be deemed as the greatest incentive to drive arrival numbers and for many in the tourism sector that could seem the easiest option, if only just to create some vitally needed cash flow and attempt to pay the mounting bills and financial obligations.

This approach seems to have been adopted by the cruise sector, whose major players are currently offering rates as low at US$28 per person per day for sailings set to resume from US ports as early as 1st August 2021.
This, while tens of thousands of would be passengers are still awaiting refunds for cancelled cruises over the last eight months.

Ultimately, we all know it will be the taxpayer that picks up the ‘national’ cost of the pandemic. But in the interim, is there anything more that Governments’ can do to speed recovery?

I believe the answer to that is a definite YES!

Despite all the various lobbying, at the least from what has been our largest single market, the United Kingdom, over half the cost of flying on the lowest cost return economy ticket from Gatwick, Heathrow or Manchester is taken up in taxes. First the APD (Air Passenger Duty) amounting to a minimum of GB Pounds 80 rising to a staggering GB Pounds 528 per person for business and first class fares. It is estimated that APD contributed over GB Pounds 3.7 billion to the British Treasury last year.

Secondly, the two departure taxes ‘we’ impose of at least BDS$195 per person for all flights. With the single exception of those wholly within CariCom, that are BDS$70 less.

Government has to decide if it just the private sector who are expected to absorb the significant losses to the entire tourism industry during 2020 and beyond. Or are they going to share that enormous burden to help speed recovery?

133 responses to “Adrian Loveridge Column – Need to Share COVID 19 Cost”

1. BAJE December 14, 2020 11:26 AM “OVER 500,000 AMERICANS IN THE LAST COUPLE OF MONTHS HAVE FLOCKED TO MEXICO RESORTS WHERE THEY DON’T REQUIRE COVID 19 NEGATIVE TESTS AND NO QUARANTINE”

Updated: Grenada moves to contain a Covid outbreak connected to Sandals resort

“…The sudden spike in Covid cases originated at Sandals Grenada and demonstrates the grave dangers we face,” Mitchell said. “The grim reality is that 13 people from one household have tested positive, based on a staff member’s exposure to Covid. It cannot be determined at this time that this was due to a breakdown in the application of the resort’s protocols, but we must enforce the law. “The Ministry of Health is revisiting the protocols for all hotels and resorts,” Mitchell said. “The magnitude of this new cluster of cases means it is not business as usual during this holiday season….”
    More here: https://www.travelweekly.com/Caribbean-Travel/Grenada-moving-to-contain-a-Covid-19-outbreak-Sandals

Baje my brother this COVID-19thing int easy at all, at all.

2. United States Covid19 deaths, 308,091 Deaths per million people in the United States.928
    Mexico Covid19 deaths 114,298. Deaths per million people in Mexico 882

Barbados Covid-19 deaths, 7. Deaths per million people in Barbados 24.

I have asked already for some of the big tlkers on this blog to volunteer so that we can catch up with the deaths per million of the United States, Unted Kingdom, U.K etc. but nobody as volunteered.

I have a suggestion, if you don’t want to die of Covid-19 just now you can always nominate your favourite relative, maybe your favourite granny, then you can kill 2 birds with one stone. Kill the old bird with Covid-19, and just in case she was planning to leave a li’l berry for you , then you can get it all the sooner.

Any takers?

3. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

You see how BLACK PEOPLE are being treated?????

https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/12/15/waiting-in-vain.

“Months after being promised severance payments from the National Insurance Scheme (NIS), dozens of former workers at the Cliff Restaurant are yet to be paid and vowed continued protests outside the benefits agency.”

They should not be protesting out side the benefits agency, it is not the benefits agency that owes them . They should be protesting outside the company that laid them off and wont pay them. Imagine a company that won World awards but refuses to pay their former workers who helped them to win such accolades.

4. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

i remember once having the unfortunate experience of having Dinner at the THE CLIFF Rest..

When they brought the bill I thought that it a Mortgage payment and Car payment all rolled into one. I could not believe it the Dinner bill.

5. It just shows your idiocy that you would dine at a restaurant before doing due diligence in order to ascertain if Mustor should have been your first choice… LOL

6. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

And that was the norm for this establishment. They have made MILLIONS OF DOLLARS over the years and now don’t want to pay their ex. staff from their accumulated profits. The NIS must pay. I never heard such madness.

It will be interesting to see if the Barbados Labour Party Govt. will pick the tab on the behalf of these FILTHY RICH WHITE PEOPLE.

People who can pay. I am watching.

7. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

Mustor does Dinner as well????

8. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

If they don’t pay Severance pay then seize some of their assets.

9. Just tead this morning that an unemployed PSV driver was ordered to pay the court 400 dollars by Jan21st. or go to jail for a period of time if he does not pay the fine
    Reason being he played music and was driving without a license
    The judge in her opinions told the PSV driver that he broke the law when the driver tried to defend his actions
    Meanwhile the real crooks are walking around with smiles on their faces and govt proposing to bail them out and refuse to bring them before a judge for high crimes against govt and workers

10. Cadogan should tell BU bout the unfinished school meals building in Six Roads since he knows so much.🤣🤣

11. @ David BU

I though everyone knew The Cliff is an upscaled restaurant. But, your friend Carson C shouldn’t be upset, because prices of food and beverages are usually stated on the menu and he would’ve had an idea how much the meal would’ve cost him.

Perhaps his was a case of ‘champagne mouth and mauby pockets?’

12. @Artax

Perhaps it is a case of playing the ass on the blog.

13. @ David BU

That, too.

Hahahahahahahahahahaha…….

14. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

You don’t want the Govt.to know that they can pay and wont.

And you are vex with me because because I am not singing out of your hymn book like many of the rest on the Blog?

15. You are not singing, you are braying.

16. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

Yeah right, anything to do with BLACK PEOPLE is braying.

They are only JACKASSES to be ridden by the other races. We must never say a good word about BLACK PEOPLE

17. @Mariposa
    Boy… Am I going to get a bad name.
    Driving without a license probably means he does not have the required insurance. What if he gets in an accident and someone get hurts.

There are some places where you have to draw a line.

You stop, girl.

18. “What if he gets in an accident and someone get hurts.”

Hmmmmm………

I thought about asking a similar question, but declined to do so out of fear.

19. @Mariposa
    Just tead this morning that an unemployed PSV driver was ordered to pay the court 400 dollars by Jan21st. or go to jail for a period of time if he does not pay the fine
    Reason being he played music and was driving without a license
    The judge in her opinions told the PSV driver that he broke the law when the driver tried to defend his actions
    +++++++++++++++++++
    Earlier today you wrote that you haven’t turned on your TV in years, when did you turn off your brain?
    Why don’t you learn to pick your spots instead of displaying your idiocy of defending a man who drove without a license.

20. Doesn’t matter unless it is their relative. Was in the bank line today speaking with a lady whose nephew has been paralysed by a car accident. Don’t know the lady but I heard the whole story of the struggle to cope with these new circumstances. It is not easy.

Driving without a licence is a SERIOUS matter that will affect more black people in Barbados than any other race simply because of our numbers.

21. Hard to take whiners seriously who were laughing up to May 24th, 2018. No fundamental changes since then.

Like Paul who once was Saul,
    zealously persecuting the Xtians right up until his 180 on the road to Damascus, now converted to Big Chief Xtian Advocate.

When did Triple C first see the light? At sunrise May 25th, 2018?

22. Those who have commented on the news article i referenced just cant help but by pass the obvious that being we have a system of goverance who would go to the extreme to lock up or sentence blacks for all and any crime while the big mcguffies loot workers and the treasury
    Dont even know why i even response
    However i did so because those on BU that consider themselves intelligent seeems to only see the bad in blacks but for whatever reason give the white man or those considered privilege many passes
    I will continue to draw attention to the inequality in the justice system and govt allowing crooks at the higher end of the economic spectrum get away with breaking the law while blacks have to face the judge
    Call me ignorant or foolish wrong is wrong

23. @ Sargeant
    I am going to explain to you what is an idiot brain
    One that belives Kamala Harris is black because the media say so
    You got plenty nerve to tell me how to think when you have run a full 4 year marathon listening to the white media telling u how to think and who to belive in America politics
    By now yuh brain might be looking like scrambled eggs

24. Mariposa you are a jackass plain and simple .How the hell you can come here and defend someone who was driving without a licence.Just shows the level of idiocy displayed by you daily.Where is your big supporter Austin on this comment.Notice he never appears when she talks shite.As for CCC i too want to know if you or Mr Blackett paid the poor lady,s light bill yet? Yet you care about poor people damn hyprocrite.Why don, t you go back under the rock you were hiding under for two years until the election is called in 2023 when hopefully you will be washed off again.

25. Lorenzo
    You are the bigger jack a.ss where did i defend any illegal behavior
    Matter of fact those who are condoning illegal acts is this govt knowing and having evidence that there are employers who have refused to pay their employees Severance pay
    Also have refused to pay their dues to the treasury
    The evidence is there for all to see
    Better yet lorenzo why dont you ask govt what is govt going to do about these illlegal acts done by these rogue employers
    The message is not about me my message denounces unfair justice a justice that places its long arm on some predominately black and looks the other way for whites

26. Day after day workers are begging for their earnings
    Day after day the blacks are brought before a judge for breaking the law
    Yet to see one white employer who breaks the law in acts deemed as illegal against the worker and state brought before a judge
    Then yuh have the uncle Toms quick to throw a poor black person under the grinding wheels of justice because a law was broken
    But slow to response or equat or connect to an injustice which gives whites a pass
    Then when the unfair and unequal tentacles of justice is brought to attention the messenger is assassinated
    Those who dont like my perspective can scroll by
    A perspective which brings forth injustices which cannot be overlooked

27. Another reason for highlighting inequality and injustice while govt twiddle its fingers

I had the honour of standing in solidarity with the former employees of the Cliff Restuarant yesterday as they stage their protest in front of the NIS building.

The couple hours spent with them was worth it. I was given an update on what is really going on with these workers. These workers are fully aware that their are being taken advantage of by both their government and former employer.

Government is in bed with these employers and is prepared to sell workers out at all cost. It is most unfortunate that a government that was given overwhelming support from black working class Barbadians are now openly demonstrating that it is unapologetically prepared to use their mandate to further advance the cause of the white monopoly capital class.

Hotels are being sold or lease but ending up in the hands of the same owners with only a change of name of the business and manager. Hoteliers are enjoying lavished lifestyles while employees are refused their just compensation.

I will continue to monitor the progress of these workers in their fight against this government and their friends in the capital class. Suffice it to say that I hope this and the other issues plaguing workers across the country will be remembered whenever the next general election is called.

Copied from a fb page

28. https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/12/08/unemployed-psv-driver-fined-400/

If you’re referring to the above news story, then, you’ve misrepresented the facts. I did not read anywhere in the article that the guy was charged for driving without a license. He was reported and charged for committing two traffic offences. (1) Being off route, for which he was ‘reprimanded and discharged,’ and (2) playing loud music on a PSV, for which he was fined $400 to be paid by January 7, 2021.

RE: “…………and govt allowing crooks……..”

There you go. You’re essentially ‘saying’ ‘government,’ not Magistrates or Judges………..(and by ‘government,’ you mean the BLP), is responsible for the “inequality in the justice system.”

With that aside, I understand the point you’re trying to make. But, using a guy who was fined for playing loud music on a ‘ZR,’ may not have been an appropriate example.

Your point of the “inequality in the justice system’ would have been better represented if you had given an example where two first time offenders, ‘P’ from a rural district and ‘R’ from a gated community, faced the Court on similar charges…….. and while ‘P’ was imprisoned, ‘R’ was fined.

29. @Mariposa
    Let me spell it out to you one more time, Kamala said she is Black, she said her mother raised two Black girls, she went to a Black HBCU and pledged to a Black fraternity. I didn’t follow the media’s reporting on her race. Obama’s parents are of two different races but he said he is Black and that is how he is perceived in in the US and all over the world are you going to state that I followed the media on that?

It takes a special kind of person, who in trying to criticize the Gov’t comes to the defense of a person who was convicted of driving without a license among other charges, as I said you should learn to pick your spots instead of flying off willy-nilly trying to pin every issue at the hands of the Government.

30. Let me make it clear my point for referencing these cases are so done to emphasis that blacks are hauled before judges at warp speed for infractions or other crimes pretaining to breaking the law
    While the whites as seen presently are nestled and protected under the comfort of govt arm for illegal acts much worse
    Even worse is when govt makes bold statements to correct these employers illegal actions
    Either by dismissing the illegality or rewarding them with by writing laws that would not bring these employers before the judge
    What could be worse than those two examples
    The guy driving without a license or an employer who sets out to steal from enployees and govt
    Wrong is wrong not only for one side but for the other as well
    Not gonna to head down the gottcha rabbit hole

31. Sargeant not worth even answering yuh ignorant response coming from a person who take white media word for defining black ethnicity

32. My final word

Never argue with a fool, onlookers may not be able to tell the difference.

33. @Sargeant

My final word

Never argue with a fool, onlookers may not be able to tell the difference

34. Ma riposa

What is the penalty for breaking a labour law ?
    You can use refusing to pay severance as an example

35. Hotels are being sold or lease but ending up in the hands of the same owners with only a change of name of the business and manager. Hoteliers are enjoying lavished lifestyles while employees are refused their just compensation.

Xxxxxxxcxcxx

THIS IS THE WHITE BOYS BIGGEST SCAM IN BARBADOS GOING ON FOR YEARS PERFECTED BY THE MANNINGS FAMILY OF THE BLACK BESS QUARRY AND WAY TOO MANY ASSOCIATED COMPANIES CLOSED DOWN AND OPEN UNDER ANOTHER NAME LEAVING CREDITORS AND SOME FORMER BLACK LOCAL STAFF NOT REHIRED AND SUFFERING WITH LACK OF PAYMENTS AND BENEFITS OVER A 20 YEAR PERIOD.

THESE ARE SERIOUS RACKETEERS WITH $$$MILLION BUSINESSES.

BLACKS NEEDS TO STOP LOOKING AT EACH OTHER AND LOOK AT THE TRUE SOPHISTICATED CRIMINALS ON THE 2 X 3 ISLAND.

36. It is rather unfortunate that you did not take a similar position of defending the poor Black people who were retrenched from the NCC in 2014 and had to take their case before the ERT, only to be awarded payment on Friday, July 15, 2016.

You also refused to stand in solidarity with the former employees of Beautify Barbados who were protesting ‘government’ for their severance payments for over THREE (3) YEARS. Instead, you remained steadfast in coming on BU to defend the former administration, rather than condemn them for engaging in what you now call “illegal actions.”

Or, how about the former retrenched Transport Board employees that were promised severance payments on three (3) different occasions, only to be told payments were not forth coming each time they gathered at the TB’s Weymouth Headquarters. When their protests were highlighted by the media, someone leaked information from former employee Lisa Marshall’s personal file to suggest she stole money from TB. You were the first one on BU to CONDEMN the protests and called Lisa a thief.

However, I must admit I’m extremely happy you suddenly had a ‘change of heart’ and realised it is WRONG for any employer to with-hold an employee’s severance payments when they are due.

37. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

Oh, some of you people HATE BLACK PEOPLE. I don’t know what they have done you. You are only BLACK BY ACCIDENT. Any other race but the BLACK RACE.

At any cost.

38. Why is it so difficult for you knuckled heads to appreciate what @ mariposa is trying to convey regarding the PSV driver? All of you RH duncy schmucks have stupidly gone off about little shit willfully and deliberately hiding from the truth. So what if the fool got into an accident while driving without a license? What if the legal/judiciary so zealously went after those who are doing worse to US and Barbados? You knuckleheads have adopted a coping mechanism of seeing the RH trees and leaving the forest. like when people are shitting on you, you declare yuh can’t eat the money…f$cking schmucks.

39. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

Sorry to burst your bubble guys. But we are just 10 days away from Christmas. Many, many, many Black workers have not been paid their monies. Their former employers have refused to pay them. The Govt. has refused to pay them, so they left like a ship without a rudder.

This is not fair to the workers who were constantly being told by their former employers that were special. No money , no jobs, cant buy food , cant pay their bills. Saving used up, they are being set back 20 years in time. Their employers don’t give a damn about them. They could very well be facing the Blackest Christmas of their lives.

But their former employers will be enjoying a very white and Merry Christmas.

40. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

By the way, when is the Govt. going to give back refunds from the Treasury?????

41. Mia always red eyeing how much money the world bank has, instead of creating ways to earn wealth, she wants free hand outs hence the reluctance to repay, so just like the retarded DLP, make 🇧🇧🇧🇧a pop down poor country , shitty schools bad health care / infrastructure, those are the only conditions for debt relief,/ continued funds , the most lazy leader this country ever had, if only she would let the elected ministers shine, we would bounce back ,to former glory, but she is afraid of being out shone, she only has a sweet mouth/ tricks, theatrics,

Copied from a fb page

42. @ Baje

The way round this is a new companies Act banning directors of these failed companies from being directors, consultants, advisers or shareholders in any phoenix company, and make the penalty for even attempting to be involved a mandatory prison sentence.
    Anything else is papering over the cracks.

43. Hal not in Barbados govt would not ever implement policies that would hinder investors
    Never ever
    Look how govt revision of the Severance Pay Act which had teeth to support labour strip some of what was given to labour in favour of that which would benefit the employer
    Barbados is a place where the might mostly white have the last word
    As long as the blacks labourers remain docile changes to make their lives better would never happen

44. @ Mariposa

Look at how the president has silenced the unions and the failure of any rising trade union radicals; no community advocacy groups.
    Remember during the Black Lives Matter marches Mr Denny said he would take up the case of the widow of the man killed by police office Gittens.
    Whatever happened to that promise? Remember the Indian woman who claimed she was kidnapped and taken to an ATM, whatever happened to that investigation? Remember the row at the hospital between the top doctors? Whatever happened to that case?
    But what do we get? When the tide is in every boat floats; when it goes out is when we see the jetsam and flotsam. We are seeing that now with our so-called business community, the zombie companies which used VAT, national insurance contribution and low wages to keep afloat.
    The Barbados business community has failed – black and white. The New Barbadians will take over in time.

45. Oh no. We did not miss Mariposa’s point. We have made the point of unequal “justice” on numerous occasions. However, we do not trivialise the potentially life upending offence of driving without a licence.

We suspect you will continue to do so until such an offender “licks you up”. Or maybe you are able to cover yourself to compensate for the offender’s lack of insurance coverage. Many other black people are too poor and suffer immensely when such happens to them.

When making a point one should use adequate examples and analogies.

46. Well said.
    —-x—–

Accidentally black? Pick-a-noise, throw shade, salemites, overseas crew, ‘unpatriotic’, knuckle head

Not recognizing myself anymore
    —-x—–
    Accidental or not, black or otherwise, overseas or local …
    Have a great day

47. Look how Thatcher and Regan silenced the unions.

48. Somebodies miss the point cause for one Mariposa never said that a wrong should become a right
    Mariposa examples were simply to bring attention on how quick the legal arms of justice can throw a net over blacks who break the law
    While govt cuddle and reward the crooks predominately white businesses in a justifiable manner without seeking legal remedy
    Mostly in all of my comments i said wrong is wrong
    However the demonizing of Mariposa was the full intent
    I get it lol

Leave a Reply to John ACancel reply