Submitted by Roslyn Shepherd

Post Covid 19, we need to look at matters from a different perspective rather than rehash and complain about the scary economic and financial reality.  Big business is all about profit, not about the outlay of money without a future gain.  Against the contraction in business, banks will continue to sell off shares and/or downsize and move most of their business to automated platforms.  More than likely, unemployment will continue to increase while wages contract.  We need to bring a different approach to acquiring skills as well as the work world. 

It is all about attitude and developing passion as well as looking for your niche; so said a technical guy I know.  He expands this thoughts, saying I believe in layering a foundation of base skills that interlace and allow the fluidity of moving between disciplines as well as the cross borrowing of ideas with the benefit of seeing broader possibilities for solutions.  To this end he decided to conquer six (6) skills, all of which he started at the same time.  The aim was to get a feel of them as well as to determine whether the selection suited his skill set. It was accepted that all could not be done at once.  His approach was supported by the fact that the first curriculum for the first degree was done by someone without a degree and that his non-traditional approach of charting a different pathway might not lead to work but could be of help to those who needed it. Covid interrupted the order of things so he switched to learning programming and electronics especially manufacturers preferred program language and combined that knowledge with what he had previously learnt about sensors, actuators and building devices to help in agriculture.  He continues to incorporate electronics into different agricultural methods.

Wanting to help, he reached out to Barbados representatives in the prior government to ascertain how he could partner with 4-H programs.  No one responded.  His focus is now on helping his country of residence provide food for a food bank.  

He concluded that we do not know how to evaluate talent and this will be part of Barbados’s down fall.  My suggestion is that we must fast track the acquisition of that skill quickly.    

189 responses to “Thinking Outside the Box: The New order of Doing Things”

1. Where is @PLT? Hope the EU and OECD are watching.

2. @PLT

Incorrect and definitely not a fact at all that cannabis farms are in Canada are losing money by the bucketload. Some of my associates are VERY profitable harvesting and selling in excess of 750kgs per month at as low as 50 – 75 cents per gram. In as little as 1 year avenues have opened and in the initial financial wastage is now reined in. Serious global investors are at the table.

I do agree that medical cannabis is a joke as in Canada the literal hundreds of millions are in the recreational cannabis space with flower, prerolls, vapes, edibles and topicals. Just look at the last quarter earnings of some key players and you see vast improvements. Recreational use is where the money is at just like alcohol and tabacco.

Have you ever heard of the medical rum or cigarette industry??? That tells you all you need to know about where the money is in this industry

3. @ Theo

Not only are they not Bajans, but would you buy a second hand car from this guy? I am sure he is right and proper, but has anyone done a background check on him?
    He reminds me of some East Enders here in London. Only Glaswegians can match them. It will end in tears. Now we want to become drug dealers on a grand scale. What a waste of taxpayers’ money on our educational system. Not a single resignation from the Cabinet, nor the police.

4. Miller…the cell-phone photographers are taking photos of the video and going hog wild…….the deceit is indeed ugly…….criminalization of Black people for marijuana and pushing them into poverty while these minority animals are ready to reenslave the population.

5. I do agree that medical cannabis is a joke as in Canada the literal hundreds of millions are in the recreational cannabis space with flower, prerolls, vapes, edibles and topicals. Just look at the last quarter earnings of some key players and you see vast improvements. Recreational use is where the money is at just like alcohol and tabacco.

Have you ever heard of the medical rum or cigarette industry??? That tells you all you need to know about where the money is in this industry

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

THIS IS SAME IN THE USA WHERE RECREATIONAL MARIJUANA HAS BECOME LEGAL IN MANY STATES AND SOLD VIA THOUSANDS OF LICENSED DISPENSARIES.

6. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Mike “BigMike” Straumietis is the founder of Advanced Nutrients. He made his money providing hydroponics equipment to grow ops long before growing ganja became legal in Colorado, Canada or anywhere else. Advanced Nutrients sells a range of chemicals and additives to help grow ops achieve higher yields… this is where the money is for Big Mike. He is going to have a grow op in Barbados which is buying his products and he will make a killing. The grow op itself will be an utter failure because of the lack of market for its product, the high logistics and security costs of transportation, and the fact that very little agroprocessing of the raw weed will take place on island.

This is a transparent and disgusting scam.

7. @ Theo

Not only are they not Bajans, but would you buy a second hand car from this guy? I am sure he is right and proper, but has anyone done a background check on him?
    He reminds me of some East Enders here in London. Only Glaswegians can match them. It will end in tears. Now we want to become drug dealers on a grand scale. What a waste of taxpayers’ money on our educational system. Not a single resignation from the Cabinet, nor the police.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

LOL.

@ Hal

YOU ARE SO RIGHT THIS GUY LOOKED LIKE HE SPENT MANY YEARS IN A BRITISH PRISON.

A LOUT.

ONE CAN’T REALLY MAKE THIS SHIT UP.

BARBADOS IS CONTINUING TO GO BACKWARDS INSTEAD OF FORWARDS.

SMDH.

8. When blacks speak openly about white arrogance and their contempt for blacks
    The black house niggus jumped out like fire flies
    Charles Herbert arrogance one day would do him in

9. @John A

Your point is taken but can you imagine Barbados authorities penalizing a person for throwing away chewing gum in public?

10. @Peter

The big challenge with being highly successful with cannabis production country is the problem associated with banking. Even in Canada and elsewhere it is a problem.

11. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@BajeabroadDecember 6, 2020 3:58 PM
    “Incorrect and definitely not a fact at all that cannabis farms are in Canada are losing money by the bucketload.”
    You are correct, I should have said that the Medical Marijuana industry is loosing money by the bucketload. The artisanal hippies growing BC bud in the forest are doing much the same as they did before legalisation. The industry which scams unwitting investors through companies like Aurora Cannabis (down about 60% year to date) and CannTrust Holdings (down about 80% year to date) is what is losing money by the bucketload.

12. I won’t buy a candy bar from that dude, ya can see he’s a straight up snake oil salesman…

and commonsense would tell the greedy sellout fools that given he’s from US where he could MAKE A HELL OF A LOT MORE MONEY than on the 2×3….that this is a scam, but they’re all involved, hope they all do some prison time in US>

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

13. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal Austin
    I would not even take a free used car from the likes of “Big Mike”. He is a snake oil salesman with no credibility who will only bring disaster to Barbados.

14. Can we discuss issues for a change?

15. Simplistic logic.

The police in Barbados seize marijuana plants from fields and gullies.

We have Bajan farmers who grow vegetables in greenhouses.

Why do you need overseas investors ?

16. @Hants

Given the regulations for producing for medicinal purposes there is a science and investment required. A five year license is 30k to start.

17. (Quote):
    Have you ever heard of the medical rum or cigarette industry??? That tells you all you need to know about where the money is in this industry (Unquote).

Totally on point! Just pure Hypocrisy dressed up as balderdash to make it sound appealing to the anti-marijuana lobby with vested interests in protecting the rum and tobacco industries.

How can you split the plant between its good side (medicinal) and its evil side (used as a culinary ingredient or getting high and relaxing)?

But then again, alcohol- which is the active ingredient in rum- is also used is most medicines.

At one time tobacco in the form of snuff was used as a decongestant and cold relief substance by Europeans.

Even up to the 1960’s cigarettes was advertised by ‘doctors’ as good for one’s health.

BTW, why does the government allow the importation of wrappers when hardly anyone in Barbados rolls tobacco ?

18. Mike “BigMike” Straumietis is the founder of Advanced Nutrients. He made his money providing hydroponics equipment to grow ops long before growing ganja became legal in Colorado, Canada or anywhere else. Advanced Nutrients sells a range of chemicals and additives to help grow ops achieve higher yields… this is where the money is for Big Mike. He is going to have a grow op in Barbados which is buying his products and he will make a killing. The grow op itself will be an utter failure because of the lack of market for its product, the high logistics and security costs of transportation, and the fact that very little agroprocessing of the raw weed will take place on island.

This is a transparent and disgusting scam.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

WHAT ABOUT THE BIGGEST SCAM OF ALL HIS DRUG DEALING BUDDY CHARLES HERBERT WHO NO LONGER HAS TO SMUGGLE ON YACHTS BUT NOW CAN BENEFIT THROUGH HIS SAME COLLEAGUE YOU CALL A SCAMMER.

AS THEY SAY BIRDS OF A FEATHER DO FLOCK TOGETHER.

19. @ David,

“Some companies are solving this problem by hiring foreign workers. Through Canada’s Seasonal Agriculture Worker Program (SAWP), a system that allows employers to hire temporary foreign workers when Canadians and permanent residents are not available, licensed producers have been finding relief from a growing shortage of talent and bodies.

One Ontario licensed producer, Aphria, with a large greenhouse facility in Leamington is doing just that. According to a Dec. 2, 2018, report in Bloomberg, the SAWP allowed Aphria to hire about 50 temporary workers from the Caribbean and Guatemala with plans to bring in up to 100 more.”

https://weedmaps.com/news/2019/02/with-labor-shortage-canadas-cannabis-growers-recruit-foreign-workers/

20. @Hants

Given the regulations for producing for medicinal purposes there is a science and investment required. A five year license is 30k to start.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

THIS IS PEANUT MONEY US$15,000 (BD$30,000) FOR 5 YEARS.

OVERSEAS IN USA IT IS HARD TO BUY A CULTIVATION LICENSE IN MOST LEGALISED STATES FOR UNDER US$100,000 (BD$200,000) BEFORE STARTUP.

THEY ARE MANY LOCALS THAT I KNOW THAT CAN AFFORD THIS.

21. @Miller

Your question about why does goverment allow wrappers to be imported is a slippery slope. In other words do we then ban matches too as they light the spliffs? It’s all about enforcement as was seen in the USA when common decongestants had to be put in the dispensaries and removed from the shelves.

22. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@DavidDecember 6, 2020 4:14 PM
    “The big challenge with being highly successful with cannabis production country is the problem associated with banking.”
    The challenges with the medical marijuana industry are much more fundamental than their banking difficulties. Bajeabroad put it in a straightforward manner: medical marijuana makes exactly as much sense as medical rum or medical cigarettes. The money is in recreational use… period. As soon as you restrict ganja use to medical marijuana, you are confronted by a massive oversupply. Medically valid applications are at most 1% or 2% of current production capacity. Even when you add the fake prescription racket to the mix you still have a 10 to 1 oversupply, so there is no point at all in getting into the medical marijuana business.

The Barbados Government is being absolutely stupid in not legalising ganja across the board, letting the rastas grow it and sell it to the Heights and Terraces, (not to mention the Welcome Stampers). It would put economic stimulus right where it is most needed, it would have a dramatic crime reduction effect, and it would free up the police force to spend their scarce resources fighting actual crime.

23. @ BAJE December 6, 2020 4:26 PM

Ease up a bit on ‘poor’ PLT.

He means well for Barbados but he is still a bit wet behind the ears when it comes to those who make their big money in Bim through ‘contraband’.

For there is no way people who have just arrived in a country could make their millions from selling the same cloth and household utensils while competing in a very limited market.

24. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@BAJE & @ Mariposa
    If Charles Herbert gets involved with “Big Mike” beyond showing off the lettuce growing operation at Redland Farm, I say publicly that it would constitute a stunning lack of sound judgement on his part.

25. “The Barbados Government is being absolutely stupid in not legalising ganja across the board, letting the rastas grow it and sell it to the Heights and Terraces, (not to mention the Welcome Stampers). It would put economic stimulus right where it is most needed, it would have a dramatic crime reduction effect, and it would free up the police force to spend their scarce resources fighting actual crime.”

we have said that on here for years and years, until it’s not even worth saying anymore.

26. @ John A December 6, 2020 4:31 PM

But matches are used (primarily) to light cooking stoves and, in the old days, oil lamps.

They are even used to light up cigarettes which- although proven to be dangerous to human health- are still allowed in.

How about imposing a ‘specific’ (not ad valorem) levy on those wrappers the same way cigarettes attract high rates of duties and taxes?

I am not in favour of banning anything; maybe control but not banning.

Banning only makes the ‘product’ attractive to those involved in the very lucrative (highly profitable) underground trades aka black market which is the source of many kickbacks to politicians and bureaucrats.

27. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Miller December 6, 2020 4:38 PM
    “For there is no way people who have just arrived in a country could make their millions from selling the same cloth and household utensils while competing in a very limited market.”
    If you ever catch me imagining that importing and selling cheap cloth and/or household utensils is a path to millions I invite you to deliver a bracing slap upside my head to bring me back to my senses. 😉

28. @BAJE & @ Mariposa
    If Charles Herbert gets involved with “Big Mike” beyond showing off the lettuce growing operation at Redland Farm, I say publicly that it would constitute a stunning lack of sound judgement on his part.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

WOW WOW WOW.

YOU SEEM TO HAVE NO SHAME.

YOU REALLY DON’T KNOW WHEN TO GIVE UP.

WAS HE SHOWING THE MAN YOU CALL A SCAMMER THIS LETTUCE FIELD TO GROW LETTUCE OR WAS IT FOR GROWING MARIJUANA SOMETHING HE WAS CHARGED FOR AND WAS ALLOWED TO WALK FREE AFTER PROFESSING HIS INNOCENCE WHILST A BLACK MAN WAS PUT IN JAIL ON THE SAME YACHT HE WAS ON.

AS IT IS YOU SAY HE IS YOUR FRIEND AND HAVE BEEN ON HIS YACHT.

LOYALTY CAN’T BE THAT BLIND TO THE TRUTH.

29. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@BAJE
    The fact is that Herbert is making more money with his lettuce that he would with marijuana because there is no market for medical marijuana… there is a catastrophic oversupply of cannabis to that market so that all the big companies in the industry are loosing money big time. What Herbert cares about is the money, so if he switches crops it would be the most stupid business decision he has made in his entire life.

30. @BAJE
    The fact is that Herbert is making more money with his lettuce that he would with marijuana because there is no market for medical marijuana… there is a catastrophic oversupply of cannabis to that market so that all the big companies in the industry are loosing money big time. What Herbert cares about is the money, so if he switches crops it would be the most stupid business decision he has made in his entire life.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

WELL IT WAS VERY APPARENT FROM THE VIDEO CHARLES HERBERT IS IN THAT THEY WERE NOT TALKING ABOUT EMPLOYING LOCALS TO GROW LETTUCE BUT MARIJUANA A CHARGE THAT HE SHOULD STILL BE FACING THE CRIMINAL COURT WITH ALONG WITH ROGERS AND THE LOCAL BLACK BAJAN WHOSE NAME SLIPS ME AT THE MOMENT.

LETTUCE IS THE EASIEST THING TO GROW SO ANY BAJAN CAN GROW IN THEIR BACKYARD LEGALLY.

MARIJUANA HOWEVER IS FAR FAR GREATER PROFITS AND WE KNOW SOME OF THE LICENSED CULTIVATION WILL END UP ON THE SAME LOCAL BLACK MARKET CHARLES HERBERT AND OTHERS HAVE BEEN SUPPLYING FOR YEARS.

INCLUDING THE 5 DRUG LORDS INVITED TO PARLIAMENT IN 2018.

IF IT WALKS LIKE A DUCK AND QUACKS LIKE A DUCK IT IS A DUCK.

IN OTHER WORDS NOT LETTUCE but MARIJUANA.

YOU REALLY CAN’T BE THAT INGENIOUS.

31. @ PLT
    Or second worst which? LOL

I could hear the bajans now
    ” I tell wunna it did he weed pun dat boat all along. Now he want to put the poor hungry black small growers in st Vincent out of business and grow he own hey.” End of qoute. 😁

32. @WURA-War-on-U December 6, 2020 4:48 PM ““The Barbados Government is being absolutely stupid in not legalising ganja across the board, letting the rastas grow it and sell it to the Heights and Terraces.

Two questions for you WARU darling

ONE: Why do you think that we in the Heights and Terraces are incapable of growing our own marijuana. I can grow parsley, therefore growing marijuana would have to be a piece of cake. I don’t need to buy herb. I won’t be buying herb or its derivitives from ANYBODY. If I ever feel the need I will grow my own. Thank you. I can grow anything. I have a green thumb. I like getting my hands dirty too. Lol!

TWO: Why do you think that the people in the Heights and Terraces have any medical problems or any pain, or any nausea which marijuana can soothe? I can assure you that we are mostly country people who grew up getting our hands dirty, and getting plenty of exercise, sunshine and ground food so we are good [See Carmeta’s Corner for my lunch today]

33. @Peter

It does not matter the scale of production, opening a simple account given the nature of that business makes it a problem. The head of the Unit admitted to this last week on national radio.

34. @Peter

Whether the government should go the full distance is a judgement call, there are pros and cons.

35. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@BAJE December 6, 2020 5:11 PM
    You are so gullible and easily duped by Big Mike’s propaganda.

I hope most Bajans see through this scam. Mark my word: the local employees will be paid a pittance and be left without severance when the marijuana grow op goes bankrupt within 5 years. It will never have made a profit, but Big Mike’s snake oil salesmanship will have attracted a bunch of investors, some local, some foreign. They will all lose their shirts.

Big Mike will walk away with several million in profits from selling his grow additives and supplements to boost yields of a product that will have no market.

36. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@DavidDecember 6, 2020 5:21 PM
    “Whether the government should go the full distance is a judgement call, there are pros and cons.”
    +++++++++++++++
    Utter nonsense! There have been many many experiments across the world with marijuana prohibition, decriminalisation, and legalisation. We have all the data. It is a no brainer. We can measure the harm that marijuana prohibition is doing to our society… it is enormous. We can look at other jurisdictions to see if any of the catastrophes predicted from legalisation have occurred anywhere. They have not… not even once.

It is indeed a judgement call, and to fail to legalise marijuana in Barbados in 2021 is the product of utterly stupid judgement.

37. @BAJE December 6, 2020 5:11 PM
    You are so gullible and easily duped by Big Mike’s propaganda.

I hope most Bajans see through this scam. Mark my word: the local employees will be paid a pittance and be left without severance when the marijuana grow op goes bankrupt within 5 years. It will never have made a profit, but Big Mike’s snake oil salesmanship will have attracted a bunch of investors, some local, some foreign. They will all lose their shirts.

Big Mike will walk away with several million in profits from selling his grow additives and supplements to boost yields of a product that will have no market.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

NOW I KNOW YOU ARE TALKING OUT YOUR ASS.

IN WHAT WAY COULD I BE DUPED WHEN I PERSONALLY KNOW YOUR BUDDY CHARLES HERBERT HAS BEEN A LOCAL DRUG DEALER FOR A LONG LONG TIME.

I THINK YOU NEED TO TAKE A GOOD LONG HARD LOOK IN THE MIRROR AND STARING BACK AT YOU WILL BE WHO HAS BEEN DUPED AND GULLIBLE,

38. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@John A December 6, 2020 5:12 PM
    “Or second worst which? LOL”
    ++++++++++++++++
    Nope, the worst. I maintain that getting into a business deal with Big Mike will be a far worse lapse of judgement than boarding the yacht Ectasy in the Grenadines with hundreds of pounds of marijuana concealed aboard. Whatever huge fee Herbert paid to his lawyers will be insignificant beside the losses that will pile up from being in business with Big Mike.

39. TheO,

You are being dishonest. I, the ‘local’ to whom you refer, have NEVER said that you should be silent!

What I said was that some of you , belittle and bash us every day simply because we live on a little island. At the same time you say you are trying to uplift us. Some of us do not find it very uplifting

I am not going to bother to repeat myself because you are obviously intent on ignoring the other point of view.

David has told me more than once that the blog needs me but you guys are not good for my spirits.

I have noticed that some people have actually eased up a little. But here you are trying to start it up again.

If you would take the time to listen you would understand that we agree on most of the issues facing Barbados but it is just a matter of perspective and presentation.

And by the way, I know others who no longer come to the blog for this very reason. You guys make them feel like they are the wretched of the earth. They do not want to wade through the insults to the stay-at-home Bajan to find an enlightening discussion. Nobody wants to do that. It does not inspire.

But since you are convinced that you have the correct approach, I guess you will carry on and encourage others to do so.

In the meantime, you lose some of the very people you say you are trying to reach.

Smart!

40. “Two questions for you WARU darling.”

one answer for you darling, i only reposted what PLT posted….and wanted people to see that it’s actually the populat sentiment…

re heights and terraces, trust me, there is more chronic pain and NCDs and terminal illnesses in that demographic than apparently even you know about…..even more than in the depressed areas, where there’s also a fair shair….ask any doctor..

41. If nothing else, the jokes the Big Mike video is evoking are really, really good…….🤣🤣

42. @ David December 6, 2020 5:20 PM

So why has the government gone ahead in haste and passed the Medicinal Marijuana Act and in the process of inviting people to apply for licences to grow, produce, import and process cannabis sativa?

Or is the cannabis cultivated for medicinal purposes exempt from the list of money laundering activities?

43. @ Mariposa

When the EU and OECD black list them, and the Americans ban them from the global banking system, then they will claim racism, and discriminating against a small island and their toadies will come on BU and cry.
    We are a nation of drug dealers now.

44. Donna,
    Please don’t take my comments as being directed towards one person.

Several here talk of throwing shade and the overseas crew, they believe that we are washing dirty linens in public and urge us to be silent.

I try my best to avoid hand-to-hand combat and sneak attacks.

I have abandoned the word yardfowl or any of it variants. I try my hardest not to belittle or bash but as an example if someone were to say “we will penalize lawyers for stealing their clients funds” then an appropriate response would be “heard it before, not holding my breath”.

45. Well, PLT, you have lost this one. Long time since a neighbour of the fall guy told me that his family was being well taken care of. I figure it was his decision. He always knew he would be the fall guy.

Never swear fuh a fella! That is a Bajan saying.

But the idea of having outsiders come in and set up and use locals for the grunt work is appalling. Surely we can do better than this! I have not a clue whether or not there is profit in it but my spirit cries out HELL NO!

I think Bajans are wise to this attempt at plantation revival. This matter has been ventilated enough. And it is one in which the average Bajan is very interested.

And yes, marijuana needs to be legalised. They could as well. It will hardly increase its use.

46. @ DavidDecember 6, 2020 5:21 PM
    “@Peter
    Whether the government should go the full distance is a judgement call, there are pros and cons.”

I totally agree with the position PLT has taken.

Was a “judgement call” made when it was made illegal in Barbados a few decades ago? Were the masses consulted by way of an election promise or referendum?

The criminalization of the plant- which automatically turned into a Satan- was done to protect certain vested religious and commercial interests in the USA.

The plant has been around for millennia and should be treated like any other herb or ‘miraculous bush’ used by humans.

If Barbados could be so ‘bold’ as to legalize abortion why not decriminalize the use of a plant which can be used by humans in a variety of ways for their easement in spite of the potential for abuse just like any other substance involving money.

47. TheO,

That was mostly Lorenzo. Nobody takes him seriously.

But nothing wrong with pelting licks, rumshop style if merited. I can take my share if it refers to an opinion I have posted. The problem is when all stay-at-home Bajans are labelled simply for being stay-at-home Bajans, as though nothing worthwhile can come from someone who never lived abroad.

I hope this explains my position.

48. Thinking outside the box
    The new order of doing thinks

https://www.facebook.com/246784233190/posts/10158156319438191/?sfnsn=mo

49. @Peter

Out of curiosity can you list 5 countries and point to the data?

50. @Miller

Are you correct to say the government went ahead with haste? In fact evidence suggest to the contrary.

Leave a Reply to DavidCancel reply