Several years ago, in the midweek meetings of our assembly, we tackled the book of Acts.  My lot was to present the highlights of Chapter 18. In this simple presentation, I have employed two Bible study techniques that I was taught in my local Baptist church as a teen in 1970. First, I presented a short chapter study, which put the chapter in the context of the book of Acts, and then followed it by presenting a short biography of Apollos, an important teacher in the early church. 

View Presentation

34 responses to “Sweet Sunday Sermon – ACTS 18”

1. Acts 18
    English Standard Version
    Paul in Corinth
    After this Paul[a] left Athens and went to Corinth. 2 And he found a Jew named Aquila, a native of Pontus, recently come from Italy with his wife Priscilla, because Claudius had commanded all the Jews to leave Rome. And he went to see them, 3 and because he was of the same trade he stayed with them and worked, for they were tentmakers by trade. 4 And he reasoned in the synagogue every Sabbath, and tried to persuade Jews and Greeks.

5 When Silas and Timothy arrived from Macedonia, Paul was occupied with the word, testifying to the Jews that the Christ was Jesus. 6 And when they opposed and reviled him, he shook out his garments and said to them, “Your blood be on your own heads! I am innocent. From now on I will go to the Gentiles.” 7 And he left there and went to the house of a man named Titius Justus, (P)a worshiper of God. His house was next door to the synagogue. 8 Crispus, the ruler of the synagogue, believed in the Lord, together with his entire household. And many of the Corinthians hearing Paul believed and were baptized. 9 And the Lord said to Paul (S)one night in a vision, “Do not be afraid, but go on speaking and do not be silent, 10 for I am with you, and no one will attack you to harm you, for I have many in this city who are my people.” 11 And he stayed a year and six months, teaching the word of God among them.

12 But when Gallio was proconsul of Achaia, the Jews made a united attack on Paul and brought him before the tribunal, 13 saying, “This man is persuading people to worship God contrary to the law.” 14 But when Paul was about to open his mouth, Gallio said to the Jews, “If it were a matter of wrongdoing or vicious crime, O Jews, I would have reason to accept your complaint. 15 But since it is a matter of questions about words and names and your own law, see to it yourselves. I refuse to be a judge of these things.” 16 And he drove them from the tribunal. 17 And they all seized Sosthenes, the ruler of the synagogue, and beat him in front of the tribunal. But Gallio paid no attention to any of this.

Paul Returns to Antioch
    18 After this, Paul stayed many days longer and then took leave of the brothers[c] and set sail for Syria, and with him Priscilla and Aquila. At Cenchreae he had cut his hair, for he was under a vow. 19 And they came to Ephesus, and he left them there, but (AK)he himself went into the synagogue and reasoned with the Jews. 20 When they asked him to stay for a longer period, he declined. 21 But on taking leave of them he said, “I will return to you if God wills,” and he set sail from Ephesus.

22 When he had landed at Caesarea, he went up and greeted the church, and then went down to Antioch. 23 After spending some time there, he departed and went from one place to the next through the region of Galatia and Phrygia, strengthening all the disciples.

Apollos Speaks Boldly in Ephesus
    24 Now a Jew named (AP)Apollos, a native of Alexandria, came to Ephesus. He was an eloquent man, competent in the Scriptures. 25 He had been instructed in the way of the Lord. And being fervent in spirit,[d] he spoke and taught accurately the things concerning Jesus, though he knew only he baptism of John. 26 He began to speak boldly in the synagogue, but when (AU)Priscilla and Aquila heard him, they took him aside and explained to him the way of God more accurately. 27 And when he wished to cross to Achaia, the brothers encouraged him and wrote to the disciples to welcome him. When he arrived, he greatly helped those who through grace had believed, 28 for he powerfully refuted the Jews in public, showing by the Scriptures that the Christ was Jesus.

2. (Sing)
    When the Spurs go marching in
    Oh when the Spurs go marching in
    I want to be in that number
    Oh when the Spurs go marching in.

(Homily)

Even in England we are more likely to receive a religious rendition at a soccer field than the sparsely populated temples of indoctrination.

And if the people who brainwashed us with this shiiite have turned their backs should give a hint.

3. IT HAS BEEN WELL SAID THAT THE DESTITUTE SOUL SEEKS TO BULLY OTHERS THROUGH INTIMIDATION.

4. O great Lord, we thank You on this beautiful Sunday that You have given us Mia Mottley as our prime minister and president-elect. We thank You that we may serve her.

5. @ Tron December 6, 2020 2:51 PM

You are deifying your princess and even putting HER ahead of Artemis in the pantheon of goddesses.

But just remember what happens to those whom the gods want to destroy for breach of contract between God and man.

6. In the sixties barbados was a self made industrial country made up of people who knew how to build an economy
    Now all.left are loud noises blowing hot air and people looking through other successful countries window wondering how they did it
    Whoever said that a nations best resource is its peoples got it right
    China understood that much
    Barbados still thinking about it

7. @ GP December 6, 2020 2:23 PM

This is not an attempt at bull(y)ing you but a simple plea for clarification.

Was that “Apollos” fellow a black man from Egypt and named after the Greek god Apollo?

Is there any ‘truth’ to the rumour that the same Apollos (like his Greek namesake the god of homosexual lovers) was a very intimate ‘friend’ of the celibate murderer (turned “Christian) called Paul?

8. Miller
    Anybody who is a christian is a catholic and catholics are bully boys.

Or bullying boys. Lol

9. @ Mariposa December 6, 2020 3:16 PM

Mariposa,

The DLP-made education turned Barbadians into lazy egg-heads. We need more workers and much fewer academics. We have only tourism and do not need any unworldly theorists.

10. Tron that posting was made by mistake here
    It was meant to be posted on the article ” thinking outside the box

11. What does the Punk Ass Preacher known as GP know about “THE TRUTH”
    Would he be prepared to swear on his Holy Bible that his revered Trump always speaks the Truth
    as does the Preacher himself when he praises the Trump with rightwing “news” on other threads when trolling BU
    I suspect the preracher man is a liar
    After Laughter (Comes Tears), Where Do We Go From Here, Tearz

12. @Pachamama
    December 6, 2020 3:43 PM

“Miller
    Anybody who is a christian is a catholic and catholics are bully boys.
    Or bullying boys. Lol”

The Sociological Approach to Religion as they see’s it:

While some people think of religion as something individual because religious beliefs can be highly personal, religion is also a social institution. Social scientists recognize that religion exists as an organized and integrated set of beliefs, behaviors, and norms centered on basic social needs and values. Moreover, religion is a cultural universal found in all social groups. For instance, in every culture, funeral rites are practiced in some way, although these customs vary between cultures and within religious affiliations. Despite differences, there are common elements in a ceremony marking a person’s death, such as announcement of the death, care of the deceased, disposition, and ceremony or ritual. These universals, and the differences in the way societies and individuals experience religion, provide rich material for sociological study.
    In studying religion, sociologists distinguish between what they term the experience, beliefs, and rituals of a religion.
    Religious experience
    refers to the conviction or sensation that we are connected to “the divine.” This type of communion might be experienced when people are pray or meditate.
    Religious beliefs
    are specific ideas members of a particular faith hold to be true, such as that Jesus Christ was the son of God, or that reincarnation exists. Another illustration of religious beliefs is the creation stories we find in different religions.
    Religious rituals
    are behaviors or practices that are either required or expected of the members of a particular group, such as bar mitzvah or confession of sins (Barkan and Greenwood.

The History of Religion as a Sociological Concept
    In the wake of nineteenth century European industrialization and secularization, three social theorists Ge to examine the relationship between religion and society: Émile Durkheim, Max Weber, and Karl Marx. They are among the founding thinkers of modern sociology.
    As stated earlier, French sociologist Émile Durkheim (1858–1917) defined religion as a “unified system of beliefs and practices relative to sacred things” (1915). To him, sacred meant extraordinary—something that inspired wonder and that seemed connected to the concept of “the divine.” Durkheim argued that “religion happens” in society when there is a separation between the profane (ordinary life) and the sacred (1915). A rock, for example, isn’t sacred or profane as it exists. But if someone makes it into a headstone, or another person uses it for landscaping, it takes on different meanings—one sacred, one profane.
    Durkheim is generally considered the first sociologist who analyzed religion in terms of its societal impact. Above all, he believed religion is about community: It binds people together (social cohesion), promotes behavior consistency (social control), and offers strength during life’s transitions and tragedies (meaning and purpose). By applying the methods of natural science to the study of society, Durkheim held that the source of religion and morality is the collective mind-set of society and that the cohesive bonds of social order result from common values in a society. He contended that these values need to be maintained to maintain social stability.
    But what would happen if religion were to decline? This question led Durkheim to posit that religion is not just a social creation but something that represents the power of society: When people celebrate sacred things, they celebrate the power of their society. By this reasoning, even if traditional religion disappeared, society wouldn’t necessarily dissolve.
    Whereas Durkheim saw religion as a source of social stability, German sociologist and political economist Max Weber (1864–1920) believed it was a precipitator of social change. He examined the effects of religion on economic activities and noticed that heavily Protestant societies—such as those in the Netherlands, England, Scotland, and Germany—were the most highly developed capitalist societies and that their most successful business leaders were Protestant. In his writing
    The Protestant Work Ethic and the Spirit of Capitalism
    (1905), he contends that the Protestant work ethic influenced the development of capitalism. Weber noted that certain kinds of Protestantism supported the pursuit of material gain by motivating believers to work hard, be successful, and not spend their profits on frivolous things. (The modern use of “work ethic” comes directly from Weber’s Protestant ethic, although it has now lost its religious connotations.)

I will personally ask
    Bishop (Heather-Lynn Evanson) to send up prayer for you, as my right-hand rest against your peanut head…

Amen…🙏

13. We are well familar with the works of Marx, Weber, Durheim and the schools represented. Your literature review did not render a holistic view of these bodies of works. Durheim has a lot to say. About our current global condition. Marx as well.

Most importantly you are still labouring under the fictions created by european religious thinking and practices. Practices which are just a few hundred years old at best. A bible fully plagiarized.

We would bet that you presume that such misguidance has directed you to the meaning of Amen as “so be it” as indoctrinated.

What well miseducated people like you dont know and will never know is that your Amen first appeared while the caves of Asia were the dwellings as your White indoctrinators.

In Medu Neter, Amen or Amon or AmonRa, first appeared ten of thousands of years before and hold complely different meanings. Etymologically this represents a direct borrowing from Ancient Kemet. That should give a clue.

Two last points.

There are psychological definitions for people like you who have this fixation with believing lies told you by White people, the whole set biblical stories, religious practices, fake traditions, whether in Judaism, Islam, Christianity, this malady is widespread.

Lastly, we require no raaassssoul body to pray for us. This is another failling or psychosis imposed by your dirty religion. Afrikan philosophy requires nobody to mediate with the Supreme, if one is so minded.

14. @ De Pachamama

My apologies, that was meant to be “Amor, Amor, Amor…

15. Titus 1:15 New International Version
    To the pure, all things are pure, but to those who are corrupted and do not believe, nothing is pure. In fact, both their minds and consciences are corrupted.

16. @ GP December 6, 2020 11:36 PM

Have a great night. May the Almighty God Jesus Christ Our Lord and Savor continue to Bless US All, including Pachamama…

Amor…

17. @ GP.
    Where can I find the DNA/ skeletal remains for Jesus , Abraham/ Moses?

18. https://youtu.be/smewsTIgn1I

Where is the evidence GP.
    Show us the tomb of Abraham Moses and David.

19. https://youtu.be/smewsTIgn1I

Show the evidence GP.

20. https://youtu.be/kXlWLyU–MA

Malcolm X speaks.

21. The Ancient Egyptians ( Black People/ African) were the only literate people during antiquity. In 5, 000 BC , there is no Rome /Greece . There is no Jesus, King David/ Abraham ( these are only characters in the Bible).

22. Tony
    Your “hesus” was only created at the Nicean Council 325 AD. He is a fiction and everything else that mad people like you believe. We do not and never recognize him as other than a fraud imposed by the catholic church.

Don’t be like a missionary and direct yuh shiiite towards us otherwise violence will be our remedy like the first white people approaching us with this shiiite should have been met with.

23. 2 Timothy 3:16
    All scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness:

The Bible stands like a rock undaunted
    ’Mid the raging storms of time;
    Its pages burn with the truth eternal,
    And they glow with a light sublime.
    Refrain:
    The Bible stands though the hills may tumble,
    It will firmly stand when the earth shall crumble;
    I will plant my feet on its firm foundation,
    For the Bible stands.

The Bible stands like a mountain tow’ring
    Far above the works of men;
    Its truth by none ever was refuted,
    And destroy it they never can.

The Bible stands and it will forever,
    When the world has passed away;
    By inspiration it has been given,
    All its precepts I will obey.

The Bible stands every test we give it,
    For its Author is divine;
    By grace alone I expect to live it,
    And to prove and to make it mine.

24. DO YOU GENIUSES HAVE AN ANSWER TO THE QUESTIONED ASKED HERE?

25. Malachi 3:2
    But who may abide the day of his coming? and who shall stand when he appeareth? for he is like a refiner’s fire, and like fullers’ soap:

26. GP

Who is Malachi where is his tomb?
    We can prove the Pharaohs of Ancient Egypt existed in living form.
    How / where can I find the Jewish prophets outside the Bible?

27. Spiritual Healing Spiritual Feeling Calling All Spiritual People to say Fuck Trump and all his filthy cunting troll supporters

28. Jesus was a dread

You may speak to him or is father directly on the bubbling telephone chalice if you have the number to dial of the mansion where they dwell which has many rooms

29. Spiritual Healing
    w/ Kemetic Yoga*
    () It’s a slower pace than Indian Yoga
    (**) like reggae music which is slower tempo than rocksteady***
    (***) which likewise is a slower tempo than ska music
    so you can dance all night long from dusk ’til dawn

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ey0-Oi9ygsU

30. BXC elects first female chair
    THE BARBADOS CHRISTIAN COUNCIL (BXC) has its first female chairman.
    She is Reverend Dr Cicely Athill-Horsford, of the Moravian Church, who was elected at the BXC’s annual general meeting held Monday at St Paul’s Anglican Church on Bay Street, St Michael.
    Athill-Horsford, a former first vice-chairman, succeeds Major Darrell Wilkinson of the Salvation Army.
    The others elected to serve on the executive are Rev. Adrian Odle (Methodist) as first vice-chairman; Rev. Erma Ambrose (Anglican) as second vice chairman; Kes Amha Selassie Yaicob (Ethiopian Orthodox) as honorary secretary, and treasurer Rev. Ruth Phillips (African Methodist Episcopal). (PR)

31. People are Androids designed to raise Children and breakdown when they get old.

Who needs the Bible when we can watch stories on TV instead nowadays.

32. https://youtu.be/ZvJ0F299kFQ

North Africa and Middle East have been taken over by imposters from Europe.

33. https://youtu.be/IzUVOqQWF9Y

Full video seen above.

The other thesis, which is solid and based on fundamentals that can not be contradicted, is that the white skin comes from a genetic mutation.

“I am convinced that a white skin is not natural for man and that, by nature, he has a black or brown skin like our ancestors, Hindus, and that the white man has never been created by nature and that, therefore, there is no race of whites … ”. METAPHYSICS OF SEXUAL LOVE by Arthur Schopenhauer. » white German philosopher (1788-1860) (24)

” Orthodox history is a lie and must be put in its proper perspective. The veil of white supremacy has made us lose sight of the truths of world history and who we are as black people compared to all the others on the planet. Many whites believe that they are not only the ancestors of civilization, but also the ancestors of humanity. Our old heroes and saviors have been whitewashed. The world believes that everyone on Earth who is not white is primitive and uncivilized.

First, we need to understand what white skin really means and who the whites really are. In short Whites are mutated inbred albinos. Science and daily observation tell us that whites https://youtu.be/IzUVOqQWF9Y Too much sun and they catch “sunburns”. If this lasts too long, they develop skin cancer. But the Sun is the source of energy not only for the Earth, but for the entire solar system, all the galaxies in the Universe need sun. Plants need the sun to grow, humans need the sun to be healthy, even the weather depends on the sun. So how could a naturally evolved human on the planet Earth not “tolerate” the sun? In fact, “naturally evolved humans” tolerate the sun very well. They do it with the “melanin” that their bodies produce in their skin to protect them from the sun’s harmful rays – these are the black and brown peoples of the Earth. People without melanin, or with small amounts of melanin are albinos. »(25)

This makes us understand that this lack of melanin in the leucoderma is not natural, so this race was not made naturally and does not fit in the nature. All this explains his aggressiveness, his lack of spirituality, of respect, of consideration towards a nature that brings him all the elements indispensable to his sustenance but with respect to which he manifests the greatest ingratitude and the deepest contempt because he destroys it each day without scruple to serve his material interests.

Albinos can not endure the sun or the thirst.

How could he work in the fields – except in the northern regions without being burned by the sun?

Only one way: to force a “pigmented” person to do it for them! Here is the reason for slavery!

Genetic evidence that Europeans are albinos