Stedson Wiltshire (Red Plastic Bag) gave a vivid description of what is seen on Kadooment Day in a calypso song entitled Something Happening. The joyful song presents a stark contrast to the sobering reality unfolding in Barbados. With a backdrop of Covid-19, the cause of labour unrest is deeply disturbing as it is related to changes in the Severance Pay Act and the refusal of some hotels to pay their potion of the workers’ severance pay. As the reality of this crisis sets in, anguish, lack of information, confusion and frustration confront a large section of the population and now a once docile people seem to be erupting. Protests have become a fixture on the landscape with 40% unemployed predominately in the tourism sector; no one knows how this will end but something is definitely happening.

There is no comparison in recent history to what is now unfolding. Complexity and growth of the economy makes it distinct from the 1930’s but it is noteworthy that there was no labour union to prevent the downward spiral that culminated in the 1937 riots in Barbados. Trade unionism came into existence after the riots to protect the rights of labour in 1941. What is mindboggling is that it was out of the struggle of the black working class that both the Barbados Workers Union (BWU) and the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) were conceived and born. Now the relationship is akin to 2 children abandoning their mother. This should never have become a matter of political expediency as the BWU depends on the black working class for financial support and the Barbados Labour party depends on the black working class (the largest voting group) for votes. The action of both has shown that they have joined forces and abandoned this class.

In contrast with the song, one can see questionable union actions. One can query the BWU’s agreement to the BEST Program as it offers less than favourable relief to the workers than to the hotels. The program provides financial assistance to hotels and a wage subsidy to workers but no severance. It was stated that only $30 Million of the $300 Million dollars has been taken by the hotels. Part of the remaining $ 270 Million dollars can be used as severance for the workers. Essentially the BEST program is fundamentally flawed as it does not contain a severance payment option.

One can also query why the recently held press conference only resulted in a solution for the workers of Club Barbados and did not take into consideration the thousands of other unemployed workers. What was required is an across the board solution for the hotel industry and any other affected industries. There were so many twists and turns regarding the story of the workers of Club Barbados that it is difficult to decipher but yet it does not justify treatment as a special case as it leaves out others whose plight is the same.

Both the Prime Minister and Ms. Moore chastised the Media but one cannot imagine how the secret of 40% unemployed in Barbados could be kept, not discussed or their protests not covered if they take to the streets. A fair Press is not the enemy of the people. Highlighting these stories humanized the suffering of the workers. They became real people with real problems and in need of real solutions. We all felt their pain. Change is never a factor that comes into play with silence or secrecy; with them ignorance pervades. What the media can do in addition to highlighting the protest is to utilize the top corner of the new paper to daily post unemployment numbers, NIS payouts as a show of solidarity with the workers and carry stories of how this crisis has affected individual persons and neighbourhoods.

One can see government as having created an environment for the lack of trust. The role of government in any democratic society is to provide an enabling environment for all to flourish. This is exhibited in the provision of social services and laws. When the Severance Payment Act was amended in August 2020, the reason for its changes and the why now could not be justified as it was the midst of the current pandemic. The changes now extend the layoff period from 13 to 22 weeks before they can file for severance and that employees must give 4 weeks notice to the employer prior to the end of the 22 weeks period. It also states that the employer can contest severance. It is a punitive amendment to the law and has led to much confusion and ultimately the amended act is disadvantageous as the underlying principle is to disqualify workers from obtaining severance payments. The level of confidence in the government with regards to the treatment to workers is now at an all-time low.

One can also see that this is not only an economic issue. It is also a matter of social justice. Less than favourable treatment has been meted out to one specific class of the population; the black working class. The same people who for almost 400 years have been feeling the brunt of what occurs in the Barbadian society. This class has the highest rate of unemployment, highest incidence of crime, the highest rate of minimum wages, have a high cost of living, poor housing, reduced access to potable water, are in need of proper roads and combined they pay the highest taxes. The only positive thing that they as a group possess is votes at election time. It is these same people who are in need and are being denied the money that should be theirs. One of the women, a former Club Barbados worker lamented that she feels like George Floyd with the weight of someone’s foot on her neck and that she could not breathe. Do their lives and livelihood matter?

One hopes that now we are in the post Nelson era, that governance comes with an aspect of social justice; that no decisions are made on the behalf of the people without consideration of how the disadvantaged black working class will be affected and that there will be a living wage, programs put in place not for pit toilets but for creating wealth to remove vicious the cycle of poverty. If the opportunity to create wealth can be provided to the already privileged it should also be provided to the black working class. The government saw it fit to compulsorily acquire property on Bay Street to give to a developer. It must also do the same for the black working class through co-operatives for agriculture, business development and housing. It is hoped that laws which still seem to be derived from the slave codes will be removed from the laws of Barbados. This is in reference to laws being written from the punitive point of view of ‘let us deny them that colonial mentality’; as though some things are still just too good for the black working class of Barbados.

The irony of these developments is that both the BWU and BLP have bitten the hand that feeds them.

345 responses to “Another Heather Cole Column – Something Happening”

1. @Artax,
    Are you saying that one’s contract with the union has ended when they are no longer employed? You you referred to the affected persons as former employees.
    This does not seem correct. What happens in the case of unlawful dismissal and cases where persons are represented by the Union at the employment tribunals?
    If it is indeed that are no longer under the union contract, there is room for the unions now to update their contract as their ‘slip’ in now showing.

2. @ Based on the BWU regulations, unemployment benefits can be paid. As inquiry should be made to the union.

3. Barbados Today posted an article to the effect that the Minister of labour was remorseful in Parliament today. He should swiftly put his words into action that was done with the Sunset Legislation and create the Sunrise legislation to correct the wrongs of the Severance Pay Act and punishment/penalties/ seizing of assets for hoteliers who refuse to follow the law.

4. @ Heather December 3, 2020 11:13 PM

RE: “Are you saying that one’s contract with the union has ended when they are no longer employed?”

I Never ‘said’ that.

RE: “You you referred to the affected persons as former employees. This does not seem correct.

Could you explain why referring to those individuals who were made redundant by Club Barbados, as former employees “does not seem correct?”

5. William Skinner Avatar

A commission investigating disturbances in Barbados in 1937 issued a warning:
    “We have been impressed by the high dividends earned by many trading concerns in the island and the comfortable salaries and bonuses paid to the higher grades of employees in business and agriculture. If the whole community were prosperous and enjoyed a comfortable standard of living, high dividends might be defensible, but when these are only possible on the basis of low wages the time has certainly come for a reconsideration of the fundamental conditions and organization of industry……A fundamental change in the division of earnings between the employer and his employees is essential if hatred and bitterness are to be removed from the minds of the majority of employees”.
    Eric Williams, From Columbus to Castro

After 54 four years of Independence we still smell like 1937……………..

6. @Williams

Eric William’s position is one proffered through the years and will continue for years to come. It is interesting what Covid 19 has done to influence the dividend strategy for example. See link – https://www.ft.com/content/2719966c-b228-4300-bdc0-dcbe2f7050fd.

We live in interesting times. If it is any consolation, Barbados is not alone.

7. Today’s Nation Editorial

Better relations a must
    The current state of what seems to be deep-seated industrial unrest is not good for Barbados. We have long had a peaceful co-existence between workers and employers, and this has helped considerably to give our country the capacity to punch above its weight.
    True, we have had the occasional bruising confrontation between capital and labour. These have served to remind all parties that a harmonious, peaceful existence with mutual respect is always the best solution.
    That no fewer than three of our National Heroes were prominent trade union leaders in their time is testimony to the path-breaking contributions and wisdom which allowed workers to gain many advances for their benefit at the bargaining table. And without bloodshed.
    The efforts of these earlier union leaders also helped to enhance the political process and the rights of workers to participate in the legislative process and influence laws. But above all, they have established for us a reputation for our voluntaristic approach to employeremployee relations.
    This peaceful state of affairs has not been a one-way street. Corporate Barbados has, in the main, shown a generally high state of corporate responsibility, and by and large, both sides of the investment coin have played their part in fostering the harmonious industrial relations climate existing here.
    The fallout from the COVID-19 experience has seemed, within recent times, to be posing a serious challenge to this climate of peace. Workers are up in arms with some employers who they claim appear to be other than “up to marks” in respect of their obligations to them.
    We resolutely set our face against any employers in a position to honour severance payments obligations, who are giving workers the runaround. This approach is reprehensible and to be frowned on. Companies affected by the pandemic have a prime duty to frankly and truthfully communicate with their workers about the difficult position in which they find themselves – if that is the case.
    These are unusual times and the Government has stepped into the breach to assist both capital and, in consequence labour. Companies which are not earning revenue cannot be allowed to collapse, because that would be a calamitous blow to the workers. Hence, we welcome the assistance being given to businesses, particularly in the tourism industry. This approach is designed to hold this critical aspect of the industry until the situation improves. However, this pragmatic approach can only work if there is clearcut, transparent communication between workers and employers.
    Employers must speak with their employees at an early moment, rather than making last-minute, back-to-the-wall approaches to the National Insurance Scheme. Evasive or last-minute efforts cannot engender confidence.
    These are difficult times, but the 2008 recession, for example, has taught us these problems can be surmounted, and that with Government’s assistance, employers and workers can survive the most treacherous economic turmoil.
    Responsible behaviour must, however, be the order of the day. The workers have legitimate concerns. They must not be hung out to dry and have to protest to get clear answers.
    Yet, it seems that some employers are not on the same page as the Government, which is offering the kind of assistance that only Government can offer, when capital and labour, through no fault of their own, confront tsunamis of economic distress.

8. The blogmaster read the financial reports of ICBL and FCIB published in today’s press. Two companies which have traditionally posted strong financial results decimated by Covid 19. We can easily translate to apply to other companies to judge the impact on cash flows.

9. William Skinner Avatar

I know that if you tell a Bajan the roads in Bim need fixing, his first response is : Have you ever been to Dominica or St Vincent ! You are a very proud Bajan and so am I but right now I’m only worried about trying to diligently fix the problems we are capable of correcting.
    It seems fashionable nowaday, that one has to be constantly reminded that every thing is every where and that’s supposed to bring comfort.
    I guess the next time some citizen from St. Lucy complains that the water from her taps is brown; she would be told that there are some parts of the world where yuh can’ get bug water at tall- so go ahead and be thankful and drink the brown water ‘ cause it could be worse………
    Peace

10. William Skinner Avatar

Should be no and not “bug”. My apologies.
    “ no” water at all.

11. @William

This is exactly the point being made. There was a time Barbados was the model Balck country and it provoked the comment from then United Nations GS. We follow these days.

12. No Baje, actually it is showing your pettygree.

But enough of you for the day! You may have the last word “IRREGARDLESS” of how wrong it is.

But check with your buddy Hal Austin before you use that capitalised one – among your favourites.

Now THAT could be described as petty. Just giving you an example because you seem not to know some meanings of simple words or real words, for that matter.

On to higher things!

Readymix now seems to be in de mix! Something is definitely happening in Barbados. BLP and BWU notwithstanding, black Barbadians are getting a wake up call. You can continue to work for these effers or you can join together and do your own thing.

I determined in my young days not to work for them and explained last year to my seventeen year old son why he never should.

Never will they shut their doors in our faces!

Also, can somebody make sense of what Mahmood Patel is reported to have said in Barbados Today?

Artax?

Out to the Garden of Peace to talk to my plants! I am coaxing a whole lot of life- sustaining food out of them. My words are therefore making more sense than most. Meanwhile my insect and bird helpers also appreciate and co-operate at my request. They graciously assist me to remain free of the sickening pesticides. Just one pest left to fight – the aptly named whitefly. My cucumber seedlings will soon be ready for transplant. My ladybirds, neem plant and I will be ready for the whitefly SOB. SHOWDOWN AT TEATIME showing daily starting December 11th at 4.00 p.m.

Have a good day!

😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊

13. William Skinner Avatar

The more I think about our problems, not only in Barbados,but the region, I believe we need to return to a broader philosophical and revolutionary position. We need more Tim Hectors and younger Ralph Gonsalves along with academics such as Neville Duncan.
    We have too many failed leaders dominating the political landscape.
    We can no longer depend on the present group.
    Peace

14. @William

Change must be led, let us agree on a key ingredient. We also need a clash of ideas and ideologies to create the crucible which could give rise to a phoenix moment.

15. William Skinner Avatar

You said: “ Change must be led, ….”

Agreed.

Peace

16. @ David

What you saw in those published fimancilas basically is reflective of what 90% of the companies in This island are facing. Basically they have had their earnings decimated by the virus. I have no doubt the big Trini duo here would also be feeling the pain.

What will happen in the short term is the stronger companies with liquid retained earnings will use some of those funds to prop them up. But even the strong like Cave Shepherd will have to make a decision how much money they are prepared to lose. Sadly the weaker companies especially those with high tourism related exposure may well pull in their doors for good.

This is why I keep harping on the point that the economy needs to be restructured urgently so as to facilitate some of this fall out. But as of yet nothing that the Sinkyuh and Persaud committee have come up with if indeed any ideas exist, has been published.

17. @John A

Agreed.

It is why the simplistic positions offered here and elsewhere supported by your concern by predictable policy prescriptions by government in unprecedented times is frustrating.

18. William Skinner Avatar

@ John A
    “ But as of yet nothing that the Sinkyuh and Persaud committee have come up with if indeed any ideas exist, has been published.”(Quote)

When Sinckler as MOF , was drowning ,we collectively and politically cussed him and Stuart. Now we trying to shift to some committee with the same Sinckler and a consultant Persuad.
    We need to hear from the Prime Minister and Minster of Finance. We did not elect Sinckler or Persuad !
    Just keeping it fair and balanced.
    Peace

19. @ David

We are 9 months into this virus what have you seen done in any meaningful way to restructure the economy?

20. ANPTHER DAY
    MORE LONG TALK
    BUT WUH WUH GWINE DO BOUT UM?
    NONE AH WUNNUH CAHN DO NUTTIN BOUT UM. BUT TALK, UH LIE?
    WHY ALL WUNNUH TALKERS DONT TRY LOOKING UP BEFORE UM IS TOO LATE?
    SEEMS THE WRITING PUN DE WALL. UH LIE?

21. @ William

Yes I agree with you 100%. The PM NEEDS to tell us what the economic restructuring plan is and when will it start. By now the recommendations of this committee should have been published by the PM who is also the MOF. I also blame the opposition for not demanding that this be done. If we wait with the hope that the Barbados economy will return on its own, we will suffer irreversible long term damage both economic and social.

22. @John A

There is an assumption the tourist sector will rebound, several of the policies are designed to catch the rebound.

There is an effort to improve efficiency by a more aggressive push to digital transformation.

There is an effort to improve the Court system.

There is an attempt to improve infrastructure and ancillary services.

So far no fundemenal change to how we plan to earn and spend money supported by a NEW robust governance framework given how we have to reposition in a NEW world.

23. RE The PM NEEDS to tell us what the economic restructuring plan is and when will it start.
    HOW CAN SHE TELL US WHAT SHE DOES NOT KNOW?

24. https://www.facebook.com/246784233190/posts/10158150626733191/?sfnsn=mo

Another day in the lives of barbadian workers

25. Since May 2018 barbadian households have been placed on govt policies driven by lies and deceit
    This govt one growth plan from the outset was to go to the IMF put bajans backside through more economic stress to pay govt debt
    Two years of creating more debt will be problematic for everyone

26. William Skinner Avatar

@ John A
    “ If we wait with the hope that the Barbados economy will return on its own, we will suffer irreversible long term damage both economic and social.”

My brother we are going to suffer long term. The economy first has to return to pre COVID levels. That’s impossible under three to four years. If there are no more exogenous shocks , we will barely make it. I think that’s the point @Pacha hads correctly made.
    Unless we reform education and radically restructure the economy, we will scarcely have any worthwhile economy under thirty to thirty five years.
    Note that only today , we learn we are borrowing almost one billion BDS dollars to be repaid in twenty years.
    The hard realities will make a full mockery of pie- in- the- sky pseudo forecasting.
    At this point, as brutal as it sounds , I have to agree with @GP. After all , with or without COVID, we had fifty four years to get this right. We went to the IMF three times before COVID knocked us down.

Peace

27. Slave society Barbados, that black leaders know about, condone and maintain with Black people’s money.

“Jack Ryan Barbados Hall of Shame
    1ottnSponsoredgh ·
    IF U FEEL THAT SECURITY OFFICERS AROUND THE ISLAND ARE GETTING A RAW DEAL.. CHK WHATS HAPPENING TO WORKERS AT CLEANING COMPANIES.. A GOVERNMENT UNIT OF SORTS SHOULD BE PUT IN PLACE TO GET BEHIND SUCH BOSSES.. THESE MATTERS DO AFFECT BASIC HUMAN RIGHTS. BECAUSE THE WORKERS ARE SLOW TO SPEAK OUT DOESN’T MEAN THEY AREN’T HURTING. ENOUGH IS ENOUGH. QUIT KEEPING THE FAT CHEQUES AND LIVING LARGE WHILE THE EMPLOYEES DO ALL THE BACK WORK AND SUCK THE SALTS. THERE I SAID IT/”

28. @ GP

I hope you are wrong and there is a plan for all of our sakes!

29. @ William

To wait or expect a return to pre covid economic actvity is folly in the short to medium term. It’s not a matter of a vaccine solving everything. Many of our source markets are in deep financial problems with high unemployment. All that must be corrected before travel becomes a priority for the average person.

30. Government has turned to the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) for $240 million to strengthen Barbados’ health and economic response to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Yesterday, the financing agency announced that the US$120 million 20-year policy-based loan

US$120 million equals $240 million Barbados dollars.

31. So rather than restructure we borrow is that the plan?

Stupes I going to the RH beach. Lol

32. Surprised the useless fowl slaves ain’t out here boasting, yippee we got a new loan, the ministers are so intelligent, now we’ll never get outta debt, but we punching above that weight so who cares…..jokers…

or maybe they heard middle east is looking for fowl slaves……..and they done know they are easily replaceable, there’s one born and bred every minute……😂😂🤣🤣

33. He is a strong man to resist confessing whilst being tortured.

I know the ‘patriots’ would prefer the word ‘beaten’.

34. Isn’t the “financial assistance” to hoteliers loans rather than grants; hence why all are not on board? Has anyone stopped to ponder how opting for severance may actually be self-imposed earlier than expected/preferred retirement for many? Short-termism thinking? That said, employers should, however, ensure all workers who apply for severance get their money in a reasonable time.

35. @ Enuff,
    I can only imagine that knowing there would be disruption in the Tourist Industry that government should have put a package in place minimize the effects of Covid -19 but why change the law to disadvantage poor people? That is unacceptable. Why was the $300M not divided equally in loans between both parties? How much did the wage subsidy equate to in dollars? Why did the Severance Pay Act set out to disadvantage the poor working class and contained nothing to disadvantage the hotels or force them to pay severance?
    The social partnership has been exposed for what it is; a farce. People who have the best interest of Barbados and its people at heart would never have agreed to those amendments of the SPA.
    Since we have long passed that stage and it is now water under the bridge, its repercussions are much graver and seem to be headed back to 1937.
    The BWU does not have any solutions. Does the government have any?

36. @ Enuff,
    I can only imagine that knowing there would be disruption in the Tourist Industry that government should have put a package in place minimize the effects of Covid -19 but why change the law to disadvantage poor people? That is unacceptable. Why was the $300M not divided equally in loans between both parties? How much did the wage subsidy equate to in dollars? Why did the Severance Pay Act set out to disadvantage the poor working class and contained nothing to disadvantage the hotels or force them to pay severance?
    The social partnership has been exposed for what it is; a farce. People who have the best interest of Barbados and its people at heart would never have agreed to those amendments of the SPA.
    Since we have long passed that stage and it is now water under the bridge, its repercussions are much graver and seem to be headed back to 1937.
    The BWU does not have any solutions. Does the government have any?

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

@ Heather

YOU MUST BE BASED OVERSEAS,

WHY ARE YOU “THROWING SHADE”.

GLAD TO SEE THAT SOMEONE ELSE IS SPEAKING TRUTH TO THE REALITY ON THE 2 x 3 ISLAND.

37. Was expecting this to drag on further
    This is a rogue company and does not give a dam
    Six year negotiation by any Union is too long and legal action against this Company should have been the preferred method of seeking resolution

38. @ Mariposa

G4S is not of any importance to the security of the country. It is just a bunch of uniformed security guards. With 40 per cent unemployment, a relatively decently educated population, the real shame is that Barbadians cannot organise a security firm to get local work.
    We are not in a position to export our work like this. The strikers should form their own company, and any local firm that continues to hire G4S should be put on notice that if it does not stop employing them all organised labour will be withdrawn.
    We must make our power as consumers pay. By the way, when I see some of the goons with their guns strapped to their sides I just smile. G4S is a UK company and in the UK they cannot even carry gutter perks.

39. Atherley demands clear action from PM

Read ePaper
    Home / Top Featured Article / Atherley demands clear action from PM

Atherley demands clear action from PM – by Kareem Smith December 5, 2020
    Prime Minister Mia Mottley has been asked to step down from her “lofty perch” and provide clear answers about the payment of severance to frustrated hotel workers.

This was the plea of Opposition Leader Bishop Joseph Atherley, who joined protesters in front of the Accra Beach Hotel and Spa asking that the PM, and key members of her cabinet demand the highest level of accountability from hoteliers, instead of compromising the national social security system to assist the country’s business class.

As he urged the frustrated workers to continue voicing their concerns, Atherley has also warned that as Government continues to drag its feet on the issues, the current demonstrations would only get worse.

“Government has to make its position clear to workers, to whom they talk down, but they also have to make their position clear to hoteliers who want to resile from their responsibilities under law to these [workers] and you cannot do that. Make your position clear,” declared Atherley to rousing applause from workers.

“The position of these workers is clear and you are seeing it. Government needs to make it very clear what its position is and it can’t simply be the voice of the Prime Minister saying ‘we will take care of the severance’. No! It is not as easy as that.

“The Severance Fund does not belong to the government, it belongs to the taxpayers of Barbados and it is put there to address future situations affecting the working-class people of Barbados further down the road,” the Opposition Leader argued.

Atherley said that Government’s promise to pay severance appeared to be an unnecessary cop out from the Mottley administration in response to “hasty reliance” from businesses on government support. And, as workers are left hopelessly to wait on their severance, the Opposition Leader has slammed suggestions from the Prime Minister that affected workers ought to tone down their wildcat protests.

“The Prime Minister can stay on her lofty perch and make those statements… These people are hungry. Their children are hungry. These people are not here because they are asking favours. These people are here because they are standing up for their rights, and a government sworn to office is duly obligated to look out for the rights of workers as well, not just the business interests in Barbados,” said Atherley.

“I think that a lot of these [businesses] are in a position to meet these obligations because they made money on the backs of these people. But now, no. You want to resile yourself from your responsibilities, put it on the taxpayers’ purse, make the taxpayers pay these people and put that entire [National Insurance] scheme in jeopardy for the rest of Barbados.

“So the problem we are discussing is not simply the immediate one of these workers’ rights and their interests. It is about the stability of our national insurance and social security system in Barbados and it is about the Government’s position with respect to these matters,” he added.

Bishop Atherley then took aim at Colin Jordan whom he described as the “most silent Minister of Labor” in the history of this country.

“We know the economy is in dire straits, but workers are under stress and we cannot hear the voice of the labour minister. What you are hearing today are the voices of the workers. And I guarantee you that if the Government does not move swiftly to help address this problem, and if pressure is not put on hoteliers to address this problem, you are going to get more and more of this,” he predicted.

The Opposition leader stressed that he in no way endorses violent protestations and disruptions, but acknowledged that the ongoing unrest is also a “manifestation” of festering tensions between labour and capital interests that existed prior to the COVID-19 pandemic.

“We boast about the levels of employment we had before COVID, but we have always had a serious problem with underemployment, where people are exploited and are being paid very little. COVID has exacerbated the problem of industrial relations in Barbados. It has become more pronounced, and that is why you are seeing these uprisings,” Atherley suggested.

(kareemsmith@barbadostoday.bb)

40. Are you sure G4S supplies only uniform services?

Do we have other security services in Barbados?

41. William Skinner Avatar

@Hal
    We have been a leading tourist destination in the Caribbean for nearly forty years. We have depended on tourism for since the early 70s. We have a hotel school and there are Bajans all over the world , who carried skills learnt in Bim overseas and reached top level management in the industry.
    Can you believe , we are still brining expatriates in to train our hotel workers. I personally know the hotel worker at Sandy Lane who used to “set” tables for international dignitaries,including “ royalty” and he is a retired top level hotel executive who left and carved out an extremely successful career elsewhere. All the crap these people on BU talk; they don’t know what is Nation Building. They still believe that if we don’t import non- Barbadians to assist, they would do better.
    Bizzy Williams made billions off the backs of Bajans and when he wanted somebody to run his empire he brought in a man from England. And we have people walking about with Masters unemployed.
    Peace

42. @ William

At some point you must give up. I know the potential of young Barbadians, from the military to academia to the hospitality industry to administration to law to the police.
    I can name Barbadians, and wider Caribbean people, who has established themselves in the UK in all the fields I have mentioned – and this from people from the worst treated and discriminated against community in the UK.
    There is what I call the Bajan Condition, and what that means in this case, one of its behavioural traits, is that if someone of Barbadian heritage comes to Barbados to make a contribution all those stay-at-home Bajans do is measure themselves against that person.
    I am sure you are familiar with that mental disease: if s/he can do it, so can I. I know more about X or Y than s/he does; s/he cannot teach me anything.
    I remember getting an email from a Barbadian in New York working in a key financial position and who was keen to introduce some new ideas to Barbados.
    He prepared a very good paper and hoped to present it to the conference. But at the conference all he got was Senator McClean preaching about how people in the Diaspora could contribute to Barbados and how clever she was, with her MBA.
    The guy returned to New York and promised never to do it again. Any professional Barbadian in the UK can tell you similar stories. I was at a garden part y when a senior member of the Arthur government promised a recently retired top criminal justice office a job in Barbados. The idea was he would introduce reforms. Of course, it came to nothing.
    They are jokers. I promise, I am not a mentor, a teacher, a consultant, a patriot, a reactionary nationalist, none of that bovine excrement. If anyone wants help, and asks me, and I can help them, so be it.
    What I find flattering is that years after my retirement I still get calls from former colleagues asking for my contribution, not one of whom is Barbadian. In fact, the keenest is a young Jamaican woman. That is satisfying.
    Why are Jamaicans more dynamic than Bajans? Is it cultural or genetic?

43. @William

What happens at Sandy Lane is no different to what occurs at Codrington College. Successive governments have not stringently enforce a work permit a la Singapore. You may recall a decision in the 80s when a BLP government vetoed alien land holding legislation because we wanted to present a generous investment climate.

44. Has anyone else noticed that this article https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/12/05/hotel-workers-join-forces-and-vow-to-protest-until-they-receive-outstanding-funds/ is no longer visible on the Barbados Today website? It was their lead article this morning.

45. NorthernObserver Avatar

@TW
    the article works for me,,,,try again

46. Heather

The government will pay the workers what i due to them. If it comes from NIS or the 300M is of no concern to me – where ever it comes from it will be the “public purse”. I would be more interested in how government will recoup the money from the hotels.

i lelieve that some of the hotels are having cash flow problems while some maybe taking advantage of loop holes in the laws – Trump and big businesses does it here in the usa and chicken and ram was doing it forever in Barbados.

The workers are protesting against the hotels (which are responsible for paying the severance) and not against the government who would be heartless not to assist them in their plight (any government in any country).

Severance pay is a different calculation than unemployment so i would expect some delay but i do hope that for the worker sake it it very soon and before xmas even if it is just a partial payment.

47. @ Mr. Skinner

Could you please explain.

On one hand you ‘said,”Can you believe, we are still bringing expatriates in to train our hotel workers.”…………………..

……………….. and, on the other hand, “They still believe that if we DON’T import non- Barbadians to assist, they would do better.”

48. @Northern Observer
    The link takes you to the article but if you navigate to the BT website, the article is not visible. It was the lead article this morning so it seems a bit quick for it to be taken down from its lead position.

Leave a Reply to DavidCancel reply