On the 54th anniversary of our Independence as it is referred to signify the slashing of our navel string from former empire, several issues floated around the fertile mind of a lowly blogmaster about what to blog.

We will read, listen view the usual scripting by program directors at the media houses. Barbadians everywhere will share on social media platforms things barbadianna. This is a good thing. The BU household is proud of what our tiny 21×14 little rock has been able to achieve with negligible natural resources. Like many countries across the globe, we are experiencing challenges that come with having to survive in a competitive space.

Some of us reflect on where we have come and try to visualize the road ahead still to be travelled. It is to be regretted that the some who are moved to engage in such reflections do not represent the majority. A reasonable observation is that the vast majority of the population is easily influenced by messaging from the establishment. Should this be the case given the billions of dollars allocated to education since 1966? A definition of the purpose of formal education “is to provide a knowledge source to enhance students’ skills, methods to capitalize and motivate their curiosity (BU emphasis) to improve their wellness and understand how their environment works...”. Hold this thought!

Barbados Underground (BU) was born after Adrian Loveridge had to sit in a separate VOB studio because it was the condition imposed by then minister of tourism Noel “Barney” Lynch. Several Loveridge columns were severely edited by the Nation newspaper were posted unedited to BU. The same courtesy was extended to Peter Wickham when the Nation declined to publish articles they considered to be defamatory. BU posted the articles unedited. Last and not least the same courtesy was extended to Senator Caswell Franklyn. The blogmaster is happy that today the individuals mentioned appear to have overcome whatever challenges existed with Starcom Network and Nation Publishing which denied them access.

To use another definition- a well functioning mass media should “inform, persuade, entertain and transmit culture“. Can we honestly opine that local media if evaluated on these four measures pass the test?

@ David I read some of the press comments you posted and will say just this. Anytime someone says the NIS Fund is sound cause it has 4 or 5 billion dollars in assets stop reading the article. It equated to me saying I have a $50,000 car cause that is what I paid for it, don’t mind it’s ten years old and has a market value of $5000.

John A

The quote inspired this blog for what it indirectly condemns as an irresponsible media, dishonest heads institutions and prominent others whose agenda is to protect the establishment at all cost. Why are we not having constructive engagement from the thousands of Barbadians educated at Cave Hill and elsewhere? Why has there been no commitment to remove the fog that has enveloped the National Insurance Fund? Why has traditional media given token coverage to this matter?

The topic of the NIS has to be the most posted topic on BU. Despite assurances by successive governments, it has become crystal clear to this blogmaster the time has come for all issues good and bad affecting the NIS fund to be laid bare and as a people agree to a palatable way forward.

On this 54th birthday of our Independence this is the matter top of the mind of a lowly blogmaster. The ask therefore is that 54 not out is a good time to mark fresh guard.

@John A sadly Covid 19 is a respiratory thing, and hastily removed all the breathing space they thought they had gained. And then exposed that, with a prior serious underlying condition.

Northern Observer

92 responses to “54 Not Out”

1. @ de pedantic Dribbler November 30, 2020 9:23 AM

“A grand happy independence to all … wherever we roam, wherever we lay our heads Barbados remains unquestionably our HOME at heart!”

Aye aye Captain…

2. @ Sargeant
    Thanks 😊

3. @ Donna.

Be Jovial on this given day…

Lol 😂

4. On the 54th day of Independence Mia blew kisses at the front liner workers
    Workers that she place in the frontline of the deadly virus called COVID
    It would have been nice if Mia had told cabinet that she was calling on cabinet to initiate a policy that would supply financial funding for these workers if they got infected with the virus whilst on the job in order to reduce their financial stress of being unemployed

5. On the 54th day of Independence
    Mia took the opportunity to roll.out a long drawn out political speech
    A speech which was numbing to the ears and full fledged optics riddle with excuses all but which told barbadians that in order for the country to succeed the people must suffer
    In other words expect more of the same govt policies that have put them through the ringer
    Of course Mia knows that bajans are idiots and love tripe

6. William Skinner Avatar

Some interesting quotes;
    At the same time (PM Mottley) she called on employees to” recognise that sometimes it is not the loudest voice or the easiest way to make a spectacle that brings on (reflects on) yourself , the community or the country”.
    ” There is no neeed to shout even if somebody starts to do us wrong”.
    ” There are ways of dealing with these matters and we know how to do it and can do it without undermining the confidence that those who may be watching from outside have in us literally, because they see all of these examples of what they view as wildcat action taking place in this nation” Nation Newspaper Tuesday December 1st. 2020.
    Imagine a Prime Minister making such anti-worker sentiment in a Independence Day address. This is the same politician who was marching up and down Barbados less than three years ago. Question: Who are these “outside ” people who watching us ?
    But the following quote says it all:
    ” However , I must caution the unions that they must be very careful who they choose as bedfellows. It is prophesied that a time will come when the lion shall lie down with the lamb . But I must warn them that the time has not yet come and they are in danger of becoming lamb chops.” Caswell Franklyn , Monday July 24th 2017, barbados Underground.

Broke and desperate workers who have been robbed of their severance and other National Insurance benefits are now being told not to shout and don’t make spectacles of themselves and keep a happy face for people from “outside” their country. A very dark cloud is slowly covering our island state.

7. THIS IS AMAZING!
    SIMPLY AMAZING.
    MIA CARES INDEED! BUT FOR WHOM? IT SEEMS SHE CARES MAINLY FOR those who may be watching from outside
    IN HER INCOHERENT RANT MIA INDICATES HER GROSS INCOMPETENCE AND INEPTITUDE

WHAT IS AMAZING TOO IS THAT THE BLOGMASTER PROMOTES AND DEFENDS THIS IDIOT BUT CURSES WITH A GREAT DEAL OF FERVOUR A LEADER WHO WAS SUCCESSFUL IN ACHIEVING MUCH FOR HIS COUNTRY—–SOMETHING THAT MIA WILL NEVER BE ABLE TO DO FOR A BARBADOS THAT MARCHES RELENTLESSLY TO ITS DEMISE

8. COME ON STRUGGLING BAJANS
    HELP THE UNITED NATIONS WITH THEIR PLEAS
    SEND A BILLION US DOLLARS

9. Tony,

I guess you are new to the blog otherwise you would know that I do not take kindly to men telling me what I should do, who I should be and how I should behave. THEREFORE…. I will be jovial when I see fit.

10. I forgot my lol. 😊

11. Wait! I thought the USA is also marching to its demise.

Signed,

Covid free in Barbados unlike Covid riddled America.

P.S. 1 in 6 Americans food insecure.

275,000 Americans dead. Hospitals overflowing. Patients being turned away.

Looks like we all struggling in different ways. I prefer our way. I am going out today to shop. I will put some money in the Salvation Army tin. I will buy from the hawkers/vendors and black businessess and spread the money around.

We will live to fight another day.

12. It is interesting that now we have celebrated our 54th anniversary of independence, we are not as keen to reflect on the fact that ALL our official archives of our external affairs from the 1960s to 80s have gone missing.
    Is this carelessness, incompetence or another example of a failed state? Were those the lost decades?

13. Walter Blackman Avatar

If David Ellis has not been honoured at the national level, I believe it is about time he was.

He has maintained a standard of excellence in journalism and public education, day in and day out, for more than a generation.

14. @Walter

Agreed.

He was honored by BARJAM in the weekend.

15. @ Walter

We only recognise an elite – political, business and social.

16. @ Walter

We only recognise an elite – political, business and social.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

@ Hal

DAVID ELLIS DOES NOT HAVE THE PETTY-GREE,

17. Donna ?

Barbados Women Squad / Players 2001

Donna-Marie Layne
    Current Age:
    52 years 198 days
    Major Teams:
    Barbados Women, Hertfordshire Women

Batting: Left-hand bat
    Bowling: Right-arm fast-medium…

Wow 😯 all rounder..
    That’s my Girl…

18. But how come the Barjam shoulder has been given a cold shoulder on BU no rabbit hole on this one
    Mia has recevied stinging Criticism across social media
    BU dont let the brigade call out as a Mia undercover supporter or is that a truth

19. Mia used the media to win the election
    Now she is through with them
    She throws that lot under the bus
    Lol

20. Yes 👏
    Bus dum Mia, they ain’t no F…..g good..

21. Some how. a part of me feels good about these recent turn of events
    This same Barjam lied about not being in cohoots with Mia in colloborating the media bi election debate
    That much should have said that Mia nor Barjam had no respect for the bajan intelligence
    Barjam lies have now come back to bite them in the arse by Mia
    Makes for a good belly laugh .lol

22. […] the 54 Not Out blog there is a cursory discussion about local media. We have a David Ellis who has been the standout […]

23. @ Mariposa

Are you suggesting that the reason why David Ellis was not given an Independence Award was because he turned down the St George North by-election TV debate?
    Are you suggesting the president is vindictive?

24. RE Are you suggesting the president is vindictive?
    PERISH THE THOUGHT HAL. SHE IS AS PURE AS A LILLY AND LIKE THE VIRTUOUS WOMAN OF PROVERBS 31

25. @ GP

I will hear nothing negative said about the president.

26. THANK YOU SIR
    AS A LOYAL BAJAN YOU ARE TO BOW AND WORSHIP HER
    AND REGULARLY APROXIMATE YOUR LABIAE ORAE TO THE ADIPOSE TISSUE THAT OVERLIE HER GLUTEI, FOR LENGTHY PERIODS

27. @GP

I do not know what you have said, but it sounds nice.

28. https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/11/28/lawyers-who-break-bond-of-trust-will-get-no-sympathy/
    I like the phrase … You are “a trustee, never a beneficiary”
    Translation: Stop acting like a damn thief and be a lawyer.

29. The President is like St. Paul all things to all people
    Can take a waffle and make sweet bread
    I heard she took a jug of koolaid gave it to the people and told them it was sweet bread
    The last of her miracles was to convince the media that a debate was a correct road to transparency and accountability for the candidates never mind that she was not included
    The media gracefully bowed to her wishes and the rest is history
    Presently the media is feeling the last remaining remnants of her white wash and they are angry

30. Congratulations to Mighty Gabby. Hopefully the ticker is in good shape …LOL.

Gabby takes a bride

CULTURAL AMBASSADOR, the Most Honourable Anthony GabbyCarter wrote a new song today.

The lush greenery of Naniki, in Surinam, St Joseph, was the perfect setting for him and his bride Shina Walker to exchange their vows and pledges of love in a beautiful, very intimate ceremony witnessed by “close, close, close” family friends, including Eddy Grant.

Shina was resplendent in a white, off-the-shoulder dress accentuated by African print at the top and along the sides while Gabby, 72, wore a white suit with the same print along the collar, down the front, on the cuffs and sides of the pants.

The newlyweds were serenaded by steel pannist Terry Mexican Arthur, guitarist Willie Kerr and Shina’s son Kenaz Mighty Bit Bit Walker who sang Unchained Melody.

A happy, laughing Shina told the DAILY NATION “it was beautiful and so lovely”.

(GBM)

31. Gabby 72 not out
    How many of yuh old men on BU can say that at your age 70 plus can begin a new marriage to some one much younger than yuhself

32. RE Hal AustinDecember 2, 2020 5:37 PM
    i SAID SHE WANTS YOU TO KISS HER BACKSIDE

33. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Mariposa at 7:24 PM
    And why would we, old men. want to do that?

34. THIS IS HOW THE WHITE BUSINESSES TREAT BLACK BAJANS ON THE 2 x 3 ISLAND AND GET AWAY WITH IT.

“WHO SAID MASSA WAS DEAD”

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Shocked employees meet closed gates

Employees of Ready-Mix Ltd will spend the Christmas season with a bitter taste in their mouths, after being laid-off abruptly and subsequently locked out of their place of employment while attempting to collect the documents necessary to file for their unemployment benefits.

The surprise actions have also raised suspicions among workers about the breakdown of ongoing salary negotiations between management and the Barbados Workers’ Union (BWU).

President of the union’s Ready-Mix division Andre Sealy explained that the 61-member staff is usually laid off annually around December 18th until early January. This year however, they were shocked to receive notification as they were leaving on Wednesday, of the company’s intention to lay them off from Thursday, December 3rd.

“They laid us off without any notice. They just gave it to us in the evening, in the blink of an eye, and trust me, the men don’t feel good,” Sealy explained.

In the correspondence, General Manager Graham Proverb told staff that the company had “no alternative” given the “current circumstances at this time”.

Their shock then turned to anger when they found a locked gate at the Lear’s, St. Michael compound around 7 a.m. as they arrived to collect their National Insurance Scheme (NIS) “green paper”. Security officials, reportedly acting on the instructions of management informed employees that they would not be allowed to enter.

Simultaneously, approximately 12 workers who had arrived around 6 a.m. were locked inside, and in response, scores of angry workers outside, drove their vehicles up to the gate blocking all exit and entry.

“The men got angry and they drove up to the gate and parked by the gate. So nobody could get in or out until the union came and spoke to us,” the union president further explained.

During a brief interview in the afternoon, BWU General Secretary Toni Moore declined to comment on the matter.

Barbados TODAY later learned that some employees have not had a raise of pay for almost ten years, and this was among matters being discussed. In fact, the union president suggested that a recent breakdown in negotiations might have been responsible for the company’s behaviour.

“Right now, negotiations are going on in terms of salary increases and those negotiations broke down between the union and the management, so all of this is a part of it,” he said.

Efforts to reach the general manager were unsuccessful.

Meanwhile, outspoken employee Michael John explained that workers were concerned about the wording of the letter informing staff of the layoff as well as the abrupt manner in which the information was relayed.

“For the five years that I have been there, they would say that they are shutting on the 18th and you would come to work to receive your green papers, because that is the last day of work. If they changed the date to the 3rd shouldn’t the same procedure stand?” asked John.

“Why, after they told us after 3 o’clock yesterday that the company is closing on the 3rd, then today when you have come to collect the documents, you can’t enter the premises? Why wasn’t my green paper attached to it as well? Once the green paper was attached to the card yesterday, then I would have known definitely that yesterday was the last day,” he continued.

The impasse continued until around 11 and according to the frustrated employee, the general manager did not come out to address them.

“He sent the sales manager Andrew Lewis to ask us to move our vehicles from blocking the gate… He did not come to say a word, so we waited patiently until the union representatives showed up to give us a better understanding of what is going on. From my understanding, they spoke with management so that the guys can get their green papers, and then we dispersed as necessary,” he added.

The 61-member staff complement comprises mechanics, forklift drivers, and truck drivers, and up until Wednesday, the concrete-making company was said to be working on numerous projects including at a branch of Chefette Restaurants, Sam Lord’s Castle and others.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/12/04/shocked-employees-meet-closed-gates/

35. What a gawd awful color coordination of a design of a dress Mia was wearing on Independence Day
    One resembling a parrot

36. Hostile ICBL takeover possibility
    Article by
    Barbados Today
    Published on
    December 4, 2020

The possibility exists that the Insurance Corporation of Barbados (ICBL) could be at the centre of a hostile takeover bid if a party other than Paynes Bay Finance or its subsidiary Hamilton Financial Limited, was behind the recent purchase of several million ICBL shares.

The possibility has been floated by market watcher and interim head of the Barbados Association of Corporate Shareholders Douglas Skeete, who said he had no confirmation at this stage who made the big purchase of about 10 million ICBL shares

Speaking during a recent radio programme, Skeete said: “It could be that the other entity is looking to acquire 25 per cent of the outstanding shares that could trigger a takeover so we could have a second takeover bid from another entity.

“The assumption is that this could be the same [Paynes Bay Finance] trying to acquire the remaining 48.8 per cent of the shares. We can only make some assumptions. We don’t have the information.”

Paynes Bay Finance acquired controlling interest in ICBL in September from Bermuda Fire & Marine (BF&M) who had purchased the insurance company during Government’s programme to privatize state assets.

“The majority shareholder Paynes Bay Finance still has some way to go in acquiring a complete purchase of all the outstanding shares in ICBL.

“The company would need to acquire another 15 million shares to reach the 90 per cent threshold so it can trigger a compulsory acquisition of the remaining shares,” Skeete explained.

The accountant, who has been a long-time advocate for minority shareholders in public companies, also commented on the decision by the board of ICBL not to pay a final dividend this year to shareholders.

Skeete said: “We don’t know the reason for the resignation of director Sir Paul Altman. But on the issue of the dividends, one can [assume] that decisions are being taken presumably to frustrate minority shareholders and therefore frustrate them to the stage where they might consider selling their shares.

“That is something one could assume,” he said.

In this regard, Skeete urged minority shareholders to hold on to their investments.

“The decision of the company not to pay dividends by itself doesn’t mean . . . that the shares are not worth anything. They are only worth $1.78 now but the owners will likely be looking to expand the company and probably diversify into whatever business can be brought to the fore and make it more profitable.

“Stay the course. You don’t have to rush and sell the shares at the $1.78,” Skeete noted.

Meanwhile, all eyes are on the National Insurance Scheme (NIS) the second largest shareholder in ICBL.

Deputy chair of the NIS Avinash Persaud has publicly stated the NIS would not be disposing of its ICBL shares at the current offer rate.

ICBL has 2300 shareholders inclusive of institutional investors and individuals.

37. First public grant to education
    By Dr Dan C. Carter
    There is, no doubt, at this time in Barbados, that there is the feeling of joy and happiness as we celebrated our 54th year of Independence. It should also be a time when citizens reflect on the past and reminisce on those important happenings that together have created the successful democracy we cherish today.
    I believe that one of those happenings took place at a sitting of the House of Assembly of Barbados on April 4, 1846. The occasion was the presentation of a report from a committee charged with considering “Education of the people.” The committee was chaired by Dr James S. Bascom and included Samuel J. Prescod, James Holligan, George Sharpe and John Sealy, all members of the Assembly.
    It was not surprising that National Hero, Samuel J. Prescod was a member of the committee. His passion for education was clearly evident in his support for the Colonial Charity School, which was later renamed the St Mary’s Primary School, the first school established in 1818 for people of colour in Barbados. More importantly, as the first black member of the House, he ably represented and spoke on every major topic in that august chamber, unafraid of who he may have offended.
    His leadership was phenomenal.
    However, the British government had informed her British colonies in the Caribbean that it was no longer financially supporting public education through the Negro Education Grant that ended in 1845. The governors were advised that “the successful prosecution of” public education “must necessarily depend upon the colonies themselves.” It was then that the Barbados Parliament decided to take action.
    The committee, in its report, expressed appreciation of the benevolence, philanthropy, and Christian empathy to which the West Indian islands were indebted, for the very reasonable aid which was extended to them “in the hour of their need,” by the British Parliament and the other London based societies. Nonetheless, the educational deficit was appallingly awesome, as in 1846, there were only 59 church schools with a population of 2 713 pupils accessing legislative and vestry grants.
    The committee made its most important submission by suggesting that a legislative grant of £1 000 per annum be passed by the legislature in aid of education, and placed at the disposal of the Bishop of the Established Church. The committee was very careful to admit that the grant suggested would be inadequate but that it would “be sufficient to ensure to the people gratuitous instruction to a certain and very important extent.”
    Met with some resistance
    After much discussion in the House of Assembly, the Education Act of 1846 was passed unanimously and sent to the Board of Council, which was subsequently called the Legislative Council, and now the Senate, for further ratification. However, the bill met with some resistance by the honourable members of the upper house. They responded by suggesting to members ‘in the other place’ a sum of money between £1 000 and £500. Apparently, these wealthy planter-class and mercantile elite, could not set aside a paltry £1 000 for the education of the labouring masses. They regarded the Assembly’s amount as excessive. This response got the ire of the Governor, Sir Charles Grey.
    His Excellency interjected with some rather scathing remarks.
    “More is wanted than Railways and European capital and machinery, to render this a happy and prosperous Colony; civilisation without mental and moral culture, only makes men discontented with the institutions of their country, restless, vain, ambitious . . .”.
    “Every parish and every district is already provided with schoolhouses and masters, and with an officiating Minister as the authorised superintendent. What is wanted, is means. The school houses require repairs and the school-masters are now reduced from unavoidable circumstances to a state of pauperism, to salaries far less than persons competent to the office have a right to expect. Experience proves that the education of a people is a thing which cannot be left to the voluntary support of the public, any more than the provisions for the ordinances of religion.”
    The education bill was sent back to the House of Assembly where it was again debated. Dr Bascom was of the view that as a money matter the Board of Council should not have interfered with the Bill.
    The Bill was finally passed with a grant to education of £750 but with Prescod abstaining.
    Dr. Dan C, Carter, educational historian and author

38. Albatross around NIS’ neck
    To perceive things in the germ is intelligence – Lao-tsze – The Simple Way.
    THERE IS A BRILLIANT EXPOSÉ in the SUNDAY SUN of November 29 by Sheena Mayers-Granville that may have a misleading heading. Misleading in as much as people may feel that the National Insurance has deep pockets.
    As she concludes, “I suspect that changes to our national security system may be imminent to ensure continued viability.”
    Now we are getting our knickers in a messy tangle. The BEST (Barbados Employment and Sustainable Transformation) programme is supposed to be available to hotels so that workers do not have to resort to the National Insurance Scheme (NIS) that is already under tremendous strain as many workers are being laid off. Companies are responsible for paying part of the cost to lay off people.
    BEST is being proposed in order to ease an employment situation that Government sees looming. In any case, is BEST being proposed too late or is it really supposed to be the answer?
    Dispute
    Some companies have gone ahead and laid off workers without paying them, fomenting a dispute about wages. They are aware of BEST. But resorting to BEST is not and cannot be compulsory.
    The other enticements proposed by BEST whereby hotels will enter into an investment arrangement seem to have been ignored, as it seems to lead nowhere.
    However, so imperfect is the situation that resorting to BEST seems to be fraught with problems for the hotel owners both in terms of the present balance sheet position and the prospect of reduced ownership, and even worse, a possibility of not relishing the people with whom they will have to share ownership for an indeterminable period.
    So hotel owners will have second thoughts. I have been saying so from the start.
    Then some workers have gotten a settlement and the hotel given a “bligh”. Some hotels may consider themselves untouchable. But in the final analysis, who is responsible for the workers if the hotels have been making and paying deductions?
    Hear the NIS chairman: “We will recover every cent that we have had to pay to the workers that hotel owners were supposed to pay.”
    Actually, we are kicking the topsy down a dark hole where the young generation will have to be responsible for the contents. But what can we do instead?
    A tangle
    So now everything is in a tangle. For some reason, some hotels get their workers paid by National Insurance while others may be asked to give up shares so that their workers can be retained for two years, thus avoiding a possible dispute where National Insurance may be constrained to intervene. Will National Insurance with deep pockets stand ready for the deluge that is coming? You help one, you help all.
    What were the criteria? Will it provide help as a last resort with the intention of ensuring the funds used in support of the recalcitrant hotels are replaced – or else? How will you enforce or else?
    More and more people will bring pressure to bear on Government in an effort to redress where employers had an obligation. Employers will want to take advantage of your criteria whatever it is.
    While I say that the workers’ plight had to be addressed, I hold out little hope of ever seeing the funds used to bail out the non-paying hotel being replaced in the National Insurance.
    Precedent
    Furthermore, the precedent and any furtherance of this precedent will be an albatross around the neck of the National Insurance already holding unpaid bonds.
    By the way, we should be informed of the real state of the fund.
    Do you realise that we cannot effectively put our relatively vast savings to any benefit in this hour of trial? The banks are the ones that prevent our savings from being put to productive use. You have the Government under pressure of having to bail out hotels, many foreignowned, as a lifeline has to be thrown to the workers.
    Another effort to stimulate activity is being made by the junior minister telling the banks that the Central Bank will assume 20 per cent of risk for loans to the public. Banks need no help in assuming risk. That is their business. In any case, that suggestion was made already when Jefferson Reeves was in charge of the proposal at the Central Bank. It was a failure.
    The banks know that the Central Bank’s balance sheet may be in the red and that it is picking up the tab for those who take some of their salary in bonds.
    Harry Russell is a banker.

39. Oh what a tangle web we weave when we practice to deceived
    Millions of taxpayers money gone and some more heading down the drain
    For years these hoteliers were sucking off govt nipples
    Now crying poverty and asking govt to do more
    Lick them up they owe more than what they are asking
    The workers have to pay their bills too
    Now other business to whom theses workers are indebted are locked up in this quagmire of dispute because of poor governance
    Yeap the bottom has finally fell out of the leaking basket
    It was just a matter of time

40. I give up
    I does read these long pieces and at the end I have no idea of the point(s) made.

Does a school established in 1818for people of color admit blacks or is it for massa sons and daughters? I believe people of color had a different meaning back then.

I cannot read these color blind article of 1800 to 1850