Submitted by Richard Petko

In the past few days Governor of the Central Bank Cleviston Haynes and economist Jeremy Stephen provided varying opinions on when the local economy will rebound. Whatever the date, it is crystal clear the primary driver of the economy is tourism and until it returns in force, Barbados will be subject to an unsustainable unemployment rate of over 30%. In both cases the opinions assume the revival of tourism is highly dependent on a drop in cases coupled with vaccine rollout. Not to discount these reasons, in my opinion these are not the greatest barrier which will suppress a tourism rebound in Barbados. 

The inconvenient truth is the policy of quarantine on arrival, mandatory testing and a reality of being sent into isolation for 2-3 weeks is the main deterrent preventing the return of tourists.  We have been told that this policy has kept Barbados “safe”. The underlying assumption of this policy being that even one case of Covid is too many. However, the reality is although vaccines are on the horizon there will never be an eradication of Covid, it is endemic. Vaccinated people will catch and spread Covid, as they do Influenza.  Government and tourism leaders need to gaze into the mirror and decide what is a realistic goal with managing Covid? The one case is too many mantra is not sustainable and economically foolhardy. 

Does Barbados plan on quarantining, testing and isolating travellers for the rest of time? If one case of Covid is too many, why is one case of Influenza not too many? Both are considered lethal pathogens to vulnerable people. Regarding tourism, by mid February there will be 200 million or more UK, USA and Canadian residents who will have either had Covid or been immunized. These people will return to travel with the force of a tsunami. During this US Thanksgiving weekend Americans are travelling in record numbers even with dire warnings from their CDC. Tourists will search for warm weather destinations in the USA, Caribbean and Latin America.  

When they search, they will discover Mexico, Colombia, Costa Rica, Florida, Brazil and Jamaica have no Covid entry requirements at all. The rest of the Caribbean has the requirement of a negative PCR test from 3-10 days old depending on country. In fact, the only nations that test tourists on arrival with the threat of isolation are Bermuda, Barbados and Cuba. 

Travellers will have many options, does one believe that your average traveller will choose to get a pre flight PCR test, quarantine for 3 days in Barbados and then take another PCR test, or will he decide to fly to Negril hassle free. Customers will always choose the path of least resistance when all else is equal. When it comes to a 10-day getaway on a beach in Antigua, Cancun, Cartagena or Barbados it is equal, thus the decision making will come down to the Covid hassle/barrier provided by each country.

Air Canada flights already show the effect of Barbados Covid rules. Air Canada has resumed a full schedule of daily flights to Cancun, Puerto Vallarta and Cabo San Lucas, whereas Barbados receives 2 flights a week, reduced from the previous daily flights.

The Barbados government should be transparent and truthful to the citizenry regarding future plans for the management of Covid. If it will be the current zero Covid policy then Bajans can prepare and plan for the economy they currently are surviving in. If changes are being undertaken, they need to be enacted rapidly. Tourist agencies are already stating they are receiving a bonanza of enquiries for early 2021 vacations. I firmly believe without changes Barbados tourism will wallow in its current darkness forever.

136 responses to “An Inconvenient Truth”

1. @ William
    @John A

The idea of food security came out of the second world war. In Barbados we do not need to use our sparse land to produce agricultural products.
    What we need to do is to secure our food supply and we can do that through the strategic use of land, which at present we badly abuse. Go to Parish Land in St Philip and see how much land is used for a few boxed houses.
    We have discussed this topic before. I will propose that we guarantee our food supply by trading in the derivatives markets – given that local traders and the government are both scared of derivatives.
    Let us simplify it with our rice supply, a staple. We can order our rice from a Guyana farmer (didn’t a Barbadian buy land in Guyana exactly for this purpose?) and hedge it by ordering from a supplier in Sierra Leone.
    In that way, it means if there is a disaster in Guyana we have the African supply, or vice versa. It also means if both orders come through we can take and pay for one supply and sell off the other.
    What is good about it is that we do not have to tie up any foreign reserves and can use that money more productively. In terms of the Guyana and Sierra Leonean farmers, they can take the orders to the money markets and borrow on the contracts to improve their farming and pay their bills. A win-win.

2. @TheOGazerts November 27, 2020 12:51 PM

Thanks TheOGazerts

3. @MoneyBrain November 27, 2020 12:30 PM

No thanks Moneybrain.

Ya putting some selective “truth telling” pun we?

I was wondering about the “those who are not vulnerable to COVID-19”

Are we sure who “those” are?

4. @Theo. The vast majority of deaths are from Seniors and people who have certain medical problems—protect them. Everyone else has a little more risk than seasonal flu. Children deaths are approx same as flu. Deaths from Wuhan virus this year will be approximately 2% of total deaths mainly seniors who would most likely die in a couple years anyway. Protect them as best you can. FEAR is being used for political purposes.

5. @ Cuhdear—yes we know who!

6. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Cuhdear Bajan at 2:11 PM

No . It is called convenient truth. One selects the data that conforms with our narrative and deselect those that would nullify it. Good old time trick.

7. @moneybrain “should immediately be allowed to resume life as normal. Schools, Unis should be open for in-person teaching. Restaurants and other businesses should open,”

But money brain Barbados’ schools, colleges, universities and restaurants have been open long,long time. I had a very nice lunch at a very fancy West Coast restaurant Sunday gone. My grands have been back in full time school so long i can’t even remember when they started back. Back to dancing and swimming lessons. Although not music lessons yet. Little Johhny is back to work in the office some days although it is the sort of job that that can be done equally well mostly remotely, but sometimes the bosses like to see faces. My working neighbors are mostly back to work although one who is in the tourism industry is not back full time as yet.

In fact we are waiting on the people in the great white north, that is Canada,Europe and the United States to get their act together so that we can do both business and have fun together as we normally do. If the great white north had done as well as the shithole south covid19 would long have been “gone like a miracle”.

A question for the medical people. Aren’t old people supposed to be susceptible to covid19? An elderly >70 relative living in the north, shares a household with a younger relative <35. A few weeks ago the youngster got covid, was feverish, coughing, tightness in the chest etc. for a few daysbut recovered uneventfully. No medical care required. The elder, a retired nurse who spent a career working with TB patients and who is therefore careful about infection control and who shares the same living space which is less that 1,500 square feet did not become infected. Why?

8. a. define herd immunity
    b. list the methods by which such immunity is attained
    c. is vaccination the best means of attaining herd immunity
    why did we insult the “resident microbiologist” and run him away from BU?
    DO WE STILL CALL DID BEHAVIOUR “CHALLENGING” AS WE DID A FEW YEARS AGO

9. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Money Brain.
    You wrote :” mainly seniors who will die in a couple of years any way”.

Very interesting. May you live never to become a senior or any other susceptible group. So you think it is that simplistic? Stay tuned.

10. MONEY BRAIN
    THE INFO YOU GAVE IS CORROBORATED BY EPEDIMIOLOGISTS AND EXPERTS FROM OXFORD & HARVARD
    I TRY HARD NOT TO SAY MUCH ABOUT MEDICINE ON BU AFTER
    1. ATTENDING TRAINING FOR 6 YEARS
    2 PRACTICING 20 YEARS
    3 AND TEACHING 10 YEARS
    Steupse!

11. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ GP at 2 :48 PM
    The issue is not the corroboration. That information was all over the internet for weeks. It is the omission of the other elements of the report that some of us find less than acceptable.

12. @Vincent Codrington November 27, 2020 2:43 PM @ Money Brain. You wrote :” mainly seniors who will die in a couple of years any way”.

I think that moneybrain is referring to himself. I believe him to be an over 60, maybe even an over 65, and I believe that he has previously mentioned on this blog that he has had a serious health challenge or two.

Maybe he is ready to throw in the towel?

13. In any event there are seniors like the dead Deigo Maradona, 60

And seniors like the living Mel Williams. 110.

So between these gentlemen, if any of us had been asked on Covid Day, December 30, 2019 who is “the senior who will die in a couple of years any way” and who is the “relatively young” man whose life should be preserved. How would we have decided?

14. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Cuhdear Bajan at 3;22 PM.
    I am so sorry to learn of MB’s health challenges. Do we not all have health and other challenges? Many of them are correlated with increasing age. Infected dispensable cohorts can become a source of community spread. So we need to protect the elderly and those with NCDs.from contagion ,the main source of which are asymptomatic travelers to Barbados.

15. RE mainly seniors who will die in a couple of years any way”.
    IS HE NOT QUOTING BIDENS HEALTH CSAZ EMMANUEL?
    THAT seniors will die in a couple of years any way IS CERTAINLY A TRUTH SUPPORTED BY THE CONCEPT OF FEED FORWARD., UH LIE”.

16. @GP November 27, 2020 2:40 PM

a. define herd immunity=Herd immunity (also called herd effect, community immunity, population immunity, or social immunity) is a form of indirect protection from infectious disease that occurs when a sufficient percentage of a population has become immune to an infection, whether through vaccination or previous infections, thereby reducing the likelihood of infection for individuals who lack immunity

b. list the methods by which such immunity is attained=by recovering from an earlier infection or through vaccination.

c. is vaccination the best means of attaining herd immunity=It depends. Vaccination is certainly the cheapest way

d? why did we insult the “resident microbiologist” and run him away from BU?= Don’t know. I’ve never insulted him. I don’t agree with his politics, or yours, but is that an insulting thing? If so, why?

e? DO WE STILL CALL DID BEHAVIOUR “CHALLENGING” AS WE DID A FEW YEARS AGO=Don’t know.

17. @David 3:03
    She stated what many of us already knew.
    GOB is doing an excellent job in containing COVID-19.
    We hope this level of excellence and good luck continues.
    I am hoping that Lieutenant Colonel Bostic is able to remain in firm control of the wheel.

18. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ GP at 3:35 PM

Yes, yuh lie.
    But we are straying away from the moot. Shall we get back to “An Inconvenient Truth ” ?

19. @Vincent Codrington November 27, 2020 3:34 PM “@ Cuhdear Bajan at 3;22 PM. I am so sorry to learn of MB’s health challenges. Do we not all have health and other challenges?”

i was sorry to hear too. I too have my health challenges.

But still enjoying life. My point is that ideally we get to decide for ourselves what quality of life is acceptable. I don’t want to decide for moneybrain, or you. And I don’t want either of you to decide for me.

20. http://www.peterberkowitz.com/otherpeoplesmothers.htm
    Other People’s Mothers: The utilitarian horrors of Peter Singer / by Peter Berkowitz.The New Republic JANUARY 10, 2000, pp. 27-37

21. THAT seniors will die in a couple of years any way IS CERTAINLY A TRUTH SUPPORTED BY THE CONCEPT OF FEED FORWARD CAN NOT BE REFUTED VINCENT. JUST THINK ABOUT IT

DO YOU UNDERSTAND WHAT FEED FORWARD MEANS, SIR?
    DO YOU BELIEVE THE TRUTH OF EZEKIEL 18:4 & 20 THE SOUL THAT SINNETH IT SHALL DIE.?
    MAYBE YOU WILL LIVE TO BE 100 OR MORE BUT UNLESS THE RAPTURE OCCURS FIRST……..YOU WILL DIE!

22. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Cuhdear Bajan at3:59 PM

A timely and instructive up load. I hinted at this type of thinking when I made the remark”It is not that simplistic’. It is referred to as linear thinking. The world is a complex system and we need to reference many perspectives.

23. @MoneyBrain November 27, 2020 2:29 PM “Deaths from Wuhan virus this year will be approximately 2% of total deaths…”

No.

2% is the number of people with covid who will die. That number does not refer to total deaths from other causes. Therefore covid is causing an ADDITIONAL 2% of deaths. 2% of the world’s population is 156 million people. Since the virus is highly infectious, there are 61 million people infected already, in order to achieve herd immunity without vaccination we would have to be prepared to sacrifice 156 million people over perhaps a three year period. And it is not the Wuhan virus. It is SARS-CoV-2.

You know that we don’t name hurricanes after English girls names anymore. We name them after men and women, English names, french names, Spanish names etc.

24. Vincent Codrington Avatar

GP at 4 :11 PM

At the risk of not taking my own advice, I will play devil’s advocate. Do you remember the question the Serpent asked Adam? “Did God say that you will really die?” My Exegesis is from a different school of Theology.

25. @ MoneyBrain November 27, 2020 2:29 PM “FEAR is being used for political purposes.”

Can you explain very slowly, so that even a simpleton like me can understand, exactly who is using the fear, and exactly what political purpose is being served, and who is benefitting from this fear?

26. With the exception of Bahamas, Jamaica, Trinidad and Guyana the islands have done a good job. Jamaica and Bahamas have the issue of its close proximity to the USA and Guyana and Trinidad the immigrant issue with Venezuela etc.

27. It is real real easy to see other people mothers, and other peoples spouses and other people’s children as disposable.

But not our own loved ones. And Lord forbid, We don’t see ourselves as disposable. Oh, no, no, no.

28. re At the risk of not taking my own advice, I will play devil’s advocate. Do you remember the question the Serpent asked Adam? “Did God say that you will really die?” My Exegesis is from a different school of Theology.

MR CODRINGTON , SIR
    Do you remember what the Lord Jesus Christ said about the very same Serpent a.k.a Satan in John 8:44?
    In case you dont let me tell you Sir

The Lord Jesus Christ said about the very same Serpent a.k.a Satan in John 8:44 THAT HE WAS A LIAR AND MURDERER FROM THE BEGINNING, referring directly to the incident of which you speak.

re in order to achieve herd immunity without vaccination we would have to be prepared to sacrifice 156 million people over perhaps a three year period.
    says who? AN UNTRAINED UNQUALIFIED MICROBIOLOGY ILLITERATE ON BU!

29. RE Do you remember the question the Serpent asked Adam? “Did God say that you will really die?”

ACTUALLY THE HEBREW FOR THIS PHRASE IS BETTER TRANSLATED DYING , YOU WILL DIE., I.E YOU WILL DIE SPIRITUALLY BEFORE YOU UNDERGO APOPTOSIS (LIKE THE FALLING OF A LEAF.)
    ADAM DIED SPIRITUALY IMMEDIATELY
    HE APOPTOSED ABOUT 9OO YEARS LATER

30. > Don’t expect herd immunity to rescue the U.S. from the COVID-19 pandemic > anytime soon. The country needs about 200 million infected and immunized > citizens before the chain of infection can be broken. And the numbers just > don’t add up, according to James L. Madara, MD > , > executive vice president and CEO of the AMA. > > > > https://www.ama-assn.org/delivering-care/public-health/why-hopes-fast-track-coronavirus-herd-immunity-don-t-add >

31. I LOVE IT WHEN UNTRAINED UNQUALIFIED MICROBIOLOGY ILLITERATES ON BU CUT AND PASTE THINGS THAT THEY DONT UNDERSTAND
    HILARIOUS

32. The herd immunity concept assumes that everyone who recovers from COVID-19 is immune from reinfection. That is an assumption that has not been proven. In fact, medical scientists have now reported a number of persons with proven reinfection. With a virus that has existed for less than a year, it is impossible to know whether people can be reinfected on a large scale.

https://www.unmc.edu/news.cfm?match=26466

33. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ GP at 4 :37 PM
    I said my exegesis was different
    The point Cuhdear Bajan made on the contagion rate is an epidemiology issue. It is a statistical/ demographic/ actuarial computation which she seems quite capable of doing or at the minimum understanding.

34. If the world’s population is about 8 billion people and if the mortality in the rest of the world had been the same as in the United States at 815 deaths per million; or as high as 1397 per million as in Belgium how many deaths would have occurred by November 26, 2020.

35. VINCENT
    YOUR EXEGESIS IS RUBBISH ….PURE AND SIMPLE.
    I DONT CARE ABOUT WHAT SHE SAID THIS IS NOT ABOUT KEEPING KITCHEN GARDEN OR CUTTING AND PASTING STUFF THAT YOU DONT UNDERSTAND, THIS IS ABOUT MICROBIOLOGY
    REALLY MISS LUCAS IN SCIENCE AND ZOE IN BIBLE

36. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ GP at 4 :42 PM

Your posting cited above is a better response. You are getting there.

37. Yes. That’s the number.

The number for Barbados would have been about 200+ Covid19 deaths so far, instead of 7.

38. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ GP at 4 :56 pm
    How condescending ! Taking my advice, I am out of this rabbit hole. I have humoured you enough.

39. VINCENT
    I WAS ALWAYS THERE
    BOTH OF MY POSTS ARE 100% ACCURATE
    YOU WILL NEVER BE ABLE TO TEACH ME ANYTHING ABOUT BIBLE (NOT RELIGION, I DONT TAK THAT) IN THIS WORLD…..OR THE NEXT

40. RE With the exception of Bahamas, Jamaica, Trinidad and Guyana the islands have done a good job. Jamaica and Bahamas have the issue of its close proximity to the USA and Guyana and Trinidad the immigrant issue with Venezuela etc.

NOW CUT AND PASTE TO EXPLAIN WHY THE OTHER ISLANDS “have done a good job”
    THIS IS BARE FUN!

41. I am looking back t see where i cut and pasted stuff. i can’t find it. Maybe GP will be kind enough to guide me.

42. @Richard Petko “Does Barbados plan on quarantining, testing and isolating travellers for the rest of time?”

I doubt it.

Time has been going on for billions of years and may well go on for billions more [unless GP says otherwise], and tobesides neither you nor I nor Barbados need to worry about the rest of time, as we are unlikely to be there when time ends.

Lol!

But until the population has been immunised against covid. Yes.

43. Cuhdear @ MoneyBrain November 27, 2020 2:29 PM “FEAR is being used for political purposes.”

Can you explain very slowly, so that even a simpleton like me can understand, exactly who is using the fear, and exactly what political purpose is being served, and who is benefitting from this fear?

The Dem politicians in the USA want to create fear in order to control the populace (and to increase their chances of winning the election by causing confusion). They claim to be scientific but certainly are not, which is easily proven by Dem politicians approach to deciding at what point to close school systems due to infection rates eg DeBlasio in NYC says 3%, other systems are as high as 13%. and many at various numbers. The Dems are Globalists not America First they want a Global Reset in order to introduce their “solutions” to supposed climate change ie spend many $ trillions on crazy concepts. Climate Change people can not even figure out that G5 Nuclear is the answer to producing power without pollution. Windmills are a joke and solar takes up too much land
    The globalist technocracy is using the COVID-19 pandemic to bypass democratic accountability, override opposition, accelerate their agenda and to impose it on the public against our will
    The Great Reset refers to a global agenda to monitor and control the world through digital surveillance. You’ll be tied to it through an electronic ID linked to your bank account and health records, and a social credit ID that will end up dictating every facet of your life
    The Great Reset is about getting rid of capitalism and free enterprise, and replacing them with technocracy, publicly referred to as “sustainable development” and “stakeholder capitalism”
    There’s not a single area of life that is left out of this Great Reset plan. The planned reform will affect everything from government, energy and finance to food, medicine, real estate, policing and even how we interact with our fellow human beings in general
    Privacy protections are a major hurdle in this plan, which is why every effort is made to get people to loosen their views on the right for privacy. In the U.S., we also have the Constitution that stands in the way, which is why efforts to undermine, circumvent, ignore or nullify it are increasing.

44. Cuhdear wrote No.

2% is the number of people with covid who will die.
    Precisely not what I was saying. 2% dying from Wuhan virus of the total of all deaths from all causes. It is designed to create FEAR. The idea is that only certain types of politicians “care” enough to save you and control you.

45. YOU ARE SPOT ON MONEYBRAIN

I WILL ADD THAT THESE GLOBALIST ACTIVITIES WILL BE LIKE ROLLING THE WICKET FOR ANTI CHRIST TO BAT ON FOR HE WILL EMERGE FROM THESE GLOBALIST LEADERS ARE CLEARLY POINTED OUT IN BOTH DANIEL AND REVELATION

SOME MORON WILL NOW SAY GP THAT IS WHAT YOU BELIEVE CAUSE YOU DONT KNOW SHIT……..AND I WILL EMIT A BIG BELLY LAFF…….MURDAH

46. A wise owl once asked why did the chicken cross the street
    The familiarity with that questions resonates in my mind one which asked why did govt allow Covid hot spots tourist to enter the country
    Also how much has govt spent so far in COVID health cost

47. @Moneybrain “In the U.S., WE also have the Constitution that stands in the way,”

But you are NOT a part of the WE in the U.S.

You are a Bajan and a Canadian are you not?

Or you simply simply copying and pasting someone’s else’s nonsense?

Did you drink the same water as GP, John and Donville?

Or did something bewitch you too?

48. @MoneyBrain November 27, 2020 7:17 PM “The idea is that only certain types of politicians “care” enough to save you and control you.”

But most sensible people realize that politicians of all stripes, all parties, all countries are people with monster-sized egos. We don’t expect “care” from them. Typically by the time we are adults we can take care of ourselves. We realize that we are to politicians as blood is to vampires.

We are NOT as foolish as we sometimes appear to be.

49. MAYBE ON THE 2 x 3 ISLAND THEY WILL LISTEN TO THE WHITE MAN

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Government told let CBC go; reduce Cabinet

The Mia Mottley administration is being urged to get rid of the state-owned Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation (CBC)
    and trim its Cabinet.

This advice has come from Honorary Consul for Belize in Barbados John Beale, who said the country was too small for the current number of ministers and statutory entities.

He shared the thoughts on Thursday while addressing a regular meeting of the Rotary Club of Barbados, on the topic Issues Facing Barbados in a Global Context.

“We’ve got statutory corporations here that surely should not exist. I mean, do any of you know how many statutory corporations we have in Barbados? I thought it was about 15, but I am sure it was more than 75. It is sheer nonsense, believe you me,” he said.

Beale, a former Barbados Ambassador to the US and the Organisation of American States (OAS) opted not to go into detail about what other state agencies should be disbanded, but singled out CBC, saying that although it had reduced the amount of money it was “losing”, it should go.

“CBC could be very important to us. If they got the right technology, we could do with it here, but a lot of parts to CBC – and I think the new administration understands that – really need to go. Every Prime Minister, before becoming a Prime Minister, says it should go but when they get in power somehow
    it seems to stick around,” he said.

This is not the first time that calls have been made for Government to give up The Pine, St Michael entity.

Over the years, several calls have been made for successive administrations to privatise the public radio and television broadcaster due to the level of debt racked up over the years.

So far, the Mottley administration has started the process of merging some entities but is yet to indicate which, if any, would be disbanded.

Beale also suggested that having 24 Ministers in the Cabinet was simply too much for Barbados, given its size.

Prior to the July Cabinet reshuffle and changes to some portfolios, there were 26 Ministers.

“How can a small country like us have all these ministers? It makes no sense. It cannot work,” insisted Beale.

He also criticised part of the structure of the Caribbean Community (CARICOM), suggesting that the change in chairmanship every six months was too much.

“How in God’s name can you have CARICOM that changes management every six months?” he said.

“There is no unity. I can tell you stories about CARICOM. It is serious but it is farcical. I will tell you this, we run the risk that someday a president calls the prime ministers in the region and says . . . ‘the next time I call the Caribbean I am speaking to one person; if I can’t speak to one person I won’t bother to speak to anyone’. We really have a hard time dealing with CARICOM. I don’t have the answers, but something needs to be done,”
    the diplomat said.

Beale, who spoke on several matters, also insisted that the Barbados Stock Exchange was virtually non-existent because “realistically speaking, there is no depth and there is no breadth”.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/11/27/government-told-let-cbc-go-reduce-cabinet/

Leave a Reply to John3Cancel reply