The following video was extracted from CBC TV 8 Barbados Facebook page. Repeat, The following extracted was from CBC TV 8 Barbados Facebook page. Barbados is bolded for emphasis. On behalf of the BU household congratulations to young Maria and all Barbadians on traditional and social media for ‘bigging up” the young lady.

God Speed!

Almost every social media platform was buzzing today with UNICEF’s Orlando Bloom interview of 11 year old Barbadian environmental activist Maria Marshall. The A-list English actor spoke to the Harrison College student ahead of Friday’s World Children’s Day about her YouTube video “Little Thoughts on Big Matters”. Our Cheyne Jones paid her a visit at home today after her online classes – CBC TV 8.

47 responses to “Maria Marshall …and the Children Will Lead Us”

1. IS IT NOT WRITTEN THAT “A LITTLE CHILD SHALL LEAD THEM”?
    WHAT THEN IS THE FUSS ALL ABOUT?
    IS IT BECAUSE THIS CHILD IS SUPERIOR TO THE INFERIOR COMMENTERS?

2. Do not expect to read comments from the @throwshade crew.

3. Sounds like the Bajan equivalent to Greta Thunberg.

Wonder what the pro-Trump environmental terrorists (like John Knox) have to say about the girl of pure Bajan pride!

4. @ David
    I watched the video a day or so ago. It is representative of the boldness of our youth especially in the young lady’s age group.
    Quite frankly ,I have long written off our generation and am confident that the change we need and seek will come from that new generation throughout the entire region.
    Our youth are creative and less hypocritical than my generation. They have access to more information and just need to be allowed to be the best they can be.
    Peace

5. Hello? That’s what I said. Just watch our young people! They know no bounds and feel no chains. They are ready to take off!

6. The Rihanna effect????

“I believe I can fly!”

7. @ Donna

Maria Marshall provides an appropriate example of what you attempted to explain in your contributions about the young generation.

8. Here’s what Trump has to say about her.

9. Please stop saying “And a little child shall lead them”… ” out of context

First, you have to understand that the phrase is actually a quote from the Old Testament. It comes from Isaiah 11:6, which reads:
    The wolf shall dwell with the lamb, and the leopard shall lie down with the young goat, and the calf and the lion and the fattened calf together; and a little child shall lead them.

As you can see right away, the text has nothing to do with a child leading adults. It states that a child shall lead the wolf, lamb, leopard, young goat, calf, lion, and fattened calf. This may seem strange if we do not continue to read a few more verses to get a better understanding of what is being discussed here.

Verses 7-9 continue: The cow and the bear shall graze; their young shall lie down together; and the lion shall eat straw like the ox. The nursing child shall play over the hole of the cobra, and the weaned child shall put his hand on the adder’s den. They shall not hurt or destroy in all my holy mountain; for the earth shall be full of the knowledge of the Lord as the waters cover the sea.

This passage is a discussion of the Day of the Lord. This is the day that Christians look forward to when Jesus Christ will remove the curse of sin from our world and restore peace to all of creation. As a result of this peace, wolf, lion, lamb, cobra, calf, bear, and children will all live in harmony. A child will be able to lead a lion (or a wolf, etc.) around without fear of harm.

Let us stop using this phrase as if the Bible tells us that children will one day lead adults. It says nothing of the sort. If we are going to quote Bible verses, let us quote them in context. Isaiah 11:6-9 is a wonderful passage that describes what God has in store for this fallen world that has so much violence, fear and death. It will be a world of peace.

The point of the passage is that when the “shoot from the stump of Jesse” (v. 1) emerges and reigns as king, the world will be brought to peace. Jesus is that king, not some little child. To read it any other way is to miss the point of Isaiah 11. If you want to say “and Jesus shall lead them”, then you will be reading this passage correctly.

Watch now watch.
    Watch the sport in the rum shop now, because BU um shop goers hate proper Bible exposition
    i CERTAINLY MISS THE LATE ZOE

10. It is basic grammar we are discussing in this passage which is about a child leading dangerous animals around and not being harmed – because the world is at peace (nature is in harmony). The child is not leading adults in the passage. I do not care what your theological persuasion is. If you understand basic grammatical constructions, you know that is what the text says. And you do not need any more context than Isaiah 11:6 to determine that the word “them” in this verse refers to the wolf, leopard, and lion.

The passage speaks of the future peace on earth when nature is restored to harmony. This has not taken place. It is the hope that Christians hold to, but it is future. We still live in a world where wolves, lions, and leopards are dangerous and we would not allow our children to play with them. The picture painted in Isaiah is a world where there is no longer a danger of harm. Jesus makes this picture possible, but it has not yet happened.

nuh likkle children wont be leading nuh body in bubados or anything else in this world soon

dis child like Greta Thornburg was just parroting something she was taught or heard
    HER MESSAGE WAS PRESENTED ORIGANALLY ABOUT 25 YEARS AGO IN BARBADOS EMANATING FROM THE FUTURE CENTER TRUST BY THE LATE DR COLIN HUDSON

11. Artax,

Exactly!

12. You are free to apply a ‘boxed’ or biblical interpretation others (including this blogmaster) is sufficiently liberated to apply an accepted everyday meaning.

People say this when children unexpectedly say something very intelligent or wise.

13. RE You are free to apply a ‘boxed’ or biblical interpretation others (including this blogmaster) is sufficiently liberated to apply an accepted everyday meaning.

People say this when children unexpectedly say something very intelligent or wise.

i know exactly what people say when children unexpectedly say something very intelligent or wise, and I am telling you with out fear of contradiction that HER MESSAGE WAS PRESENTED ORIGINALLY ABOUT 25 YEARS AGO IN BARBADOS EMANATING FROM THE FUTURE CENTER TRUST BY THE LATE DR COLIN HUDSON,AND MAKE NO APOLOGY FOR DOING SO

I am telling you also the origin of a Biblical statement, and doing so accurately .I am not giving a ‘boxed’ biblical interpretation. i HAVE GIVEN AN ACCURATE GRAMMATICAL EXPOSITION OF THE PASSAGE FROM WHICH THE STATEMENT IS DERIVED, AND MAKE NO APOLOGY FOR DOING SO

why must I be contained within the limits of your ignorance on both of these counts

is it really true about JOIN IN THE DISCUSSION, YOU NEVER KNOW HOW EXPRESSING YOUR VIEW MAY MAKE A DIFFERENCE………or is that just a pithy puerile piece of poop

I care nothing about your liberation to apply an accepted everyday meaning.

I am liberated ALSO under the tenets espoused in Galatians to speak on what the Bible teaches.

why must everyone ALWAYS join the BU CHORUS OF THE DAY?

14. LET US NOW HAVE THE POSTS WITH THE MUSIC AND THE POSTS WITH THE CURSING THAT SEEKS TO BLAME AND SHAME FOR NOT JOINING THE CHORUS

I AM PREPARED TO ROCK AND MOCK

A FEW MONTHS AGO IT WAS BLACK LIVES MATTER WITHOUT A DISTINCTION BETWEEN A PRINCIPLE AND AN UNGODLY AND IMMORAL GROUP THAT IS CURRENTLY DESTROYING THE PERSONS, PROPERTY AND BUSYNESS PLACES OF BLACK FOLK

SOME OF US NEED TO THINK AND TO LIVE AND LET LIVE

15. Shot GP!!

16. “It was a pleasure to be punished by him!!”

Gracious Bishen Singh Bedi on Sobers

17. Relax John, for good sakes respect what this blog is about.

18. A delight …!!

19. Just appreciating superior knowledge and practice!!

20. DavidNovember 19, 2020 4:10 PM

Relax John, for good sakes respect what this blog is about.

We should start calling you Barrington!!

21. RE Relax John, for good sakes respect what this blog is about.

why dont you say that on SSS WHEN KIKI POSTS ALL THAT IRRELEVANT MUSIC?
    THIS THREAD IS NOT GOING ANYWHERE
    IT IS INDEPENDENCE TIME
    WHY CANT JOHN CELEBRATE BY DISPLAYING REAL INNATE BRILLIANCE INSTEAD OF SOME CHILD PARROTING THE WORDS OF WISDOM BY DR COLIN HUDSON?

22. GP
    She is speaking the words of a child who wants to see better use of our environment.Do not use the excuse that Coilin Hutson spoke those words before because you are constant using texts that were written years ago by normal men who said they were given these words by God. Where is the evidence?

23. I said what I meant and I meant what i said
    Your statement is rubbish and a nonsequituir
    Children speak what they hear
    Where is the evidence that she is speaking the words of a child who wants to see better use of our environment

This passage from 2 Peter 1 is good enough for me, whether you like it or believe it or not.
    16 For we have not followed cunningly devised fables, when we made known unto you the power and coming of our Lord Jesus Christ, but were eyewitnesses of his majesty.

17 For he received from God the Father honour and glory, when there came such a voice to him from the excellent glory, This is my beloved Son, in whom I am well pleased.

18 And this voice which came from heaven we heard, when we were with him in the holy mount.

19 We have also a more sure word of prophecy; whereunto ye do well that ye take heed, as unto a light that shineth in a dark place, until the day dawn, and the day star arise in your hearts:

20 Knowing this first, that no prophecy of the scripture is of any private interpretation.

21 For the prophecy came not in old time by the will of man: but holy men of God spake as they were moved by the Holy Ghost.

and so is this one

2 Timothy 3:16-17
    New King James Version
    16 All Scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for [a]instruction in righteousness, 17 that the man of God may be complete, thoroughly equipped for every good work.

and this
    1 John 5:11-13
    King James Version
    11 And this is the record, that God hath given to us eternal life, and this life is in his Son.

12 He that hath the Son hath life; and he that hath not the Son of God hath not life.

13 These things have I written unto you that believe on the name of the Son of God; that ye may know that ye have eternal life, and that ye may believe on the name of the Son of God.

note the sequence in verse 13 BELIEVE=> KNOW =>BELIEVE

24. @ GP November 19, 2020 5:18 PM

You are nothing more that a Bible bullshi**ter and hypocrite. No different to the Pharisees and Sadducees of the period in which the Joshua (Yeshua) play is written.

If you were a genuine servant of your Lord Jesus you would have looked to Matthew (Chap. 18) to understand and define the girl Mary Marshall, a light for the future darkness of environmental challenges:

“At the same time came the disciples unto Jesus, saying, Who is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven?

And Jesus called a little child unto him, and set him in the midst of them,
    And said, Verily I say unto you, Except ye be converted, and become as little children, ye shall not enter into the kingdom of heaven.

Whosoever therefore shall humble himself as this little child, the same is greatest in the kingdom of heaven.

And whoso shall receive one such little child in my name receiveth me.

But whoso shall offend one of these little ones which believe in me, it were better for him that a millstone were hanged about his neck, and that he were drowned in the depth of the sea.”

25. @GP

Try about this Buddhist thought for size
    “If your religion teaches you to hate, you should find a new religion”

We know GP and John worship the Devil called Trump and have got it twisted that God supports him too.

He some soundbites snippets for the Fake preacher and the quack quaker to get their heads around to big up children and chase the wicked trumpers to outer space to find another place.

“Begone Satan the Power of God Commands You”– Exorcist

Psalms 8:2, “Out of the mouth of babes and sucklings hast thou ordained strength”.

Matthew 21:16 “Do you hear what these children are saying?” they asked him. “Yes,” replied Jesus, “have you never read, “‘From the lips of children and infants you, Lord, have called forth your praise’?”

Matthew 18:4 “and said, “Truly I say to you, unless you are converted and become like children, you will not enter the kingdom of heaven.”

26. “why don’t you say that on SSS WHEN KIKI POSTS ALL THAT IRRELEVANT MUSIC?”

You just don’t understand the lyrics as you are so up your own ass
    and you are not in tune with the primordial rhythm of the universe and the vibration of God above
    which is why s/he does not hear you as you speak in a low frequency

these concepts will probably go above your head like the clouds in the sky
    DofBU should call it a day with that SSS nonsense
    we were all taught that stuff as the foundation of our religion when we were little children
    we are all big people now and tapping into our own spirituality and sending and receiving messages with God and Universe is a daily practice and a science and is not a religion

27. mILLER
    ONCE MORE YOU WRONGLY DIVIDE THE WORD OF TRUTH AND HAVE BECOME TO ME A SOURCE OF MUCH MIRTH
    THE TOPIC IN THE TEXT YOU QUOTED HAD TO DO WITH CONVERSION…….NOT BEING A LIGHT. AND CERTAINLY NOTHING TO DO WITH THE ENVIRONMENT. LOL BUT IT IS A FACT THAT 80% OF FOLK WHO GET CONVERTED DO SO AS LITTLE CHILDREN, AND GENERALLY BEFORE AGE 20.

TELL YOUR SIBLING TO STICK TO POSTING MUSIC RATHER THAN MERELY CITING VERSES HE FOUND ON LINE, BUT TO LEARN TO READ WITH THE UNDERSTANDING

DO YOU SEE HOW EASY IT WAS TO ROUSE YOU TWO UP? LOL LOL

28. I WAS HEY WAITING PUN YOU TWO LIKE HOW A WELL SET BATSMAN WAITH FOR A LONG HOP.

29. Did you know there are 9 antennas in the top of your head to send messages to God in the heavens up above

30. A common day phrase idiom that evolved from Christianity means Christian nut jobs think they have ownership on it

Old goats should step aside and let the youths rise

nobody wants to hear self praise from disgruntled bitter old men who earned scholarships over 50 years ago.

31. RE Did you know there are 9 antennas in the top of your head to send messages

THIS FOOLISH IDEATION IS QUITE CONTRARY TO THE HUMAN ANATOMY I READ IN GRAY, LAST, GARDNER GREY & O’REILLY, CUNNINHHAM’S DISSECTION GUIDES, CLINICAL ANATOMY, OR PICTURED IN NETTER OR GRANTS ATLAS.

BUT THANKS FOR PROVIDING ME WITH SOME MIRTH

32. “THIS FOOLISH IDEATION IS QUITE CONTRARY TO THE HUMAN ANATOMY I READ IN GRAY, LAST, GARDNER GREY & O’REILLY, CUNNINHHAM’S DISSECTION GUIDES, CLINICAL ANATOMY, OR PICTURED IN NETTER OR GRANTS ATLAS.”

Knowledge of the Universe is not contained in text books of western medicine you memorised as a medical student.
    8 antenna points are at the top of your head N S W E NW NE SW SE and centre.
    Pelvic floor, belly button, diaphragm throat and cranium act as pumps to send bioelectrical chi energy out top of your head.
    Western medicine and sports science is still playing catch up with Chinese medicine knowledge of 4,000 years ago.

33. JohnNovember 19, 2020 3:42 PM

Shot GP!!

Not a man nor “woman” move!!

34. Now that Rubadubdub is writing so much we can analyse the likely gender.

Genre: Formal
    Female = 487
    Male = 436
    Difference = -51; 47.23%
    Verdict: Weak FEMALE

Weak emphasis could indicate European

Could be a weak European female contributing here!!

35. John you do know that stupid software apps are for fun only, so don’t be a fuckwit cunt bitch all your life.
    52% chance of a person being female means a coin toss would be as just accurate as a sucker program.

36. So, are you a weak European female?

37. Children are supposed to lead the charge about THEIR EVER INCREASING TOXIC AND POSIONOUS ENVIRONMENT…. adults are too dumbed down and backward to function or activate any real changes..

other matters re DISMANTLING A WHOLE SLAVE SYSTEM and the ATTENDANT CRIMES…being committed against the population would be more complicated for small children to process in their minds without EXTENSIVE INFORMATION….which dumbed down, ignorant, hypocrital adults will be incapable of providing.

38. @ John November 19, 2020 9:57 PM

Red Johnny of the Backcra (back row) genealogy, why are you beating around the (mulberry) bush?

The only “weakness” white females have is the weakness for ebony dickheads.

Why can’t you tell us if you think the Marshall lass possesses a rather impressive intellect for her age?

Like you, she is of ‘mixed’ racial heritage. Doesn’t that count for being a blue-blooded Bajan smeared by the ‘tar’ brush?

Don’t be too critical of her in the manner your overthrown idol Herr Majesty Trump did to the young idealist Greta.

Young people always blame the ‘living’ older generation for the prevailing problems of their ‘modern’ world.

It’s as old as the rebellious youth of Socrates generation.

Didn’t the ‘young’ generation of the Rock ‘N’ Roll 50’s blame their parents hatched in the ‘Roaring 20’s’ and the ‘Swinging 40’s’ for the problems of their world?

If you were to just ‘listen’ to the vibrations emitted by our own BU “555dubstreet” aka KIKI you might just open your mind’s eyes (chakras) to the psychic knowledge and understanding contained in Eastern spirituality like yoga and Buddhism to appreciate the ‘Yin-yang’ cycle of life.

For there nothing new under the Sun! Just read the words of the Preacher (Ecclesiastes).

“The children now love luxury; they have bad manners, contempt for authority; they show disrespect for elders and love chatter in place of exercise. Children are now tyrants, not the servants of their households. They no longer rise when elders enter the room. They contradict their parents, chatter before company, gobble up dainties at the table, cross their legs, and tyrannize their teachers.”
    ― Socrates

39. Slavery was an attack on Africans, but post Slavery there was colonialism robbery of African resources.
    It seems like western propaganda machine is now aiming for Africa’s rare earth resources required for IT technology which China has control of, as they are pushing for more expenditure on next generation of drone technology and cyberwarfare and pushing the meme that Isis is reforming in Africa.

40. Talk and do de tings dem Maria! If only the talkers on BU would be like you and DO rather than just talk.

41. There is a lot of talk anout climate change
    Who controls the climate?
    Why is the climater changing?
    Do you really think that carbon dioxide levels is the cause, or does it have to do with the myriad of active volcanoes and fumaroles that exist over the world?
    What is the major reaction in the atmosphere to the presence of carbon dioxide?
    What is a minor reaction in the atmosphere to the presence of carbon dioxide?
    Do we think here, or do we just bullshit and imbibe all the rubbish spewed in other parts of the world?
    Can any of the rum shop brimblers answer any of these questions sensibly?

42. […] things on the 2×3 island. See the blog posted last week that featured another HC student Maria Marshall […]