Finally the symbol of an oppressed colonial past was laid to rest. Nelson statue for years positioned at the top of Broad Street and lately in Heroes Square was removed by the Mia Mottley government on the International Day of Tolerance. History the blogmaster suspects will view this act- delayed though it was- kindly.

The Removal of the Statue of Lord Horatio Nelson [ Nov 16 2020 ]

338 responses to “Lord Nelson Put to Rest”

1. @Hants
    I can just imagine you with an afro-jack, bermuda shorts, black dress shoes and some ankle breaking socks.

Talk of the down. King Dual envied you.
    … Just being silly …

2. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

What about the Govt. considering an INHERITENCE TAX to bring in more taxes??????

3. @ Carson

Behave yourself. An inheritance tax? They would not do it in a month of Sundays. These governments are jokers. The president of the Senate once told me such a tax was ridiculous.

4. 24 hrs has gone by since govt tek down Nelson
    24hrs later question relating how much It will cost annually to warehouse Nelson at the museum
    Place him in a bullet proof casing or and give Nelson private security
    All was told 20thousand was the starting figure to tek him down
    But the figures for relocation housing and other forms of security has not been given or asked of govt

5. Sell him to some Brit(s)……… we could use the money!!!

6. I thought they said a place had been identified for him by the museum? Why waste money storing him just build the podium and erect him and done.

At these times we can’t spend for the sake.

7. To clarify some of the rubbish posted by commenters recommending Nelson statue be dumped in the sea, Trevor Marshall advised that you cannot destroy the statue because it would endanger World Heritage designation.

8. Maripoa, What a ridiculous comment.

Security costs more than usual musuem costs, total rubbish.

You are just opposing for its sake.

9. The negative comments on the moving of the memorial to the non abolitionist Horatio Nelson are enlightening.

What these comments demonstrate, is a lack of understanding of the dynamics of environment and acceptance of norms on the psyche.

The lack of understanding also comes with no acknowledgement of historical wrongs and implications on today’s socioeconomic state.

But carry on…. the more you write…

10. CrusoeNovember 17, 2020 6:58 PM

Maripoa, What a ridiculous comment.

Security costs more than usual musuem costs, total rubbish.

You are just opposing for its sake

Xxxxcccccc

You talking rubbish
    This statute is wrapped up historical controversy
    Nelson security would play a big part in his relocation especially if he will be placed in a well known location mostly frequented by visitors to the island
    Hence govt would have to dish out money making sure that thduring the relocation period Nelson safety is not violated by intruders wanting to steal the statue before he goes to the museum for display
    Meanwhile the work necessary to be done at the museum would include labour cost and various cost which includes mounting and casing
    It is not as if govt intended to dump him which would cost nothing

11. Steuspe

12. Here is something for u David to sink yuh teeth robberies on the rise
    Dead bodies showing up in suspicious places
    All this happening today
    The news gets daunting more and more everyday in barbados
    Nelson is the least of Barbados problems
    Where is the attorney General
    Pomp and pageantry is not the answer to barbados crime
    Do i hear s loud steupse on those facts coming out of your mouth
    I think not

13. John

YOU TOO LIKE TRUMP.

14. @ David
    “The other initiative the blogmaster should have highlighted on BU was the decision to make a government radio station play 100% Bajan music. Another easy win to help with moulding/repairing the psyche of young Bajans.“(Quote)

I congratulated the government on this within seventy two hours after this was done on BU. Not a single response.
    Happy to know you just got around to “ highlighting “ it.

15. MAri
    U complain about the high unemployment
    Now you complaining if gardscgitvti be hired to guard Nelson?
    Just can’t please you
    What ever happen to him that provide work for someone is good .

16. Here is a decent article in the Advocate about life after Heroes Square for Nelson.

https://www.barbadosadvocate.com/news/new-role-lord-nelson-barbados-museum

17. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

To do Barbados a big favour, the best place for Lord Nelson stature is somewhere at the bottom of the Caribbean sea. He represent one of the darkest moment’s of BLACK PEOPLE’S HISTORY and should be given an ignoble as possible send off. Just like WHITE BAJAN SLAVE MASTERS here in Barbados gave many of our ancestors.

He is nothing to be celebrated. The WHITE BAJANS like him because he represented their continued domination of the BLACK PEOPLE. They need the representation of him to maintain their HELP influence of BLACK PEPLE. And he needed to be remove by a BLACK COMPANY not a white Bajan company

This just years that he should he should have been taken down and consigned to a watery grave.

It is disgusting to my Ancestors that he is still on Barbadian soil. All BLACK PEOPLE who mourn his departure are SIMPLY STUPID.

18. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

I don’t care what Trevor Marshall recommended.

The stature should have been broken into pieces before it was moved. He was a terrible insult to my Ancestors that is why he was put there by the WHITE BAJAN slave masters . To BLACK PEOPLE everywhere he was an ABOMINATION we had to live with.

19. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

Hal November 17, 5.08 pm

Maybe he said that to you because it would affect the 3% of the population. And he would bend over backwards to make sure that didn’t happened.

Just like they promised us with the removal of the NSRL PRICES would come down.

THEY HAVE SKYROCKTED!!!!!

Figure that one out.

20. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

On another topic.

What is going to happen to the staff of club Barbados now that Barbados Workers Union is in the Barbados Labour Party’s Govt. pocket????

21. NorthernObserver Avatar

@CCC
    now your undergears are showing……”because it would affect the 3% of the population.” The reason you are so excited about an inheritance tax is you figure it will hit the 3% disproportionately.

A little secret…..people die, corporations and trusts do not. Avoiding inheritance, or many forms of estate taxes, is relatively simple. Granted it provides work for the lawyers and financial consultants. Taxes like capital gains taxes, and those on dividends between corporations are far easier to collect and more difficult to avoid.

22. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

Before I forget:

International Men’s Day (IMD) is on Thursday, November 19. A wonderful day.
    The WHOLE DAY.

23. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

“…..people die, corporations and trusts do not.”

Where you get that from????

24. Carson C CadoganNovember 18, 2020 2:29 AM “…..people die, corporations and trusts do not.” Where you get that from????

Northern attempted to explain the futility of implementing inheritance tax. Obviously went way past you.

Yes, inheritance tax would impact all of the middle class heavily. As all other taxes. The rich, not so much.

25. Carson,

In a situation where the workers are owed by a company, they need to have a lawyer to enter an injunction to freeze company assets, including property and fixed assets and bank accounts.

It needs to be done swiftly.

If it sounds expensive, go for a couple of bright hungry young lawyers who want to make a mark.

The sale proceeds of property should cover amounts owed. If it gets to that.

26. If the Union is not acting with legal advice swiftly, the employees can do so

The contract is between company and employees, not the union.

27. “make a government radio station play 100% Bajan music”

I prefer music from Jah Maker and A Merry Ka

I’m not sure about Beige An muzak

28. @ Tron

I’m sure you’re aware Seawell Airport is now known as Grantley Adams International Airport; there is a statue of Barrow in Independence Square; the Central Bank is located in the Tom Adams Financial Centre; the Barbados Conference Centre has been renamed the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre; and Thompson was honoured posthumously when the St. John Polyclinic was renamed The David Thompson Health & Social Services Complex.

Recall after the death of Owen Arthur, your ‘supreme leader’ Ms Mottley floated the idea of renaming UWI Cave Hill after him, which did not really attracted any attention. ‘Not to be outdone,’ your ‘supreme leader’ likes doing things in ‘grand style.’

Since Arthur was the PM who renamed Trafalgar Square to Heroes Square and introduced the national heroes concept………. and, despite whatever animosities that may have existed between him and Ms Mottley, they seemed to have forgiven each other………. taking into consideration, ‘not to be outdone,’ your ‘supreme leader’ likes doing things in ‘grand style,’……….do you know if she’s thinking about placing a statue of Arthur on the site where Nelson’s monument was once located?

29. ********Recall after the death of Owen Arthur, your ‘supreme leader’ Ms Mottley floated the idea of renaming UWI Cave Hill after him, which did not really attracted any attention.

30. @ David, I have read the Advocate newspaper link and was underwhelmed.

The extreme left leaning Waru chastised me once for suggesting that recolonisation could be a way forward for Barbados.

I have seen nothing in the crop of black Bajans dating back these last two/three decades that would suggest to me that these childlike adults are capable of understanding what the word independence means.

Barbadians are unfit to govern themselves. This is apparent and is bourne out by this strange and rambling article in today’s Advocate.

My heart will always remain with my fellow “orphans” black Bajans. However my brain tells me that these “orphans” are in need of parental care.

31. “I have seen nothing in the crop of black Bajans dating back these last two/three decades that would suggest to me that these childlike adults are capable of understanding what the word independence means.”

the extent to their mental capacity is to IMPRISON their own people in mental, social and economic bondage on slave plantations, that’s where they were placed themselves, but they found a financial OUT…robbing the people and country in their own fashion. …a twist to the social engineering.

the CoE with their slave branding iron, is salivating to fulfull ya wishes, it’s so easy now, at least 90% are already mental slaves to the church and all the associated lies, fantasies and deliberate confusion…..

if Mia had any intelligence worth anything, she would free the people.

I give them how to information all the time.

32. DBLPs slave plantations..

“The Club Barbados Resort has joined a growing number of tourism players accused of severe injustices and broken promises to former employees who are now pleading for thousands of dollars owed to them ahead of Christmas.

On Tuesday, approximately 60 ex-staff from a range of departments demonstrated for three hours outside the establishment at Sunset Crest, St James, demanding severance payments which were promised and later rescinded.

Many of the affected workers say that in addition to needing the money to pay overdue loan and rent payments, they want to provide a decent Christmas for their families after a year of severe financial hardship.”

33. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

But the workers can not employ Lawyers because they give all their monies to the Barbados workers Union to “represent” them as “Union dues”. The Barbados Workers Union don’t even have a STRIKE FUND as many people found out to their embarrassment.

The “leaders” of the Barbados Workers Union are too busy driving around in their their MERCEDES cars bought AT THE WORKERS EXPENCE.

34. What can the union do if the hotel is closed and has been for the last 6 months? Even if the property has equity how long will do t take to realize liquid cash to satisfy the immediate needs of displaced workers?

35. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@David November 18, 2020 8:59 AM
    You’re right. The unions can’t do a single thing once the business has closed.

The solution would require a change of government laws to allow immediate payment of severance payments by NIS and the reimbursement of this and all other outstanding NIS monies first and foremost before all other creditors or seizure of property and assets if bankruptcy is declared or any sale of assets by the business.

This type of law may already exist but if it does not, they would need to put it in place quickly.

36. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

TLSN

Talk your talk. You are making a lot of sense. You are the only one showing BLACK BARBADIANS how the WHITE BAJANS think of BLACK BARBADIANS. Will they listen, I doubt it.

“Barbadians are unfit to govern themselves.” that is how the WHITE BAJANS think of BLACK BARBADIANS. No matter they run their companies very well and make MILLIONS , upon MILLIONS of dollars for them. And give them all the NO BID CONTRACTS worth MILLIONS , UPON MILLONS EVERY YEAR. But give their members of their BLACK race the crumbs off the table. All money from our Treasury.

“I have seen nothing in the crop of black Bajans dating back these last two/three decades that would suggest to me that these childlike adults are capable of understanding what the word independence means.””

WOW!!!!!!!!!!!

HEAR, HEAR, do you two of these conkies that I am making?????

37. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

As I have said, they all wasted their Barbados Workers dues they paid .

Poor them.

Move along, nothing to see here only BLACK PEOPLE being taken ADVANTAGED of!!!!!

(As usual)

38. Though armed with the same or similar information, it seems as if we have again separated ourselves into two groups.

I would also bet that both groups wished that the workers could somehow be paid.

So here we have a trinary solution
    the BLP solution,
    the DLP solution,
    and somewhere in between is a COVID-19 based reality solution.

One group is much closer to reality than the other, but I suspect the last solution is the only one that matters.

We now have the following: wrong/right/practical. Practical rules. Reality, like life, is a bitch

Have a great day.

39. @ David BU

Club Barbados Resort is one of several examples why ‘government’ should think carefully about how the $300M ‘stimulus package’ being offered to the hotel industry.

However, so far, what you’re reading from the usual political operatives is their usual political rhetoric. The Resort’s management entered into an agreement with former employees and subsequently rescinded. How is that unfortunate occurrence the BWU’s fault?

I recall in July 2017, when Sandals Antigua demanded a waiver on food and alcohol duties, which the Antiguan government refused to grant. In retaliation, Butch Stewart announced the sudden closure of his Resorts, which was reported to have placed approximately 700 employees on the ‘bread line,’ claiming it was done in order for important maintenance work to be carried out.
    This prompted PM Browne to introduce and pass the Investment Authority Amendment Bill by Parliament, “which was designed to prevent any similar arbitrary and unilateral action by hotel operators in the future.”

The House of Assembly is the appropriate environment for Toni Moore to show what she’s worth. And, the situation with Club Barbados provides her with the perfect opportunity to lobby government on behalf of hotel employees, and assist in formulating and enacting legislation to protect their rights.

40. That WILL NEVER happen.

Who cares about the WORKERS.

41. @Artax

Do we know if Club Barbados took up governments offer to issue preference shares, a prerequisite to draw down on the 300 million?

42. An easy but pointless distraction away from doing something more useful. So, now that darkness has been shovelled out, will the light of William Wilberforce replace him? Wilberforce was the champion who Nelson explicitly cited as being against the whole slave-powered colonial system.

43. And now you have said your piece! Next!

44. Luc Chase [🇧🇧🇬🇧💷⚪] (@lucchase)November 18, 2020 11:19 AM

An easy but pointless distraction away from doing something more useful. So, now that darkness has been shovelled out, will the light of William Wilberforce replace him? Wilberforce was the champion who Nelson explicitly cited as being against the whole slave-powered colonial system.

Did you know Wilberforce spoke against the abolition of slavery?

Tru tru fact.

45. My experience is the GOB pays the severance if the employer can’t and the business incurs a liability to the GOB!!

The employees will be paid.

…. once the NIS has money in it!!

That’s part of the INSURANCE premium BOTH the employer AND employee have been paying.

If the business goes bankrupt, the GOB can only write off the bad debt from it books.

Of course the business could argue that the GOB mandated its shutdown so it is right that it bear the consequences of its actions.

46. The I in the NIS insures/ensures the employee gets his/her severance.

When is however the issue?

Might be Nebruary!!

47. Payments out of Fund to employees.

(1) Where an employee claims that his employer is liable to pay him an
    employer’s payment and either
    (a) that he has taken all reasonable steps, other than legal proceedings, to
    recover the payment from the employer and that the employer has refused
    or failed to pay it or has paid part of it and has refused or failed to pay the
    balance; or
    (b) that the employer is insolvent and that the whole or part of the payment
    remains unpaid,
    the employee may apply to the Minister for a payment under this section.
    (2) Where on an application made under this section the Minister is
    satisfied
    (a) that the employee is entitled to the employer’s payment;
    (b) that the condition specified in either paragraph (a) or (b) of subsection
    (1) is fulfilled; and
    (c) that in a case where the employer’s payment is such a payment as is
    mentioned in paragraph (b) of subsection (1) of section 29, the employee’s
    right to the payment arises by virtue of a period of employment (computed
    in accordance with the agreement in question) which is not less than 104
    weeks, the Minister shall pay to the employee out of the Fund a sum
    calculated in accordance with the Fourth Schedule reduced by so much
    (if any) of the employer’s payment as has been paid.
    (2A) Where a sum is to be paid by the Minister out of the Fund to an
    employee in pursuance of subsection (2), that sum [1984-11.] is not to include
    any interest that may be payable by an employer under section 3A in respect of
    his unpaid severance payment; but is subject to interest calculated at the rate of
    one per cent per month and is payable by the employer in respect of whom the
    sum was paid.
    (3) Where the Minister pays a sum to an employee in respect of an
    employer’s payment
    (a) all rights and remedies of the employee with respect to the employer’s
    payment or (if the Minister has paid only part of it) all his rights and
    remedies with respect to that part of the employer’s payment, shall be
    transferred to and vest in the Minister; and
    (b) any decision of a tribunal requiring the employer’s payment to be paid
    to the employee shall have effect as if it required that payment, or, as the
    case may be, that part of it which the Minister has paid, to be paid to the
    Minister,
    and any money recovered by the Minister by virtue of this subsection shall be
    paid into the Fund.
    (4) Where the Minister pays a sum under this section in respect of an
    employer’s payment, then, subject to subsection (5), section 29 shall apply as if
    that sum had been paid by the employer to the employee on account of that
    payment; but if, in a case falling within paragraph (a) of subsection (1), it appears
    to the Minister that the refusal or failure of the employer to pay the employer’s
    payment or part of it, as the case may be, was without reasonable excuse, the
    Minister, subject to section 33, may withhold any rebate to which the employer
    would otherwise be entitled in respect of the employer’s payment, or may reduce
    the amount of any such rebate to such extent as the Minister considers
    appropriate.
    (5) For the purposes of this section, an employer shall be taken to be
    insolvent if
    (a) he has become bankrupt or has .made a composition or arrangement
    with his creditors;
    (b) he has died and an order has been made under section 118 of the
    Bankruptcy Act for the administration of his [Cap. 303.] estate according to
    the law of bankruptcy;
    (c) where the employer is a company-
    (i) a winding-up order has been made with respect to it; or
    (ii) a resolution for voluntary winding-up has been passed with
    respect to it; or
    (iii) a receiver or manager of its undertaking has been duly
    appointed ; or
    (iv) possession has been taken by or on behalf of the holders of
    any debentures secured by a floating charge of any property of the
    company comprised in or subject to the charge.
    (6) For the purposes of this section “legal proceedings” does not
    include any proceedings before a tribunal, but includes any proceedings to
    enforce a decision of a tribunal.

48. “Do we know if Club Barbados took up governments offer to issue preference shares, a prerequisite to draw down on the 300 million?”

@ David BU

I’m not suggesting the resort’s management took up government’s offer. What I’m ‘saying’ is government should exercise some level of caution before disbursing the $300M. I also agree at least 3 years audited financial statements should one of the qualifying prerequisites before any funds are disbursed.

Leave a Reply to JohnCancel reply