The Government recently patched potholes along the road to Brighton in St George. It was foreseen that the high-quality asphalt, and the effort to install it, would be wasted. After the recent heavy rains, the asphalt washed away, the potholes became larger, and we simply resumed the daily game of ‘dodge-the-pothole’.

Engineers normally use words like sub-standard, and poor workmanship, to describe work badly done. However, there is a realm of insanely bad work, that Barbadians have come to accept as normal.

An accurate example of how we do things in Barbados, is of a baker that mixes quality materials to make bread. However, he does not know the final step of putting the mixture in the oven, and sells this unbaked product to the public, who accept it as normal.

Over the past 50 years, we have become experts in public relations. Our Prime Ministers can explain that after spending so much on the materials, unbaked bread is the best that a small country like Barbados can achieve, and we believe them. Our Ministers keep purchasing ovens, but they are never used. Our industry leaders explain that baked bread is a fanciful idea, and we believe them.

FANCIFUL IDEAS.

Why is it fanciful to ask that asphalt be compacted, rather than installed loose to wash away and result in expensive repairs to vehicles? Why is it fanciful to ask that fruit trees be planted, rather than these non-fruit trees that become habitats for monkeys and termites, the two animals that cause the most harm to Barbadian households?

Why is it fanciful to ask that the foundations of trees be prepared, rather than install them shallow, so that the trees will blow down during a hurricane? Why is it fanciful to offer employment to persons in poverty, so that they can pay their monthly expenses and look after their families?

Why is it fanciful to ask that corrupting no-bid contracts be abolished, so that Barbadians can pay significantly lower taxes? Why is it fanciful to ask that customer feedback be used to improve the quality of Government services?

I do not know why these things are fanciful. However, I do not blame voters for rejecting prosperity for them and their children, and once again embracing a life of house-poor and working-poor poverty. They have never known baked bread, and have been conditioned to believe that it is a fanciful myth.

I cannot even blame our political and industry leaders, who must find creative ways of justifying insanely low standards. They have somehow accepted that unbaked bread is part of our culture.

Asphalt washing out of potholes is now an important investment in our cultural industries. We hope that ‘dodge-the-pothole’ will become an international sport, to which we have a clear advantage after decades of practise. We also hope to introduce an extreme form of road tennis, where potholes are part of the tennis court.

I have spent 25 years of my life actively lobbying various Government departments to adopt higher standards – without success. I have also spent the past five offering to implement higher standards – also without success. How can the people of Barbados benefit from better standards? I do not know – but I am optimistic that someday, someone will find the Solution.

Grenville Phillips II is a Structural Engineer.

167 responses to “Grenville Phillips Speaks – I Do Not Know”

1. @William T his blogmaster has more faith in Caswell. He will find a way to put food on his table as well as continue a lifelong role of being a strident social commentator.

2. Good exchange by WS.
    You have already sold one copy of your book when you choose to deliver it.

Ignore
    🙂 I see the blogmaster is already trying to get a free copy. Make him pay 🙂
    Was meant as a cheap joke.

3. @ TheOGazerts
    Thanks. It will just be my personal views. Up to this morning, I was informed that there is a feeling that Richie was deserted by those who thought he was too stingy with money because the party had access to millions.
    I assure there was no money floating around the NDP. Far from , most candidates like myself were more than weak financially or to but it bluntly: broke.

4. Is the PM trying to imitate the late OSA and his stupid policy of inclusion?

Much as I like her, l wonder what she was thinking engaging Rodney Grant…he is just like Hammie La…he ditched Santia and the BLP months before the 2018 election to run as a dem. Just goes to show that he has no political judgement or discernment because any blind man could see that the people of Barbados were just waiting on Freundel to call the election…and he left the BLP and followed the DLP down the well of doom. I would really like to know what Santia thinks…as he bad mouthed her so badly.

Next is George Connelly…he acknowledged that the DLP is still on the path to destruction, he seems bright and intelligent, why does he not stay in the party and fight for it? Sad indictment on Verla’s leadership.

That is why I have always been against party hopping.

5. Quite frankly as much as we appreciate Caswell, he has indicated he has no interest in being a candidate and I think Drakes is saying the same thing. Caswell’s standing now surpasses Atherley’s. Atherley should remove Caswell andDrakes if they don’t want to be candidates, by two who want to be. Caswell should not be allowed to have it both ways.
    ++++++++++++++++++
    Shouldn’t a party have philosophical moorings? Shouldn’t there be some guiding principles? Shouldn’t a party have a rai·son d’ê·tre?
    Maybe Caswell sees something that you are not familiar with and would find it hard to go on a political platform with the object of just criticizing Gov’t and doesn’t have anything to offer.

And to besides most people believe that pure opportunism drove Atherley to the office of opposition leader and if Atherley becomes a serious threat Mia will disclose what back door deal he made to land the job to embarrass him just like how she tried to embarrass Caswell over some miserly sum of money.

6. Mia politics of inclusion bodes well to say that at the end of the day the bad blood between her and the two cross over can reaped election benefits in the form of voters from the dlp
    Like the blp during the last years od OSA tenure and the bad blood between her and OSA and the cut throat politics that was happening
    The dlp transition and choosing a leader have met with difference in like the same manner the blp encounter
    Like the blp the dlp would work their differences out

7. When, ac? 2023 is going to be here soon and your party will still be in disarray. Were l the PM, l would call the election early and leave you all catspraddle again.

We done know that the PdP is as dead as the DLP.

8. Is it just about winning elections? Perpetual feeding at the public through?
    What about national progress?

9. Trough

10. Wondering if those two acted as spies. They should have announced their split with the party during the run up to the election.

I think what they did was unethical.
    That is a nasty piece of work by any standard.

11. Yuh know something Lorenzo i think that is a great idea
    Then the people would get to feel hear and most importantly understand what it is like living in a totalitarian govt where there is only one voice calling the shots
    Go ahead let her call the election not my lost but the country and those who do not have no legs to stand on
    My theme is about good governance and protecting a democracy
    However your alternative is all about victory which bodes in actions and principles to those of selfish and self-serving demagogue
    God help barbados

12. Prior to the emergence of BU, we had to depend mainly on the Advocate, the Nation, VOB, or CBC to put information in the public domain. These media were closely controlled, and functioned shamelessly to serve the interests of the status quo. Barbadians love to distil every single issue through a political lens but they have practically no idea of what truthfully goes on at the political level and in political parties. They still rely heavily on the media for their mental conditioning.

William Skinner has opened up an extremely important discussion here which could potentially lead to a meaningful change in attitudes, and in the way we view politicians and political parties. That pathway is the sharing of our political and other experiences.

People of all walks of life are “unfaired” daily in Barbados by a system constructed along the lines of colour and class. They are made to believe that they must accept all of this “unfairness” and suffer in silence. Almost every single Barbadian tells you that in Barbados, it is not what you know, it is who who you now.

We need to steadily and gradually develop a system in Barbados based on social justice and equal opportunity for all, regardless of colour and class. Before we can achieve that, a vision has to be painted for the majority of Barbadians to see and buy into.

That is one of the roles of BU.

13. who you know

14. Here is part of the strategy to re-elect Moore in 2023. The Lower Estate dump problem started in DLP time we fixed it.

The Glebe pavilion started in the DLP time and we fixed it etc.

Reifer made a mistake using these two issues to lead his message, both awaken public sentiment of political apathy and cynicism.

15. @Theo

Spot on. Most unethical behaviour. How can someone act as the campaign manager for a by-election candidate while contemplating resignation from the party. Would you ever trust such a person as a friend?

16. @ Walter
    I have always tried to be balanced but the naked truth is that a different level of discourse will be very trying on BU.
    The Blogmaster refused to accept proper advice.
    Like you said we like status and wrap ourselves in pseudo intellectualism. Put mildly, in many ways BU is slightly different from all the media you mentioned. The Blogmaster refused to push it in a more disciplined manner but I do agree we have all benefited from its presence and his effort. It’s by far one of the most successful blogs in the region and certainly in Barbados.
    Peace