The decision to have a national TV debate between the candidates contesting the St. George North constituency seat has been mired in controversy from the beginning. The result is that of the six candidates registered to contest the seat made vacant by the ‘retired out’ Gline Clarke, only candidates Toni Moore (BLP), Grenville Phillips (Solutions Barbados) and Alex Mitchell (BFP) are the three left standing. The other candidates have offered excuses for not participating, the blogmaster suspects the real reason is that there is a fear to speak to the issues publicly in an independent setting.

It is ironic that the current week has seen Barbados experiencing heavy rains which must be negatively affecting house to house and platform campaigning. What an opportunity tonight’s debate offers to convey respective party messages to SGN residents while in the comfort of their homes.

#anyidiotcanplaycricket

447 responses to “2020 St. George North By-Election National Debate”

1. David,

The drama of the theatre is the principal issue. These unforced errors reveal what is in the minds of the performers FROM WHICH ALL OTHER ISSUES FLOW!

If we believe that any idiot can play cricket, that translates into policy. If we believe children should be used as political pawns…..

2. @Donna

Agree that it does not bode well for a relevant thinking for the times, here is the crunch- what do we see on the flipside? This is the root issue, the quality members in the political class.

3. I would Agree that govt should have placed more emphasis on local economy in helping barbados to rebound
    But not (so) govt ear is closer to the voices of the elite than closer to the homegrown ideas of the small business
    IMF can now be consider a big player in the barbados economy not for reasons that would help the economy grow but as salespersons representing outside financial interest
    Barbados is doomed inwardly as well as outwardly
    Consultants and advisors galore yet the country is in no better economic standing than 10 years ago
    What a pity

4. Donna…you really expected any of the BU YARDFOWLS to react any differently, they love to see young Black people DESTROYED SOCIALLY, MENTALLY AND FINANCIALLY….just as they were and who did not run from the island and fowling from LONG DISTANCE….stayed as life long fowls.., so the lowlifes will either IGNORE and PRETEND what Mia, Dale and Moore did was not child abuse and exploitation OR run out without evidence to BLAME IT ON THE CHILDREN THEMSELVES which turned out to be a FOWL SLAVE LORENZO LIE…..and then gush how much these innocent children love Mia who they should be running in the other direction from……lowlife BU fowls..

5. “This language is troubling!”

Indeed, it is.
    I wish I had studied literature instead of the sciences.

Sometimes the phrases seem to be taken from a George Orwell novel or from something Goebbels produced. But I lack the knowledge to demonstrate this fact.

I would suggest that Mia gets more in touch with the people and push aside those with the bad phrases and bad advice. “Yes men” are useless.

6. “If only they would make the same demand for information/action on things that really matter.”

the cover up speak is to be ignored, they sing a different tune when the SHIT HITS THE FAN….and they themselves have to RUN FROM INTERNATIONAL AGENCIES…when Donville was GRABBED not a fella had the balls to take a plane, DOZENS OF FLIGHTS GOT CANCELLED …😂🤣🤣😂😂😂..everyone was laughing until their belly hurt…., how quickly they FORGOT, short attention span, shorter memories………..allow them their BIG TALK UNTIL……

7. you really expected any of the BU YARDFOWLS to react any differently, they love to see young Black people DESTROYED SOCIALLY, MENTALLY AND FINANCIALLY…very troubling that in this case it’s primary school children being EXPLOITED FOR POLITICAL MILEAGE….….just as they were.

If Mia wants to be loved so much, she needs to join a doomsday cult….a la Jim Jones…..but keep her HANDS OFF PEOPLE’S INNOCENT CHILDREN…

8. The salemites/pick-a-noise crowd is just too much.
    I missed that phrase.
    HAGD, all.

9. Theo…they either got tired of calling us salemites or they FORGOT..short attention span, shorter memories…

And this is the MAIN REASON Mia should HANDS OFF the island’s children, i can forgive her a lot of things with my stupid forgiving self, but destorying Black children mentally and socially will not be one of them…

“Sherri Gordon in an article How the Bullying Tactics Politicians Use Affect Kids argues that “rather than learning to treat others with respect and dignity, children are observing the nation’s top political leaders engaging in the very bullying
    tactics that kids at school use to climb
    the social ladder”.

At every stage and in most decisions, the Prime Minister of Barbados Mia Amor Mottley’s behaviour seemingly reflects Gordon’s concern.

It is unfortunate, in my view, that the warning given by the late former prime minister Professor Owen Arthur about the despotic tendencies of MAM was not taken to heart. That Barbadians are now recognising and wincing at the extent of dictatorial and bullying-like tendencies may be in keeping with the monkey-tail saying about the higher he climbs, the more one sees, but it also speaks to our gullibility as a people.

In all her portfolios her bullying style was obvious and her disregard for rules and standards was documented by the concerns raised by either the Auditor General’s Office and in the case of UDC, by the Parliamentary Accounts Committee.”

10. Hope my leader piece is all right.

Hoping that he has kept COVID-19 at arms length and has not been seduced with a consultancy.

11. Cant imagine govt offering koolaid as payments
    Hell No However the people bearing the brunt of the advisors decisions are told to hold strain
    For how much longer
    I guess as long as govt hands are long out for loans

12. Trying to leave but cannot.

There is an article on COVID-19 updates. Some of the best counterpunching that I have seen.
    Almost like judo, Tony Clemmey make an accusation and the hotel manhandled him in its response. The truth will out at some time. Suggest you read it.
    🙂
    I think instead of Lorenzo and Enuff, Mia should put the hotel management on you. 🙂

And Mariposa seem to have regained her old form…. At times, pure poetry…

The last goodbye for now.

13. Forget suing Mitchell, when Lynch started his legal action he didn’t sue Loveridge, he moved against Starcom. If COW wanted to sue whom do you think he would move against? That is the reason for CBC’s preemptive apology.

Jeff C also wrote a few columns about the subject and as he said there may be a claim against the publisher (read broadcaster- medium)

https://barbadosunderground.net/2018/08/05/the-jeff-cumberbatch-column-enhancing-the-freedom-of-democratic-expression-ii/

14. @Sargeant

Correction- it was a preaction letter and Starcom bailed for 60k.

15. @David
    The BLP platform has made two unforced mistakes, any idiot can play cricket and this vid with the children
    In the former it can claim the cricket analogy was made by an out of touch former Minister but in the second the PM’s and a few senior cabinet colleagues’ hands were all over the publicity stunt.

Interesting they are calling for “more” in SGN but less is Moe in the Senate

16. Thanks David
    I was trying to remember the circumstances but my memory failed me

17. Flabbergasted that the big news of the day is the IMF handing gifts to Barbados govt like candy to a child and the rabbit hole on BU has been stretched far back to a Thursday nite debacle
    An observation which keeps govt out of the noises of a govt playing fast and fancy loose with the economy
    Bert performance has not shown any improvement
    Best is at it best a pipe dream which will produce a still born baby
    The welcome stamp no more welcoming than We gathering

18. @ Hal
    Moore was lack lustre and Phillips reminded the audience he is an engineer.
    I totally agree with you. Mitchell made some good points. He did not make the debate a farce. It was a farce from day one!
    Rather than highlight the poor showing of Moore and Phillips they are trying to make Mitchell the scapegoat.
    At least Joseph had the guts to say that Mottley messed up things from the beginning.
    This is the first time since she became PM that anybody has publicly and directly put the blame exactly where it belong. Of course I should say anybody other than Senator Caswell Franklyn.

19. “We may legitimately conclude therefore that an increased freedom of expression in this context is unlikely to come from a purposive act of a legislature comprising those who profit most from the current limits of freedom of expression. It must come from judicial activism.”

Both the criminals in Barbados minority community and their sidekicks the politicians ABUSE LIBEL LAWS….misuse them for financial gain…then there are some who are described as the TURDS sitting on the bench accused of giving FALSE JUDGEMENT,a nice little scam to enrich all of them…

20. The PM more or less endorsed the “idiot” comment with her “debat” vs “debate” comment at the next political meeting.

21. During political campaigns most politicians in Barbados become ” idiots ” especially at political wrass meetings.

22. @ William

I do not want to claim I told you so. But I have been saying for over two years the president is not as clever as she and her fans think she is. She is not a good manager, as anyone trained in management will tell you. Nor is she a good leader.
    She is intelligent and a competent public speaker, but not a great orator. She floats on a cloud of expectations. She has also developed some Machiavellian tricks of neutralising her political enemies, by what is called in investigative journalism, love bombing.
    You are familiar with some of these tricks: offering rivals jobs of their choice, paying them as much of taxpayers’ money as she can get away with, and being what we used to call being pally, pally.
    If that fails then you see the dark side emerging ie the Caswell $400 loan/grant; Kemar Stuart, etc. Those of us old enough to hear political campaigning in the City in the 1950s and 60s will recall the source of such tricks..
    Eric ‘Fly’ Sealy used to gamble in my mother’s shop when he first came out of prison and also freelanced as a political hatchet man, totally void of principles.
    Until we recognise Mottley for who she really is, then we will drift like a ghost ship in troubled waters without realising we are being misled..

23. David
    Years ago I commented on this blog that Mitchell is clueless. Unsurprisingly, the usual suspects are all on his train and talking nonsense about NHC, UDC etc.

We both know why Big Works avoided the debate–fear! You don’t read scripts in a debate. As for the talk about the economy, we speak as if COVID is a dream. Remember how Bdos was one of the worse performing regional economies under the Dems? Go do a comparison now.

24. “If that fails then you see the dark side emerging ie the Caswell $400 loan/grant; Kemar Stuart,”

What the government had to do with Kemar Stuart?🤣🤣

25. Only a fowl will see being in perpetual REVOLVING DEBT WITHOUT END in this decade ….as a success story………🤣😂😂

26. So when is the next live debate…pure theatre….lol

27. The new Barbados High Commissioner can help Bajans who want to join him in Canada eh !

https://globalnews.ca/news/7431923/canada-immigration-plan-coronavirus/

28. HantsOctober 31, 2020 1:15 PM I would advise any young people who have skills (electrical, plumbing etc) or a relevant degree that Canada is looking for, move hard now!!!

29. I read that Elliot Mottley won his defamation suit against Owen Arthur and an appeal was in the works, does anyone know the status of the appeal now that Arthur has died? Would his Estate be liable for the damages?

https://buzz-caribbean.com/news/father-of-barbados-prime-minister-wins-defamation-suit-against-former-pm-owen-arthur/

30. When black politicians are evil, greedy and craven and still got the nerve to beg the same Black people they rob and set up for votes each election..stale piss with full strength acid is the only cure for them..

https://youtu.be/0e5csi1dyFo

31. @Sargeant

Chances Mottley will do the right thing and drop the matter.

32. @enuff

One has to be intelligent enough to make points by avoiding defaming people. It is only under the cloak of privilege in parliament a person can make statements without threat of court action. Even then standing orders have to be followed.

33. Prior to the debates, the BU pundits pointed out that this debate would serve no real purpose and would not benefit SGN. The BU pundits though lacking the credentials to provide a “reasoned response” were correct.

If Mia is the super brilliant woman that some claim, then she knew that this debate would not benefit SGN. Why did she do it?

One blogger hit the nail directly upon the head when he (or she) stated that this debate was a trial run for the national elections in 2023. Go to the head of the class.

Yes, the debates were more beneficial for Mia than they were for SGN.

She has introduced national televised debates into the political landscape and when 2023 rolls around, her supporters will be looking forward to at least three such debates. She is already setting the table for 2023. A table that benefits her and her party. Did you see how they savaged the DLP candidate when he smartly and collectly refuse to be a pawn in Mia’s little debate game. Even her attack dogs had a chance to practice their bite. I have already developed a great deal of sympathy for the opposition when they decline these debates in 2023. Apart from bites delivered recently, deeper and more painful bites will be inflicted.

Regardless of what others think of her, Mia is two or three steps (or even two or three years) ahead of her competitors. If you are not impressed with her managerial style, then I must beg of you “please do not discount her political smarts”. She has already started strategizing and running for 2023.

I am not a fan or a lover of Mia, just a secret admirer of her political acumen.

34. The disrespect to these young children and their families is repulsive, not to mention the mental damage to young minds, they love to sue for defamatioin….their asses should be SUED FOR EXPLOITING AND ABUSING YOUNG VULNERABLE CHILDREN for political gain and advantage….how bout that…Atherley should do more than condemn, they cannot be allowed to get away with this……who the hell do these vote begging shitehounds for ministers believe they are…that they can do whatever they like with people’s children just because they have gotten away with untold crimes on the island against Black people for decades…

https://www.nationnews.com/2020/10/31/atherley-knocks-blp-video-op/

“Opposition Leader Bishop Joseph Atherley isn’t happy about what he’s seen in a video on social media with students of the St George Primary School among several politicians on the campaign trail in St George.

And he’s calling on Minister of Education Santia Bradshaw to provide an explanation as to why the minors were used in that manner.

In the video, the Barbados Labour Party leader, Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley, candidate for St George North Toni Moore and other members of the party urge the pupils to shout “Moore” in apparent support of the Barbados Workers’ Union (BWU) general secretary, who will face five opponents in the November 11 by-election.

“As Leader of the Opposition and head of the People’s Party for Democracy and Development (PdP), I wish to condemn the actions of our political leaders as represented in the social media video clip featuring a group of St George Primary School children. PdP considers this action on the part of those politicians involved to be irresponsible, insensitive and disrespectful to both parents and the administration of the school,” Atherley said in a statement released to the media yesterday.”

35. And all of those other asholes calling themselves politicians who stayed SILENT while those kids were viciously abused…..would have done the same thing too with their low crawling selves and for a politial opportunity, that’s why i don’t support not one of these clowns in politics, they can never see the wrongdoing that is to be condemned and the criminals who commit these crimes pursued and exposed to the world…but they want intelligent people to support and promote their shit…..when they can’t even PROTECT VULNERABLE CHILDREN….

36. https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/10/28/remand-prisoners-await-trial-for-years-with-no-access-to-prison-programmes/
    “It’s not just Mr Wilson, there are so many other people. I was in court the other day and this guy was telling the judge that he has been in prison for 11 years and 10 months on a murder charge awaiting trial. It’s obscene.”

Now this bit is funny..
    “It’s obscene that this matter has gone this far and even more pertinent to me, having somebody on remand for four years awaiting trial – and it would have even been longer but we pushed for an early date – because this man could not get any bail. He doesn’t have any local contacts and he wasn’t able to get any sureties.”

If an early date is four years …

37. https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/10/28/former-rape-accused-jailed-for-something-he-did-not-do/

‘Wilson also called for better treatment from police officers, some of whom he claimed brutalized him while he was being held for questioning.’

“In Barbados it’s like you are guilty before they prove you innocent to the court. Police in Barbados does brutalize yuh plenty in the station…I can’t tolerate this thing with police beating up people and forcing them to sign statements that they didn’t write.”

38. @ Greene

SINCE YOU SWEAR BARBADOS POLICE CAN DO NO WRONG:

“In Barbados it’s like you are guilty before they prove you innocent to the court. Police in Barbados does brutalize yuh plenty in the station…I can’t tolerate this thing with police beating up people and forcing them to sign statements that they didn’t write.”

39. I AM SURE THIS SAME TYPE OF THING HAPPENS ON THE 2 X 3 ISLAND FREQUENTLY:

A New Jersey cop sent sexually explicit texts to an 18-year-old woman hours after he arrested her, prosecutors say

The Monmouth County Prosecutor’s Office announced Thursday that Damien Broschart, 29, is being charged with cyber harassment. Broschart is an officer with the Neptune City Police Department who has been suspended from his role without pay.

The police department launched an investigation into Broschart’s conduct after the woman revealed he texted her hours after her arrest. The woman was arrested earlier this month. Upon her process and release, Broschart drove her back to her car and turned off his body cam equipment, according to the prosecutor’s office. He then asked the woman for her phone number.

Broschart sent the woman text messages calling her “cute” and saying he’d like to pay her back, prosecutors say. After the first round of messages, Broschart’s texts became sexually explicit, with the New Jersey officer offering to meet with the woman at her home after his shift.

The woman blocked his number, but Broschart began to repeatedly call her from his office at the police department.

“This type of behavior will not be tolerated, and has no place within the Neptune City Police Department, and the entire law enforcement community,” said Neptune City Police Chief Matthew Quagliato in a statement. “Although Broschart’s actions were completely unacceptable, this incident does not reflect on the great work done on a daily basis by the remaining officers of the Neptune City Police Department.”

Prosecutors are also charging him with hindering apprehension of oneself, a law that prohibits people from interfering with someone’s apprehension or prosecution.

If Broschart is convicted on this charge, he could face up to five years of prison time, prosecutors say. A cyber harassment conviction could land him a year and a half in jail.

In a statement to local news outlet NJ.com, Broschart’s attorney said Broschart denies all allegations.

“I will evaluate the information gathered by the state when it is provided and formulate his defense accordingly,” defense attorney Richard Incremona said.

If convicted, Broschart could lose his job, the prosecutor’s office said.

“Although there is a presumption of non-incarceration for first time offenders with no criminal records in New Jersey, an emphasis has been placed on seeking resolutions on such cases that ensures that police officers who engage in criminal conduct forfeit their public positions,” a statement from the prosecutor’s office reads.

https://www.yahoo.com/news/jersey-cop-sent-sexually-explicit-145256433.html

40. I believe we are working on speedier trials but still poor people and others without local contacts are being disadvantaged by the bail system until we clear the backlog. Maybe the ankle bracelets would be a good option. Something must be done. Something must definitely be done.

41. AND despite what the CoP says some police do beat up people during questioning. I know a lady who was hit with great force in the head from behind with a telephone book by a male police officer. She still suffers from headaches. Who knows what long term damage she has suffered? She was released as there was no evidence found.

42. Barbados police has for years had a very bad reputation with international human rights agencies for torture and brutality, human rights violattions against Black citizens,that’s the only people they know they could get away with brutalizing on the island, just like the skunks for politicians and government ministers…multiple reports have been written about them.

43. “having somebody on remand for four years awaiting trial – and it would have even been longer but we pushed for an early date ”

they don’t see violating each other’s human rights as any big issue on the island, they never have, they see it as normal, check how many of the politicians now jostling for their turn at the treasury and pension fund called out Mia for the violation of minor children’s human right not to be abused and exploited by low class adult politicians in the government, only one…all the rest went into silent mode, refuse to defend defenseless Black children, but will defend utter shite for political gain.. and want someone to take them seriously and put them in charge of children’s and other people’s futures.

Theo…..can’t remember if you were around when this white sexual predator James from UK, sexually assaulted a grown black woman, a widow, was arrested, was about to be sentenced for his crime by a no nonsense magistrate and the stinking government interferred in the case and let him walk free to return to UK, because tourism and his feelings as a criminal sexual predator was more important to them than observing the human rights of the Black woman in a black majority country, he did not even have to pay a fine…and that is the degraded mentality they push on the island….not to mention the dirty ass minorities on the island, some right here on BU especially nasty racist black John and that gunrunning, drug trafficking, moneylaundering syrian cartel trailer park trash Freedom Liar, who further abused and victimized the lady on FB and BU to defend the sexual predator’s right to sexaully assault a Black lady in Barbados…without even knowing who she was…but not one of them cared…they went after her with everything they had until some of us went after them hammer and tongs..

See how wonderful tourism is going for all of them now……KARMA..

44. We had Grenville trying to break into the bedroomsof adults to monitor and dictate in voyeur style what type of porn they are watching, while claiming it’s to protect the children, he made such a BIG STINK on FB and BU that people had to chase him away, so where is he now to protect CHILDREN from being exploited by Mia and her gang….when it’s a very public and REAL matter.

ah can’t even see Piece on here to expound further on this..

.now we can separate the wheat from the chaff….the pretenders and liars with their ulterior motives, who don’t see what Mia did as abusive….and human rights violating to defenseless children.. there’s .no better reason to KEEP THEM ALL OUT of the parliament..

45. People in Barbados always have their priorities wrong, instead of the hypocritial christians PROTESTING about who is in same sex union with whom and who is sleeping with who….this is what they should be protesting, including the decades of robberies of estates from the elderly and their beneficiaries, but no….run around in the rain pretending to be christians and protest other people’s sex lives…

the low pedigreed in the parliament are being called out for their fraudulent pretentiousness…. all of whom are only A FEW DEGREES REMOVED AS SLAVES……🤣😂🤣😂……..pretense coming from a bunch of wannabes who have less intelligence than the common pothound found on the street digging through garbage, at least they know how to survive without SUCKING ON TAXPAYERS….unlike the less than pothound low pedigreed.

Others are seeing this for what it really is and are speaking out…

“Twenty-four of my years as a teacher were spent at the St. George Secondary School, and I taught hundreds of children from both St. George North and South.

I also met several parents and found them to be decent, industrious people whom I respected greatly.

It is, therefore, of great concern to me that some of the offerings emanating from political platforms have been offensive to the residents of the St. George North Constituency.

Much has already been said about Mr Delisle Bradshaw’s disrespectful suggestion that cricketers and, by extension, other sportsmen are not particularly intelligent, and therefore, have no place in an elevated career like politics.

The attempts by Ms Toni Moore’s campaign manager Dwight Sutherland and the Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley to do damage control fell way short of the mark, and, indeed, might have added insult to injury.

We then had the Minister of Education’s boast about her pedigree and that of the BLP’s candidate.

What was Ms Bradshaw implying about the status of Mr Reifer and the majority of working class St. George North residents?

This talk of pedigree coming from persons who are only a few generations away from slavery would be laughable were the speaker not someone holding a senior cabinet position, and who should, therefore, know better.

It was also disappointing to see the Prime Minister, in her attempt to discredit Mr Reifer, demonstrating what she saw as his need to read even his name from paper.

If a party has a good candidate, there is no need for the party’s leader to attempt to belittle an opponent.

There is room in politics for humour and even jabs at rivals, but constant attacks on another candidate’s intelligence are beyond the pale.

By the way, as far as I am aware, Mr Reifer is a graduate of the Lodge School, an institution with which I have had some association.

Did he not have to pass the highly touted 11+ examination to gain entrance to that school?

He may not be an orator, but I can think of only a handful of good speakers in the present House of Assembly.

I was shocked to see primary school pupils in uniform being lined up for a photo-op with leading politicians and the candidate of the ruling party.

Our innocent pre-teens should not be used to gain political mileage. Did the principal and teachers of the school sanction this, or did they have no choice?

46. In all the hue and cry no one should overlook the fact that AG Marshall was pictured in this political video of the exploitation of the children
    How can he be sworn as a minister of justice and to be seen engaged in a scene which by judicial prudence can be relevant to criminal activity subject to exploitation when children without parental consent are involved
    Heads should roll .Unfortunately a look at this video tells a story that if the head is sick the entire body is sick

47. When is Mia on behalf of the people do the right thing as asked AG to resign
    His face in that video is sickening and bodes well to believe he has no understanding of the justice systems and ethics involved

48. A pity you were not as strident in your condemnation of Michael Carrington for withholding thousands of dollars from a seventy something wheelchair ‘ridden’ man who has since passed on.

49. Welcome to Barbados, a land of degrees.. we got farenheit and celsius,
    We got MS, MSc, PhD, BSc and lots of BS. But the one degree that cannot be beaten is the ped.

With your ped degree, doors open automatically. Even if you fade into obscurity, your ped degree gets you a column on BU if you are sighted. Add our ped degree to your degree and you become a legend.

It cannot be bought and no studies are required. Just submit your name to our BU ped degree board and we will let you know if you qualify.

Leave a Reply to MariposaCancel reply