It has not taken long for some political candidates to behave badly.  Even when their political party starts their meeting with prayer to our Creator, they still manage to find their way into the gutter.

Perhaps things may improve if Candidates started their meetings, by saying something nice about their fellow candidates.  Since the suggestion is mine, I will start.

Every interaction I have had with Toni Moore has been a pleasant one.  She listens to other views, and gives practical improvements.  I can understand why the Prime Minister would want to include her when developing national policies.

I have had far less interactions with Floyd Reifer; but those interactions have also been pleasant.  The man is clearly a leader, and with the right support, may significantly benefit Barbados politically.

Ambrose Grosvenor is a fellow member of the Wesleyan Holiness Church.  He is a trusted Treasurer in his Church, and I have not heard of Ambrose being involved in any scandals.  He pays attention to details, which may prevent issues from falling through the proverbial cracks.

David Walrond is a fellow old scholar of Combermere School, and a pleasant man.  He has ideas, and a willingness to implement them.

Alex Mitchell is a serious man.  He hates injustice with the same passion that I hate corruption.  He does not compromise if that compromise causes him to violate his principles.  There is no pretence with Alex – he is the real deal.

I love God unashamedly, and with only one life to live, I spend it pursuing truth, even if the truth is inconvenient to discover.  I try not to judge other people, because no one is perfect, and we all learn by failure.  But I try to show options, and the likely consequences of choosing each option, and let each person choose the path they wish to follow.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer, and the Solutions Barbados’ candidate for St George North.  He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

22 responses to “Say Something Nice”

1. OVER TO THE COURTS

Phillips II files case against appointment of Opposition Leader
    By Maria Bradshaw and Antoinette Connell For the first time in Barbados’ legal history, the appointment of the Leader of the Opposition is being challenged in the High Court.
    Head of Solutions Barbados, Grenville Phillips II, filed an application in July seeking judicial review of the process in which Bishop Joseph Atherley was appointed Opposition Leader by the Governor General more than two years ago.
    The matter came up before Justice Margaret Reifer last Monday but was adjourned for a date to be determined, during which time Phillips is expected to make some amendments to the application.
    He is contending that Atherley did not have the support of another Member of Parliament (MP) as is required by the Constitution, in order to be appointed Opposition Leader.
    “The appointment of a person to Leader of the Opposition, who did not have the support of another Member of Parliament, failed to satisfy the condition of ‘support’ required by Section 74.(2) of the Constitution of Barbados,” said the claim.
    Atherley, a former long-standing member of the ruling Barbados Labour Party (BLP), was among its candidates when the Bees won all 30 of the seats the May 2018 general elections. However, seven days later, the St Michael West MP crossed the floor, to become the lone Opposition member and was appointed as Leader of the Opposition.
    When contacted, Phillips, founder of Solutions Barbados, which fielded 28 candidates in the general elections, charged that Atherley did not command the support required.
    “The Constitution seems really clear on what the qualifications of Leader of the Opposition is,” he told the Sunday Sun, referring to the meanings of the word “support” and leadership.
    Phillips stated he had written extensively on the topic from the time Atherley was appointed “but no one would listen”. He added his attempts to get a lawyer to file the application were unsuccessful since “no one wants to touch it for whatever reason”. He therefore filed it on his own.
    The structural engineer said he wrote Governor General Dame Sandra Mason on the matter but she suggested that the interpretation be adjudicated by the Supreme Court.
    Phillips also said he sought an opinion from the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) on the word ‘support’ “since it is in the CCJ’s interest that Caribbean parliaments are constitutionally constituted”, but was advised that the matter could only be heard there after it had gone to the Court of Appeal.
    In his filing, Phillips charged that three Caribbean countries (Barbados, Grenada, and Antigua and Barbuda) had leaders of the opposition who did not appear to have the ‘support’ required by their constitutions.
    Attorney General Dale Marshall, in response
    to the action, said: “He (Phillips) most definitely is suing the Government. He is contending that Joseph Atherley was unlawfully appointed as Leader of the Opposition. The Government is, of course, defending the matter stoutly, since we are satisfied that the laws of the land were followed completely.”
    Atherley, who subsequent to his appointment formed the People’s Party for Democracy and Development (PdP), said yesterday he was concerned about the timing of the application.
    “I am aware of it; of course, it is his right to do. My only question would be, how come it is only coming now? I find it quite interesting that [it is] at this particular time. I also wonder who is motivating him in relation to the timing.”
    Atherley said as far as he was concerned, it was how the law was interpreted.
    “It is an action that is brought against the Attorney General, not against me. It challenges the action of the Governor General. I think we have a judicial system that functions relatively well, so I will leave the matter there. I’ve been advised that we should take some interest and we are doing that. I have read the document which was filed. I obviously don’t agree with his interpretation but I’m not a lawyer . . . .”
    Phillips said he has requested that the matter be heard “urgently”.
    “I do not want it to be a contentious matter. I am simply trying to find out what does the word ‘support’ mean and what to be a ‘leader’ means.” ( MB)

2. Political culture broken
    People talk about the ZR culture, bashment culture, drug culture, Internet culture, even the culture in the Public Service. But when it comes to subcultures in Bim, one of the most problematic has got to be the political culture.
    A culture of vote-buying and selling makes a flea market of the electoral process. Large, anonymous campaign donors potentially turn political parties into governments for rent.
    Rampant and rabid party bias means that honest and logical political discussion is next to near impossible across party lines. Speeches from the campaign podium are often more comedy roasts than meaningful political discourse.
    The political culture influences all other cultures in the country. ZRs are regulated by Government. Or, supposed to be. Drug laws and regulation is a hot and smoking political issue. The Public Service is allegedly unduly influenced by political partisanship. Rumour has it some public servants don’t work well because “dey party in”.
    Bashment culture could be said to operate outside of the realm of politics as much as is possible in a modern nation. Except, if there was an award for best campaign song, former minister Chris Sinckler would be a front-runner every time. He sponsored classic bashment recordings from Fari and Mole.
    In fact, it is the bashment that keeps a lot of people interested in politics. Not in the music but the banter.
    Many Bajans will unashamedly tell you that they go to political meetings to hear licks get share. Scandal, innuendo and insult have been a feature of our political culture for years. That is changing a bit, though.
    Juiciest jabs
    One time you had to actually go to a political rally to get to hear the juiciest and hottest jabs. Nowadays, in the age of cell phones, the Internet and viral videos, statements that were once confined to the ears of the party faithful now get much wider circulation.
    Old-style Barbadian politicians may have to rethink their public speaking approach. Before, when the political speakers would really get hot and start to roast, if they went overboard, it was only the people on the pasture they had to worry about offending.
    Given that many of those were probably “die hard and come back as zombie” party supporters, this would not have been a major worry. But now, everything you say on the platform may come back to haunt you in a viral WhatsApp post.
    I suspect that more people catch the ZRs than support a particular political party. Therefore, our political culture could be seen as more of a subculture than the much maligned ZR culture.
    People always worry that the ZR culture will affect the minds of innocent schoolchildren. But we don’t pay enough attention to how the political culture destroys the minds of well intentioned political aspirants.
    Reasonably intelligent
    They get into politics as reasonably intelligent individuals of sound mind and with all faculties intact.
    In a short space of time they can only pronounce three letters of the alphabet, can only see one colour of the spectrum and are reacting to people who are not from their party like a bull seeing a matador waving a red cloth.
    It is also unfortunate when capable people are sidelined because they are suspected of supporting the wrong side. It would be funny if it wasn’t so true and so destructive.
    The nation’s progress and growth depend on politics and politicians. But this toxic political culture prevents so much from working right.
    A preoccupation with gaining or keeping a seat means that many politicians’ heads are stuck firmly and deeply in their seats. Others are so secure in their constituencies that they can just sit and warm theirs.
    New parties would like a seat at the table but members of the old boys’ club keep insisting that there is only room for two. The two traditional parties have been sitting so pretty and so comfortable for so long that it is doubtful they will move to transform the political culture. But this is an area in serious need of transformation.
    Who has the political courage to take the initiative and break from the broken culture?

Adrian Green is a communications specialist. Email: Adriangreen14@gmail.com

3. CHANGE ‘A MUST’

Mia says Social Partnership protocols must be revised
    Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley says the time has come to revise the protocols that have governed the Social Partnership for close to three decades.
    Delivering the feature address on the final day of the Barbados Labour Party’s 82nd annual conference held at St George Secondary School, she said protocols which were formulated in the 1990s to provide oversight for labour, private sector and the Government must be adjusted to suit the 21st century.
    “I ask you to recognise that a moment is upon us where we need to craft new instruments and new protocols. We have before us a Social Partnership . . . that was crafted in 1991 to meet the needs of a Barbados of 1991. We have to continue to come together, but we must do so with more nuance. There has to be a new protocol for the Government of Barbados, the labour movement and the private sector of Barbados,” said Mottley.
    The Social Partnership was initiated in response to the severe economic challenges of the early 1990s, including a high fiscal deficit, declining foreign exchange earnings and rising unemployment. The Prime Minister said the new protocols must emphasise the need for opportunities to be more evenly distributed among Barbadians.
    “Yesterday, for example, we had a discussion about how Golden Square would be developed. The traditional approach of hiring consultants and big firms [is not going to happen this time] – not ’bout here. We got too many people in this country who are not working and who need help. This Government is prepared to walk the extra distance, to take the difficult decisions, to do the complex things that will allow us to make money.
    Biggest burden
    “Instead [of] giving it to persons to reap large dividends, [we will] ensure that the money can be spread as far and as wide as possible,” she said, adding that the National Insurance Scheme was carrying the biggest burden in its history.
    The Prime Minister said the new policies must reflect a carving out of local market space for Barbadian manufacturing and agriculture. She noted this was especially critical as the world faces a second wave of COVID-19 and therefore the risk of supply chains being interrupted once more was high. She said this must go hand in hand with a rewiring of the Barbadian mindset to always see locally produced goods as their first option.
    “It means that there are some principles that we must put down and hold dearly over the course
    of the next two years. Between now and March 2022, Barbados must be managed by putting our people first at every step of the way. We have to be able to put jobs at the top of the list; we have to be able to support Barbadian production.
    “The next time you go to buy something, look for what is made in Barbados first because that is what is putting food on Barbadian tables. We have to talk with our people and raise the level of consciousness of our people and make them understand what is at stake and what they can do day by day,” she said. (CLM)

4. Which god is this so beloved?

Is it the god of the White people or those of the Chinese, Indians etc?

This entreatise towards niceness under the cloak of religion is open viciouness of the worst kind. At least it is irrational and serves narrow party political interests.

Did we not have the separation of church and state? De-establishment?

Has it not been the ways of the christian church which have informed the degenerative political culture?

As for our household, we dont want any rh politician and their demonic parties getting between us and The Pachamama.

This political ground has been seeded by the duopoly. Now let it reap the seeds of wrath.

5. ” The Prime Minister said the new protocols must emphasise the need for opportunities to be more evenly distributed among Barbadians.”

translation:

“we” can’t tief to elevate and promote minority THIEVES like before for “we cut”, not without being CONTINUALLY EXPOSED….to the world at large, so “we” will now include the BLACK MAJORITY that “we” have ROBBED FOR OVER 30 YEARS..”we” clearly see that “we” can no longer get away with it, without being HAULED UP BEFORE SOME INTERNATIONAL TRIBUNAL…

“Now let it reap the seeds of wrath.”

ASE…

6. William Skinner Avatar

1..That’s why “ bashment” should not be entertained and encouraged on BU.
    2. Yuh see now anybody can talk pretty but it ain’t main a crap. That’s why people like Hamilton Lashley should be the ones going up the steps of Parliament cause these fancy talkers go in there and go just that: talk fancy till dey get duh de real power.
    Ask Maloney.

A person’s faith is essentially a private matter and if that forms the center of their political, social or corporate philosophy, who are we to judge.

Peace

7. Again my soul brother Adrian Greene has written the column I had in my head.

8. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

MIA AMOR MOTTLEY

Well said.

The thing is we don’t update things. We go with old Antiquated way of doing things.

9. As one who has bashed GP2 most severely here on BU; especially when he displayed his lack of depth in his writings on the Word, I must say that this post is a very good one.

He is very charitable, and has given good information on his competitors, and should be respected highly for so doing.

10. David
    Like I said on another blog, things are happening that many on BU don’t understand or refuse to see. All the PM appears to be promoting is local procurement, which in a Barbadian context means the local community and where possible the smaller suppliers. Unemployed residents of Nelson Street and the surrounding areas should be entitled to a % of the jobs on the Golden Square project. Spread the money. I also heard her mention profit margins on public sector projects. I have long advocated that there should be a fixed profit margin for public sector projects, which is lower than that for private sector. The same folks blasting Indians, Syrians and white people on the other blog are the same ones that accuse government of unfairing Ms.Ram. When I said the government should compensate her on existing use value with a top up, the know-it-all said a property that is unoccupied has no existing use.🤣🤣🤣🤣

11. ……a property that is unoccupied has no existing use.🤣🤣🤣🤣…(Quote)

?????? It does not matter how stupid a statement, as long as it get s a cheap laugh.

12. You a clown! Stay in yuh lane….the circus.🤣

13. The karma-like result of having BACKWARD, UNEDUCATED FAKE leaders for over 50 years who are too stupid and slave like Enuff to know that you do not depend on one economic driver, just as you do not promote and elevate the descendants of slave catchers and now trying get out of it, or pretending to anyway, because if you would LIE AND DECEIVE to be elected ya would LIE ABOUT ANYTHING and everything and CANNOT BE TRUSTED…..only dimwitted fowl slaves would still be looking up to and promoting CHRONIC LIARS for fake leaders…..

those of us who DO NOT CARRY THE IDIOT SLAVE GENE….saw this coming..and it’s about to get some much worse..

“Bridgetown – The International Monetary Fund (IMF) Friday said the economic impact of the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic on the Caribbean has been “massive” particularly for tourism-dependent countries in the region, but that lower commodity prices were also having a “major impact” on Caribbean commodity exporters.

In an exclusive interview with the Caribbean Media Corporation (CMC), IMF Deputy Managing Director, Tao Zhang, also acknowledged that the impact of COVID-19 on lives and livelihoods in the Caribbean has been severe, agreeing with an earlier description by the IMF Managing Director Kristalina Georgieva, that this is a “crisis like no other”.

He said that while the pandemic has been well-contained, particularly in smaller island-nations like those in the Eastern Caribbean Currency Union (ECCU), most countries moved quickly to restrict inbound travel and adopt containment and mitigation measures.

“The total number of COVID-19 cases in general remains small and has been increasing only gradually as countries have been cautious with reopening plans. However, the economic impact of the pandemic has been massive due to the “sudden stop” in tourism.

“The shutdown of the tourism sector, which accounts for anywhere from 50 to 90 per cent of output and employment in the tourism-dependent Caribbean economies, and other lockdown measures had ripple effects, with a sharp contraction in economic activity. Lower commodity prices are also having a major impact on Caribbean commodity exporters through a decline in exports and fiscal revenues,” Zhang told CMC.”

14. So MUCH WORSE….

15. What the vote beggars should be telling the people is how they are going to get out of the huge BILLION DOLLAR DEBTS THAT THEY HELPED CREATE..

wrote off a whole billion dollars for minority thieves and need it now……😂🤣..both governments should be in prison for that, how do you not COLLECT VAT for over 20 YEARS…..why would you not collect the vat the people pais at POINT OF SALE to those social partner crooks…

https://youtu.be/ssNtoydjtQ4.

16. “That’s why people like Hamilton Lashley should be the ones going up the steps of Parliament cause these fancy talkers go in there and go just that: talk fancy till dey get duh de real power.”

You talking about people getting fart frighten with power and mentioning Hammie as the antithesis? Clueless and confused.

17. Cease and Desist

I have heard many rumours of bribery in past elections. However, I can now confirm that there are credible reports of bribery in this by-election. Those participating in this practise, should know that they are corrupting the democratic process in Barbados.

What can voters do to stamp out this practise. The Police have recommended that persons accept the bribe, and then bring the evidence to the Police so that those offering the bribes can be charged.

Voters need to understand that accepting a $50 bribe, to vote to remain in poverty, is absolute lunacy. Would they accept a bribe of five cents? Because that is essentially what they are accepting. Because like five cents, $50 will be spent very quickly in this economy.

In this by-election, people should vote for their own self-interests. Fifty dollars is not in their best interest – it is pittance to what they could be earning.

Our plans are in the voter’s interest. For example, I plan to start a no-profit construction company, where we will train (in two weeks) every unemployed person in St George North, who wants to work in construction. We then plan to employ them to build houses across Barbados at cost.

An unskilled labourer can earn $100 each day, while a skilled worker can earn $150 each day. A house that takes 6 months to build, can earn an unskilled labourer $12,000, and a skilled worker $18,000. The Government plans to build 1,000 houses, and we should win every house we tender.

If the government chooses not to continue with its low-cost housing initiative, then we plan to build houses across Barbados at cost, with no profit. Therefore, the homeowner can get a significantly lower mortgage.

Those offering bribes in St George North should know that they now risk embarrassing themselves, their party, and their Candidate, so cease and desist.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer, and the Solutions Barbados’ candidate for St George North. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

18. “What can voters do to stamp out this practise. The Police have recommended that persons accept the bribe, and then bring the evidence to the Police so that those offering the bribes can be charged.”

Ignorant me.
    Wasn’t there a story about a woman being advised to go the police and end up with 3 days in jail???

My legal knowledge is zilch, but I believe that receiving a bribe is also a crime.
    If your BLP candidate offer you a bribe, just walk away. If you take the bribe, keep your mouth shut.

Wunnah lucky, that I hear.

19. I am highly appreciative of David of BU for giving us this forum where we can speak our piece.

At times I may disagree very strongly with his words/opinions, but he is in my pantheon of heroes.

I apologize with regards to a particular phrase as it was uttered in haste and it was disrespectful.

Keep up the good work. I wish you the very best.

20. I am highly appreciative of David of BU for giving us this forum where we can speak our piece.

At times I may disagree very strongly with his words/opinions, but he is in my pantheon of heroes.

I apologize with regards to a particular phrase as it was uttered in haste and it was disrespectful.

Keep up the good work. I wish you the very best.

21. I will be more judicious in my choice of wo