The selection by the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) of General Secretary of the Barbados Workers Union (BWU) Toni Moore to run in St. George North has piqued the interest of political pundits. BLP representatives have been quick to defend by representing a view many political parties at home and abroad find deep roots in the labour movement. It cannot be denied the two main political parties have had the benefit of a strong relationship with the trade union movement, over the years unionists have served as members of the Upper and Lower Chambers.

What makes Toni Moore’s appointment interesting for some, the appointment has come against the backdrop of an incumbent government that won all 30 seats in parliament, until Bishop Reverend Joseph Atherley fill the vacancy of Leader of the Opposition (the subject of other blogs and commenters for years to come) to avert a constitutional crisis.- the outcome of a court filing by Grenville Phillips II to challenge the appointment of Atherley is pending.

The unholy haste with which Moore was made a member of the BLP, the exit of Gline Clarke from a safe seat at midterm to jet off to serve as Ambassador to Canada to replace Reginald Farley, who was recalled to fill the vacancy left by former President of the Senate Sir Richard Cheltenham, whose brother Patterson Cheltenham was recently appointed Chief Justice… Some believe Mottley is playing a long game by including youthful, bright and influential actors to ensure the BLP can be sustained as a relevant entity for years to come. One only has to compare to the Democratic Labour Party since the departure of Errol Barrow to appreciate the importance of succession and human resources planning.

The Trade Union movement represents the organized economic power of the workers…it is in reality the most potent and the most direct social insurance the workers can establish.

Samuel Gompers

The blogmaster does not have a dog in the fight and having listened to all the arguments for and against the decision by Mottley to run Toni Moore, remains unconvinced that it serves the best interest of labour at this time. The strength of labour has been considerably diminished during 12 years of economic hardship post the global meltdown 2007- with COVID-19 the economic forecast/outlook remains bleak in the near to medium term. If there ever was a time workers need a focussed, strident representation from the largest trade union in Barbados, it is now.

The resignation of Toni Moore from the Senate, a simple exercise made clandestine by the lack of transparency, created the opportunity to appoint a replacement to represent labour in the Upper Chamber. The selection by the Governor General of Julian Hunte is interesting for a number of reasons. At the top of the blogmaster’s mind is that Hunte was the BWU general secretary in waiting and training until Toni Moore, to the surprise of many and the backing of her predecessor, got to drive the merk. The appointment of Hunte to replace Moore in the Senate is therefore riddled with irony. Hunte fled to the private sector and currently serves at the UWI, Cave Hill as Assistant Registrar for Industrial Relations.

The question in the blogmaster’s mind is – can the interest of labour be better served by Senator Julian Hunte while detached from a trade union? In the period Hunte represents the labour segment in the Upper Chamber will he shine like a beacon the consequence of which leads to a reentry to the BWU or other trade union? Is is obvious there is opportunity given the dearth of leadership in the trade movement.

Power to the people!

48 responses to “A Hunte for Moore”

1. that tie is beautiful when paired with a suite and a cheeky smile

2. who ever wrote that piece is blowing smoke up MAM’s nether regions. the selection of the BLP candidate for SGN can be interpreted as Moore or Less a payback for anti DLP march. the private sector got tax concessions and the union got 5% and perhaps a seat in parliament.

3. As a member if the BWU everyone felt Mr.Hunte would have gone on to be the General Secretary when Sir Roy retired.As in every institution in this country backroom deals are strategically done. The memberships then follows whatever the leader wants. Sir Roy wanted Mrs Moore and so the young man moved on.Check today and see who is the lawyer to the BWU. All backroom deals. The GG, to me makes some very telling decisions.I like her decision making except I would not have read certain words in that throne speech, especially the one technically dismissing me next year.

4. Politology requires that this Moore should not be given additional exposure at the expense of at least 4 relatively unknowns.

5. @Pacha

The others refused the opportunity for the exposure not so? Barjam reduced the number of debates from 3 to 1.

6. Leftwing politics are usually positive vibrations and social minded whereas rightwing politics are often capitalist nationalist and sometimes engage in divide to rule and as shown by Trump and Johnson in US and UK now employ racist populist psyops, both nations use dark arts to influence foreign political campaigns for players or puppets that will act in their interests.
    Point is, nothing lasts forever and complacency can open the door to swings in power from one extreme to another. People often get fed up and want change. Governments are judged on results over time and are rejected as moods change.

7. This was a devised strategy by Roy . The ouster of Julian and the foisting of Moore on the membership as Julian is of better stock. Here are my idle foolish thoughts, since Roy did not succeed to become Prime minister after the 8% walk in conjuction with Private sector. The opportunity was created for his protege to become Prime minister in 10 years as well as bringing the leadership of BLP back to the BWU. A presumably safe seat SGN,the General Secretary of the BWU ,in addition to international experience and exposure at the ILO. Much improved stock of Moore to propel her to the leadership of the BLP at age 54. Maybe a dynasty is in the making at the BWU with a lawyer ably assisted with an experience consultant.

8. @curley16 October 25, 2020 7:16 PM “The ouster of Julian and the foisting of Moore on the membership as Julian is of better stock. ”

What is better stock?

Indeed what is worser stock?

And how do you know what is better stock?

9. This is business jargon or parlance when comparison is being drawn between to peers. Worth relative to knowledge and know how pedigree to one’s vocation. I have seen and heard both practicing their craft and he is much better.

10. Curley16 piece at 7:16 PM 🤣🤣🤣.

11. Cuhdear Bajan
    I love the answer you got from curley16 because you are always nic picking on words once it is level at a female.That language may have gone over your head.I love it.

12. NorthernObserver Avatar

Concern for the ‘long game’ and for ‘labour’ maybe genuine and thoughtful, but misguided. This is about “ME”, powah, and what is best for “me”. Possibly the title might have been “A Hunt for More”? Just rearranging the deck chairs. Has the BWU announced a new boss?

13. @Northern Observer

Didn’t Moore confirm she will continue as GS of the BWU?

14. Northern

We concur. It will be irrational to expect any difference.

We suspect that she will be no different than her mentor.

In fact, she’s shown her colours already.

We have also guessed that a larger succession game is being played.

15. the best laid plans of mice and (wo)men

16. @ Lest we forget October 25, 2020 9:45 PM
    “Cuhdear Bajan
    I love the answer you got from curley16 because you are always nic picking on words once it is level at a female.That language may have gone over your head.I love it.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Way over her ‘sexist’ head, indeed!

So you too are onto the misandristic games that the M(i)s(s) “SS” aka “Silly Woman” aka “Cuhdear Baje” plays?

It’s a damn bloody good thing that the real man from “Whitehill” has her ‘Lesbos’ number.

She blames men/males for all the problems in Bim not realising that women/females make up the majority of the voting population.

That same majority of females who train the children- including the boys with their potty training- both in the homes and at school and are now in control of all the top jobs- both political and administrative- right across the incestuously managed island of Barbadoes.

She/He, Cuhdear, is no different to the same men whom she cusses ad nauseam not realizing that it was the enlightened males who were at the forefront of the women liberation movement the same way some enlightened white people (both males and females) were in the vanguard for the abolition of black chattel slavery.

17. “Lesbos”?????

18. David

We see that Rawdon Adams has made an appearance at a political meeting, or is to make.

The country has waited decades for the “rightful heir” to return, as if the son of god, no?

What is the political calculus there, in your estimation?

19. Speculation and presumption as well as prediction will remain natural ingredients in the realm of political analysis and forecasting. They are those who shy away from politics, branding it a blood-sport, it certainly is not for the faint-hearted.
    Truly this by-election campaign has exposed a level of intrigue and curious scenarios that will titillate most political junkies.
    The Toni Moore factor and the tensions it has introduced regarding loyalty vs political expediency, in unprecedented times of joblessness with no clear silver lining in sight, necessitates that their either be valiant efforts on her part after the order of
    ‘labours’ founders or a complete consolidation of power by the government. It is said that politics makes for strange bed-fellows.
    Hopefully it provides an opportunity for these main players to rise to the occasion and serve the national interest in a way that history and future political pundits will be kind in the analysis of their efforts.

20. @Pacha

You snatched the thought from top of the blogmaster’s mind. The obvious is the prime real estate in St. Thomas, however, Rawdon has not shown signs up to now he has the appetite for raw politics.

21. David,

Is he not showing it now? Speaking on a political platform. Haven’t we heard that Cynthis Forde is on the way out?

22. David

Thanks much! Keep your sharp eyes on the tea leaves.

Separately,

No labour movement will be left

Global capital is on the cusp of finishing off labour throughout the world, using the Covid19 as the pretext to make gig-workers of all of us.

In this schema, Silicon Valley high-tech companies are at the forefront. Expect massive reductions in wages and high numbers to continue doing jobs at home.

All this while Toni Moore makes her political play for political leadership, we fear, as her mentor did before her.

These politics seem so incongruent with the designs of the global capitalist elites.

David, a 20th century mentality has not a chance, for the people, the workers, in the confrontation with this evolving trickery.

23. @Donna

Will have to see if it is a one off or if he is being given a chance to cut his teeth on the campaign trail.

24. @Pacha

What will it take to disrupt the establishment? Covid was thought to be the great disrupter. It seems we are settling into a new normal with a new paint job but same engine.

25. David
    We have not the answer.
    Currently, we’re trying to better understand the problem. How these folks are trying to save capitalism by again remixing elements, the relationship to work. Disaster capitalism has always been predicated on the notion that a crisis should never be wasted. I think that is what we’re starting to see. And if we’re right then certain questions will have to be asked about the reasons why this current disaster had to be in the first place.

26. David

Should Moore not be the big brains on such matters. There’s got be a soothsayer somewhere thinking about these heavy lift issues, no?

27. @Pacha

Having sat in the same room with some of the players the blogmaster is not convinced we have assembled the thought leadership required to mount a material challenge to what is confronting us.

28. David
    That has long been clear. Was just pulling yuh leg. LOL

29. Same old engine. No change in mindset at all. From what I can see, the capitalists are looking to come out even bigger winners after COVID. In times of great profit they pay no taxes and pocket it all as dividends. In times of economic disaster they call for and receive the taxes deducted from their worker’s pay. As a seperate economic entity this will be deemed necessary as the dividend takers will never reinvest to keep the business afloat.

30. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Pacha
    I am “guessing” beyond the gig/PT workers on a wider scale, we will see a massive reworking of land usage. The urban centres now have a mass of small boxes (condos) which fewer and fewer persons wish to (can?) live in, and surrounding office tower buildings which are at 25% physical occupancy. (leases are being terminated monthly) As is usual, when I ask my ‘political strategy’ friends, about the impact on tax revenue, I get a deluge, which suggests they either haven’t thought about it or don’t wish to. ‘Work from home’ has huge tax consequences? (under current systems) We have also noted a massive increase in the price, and demand, for ‘recreational’ properties, and non-condo dwellings were ‘proximity to office’ is less of an issue. (another major tax revenue issue)
    While the private developers are ‘capping’ some in-progress structures, and delaying others, the public entities are spending on infrastructure to better service what maybe a less existent populous. (more public finance issues). Land is a constant as to where money goes?

31. NorthernObserver Avatar

@DavidOctober 26, 2020 3:24 AM
    I am suspecting that will change. Probably not ‘forced’ until after her election.

32. Northern

Correct on all counts.

Nuff people leaving city centres to find cheaper rents while maintaining present city jobs.

We’ve been looking at a proposal in recent times to understand value because returns seemed higher than are usually anticipated. And this is the point at which we got to understand the proposition.

Of course, the US is expecting to loose 30 million jobs because of self driving commercial vehicles, and so on. This is another element that unions seem not to want to confront. These job losses are just the beginning.

33. Lose

34. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Pacha
    as you highlighted, the castration of unions is not new. Many of the large construction trade (so called) unions, are run by the large contactors (in Canada cannot speak for USA). The former unions emaciated themselves, by signing “contractors” NOT the workers (many of whom were subcontractors). They got revenue, but were pawns, and had no direct link to the workers. The UAW/CAW (they have a new name) did similarly. The auto makers “outsourced” certain production just to evade the unions. These outsourced entities then created their own Unions!!! Nor can the unions crack many of the big retailers nor fast food chains. The Union strength is largely limited these days to public entities. The teachers, civil servants, SOE entities (post office, transportation etc). Even the airlines have cracked the stranglehold. Unions need a value proposition?? They have to expand their service/product offering?

35. Global capital is on the cusp of finishing off labour throughout the world, using the Covid19 as the pretext to make gig-workers of all of us. In this schema, Silicon Valley high-tech companies are at the forefront. Expect massive reductions in wages and high numbers to continue doing jobs at home.

@Pacha
    Thesis. Antithesis.Synthesis.

A logical corollary to the WFH phenomenon is off shoring version 2, on steroids. Since workers can perform their roles remotely with just a pc and reliable internet, then why not scour the globe to find the very cheapest labour pools?

36. Dullard

Precisely. Yuh just gave us a brain wave. What is coming after neoliberalism is going to far more vicious than initially thought.

We could never understand why for small countries like Barbados there can never be a cadre thinking about these issues and provide the country with responses.

Makes no sense being small unless yuh nibble.

37. We could never understand why for small countries like Barbados there can never be a cadre thinking about these issues and provide the country with responses. Makes no sense being small unless yuh nibble.

@ Pacha
    It will be brutal. When you factor in 5G, 6G, etc. and the increasing sophistication and use of AI then you can see how grim it willl be for labour.

I think hubris explains a lot of why Bdos does not take these things seriously. If Bdos were to honestly accept that it is a non-entity on a global level then psychologically we would position ourselves to take grow, improve and take advantage of externalities.

But since we have bought into this nonsense about punchingaboveourweight then we have adopted a false sense of our own standing and abilities.

A quick scan of BU for example would make one wonder if Bdos operates totally independently of happenings elsewhere.

38. Dullard

There’s even some people who believe that futuristic thinking is the province of other people, countries.

We have to stop the nonsense about being late adopters of everything, to put it mildly.

This writer has been talking about the financialization of economy for over a decade. It is a subject few economists understand. Economists don’t know how financial markets work. Yet, when we hear the leading economists in Barbados speak what they say is the same as 50 years ago.

39. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Dullard
    if one ignores the various biases we all have, an idea like the @PLT ‘welcome stamp’ just nibbles at the greater possibilities. The ‘stamp’ is targeted at persons/individuals. What if it were expanded to communities/organizations/corporations. What you termed offshoring WFH. Entities like “Accenture” made billions by directing NA/EU operations to places like Manila and Mumbai, purely on the basis of cost. It was cheaper. Barbados nibbled at this initially (data processing/call centres) but was gobbled up by others. It was, nor will it ever be, a low cost place. But it has climate. It requires some additional infrastructure. I see many possibilities. The challenge is they have to be packaged and sold.

40. @Northern Observer

We need to proactively manage name Barbados from the EU/OECD blacklist as a prerequisite.

41. @Dullard

You seem to be posting sensibly for once LOL.

42. @ Dullard You seem to be posting sensibly for once LOL.

i adjust my posts to suit the audience. LOL

43. Touché

44. @Lest we forget October 25, 2020 9:45 PM “Cuhdear Bajan. I love the answer you got from curley16 because you are always nic picking on words once it is level at a female.That language may have gone over your head.I love it.”

Fortunately I was too busy last night,, All of today and and into tonight to respond.

45. @Miller October 26, 2020 9:42 AM “It’s a damn bloody good thing that the real man from “Whitehill” has her ‘Lesbos’ number..”

My response: Stupssseee!!!

@Miller October 26, 2020 9:42 AM “That same majority of females who train the children.

My response: And where are the men when this is going on?

46. @NorthernObserver October 26, 2020 2:32 PM “I am “guessing” beyond the gig/PT workers on a wider scale, we will see a massive reworking of land usage. The urban centres now have a mass of small boxes (condos) which fewer and fewer persons wish to (can?) live in, and surrounding office tower buildings which are at 25% physical occupancy. (leases are being terminated monthly) As is usual, when I ask my ‘political strategy’ friends, about the impact on tax revenue, I get a deluge, which suggests they either haven’t thought about it or don’t wish to. ‘Work from home’ has huge tax consequences? (under current systems) We have also noted a massive increase in the price, and demand, for ‘recreational’ properties, and non-condo dwellings were ‘proximity to office’ is less of an issue. (another major tax revenue issue). While the private developers are ‘capping’ some in-progress structures, and delaying others, the public entities are spending on infrastructure to better service what maybe a less existent populous. (more public finance issues). Land is a constant as to where money goes?”

Northern I am reading yur statement and considering I am re-reading “Brown Girl in the Ring / Nalo Hopkinson. 1998.
    Hopkinson is the daughter of the late Guyanese/Bajan Slade Hopkinson [Barbados scholar, Harrison College, and Fulbright scholar],

“The setting of Brown Girl in The Ring is dystopic in nature. The story takes place in the city core of Metropolitan Toronto (Downtown Toronto) after the economic collapse. Riots of the past have caused the inner city of Toronto to collapse into a slum of poverty, homelessness, and violence. While the elite and city officials have fled to the suburbs, children are left to fend for themselves and survive on the streets which are ruled by Rudy Sheldon and his posse of criminal thugs. As a consequence of the Riots, Toronto is isolated from other satellite cities in the surrounding Greater Toronto Area (North York, Scarborough, Etobicoke) by roadblocks and Lake Ontario has become a mudhole. Disappearances and murder are not uncommon, and everyone is left to either fend for themselves or bind together to provide support for each other.”
    Source: Wikipedia

47. NorthernObserver Avatar

@SS
    lol….I am not in Nalo’s “league”. However, my thesis titled “Debt: Incarceration Without Walls” was deemed by one eminent professor as ‘dystopic’. Yet interest rates have reached zero, debt-equity ratios have soared, and debt is such, humanity created a debt card and called it a “credit card”?? Now the paths I foresaw were wrong, but the destinations are no longer “impossible”. Some we have already reached. I suspect the same is true with Nalo’s book, albeit, that is just 20 years old. I recall it had a strong feminist tone, the rise of women has been accelerating rapidly. Barbados went from 1st gear to 4th gear in a flash? Imagine the last GoB did not have a single elected female (McLean and Byer were senators). The book also contained a certain amount of rampant nepotism between the many factions. This may mirror Bim more than Toronto? (though we have our fair share). The rise in violent crime seems to be shared.