On Sunday, October 18, Sir Hilary Beckles, in his capacity as Chairman of the Caribbean Examinations Council, and Dr. Wayne Wesley, Registrar of CXC, held a virtual press conference to release the preliminary findings of the Independent Review Team, empaneled to investigate the examination process, allocated examination results and general performance expectations, inter alia.
For the purpose of context, this Review Team was appointed by the CXC Chair amidst region-wide protestations from students, parents and teachers, resulting from the release of CXC results on September 22, and the fact that those results were at significant variance with historical trends, teacher predictions and reasonable student and parent expectation. This resulted in thousands of students either with no grades, or grades which were wholly unacceptable and not reflective of reality, which has put on pause the higher education aspirations of these students.
At the press conference, there was no admission of fault nor any acceptance of responsibility by the Council for the inconvenience, anxiety, agony and heartache caused by the clearly defective results.
Instead, CXC blamed four factors for this crisis: the COVID-19 pandemic, internet connectivity in the territories of the region, implied teacher corruption and unmerited high student expectations. This was a shameless attempt to pass the buck of responsibility and one which does not factor in the fact that this year’s problem is clearly a macro problem and therefore those micro factors would not create the quagmire in which we now find ourselves. Most disturbingly, the Council, since September 22, has and continues to place unfounded blame at the feet of teachers, with unsubstantiated, implied allegations of teacher corruption and/or misconduct, as far as the award of marks is concerned. This stance is deeply regrettable for an examination body, which relies upon teachers to teach their syllabus content, and for a Council which reports to Ministries of Education, who employ many of these teachers, and certainly supervise all. The Council must, unequivocally, state its confidence in the teaching profession in the region, if there is to be a harmonious relationship between the two, going forward.
On another point of clarification, CXC intimated that only a ‘small minority’ of students have experienced challenges. This is particularly regrettable as it simply does not reflect the reality that, by CXC’s admission, there were nearly 14,000 instances of students receiving ‘ungraded’ or ‘absent’ results, or of the major public outcry in the four weeks since the release of results. The misrepresentation of the problem as a minor one is unfortunate, and will only serve to continue to undermine the confidence of persons in CXC, and inhibit the ‘healing process’ to which Sir Hilary referred in his contribution to the press conference.
On the positive side, despite the misrepresentations highlighted above, the IRT did recommend a number of measures in the immediate term, which correspond to many of the demands made by parent and student advocacy groups. Importantly:
- The review process will now include an actual remark of exam scripts, and not the ineffective administrative review, as previously proposed;
- The vexatious issue of the cost of reviews will be partially addressed by the Council, by a 50% reduction of that fee;
- Candidates who request reviews will not receive a ‘downgrade’ of the result, which was another contentious issue. Instead, the grade will remain the same, or adjusted upwards, if the remark of the candidate’s scripts support that;
- Reviews will be returned expeditiously, with the timeframe of turnover being hopefully one week, with the process for requesting a review, being transitioned online, making that process faster and simpler;
- The review deadline was also extended.
Students across the region commend this mature approach taken and would hope that the remark of the papers produce more equitable grades than previously and that the turnover time is indeed one week.
However, burning questions remain unanswered:
- Will the re-moderation of SBAs be done in accordance with the same rubric as in previous years, and which was used by students and teachers this year? Or will the rubric used be modified as was done in the original moderation, in some instances, and which may have produced the irregular results?
- How did CXC weight the papers in the absence of Paper 2? While much was made at the press conference about “grading on profiles”, this point remains unclear.
- Relatedly, how does CXC respond to concerns that originally allocated profiles did not match with original grades, for example where a candidate received an AAB profile, but received a Grade 3? How does that reconcile with the Registrars assertion that grading was done based on profiles?
- Who will CXC employ as ‘additional capacity’ to remark the examination scripts? And what measures are in place to ensure that this ‘additional capacity’ meet the standard for quality assurance?
- It was stated at the press conference that computation of grades will be done solely on performance in the Multiple Choice and SBA component of the examinations. This is significantly at variance with the Council’s previously stated position that predicted grades would be factored in. Clarification is required on this point.
Based upon the summary of the recommendations of the IRT provided at the press conference, it appears that CXC has recognized the plethora of mistakes made previously, even if there is a reluctance to explicitly take responsibility. Students and parents will look forward to the release of the final report on Tuesday for the full detail of the findings, and CXC must also publish a document detailing precisely how those recommendations will be implemented and addressing the burning questions which remain.
Four weeks in, it is past time, for us to move past the present crisis, to find an equitable resolution for all. While the recommendations of the IRT are in no way perfect, if implemented correctly, they will go a significant way in alleviating the problem.
The ball is now in the court of CXC to implement these recommendations, and provide clarity on matters, which up to the present, they have eschewed direct comment. It is regrettable that CXC continues to refuse to meet with parent or student advocacy groups, but it can be hoped that after their recognition today of their communication failures, that a more amenable public response posture will be adopted.
After all, CXC is all of us in this complex ecosystem of education in the Caribbean, as Sir Hilary put it, and must therefore chasten itself to be able to held accountable. Only then can the healing process start!
Theo…heard the public is getting fooled again, what is circulating among the kids anyway, it is said that Mia is paying the 15 US for the review, had to tell some kids, no she is not paying for anything, it’s the TAXPAYERS footing that bill like they pay for everything else and then the ministers take the credit..gotta set that record straight from early so this generation is not FOOLED like the one before them and those before that going back 75 years.
A comprehensive report of the attempt to solve this embarrassing issue of the marking and grading of this year;s CXC Examinations.
@Vincent
Agree and kudos to the government for absorbing the expense of those requesting reviews:
@ David Bu
This is the kind of response we expect from a Social Democrat Party when it forms the GoB.
Saw since yesterday that they are blaming the teachers’ leniency in marking setting false expectations. That doesn’t fly. These teachers guide the children until they get the SBA just right. That is a different problem. Unless the teacher does not know how to do a Grade 1 level SBA.
While it is commendable that the GoB has agreed to pay for students who wish to have their papers reviewed, that is taxpayer money with which the GoB is generously being footloose and fancy-free. Maybe the GoB should offer to pay for the review of an agreed-upon percentage of those who are disputing their results. Further, if a previously agreed upon threshold percentage of challenged papers are found to be faulty, then CXC should be mandated to review all disputed papers at no cost to the student or GoB. A refund, of course, would be expected for the deposit of the original challenge made by the GoB
@FearPlay
The payout for this will not be significant. Mainly those aspiring to enter six form and universities overseas. It is the least government can do given the emotional stress associated with the matter.
The irony of today’s ‘young activist’ KK, seamlessly pushing the buttons of yesteryear’s young activist Sir Hilary, who has now ascended to the Board level.
@William Skinner
you may note the method of addressing the letter, and the recipient.
@Northern Observer
The blogmaster enjoyed reading the letter. How many students of such an age is able to construct a communication in the way Khaleel has done?
“Maybe the GoB should offer to pay for the review of an agreed-upon percentage of those who are disputing their results.”
as much as it’s bitter to watch politicians once again using TAXPAYER’S FUNDS to promote themselves for election purposes, the kids are under EXTREME STRESS and need to move on.
We can ignore Mia’s politic gimmicks and tricks this time and MAKE SURE SHE PAYS FOR IT DURING ELECTION by KICKING HER OUT OF THE PARLIAMENT permanently, this time…..but we cannot have these kids living under this level of stress because of a greedy, parasitic, useless entity like CXC..
.if you talk to the kids you can hear the trauma in their voices, that’s not mentally healthy and should not be ignored..
@Blogmaster
I enjoyed the communication as well, it was very well written. You may recall, when the then Dr.Beckles returned to Barbados, he was similarly well spoken, and written, albeit several years older than KK is today. Imagine “The CXC Affair” by Khaleel Kothdiwala.
@Northern Observer
Reminiscent of the Mutual Society Affair. Khaleel will be hosting a CXC Debrief on Facebook, will search for the link.
Gimmicks and POLITICAL TRICKS…that is why what has been going on in Barbados against the majority population NEVER ENDS….too many people continue to fall for the LIES and DECEIT….but our current and future generations will no LONGER be subjected to DECEPTION from no good politicians PRETENDING TO CARE…enabled and condoned by DUMB ADULTS…..it will continue to be EXPOSED WITHOUT END..
It’s time to deal with the SUBSTANTIVE ISSUES ….the POLITICAL NASTINESS clothed in PRETEND caring and ALWAYS PAID FOR BY TAXPAYERS …..instead of gushing about how pretty Koochiee Koo is writing…
yall have been letting wicked politicians do this for way too long and then praising them, unable to see the same old dirty tricks wrapped in new clothing…..WHICH MAKES YOU THE PROBLEM.
waiting on CXC’s report.
It was reported that the Chairman Beckles would make a press statement last Sunday, he did.
It was reported that the findings of the report would be shared with respective ministers of education yesterday, it was.
It was reported the same reports will be made available to the public thereafter. So far the executive of the CXC has delivered on promises so far. So far so good.
put it on the wrong thread..
Theo…just don’t hold ya bread, when these criminals collude against taxpayers and the vulnerable in Barbados, they cover all their evil tracks..
That’s why i absolutely HATE POLITICS and will NEVER get involved in it in any country…it’s instructive that the people who love politics and love to talk about it all day long….can NEVER SEE ANY OF THIS..
this is situation is REMNISCIENT of you saying racist crook MALONEY is so corrupt, should be in prison for helping DLP rob the taxpayers, pensioners etc, let’s not forget the DEATH of the innocent Holder child that YOU said and we all know he is directly responsible for in which you SET UP THE MOTHER to take the FALL… and the first opportunity you get once elected by the BLACK population, you jump right in bed with him and give him TAXPAYERS MONEY BY THE MILLIONS FOR LAND ALL OF YOU STOLE from Black people..
…..trying to separate yaself from CXC using the SAME deception on the people….is like trying to separate yaself from MALONEY….can’t happen, seeing as upon your arrangement he is now representing YOU in Guyana….
politics is a colonial construct meant to do exactly what it’s doing now, ignorant black people did not design nor create it, have no control over it and never will.
and here is grown ass people knowing all of this and IGNORING IT…to give praise to dirty lying deceitful treacherous politicians……steupppsss…just remember YOUR CHILDREN ARE WATCHING…they are the ones now being DISENFRANCHISED by CXC and their DIRTY AGENTS….all of which the TAXPAYERS are now being FORCED TO PAY for……
As a taxpayer, I have no problem ‘footing the bill’ for our kids education re the CXC Review. I will have a problem however, if our PM decides to use my taxpayer money to pay severance to LIAT workers, as suggested by Antigua PM Browne….. so he can re-launch his “Antigua” LIAT (2020) airline!
but the people’s scarce tax dollars is being picked up tp pay corrupt ass CXC.
“Look I so kiss me ass fed up with the QEH hospital.. Imagine my daughter im law was in that zr smash up yesterday evening, got to Dr hospital after 5 complaing of chest pains(she had a heart problem since she was 5)belly, side and neck pains.
Between that time and now4.32 am she was just given an injection for pain and her neck was put in a brace, and was to doctor wad coming in at 12am up till now she in see one doctor, and to make it worse she was sitting in a hard ass uncomfortable chair since now,when she should have beem laying on a bed, right now she is just crying in pain since obviously de medication wore off, up there seriously need something major doing about it.. I pray that I would never have to go up ther again..”
And don’t forget, according to the LYING, SLEAZY, TIEFING LAWYER, they can’t find money to settle with this former nurse who fell in the same QEH nearly 40 years ago, they dragged her out and suffered her until she is now crippled…..keep supporting corrupt, thieves and liars, the next one to be in this same position might very well be you or one of your family members..
https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/09/25/nurses-decades-dilemma-could-soon-end
“Richard rejected any notion that little was being done by him to speed up the process of closing the case which arose out of incident in which Wilkinson fell and sustained back injuries while on duty at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH) in April 1981.
The former nurse explained that she has spoken to her lawyer in the first week in September and then on the 17th.. when he told her he would find something to give me “to tide me over” and that Government doesn’t have any money to pay me and this case would have to go into next year again,” Wilkinson stated.”
Between 1981 and now 2020…how many corrupt, uncaring PMs and politicians have DIED SINCE THEN…do the math..
but they have no money right….taxpayers money..
@ Northern Observer
I have great admiration for student activists since I was one. Quite frankly, I have not read his letter but unlike @ David , I would not posit that there are not many others , at Mr. Kothdiwala’s age/ stage , who are incapable.
I have great respect for our youth and I follow them very closely via my own familial contacts. I have a godson who left Harrisons College did a BSc and is now a professional DJ. I just respect them for charting their destiny. Mr. Kothdiwala is one of them.
@William
The issue is not if others are capable, it is about if they have the testicular strength to enter the public space to make that difference. For your info the link to the letter in question is embedded at the bottom of the blog.
Is it time for competition in this area?
@WS
the letter was addressed to Professor Sir Hilary Beckles, and then, Dear Sir Hilary.
Wasn’t it your blog who had feedback as to how the gentleman was to be addressed?
Did Sir Hilary and his board, while making their excuses address the cases where students who wrote the exam and has receipts to show, were marked ABSENT? How are they going to address this, blame the teachers too, or the internet, or a duppy?
Dame Bajans,
Not a word about us. I am going this week to show my receipts.
They are not fooling me one bit with their nonsense.
We all know they messed up.
@Donna
From the start CXC advised all students who were marked ungraded and have receipts to prove exams were taken to present to have it remedied.
So, is it true that CXC robbed QC of 25 scholarships???
so how many did they hold HC for ransom..
Just a minute, just a minute. I am Bajan and muh hinglish not too fancy. Since when does “ungraded” mean “absent?”
How can a student write an exam and be ungraded? Even an “F” is a grade. Are these people educators?
@Northetn Observer
You’re correct. I didn’t really follow your inference. My apologies. I still have not read Mr. Kothdiwala’s letter.
SCHOLARSHIPS
(All from Harrison College)
https://www.nationnews.com/2020/10/20/many-reasons-smile-202010210212129845/
Bear in mind there is a review process on the way.
Did I understand her correctly that she has to take a year off from attending the University of her choice because her results have to be reviewed? BTW its Carleton University not University of Carleton.
“Pressure groups at the forefront of the fight are however disappointed that taxpayers will be the ones paying up as the regional examining body attempts to absolve itself of liability.”
Shame on CXC, holding the kids grades to ransom. Let’s see if they keep this corrupt entity and their agents to pull this wicked act again, they believe they are entitled and need to be kicked out of the Caribbean.
Mia needs to stop pretending she is doing anyone a favor and making it political, all about her, this is a CRIME BY CXC AGAINST THIS GENERATION.
Trust Nationnews to have a useless title, only they can see smiles behind a mask, no the kids are not smiling, they know well enuff that they were traumatized and disenfranchised, it has negatively impacted them and taken all of the joy out of the effort they put in, what smile what.
Congratulations to the scholarship winners. It has been a challenging 2020. Hoping that despite it all these young sons and daughters will continue to excel.
My son was not marked “ungraded”, he was deemed “absent”.
I have been waiting to see if it would be addressed by the review. They have offered no explanation.
The number of cases of this is so large that it deserves an explanation.
This is a significant foul up and cannot be brushed aside by a “Bring your receipt” mouthing.
My son, his friends, the friends of his friends and indeed a whole form at his former school were deemed absent.
Major problem.
Suppose a child has no secure place to keep his/her receipts. There are such things as natural disasters.
This occurrence should not be widespread. It indicates that something is not right at CXC.
@Donna
Do not wait, present the receipt to trigger the review. This was shared by CXC and MOE officials.
Sn interesting related link.
https://newsday.co.tt/2020/10/20/judge-chides-education-ministry-over-sea-exam-scripts/
Restating my opinion on this CXC issue.
The ungraded exams can be graded. Missing exams can be investigated and if found they can be graded. If not found then reasons for scripts being missing and sincere apologies must be provided.
Hopefully, the report will show how CXC will
(1) manage the expectations of those who believe they should have a better grade.
I suspect there is not one person who felt they should have a worse grade than what they receive and we saw the (reported) outcry when there was the possibility of grades worsening.
(2) How CXC will manage the impact of this issue on its reputation. The integrity and quality of its processes are being challenged.
Have a great day, Barbados. Keep it real.
While all eyes are focussed on the CXC shambles, it is important not to let Harrison College continue to run away with national scholarships.
There is an urgent need for a review of all our secondary schools, from their resources, the use of those resources, the standard and qualifications of teachers, and exam results.
It is important to know why historically certain schools perform better than others. The ministry MUST also publish the public exam results of individual schools; this should be a matter of public record and not a ministry secret.
CXC is on record as saying that it sends all the results to the ministry for individual schools. All they have to do is publish them, as they do in Trinidad.
The CXC chaos is short-term, the quality of our secondary schools is long-term.
HC and QC win the bulk of the scholarships every year because they get the top students from the CEE (11+). Yes the ministry and schools receive the broadsheets with the detail results. It will show what we can surmise using commonsense, the schools with the top students get the best results.
@Donna
I have neither a dog in nor intimate knowledge of this fight, only outsider observations and questions based on my limited understanding of the issues at hand. There are too many disjointed groups allowing CXC to take advantage of the situation and duck the two real issues of exam attendance and grading scales.
I personally suspect CXC tried to use a grading curve after stupidly scraping paper 2 but ran into serious problems because paper 2 is what separates the sheep from the goats and cannot be scrapped without them making major adjustments to paper 1 to compensate. The severity of the absenteeism problem will also throw off the curve as well.
Questions for CXC
1) How can students attending exams be marked absent? Has an exam attendance list of each student been provided to the ministry for validation by each school to ascertain the true gravity of the absenteeism problem.
2) Put the grading schemes used for every subject out in the open?
Ministry of Education
1) Has the ministry publicly stated what they are doing apart from having closed door negotiations with CXC? They hold all the power in the CXC relationship and need to wield it to equally benefit all students.
2) Why is Santia Bradshaw not rushing to holding gymnasium or Zoom meetings with parents?
Disjointed Interest Groups
1) Why are you not protesting in front the MOE instead of CXC? CXC can easily divide and ignore vocal but miniscule groups but if you get the full backing of the ministry and all push in the same direction.
I will present the receipts this week. No rush needed for my son. But this does need an explanation. They should not be allowed to dodge this question.
TheO,
An apology????? A return of fees for me and some form of compensation according to the damage suffered by the entrant! Not a lot of damage to my son, who is not depending on qualifications at present to get a job or pursue higher studies but plenty of damage to others. This has to be some form of negligance for which the CXC must pay.
And yes, paper two would be what ultimately seperates the proverbial sheep from the goats if multiple choice questions are repeated ad nauseum.
I too believe that was the problem. From the very beginning I questioned the wisdom of that decision.
All agree the CXC made some questionable decisions forced by the pandemic. That said, mistakes are made by the best. Now that the matter has been fully ventilated we look forward to changes/remediation that will be implemented to improve the regional institution. It is a homegrown entity established to grow our identity. If CXC is allowed to fail, it will reflect on US.
But the matter has not been fully ventilated.
I for one do NOT believe ONE WORD the CXC uttered.
They have not accepted liability for their mistakes. They have attempted to shift the blame to teachers, a despicable act. They have sidestepped the issue of the NUMEROUS ABSENT RETURNS for students who have receipts of attendance.
Typical response of a Caribbean entity. NEVER ADMIT MISTAKES. ALWAYS SHIFT BLAME.
As far as I am concerned, they have ZERO CREDIBILITY.
@Donna
You question the integrity of the independent panel?
https://www.myvuenews.com/cxc-independent-review-team-to-meet-with-regional-education-ministers-today-chair/
Is an apology part of our public culture? We get people who make mistakes and fabricate but rather than apologise when caught out, they offer ‘explanations’, re-focus the discussions, skip and dance.
Does an apology demonstrate a weakness or an inherent inability to be wrong?
Steuspe
Yes! This is two days straight I have had to agree with Hal Austin. Indeed it is a Bajan and perhaps Caribbean Condition, not being able to admit a foul up.
The English examination council did just that, fixed the problem and moved on.
People who are confidant in their humanity can admit when they make an error, as all of us do. I believe it is the sick need to prove ourselves human (rather than ape) that prevents us from doing so. Instead we choose attempted cover ups that make us look stupid and mendicant to boot.
Fact – humans make mistakes. There is, in fact, nothing more human than making mistakes.
We need to get over it.
@Donna
Striving for excellence is analogous to traveling a rough rough road and although you are tired and dehydrated the will to reach the destination must not be allowed to be extinguished. What the blogmaster has a problem with is Caribbean people denigrating our regional institutions that for the most part have served us well.
In this case CXC.
“Suppose a child has no secure place to keep his/her receipts. ”
one child already can’t remember where he put his…yje parent said…am sure there are many more…it’s still CXCs fault…
“Why is Santia Bradshaw not rushing to holding gymnasium or Zoom meetings with parents?”
oh she knows why, they all do…and so do others
“CXC is allowed to fail, it will reflect on US.”..
no it wont, speak for thyself…it will REFLECT ONLY ON CXC AND THE GOVERNMENTS THAT HAVE ENABLED THEIR ARROGANT, UPPITY SHIT FOR DECADES….only because..
@ Hal
Our Ministry of Education is one of the most corrupt in the region. At this time teachers are complaining daily about the same problems encountered 40 years ago. The entire educational system will eventually collapse and it will gave nothing to do with CXC. Quite frankly the CXC issue has been welcome because in our case it has taken the emphasis off the lies told about tablets and how effectively the return to school has been working. However the truth will be out .
I do agree with you and @ Donna that a real apology is in order. This matter has been handled very poorly. The big boy at CXC should be now looking for a job. He was insensitive to the students and the parents.
As for Sir Hilary , he is now the de facto Prime Minister of the Caribbean.
When he speaks not a dog barks.
@ William
It is clear that an apology is needed. This is CoVid year and many other countries got things wrong. What is more important is improving the system.
We must start from the very beginning and go right to the top. There is a Caribbean (Bajan) habit of trying to ‘explain’ their mistakes, put their fabrications in context, shift the blame. I am sure that CXC will soon blame the parents.
I still do not understand why Harrison College comes top nearly every year for all our national awards. Is it resources, the quality and qualifications of the teachers, the expectations, what?
We must find out why this is the case and fix it, or just accept that it is inevitable and continue down this dark path. There is not a single reason why ALL our secondary schools cannot perform at the highest level.
It seems to me as if the children, parents, teachers, politicians and general public accept that some schools just outperform the others without asking questions.
CXC cockups are short-term, but if we want to compete with the rest of the world we must get these things right. And with a president, herself a former education minister, and a Cabinet made up of more lawyers than a high court, this is another failure.
“he is now the de facto Prime Minister of the Caribbean.”
ah, Sir Slave Title Holder waiint and waiting and waiting for a billion dollar pay reparations pay out…lawd…to build sick buildings…..
he better REJIG those dreams and settle for a nice little area in Africa so he can be President Sir Slave…..it will be much less stressful.
“In this case CXC.”
right, CXC was working free, no wonder ministry of miseducation is operating at a late 1970s level, yall to sentimental..that kills progress.
A return of fees or the opportunity to sit the exam again (free) is a minor issue. Not certain what you mean by damage and how it will be quantified.
Are lawsuits now seen as required to make people whole.
“CXC is allowed to fail, it will reflect on US.”
This has motivated my comments. What is required for CXC to survive with it’s reputation intact and be still seen as a credible examination board.
.Fact – CXC fouled up! I don’t know for how long but I know about this time because I have the receipts.
Denigrating our institutions would be a term used when there is unjustified criticism. If CXC had not come out barking like a big bulldog and had not tried to shift blame to teachers while ignoring or downplaying ALL THE OTHER ISSUES THAT COULD NOT HAVE HAD ANYTHING TO DO WITH TEACHERS and yet are implementing a great number of changes (why, if nothing is wrong) I would not be overly critical.
This thing smells of smoke. And when there is smoke there is fire. These people, however “prominent” are attempting to save CXC’s face with mealy mouth statements.
Nothing new to me. And you?
@Donna
CXC was smacked down if we understand the statements from MOEs across the region and the CXC Council is charged with making certain decisions and changes. It is a process.
TheO,
Sit the examination again when? Do you not realise that this could set back a child’s life significantly? I leave the compensation to the legal system but you continue to show insensitivity to the mostly young people who have had their lives upended or put on hold.
There will be not be any compensation for me and so my motives are not selfish. You could give your opinion to the parents who have already threatened legal action.
It is not insensitivity.
If CXC is unable to locate the scripts, what should happen?
Compensation of some sort is in order for their negligence.
Going to the absurd to make the point.
If all of a students exams are missing what should he/she do. I think the best course of action is to take the exam when it is offered again as I fear that the compensation may not last a life time.
Ever heard of taking the exam again AND demanding compensation for having to do so? Time is money. Time has been taken out of the lives of these children.
We all agree that CXC screwed up.
We all agree that they should fix the mess.
We differ on the how??
——x—–
Here is where I am at
We must explore the next steps on how affected students get back on track. Some tracks will take time
——xx—-
Now I lose a ‘friend’
I am not being insensitive here.
What CXC has are the data.
What parents and students have are hurt feelings and unrealized expectations.
I suspect in a court case CXC may fare better than expected.
We all agree that CXC screwed up.
We all agree that they should fix the mess.
We differ on the how??
——x—–
Here is where I am at
We must explore the next steps on how affected students get back on track. Some tracks will take time
——xx—-
Now I lose a ‘friend’
I am not being insensitive here.
What CXC has are the data.
What parents and students have are hurt feelings and unrealized expectations.
I suspect in a court case CXC may fare better than expected.
I suspect CXC would lose a court case because they have most likely broken the contract by scrapping Paper Two in addition to marking students absent at exams they were present for without giving satisfactory explanation in the eyes of the court.
The quickest way to me is to see what the ministry says and bring an urgent class action suit grouping together the most aggrieved students to force their hand and bring forward the hidden data they have about what really went on behind closed doors.
Mia thinks she is leading the way in helping CXC get paid for their crime against the Caribbean’s children..talking shite bout Barbados isnt begging, wonder if she owes CXC, but Trinidad is not having any of it, they told CXC to waive the review fee…..they are not in bed with organization it seems…
“Jamaica College students are now breathing a sigh of relief with their adjusted grades after being stumped when earlier Caribbean Secondary Education Certificate (CSEC) results showed that over 90 per cent of them had failed English A.
So, too, is acting principal Wayne Robinson, who told The Gleaner that the updated results have been heralded with great joy.
The adjusted exam results show that the 299 boys who sat English A performed as well as expected, with almost all of them passing.
Robinson said the school was awaiting the updated results from the other subject areas, which it has queried.
“We are all happy about these adjusted grades and are now just waiting on the rest from CXC (Caribbean Examinations Council) office. Our students would have been waiting on the corrected results to make their next move on to university or sixth form,” Robinson said.
“We are still in the process as the date has been extended, so it will probably go on until November,” he added.”
Promised, the independent CXC review report.
https://www.cxc.org/independent-review-report/
“In 2019, 21 696 candidates received a Grade 1.
In 2020 that number was 21 243.”.
This is the crux of his argument that higher grades were penalized. Without the two denominators he does not have a valid argument.
It would be good to have the total numbers for the two years.
As an example, if the totals were 30,640 for 2019 and 30,000 for 2020 then 70.8% would have received a grade 1 in both years.
It is fallacious to believe that we have the same denominator in both years. The subtraction by itself is nonsense.
Did you find the document to be impossible to read or is it my phone that is giving me a blurry image.
The document is fine. It is embedded there best navigated on a tablet or desktop.
Interesting one of the recommendations is for CXC to schedule workshops to close the gap between CXC moderation and teacher.
@waru 8:52
How do you go from 94% failing to almost all of them passing.
It does not compute.
Despite the outcry from students and parents, I thought these examination boards would be able to strongly defend the grades they
awarded. To me this was the Maginot line.
Like the French line, this CXC line may also has been breached.
I will wait until the dust settles. In the last story like this one, CXC claim they were unaware of the reported grades change.
Donna, parents and students fight on…
“I will wait until the dust settles. In the last story like this one, CXC claim they were unaware of the reported grades change.”
hope ya are closer to 25 years old than 50, or you will be waiting decades, along with all the shit that can happen in between. You have stayed off the island too long, i used to be just like you.
Absolutely refuse to hurt my head or eyes reading that final report, CXC has volumes of lawyers from their ANNUAL PARASITIC SUCKING on regional governments income, they got volumes of lawyers and CAN PAY for them to draft and write shite for YEARS ON END, some people love that work…….so good luck…
@wura
“hope ya are closer to 25 years old than 50,”
🙂 🙂
I did not know that you did jokes.
Seems like you are softening up.
“Seems like you are softening up.”
lol…the truth finally showing up after decades of lying to the people and many more years of telling us on the Blog that we are liars, is probably the catalyst to soften the hardest person….a lot of the deniers have finally shut up…they finally found something worthwhile to do with their time, or are just simply sitting behind their screens in shock and awe..
https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/10/23/give-us-the-details/
How can a person get it and not get it at the same time. Doesn’t she realize that without credibility there is no CXC? The certificate would be useless.
“I think overall, it seems quite frankly that CXC, in trying to protect its credibility as an examining body perhaps didn’t consider what the result would mean to its students who should be at the forefront of any concerns or objectives. Clearly there is a disconnect between CXC’s focus on credibility and what it did with the grading, and the output that has left thousands of students at a disadvantage,” she said.
All these utterances and press statements mean absolutely nothing. When are they going to talk to their lawyers as a group and bring some injunctions to prevent CXC from destroying any scripts under penalty of law and provide the raw data for the last few years that a truly independent statistical analysis and review of the results can be done.
Did CXC breach any terms and conditions with their grading changes?
Where are the lawyers that like to be up front and center commenting on unimportant issues
Some excerpts – Read the documents for yourself
#1 The issue of using the teachers’ predicted grades for each subject was considered as one option in the
initial grading model but was excluded in the final analysis because a statistical analysis of data for
previous years found a weak correlation between the final grade for the three papers and the teachers’
predicted grade in general.
#2 Candidates are reported “ungraded: no School-Based Assessment received” if the required School-Based
Assessment scores were not submitted by the presenting institution on their behalf or if, the Council having requested samples of the work done by the class, none is submitted by the presenting institution.
#3 The Chief Examiners attributed the higher marks that teachers tended to award for the SBA to a number of factors, including:
i. the lack of thoroughness and vigilance by teachers while marking SBAs, leading to the award of full marks in some instances for areas that students did not even attempt;
ii. projects submitted by a number of candidates were inconsistent with the expectations of the scoring rubrics and the requirements of the syllabus;
iii. overuse of informal sources from the internet which detracted from the quality of SBA assignments;
iv. the misguided belief that the CXC moderators would be inclined to reduce teachers’ marks and that some element of mark inflation would protect their students from falling below their expected grade.
You know I have my biases. Read it for yourself. These were just to show it is a complicated situation. There are some interesting statistical approaches mentioned in the document
Good that the comments can now be informed.
https://www.instagram.com/p/CH1JrGALgQX/
TheOGazerts prediction
Some news released on NOV 30th., followed by a two-day uproar; followed by eternal silence.
Am I, the mean and cruel-hearted person, the only person who is till waiting on the final outcome?
Do these officials count on our short attention span and our two minute of furious activity followed by unending silence? Do they know us better than we know ourselves?
We are nearly in December. GCSE re-sits take place in November, and yet CXC is still struggling over the summer’s CSEC exams.
When I talk about incompetence people say I am do-ing down Barbados. Do we need further proof?
What happens to those young people hoping to go on to A levels and university? We are so inept, we think the whole world is.
Have we sorted out the mess at the CXC yet? This is now December, other countries are talking about 2021 and 2022 exams. Is incompetence part of our administrative DNA?
Where is the minister of education? Where is the president? Where are the parents? Why are the media not reporting on this catastrophe?
CXC is a regional body.
https://www.cxc.org/irt-recommendations-responses/
Mr Austin
More than 9 days have passed since CXC first issued this year’s grades. The procurement of Christmas ham must now be attended to.
@ Ping Pong
Was it reported in the press? What a re plans for next year?
Keeping an eye on this CXC story.
CXC original statement was stated too harshly. Attempts to be more conciliatory promised too much to those affected. The end decision is to wait out the five minute memory.
Parents seem to have a longer attention span than 5 minutes.
“This situation is a total mess. This does not only affect the students who sat exams in 2020, but going forward, it will affect students in the following years. The attention this situation has gained across the region will damage the reputation of CXC.
“The international universities looking on are not going to turn a blind eye to it. They will question the integrity of the regional grading system.” ( SB)
Grades remain the same, then there is no issue. A large number of changes then credibility/integrity questioned.
The 2020 year we can classify as an anomaly. Mistakes were made. One of the observations is that the SBAs were not being moderated to a high or expected standard. This was discovered when CXC took control of this process. Let us hope that the CXC body is able to steady the ship going forward.
Apologies: I did not read
https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/12/12/union-wants-answers-from-cxc-regarding-the-examination-review/
Apologies, I did not read
https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/12/25/longer-wait-for-cxc-final-grades/
It is now December, nearly January, and these jokers still cannot resolve the July CXC exam results. I have said repeatedly, our major problem is incompetence, not qualifications of corruption.
What do the young people waiting on these results to pursue further education do in the meantime? In all other jurisdictions with similar end of year exams, the results for 2020 have not only been resolved, but plans are in place for 2021. for example, in Wales, there will be assessments.
Where are the ministers of education? W£here are the teachers’ unions? Where are the prime ministers? Where are the parents? Where are the media? Where is BU?
https://www.nationnews.com/2020/12/28/call-repeat-2020-academic-year-bahamas/
Britain has just cancelled GCSE and A level exams for this year. How are we doing with the 2020 CXCs?
A relevant link posted to CXC website since…?
https://www.cxc.org/reviews-queries-update-2021-1/
Northern Ireland has cancelled 2021 GCSE and A level exams.
Gross incompetence. The world has resolved its school examination problems.
A group of parents of students who sat the 2020 Caribbean Examinations Council examinations have demanded a regional commission of inquiry into the CXC’s exam structures and methodology.
In a press release issued Wednesday, the Group of Concerned Parents of Barbados Caribbean Coalition for 2020 CXC Redress, through its spokesperson and coordinator, Paula-Anne Moore, said students here and around the region are tired of the “haphazard” way in which the regional examination body has handled the release of the final results via its student portal.
The statement from Moore read in part: “We have provided CXC more than ample time, in good faith, to complete their grade review process. More than three months after preliminary grades were released on 22 September, emotional and mental harm to these thousands of adversely affected students are being perpetuated by CXC, along with real material harm re loss of national and university entrance scholarships and less competitive entrance opportunities to universities, due to clearly erroneous grades, even now.”
Moore contended that the coalition will remain undeterred in its demands for greater information into the grading methodology used during the examinations. It has also called on CXC to provide raw scores and student scripts as evidence of fair grading, and for a regional commission to investigate the exam body.
She said: A solution which should result from this Commission can include external review and audit of CXC and a permanent external regulator of CXC, to ensure CXC maintains modern best practices principles as a public examining body, regains national regional public trust and national, regional and international credibility.
“CARICOM and CXC need to confirm revised plans for 2021 assessment. With the current ravages of the COVID pandemic regionally, including the new outbreak in Barbados, the emotional and mental distress arising therefrom for students, parents, teachers, it is not reasonable to proceed with 2021 exams ‘business as usual’ and the students’ academic and other progressions should not be delayed as a result either.”
Failing to come to the table, Moore vowed that any and all legal means will be pursued. (S…(Quote)
I stopped reading.. just fyi
https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/01/07/parents-demand-inquiry-into-cxc-exams/
Well, this is indeed a disgrace! My son and I have tuned out. We have not checked back for his results. We have not even collected his certificates from the year before. They don’t mean that much to us.
We’ll see when the dust settles. Some battles are best fought by those to whom it means more.
But these people effed up and just don’t want to admit it. It really isn’t that hard to do. Everybody effs up sometimes!
https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/01/24/january-2021-cxc-examinations-reminder/
Looks like decisions have been made, but not communicated.
Is it over?
Only Hal and I remain.
Hi KK,
They have been lying to you all along. The world does not work as they told you it does … Find a good cause, fight a good fight and you will prevail; good triumphs over evil; work hard and you will succeed.
I was hoping that you would discover these lies for yourself, but it looks as if I have to intervene. I am going to give you just one lesson; learn it and you will be set for life.
The golden rule: the guy who has the gold makes the rules.
CXC has the gold. The big guys protect themselves and their interests. If CXC did as folks were suggesting, they would have reduced the pieces of paper they distribute to nothingness.
So they did a song and dance; gave folks a six for a nine; big-you-up and then ignored you.
I wanted to say give you a kick in the ass and sent you on your merry way, but I noticed that your ass is still hurting.
Here’s the real tough advice. Get over it. Move on.
Now one person will guess at who I am and call me heartless and uncaring. I care. It’s tough love
You may not thank me today, but years from now you’ll say.. that heartless bastard was right
They have been losing warm air up your pooch and listening to your groans of delight.
https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/04/10/cxc-gets-stinging-rebuke-from-barbadian-educator/
Did this die a quiet death?
First the fury. Wait ten minutes and then the void.