The unemployment situation in St George North is dreadful.  Disappointing voters with false promises is not an option in this by-election.  Candidates must offer workable plans, to effectively address the mass unemployment problems in St George North.

There are six candidates seeking to work for the people of St George North, for the next 30 months.   It is important that none of us follow the bad examples of those who have gone before us.

Candidates who plan to use the desperate unemployed people of St George North as pawns, just to secure a seat in the House of Assembly for their party, are doing the unconscionable.  They are ensuring that the people continue to suffer, during these exceptionally difficult times.  The present suffering is compounded by an unnecessary IMF austerity program, and a global COVID-19 pandemic.

Candidates who make promises that they know they cannot keep, are deceiving voters’ families.  Candidates who know that they have no capacity to implement their party’s plans, push that deceit beyond tolerable levels.

Career politicians have repeatedly broken their promises to previous generations of voters.  Those voters had the patience to tolerate and forgive those, who repeatedly deceived them with empty promises.
The current generation of young voters are different – they will not forgive that type of deceit.  Candidates without any workable economic plans for the families of St George North, are playing with fire.

Audio Version

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer, and the Solutions Barbados’ candidate for St George North.  He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

545 responses to “Solutions Barbados – Playing With Fire”

1. guyson is so lost

When gline was minister at mtw he did many roads in SGN some that wer only cart roads or walking tracks he paved etc.

When DT was PM he did a few roads in st john. after DT passed the raods ALL OVER BARBADOS slowly eroded under the Destructive Lying Party.. it got to a point where i had to stop driving on certain roads.

If guyson dont understand how the imf arrive at it prediction on growth for next year then maybe he should ask young stuart before he coming publishing ignorance.

2. Yes, rooster. I am a political novice. Anything other than a yardfowl proud of living in a shitty coop, is just fine with me.

Thanks for the compliment.

3. Somebody still reading Ezra Alleyne??????

4. @ john 2October 18, 2020 9:39 AM

You are assuming that that spending in tourism industry will in 2021 revert to the 2019 level of activity.

Guyson Mayers has put forward much a more convincing argument and a more ‘realistic’ analysis of this ‘economic growth’ matter.

No forex earning activities, no ‘real’ economic growth for Barbados. It’s as simple as that.

5. @Miller

What exogenous considerations are at play to support Guyson’s position. Talk is cheap.

6. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

If the economy only grows 1 to 1.5 percent when the ALL THE HOTELS open, how the hell it going to grow 7.5 per cent when ALL THE HOTELS are closed or nearly closed in Barbados which is one foot Tourism dependent economy???

That is a good question.

Maybe one of the kool aid drinkers can let us know…

7. As John2 explained you are doing a YoY comparison. Numbers can be used to support any argument.

8. Oh dear! That pesky fly!

Context, context.

The television offerings are from random people. The political platform is run by our leaders.

When violent imagery comes from the political platforms of our leaders it is more readily accepted by our children as the way to go.

ABC stuff. So boring! But I was expecting it.

9. i know the St John, St Phillip, CH Ch, St George areas of Bim very well and at no time did Gline Clarke fix all, or most of or a lot of the roads in St George neither north or south. if so why didnt he pave the road to Retreat and Cottage Tennant where his family is from, Flat Rock by Horace Holder’s wedding place, and Middleton etc. some of the roads were fixed under Clarke and some under the DLP according to whatever program they follow.

yes Clarke did a lot when he was at lands, cutting up land in St George, building those fowl coops and selling them. that to me is another insult to Bim. building 2 x 3 houses and calling them starter homes. what rot. and both parties have done it. the best starter homes were the Venezuelan project out there by the road to QC just after Prior Park. those were built with commonsense and room for expansion by placing the houses not in the middle of the small plot of land but near a boundary leaving room for the owner to build out eventually whilst still maintaining space between houses.

Back to Clarke- some people does really talk nonsense if they think they would be challenged.

in any case it should be a matter of dividing Bim in sections, north, east, west, Bridgetown and south and carry out road works and repairs that way. why does it have to depend on the whims of the party in power or who is the particular minister? have a plan and do it that way so that there is equitable distribution of resources given the usage and state of the roads.

the way we do things now depends a lot on political patronage which should not be on in this day and age given our stage of development.

10. “When violent imagery comes from the political platforms of our leaders it is more readily accepted by our children as the way to go.”

VS tv?

BS.

Well only in your world,

11. David

No. I am sure the majority of BU understand the YOY.

or another opportunity will come soon with the 3Q report

12. miller

What make you think i have made that assumption? you will have to point it out to me because IMO i never did

13. @ David October 18, 2020 10:06 AM

The realities on the ground- especially in Barbados’s main tourism source markets- ‘support’ the ‘Guy’s’ position.

If under ‘ordinary’ circumstances Barbados found it very challenging to improve its economic position vis-à-vis the rest of the world (especially over the past 12 years) how on earth can it expect to grow ‘big’ in this Covid pandemic period which is crippling the world travel markets?

Even the IMF is ‘forecasting’ a possible return to the Economic Depression times of the 1930’s to make the 2008 recession look like a fly on a cow’s back.

If Barbados fared so badly from the 2008 blip how on God’s green earth can it ever contemplate double digit growth unless you are talking about the unemployment figures?

PS: The only way that 15 % economic growth ‘target’ can be achieved is if major projects are undertaken. Now where is that Hyatt Lighthouse when the SS Barbadoes needs it most?

14. miller

u can have positive growth next year 21 and 22 but yet the economic activity is still less than 2019.

the growth the imf is talking about is when you compare economic activity in 2021 to that in 2020

in 2022 it will be compared to 2021.

it will take a few years before we return to the level of ecomonic activity of 2019 even if we have positive growth each year for those years.

o well @ david

15. I read that Bradshaw has apologized, could someone direct me to the apology?

16. @ john2 October 18, 2020 10:40 AM

So on what basis are you projecting 2021 to be a much better year than 2020?

Isn’t tourism the main cylinder (some would argue the only cylinder left) that drives ‘real’ economic growth in Barbados?

17. Tell me who should we believe Mr Ezra Alleyne s prominent constitution lawyer or a jackass out of the UK who is no lawyer and has been proven to not know what he is talking about regularly.I going with Mr Alleyne.Most of the tome all power lies with the PM.This was stated was stated years ago when it was stayed all roads led to Mr Barrow.As for Mr Mayers is the same guy who refused to step down when his party lost which wad the ethical thing to do forcing tje government to abolish the post?I take anything he says with a pinch of salt.In fact i do not read anything by him..As for Donna she clamed she never heard the names i called but i am sure she would have heard Mr Sinckler and Dr Estwick on the platform in 2018 .On another point how come the Dems on here hearing what is said on BLP platforms but we ain, t hearing from them what Mr Reifer is saying pn the Dems platform? Is it the messages are uninspiring or are you not following him with all the momentum he has.Let,s hear on these blogs what his plans are and how he will finance them.Lastly the roads in St George are good compare to those in St John represented by two PM, S for years so what is your point again? Tell Mr Clarke had 26 years the dems had Ms Byer_ Suckoo for ten years in the south why was some of these roads not done?

18. Miss Byer never had 10 years in power. as usual you are incorrect

19. “Tell me who should we believe Mr Ezra Alleyne s prominent constitution lawyer or a jackass out of the UK who is no lawyer and has been proven to not know what he is talking about regularly.”

This is one of the main problems we are facing. Rather than look at the content of the message we focus on the messenger.

I know he. I know he family. He went kolij. I gun believe he.

There is and has been nothing in EA’s expositions that convinces me that they rise above the ordinary. Further proof of the supremacy of the one-eye man in the land of the blind.

“The jackass from the UK” is running circles around him.

20. Lorenzo dont mek me laugh
    If Gline Clark did such a great job
    Why is govt running fast and hard to fix roads and build a community centre all since Floyd embarrassing remarks about the 26 years the people of SGN gave to Clarke and what was sorely lacking in progress and beneficial to SGN
    As usual the blp attack dogs jumps the fence to dismiss what has been shown by Floyd and tries to force Floyd to read and speak from a blp narrative
    The truth is that the people of SGN belived that smoke and mirrors policies were the correct choice
    Floyd must be given credit for opening the eyes of the people of SGN as to the realities of what was not done in SGN for 26 years under Gline Clarke
    Meanwhile Clarke walks away with thirty pieces of silver while the people of SGN tries to figure out their own interest
    Guh long do Lorenzo
    Uh aint worth wuh paddy shot at

21. There is and has been nothing in EA’s expositions that convinces me that they rise above the ordinary. Further proof of the supremacy of the one-eye man in the land of the blind.

“The jackass from the UK” is running circles around him.

zxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

@ Theo

@ Lorenzo, IS A BIRD BRAIN, HIS AMMO IS PERSONAL ATTACKS ON ANYONE EXPOSING THE BLP AND ITS COLLEAGUES.

HE IS THE LOWEST OF LOW ON THE ISLAND.

22. @Miller

The technocrats will tell you that the debt restructuring should give you more wiggle room to stimulate economic activity. The debt was a drag to development. The pandemic has been a bane however.

23. Somebody is telling lies, i just saw the Marcia Weekes show on FB via Zoom…and St. George has been neglected by Gline Gline for 26 YEARS…dirty water from the taps, lack of water, backed up garbage and many, many ROADS that are so detriorated they have to stop use them, Clarke has been taking the people’s money and votes UNDER FALSE PRETENSES for 26 years…FRAUD…

..a REPEAT of what DLP clowns did in St. John for 60 years…..remember that come next election.

rid the parliament of the lying basura.

24. Even worse…they are being charged more for water…despite the lack of water and the dirty quality.

paying for garbage collection that they are not receiving…

paying taxes and roads are NOT BEING REPAIRED…yet their repulsive littel yardfowls, will come on the blog and spread lies and misinformation.

25. Yes, as a former teacher, youth group leader, trained youth minister, Sunday School teacher until two years ago and favourite auntie, mother whose son still has long conversations with her and one whom his friends all talk to and one time mentor to a student of the Government Industrial School all this over the course of 33 years, I am telling you that it is not television that causes the acceptance of violence but those in their immediate environment.

Dealing with the youth was my life.
    Can you match my experience in having deep and meaningful conversations with the youth?

26. @ David October 18, 2020 11:36 AM

The same “technocrats” better advise the current government to use that “wiggle room” to make as a top priority the ‘replacement’ of the South Coast sewerage plant and the building of a new one for the west coast.

There will be no future for tourism unless the sewage and garbage problems in Barbados are seriously tackled and fixed tout de suite.

Tourists will be extremely reluctant to visit a destination whose coastal wasters (and beaches) are not safe especially in these Covid pandemic times and growing concerns about the ecological status and environmental health of the planet.

Pumping shit(e) and dangerous chemicals in the sea (on which the Bajan brand of tourism is based) is nothing more than a guesthouse operator spitting in soup and serving it to guests.

27. greene

is there a difference between MANNY and ALL?

28. Any candidate from BLP should be ASHAMED to be running for office in that area with the dilapadated state that Clarke has left it in….no one should vote for her period…it’s very disrespectful…and will only cause more of the same…they cannot be trusted…it’s all about getting a big monthly salary from taxpayers and sitting on their lazy asses doing nothing while driving around a big ride….sell outs.

29. miller

please note i am not predicting the 7% growth.

i already told why i expect growt next year compared to this year. if thing continue as normal i expect economic activity to pic up a little more next year.

i dont know if i will be able to go into more detail later. but unless there is another “destructive economic event” then not only bim but most of the world should grow. the Q2 shut down was the bottom,

30. how much/often exposure does a child/children get from a political ? farless volent exposure
    Stupess

You are talking bout on a political platform now you going bring to those a “around them”

Tell me how many of “your” children” admited or seems to be being influenced bu a politician farless one ant a political meeting
    and by a politician over TV

31. Mentioning you Qualifications remind of GP2……. nuf nuff but still…….

32. Theft of votes and taxpayer’s money for 26 years, boys and yound men out of work, so it’s only crime and violence among the citizens that was fostered and created, no upward mobility, no progress for over 50 years……..this government is toxic, dangerous and destructive to the lives of Black people and their offspring.

33. Fraudulent former politicians..

“The Chase Files –
    Below you will find a Statement by Mr. Delisle Bradshaw, former Minister of Government published today – Saturday, October 17, 2020 on the Barbados Labour Party’s Facebook Page. I have read the statement and I am sure that party faithfuls will go to every extreme to defend the tirade which has gone viral on social media by saying comments were misconstrued. However, for those who may not be aware this statement is NOT an apology. It is a simply a political PR move- a poor one at that. Mr. Bradshaw at no time stated he was wrong. Furthermore he JUSTIFIED his actions by stating:
    1 – “I was reenergized by the prospect of a candidate…”
    2 – “my comment, made in the heat of the moment….”
    I am yet to read “I am sorry for the insults hurled which offended not only Floyd Reifer and cricket fans but the people of Barbados whom the Barbados Labour Party has promised to make a priority.” I know that the BLP is way better than the “mud slinging” we are seeing and hearing. 30-0 means we will hold you to the highest standard in our country’s political history.
    This is not only about cricket but about the way people from certain sects are marginalized and viewed in our society.
    Now let me take things a little deeper. The art of manipulation is not about making people do or think what you want them to do but rather getting them to WANT do what you want them to do. Any good political PR team knows that an apology is warranted but PRIDE stands in the way of admitting a BIG mistake was made.
    For some the statement from Mr. Bradshaw will be good enough but for those who are not “idiots” and have a deeper understanding I will leave you with this quote:
    “We live in a world where unfortunately the distinction between true and false appears to become increasingly blurred by manipulation of facts, by exploitation of uncritical minds, and by the pollution of the language.” ― Arne Tiselius
    Do not be the idiot that any politician or political party may want you to be. Be an independent thinker. Stay WOKE!”

34. miller

How do you see economic activity for Bim – Q3 vs Q2 2002 growth or no growth and explain why ?

35. , I am telling you that it is not television that causes the acceptance of violence but those in their immediate environment.
    XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

with out any qualifications any fool can understand/ agree with tha

ooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

t“When violent imagery comes from the political platforms of our leaders it is more readily accepted by our children as the way to go.”

VS tv? is TOTAL BS

36. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

When DELISE BRADSHAW’s daughter Santia Bradshaw agreed with other BLP supporters at public meeting in the runup to General elections that all DLP people are ‘prostitutes” it took an outcry from the public for her to offer ‘an apology” just like father.

The fruit don’t drop to far from the tree.

Santia Bradshaw was in the fore front of trying to oust OWEN ARTHUR from the Barbados Labour Party. Those Bradshaws are something else, nothing is below them.

37. @ john2 October 18, 2020 12:49 PM

There is a ‘simple’ answer to your ‘enigmatic’ query:

We foresee no economic growth unless the current extremely large pool of unemployed people find jobs and the country attracts measurably significant foreign direct investment.

When we see those private sector projects exiting the investment pipeline then you will see light at the end of the economic growth tunnel.

How about getting the Hyatt Lighthouse project off the ground?

Hasn’t this economic sea-change project been around since Adam was a lad and growing up ‘crookedly’ stupid under the previous administration?

But you know, as a ‘numbers’ man yourself, US$ 175 million pumped into the Bajan economy is nothing to scoff at.

We can guess you will try to avoid that Hyatt lighthouse ‘red’ issue like a rat the pied piper man.

38. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

And to think that she is a Minister of Education and setting such a poor example.

In charge of people’s little children.

39. @Miller

To be fair to government has been in office about two and half years AND the economy was in shambles. One has to be reasonable.

40. @ David October 18, 2020 1:28 PM

So why continue with the red bag of tricks like the restart of the Four Seasons and commencement of the Hyatt projects?

The previous DLP administration said the same thing whens it assumed office in 2008.

A clear case of the duopoly twins at work building the house of cards for Tweedle Bees and then Tweedle Dems to live in.

41. Miller

Me not touching the hyatt is not a guessing game

I have never touched it under sny if the Two goverments

Ur economic Griwth understanding is different to mine so it will be a waste of time going any further with that with you

42. Silly boy! They hear the violent from the politicians on the platform and they read about it and they think, if one can become a leader of a country by such behaviour, it must be acceptable.

By the way, our leaders are part of our immediate environment.

Why are people bothered about Donald Trump’s platform behaviour?????

It does not matter that none of my children specifically stated that they were influenced by politicians behaviour. What matters is understanding how their minds work and who they look up to.

By the way, mentioning one’s experience with children is always valid when one wishes to speak on their behalf. One who does not mix with children has no idea what they are thinking.

Enough of you, fly!

43. That should be “violent imagery”.

44. William Skinner Avatar

I do recall , when told that some youth were harassing our senior citizens in the bus stand and that there were gangs popping up all over the place, the then Attorney General said that there no gangs only “errant” youth.
    We have sat idly by and allowed all types of social and political deviancy to take root on the silly grounds, that it’s our culture.
    Those of us who take the country seriously have been maligned and castigated because we refuse to see comedy in an island that was once so superbly managed that our brothers and sisters , from throughout the region came to enjoy its cleanliness, school system and the excellent services provided to all and sundry. Back then we got water and schools were safe havens.
    Somewhere in the mid-seventies, we started to drift and we are now accepting that anything goes. Making excuses for political miscreants in both the Democratic Labour Party and the Barbados Labour Party.
    We defend the indefensible once our party is the transgressor.
    One of these days the laughter will
    stop and we will learn the old saying: Never encourage your dog to eat your neighbour’s eggs because when he has finished eating theirs, he will eat yours.
    There is nothing more painful than having your own dog bite you.
    The “errant” youth of yesterday are now powerful gang leaders and they no longer harass our elder citizens, they just blow your damn head off with a gun.

45. BS

How much/often do u hear on politics voilence in Barbados?

How many children do you hear being influence by Trump ( and not their parents / TV / internet etc)

It mostly the adult cult Member that are influenced by Trump

Your BS is just a yellow herring

We got it
    U dont like what happened with braddie

46. On a political platform.

47. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Connect the dots Barbadian people.

The Williams have big Business interest in Argentina.

Now Maloney wants to set up Business in Guyana.

They used their BLACK PARLIAMENTARIANS, in the party which they control, to wit THE BARBADOS LABOUR PARTY.
    The BLACK PARTY which formed the Govt. of Guyana was undermined to accept a fraudulent t elections full of irregularities which favored the INDIANS, but were ignored. For some reason the WHITE BAJANS didn’t trust the BLACK PARTY, so the opted for the INDIANS. and certain BLACK BARBADIANS pressured the BLACK GUYANESE to give up the Elections which they had won.

The WHITE BAJANS AND INDIANS have their sights set on GUYUANA and then possibly SOUTH AMERICA.

Could it be the abundance of OIL firstly in Guyana then the sky is the limit ,have anything to with it??????

Just my thoughts!!!!!!!!!

48. “The WHITE BAJANS AND INDIANS have their sights set on GUYUANA and then possibly SOUTH AMERICA.”

they better stay in this region, if we catch those stinking thieves and racists in Africa they will see, making sure everyone has their blighted, cursed names, let them rob Guyana, just a matter of time before they get their evil tiefing asses chopped into tiny pieces….hope their sell out nig*as from the parliament are right there with them to receive a dose.

49. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

We will see.

50. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

‘Carnival ships need court approval 60 days before restarting, judge says — then delays order

A federal judge said she plans to require Carnival Corp. to certify that each of its cruise ships is compliant with its probation obligations 60 days before those ships reenter U.S. waters to restart cruises.

The forthcoming order from U.S. District Judge for the Southern District of Florida Patricia Seitz could inhibit the company’s plans to resume cruise operations in the United States on Dec. 1. Seitz made the announcement at a status conference Friday in the company’s ongoing criminal case for environmental crimes.

At the request of Carnival Corp., she then agreed to delay the order for 24 hours so the company could review it.’

Leave a Reply to William SkinnerCancel reply