The unemployment situation in St George North is dreadful.  Disappointing voters with false promises is not an option in this by-election.  Candidates must offer workable plans, to effectively address the mass unemployment problems in St George North.

There are six candidates seeking to work for the people of St George North, for the next 30 months.   It is important that none of us follow the bad examples of those who have gone before us.

Candidates who plan to use the desperate unemployed people of St George North as pawns, just to secure a seat in the House of Assembly for their party, are doing the unconscionable.  They are ensuring that the people continue to suffer, during these exceptionally difficult times.  The present suffering is compounded by an unnecessary IMF austerity program, and a global COVID-19 pandemic.

Candidates who make promises that they know they cannot keep, are deceiving voters’ families.  Candidates who know that they have no capacity to implement their party’s plans, push that deceit beyond tolerable levels.

Career politicians have repeatedly broken their promises to previous generations of voters.  Those voters had the patience to tolerate and forgive those, who repeatedly deceived them with empty promises.
The current generation of young voters are different – they will not forgive that type of deceit.  Candidates without any workable economic plans for the families of St George North, are playing with fire.

Audio Version

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer, and the Solutions Barbados’ candidate for St George North.  He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

545 responses to “Solutions Barbados – Playing With Fire”

1. These Dems behaving like politics is a sunday school.If Mr Reifer cannot stand the heat stay to hell out the kitchen.How can someone saying any idiot can play cricket equate to insulting all cricketers.That logic escapes me.All it seems is that Mr Reifer is out of his depth as a politician and people are looking for all kind of excuses for him.My advice although i would not have said those words would be for Mr Reifer to face off with Ms Moore in the proposed debates woth the others and discuss issues as this is a red herring .This is no way comparable to the disgraceful waterford meeting where the Dems cussed Ms Mottley all night with female ministers on the stage laughing.Where were you Mariposa and Lest we forget i did not hear any condemnation from you two as women.Hyprocrites.

2. There are two things which i would like see happening to Bradshaw
    1. Put him in a straight jacket next time he set foot on a political platform and take him to Jenkins
    2.arrest him for threats against Reifer which he stated publicly
    Bradshaw is a loose cannon and the evil by which he expressed his violent intentions is frightening
    His face and his expressive actions on video speaks of a person who can cause harm

3. From what I’ve been reading on BU so far, it seems as though it’s only the BLP’s campaign that’s ‘robust.’ But, that is expected when ‘ball by ball commentary’ is given by two known DLP supporters. Obviously, they would exaggerate silly political campaign rhetoric.

However, in the interest of ‘BALANCE,’ perhaps someone from the opposing team (or a neutral commentator) could give us commentary of the DLP’s ‘innings’ as well. Are the DEMS suggesting no one from their team has made any disparaging remarks about Toni Moore or any other member of the BLP? Or, do they want us to believe the gospel is being preached on their platform and hymns such as ‘Blest are the pure in heart’ are sung?

Although I don’t CONDONE Delisle Bradshaw’s comments, I’m aware he’s from the ‘old school’ and that’s the campaign style those ‘grass roots’ type politicians used ‘back in the day.’ Bradshaw is not a government minister, so why would anyone believe he should have spoken about policy?

Some of you guys take politicians ‘WAY TOO SERIOUSLY.’ And, the manner in which you’re behaving, would make anyone who’s unaware of Barbados’ politics believe the BEES and DEES are SWORN ENEMIES. It makes one wonder if any of you actually think Bradshaw’s opposing DLP colleagues would ‘stop speaking’ to him tomorrow. Or, if Floyd ‘dun speaking’ to Carol and her children?

What if find to be very funny is, while Carson C. Cadogan and Mariposa cuss the BLP, Mottley, Enuff and Lorenzo on the DLP’s behalf….. and Enuff and Lorenzo reciprocating for the BLP…………..

…………….. Mottley, Verla, BEES and DEMS eating, drinking and singing karaoke together….. while laughing at those guys mentioned above.

4. Is this an apology or what
    But why is he speaking
    Shouldn’t Bradshaw be the one ushering an apology to the cricket fraternity

https://www.facebook.com/501137287/posts/10158808506802288/

5. Members of 49 churches across the island came out in strong force this morning to show that they are standing up against the legalization of same sex unions in Barbados.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/10/17/churches-march-against-legalization-of-same-sex-unions-in-barbados/

6. Are you not done yet, John 2????? Are you still hiding in the bushes waiting to catch me out???

Have you not yet learnt your lesson????

Teacher Donna says, ” LOOK UP THE WORD IMAGERY!”

7. But looka muh crosses the video unavailable
    Well yes the minister of sports has taken upon himself to say
    The govt does not support what Bradshaw said
    Only thing missing was an apology from him or the lunatic Bradshaw

8. Donna

Although the video did have much of what he said before or after

Any idiot could tell what he meant.

So that mean u not an idiot Right?

9. I thought this would be a walk over for the BLP but it seems that something has them rattled, could they have miscalculated and, in the process, upset a whole legion of cricketers? What if the unthinkable happens? Poor Toni would be hung out to dry but she would have time to devote to her day job.

As for Bradshaw could someone tell him that we are in the 21st century and that rum and corn beef politics are not in vogue but didn’t he run a rum shop er sorry bar?

10. IMAGERY. He conjured up violent images. Inapproriate. Often children accompany their parents to these meetings. Unlike yardfowl Mariposa, I did not take it literally as a threat.

I don’t give a rat’s botsy what they tell each other. It is the impressionable youngsters I am concerned about.

As for politics being a blood sport – politics is what humans beings make it. If you like it being a blood sport then you should also like survival of the fittest style winner takes all government from the pugilists who emerge victorious. Do not expect the blood sportsman to share the spoils of victory with the losers.

The leopard cannot change its spots.

Some of you do not have brain enough to challenge what is and imagine a better way. And some of you cannot connect a simple dot to dot.

The acceptance of politics as a blood sport will scare off decent people from offering themselves. Then you complain about the incompetence and corruption.

But…. wuhnuh like it sooooooo!

P.S. I am not against sharing licks at all but there is a line that should not be crossed, remembering that children are often around.

John 2,

Please try to grow up and get over our little spat because you are becoming a virtual stalker. Or perhaps a pesky little fly would be more accurate since you are not at all menacing like a stalker.

You are so easy that it bores me to answer you.

Please, spare me your inane attentions! I like a real challenge. You ain’t it!

11. Artax,

Are you seriously suggesting that one cannot discuss a broad policy or the BLP vision of Barbados unless one is an MP??????

What are you doing on the platform representing the party if you haven’t a clue what the party is about?????

Please!

12. donna

There you go again… twisting people words to mean what you want them to and not what the person said,

i asked a question but did not expect an answer from you. I made my point / stated my argument (according to you)

13. Trotman was a dem as long as i know. he spoke on the blp platform to support support moore. should he have spoken on goverment policies also?

her dad spoke on a blp platform should he have spoken on a goverment policies also?

didnt you hear the moore and bradshaw are related why in supporting her one would/should expect him to be speaking on goverment policies?

14. Shoo fly!

15. Wuhnuh too like shite! David was right! Eat wuhnuh shite, man!

16. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

”When faced with senseless drama, spiteful criticisms, and misguided opinions, walking away is the best to stand up for your self.”

17. Clear need for rational debate

By Ezra Alleyne

On a daily basis, the current by-election in St George North provides proof of the need for rational, constructive debate.
    Let us take one issue to show that a lot of hot air is escaping from brainless mouths and that a number of “people” simply do not understand the system of government.
    The Democratic Labour Party (DLP) candidate Floyd Reifer, spoke about some major project he will be spearheading as part of his campaign. No problem. That is par for the course. Prime Minister Mia Mottley, in a platform response, pointed out that all major projects of that nature have to come to her desk, or words to that effect. True dat!
    In less than a cooking minute, some Mottley critics jumped from the frying pan into the fire . . . and got burnt to a crisp!
    Up went their half-baked comments: “Is the Prime Minister now behaving like a dictator?” “Yuh see what happens when you get all the seats?
    I cringed. The Prime Minister was being criticised for speaking a political truth.
    As Prime Minister and Minister of Finance, especially at this time, and given her overall experience in government and as a former Minister of Economic Affairs, Miss Mottley owes a duty to the voters to know about every single major decision.
    It is not only her job . . . it is her prime ministerial duty to know and to approve.
    Yet by stating a hard core political truth her critics started throwing misplaced shade about dictatorship.
    Lord of the Treasury
    Government is a continuum. The specific historical job and duty of the man whose office later evolved into the office of Prime Minister was that he was First Lord of the Treasury. By his job description, he had to know about every cent spent. The financial buck stopped there . . . at his desk. In early times he reported to the King. Essentially that role has not changed. Any Westminster type Prime Minister is still the First Lord of the Treasury . . . . Consider former Prime Minister Sir Lloyd Erskine Sandiford’s statement from Page 64 of his book: Politics & Society In Barbados And The Caribbean. He writes: “At one time the dominant power was the Sovereign, but in due course that power passed to the Cabinet and now resides with the
    Prime Minister . . . . The power and authority of the Prime Minister adds up to more than that of primus inter pares.”
    Sir Lloyd also stated that “primus inter pares” does not fit with today’s realities, and I think, he has a point!
    Sharp legal mind
    But wait a minute . . . .
    I recall in the 1970s the Duffus Commission was set up to examine the Barrow government’s decisions on some business ventures.
    Sir Herbert Duffus after applying his sharp legal mind to the matters under review, declared that “all roads led to Prime Minister Barrow.
    Of course they did.
    Now remember this: Mr Barrow was the first of four DLP Prime Ministers.
    He was unquestionably the most successful of them at managing the economy. He led from in front. He faced the problems and fixed them!
    So also, in the BLP governments, all roads led to Tom Adams, from 1976 to 1985, and all roads led to Owen Arthur from September 1994 to January 2008. For almost 24 of our 54 years as a Nation, Adams and Arthur successfully managed the affairs of this country with all roads leading to them. As with Barrow, major financial decisions could not be made unless it passed their desk!
    Mind you, I am not surprised at these kinds of wild goose “dictatorial” comments flowing from within the DLP camp.
    You see, after Barrow died in office, the Right Honourable Lloyd Erskine Sandiford became Prime Minister, and he tried to tackle economic issues.
    He was Prime Minister from 1987 June to September 6, 1994. He too understood that he had to lead from the front.
    Brilliant writings
    Let Sir James Cameron Tudor’s brilliant political writings speak to you about some of Sir Lloyd’s travails.
    On March 3, 1994, Sir James having cogitated on the state of upheaval then gripping the Democratic Labour Party, was moved to record for posterity this important question: “Why for example, were Errol Barrow Tom Adams and Bernard St John able to govern with such relative ease and Erskine Sandiford finds himself moving forward only by hotly contested inches.”
    Sir James knew his political
    onions. He knew he was watching the slow burn demise of prime ministerial power within his beloved party . . .
    and this was long before the Eager Eleven episode . . . .
    No wonder that since Barrow’s death, internal turmoil has been a recurring decimal within the DLP . . . .
    Right up to the present time that party seems not to understand leadership and political power. If they did, their leader would have been the candidate. That is exactly what Barrow did in 1958.
    Having lost the seat in 1956, he threw himself into the St John by-election and won, leading from the front.
    The rest is history!

Ezra Alleyne is an attorney at law and former Deputy Speaker of the House of Assembly.

18. Come off your ‘soap box,’ Donna and stop ‘shifting the goal posts.’

I NEVER mentioned anything about someone must be a MP to speak on policy initiatives.

It’s Delisle Bradshaw you’re ‘talking’ about, NOT someone such as Dr. Mascoll, Greenidge or Persaud.

Perhaps you may want to share with this forum what policies Bradshaw should have spoken about and articulated.
    Do you believe, for example, he should have discussed and articulated the BOSS program, monetary policy, or post COVOD-19 macro and microeconomic policies? How about him giving details on PLT’s idea or government’s tourism policies in the existing COVID environment?

Or, unless you believe talking about how many roads, buildings and houses the BLP plans to repair……… or how many buses and garbage trucks will be bought, is discussing policies.

Bradshaw is only a BLP supporter and one of those stalwart politicians that political parties utilize during political campaigns to come out to talk some shiite at meetings. His role on the platform was similar to that of Carson C. Cadogan and Mariposa on BU.

The DEMS made a similar mistake by appointing another stalwart politician, Bobby Morris, as their general elections campaign manager. And, what we got as a result was over 30 candidates and guest speakers going on the platform, one after the other, to cuss Mottley.

I agree with Sarge, the days of ‘corn beef and biscuit’ politics are over?

19. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

EZRA ALLEYNE is the last person to talk about ”rational debate”, a Barbados Labour Party YARDFOWL like him. Ask why he dint run again.

Everything he says can be taken with a pound of SALT.

He will is a Sunday Sun joke. Nobody takes him seriously. If Barbadians EVER want his ‘advice’ they will ask for it.

20. BLP

Barbados Labour Party

Statement by Mr. Delisle Bradshaw, former Minister of Government

Saturday, October 17, 2020

“I spoke on the Barbados Labour Party’s platform at Golden Ridge Village in St. George North on Thursday October 15. At 79 years old it is something that I seldom do but I was reenergized by the prospect of a candidate of the caliber of Toni Moore

representing all of the people of St. George North. I said a lot of things during my platform presentation, including a comment that is being construed as disparaging and disrespectful to the glorious game of cricket and the outstanding men and women who have and still play the game, achieving honour and pride for Barbados and us Barbadians.

I have listened to a replay of what I said and I am man enough to admit that my comment, made in the heat of the moment, was indeed not the best or most respectful way to make my point. I have the greatest admiration for our cricketers, in fact for all sports people. You can’t grow up as I did in Edgecliff in St. John and not love cricket. We played cricket as often as we could and with anything that could lick way a ball and to this day I have the utmost respect for our cricket legends.

My point to Mr. Reifer though, is that it is time for him to tell us more! More about his record of service in the community of St. George North that he claims to be so committed to. More about his realistic plans and ideas for the constituency. Yes, he has played cricket at its highest level with some success, but politics, especially in these times demands more.”

End of statement
    Xxxxccccxxx

This is how this two footed rogue mongrel apologized to the cricket fraternity

21. Bradshaw might have stepped on many lions tail in the cricket farternity
    His ignorance is spreading like wild fire across media

toggle menu
    Spectr
    Loop market
    BREAKING NEWS |

Delisle Bradshaw’s comments stir Bajans up
    LOOP NEWS CREATED : 17 OCTOBER 2020COMMUNITYFormer parliamentarian, Delisle Bradshaw
    Former parliamentarian, Delisle Bradshaw

Comments expressed on a recent political platform are drawing the ire of some Bajans, and they have taken to social media to vent their displeasure.

During a recent Barbados Labour Party (BLP) political rally for St George North held at Golden Ridge Village in St. George on October 15, former Member of Parliament and BLP stalwart Delisle Bradshaw made statements which some have interpreted as casting scorn on cricketers.

In the video clip making the rounds on social media, Bradshaw commented on the vast experience of BLP hopeful Toni Moore in comparison to her Democratic Labour Party (DLP) counterpart Floyd Reifer. He described Moore as possessing “international experience . . . representing people” before trodding on Reifer’s career as a West Indian cricketer.

“What nonsense you talking about . . .about a bat and ball, any idiot could play cricket!”

;

The comments were met with chuckles from those in the crowd at the rally but it incited some Barbadians, with some even demanding an apology from the veteran politician.

Popular Barbadian blogger, The Chase Files, mirrored the outrage of the public to Bradshaw’s statements, saying:

“Any idiot can play cricket” …Any IDIOT? Is this to imply that any idiot can play cricket but only INTELLIGENT people can play chess? Do not let this snide remark go over your head. I wonder how many IDIOTS they are trying to convince to vote for Toni Moore. I really wonder how many IDIOTS are in St. George North. Sir Garfield Sobers is our only living national hero. His fame came from his contribution to the sport of cricket. His legacy is revered around the world. Is Sir Garry an idiot?”

It continues: “Are we to brand sportsmen, artisans, Musicians, cosmetologists or Nail techs IDIOTS because they pursued non-traditional careers? Is the child whose skill set lies in sport an IDIOT because he isn’t competent in mathematics or geography? I am patiently waiting to see if Barbados Cricket Association & The Minister of Sport will allow this insult to go unnoticed. A NATIONAL APOLOGY IS WARRANTED.”

A Facebook commenter wrote: “Completely out of order!!! These parties really need to reconsider who they are putting on platforms because while older people revelled in the disrespectful banter, nobody wants to hear that in these times! Speak on issues and stop speaking on people! #Focus!!!!”

Meanwhile, another disappointed netizen stated: “The contribution of cricket and cricketers to the social and economic development of Barbados and the Caribbean is unmatched….such an unfortunate statement which is deserving of an apology to all cricketers and sportsmen smh”.

BLP candidate Toni Moore and Floyd Reifer of the DLP will be vying against Grenville Phillips II (Solutions Barbados), Ambrose Grovesnor (United Progress Party) and David Waldron (People’s Party for Democracy and Development) for the St George North seat in the upcoming November 11 by-election.

22. It is amazing the issues being debated at a time Barbados and the world are managing unprecedented events.

23. Artax,

Ok. If the platform is a toilet and the audience shit eaters I guess bullshitters are a good hire.

Please forgive me if I rather hear policy. It’s “the trouble with being e[a]rnest”.

And I did say broad policy or vision. No need for the minutaie.

At any rate, I prefer my soap box to the shitty political platform. These are serious times and require a serious approach.

But if Barbadians have a fetish for politicians shiting on them and prefer to gather and throw shite around in a business as usual shit show it is their choice.

Just reminds me why I do not go to political meetings.

P.S. The mere fact that the man is issuing an apology of sorts indicates that he put his shitty foot in his mouth.

Case closed.

24. Mariposa you are lucky that Mr Bradshaw apogised probably at tje request of the party.As i stayed before i would not have said it but i am amazed at the overeaction of the dems on this.None of the MP,s that cussed Ms Mottley at Waterford or the hyprocrites on here apologised to Ms Mottley to this day.Here we have Donna a dem apologist talking about imagery and childrenOh ma shirt i wonder if she ever heard Mr Barrow , Mr Adams, Mr Craig, Mr Blackman, Mr Taitt, Dr Estwick Mr Sinckler or Mr Payne on political platforms? Politics is not a sunday school and no child under 13 should not be at no political meeting ending at 11 o clock.Therefore what nonsense you talking and why should Mr Bradshaw speak about policy is he a Minister?Mr Bradshaw himself suffered a lot of abuse and downright lies on his character from the same holier than thou dems years ago.Where were you then.All of a sudden the Dems holier than thou and nothing can be said against Mr Reifer.How is he going to survive in parliament if by some unlikely event he wins.Gimme a break.

25. Ok. So it seems that some people believe the political platforms need a revamp to focus on issues. It seems that some people believe the old bullshitters should be put out to pasture.

I have some company on my soapbox.

Time for a cleansing!

26. Every Sunday, Ezra writes about government and the constitution and demonstrates that he is more a par ty man than an expert on the constitution.
    Under our parliamentary system, government is not a continuum, and I am not clear where he gets that from, it is certainly not part of the British Constitution, from which we get our principles.
    Succeeding governments accept the principles of bilateral and multilateral agreements because not to do so would throw government in to chaos. No third party would sing an agreement if the succeeding government was to talk away from the agreement. That is practice, not law.
    As Mia Mottley’s chief apologist, he also makes a false claim about decision-making in a parliament democracy. He states: It is not only her job . . . it is her prime ministerial duty to know and to approve.” policy.
    Wrong again. The Cabinet, not the prime minister, brings policy proposals to parliament and it is parliament that approves those plans, that is why we have Bills and debates and votes. It is also why we call it a parliamentary democracy.
    Ironically, in trying to deny that she is an autocrat and dictator, he suggests exactly that. If she alone makes the decisions then she IS a dictator. Cabinet government is all about the Cabinet agreeing to policy. She is just first among equals.
    Then Mr Alleyne goes on to make an even more ridiculous remark: “Prime Minister . . . . The power and authority of the Prime Minister adds up to more than that of primus inter pares.”
    Is she losing his marbles? Of course, and |I have been saying for the last two years, that she has no respect for parliament or our democracy, and here is a constitutional ‘expert’ actually saying that the prime minister is not just first among equals. What he should do is tell us what she is.
    If she has more power than the Cabinet, then Cabinet government no longer exists. If this is the case, maybe as a stickler for the constitutionality, he could point to the constitutional amendment that gives her that power.
    Duffus was wrong, if what he claims represents the core of the Duffus commission report. All roads lead to the Cabinet, and, via the Cabinet, to parliament. All prime ministerial powers are derived from the Cabinet; all Cabinet powers are derived from the ruling party; all ruling party powers are derived from parliament; all parliamentary powers are derived from the people, the voters. That, in simple terms, is our form of government. Anything else is a myth.
    That is why it is called a government of the people, for the people. I somehow think if we still had the pleasure of @Jeff Cumberbatch the quality of these discussions would be more educative.

27. Lorenzo Mia promised change and transparency
    BTW Bradshaw words are the first transparent moment in the two year reign of the the blp
    Oh i take that back
    Mia’s also as she revealed her intentions not to help the people of SGN if Reifer wins
    Boy uh tell yuh seems like the govt of the day can no longer hide their dirty secrets
    Everything is being hung out to dry
    That apology would be accepted by fools or koolaid drinkers
    The cricket fraternity deserves better along with the youth who have big dreams of becoming world class cricketers

28. Nobody takes Ezra Alleyne seriously
    He is seen as a throwback from a by pass era of politics steeped in political yardfowl jargon and place on an outdated media platform for early morning yawning

29. Lying or illiterate Lorenzo,

No! I never heard any of those you mentioned on a political platform. If I had heard them I would likely have been disappointed. I heard only news clips.

In my young days I listened and watched budget debates. Tom Adams and Errol Barrow on their best behaviour, I guess. So we see the problem.

I went to one DLP meeting and one BLP meeting at the age of twenty-six. Did not like them then. Do not like them now.

After the outcry in the last election over the DLP unsavoury platform behaviour, I watched a bit of the video and could not even finish it.

I condemned it then on BU. I condemn it now.

I do not know how many times I would have to condemn it. The last time I did so was just LAST WEEK in response to a similar comment from you.

You are either a liar, an illiterate or you are in the early stages of dementia.

P.S. Some people bring their young children because they want to make informed decisions and have no babysitters. There is no law that states they must stay for the whole meeting. But if the children have no classes the next day there is no reason why they cannot stay. At any rate, it matters not if they should be there, only that they ARE THERE.

BUT….I was not aware that political meetings should come with a rating that prohibits children from attending.

Out with the old ways and in with the new. What was and is needn’t be!

30. The Family-Faith-Freedom of Barbados is appealing to Government not to legalise same-sex unions.

https://www.nationnews.com/2020/10/18/not-bout-here/

31. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

HAL

You are on the ball again. It is good having you around.

32. @Hal 7:52 a.m.
    Thanks for your highly informative post. Sometimes it is good to have someone express an opinion that is consistent with what I am thinking.

I try but have a great deal of difficulty digesting EA’s posts. They do not rise to the high level that ‘some’ would love have us to believe that they are at.

33. Donna peabrain my substantive poit stands political meetings are not sunday schools and NOT suitable to children.Therefore if the adult has no babysitter stsy at home with your child.Hesring you state you never heard whom i mentioned i can see you know nothing about political history so i would not respond any further to you as you are a political novice just like Mr ReiferAll i will end by saying is that Mr Reifer got to up his game significantly to stamd any chance of winning this by election not depending on dem apologist to cry fowl on these blogs everytime he is attacked.It is time to man up to the challenge ahead.

34. @Hal

Ezra Alleyne is correct from a functional standpoit when he goes on about PM’s power in the Bim style governance. theoretically any Cabinet member can bring resolution for cabinet to decide and theoretically cabinet is supreme and even the PM’s wishes are subsumed in the role of Cabinet via decisions.

but in Bim the PM is like a president and make a majority of the decisions if not all by exerting a huge role in what resolutions come before Cabinet and hold the sway in how they are decided. the PM giveth and the PM taketh away and Cabinet accedes to the wishes of the PM. that is one of the anomalies in our system that may not be present in other Westminster styled democracies or not to that degree

by way of personalities Ezra is saying that when you have strong presidential type PMs like Barrow, Tom etc Govt seem to function well and when you have seemingly weak PM’s like Sandiford,Cabinet asserts itself and Govt seem to fall apart. may be, may be not. perhaps it is a matter of what we have become accustomed.

what we probably need is neither of the two and what we should hope for is a PM who respects the paramountcy of Cabinet and allow all the Cabinet ministers to function independently to carry on the Govt’s stated Agenda with the PM as the leader of the Agenda but not the alpha and the omega

35. FROM THE LITTLE clip what did bradshaw said that should not be heard by children? children nowadays are exposed to a lot more on the tv and internet than anything i heard on that clip.

36. @ Greene

There is no ifs or buts or technicality. Ezra is wrong. Any strong prime minister has an undue influence over the Cabinet. That is understood. But that is not a constitutional power. It depends on the confidence of the Cabinet members.
    Thatcher and Howe and Lawson and Heseltine; Wilson and Jenkins and Callaghan; etc. Cabinet is not supreme. Parliament is sovereign. This is what the Gina Miller case was all about. It is also what the recent clash between the Johnson government and Tory backbenchers is all about, government imposing CoVid policy without parliamentary consultation.
    I accept what you say about Mottley behaving like a president, I have said this for two years, but it is an abuse of our system. It is her way or the highway.
    Your suggestion about presidential types does not hold. Mussolini made the trains run on time; Lee Kuan Yew turned Singapore in to a prosperous City state, but at what price?
    You are giving Cabinet too much power. The power belongs to parliament and parliamentary power comes from the people. You may argue, and you will be wrong, that with a 29/1 majority, does it matter? Yes, it does.

37. @ Theo
    @Carson

Thanks

38. in terms of practicality Cabinet and or the PM mostly the PM will be supreme. in our system.

yes in theory parliament is where matters are trashed out and where bills / resolutions become law or govt action. when govt / cabinet is stopped that is usually achieved via a a dissenting back bench and opposition party. in our system of governance the back bench hardly ever stand in the way of Cabinet / PM. and in any case someone would canvass the back bench prior to a vote.

You are arguing theory and i am looking at what is the practice. in that regard i am not disagreeing rather i am asserting how matters stand.

39. Guess what the blp yardfowls would call this article an “idiot ‘ point of view
    Anyway worth a read

GUY’S VIEW: THE BLAME GAME AND STRANGE ANALYSIS
    Sun, 10/18/2020 – 5:00am
    BY:
    R.E. GUYSON MAYERS
    Sometime last week I heard a news item on radio which was reported to be the voice of Toni Moore, in which she sought to justify demanding a 15 per cent salary increase of the Democratic Labour Party administration, and then immediately accepted a five per cent increase from the succeeding Barbados Labour Party Government, after agreeing to four and a half per cent. I found her explanation most instructive.

What I heard was Ms. Moore saying that there was downgrade after downgrade under the DLP administration, and yet her union stuck out for a 15 per cent increase. Interestingly, she said that the demand for 15 per cent in an economy that was experiencing successive economic downgrades, was the position of the executive of her union. In stating that position, the General Secretary was placing the blame for this iniquitous decision squarely on the shoulders of the Executive of the Barbados Workers’ Union. In cricketing parlance, “off of me.”

While wearing another hat, I became aware of a labour comrade by the name of Julian Hunte. The wisdom then was that he would succeed Sir Roy Trotman as General Secretary of the BWU. I did not see him for about two weeks and when we next met and I enquired about the union, he informed me that he had moved on. He saw my shock, but chose to leave it alone. Given the quiet, mature disposition of this gentleman, I pried no further, knowing that it would not be long before the story would be told. Although others spoke, I never heard a sentence from his lips about that affair.

One doubts that it resided within his nature to bait and switch the workers of Barbados. I may be wrong, but it is difficult for me to conceive of him convincing his executive to demand a 15 per cent increase in wages and salaries from a Government that was printing money to pay his members and keep them in their jobs, while battling regular downgrades from international institutions. And even more difficult to see him trying to justify moving his demand from 15 per cent to four and a half per cent within weeks, on the election of a new Government, with the economy in the same state.

Some would say that this approach of a ridiculous demand followed by the acceptance of a comparatively minuscule increase, calls the judgement of the Executive of the BWU, not Ms. Moore, according to her, into sharp question. Others may not be so charitable and may see it as salesmanship for which the people of Barbados are now paying.

As has been forecasted, the practice of the distribution of largess and the use of the state’s resources to garner partisan support is in full vogue. Now we are hearing that roads in St. George North are to be fixed, not in the name of Ms. Moore, but of Gline Clarke.

Gline Clarke was the representative of that constituency for 26 years, and now, after his departure, there is the discovery that the roads need to be fixed. What a wonderful discovery. It is an interesting thing that Floyd Reifer can have no big works done. Were it not for him, the roads in St. George North would remain akin to a roller coaster ride.

During his long tenure, Clarke was once the Minister of Housing and on another occasion the Minister of Transport and Works. These are ministries that allow the persons who manage them to look after their constituencies well. Apparently Gline was not so minded.

One may recall when the distinguished representative of his neighbouring constituency, Sir Louis Tull, rose to his feet in Parliament and said that he was treated like an outside child, because all his pleas for assistance in his constituency fell on deaf ears. Gline Clarke was one of the Ministers who did nothing in St. George South for Mr. Tull.

And now the Prime Minister has laid it all bare. After 26 years of representation, the roads in St. George North now have to be fixed. It seems that St. George North has suffered the same fate as other constituencies that remain loyal to the BLP. They are the most neglected constituencies in Barbados. Just look at St. Joseph, St. Thomas, St. Michael North East, to name a few. Maybe the people in those constituencies should call for by-elections too.

This is all happening at a time when the country’s economy is in sharp reverse, notwithstanding what the International Monetary Fund is forecasting. Persons who wish for honesty in international organisations may take comfort from the fact that a former Governor of our Central Bank was able to have the then leader of the IMF admit that the policies and programmes of that organisation do not fit the needs of small island states like Barbados. When these misfits make pronouncements on your country, one needs to understand where they are coming from and their lack of relevance to our situation.

Barbados is a one-foot pony. We have taken all of our eggs out of the sugar basket and placed them in the tourism basket: a basket that is full of holes. When tourism was operating at its maximum, the local economy could not grow more than one per cent. Now, with most of our hotels either closed or barely open, the IMF is predicting growth of 7 per cent next year. This is while admitting that tourism is expected to slowly pick back up, in the midst of increased COVID-19 cases in our source markets. What the hell are they talking about? Could professional economists really have written that garbage?

And seven per cent from where? From where we were before the BLP took over, or from where we have fallen? If the economy declined by 15 per cent and then grew by seven per cent, we would still be eight per cent worse off than previously. If it declined by 7.8 per cent and then grew by 7.1 per cent, where have we gone? I do not know what brief they have for this Government, but the IMF should not insult our intelligence.

Think people

40. @Greene

You for to mention our non active working committees of parliament which are integral to the workings of parliament as originally designed.

41. I think this guy Guy was serious when he wrote this, but it made me laugh
    “Now, with most of our hotels either closed or barely open, the IMF is predicting growth of 7 per cent next year. This is while admitting that tourism is expected to slowly pick back up, in the midst of increased COVID-19 cases in our source markets. What the hell are they talking about? Could professional economists really have written that garbage?”

Here is another point that I tried to make. I believe John A made the same point.

“And seven per cent from where? From where we were before the BLP took over, or from where we have fallen.”

We like to use numbers without given the “baseline”. Without knowing the baseline these numbers are difficult to interpret.

A next peeve is when they quote dollar amounts for purchases without stating BDS or US. It should be BDS, but I seem to recall we had some confusion about a purchase price at one point.

42. This is the amusing bit
    “When tourism was operating at its maximum, the local economy could not grow more than one per cent. Now, with most of our hotels either closed or barely open, the IMF is predicting growth of 7 per cent next year.”

43. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

If you want to see bad constituencies, see Bridgetown constituency, MIA MOR MOTTLEY constituency, SGN constituency.

I challenge any of you to visit MIA AMOR MOOTLEY’S constituency and see how bad it is. She has done nothing for the constituency since she is the representative. She did dig a part that was to be a daycare and bare bush growing in the spot now for years.

Yet she is gives THE WHITE BAJANS AND INDIANS who make only 3% of the total population of Barbados what ever they want.
    All the tax breaks whatever and loading BLACK PEOPLE with MOORE taxes.

Go and take a look.

44. Theo

the growth will be compared to this year.

45. if you compare next year growth to 20019 we will probably get negative growth. when you compare to this year you should get positive growth / more economic activity.

46. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

”Coronavirus pandemic to blow $28 TRILLION hole in global economy

This year’s output figures will be reminiscent of the 1930’s Great Depression, according to the International Monetary Fund (IMF). It said that the world is at risk of significantly lowered investment, trade and job numbers.
    The IMF’s economic expert, Gita Gopinath, said this week that “the cumulative loss in output relative to the pre-pandemic projected path is projected to grow from $11 trillion over 2020-21 to $28 trillion over 2020-25…this represents a severe setback to the improvement in average living standards across all country groups.”

47. MAM’s constituency encompasses some areas in St George north bordering St Michael. so please do not get mixed up

48. What one is witnessing with the IMF political utterances is the moving of the hands of Esau and voice of Jacob
    Everything done before the election by this govt would slowly come to light as the IMF tries its darnest to give dimmed flashing green lights to this govt
    Never mind that Mottley has been hoisted on the board of economic affairs at the IMF
    There is a saying keep yuh friends close but yuh enemies closer ( no one can be trusted)
    Everyone in politics takes the road of self interest

49. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

What I said still stands.

Leave a Reply to john2Cancel reply