Grenville Phillips, Candidate for St. George North and Leader of Solutions Barbados

From my visits to almost every community in St George North, I have found one consistent desperate need. The employed want work for the unemployed, and the unemployed want work. All other issues were secondary.

All five candidates in this by-election (BLP, DLP, Solutions Barbados, UPP, and PdP) have a responsibility to propose workable solutions to the unemployment problems in St George North. The plans must not depend on new government funding, because the Government will claim that they have no money.

If a candidate does not have a workable plan, then they need to devise one. The plan should be fully operational in the 30 months remaining in the current election cycle.

UNCONSCIONABLE PRETENSE

If a candidate does not have a workable plan, then they should stop pretending that they do. It is unconscionable to give desperately hurting people false hope and empty promises.

The people of St George North do not only need a Member of Parliament (MP) in this by-election. There are so many MP’s in the House of Assembly, that the Prime Minister does not know what to do with them. The people of St George North need someone to manage workable employment generating projects.

Our plan is designed to make St George North the most prosperous constituency in Barbados. Both the plan, and my capacity to implement it, are contained in Solutions Barbados’ manifesto (attached). Please contact us if you have not received your copy.

All constituencies in Barbados are hurting. St George North voters have a responsibility to give them hope, and not let them down. They can do this by voting for the best plan for themselves, not their party.

If people are prospering, then families, businesses, churches, and community organisations automatically benefit.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and Solutions Barbados Candidate for St George North. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

Two and one half minute) audio recording of “What do the Residents of St George North Want?

580 responses to “What do the Residents of St George North Want?”

1. Everybody that says there are tired of blpdlp politics
    Instead of being tired form their own party
    Also with so many third parties i do not see the effort and enthusiasm from the “tired” rushing to join or support them

####bunchoftiredhypocrites

2. @Donna

Made the same observation after viewing the images in todays press. Mia is jettisoning the old and the DLP is encouraging the old. One party is locked in a short term game the other seems to be playing the long game. There no significant segments of our society separated in beliefs etc to make the viability of third parties.

A duopoly is in play in most democracies we are familiar. The blogmaster made the point recently and echoed by many that Barbados is a homogeneous society. The members of the BLP and DLP were raised in the same villages, attended the same schools and colleges, are related by blood and marriage, are BLACK and follow the Christian Faith in the main.

We need citizens who are willing to SERVE the people to become members and be the agents of change from within. This is the pragmatic approach needed.

3. ART

Agree with you about the differences but i am still curious to you opinion about their maturity

if you want to bring it closer to home the you can include any of the island closer to / similar to barbados?

4. Around the world on bbc, cnn, guardian commenters post comments using monikers, then some come on BU to deposit sheepshit in the forum. Make your point or watch rh rugby.

5. Pacha
    But who are u to tell any one how to express their opinions
    Just like you everybody has a right
    Just like yours opinions are like a.sssholes
    Everybody has one
    Give u a chance at governance you would be quick to halt freedom of speech
    But thankfully that would never happen
    Just saying Thank God

6. Anybody hear any new or reworked social, economic, development, cultural or environmental policy ideas from Reifer yet? Anyone knows of him saying or doing anything along these lines in the past? But BUers love to talk about change! If Floyd Reifer is change, we need to just shut down BU and keep quiet. A NIFCA video ain’t cutting it. Like I said on a previous blog, rookie is where the similarity begins and ends. At least GPII tries.

7. Donna

please tell me what my argument was. i was not aware i made one. you keep coming up with the things that i dont know where there are coming from.

Earlier you said somthing about me challenging something you said (or something to that effect). as far as i am concerned that was also news to me. where did i challenge any thing you said.

i ask you what i thought was one simply question and your all over the world fly up at me like a mother hen protecting her chickens. so if there is on that should be in the coop…….

you may have the last word

8. @ Pacha
    You just writing crap. You have a better command of the English language than anybody on this blog. You are also a great writer and nobody uses the slave master queen’s English better than you; your articles will be easily accepted in any respectable journal . So when you go off on this slave name thing and pretend that well known expletives are to be used to cuss people, I just laugh. Amazingly when you and the now Judge Cumberbatch disagreed , you NEVER cussed him; you used the most polite slave master queen’s language to express your disagreements. I say no more.
    Peace

9. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

Mariposa

Many commenters on this blog pretend that they are tired with the DLP and BLP. But the big thing even though there are a PLETHORA of third parties in existence, they are not going to join any and woe betide you if you throw you support behind a new party.

You get cursed no end.

I guess they have to justify themselves. If Errol Barrow had remain in the BLP we would never have been push forward as a people. If you are not happy with the BLP OR DLP then throw your intellectual skill behind someone else or some party else. That is the only way the BLACK people will continue to grow.

Grantley Adams a BLACK MAN said that if we educate all the BLACK PEOPLE who will cut the WHITE’ S MAN’S CANES!!!!

Do like Errol Barrow and start a new Party or join one of the existing Parties.

10. @ Enuff

Anybody hear any new or reworked social, economic, development, cultural or environmental policy ideas from Reifer yet? Anyone knows of him saying or doing anything along these lines in the past?”

Did you also set these standards and ask these these questions of all the “rookies” who entered parliament for the first time recently ? Were you aware of Moore’s policies in these areas as well?
    Just wanted to know. Keeping it real and trying to keep it honest.
    Peace

11. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Mariposa

As far as the Barbados Labour Party is concerned we would never have been Independent as the other Caribbean became. As much as they talking about being a Republic they held meetings up and down Barbados spearheaded by Forde and Bree and ably supported by the WHITE BAJANS trying their best to stop Barbados from being Independent. They even sent a Delegation to to Colonial Office in an attempt to keep Barbados a Colony.

12. Not everyone is meant to start a political party. My talents lie elsewhere. And as for third parties, when I see one with good leadership I will be most happy to join up.

13. @Enuff
    Anybody hear any new or reworked social, economic, development, cultural or environmental policy ideas from Reifer yet?

You haven’t been so visible since Hyatt 😊. Now you want Reifer to produce a manifesto…….

14. John 2,

Sorry to let the air out of your tyre with my last post.

P.S. If you don’t know what your argument was then I cannot help you. An argument hidden in the interrogative is still an argument.

15. And now let the remaining yardfowls cluck. I have a healthy one in my fridge that needs my attention.

Besides, this one serves a useful purpose.

16. William Skinner
    You are a raasoul liar.

There are a lot of people here that we never spoke to in Arabic, or German or Spanish neither.

On the contrary, we had that precise conversation with Cumberbatch and told him of our excessive hatred for the English language and that we wrote the language like an orphan educated at Oxford on the graces of a benefactor, as metaphor. We never went there.

Cumberbatch disagreed with us on occasion but unlike you he did not keep bringing up the same few canards to justify his own existence, like you do, and as you mobilize your idiot friend from England.

One of the people we both hold in high esteem in another Cumberbatch, John. It is no less a person than this Cumberbatch, who was arguably one of the best Bajans, who also encouraged this writer to speak/write with the popular tongue.

William Skinner you seem to be a bits and pieces man who is incapable of moving on.

Substantively, William Skinner you should tell the blog how do you propose the change the entire basis of source disclosure employed by the whole world of media. Or is it only on BU where you seek to enforce your foolishness. On this matter we are willing in engage you in mortal combat if some seriousness is proffered.

17. Oh dear me! Pachamama and I have disagreed passionately but he has never cussed me either. I think he understands that we want the same things even though I may be a slow coach.

18. Uh-oh! A. Friend had dat one keeping long long time.

Oh shirt!

19. @ Donna

It seems as though it’s being suggested one has to be a member of either the BLP or DLP to vote for the respective party’s candidates. What does this mean for someone who voted D in 2013 and B in 2018?

So, if I’m fed up of both the DEMS and BEES, means I either have to FORN a new political party or JOIN one of the existing ‘third party?’

I’m shocked that, in 2020, we’ve gone back to the 1970s by associating white Barbadians with a particular political party, when white people have admitted to making financial donations to both the DLP and BLP.

Haven’t we moved on from Grantley Adams…….or Barrow and independence, or white people? Do you believe these ‘issues’ would be deciding factors for young voters?

20. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

The worst thing to do for a Black man is to talk about a White man. For them it is heresy…

21. Donna
    Precisely.
    We have far more in common than the one or two issues on which we might agree to disagree.
    And even on those few points we must admit that our positions are much closer than one may think.
    Admittedly, we must confess that we have always perceived your writings as those from an highly intelligent person.
    It would never occur to this writer to deployed that wicked tongue anywhere in your direction. LOL

22. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

”An end to the corrupting no-bid public contracts, where the public must pay up to five times the cost of products, through increased taxes.”

This alone will save the Taxpayers TENS OF MILLIONS Dollars. These saved funds can be deployed in other useful areas. These no bid contracts are usually given to WHITE BAJAN COMPANIES.

23. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

……….Jada and the Williams. They get millions of dollars for doing nothing. They rent out trucksto the Govt. and get paid for that been written off.

24. And, from what I’ve read, it’s even worse when a Black man assists his Black political masters, in perpetrating political gimmicks on Black, vulnerable, elderly ladies.

THAT IS DISHONESTY!!!!!!!!

25. inquiring minds want to know why is pay pal citing govt regulation as a refusal to process overseas donations to the floyd campagain
    There is a dead rat stinking beneath this refusal by pay pal and it cannot be the USA govt regulation

26. By now you should have realized that I have no aim to please or desire to impress.

I am not running for/to/from anything or looking for rewards from anyone.

I speak my piece and I cuss a little when it is necessary.

Have a great day.

27. @ Carson

Over invoicing and under invoicing are old tricks. Have a read of a book, Bad Buying, by Peter Smith, to see how procurement is one of the biggest weapons in the corruption of public servants and politicians and dishonest private sector providers.
    The perverse policy of private public initiatives is the biggest beast of all. Maintenance contracts are signed in which the private sector charges the government hundreds of dollars to change a bulb, secretaries and assistants are paid out of the public fund. Ask who is responsible for monitoring the contracts?
    We are not talking about small beer. The average company spends nearly 70 per cent of its revenue on making purchases of materials and equipment, and globally the figure is about US$40trn.
    How about over-spending on contracts and not a single civil servant is sacked, demoted or disciplined in any way. Britain has had its fair share of these rogue events, including dodgy audits of some companies, such as Carillion.
    I have mentioned here before that years ago Sir Richie Haynes carried out an inquiry at the QEH, during which he asked for copy of the payroll. He died without getting it.
    The suspicion was that the politicians and senior executives had friends and relatives on the pay roll and did not want the names exposed. I am sure the same thing is taking place as we speak.
    We have normalised dishonesty. Barbados is a failed state. It will end in tears.

28. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

The Emergency Hospital at Harrison Point built for tens of Millions of dollars only the latest project which was not bid for but given to WHITE BAJAN COMPANIES…Nothing like that is given to Black companies As a matter of fact Black business men have told me they dont get contracts over a certain amount.

29. Thinking you found a good bone to nibble on.

The LEC was a non-starter. Reminded me of Mariposa flogging her dead covid horse.

But now you are both saddling contenders.

30. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

Hal

You know what is going on.

And it really bad in Barbados.. Things being taken out of Bonded warehouses without the Customs being there.

31. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

hal
    ARTAX and TheOGazerts want things to remain as there are. In other words DONT ROCK THE BOAT.

32. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

Hal

I like that one:
    ” years ago Sir Richie Haynes carried out an inquiry at the QEH, during which he asked for copy of the payroll. He died without getting it.””

33. Gazzerts you are so silly by any other name you can be called a doo bird
    Your calling an issue which is globally talked about “a dead horse” makes for wonder which rabbit hole you got stuck in whilst making yuh daily rounds on Bu
    Since you seem to have stuck your head out of the hole to see what is happening
    This question i ask of you
    Have u notice that barbados numbers are rising giving concern to close one school because of the fear of community
    Just because you dont see a Covid problem does not mean one does not exist in barbados

34. William Skinner Avatar

@ Pacha
    Apart from reminding me of my name you are writing pure nonsense. You can rant and rave until you return to being eighteen years old. There is only one reason you never cussed Judge Cumberbatch.
    I have no intentions of telling the owners of this blog how to run their show. I said in my opinion a great opportunity was missed. You yourself has questioned the direction of BU. You even promised a regular column. The Blog owners promised a new direction and have admitted that it never happened.
    My view stands . I read several articles by Hal Austin and I will speak the truth. He was attacked first and unfortunately he decided to hit back in a similar vein .I still think he is way above some of the responses he has sunk to but he like you is a big man and like you he can cuss whoever he like.
    I believe that this blog with the high level of people like you and several others would have been better served if we all wrote under our names. In some instances with sensitive contributions certain editorial steps could be taken. Now you can call me anything you like but that’s my position and so shall it stand.
    Peace

35. @ Carson

Absolutely. It is a lot worse than we think. I was told by one man that two customs officers, a man and a woman, came to his home to deliver a container.
    Throughout the offloading all they, the woman in particular, talked about was missing lunch. He gave them Bds$20 and they walked off the job to get lunch.
    A principled man, he made the point that if he was smuggling guns it would have been easy. I thought back to when I worked for the Gulbenkian Foundation assessing ethnic organisations for funding and the flattery I got from Asian organisations; sch titles as Dr Austin, etc.
    Can you imagine them in Barbados. All we need in Barbados is an Unexplained Wealth Order and a powerful body to enforce it. If people have lifestyles above their declared incomes then they have to explain it or it will be seized. That is not difficult.
    So police on $36,000 a year with expensive cares, and suits and big houses will have to explain.
    Remember a permanent secretary in Barbados earns about Bds$150000 a year, or US$75, or Sterling £50000. A.
    salary of £50000 a year will get you a mortgage of about £175000 or just over Bds$500000. With the working partner’s salary, it will be a bit more.
    So, an inquisitive journalist, or investigator, will be curious about how thee people could send their children to university in the UK £20000 a year, plus accommodation and food, books etc), pay their mortgage, drive around expensive cars, and still afford to eat.
    And most of these are not people who inherited anything; their parents and grand parents were ordinary labourers.

36. Again i am asking why would pay pal cite govt regulation for not being able to process overseas donations for floyd campaign
    There is sinister affect being applied
    Govt cannot tell anyone who they can donate to a political campaign
    Seems to be some dirty seeds being planted by way of political interference to stop support to floyd campaign

37. @ William

You must stand your ground. They are bullies and aby attacking you they hope you will drift away. It is the morality of a thug – an anonymous thug.
    What started this discussion was the use of pseudonyms; no respectable UK or US publication will publish a letter from an anonymous source libelling or being obnoxious about another reader.
    To equate that with an anonymous source for a news story shows how ignorant people are of how publications operate. They may appear in the publication as a source, but they are know to the author, who does not even have to tell the editor who they are.
    But the editor can decide not to publish the story.In the UK the editor is legally responsible for everything in his/her publication, not the publisher.
    I try not to discuss journalism with the BU hawks; they know about everything and know nothing. If they are so brave, why don’t they come out from behind their masks? I fear that readers will realise they are bluffers and many of them do not know as much as they claim.

38. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Hal

Talk your talk.

39. There you go moving the argument. We are talking about commenters using monikers to post online comments. The blogmaster is convinced your are suffering from dementia.

Steuspe

40. @Mariposa
    Side note…
    Your earlier discourses were not on the global pandemic but was focused on an attack of the highly effective policies/protocol of the government of Barbados. I pointed out then that you were flogging a dead horse when criticizing a successful policy. You moved on.

There is no cure; there is no vaccine; it is contagious. The numbers will rise unless sensible policies are in place and are followed by the public.

41. There you go moving the argument. We are talking about commenters using monikers to post online comments. The blogmaster is convinced your are suffering from dementia….(Quote)

Sometimes even traditional media deploy editorial judgement to publish articles protecting the authors names especially in sensitive matters. They may say a “source”.

Are the same assholes behind this backwardness willing to tell the New York Times that every source must be name…..(Quota)

42. Leaving now.
    Our English correspondent has moments where he is by far the “smartest man” in the room.

He also has moments where his brain freezes. Fortunately, we have more of the former than the latter.
    Enjoy the day.

43. Halton Austin is and always has been a cunt.

His intellectual dishonesty is another matter. We lack the motivation to highlight the lies ascribed to this writer, above.

As a mere factual matter, it was just a few days ago when Cuhdear Bajan was forced to correct another one of his highly misleading tales.

At that time he contended that foreign governments had armies of spies watching us bloggers. Cuhdear Bajan was forced to suggest that for a particular embassy it was only a single person so engaged.

All these scare tactics aimed at frightening us while locating himself as a knowledgeable prrson. He is not and has never been.

The misinformed economic information this ugly man has peddled here for years is legendary. An economics commentator but for nearly a decade did not know what the financialization of economy was. Instead, Halton Austin peddled outdated concepts mouthed by respectable White men, economists, in London who themselves were just as ignorant as him about the workings of a financialized economy. His record is here for all to see.

How is it that a socalled former journalist could be so wrong about everything for so long unless he is an assshoooool.

44. William Skinner Avatar

Two parties sharing more than sixty years of government did not build a pavilion in St. George and they polluting the night air blaming one another. If this is isn’t a comedy , I don’t know what comedy is.
    Any “ neutral “ observer will admit that the third parties are presenting the better platforms but the blind bloating kool aid drinkers on BU cannot bring themselves to admit that.
    From Joy Edwards in the 70s to George Payne in the 20 (20s) they can’t fix White Hill.
    Sixty years of collective government and flooding shutting down schools.
    Imagine fooling the world that poor black children going school on line and they have no tablets and are not even on line.

45. I have warned people before that the high commissions and embassies have armies of people who go through all publications, social media and gossip with a fine tooth comb….(Quote)

The nameless natives are getting restless.

46. Now Halton Austin repeats his lies. Even after being corrected by somebody who should know.

No more than an over-aged baby who has not a clue about how intelligence agencies work.

What about the lies told today, repeat them too. The one about naming sources.

47. If Halton Austin was honest he would have also published Cuhdear Bajan’s correction as welll.

48. Mariposa what red herring you coming with now?Enuff asked a quedtion sometime back about Mr Reifer,s plans for SGN and by extension the Dems and i ain, t hear no response from you who claim he has all this momentum.Repeating like a parrot walking about in the constuency and listening to people and high unemployment is one side whst will he try to do about it? The other piece of advice for Mr Reifer who i respect as a cricketer and coach is to keep political losers like Mr Pilgrim who could not even beat another political loser like Ms Depeiza recently far away from you along with most of the ex MP,s thst is a recipe for disaster.

49. So far i think Reifer embarrassing the blp govt to treat SGN with respect is enough
    Reifer a political lightweight forced govt to start finishing 26year old projects that they started
    Lorenzo arent u ashamed to be calling or asking me what plans Reifer has for the SGN people when evidence of the treatment by the blp minister in the way it was meted out to the people of SGN was influential of Reifer propelling govt to act

Leave a Reply to BAJECancel reply