Grenville Phillips, Candidate for St. George North and Leader of Solutions Barbados

From my visits to almost every community in St George North, I have found one consistent desperate need. The employed want work for the unemployed, and the unemployed want work. All other issues were secondary.

All five candidates in this by-election (BLP, DLP, Solutions Barbados, UPP, and PdP) have a responsibility to propose workable solutions to the unemployment problems in St George North. The plans must not depend on new government funding, because the Government will claim that they have no money.

If a candidate does not have a workable plan, then they need to devise one. The plan should be fully operational in the 30 months remaining in the current election cycle.

UNCONSCIONABLE PRETENSE

If a candidate does not have a workable plan, then they should stop pretending that they do. It is unconscionable to give desperately hurting people false hope and empty promises.

The people of St George North do not only need a Member of Parliament (MP) in this by-election. There are so many MP’s in the House of Assembly, that the Prime Minister does not know what to do with them. The people of St George North need someone to manage workable employment generating projects.

Our plan is designed to make St George North the most prosperous constituency in Barbados. Both the plan, and my capacity to implement it, are contained in Solutions Barbados’ manifesto (attached). Please contact us if you have not received your copy.

All constituencies in Barbados are hurting. St George North voters have a responsibility to give them hope, and not let them down. They can do this by voting for the best plan for themselves, not their party.

If people are prospering, then families, businesses, churches, and community organisations automatically benefit.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and Solutions Barbados Candidate for St George North. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

Two and one half minute) audio recording of “What do the Residents of St George North Want?

580 responses to “What do the Residents of St George North Want?”

1. Again the problem is not Mariposa but a govt who have flung its borders wide open not having clue how the virus is spread and a time period for people to be exposed
    If people came in and tested negative it does not mean that leaving the result would hold true when returning to the USA
    Once again this govt has shown how inept and clueless there are about the spread of the virus
    Today once again the CDC has proven these “so called” Barbados health officials how wrong their are
    So wrong that they can be putting peoples lives at risk without having a clue

2. @Hants October 14, 2020 9:46 AM “Glyne Clarke should stay in Barbados. Code red: Ottawa reaches highest level on pandemic scale.”

Maybe he can be High Commissioner to Canada, right from his home in St. George North. Why go to Ottawa, when he can work remotely?

By the way Liz gone back to New York yet? And how is her dying mummy?

3. @Carson C Cadogan October 14, 2020 4:48 PM “But we cant allow prominent people to continue to die off without leaving something of importance behind.”

When you have figured out a way to stop prominent people from dying, please tell the rest of us.

becausin’ it might work fah we too.

4. Perhaps our prominent people should take the time once a week to make their own notes, what they did that week, what they wanted to do but failed to get done, whom they met, what they though f others around them et.

After ten years in office they should have 500 to 1,000 pages. A good start. Then work with an excellent editor/publisher to pull it all together. The original notes should go to the university.

It takes about 30 minutes to writ a single page. There are 168 hours in a week. I am certain that any public figure can find 30 minutes. Perhaps between 4:30 and 5:00 on Sunday mornings. However this would mean that public figures cannot go to bed full ‘o liquors on Saturday nights.

5. Look at all the money that id invested in letting tourist in barbados
    Then the CDC gives barbados a black eye
    On top of all that barbados opens a welcome stamp mat to people living abroad to live and work in barbados
    The problem for outsiders reading both stories is confusing and begs ask where does the truth lies
    Either the CDC alert is much ado about nothing or it has info that does not support barbados govt officials side of the story that paints a picture of control

6. Be jeez! Yuh mean fuh munts de only COVID we got heh is wuh jus step off de plane and yuh still cyan admit de people doing good job????

I follow the protocols and I feel safe in Barbados.

We are not the problem.

The “big brains” of the “developed world” appear damaged to the point of being useless in keeping themselves alive.

Maybe now we will break free of the chains of mental slavery that make many of us see them as superior. Look at the ugly ass multitudes of idiots at a Trump COVID party defying a virus and feeling proud. Millions and millions of idiots. And in Europe too. Look at the Q Anon jackasses!

These neanderthals are destroying the world.

Where is Tron or Bushie?

Those two could write a tragicomedy or satire to rival anything produced anywhere!

7. @Michael Campbell October 15, 2020 12:55 PM “Remember years ago when there were women that feel they were the village bully? They used to walk about looking to pick a noise with other people and would bear things in mind, just waiting for the day to come that the people do something so they could cuss them out. When that day come the bully would go out in the road or in front the other people houses, hold up her dress and cuss and insult them stink, stink, calling them all kinds of nasty names and reap up a lot of old things that happen in the past.

Why you doan stop telling lies on we Bajan women?

I’ve lived in rural working class Bajan villages for nearly 70 years and I’ve never witnessed any woman engage in the behavior which you have described, “hold up her dress and cuss

Although I have witnessed drunken men, and I’ve been told about one who would be naked and drunk in the gutter on Sunday afternoons when his children combed, bathed, and neatly and carefully by their mother were on their way to Sunday school. And once a man died on the rum shop step, and they found him there next morning.

8. The current CDC ain’t got one rasshole! They are being dictated to politically and not scientifically by Trump appointees.

If Barbados has COVID cases you think they could remain hidden? I don’t know when last I heard a sniffle or a cough in Barbados.

Don’t you ever get tired of nonsense politics?????

The sickness you have is far worse than COVID! I would rather die than catch your sickness.

9. @Mariposa October 15, 2020 4:24 PM “Keep watching how the COVID wagon has gone to the COVID express
    The CDC had issued another level three COVID warning asking travellers within the USA not to travell to Barbados.”

I never know where to start with Mariposa. Mariposa is a mountain of ignorance.

So if I go to the USA now, they want to know where I was on October 15, 2019? Why? Does a person remain infected with covid for 365 days?

The CDC collects and publishes data and that data is based on the increase in the number of cases in a country/city/state/province etc. over the past 7 days. Since the CDC has an office at the U.S. Embassy at Wildey, I am sure that the very well educated staff reported that we had the Ellerslie cluster of 7, and now 5 imported cases, so our number of positive cases increased by 12, so the number in isolation has more than doubled in a 7 day period, but ALL 12 cases are linked to imports, including imports from the UNITED STATES. And all 12 cases are in isolation and being well being cared for, including some of whom may be citizens of both the United States and Barbados; or citizens of both the United Kingdom and Barbados.

For Mariposa to suggest that American pepole who have visited Barbados are exporting covid to the United States is a horrendous misuse of the CDC’s data.

Not a single case of covid has been exported from Barbados to the USA.

So the CDC’s data is like using a hammer to kill a fly.

i remember once going to Montserrat, and before I went I read the data and Montserrat was listed as the most murderous country in the world. The data was correct, but the interpretation was horrendously wrong. What had happened is that once in 20 years some igrunt, jealous fella had unfortunately killed his girlfriend, but in such a small population it pushed that place into the country with the highest murder rate in the world, even while most people were sleeping with their windows open.

As that witty American Mark Twain noted “there are lies, damned lies, and statistics”

Unfortunately some Americans, not by any means all,, are as dumb as Mariposa.

10. At least 60 million of them are as dumb as Mariposa. Dat is nuff nuff dumbness.

11. Michael Campbell Avatar
    Michael Campbell

I’ve lived in rural working class Bajan villages for nearly 70 years and I’ve never witnessed any woman engage in the behavior which you have described, “hold up her dress and cuss.”

So, Cuhdear Bajan, because you never witness it happen in villages you lived in, means it did not happen some where else in Barbados and I telling lies? You trying to say that your village was the benchmark people used to judge all the other villages Barbados? But, then again, when you were young, I wasn’t born yet.

The difference with me is, I am not going to say you telling lies because you said you never see it happen before. But what I could tell you is that back in the day, women blocking in gaps was a regular thing.

I remember when I was younger, one night two women had a cuss out in the next gap. One of them on a nighty that was torn at the side, which she was holding together. When the argument got more heated she let go from holding the nighty, with her hands flaring and fist pumping (sounds familiar?) and everything was exposed. She turned to crowd and shout out, “I don’t even care who see the bubbies.”

12. What’s the point?

13. Michael Campbell Avatar
    Michael Campbell

Donna, what you talking about? You forget Hal Austin say Mari is intelligent….. and you know, his word is gospel?

The problem with Mari is that she is always waiting for somebody to say something bad about Barbados or something bad to happen, so she could have something to blame Mia Mottley for.

14. Michael Campbell Avatar
    Michael Campbell

THE POINT IS if some you read between the lines, especially the part about dropping snide nasty remarks, which some of you hide behind telling people have good day, or calling them animals, you might identify yourself.

Who the cap fit.

15. Michael your mummy or daddy shoulda call you inside right away. Lol!

Had nuff nuff churches in my village, and al the women, children and old men; and a few of the younger men used to go to church, even the ones who haunted the rum shops went to church at Christmas and Old Year’s.

16. Michael Campbell mariposa does not have a problem
    The CDC notes that there is a COVID problem in barbados and warns travellers to stay away
    As much as govt officials try to put a clam face on the problem the problem of COVID is a threat and one cannot disappeared by the claming tones of govt official utterances
    How does govt respond to the CDC might be worth a wait however a wait that cannot be tempered as CDC info varies differently from those of govt officials

17. Women does cuss out. Men does cuss out. Women an men does cuss out. I have heard about the blocking thing but I have never witnessed it. I have also read about it. Seen skits about it. It is part of our folklore.

It happens.

But back to the 60 million dumb Americans who, unlike sixty million Frenchmen, can be and are very very wrong – they are the Trump COVID party goers trying for “herd mentality” so we don’t want their dumb, infected, racist, asses here anyway and they think we are a shithole country, so we are safe from them. Many of that herd of sheep are dead broke anyway.

The never Trumpers are smart enough to put statistics in context. Without context, statistics are very misleading.

18. Have a great night, my friend.

19. Honestly, I did not realize that wishing your country of birth a “great day” must come from one side of the political spectrum.

I have noticed a select few seem to resent my wishing Barbados a great day

Whether you are B or D, on the island or overseas, I wish you a great day.

Have a great day Barbadians.

If that upsets you in anyway, tough luck.

20. Comissiong sticks his mouth into the Issue of the CDC warning and calls the warning an error on the CDC part
    This guy continues to prove himself as a joker

21. The CDC findings are in complete opposite to what govt has been saying at home
    Instead of the joker getting in touch with the CDC as Ambassdor to Caricom
    He utters political poop as defense for govt and to condemn CDC warnings
    What a loose cannon Comissiong

22. Michael Campbell Avatar
    Michael Campbell

I see that somebody decide to wear the cap.

WHO said that people resent or upset if somebody tell them to have a good day or if it must come from one side of the political spectrum?

Some of you people can’t think outside the DLP or BLP box. You always looking to identify somebody as a D or B.

That is some weird thinking.

23. Have a great day Barbados.
    An interesting read
    https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/10/16/women-key-to-regional-food-security/

Also interesting.
    https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/10/16/thieves-stealing-thousands-of-dollars-worth-of-stock-from-farmers/

This comment puzzles me “If I use an object to brand the pigs, they may no longer be deemed fit for human consumption,” he explained”

Why would branding spoil their meat?

-xx-
    ” Consequently, when criminals strike at night, there is no one on-site to defend their investment and according to Smart, numerous complaints to the Royal Barbados Police Force (RBPF) appear to be falling on deaf ears”.

If they cannot rely on the police, then dogs, a gun, a small building on the site (shack) and someone staying on site may have to be considered.

Have a great day Barbados.

24. Bostic says that Barbados had a similar problem with Germany in reference to COVID warnings
    But it was resolved
    How revealing
    Bajans hate truth until after the damage is done

25. Bostic meandering utterances on COVID are Trump like
    Interesting to hear him say that Harrison point is a multimillion centre
    When is govt going to say how much it is costing the tax payers in medical cost for each COVID case

26. The DLP has done the right thing in suspending Kemar Stuart following his charge on a drug offence. In doing so, it does not mean innocence or guilt, but that the process must be transparent and that the party must be on the side of the rule of law.
    It also means they have denied the BLP the opportunity to link the party with the offence, especially during the by-election. The BLP is desperate and is clutching at straws.
    What the DLP must now do, as a matter of urgency, is ask questions about the prosecution. When was Mr Stuart arrested? And, if it was months ago, as some rumours suggest, what caused the delay in the prosecution?
    The more we look at this case, the more it looks as if Mr Stuart was guilty of more than youthful exuberance, but is he a victim of unfortunate circumstances? Was this a set up?
    The awful thing about the case is that if convicted a young man in his prime may be denied opportunities to travel to certain countries, to do certain jobs, and will carry the stigma of a drug conviction for life. This is a fight the DLP cannot avoid.

27. Stupse!

28. I know the psychology of the buggers. If they cannot debate rationally, then they resort to being abusive and obnoxious. The trick is that your politeness will force you to drop the discussion. They are wrong.
    My agenda – one of the idiots favourite words – is to inform future generations of Barbadians that at least one of us tried to fight against the tide of mediocrity.
    As to my working life, I am not looking to them for validation, didn’t when I was working, and now I am retired could not give a fig’s leaf. I do not like singing my own praises, but I would put myself against any journalist of my generation working in the English language.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

@ Hal

I AGREE WITH YOU 200% AS MY AIM IS TO EDUCATE THE YOUNGER GENERATION AS I HAVE LIVED ON THE 2×3 ISLAND WITHIN THE LAST 10 YEARS FOR SOME PERIOD.

I KNOW FIRST HAND OF BOTH LOCAL AND ABROAD.

OUR JOB IS TO CONTINUE TO TELL THE TRUTH AND EXPOSE.

THE ONES WHO WANT TO DWELL AND BE STUCK IN THE HOLE CAN CONTINUE THEIR AFFAIRS AS I HAVE LEARNT THAT IF ONE DOESN’T MOVE AWAY FROM NEGATIVE SITUATIONS OR PEOPLE ONE CAN GO AROUND IN CIRCLES AND MAKE NO PROGRESS YEARS LATER.

UNLIKE YOU HOWEVER IF I NEED TO CURSE TO GET MY POINT ACROSS FROM TIME TO TIME WHEN DEALING WITH ANY NITWIT I WILL CONTINUE TO DO SO.

IF ALL SLAVES WERE DOCILE BLACK PEOPLE WOULD STILL BE IN PHYSICAL SLAVERY ALTHOUGH UNFORTUNATELY MANY ARE STILL TRAPPED IN MENTAL SLAVERY HOODWINKED BY THE WHITE MAN BIBLE AND DISHONEST POLITICIANS POSING AS THEIR FRIENDS WHO ARE LOOKING OUT SOLELY FOR THEIR BEST INTERESTS.

29. @Hal “I know the psychology of the buggers. If they cannot debate rationally, then they resort to being abusive and obnoxious. The trick is that your politeness will force you to drop the discussion. They are wrong.
    My agenda – one of the idiots favourite words – is to inform future generations of Barbadians that at least one of us tried to fight against the tide of mediocrity. As to my working life, I am not looking to them for validation, didn’t when I was working, and now I am retired could not give a fig’s leaf. I do not like singing my own praises, but I would put myself against any journalist of my generation working in the English language.”

Some might say that calling people from the community which nurtured you:
    buggers
    Irrational
    abusive
    obnoxious
    idiots
    mediocre

Is also irrational, abusive, obnoxious and idiotic. Maybe you are the prime example of what you like to call “the Bajan condition”

30. Here, in part, is a bogus claim by Junior to the people of St George North. According to Barbados Today, he says: “……He said there were several questions to be asked.

He said while the BLP was proposing fish farming as a means to bring prosperity to St George North, constituents needed to ask who was funding it and what was the planned implementation date.

He said the DLP was planning to assist young people with cricket and to have a skills bank. However, he questioned what would happen to those youth not interested in cricket. He added that the idea of a skills bank had been tried numerous times without success.

The candidate said while the BFP planned to do construction there were questions surrounding the candidate’s capacity to implement it.

Phillips said the PdP’s farming plan was nothing new and faced several challenges, while the UPP’s intentions to monetize the creative industries also left several question marks.

However, he pointed out that as an engineer he was well equipped and qualified to deliver on his promises.

“Solutions Barbados plans to employ persons in the construction of houses and to train families to start businesses, with no start-up money. I have 30 years’ of experience in the construction industry, and I am the 2014 winner of the National Innovation Competition.

“I already train people how to build strong and low-maintenance houses, and to start profitable businesses. Therefore, I welcome the scrutiny,” Phillips said…(Quote)

What an inflated ego? Government employs over 25000 people with various skills, it also has the authority to contract in experts to carry out specific jobs.
    Politicians need to have ideas, the civil servants are there to put meat on the bones and workers to carry out those instructions.
    So, Junior’s qualifications and experience are irrelevant to the above tasks.