Last week the four main opposition political parties announced they will combine forces to support one candidate in the by-election to be held on the 11 November 2020 in St. George North. Leading political commentator @budavid described the move has “shrewd”and one that finally demonstrated a level of political maturity not witnessed since universal suffrage in the Caribbean.

When asked to elaborate by international foreign affairs correspondent @Pachamama, @budavid indicated adversarial politics was the vestige of a colonial past and had demonstrably failed to optimally define the people of the island state of Barbados. He stated, “we are a homogenous society and a consensus type of politics should be the alternative to determine the future of our small predominantly Black nation- and to ensure the hopes of a proud small island developing state are realised and fears are assuaged“.

The entrenched incumbent political party has implemented and supported a raft of polices on winning office which have weakened the voice of the opposition and served to destabilize the system of governance as envisaged by the framers of the Westminster system which the country has parodied. Two polices continuing to attract scathing critique from the BU intelligentsia are the politics of co-option and the reluctance of the incumbent and entrenched government to relax the rule governing a subvention for opposition political parties.

And the politics of inclusion practised by the incumbent party reared its head again last week with the head of the largest trade union fast tracked for membership in a record setting one week to support her candidature in St. George North. The leader of the incumbent party admitted party rules had to be ‘abridged’ to accommodate the new member.

The incumbent political party has dismissed repeated calls to relax the rule that prevents a subvention to political parties who have not faced the electorate. @budavid recently reminded the prime minister from the #barbados_underground that she had a “duty of care” as primus inter pares and guardian of our democracy to be bipartisan when treating with certain matters. She was also reminded that there was no hesitation by the government she represents to amend the Constitution for less important matters as reflected in Hansard.

The shrew decision of the Opposition parties to coalesce behind the candidate with the best chance to win has resonated across Barbados and resulted in the needle on the Political Apathy Index (PAI) shifting +10 – the most significant movement in 40 years. A desirable outcome of the tectonic shift in political sentiment has resulted in the redundancy of political pollsters.

That the political system has mechanisms by which political parties can reach a compromise even though they disagree on policies. In Sweden, difficult issues are sent to a commission on which all the parties and key interest groups are represented in order to reach an agreement, and, in Austria, Government, business and the trade unions agree on the main economic policies and the left and right parties accept what has been agreed.

Britpolitics

@budavid throws his support behind the move by the main opposition parties to embrace a consensus style of politics and hopes that it will be the catalyst for a transformation event to a consensus style of democracy. For too long the hopes and aspirations of a proud people have been superseded by the paramountcy of the political party.

369 responses to “Opposition Parties Reach Compromise to Run One Candidate in St. George North By Election”

1. @ Crusoe

@ Greene

Welcome on board. There is the theory and there is the reality. The coffee-coloured people of Brazil are more racist than white Europeans; to say that is almost an insult. But have you ever interacted with the South Americans in Clapham or Brent?
    The same with even with your English-born siblings. We jump from this reality in to the Pan-Africanist ideal of brotherhood. You both know that Londoners born one side of the river do not like those born the other side and all of the UK dislike Londoners.
    Even in Barbados we have men and women, nearly all pensioners, who still sulk about why their parents left them in Barbados to go to Britain. Some of them are bitter and twisted and fail to see the reality that the parents had to leave Barbados to get a job to support them with their remittances.
    I have some Chinese friends and we talk in a kind of code: I will ask, for example, if a new girlfriend/boyfriend is a BBC (British Born Chinese), then there will be some light-hearted joke about BBCs not being real Chinese. They are all dismissive of Hong Kongers.
    Who remembers the Biafran war in Nigeria? Or the terrorist attacks between the protestants and Catholics in Northern Ireland.

2. Elombe has espoused a position that the English speaking Caribbean should be regarded as one space. Go figure.

3. it was during British rule. so why not again?

4. Does that Caribbean space include Bermuda/Guyana and/ or The Bahamas? We have been here before will the result be any different from 60 years prior? 1 from 10 leaves nought

5. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

That’s a fair assessment and plan @Austin… You may hide behind your deliberate word games as you wish…

We come to the blog to debate and take apart the various points raised and YOU sir have no more of a ‘do non-take-apart pass’ to play pretty word games than anyone else will get.

Were I the ONLY blogger who finds your language hypocritical then ur “it’s me not you” folly may have passed muster but surely it can’t be all the others too who are so illogical.

@Crusoe, maybe I have misread of misunderstood your remarks above re Brazil, as I am shocked that only now is your realization of the colourism/racism of that nation.

As much as they loved Pele the nation is grossly racist. Even when the maestro was a Minister (or whatever govt post he had) until recently (last time I checked) the number of Afro-Brazilians in Congress, Executive corp positions, key leaders in society or in governance leadership was abjectly minuscule… Brazil afterall has the largest population of African (Blacks) outsize of the continent.

On that @Austin’s (and Cuba too) rhetoric is quite correct.

6. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Hal

I just cant understand why they give such a hard time time here on BU. A lesser man would have given up.

7. @ Carson

They do not really know me. They think they do. I was born and raised in the Ivy. Do you think a few flies on BU will intimidate me?

8. IT IS WELL known the flies do not intimidate shit. right DPD? yuh fly . whaloss

9. @Dpd, I only understood that about Brazil a few years ago.

We see the facade of football internationals , beautiful women of all hues at carnival, but not the workings of state so much.

Because of the high proportion of people of African origin there and the international facade, could not conceive that it could be so structurally racist.

10. But looka muh crosses
    Reifer open mout in SGN. shamed the govt and things getting started in SGN
    But look muh crosses SGN had a long standing minister for 26 years and the place was running away with bush
    Reifer keep hitting them sixes people listening and watching
    26 years SGN running away with bush
    Reifer shows up and less than two weeks big things happening
    Respect due

11. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

He up in there for 26 years and the Constituency still PISS POOR. But he. he RICH, RICH, RICH.

He claiming to “”represent”” the people. And represent himself. Houses, land, Apartments, Cars, Women, and the list goes on. Now another joker from the BLP told it is her turn to do the dog up in SGN.

12. @Carson

If someone has a lifestyle that his/her declared earnings cannot justify, that is a prima facie case for a forensic investigation.

13. A good set of the contributions here are vomitous–the lies, half-truths and hypocrisy. Can’t wait for the by-election to end.

14. Clarke should be locked up for taking tax payers nothing and doing nuttin
    Now Mia gets rid of him and puts another do nothing representative called Moore(lol) who did nothing to represent Union members in two years while she draw a salary from money placed in govt revenue from tax payers
    The long and short govt has no intentions of helping the people ofSGN
    When election over govt would stop the cleaning
    What a bunch of jokers teking SGN people fuh fools

15. the jokers are in here spewing it. SGN already know who clarke was and that he his family was “well off” even before he entered politics. Even people outside SGN know this. so you fools can continue!

16. Michael Campbell Avatar
    Michael Campbell

They do not really know me. They think they do. I was born and raised in the Ivy. Do you think a few flies on BU will intimidate me?

Hal Austin, you are easy to intimidate. When people disagree with or challenge you, you get very, very angry. To the point that you would go into the gutter to call them things like slimy pigs and social vermin. Then you does stop speaking to people and hold them in mind and would drop all kinds of nasty remarks.

You are the only man that does behave so on BU. The other men would disagree with each other and be men enough to praise each other’s post.

But you, you behave like a WHORE We shouldn’t be surprised because you say you used to be in a Nelson Street rum shop.

Men that does behave so are usually homosexuals. I believe you are a BULLER.

17. Mariposa as someone already told videos and social media don, t win elections hard work does.If this is Mr Reifer,s strategy he already on the road to defeat.As i said i respect Mr Reifer as a cricketer and coach but let, s be serious he is a rookie politician and can do little for the people in opposition.You know that, he knows that, and the people in SGN especially the youths he kerps speaking of knows that.As for CCC you might have well stayed buried and in hiding as Mr Phillips will win nothing so prepare for another loss in my view.Tell us you left the dems now and supporting Solutions?My advice to them is to keep you far from around them.

18. Now Reifer owns the bragging rights for exposing Clarkes record sending the blp party running for cover
    Thanks to the videos and social media platforms
    Refier momentum has exploded across social media with the help of a blp strategy which has blown up in their face

19. they say Reifer cant speak but Gline Clarke and Dddddwwwwwight Sutherland can?