Unfolding in Barbados, is the by-election in St George North with Ms. Toni Moore as the candidate for the Barbados Labour Party. In her response at the public announcement, she stated that she is going to “help labour.” It makes absolutely no sense at all because her job description is to “help labour,” and in addition she also sits as a Senator and is a member of the Sub- Committee of the Social Partnership.

Has Ms. Moore forgotten what a labour union is? By definition, it is an organized association of workers, trades or professions, formed to protect and further their rights and interests.

In fact, if the union needed advancement or a political voice to protect them in today’s Barbados, my argument is that the General Secretary of the largest workers union in Barbados, the Barbados Workers Union should not have accepted an offer to be candidate of a political party when she has the capacity to form her own political party.

The trade union movement has been at the cross roads in Barbados for some time and perhaps forming a worker’s party is the requirement to inject new life into this entity.

We all know the old adage, if only the lion knew its strength, then it would rule the world. In 2020, why would the leader of the largest workers union in Barbados accept the candidacy to be a part of political party and not create their own? Is it that there is a lack of vision?

In my opinion, there being no real labour parties left in Barbados, the onus on her should have been to realize this and form a labour party. Sadly Ms. Moore did not see this opportunity.

What is a labour party? It is simply a political party formed to represent the interests of ordinary working people. Based on their performance, both the BLP and the DLP have long since departed the model.

There are tremendous benefits that can be derived for the ordinary workers of Barbados if a worker’s union formed its own political party. An increase in the minimum wage, redirecting the emphasis of government to the ordinary working class instead of big business, redirection of government contracts, the development of housing for the working class, the development of workers co-operatives and business development that serves as a platform for black economic enfranchisement and the list goes on.

If she wins the by-election, the conflict of interest that will arise for Ms. Moore goes far beyond which hat she wears to ultimately which voice takes precedence, that of the Prime Minister or that of the members of the Barbados Workers Union. Based on her recent acts of conceding to government demands, it is unlikely that this will change. Most likely members of the workers union will not be confident about an altered relationship which will be perceived as the union in bed with the government.

One can be of the opinion that Ms. Moore was quite shortsighted. It is hoped that she has not dropped her bone for a reflection. However, there is scope for someone to take the trade union movement to new and greater heights than it has previously achieved.

213 responses to “Another Heather Cole Column – Another Perspective Toni Moore”

1. Toni Moore will win and restore the 30 – 1 .

Barbados is a de facto one party state until 2023 unless…..

2. @Dee Word

No need to intellectualise. The state of mind of the electorate may have changed. There is growing apathy with the political system. To anchor your position in an aged old belief adds nothing to the cause.

3. Boy did Mia b..itch slap Caswell.over 400 hundred dollars
    Mia is a tyrant

4. Caswell debunks Mia account of the 400 hundred dollars
    Hope he sue her for slander

CASWELL EXPLAINS:

The DAILY NATION contacted Franklyn, who denied Mottley’s account of things. According to the Opposition Senator, as a member of the BLP at the time, he received $400 from the party’s foundation, which was set up to help persons who had fallen on hard times. He made it clear that these funds had nothing to do with his Unity trade union, which was operating from a room in his house at the time.

Membership dues

“That is an absolute lie. I never came and asked for anything. Firstly, I was never given a cent to pay any rent.

“I was a member of the Barbados Labour Party. I was out of work and I was talking to [someone in the party] one day and the issue of my finances came up and she told me about this foundation that helps people. I was offered some money and being broke at the time I took it. It was $400 and it had nothing to do with Unity trade union.

“As a matter of fact, Unity Workers’ Union operated from my front-house for five years before we moved to St James,” said Franklyn, who added that the party should have a record of him signing for only that sum of money.

Franklyn also disclosed that he has not paid membership dues at the BLP and therefore cannot be considered a member. He also said that he was not surprised that the Prime Minister chose to make that money matter public.

“I am not offended by it, simply because I don’t expect any better behaviour. It is sad that they would help someone who is down on their luck and unemployed with $400 and then take ten years to walk about telling people about it,” he said.

5. What a dam shame and she holds title of PM
    Also which brings to mind her legal background which would have provided her legal advice in avoiding her from walking so close to the danger zone

6. If anyone has any doubts about the kind of person Mia is
    They need to watch the SGN video and Mia presentation
    A witch a bitch and a tyrant all wrapped up in one
    Hope Caswell take a legal course against her damming and despicable utterances against him
    I would

7. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

That’s just disgustingly petty … re the PM and Sen Franklyn! The man should be applauded for rising from his state of job lost and starting his new union.

@David, you have catspraddled me again with The state of mind of the electorate may have changed. There is growing apathy with the political system. To anchor your position in an aged old belief adds nothing to the cause.”

The union boss drives a car that costs more than several beautiful wooden houses in Bim or as much as one lovely wall house in any Heights or Gardens neighborhood; she receives a likely whopping salary, expense account and other perks; sits on this Social Partnership Council and all in all moves at a very high level… but YOU are telling me that I am anchored in ‘age old beliefs’!

All that seems quite ‘new age’ to me! … and starting another new party in at attempt to ‘fix’ that is what would be “aged old belief’ if you were to ask me! The union likely needs some ‘aged old beliefs’ and principles reinstated frankly, just not the new party one!

But I am counterfactual in that way!😎🤣

8. HantsSeptember 29, 2020 4:22 PM Toni Moore will win and restore the 30 – 1 .Barbados is a de facto one party state until 2023 unless…..
    +++

You allude to a possible separation of a segment, even possibly driven by the newcomer moving ahead of existing MP’s. Crossed my mind too. Every action has a reaction.

9. @Hants
    Your call of MoL is not far fetched.
    If you watch, the NIS has been VERY closely guarded. We saw a former Board member (as a BEC nominee), turned elected politician, Mr Colin Jordan assume the Ministry. Another former Board member. Mr Gooding-Edghill (a BHTA nominee) turned elected politican, assumed the Board Chair. Ably aided by the former GM/CEO of the NIS, now the Director of Finance, and the BDLP’s clean-up hitter Mr.Persaud. Former Chair Dr JR, kept on as a Director of the Central Bank, while professionally being made a Full Professor at UWI and Dept head. Ms Moore the BWU rep, and the NUPW rep, continued on post May 2018.
    It would seem very plausible if not MoL, she is likely to assume the Chair, similarly to Mr. G-E, prior to be assigned Ministerial responsibilities.
    A good way to sink her, for sooner or later, somebody has to wear the NIS?

10. politics is a nasty business but that was beyond the pale by MAM. a leader to be admired, just wow… but such is life. that was designed to neuter Franklyn the only vocal opposition MAM and the BLP have at the moment. a party with a 29-1 majority is running against a senator who is not a declared candidate.

knowing Caswell the fight is on

11. I’m wondering if this Mariposa who’s now reminding us about ‘prime ministerial ethics,’ is the same Mariposa who endorsed the behaviour of former PM Stuart, when he along with former parliamentarians lambasted Mottley at a campaign meeting in Waterford?

“Legal background???” Lest I’m accused of criticising anything positive about the DLP…….. are you the same Mariposa who spent 2016, 2017 and part of 2018 pushing the LEC issue, trying to convince all and sundry Mottley was essentially practicing law illegally in Barbados?

12. @enuff

To make that comparison is beyond the pale.

13. Mariposa Mr Franklyn admitted he received 400 dollars and also that he never officially resign from the BLP.Tell us what Mr Franklyn will sue about.Mr Franklyn likes sharing licks therefore he has to take licks as well and i do not believe Ms Mottley has any fear of Mr Franklyn.By the way Mr Franklyn is a senator and trade unionist .What is the difference between Mr Franklyn and Ms Moore?Or for that matter Sir Roy, Mr Morris or Mr Greaves ?The answer nothing.This is a lot of hot air over nothing and this too shall pass.The people of SGN and the union will determine Ms Moore, fate not the usual mainly overseas belly achers.Lastly tell us who of us know whether Ms Moore has resign or not at this point? ,

14. Franklyn said that the money had nothing to do with Unity
    Mia presented a case trying to prove that her govt was not anti Union
    In her own utterances Mia stated that the blp paid Unity rent
    Frankly says different that at the time he received any money from the blp his place of residence was the office for Unity
    Mia as usual tried to sell a bold faced embellished story to gain emotional support from the SGN gathering
    What a dam shame

15. @Lorenzo September 29, 2020 5:43 PM “Lastly tell us who of us know whether Ms Moore has resign or not at this point? ”

If Ms.Moore has resigned from the Senate, then she should immediately inform us, because we the tax payers are her employer.

So whether she is at work in the Senate or not should not be a secret from us.

16. So was it $100 per month for 4 moths to rent the front room being used as an office?

Or was it a one-time $400 to help out a BLP member who was having a hard time?

Or was/is somebody cooking the books on Roebuck Street?

So many questions???

17. Glad enough that when i have been broke I could ask one of the siblings or one of the kids.

18. Mentioning the $400 is intended to politically emasculate Caswell. Knowing Caswell as we do, it will have the opposite effect. Is it not strange we have a by election in full gear and still no sighting of the DLP? If the blogmaster were the PM Election Day would be sooner rather than later.

19. Caswell need not feel emasculated.

We are all broke at some point of our lives. Some people are saying that even Donald Trump may be broke at some time in the future.

So no shame there. Accepting a small gift in difficult times from an organization of which you have been a long time member is NOT shameful.

Taking a loan and making no effort to pay it back, that would be shameful.

I am owed many tens of thousands by a certain person, but would never speak of it in public.

But then again I am not a politician.

20. David
    The argument is union leaders should be apolitical. Caswell is an Opposition Senator and therefore is involved with a political party. Have I not seen Senator Franklyn at PdP press conferences? It is only pale because you want to pick and choose. The argument that because Caswell is an Opposition senator makes his situation different is disingenuous and frankly nonsense. One can thwart government in the interest of party/self or thwart workers in the interest of party/self.

21. Mottley has shown how brazen a politician she could be even at a point of being untrurhful
    Ok she picks Tony Moore but cannot says what good or provide examples of any thing of worth Moore has done to help struggling workers in the past two years as Senator
    However goes on a tirade about a measly 400 hundred dollars to Caswell
    Enough utterances from her mouth to mek dog stomach sick
    Only a low life would help a person in financial need and talk about it when there are personnel differences ten years later
    Her utterances speak to a mind set of a person whose only interest is self
    ######yardfowldramamiastyle

22. If the money was because he was broke then she should not have mentioned it

But Caswell threw the first stone and mam never mentioned that it was because he was broke. He revealed that himself

23. Since we talking about digging up dirt, did you all see the 5 companies that get the Highway one $15 million project ?

Any conflict of interest ?

24. @enuff

Caswell did not offer himself to the public. Caswell’s Union does not compete with the BWU.

25. What year is this?

26. Si Caswell is the trailblazer that Moore is to follow?

27. OSA if u only knew
    She call uh out of retirement mek uh wear too hats and tge rest is history
    Poor George Payne
    Now Mottley not so intrested in crime
    What a ting doah

28. Sarge:

ONE: Wgy don’t you let Owen rest in peace.

TWO: I don’t like duppy politics

29. @Cuhdear
    I will as soon as others stop mentioning Adams (both of them), Barrow, St. John and Thompson

30. @Lorenzo September 29, 2020 5:43 PM “Mr Franklyn admitted he received 400 dollars and also that he never officially resign from the BLP.”

And your point is that once a member, always a member? He is also reported to have said that “he has not paid dues in over a decade and is therefore not in good standing”.

31. WILLIE

He did not resigned from the party is what she said.
    so technically he is still a member but not in good standing

32. Mentioning $400.00 is in poor taste in the context the money was given. Barbadian are not silly. By Senator Caswell’s body of work not resigning from the BLP is a matter of little consequence in the minds of the sensible average Bajan.

33. agreed about the poor taste if it was to help him when he was down.
    Sensible average Bajans know this shit is part of the political tit for tat especially at election times so agreed on that too

34. werent we promised a DLP candidate by Tuesday? or was the tuesday next week?

35. Verla has a deliberate style way of doing things which contrast starkly with Mottley. She will have to work on getting her political tempo adjusted.

36. Mia needs to stop taking taxpayers money to create political posts to muzzle people at taxpayer’s expense, the money is not hers nor BLPs, that is an exceedingly nasty practice that both governments think makes them brilliant, instead the money could go toward the homeless to build shelters to prevent them DYING ON THE STREETS..

they too love to waste taxpayer’s money for their lowcrawling nastiness.

37. Only the lower class would help someone with 4 hundred measly dollars and make it a political talking point in retaliation, says more about them than their target…then these nobodies run around on every media network pretending to be world class..

38. Nasty and Untrue!

That is how Opposition Senator Caswell Franklyn has described suggestions that his Unity Workers’ Union begged for financial assistance from the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) in its early stages of existence and that he is still a member of the party.

In a stinging rebuttal to Prime Minister Mia Mottley’s claims at a political meeting on Sunday night, the outspoken union leader claimed that the current administration has been attempting to silence him with promises of high-level appointments and a seat in the Lower House of Parliament.

He contends that after failing to buy him over, the administration is now “catching at straws” as members seek to defend the selection of Barbados Workers’ Union (BWU) General Secretary, Independent Senator Toni Moore as their representative in the St George North by-election.

On Sunday evening, Mottley hit out at the Opposition senator’s “hypocrisy”, claiming that he was the BLP’s only union leader currently sitting in Parliament.

Mottley also declared that she was puzzled by Franklyn’s recent assertion that her government is the “most anti-worker administration in living memory” because at her request, Franklyn’s union received financial assistance in the form of rent money from the party.

She also discouraged Barbadians from listening to his “misinformation” on industrial relations matters and criticized the media for providing him with “a level playing field as if he is telling the truth”.

“I know that the only union that I have ever had to… take money from the Barbados Labor Party’s resources and to help, not because we wanted to be invidious, but because they needed it . . . and so committed are we to the workers’ rights that I [gave instructions] to pay the rent for the Unity Trade Union for the first few months of its existence.

“I never gave the [Barbados] Workers’ Union any money or Toni Moore or Leroy Trotman. I have come to them to help us. [Franklyn] came to us for a handout and a help up” the Prime Minister declared.

In response, however, Franklyn, who carries the banner of the opposition People’s Party for Democracy and Development (PdP) in the Upper Chamber, explained that he received $400 to assist with a number of personal bills when he was unemployed some years ago. But he was adamant that he received no money from the BLP to assist the UWU.

“That wasn’t a rebuttal. That is being nasty, and it is untrue. Mia Mottley never gave the Unity Workers’ Union a cent.

“As a matter of fact, Unity Workers’ Union operated from my living room for the first five years of its existence, so we didn’t need rent. I only started paying rent in 2015 when I got an office in Bridgetown,” the trade unionist contended.

“It came from a foundation that [Parris] told me that she was responsible for, that helps people who are having difficulties. I had difficulties as a member of the Barbados Labour Party.

“It didn’t have anything to do with Unity. That is a lie, and it was $400 only. That is the only money I have ever received from Pat Parris in my life and that was to help me with my bills when I was unemployed. That is the truth, and nothing but,” Franklyn added.

Franklyn also claimed that like Moore, the party has been trying to “trap” him for some time with promises of the prospect of a parliamentary seat in St Thomas.

In fact, he claimed that at a meeting of the National Security Council, and in the presence of MPs, senators, the Commissioner of Police, Chief of Staff of the Barbados Defence Force, Mottley offered him a position that would give him responsibility for the public service and require all Permanent Secretaries
    to report to him.

“She didn’t hide her mouth or call me to a side. She announced it at the meeting, so they can’t deny that,” Franklyn said.

“I told her to her face ‘Prime Minister, if I take that job, there would be no good trade unionists left.

“I don’t know if they would admit, because they were all there. The only person that I recall being absent was Toni Moore, who was away on union business.

“I would have been chairman of a revamped public service full time. She was creating that job for me,” the union boss added.

Efforts to get response on these claims from the office of the Prime Minister were unsuccessful up until the time of publication.

In response to Mottley’s claims that he is still a member of the BLP, Franklyn declared that he has not paid dues in over a decade and is therefore not in good standing.

“They are clutching at straws,” he said.

39. hard to match MAM. Verla shouldnot even try. Verla should just strengthen her positives and work on her weaknesses. it is difficult to change the way you talk, how you deliberate and how you deliver, at this stage.

like Trump did to Biden and the Moderator i saw MAM did something comparable to the late Tyrone Estwick and Rogers in a debate. she talked over Estwick, would not let him get a word in when it was his turn to speak. Rogers did little but when he tried she talked over him too. she came over as a bully even then.

were i Verla i would not debate MAM. instead i would buy 2 30 minutes block and speak directly to Bim with a moderator asking questions if she cares to.

40. @Greene

The comment was about tempo and pace. She must project that she is on top of all the issues and disassociate with a froonlike approach that has been plaguing the party.

41. The PM comes across as very statesman like when she appears on the International stage, but in this local political contest that has been thrown out the window, and it’s so unnecessary, why single out Caswell for a paltry sum several years ago? But politicians like Elephants have long memories. Anyone with half a brain knows that the BLP could sleepwalk its way to a win in this constituency, perhaps the PM is feeling the heat about her decision to offer the seat to the leader of the main Trade Union in the land, not sure what a back bench MP could do to promote the interests of the Union but I don’t know much.

42. @Sargeant

The blogmaster has a theory that hitches to the fact Caswell’s voice has been the loudest from the other side. It explains why he is a target. Caswell has accrued political stock because of his perceived barefaced honesty. She should tread carefully.

43. I am not surprised she has offered Caswell a job. It is her little political trick of compromising her opposition. She thinks everyone has a price; that is the basis of her public ethics.
    And, like a toddler throwing a tantrum, if she does not get her way she goes on a r ant. She is despicable and should not be the prime minister of a great nation.
    I have said before, by 2023, we will not recognise Barbados. She treats the entire nation with contempt.

44. @ Hal
    The BLPDLP practices political cannibalism. I wrote in BU a few months ago that Caswell was being enticed in order to silence him. But as you know , I don’t live there so I don’t know what’s going on.
    I know of a case where a party supporter was given a job and fired within a week just because somebody was told he drinks with a person from “the other side”.
    Peace

45. Note the irony: in one breath you are all about women power and equality. In another you try to embarrass a wife and daughter on a public platform by exposing a husband and father who was going through a hard time. That’s who we are.

46. That low blow definitely did not land. Did Mia not know who she was dealing with? Caswell did exactly what I would have expected him to do – admit his dire circumstances at the time and his acceptance of the help through the correct channels.

I am not sure of my position on union bosses and political parties but I am sure of these two things – that behaviour from Mia was disgraceful and of the two, Caswell is more believable.

So… another attempt to silence a big mouth. Is he the last man standing?

47. Mia needs some time looking in the mirror. Old habits die hard but die they must or Barbados will die.

48. @David,

Point taken re tempo and pace but i dont know what she can do about that. it simply is the way she talks and presents- her style perhaps suited to her personality. MAM is fast paced and likes to think that this is a sign of her intelligence. that too is her style.

49. @ Greene

MAM intelligent?

Leave a Reply to LorenzoCancel reply