Dear People of St George North.

Grenville Phillips II,
Structural Engineer and Solutions Barbados’ St George North Candidate.

My name is Grenville Phillips II. I am the President of Solutions Barbados, and your candidate in this by-election. Let me first tell you about myself, and then about what we plan to do in St George North over the next two and one-half years.

About Me.

I have qualified in several disciplines. I am a structural engineer, highway engineer, environmental engineer, land-use planner, and adjudicator. I am also a teacher and President of Walbrent College, which is a regional institution specialising in construction. Therefore, my Clients benefit from a range of different disciplines for the same fee.

I hold two Bachelors degrees (maths and engineering), two Masters degrees (environmental engineering and planning), and am currently pursuing a Doctorate in Engineering. I do this for only one reason – to provide a better service to my Clients.

If you elect me to represent you for the next two and one-half years, then you become my Clients, and I will work for you.

About Our Plans.

With only one seat in Parliament, I will not have a Ministry. Therefore, we can dedicate most of our time improving the lives of those in this constituency. If we form the Government in 2023, then Solutions Barbados will make similar improvements across Barbados.

Building Houses.

I have 30 years of experience in the construction industry. We plan to set-up a non-profit construction company, to participate in the government’s 1,000 affordable houses initiative.

We will train all unemployed St George North residents, who want to learn to safely construct a house. Training will take two weeks, at no cost to St George North residents. We will then employ them in the non-profit company, to apprentice with senior artisans. If the government’s 1,000 houses initiative does not happen, then we will build affordable houses for any client in Barbados.

Strengthening Houses.

The roofs of most houses in St George North are vulnerable to blowing off during a hurricane. We will offer to economically strengthen the roofs of all houses in St George North, for the cost of the labour and materials, but no profit.

Those who want their roof strengthened for only the cost of the materials, can volunteer their time with the no-profit company one day each week, for seven weeks. They will help to strengthen the roofs of other houses in St George North.

Dilapidated and Abandoned Houses.

We plan to identify the owners of all dilapidated and unoccupied houses in St George North. We will then negotiate with the owners an arrangement, where we will economically repair the house, and get it rented. The rent will be split between the homeowner and the non-profit company, until the construction cost is repaid.

Road Maintenance.

Potholes can lead to costly vehicle repairs and accidents. Therefore, we will organise a dedicated St George North road maintenance crew, staffed by St George North residents, to safely and permanently repair potholes. A volunteer force of 350 people, allows each person to work for only one day each year.

Energy Generation.

We will offer to install a Photovoltaic (PV) system on every roof in St George North at cost, with no profit. It would be connected to the BL&P grid, so that home-owners will have more disposable income.

Those who want the PV systems installed at only the cost of the materials, can volunteer their time with the no-profit company one day each week, for seven weeks. They will help to install PV systems on other houses in St George North.

Tree Planting.

To address monkeys and other crop thefts, and provide some food security for St George North residents, we will participate in the Government’s tree planting scheme. We will plant thousands of fruit trees near drainage courses, open spaces, and wooded areas across the constituency.

Construction Disputes.

Disputes between homeowners and contractors are common. As an Adjudicator, I plan to listen to both sides, and give preliminary rulings on construction disputes. This service will be free of cost to residents of, and disputes within St George North.

Any party may have the matter finally settled by the court. But the preliminary ruling should let them know the likely outcome, and prompt them to settle before starting a long and costly court process.

Finishing School.

Regardless of how well or poorly students did at secondary school, we will train all willing St George North secondary school graduates (in six weeks) to be employable, and/or ready to start their own business. Training will be at no cost to St George North residents.

Participants will learn to speak, write, listen, calculate, draw, and do tasks at an excellent level. We will teach them to become responsible adults, and model employees, and employers.

Wealth Creation.

I am the 2014 winner of the National Innovation Competition. We will train people how to start and grow a profitable business, with no start-up money. The 8-week training will be at no cost to St George North residents.

The aim is for each willing participant to have a viable Internet based business, by the end of the workshop. This should provide each household with a separate income stream.

Advocacy.

In the House of Assembly, we will advocate for the following:

1. A referendum, to measure the public’s support for a Republic, same-sex unions, and moving the statue of Nelson.
  2. An end to the corrupting no-bid public contracts, where the public must pay up to five times the cost of products, through increased taxes.
  3. Better managed public services to an international standard, where customer feedback is valued, instead of the current ‘like it or lump it’ management method.
  4. A rearranged secondary school curriculum, so that graduates leave school with marketable skills, and the confidence to succeed in life.
  5. An improved justice system, where victims are properly compensated.
  6. The removal of all taxes on healthy foods.
  7. The abolition of taxing land, for which our enslaved fore-parents already paid for with their lives’ work. The Government can find something else to tax, but not our land.

We also plan to critically examine all proposed legislation, to ensure that it is in the best interest of the Barbadian public. That should keep us sufficiently busy for the next 30 months.

The BLP won all 30 seats in 2018. This by-election is an opportunity to do at least two things. Namely, to keep the BLP accountable, and to meaningfully benefit the residents of St George North.

You are in an enviable position, where you have nothing to lose by voting for Solutions Barbados – and everything to gain.

132 responses to “Grenville Phillips: St George North Manifesto”

1. Piece the Prophet Avatar

David September 29, 2020 6:20 PM

@Carson Cadogon
    Solutions Barbados is the third largest opposition party in Barbados. This cannot be refuted.”

Why you falsifying information like this?

Take a look at this site Honourable Blogmaster

http://caribbeanelections.com/bb/elections/bb_results_2018.asp

It provides a count of ALL the political parties INCLUDING the count of No Solutions Barbados, TWO YEARS AGO, before the breakup!

If you doubt de ole man, ask the megalomaniac Bedroom Police for the names of his membership today AND HE WILL TELL YOU ITS SIZE!

Though, now I think of it, he will probably say “I can’t give their names because it will expose them and their families to victimization!”

You heard that shy#e before right?

2. Piece the Prophet Avatar

Your help is appreciated Honourable Blogmaster

3. See the vitriol directed at GRANVILLE PHILLIPS II??????

When you cant fault what the man stands for and is saying Piece attacks the man personally. So it can be taken that the man is BLACK , TALENTED, THE BEST FIT so you resort to name calling in favour of your WHITE BAJAN AND INDIAN CONTROLLED BARBADOS LABOUR PARTY.

He must be doing some thing right.

4. With CCC pushing Grenville Phillips he is bound to be beaten more soundly. Ain’t this the same man who thought the DLP was grand?

5. @Carson C Cadogan September 30, 2020 3:17 AM “GRANVILLE PHILLIPS II, Is our SON. IS OUR CHILD of whom we shoud be well pleased!!!!! We sent him to improved his academic qualifications, we sent him to be better than us. He must shout his qualifications from the rooftops. because we want our children to be better than we are. In so doing he is showing other BLACK BARBADIANS what they can be become. GRANVILLE PHILLIPS II is paradigm shift from from obtains in so much of BLACK BARBADOS. SOME ONE TO BE PROUD OF.”

TONI MOORE, is our DAUGHTER. IS OUR CHILD of whom we shoud be well pleased!!!!! We sent her to improve her academic qualifications, we sent her to be better than us. She must shout her qualifications from the rooftops. because we want our children to be better than we are. In so doing she is showing other BLACK BARBADIANS what they can be become. TONI MOORE is paradigm shift from from obtains in so much of BLACK BARBADOS. SOME ONE TO BE PROUD OF.”

6. @Artax September 28, 2020 6:49 PM “If Grenville was actually serious, a SB St. George North constituency branch office should have been opened from the time he decided ‘to run for’ the constituency….. and remained opened after the general elections.”

But Artax, doing these things would have cost Granville and his Solutions Barbados supporters time and money.

So…

7. The people of SGN are expected to trust Grenville Phillips that these things will be done after the elections.

MURDAH!

8. With BLACK SELLOUTS supporting and recommending the WHITE BAJAN AND INDIAN OWNED and controlled Barbados Labour Party its no wonder that the DLP, GRANVILLE PHILLIPS II or anybody else dont stand a chance.

9. But Carson C. Cadogan.

Don’t I recall you as a rabid DLP supporter.

When did things change?

When did the falling out occur?

10. @Enuff September 28, 2020 7:19 PM “if GPII wins who gine be de real Opposition Leader?”

I am not much into duppy politics, but if I am not wrong, I think that I recall standing in Carlisle car park and listening to Owen Arthur introducing Clyde Mascoll as co-leader; and if I am not wrong I think that many of the then and now BLP hierarchy were present. Perhaps Enuff was also at that meeting?

I like co-leader.

11. “But Artax, doing these things would have cost Granville and his Solutions Barbados supporters time and money.”

@ Cuhdear Bajan

And???????????

What exactly is your point?

12. @Grenville Phillips “Regardless of how well or poorly students did at secondary school, we will train all willing St George North secondary school graduates (in six weeks) to be employable, and/or ready to start their own business.”

I would really like some details on this. By age 16, youngsters would have already spent 12 years in full time education. I would like some real-real details on how Grenville will accomplish in 6 weeks, what experienced teachers have not been able to accomplish in 12 years [12,000 hours] of face to face instruction.

13. I would like to encourage SB not only to talk about about can be done, but to start doing it.

Whatever it is.

14. Hi C. Bajan:

For your information.

Since 2010, we have trained approximately 1,000 people across the Caribbean how to build properly.
    Since winning the National innovation Competition in 2014, we have trained people to start businesses without start-up capital.
    Since 2017, we have been doing the Finishing school.

None of these things were done in secret. They were publicly advertised.

15. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

TONI MOORE

There was another time in History when the Vast majority of people voted , but made the wrong choice.

I am sure you remember when he was paraded before a massive crowd. A question that haunts us to this day was asked, “”DO WANT JESUS OR BARABBAS”??and the massive crowd replied as one man , “”give us Barabbas””. They voted with their voices .

Not saying that GRANVILLE PHILLIPS II is the same as Jesus but the similarities are the same, the BETTER MAN DOES NOT ALWAYS WIN. Much to the regret of the same People.

16. Cuhdear Bajan,

This is the man who transformed his unhealthy, overweight, bad cholesterol-riddled “Buy yuh casket” body into a healthy, ripped specimen in TWO WEEKS.

NOTHING IS IMPOSSIBLE WHEN YOU PUT YOUR TRUST IN G…..

Murdah!

17. Doan mind Triple C! Most likely believes the DLP does stand a chance and just wants to land a punch in Mia.

Quite frankly, I hope Toni Moore does not win. Never liked or trusted her. And Mia needs a slap or two. But not from Grenville Phillips!

18. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

TONI MOORE

She now declares she is a member of the 3% people who dont look like us who controlled her political party. She is ready to sell out the 97% of population just like her party members.

When she wins the seat it will be milk and honey FOR HER.

She will have an upstairs and house.
    She will have a spanking new 350 Mercedes.
    She will have any amount of Land.
    She will have apartment buildings.
    Her children will go to the best schools.
    She will have tons of money on the Bank.

Just this is what the SERVANT OF THE PEOPLE will have.

WHAT WILL THE PEOPLE WHO ARE THE MASTERS WHO VOTED FOR HER HAVE????

They will just be as the are NOW.
    They will continue with poor roads.
    They will to have poor street lighting.
    They will not have any businesses. They will still continue to be Employees.
    They will continue to work on the 3% owned plantation farms.
    Their children as now WILL never enter Harrison Collage or Queens Collage.
    They wont be even able to buy a bicycle as now I am sorry to say.
    They will still live home with their Mother and Father.

In other words nothing will change as under the outgoing joker who was there for 26 yrs, WHO IS RICH TO THE TEETH.

19. Piece the Prophet Avatar
    Piece the Prophet

Your help please Honourable Blogmaster

20. Just saw on CBC TV8 news what was done to squatters in Guyana who were illegally occupying private property. A bulldozer was called in to clear the land and destroy a bridge.

In Barbados we are rewarding Guyanese squatters with monetary grants, loans, house and land.

21. While poor Bajans struggle to pay their mortgages.

22. @Artax

Since when has Barbados modeled itself after the strife torn Guyana?

23. No comment found, please repost.

24. David, it is not about modelling. This sets a very bad precedent.

25. @ David BU

Donna answered your question. It’s not about “Barbados modelling itself after the strife torn Guyana,” it’s about doing what’s right.

We have a situation in Barbados where non-nationals are DISRESPECTING and DISREGARDING our laws by (1) residing in the island ILLEGALLY and (2) ILLEGALLY occupying property and constructing houses WITHOUT PERMISSION from Town & Country Planning.

And, the Barbados ‘government’ is not punishing SQUATTERS for BREAKING the LAW, as is being DONE in their homeland. Instead, we’re REWARDING them with monetary grants, loans, houses and land……… while poor, law abiding Barbadians obtain their properties through LEGAL methods and struggle to pay their mortgages.

As Donna correctly mentioned, “this sets a very bad precedent.”

Remember when Guyanese and Jamaicans were talking about ‘free land’ at Rock Hall , St. Philip ……. and securing ‘house spots’ for their relatives and friends?

Without going into all the details, I know of a case involving a 77 year old lady whose brother, after the death of their mother, went to Court to have her evicted from the house in which she resided for over 55 years, claiming it was his. Court Marshals turned up to move out her belongings and dump them, because she did not have anywhere to go.

Lawyers wanted to charge her ‘an arm and a leg’ for legal services and ‘mucked about’ after realizing she wasn’t wealthy.

I recall when the squatters at Rock Hall were given notice to leave, Douglas Trotman ran to their assistance, offering to represent them ‘pro bono.’

This is an elderly Barbadian lady, who worked and paid taxes in Barbados. The Court could order Marshals to evict her from the house and dump her property at Mangrove Landfill.

But, illegal, non-national squatters are guaranteed free legal services, house, land and monetary grants when asked to leave land upon which they’re dwelling illegally.

Barbados is simply amazing……. ‘we could as well be’ modelling after strife torn Guyana.

26. @Artax

You raze the squatters areas and them what?

27. You raze the evict the old lady, dump her belongings at the dump and then what?

28. @Artax

every so often you surprise me. well said

29. Dear Residents of St George North.

You wield considerable power in this by-election. You get to decide whom you will employ to manage your affairs in this constituency. You are the Employer, and the one whom you select will become your Employee.

Decades of political abuse has removed this idea from our consciousness. Our politicians have taken advantage of the absence of this idea, to behave like the employers. We must treat them like lords, call them honourable, and like mendicants, beg them for attention.

It is time that you woke up to your role and authority. You are the Employer. We are the Candidates offering to work for you. You are supposed to interview us. We are supposed to satisfy you that we have the qualifications, competence, and capacity to do the job that you require.

Somehow the roles got reversed. Candidates who ordered voters to hire them, later ordered that voters be fired. Candidates who intimidated voters into hiring them, made them afraid to demand better service. Candidates who bribed voters to hire them, tainted the voters’ integrity, and bought their silence.

INTERVIEW US.

Almost all Barbadian voters have forgotten their authority as Employers. Voters in St George North have a responsibility remember it. They need to wake up and behave like the Employers they are, for the sake of all voters in Barbados.

Ask us about our plans to bring prosperity to St George North. Ask us about how we plan to implement our plans. Ask us to provide evidence of our capacity to properly implement our plans over the next 30 months.

Do our plans make any sense? Have you heard us make similar plans before, and not delivered? Do we have divided loyalties? Interview us for goodness sake!

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer, and the Solutions Barbados’ candidate for St George North. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

30. William Skinner Avatar

@ Artax
    Well put. However We have not been in policy mode since the mid-seventies. We are in constant political and campaign mode. Right now we are looking toward 2023. Getting candidates in place; golden parachutes. Give me your seat and I will give you an Ambassadorship. I will fire you today from cabinet and make you a “ Special “ envoy tomorrow. Like I said welcome to the BLPDLP campaign that has been going from the mid-seventies. Squat and I will pay you to move. Don’t forget to register to vote. Policy don’t matter to BLPDLP.

31. “You raze the squatters areas and then what?”

@ David BU

Then, squatters would understand SQUATTING is an ILLEGAL ACTIVITY, which the authorities are no longer willing to TOLERATE.

I hope you also realise we have LOST CONTROL of Bridgetown, which is slowly becoming a shanty town, with non-nationals building shanties and ‘setting up shop’ on sidewalks, alley ways and where ever they choose to.

Whereas LEGAL vendors were DISPLACED because Golden Square market was demolished sometime in February…………. non-nationals CONTINUED selling food and beverages, WITHOUT the REQUIRED health certificates and liquor license, from stalls they ILLEGALLY constructed around the environs of the old Fairchild Street market. Those same illegal vendors now believe it’s their RIGHT to DEMAND and be GIVEN stalls in the new market, BEFORE the former Golden Square vendors.

We have vendors PAYING for market space INSIDE the Cheapside Market, while illegal non-national vendors ‘set up shop’ OUTSIDE and in front the same market, to sell from fruits and vegetables to soap and ladies’ undergarments……… RENT FREE.

I shudder to think of the consequences as a result of an additional 80,000 people, in a depressed economy with unemployment at 40%.

32. @Artax

Your main point is accepted. Squatting is wrong and must not be encouraged. Governments must manage our landscape to ensure there is legal occupation of lands, we get it.

The issue at hand is that successive governments have allowed squatters to be so emboldened to squat on lands because of political considerations for one. Many of the squatters in St. Philip were they to be removed would add to a social problem.

This is the point of concern for the blogmaster.

33. Those same illegal vendors now believe it’s their RIGHT to DEMAND and be GIVEN stalls in the new market, BEFORE the former Golden Square vendors.

It will happen too. People like the Blogmaster, rather than enforce the law, prefer to laissez-faire approach then wonder where it all went wrong.

Either we believe in the rule of law or we don’t. We can’t pick and choose when and how to abide by the law when it is politically convenient. Capiche David?

34. you cannot reward illegal behaviour. if they keep getting away with it, all Bim should squat

35. @ David October 2, 2020 8:51 AM

BTW that Grenville piece was well stated. one of his best

36. @Greene

Is it about rewarding or managing a specific (emphasis) problem that has been allowed to take root due to mismanagement of both governments.

37. @ Greene

It is the national culture. What is the moral difference between a squatter, a lawyer who steals from his/her clients, a mechanic/carpenter/plumber who overcharges, a bank who rips you off, a priest or undertaker who lays claim to the property of the deceased, a teacher who under-teaches then offers private lessons to the parents, or a nurse who steals jewellery from elderly patients?
    This, I am afraid, is Barbados. Add to that police and magistrates who abuse their authority, or a dishonest politician. This, I am afraid, is Barbados. This is who we are.
    Did I mention being foul-mouthed, and aggressive?

38. Steuspe

39. William Skinner Avatar

@ Artax
    @ Hal
    @ Greene
    Same with mini- bus “culture”. Police were told to “hold off”. Mini buses belong to political families and BLPDLP financiers.
    Same with drugs: Commissioner Durant hands tied re Red Plastic Bag
    Same old apologists and obstructionists making excuses and drinking the damn kool aid 24 hours a day.

40. @ Mr. Skinner

We have lost control ……… sorry, we NEVER had control over public service vehicles. Owners and operators of PSVs REFUSE to operate from terminals they requested ‘government’ to build.

Route 6 (Bush Hall) route taxis DO NOT operate from the River Terminal, with drivers choosing to ‘load’ passengers by Queen’s Park instead. Silver Hill and Silver Sands route taxis are now parking on the QEH’s pasture to ‘pick up’ passengers.

Could you imagine, Silver Hill ZRs and minibuses ‘dragging’ between Kendal Hill and Sargeant’s Village…….. ZRs and minibuses plying the Jackson route, engaging in a similar activity from Warrens to Tudor Bridge…….. IMPEDING the FREE FLOW of TRAFFIC and WITHOUT REASONABLE CONSIDERATION for other road users, from as EARLY as 6:30 AM….. EVERY MORNING, from Monday to Friday……….at a time people are struggling to arrive at work on time?

41. @Artax October 2, 2020 4:39 AM “I know of a case involving a 77 year old lady whose brother, after the death of their mother, went to Court to have her evicted from the house in which she resided for over 55 years, claiming it was his. Court Marshals turned up to move out her belongings and dump them, because she did not have anywhere to go. Lawyers wanted to charge her ‘an arm and a leg’ for legal services and ‘mucked about’ after realizing she wasn’t wealthy.”

Every solotution does not rest with the government. This elderly woman’s brother could have been compassionate with his own sister. he ought to have ben reminded that they “roll in the same belly” or came form the same penis or both. She was old, had already exceeded her life expectancy, would it have killed him to wait a few more years for the land?

Sometimes we want government to fix things that we can well fix ourselves.

Once she had been evicted, and if she could not afford to re-house herself, then yes, the government has a responsibility to look after the elderly poor. to re-house her for the 3 years or so of her life would have cost less than $25,000. A one bedroom apartment at $600 per month for 36 months is only $21,600.

Her brother’s love would have cost the taxpayers NOTHING.

42. @ Cuhdear Bajan

RE: “She was old, had already exceeded her life expectancy, would it have killed him to wait a few more years for the land?”

The lady’s brother is 75 years old. She could live another 10 years, while he could live within the 3 more years you’ve given her. Other than by murder, suicide or abortion, you, me, other people, statistics or the ‘man on the Cream of Wheat box’ do not have control over how long a person lives.

However, why do have this annoying habit of ‘narrowing down’ people’s life expectancy based on someone’s statistics? It’s rather morbid and somewhat inhumane.

You’re essentially implying that, after an individual reaches over 70 years old, they should give up doing what makes them happy or enjoy growing old gracefully………. and instead, await the ‘grim reaper,’ because they have lived passed the time statistics indicated they were expected to die.

People are expected to die from the time they were born. I have a friend who was diagnosed with a heart problem and doctors said he would die before his 10th birthday. He went on to ‘graduate’ from secondary school and SJP Polytechnic, played club cricket as a fast bowler and is now 55 years old.

RE: “Every solution does not rest with the government.”

Your above comment is equally (and more so) applicable to those young, strong squatters, who “want government to fix things that (they) could fix (them)selves.”

The example I gave was not to suggest I “want government to fix things that we can fix ourselves.” I was trying to make the point that illegal non-national squatters could be rewarded with grants, houses and land, for their illegal activity, while similar assistance is not open to an elderly individual who worked and paid taxes in Barbados and under circumstances of greed, had also found her homeless.

43. GPII. a man with plenty words, is on a mission to represent the people of SGN.

Posted on September 28, 2020 by David
    If you elect me to represent you for the next two and one-half years, then you become my Clients, and I will work for you.

(Posted by) David October 2, 2020 8:51 AM
    You are the Employer, and the one whom you select will become your Employee.

(~_~)
    For the feeble-minded like Raw Bake, could someone please expound on the subtleties of the above relationships as envisioned and espoused by GPII.

44. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

With the exception of a few commenters, this thread is showing internal logic.

45. However, why do have this annoying habit of ‘narrowing down’ people’s life expectancy based on someone’s statistics?

Glad someone said it. Simple Simon loves to quote statistics but has no clue. Right @ SS?

46. The president just gave a press conference on the St George North by-election and there was not a single question from our highly informed, world class media.
    Nothing about how an Independent Senator can be the BLP candidate for the November 11 by-election; of if she is still ‘independent’?

47. Hal
    What barbados presents as a media is laughable
    The media has all but fall in line with Mia dictatorial utterances
    At every PR event the media looks like muzzled Chihuahua

48. November 11 is the date set for voting in the St George North by-election, Prime Minister Mia Mottley announced moments ago.

She also said that Nomination Day for the candidates contesting the rural seat is October 26.

49. @ Mariposa

Remain focussed. The autocrat in chief will self-destruct. It will end in tears. She is ruling like some Eastern European tyrant, people are scared.
    She has neutralised our parliamentary democracy, shown total disrespect to parliament and to the Barbadian electorate. It will end in tears.

Leave a Reply to Carson C CadoganCancel reply