This morning the blogmaster entered the local newsfeed from traditional media to be swamped with the predictable-news about the selection of General Secretary of the Barbados Workers Union (BWU) Toni More to represent the BLP in St. George North in the upcoming by-election. The proposal by the government to rename the University of the West Indies, Cave Hill in Owen Arthur’s name. The pros and cons of going republic and others. Some if us do not forget that the traditional media has a weighty responsibly to report news as it happens AND to present issues of the day to the general public. A professional and educated cadre of journalists has the awesome power to influence the citizenry.

However, one of the biggest threats to a stable society is rising CRIME, in the case of tiny Barbados; increasing gun violence. Both political parties have been targeted in the fight against crime and today the country is reaping the whirl wind. Successive governments AND private sector have not harmonized policies to sustain the economic well being of the country to address the economic and social needs of Barbadians, especially our young people. Many Barbadian families have not managed households well enough to inculcate wholesome values because they lack meaningful support.

The late Randy “Nutman” Selman

In recent hours the blogmaster updated the Murder Tracker in the sidebar to 33 to include the body found last week on the rocks at the Animal Flower Cave and last night the random killing of a young man know as ‘Nutman’. Barbadian pedestrians and motorists should recall the mannerly young man who sold nuts at the junction of Pine Road. From all reports he happened to be in the wrong place at the wrong time.

The effect of crime on working class neighbourhoods like the Pine, Silver Hill and others must be given priority by the society. The consistent high unemployment in working class neighbourhoods in Barbados because of a lack of economic opportunity has created an underclass. Yesterday members of the BU intelligentsia reiterated a call to gentrify Bridgetown. We need similar calls to implement programs to uplift our working class neighbourhoods; improve the economic opportunities, improve the housing, eliminate the crime bosses who take advantage of this vulnerable class of society. Recently Zack Robert Nadur, an upper class 74 year old man was arrested and charged with possession of 50 rounds of .32 ammunition at his residence without a licence. We need to see more!

Shopkeeper Shirley Lynch is pleading for help as she watches her livelihood fall victim to crime. The pensioner has been operating a shop in Golden Rock, The Pine, St Michael, since 1994. (Video by Sandy Pitt)#MeAndMyNation#YourNewsYourTimeYourWay#Barbados#LoveMyNation

The Nation Barbados

Just last month the blogmaster read the impassioned cry from Shirley Lynch (quoted above) who operates a village shop in the area where ‘Nutman’ was reported to be liming outside his home last night. So many Barbadians including our politicians live in an alternate universe. There must be a fit for purpose Crime and Social Plan to arrest what is playing out at Golden Rock the Pine and similar working class neighbourhoods across Barbados. The social and economic cost is rising a la inner city Chicago. The time has come for Barbadians to reject the usual platitudes from the police, politicians, pretend social practitioners and NGOs et al. We allocate millions of dollars to implement trite projects and forget about the importance of developing meaningful social programs to assist our most vulnerable. What do we think will happen eventually if so many of our children underperform in the Barbados Secondary Schools’ Entrance Examination? What do we think will happen if our parents who need help are not supported?

Rising crime affects us all people.

119 responses to “What About CRIME Stupid”

1. ” saw Mr Denny last night at a session and I was so tempted to go and ask him why he isn’t marching against this violence since BLM and Nelson’s statue hasn’t shot or robbed anyone”

A simple explanation: Comrade Denny is part of our Phantom Squad with the task to distract the naive masses from the real problems. The more the mob on the streets and on BU gets upset about conditions in the U.S. and about Nelson, the easier it will be for the government to take necessary measures to stabilize the country.

2. Omar Watson

Criminals doing as they like in Barbados. Toyota Corolla registration MA2648 stolen at gunpoint from Drax Hall, St. George.

Just a few years ago a scene like this would be shocking to everyone in Barbados and now it is just being shared via Social Media and people are just laughing at the lady’s reaction to the gentleman telling her to go back inside, the guy has a gun.

We’ve been so sensitized to this level of crime that we’ve now accepted this nonsense as the norm. The mistake that many other violent societies made we are making now ourselves.

I passed Halls Road night before and saw Police in their numbers by the tinting place and people congregating at the entrances of their road looking concerned to hear that a guy was shot only moments ago, to then hear that the very popular Nut Man was also shot in the Pine and was in very bad shape, then shortly afterwards hearing that he passed away from his injuries. RIP Nut Man.

I saw a Tik Tok video circulating showing life in the Pine and the sound effect of gunshots in the background while the person did a panoramic recording of an area in the Pine would crack a laugh if we didn’t know how real this was now.

Every day now violence is prevalent all over Barbados. I saw Mr Denny last night at a session and I was so tempted to go and ask him why he isn’t marching against this violence since BLM and Nelson’s statue hasn’t shot or robbed anyone but I decided not to make him unpick his “teeth” at that time.

Things are so hard now that a guy approached me last night and tried to sell me a used toilet seat for $15, and at first, I thought he was kidding, I asked him where did he get it. He said in a garbage can and I said to him, “Do you really effin think that someone is going to buy a used toilet seat from you?”

Few mins later he passed without it. The toilet seat was sold.

Too many murders, too many shootings, too many robberies, too much crime and the silent distractions coming from our law and policymakers are deafening.

Anyways let me go and finish eat my Kit Kat. I gone.

3. MURDER ACCUSED Recardo Reco Best (left) and Teshon Richard Moore after they were remanded yesterday. (Picture by Heather-Lynn Evanson.)

Two charged with Nut Man’s murder

TWO PEOPLE, one of them a teenager, charged with killing popular vendor Randy “Nut Man” Selman were remanded after an afternoon appearance in the District “A” Magistrates’ Court yesterday.

Recardo Reco Lamar Best, a 27-year-old general worker, of Clapham Main Road, and Teshon Richard Anthony Moore, 17, of Wildey Gardens, both in St Michael, were jointly charged with, but not required to plead to, murdering Selman on September 23.

They were also jointly charged with using a firearm while committing the indictable offence of serious bodily harm, as well as causing serious bodily harm to Trevor Ramsay with intent, all on September 23.

They were represented by attorney Asante Brathwaite, who held for Queen’s Counsel Michael Lashley.

Chief Magistrate Ian Weekes remanded the accused toHMP Dodds until November 9.

Police had reported that the 38-year-old Selman, a father of two, was relaxing outside his home at Golden Rock, The Pine, St Michael, when he was shot to death. (HLE)

4. Is it standard for the accused to be in contact with each other?

5. @Sargeant

It is a common occurrence.

6. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Serqeant

It provides an opportunity to engage the Game Theory Model called”Prisoners Dilemma”. Lol !!

7. @ Sargeant

No. It is a matter of evidence gathering. By allowing them to talk they can share evidence and an alibi. But, this is who we are. We are different.

8. This is what a country looks like when a criminal organisation and a government merge. This could never happen in Barbados.

https://www.pambazuka.org/human-security/edward-seaga-and-institutionalisation-thuggery-violence-and-dehumanisation-jamaica

9. Dale Marshall is the criminal justice equivalent of Chris Sinckler as finance minister. Marshall demonstrates almost everyday, not only that he is incompetent, but that he seems not to be able to learn. He is asleep on the job.
    Almost every week there are reports of shootings in Barbados, and Mr Marshall cannot even find the words to say to reassure the public, farless introduce any policy, any, to deal with the problem. And he gets away with it although his boss is also a lawyer, QC and former attorney general, so she cannot claim she has been blindsided.
    It is another example of a government that is out of its league, that has not a single clue what to do about the economy, law and order, education, public transport, or the breakdown of the social order.

10. Today, Thursday, the Jamaican have opened a digital bank in the UK, a mark of a progress nation. For a long time the BNB tried and got pushed back by the Bank of England because they were incompetent and expected favours.
    Let us have a drink to Jamaica. https://portal.jnbank.co.uk/

11. Is Senator Caswell Franklyn losing his sense of reasoning? The idea of martial law at a civilian prison and the BDF taking control is one of the most anti-democratic suggestions we have heard all year.
    It is such an appalling suggestion that normally it would not be taken seriously, but coming from one of the most outspoken voice in the Upper Chamber makes one worry.
    What the prison needs is a civilian leader and proper training for its staff and a programme of improvements for the prisoners.

Measures are in place to safeguard the integrity of Her Majesty’s Prison (HMP) Dodds and inmates throughout a five-day period of testing and contact tracing after two Prison Officers tested positive for COVID-19.

But the outspoken trade unionist who represents unionised wardens, Senator Caswell Franklyn, has called for the imposition of martial law on the prison amid claims of growing unease among guards.

“My suggestion is that the best thing for them to do now is to declare a State of Emergency in that area and ask the Defence Force to man the prison because they don’t have enough officers even without the threat of the coronavirus.

“What would happen if the prisoners set their mind to it and decide that they want to take over the prison? There would be nobody to stop them “

Minister of Health and Wellness Lieutenant Colonel Jeffrey Bostic on Thursday announced that two prison officers were among five new cases of the viral illness whose origin has so far eluded public health experts.

The minister said: “We will be launching a massive campaign at the prison intended to test every single person who works at the prison in Barbados over the next 48 hours inclusive of prisoners, prison wardens and civilian staff.”

Acknowledging the complexities associated with the prison, Prime Minister Mia Mottley noted that everyone at the prison is to be retested after five days to ascertain their health status.

But as ministers updated the country at a press conference at Ilaro Court, they did not indicate how the officers would quarantine as they await the results of the tests or detail an action plan to ensure the safety of staff, inmates and the general public.

When asked if his officers would be placed on quarantine pending the results of their COVID-19 tests, Superintendent of Prisons Lieutenant Colonel John Nurse replied: “I have not been so advised yet, so I can’t answer you.

“The prison is currently going through the processes to give good effect to the testing and follow through on the contact tracing.”

Barbados TODAY later learned that a meeting of the National Security Council was convened to ensure full security arrangements are in place at all times at HMP Dodds.

Moments after the meeting, Home Affairs Minister Wilfred Abrahams disclosed that crisis response plans long in place at the prison are now being activated. He would not elaborate.

He told Barbados TODAY: “The arrangements for the prison are naturally a matter of national security and cannot be casually discussed.

“Rest assured that measures are in place to ensure that the integrity of the prison is maintained in a manner that preserves the security of the facility and the well-being of inmates and staff while still allowing all necessary health protocols to be observed.”

Staff of the St. Philip prison has been extremely reluctant to share their feelings about the developments for fear of sanctions from their superiors, Barbados TODAY was told.

But Senator Franklyn, the lead industrial relations advisor to the Barbados Prison Officers Association, bluntly stated that for days, officers have been reluctant to come to work because of rumblings among staff about a potential outbreak of the dreaded virus.

The opposition lawmaker told Barbados TODAY: “Up to [Wednesday] night, prison officers stayed home because they didn’t want to be infected. It was already known and the fellas were staying away. As a matter of fact, one man manned a block with 50 prisoners.”

He said that it would be unusual for officers to be asked to return to work while the results of their tests are still pending, and added that such a decision would be doubly risky for the many workers there who are suffering from underlying health conditions that could make COVID-19 patients gravely ill.

Senator Franklyn declared: “I don’t blame them, because some of them have families, children and underlying conditions, and when the coronavirus first started, even the PM herself said that persons with underlying conditions shouldn’t attend work. Well, we have a whole host of people with underlying conditions in the prison.”….(Quote)

12. Here is a case that should concern Senator Franklyn, one treatment for a European, and the imprisonment meted out to a Jamaican. It is the Bajan Condition at play. Why not fine the Jamaican? Why not jail the Swiss?

A Swiss national was fined $6 000 yesterday for breaching COVID-19 quarantine, but his attorney Lalu Hanuman is questioning whether the Ministry of Health and Wellness or Infinity Hotel was complicit in allowing the breach to occur.

Ismail Elbagli, 30, of “Wood Chime”, 4th Avenue Amity Lodge, Christ Church, admitted contravening Paragraph 14 of the Emergency Management (COVID-19) Curfew (No.4) Directive 2020, and that there being a directive requiring every person to observe such social distancing and associated protocols in the interest of public health imposed in Barbados from October 29, 2020 to March 27, 2021, being a person in quarantine at the Infinity Hotel, he did leave the said premises without reasonable explanation on December 23.

Elbagli, who does not speak English, initially told the District “A” Magistrates’ Court through interpreter Donna Wiltshire that he was innocent, but changed his plea after prosecutor Station Sergeant Crishna Graham informed Chief Magistrate Ian Weekes that Elbagli was due to leave the island tomorrow night….(Quote)

13. Most definitely, the disparity in sentences needs to be explained. They will not hear the end of this otherwise. From my personal interactions with him years ago I really did not expect great judgment from the Chief Magistrate.

Nothing he has done has changed my expectations.

The prison situation is concerning. Although I do understand the need for some discretion in communication, a few more details are necessary to assure the public that all is under control. We cannot have possibly infected prisoners on the run. We cannot have prisoners given an unofficial death sentence. We cannot have prison officers unnecessarily placed at risk.

But if prison officers are sicking out, who is manning the prison?

14. The prison has always been a hotbed of discontent. it is the reason John Nurse was given the job in the previous BLP administration

15. And how has John Nurse done so far, David?

16. Just saw a good post by Greene that links the violent crime and gang activity to depressed communities.

As if we did not know.

17. ” the Chief Magistrate imposed a $6 000 fine on Barbadian Tyrique Anderson Akeem Thornhill, of No. 71 Edgehill Terrace, St Thomas for breaching the rules of hotel quarantine.”

” he sentenced Jamaican visitor Dean George Scott to six months in prison for leaving his quarantine centre ”

” A Swiss national was fined $6 000 yesterday for breaching COVID-19 quarantine,”

The disparity in sentencing could be explained by the BU Maguffees.

Waiting to see what happens to Miss Great Britain

18. @Donna

Not qualified to appraise his performance. However if one goes by the grapevive there has been an undercurrent of discontent during his tenure.