Grenville Phillips, Leader of Solutions Barbados and Candidate for St. George North

Our Prime Minister has announced that a new election is to be held in St George North. As the Solutions Barbados declared Candidate for St George North, it seems that we are the first out of the blocks.

This election will come at a time when we are still in a pandemic, an IMF austerity program, and a plan to turn Barbados into a Republic – without a national referendum. Solutions Barbados believes that the public should be allowed to declare their support of, or opposition to being a Republic. Such a fundamental change is not something that we should be forced into.

Solutions Barbados is the third largest political party in Barbados, by measure of votes cast in the last General Election. We are also the second largest, by measure of declared candidates for the next general election.

A FAIR THIRD PARTY TEST.

With a 30-0 result in the last general election, this election should be a fair test of the viability of third political parties in Barbados at this time. However, it can only be a meaningful test if the media allows fair coverage of all political views. Therefore, their role in this experiment is critical.

Solutions Barbados was founded on 1 July 2015. Our manifesto was published on Solutions Barbados.com that same day for rigorous public scrutiny. Over the past five years, we have never told the media ‘no comment’. We have always made ourselves available for any interview, and participated in any debate on any topic.

For the past 5 years, we have published between one and three press releases every week. Our articles are well researched solutions to current national problems in Barbados. If you are not receiving our press releases, then please send us your e-mail address and/or WhatsApp number, and we will add you to our growing distribution list.

To the press, we are simply asking for fair coverage.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and President of Solutions Barbados. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

86 responses to “St. George North By-Election – First Out of the Blocks”

1. This is a site of interest to Barbadians and Barbados affairs. Let the US and those interested in Trump go elsewhere. The by-election in St George North will be a test of the government’s popularity after two years.
    It will also raise serious questions (or should) about a senior trade union executive contesting a parliamentary seat for the ruling party. If ever there was a conflict of interest this is.
    The problem of questions of conflict of interest do not form part of the Bajan popular narrative. This improper and abusive use of our parliamentary democracy will pass people by like a bird in the sky.
    Where are our so-called political scientists?

2. Hal barbados rule of law is dictated by an interest one self
    Most noticeably are the media houses who like Moore cuddles with govt
    All else be dam

3. @ac

No different to what the DEMs do right?

4. @ Mariposa

We swill around like flies. There will be no improvement until ordinary people demand more of their representatives. As long as they accept what is offered, regardless, then things will remain the same. We get the government we deserve.

5. David
    Going back to the last ten years there is no better example of how the media houses were alignment with Mia
    Cant say that much for Stuart

6. @ac

It is worth repeating, your rabid support for a party makes you part of the problem. People like you will never be found at the vanguard of change.

7. The dem if the last 10yrs were the stinkest shut ever in Barbados
    No wonder everyone including media , unions and even DLP supporter abandoned DEM

8. Mariposa September 24, 2020 6:41 AM #: “Going back to the last ten years there is no better example of how the media houses were alignment with Mia.”

@ Mariposa

You’re being ‘economical’ with the truth. Let me explain by presenting the ‘other side of the story.’

During the DLP’s tenure, I’m sure you’re aware the Barbados Advocate was the preferred choice of newspaper for the DLP and its supporters. The Advocate focused specifically on news items that reflected positively on both the Thompson and Stuart administrations. The paper’s owner, Anthony Bryan, was rewarded with an unprecedented three (3) national awards (KA, CHB, GCM) for his efforts.

It is a known fact the DLP used CBC to push their political propaganda and agenda. CBC TV8 News was dominated by activities undertaken by DLP ministers. Even irrelevant speeches made by DLP politicians and sympathizers at annual conferences or branch meetings, highlights from DLP sponsored events and history lectures by Bobby Morris, were aired on CBC TV8 as ‘News Extra.” For example, the entire speech Stuart made at the DLP’s annual conference in 2017, in his capacity as PRESIDENT of that political party (and not PM of Barbados), was aired on CBC as “News Extra.”

I know you recall when CBC seemed to have banned the BLP. Although they were willing to pay for airtime, the party denied the same privileges that were granted to the DLP.

Whereas the Advocate was DLP biased, ‘StarCom Network’s’ ‘Nation’ newspaper seemed to be a bit more biased towards the BLP. However, they had a mixture of moderators on their radio call-in-program, ‘Brass Tacks,’…….. as opposed to CBC’s ‘Talk Yuh Talk,’ which was hosted by 2 DLP supporters…… Maureen Holder and John Lovell.

What I found interesting was the fact the DLP REFUSED to participate in public forums, organized by VOB 92.9FM, at which politicians from the various political parties were invited to interact with and answer questions from the ordinary citizens. Representatives from UPP, Solutions Barbados, BLP, BIM, etc were always present and the moderator usually had to apologize for the absence of a DEMS representative, also saying they refused to respond to the invitation.

You guys were so arrogant that you even scoffed the public.

This brings me to ‘Barbados Today.’ That online ‘newspaper’ is known for its ‘hard hitting’ editorials, which were mostly critical of the BLP, even to this day.

Bearing these facts in mind, perhaps you may want to explain “how the media houses were alignment with Mia.”

9. Hal Austin;

Was Frank Walcott the General Secretary of BWU along with being a member of Parliament supporting the ruling party of the time? Was Leroy Trotman a member of parliament at the same time that he held high office in the BWU? Were they not several other MP’s who held posts in the BWU or other Unions?

You betray a signal shortsightedness by suggesting that BU should only discuss matters that you deem to be of Barbadian interest. The matter of a possible imminent fall of the USA from a longstanding leadership in the arena of Democracy to a proxy of Russia has serious implications for how and where Barbados goes in the near future.

Think! If you can.

David; I would suggest that you start a blog on the implications of current developments in the US re. possible changes in that country’s possible democratic orientation especially related to black countries in the US backyard like Barbados. Developments are likely to be imminent. That discussion is important despite what Hal Austin says.

Pshaw!!!

10. There are two Gov’t Senators who are Ministers and from my recollection at least one Senator is a Parliamentary Sec. Couldn’t the Gov’t recruit one of those to run in St. George N where they could at least contribute during Question Period? ah mean Question Period don’t mean zilch when there is no Opposition.

Once again, I have to ask about young Adams, did the PM ask him to the dance just to serve as a wallflower? Lordie a whole Constitution was upended to get Adams into the chamber and now he is just twiddling his thumbs, it gotta hurt that a faithful servant who voted for the Gov’ts Integrity Bill is passed over for the shiny object that sat there and abstained.

11. @Sargeant

St. George is a constituency that supports homegrown candidates.

12. sARG

the selection of the BLP candidate would have been started at the branch – that is the SGN BLP branch – which would be the general blp members/ residents of SGN. If the people of SGN did not want any of the other senators then it make no sense

13. @LyallSmall

First, no country in the world interferes more with the internal affairs of independent nations than the US. Just look at how it is massing for a war with Cuba and Venezuela, and to control Guyana’s oil, interference with Eastern Europe and elsewhere. It is the positive side of a strong China, a role a United States of Europe should have committed itself to.
    The one thing we all share in common on this site is an interest in Barbados and that should be the concentration. I will not come on BU to discuss UK or EU politics, apart from pointing out obvious misinterpretations or errors ie the numerous errors about Brexit or the Westminster/Whitehall model of governance..
    As to active trade unionists being MPs for one of the dominant political parties, your argument is just a version of whataboutism. It is a conflict of interest whoever does it. It does not mean a trade unionist cannot, or should not, become an MP. That is a democratic right. But s/he must give up one of his/her roles.
    For example, you are in parliament and anti-trade union legislation is proposed, which side do you come down on? I fully appreciate we have a small talent pool, but our job is to make a bigger pool.

14. @Hal,

100 percent you are right. A person holding office in a union and a political party simultaneously?

A clear conflict of interest and that it happened before, only demonstrates the incestuous nature of Barbados politics. It does not make it right.

15. i told you all social media was putting out Toni Moore as the SGN candidate. she will win because this has become a BLP stronghold, the general public is not yet soured on the BLP and still hates the DLP, she is from the area and she went Cawmere, last and least, notwithstanding she is a sell out. but she is getting her 2020 pieces of silver for selling out the workers for 5% and a seat

she is not a real people person as St George people like their candidates to be mixers in the community.

she said she is not a party person but all her actions point to the contrary

depending on how things transpired over the next 2-3 years she may not have it so easy in the general elections.

16. @Greene

You are aware her husband was appointed the deputy director of the NSC?

17. i am well aware of the connections

18. Hal Austin; You said ” It will also raise serious questions (or should) about a senior trade union executive contesting a parliamentary seat for the ruling party. If ever there was a conflict of interest this is. “

Those questions were asked long ago and fully countered by the relevant parties of that time. The people of that Barbados considered that senior Union membership in no way invalidated anyone from becoming a parliamentarian. I don’t think that the situation has changed significantly since then.

Of course people will ask questions! But those questions have been answered again and again.

19. What is the NSC? … and what is its relationship with a Union Member seeking a parliamentary seat?

20. i think that Barbados has evolved to a point where, and in the general interest of good if not transparent governance that the leader of a union if they sit as an elected representative of a constituency should not also be the leader of a trade union. this goes irrespective of any trade union or any party that person represents.

is McDowell going to run in the next by election too?

in any case Toni Moore is a sell out and members should vote her out of the union

21. @Lyall

NSC – National Sports Council.

22. David; The link above is’nt working

23. @Lyallsmall

I am are that our politicians and trade unionists have oft en ridden two horses. But all that means is that historically we have been making the same mistake and, being a realist, I do not expect it to end soon.
    However, some of us must fight for a return of ethics in our pubic and political life. In the case of Ms Moore, I say to her Up and On. But that does not mean that she is now her union’s representative on the so-called Social Partnership, a member of parliament for the ruling political party, and head of her trade union.
    Having sat in the Senate as an independent senator, a fact we now know was most probably a deception, given that she could not be a new member of the ruling party and be offered a safe constituency in a by-election; and given she now sits in a parliament as a member of the same party as the minister of Labour, Mr Jordan, the Bible tells us one cannot serve two masters (in her case three).
    What happens if the president offers her a ministry, as she tends to do to compromise her opposition?
    I suggest you do some reading about Ernest Bevin or George Brown. We must show young people that there is an ethical way in public life, apart from the criminality of people like Donville Inniss, or greed or selfishness or inflated egos.
    In Britain we say ethics is a county to the east of London; in Barbados we think it is a cocktail. Barbados is a failed state. It will all end in tears.

24. public….

25. @David
    St. George is a constituency that supports homegrown candidates.
    ++++++++
    What is so special about SGN? Is Barbados so huge that another person from another district be totally out of touch with what pertains to that area and be unacceptable? That’s a poor excuse for selection of a candidate perhaps all the constituencies should insist that any candidates seeking election be residents or born in the area they seek to represent.

What’s the difference between 23% and 5 %? If you are a worker its 18% if you are a Union leader it’s a seat in the H of A.

26. @Sargeant

Constituencies have their nuances. St. George has rejected Richie and the great Errol Barrow. There is a reason Gline held the seat for 26 years.

27. yet Richie was born and raised in the salisbury / newbury/ workmans area and has /had extensive family there. that is not why he lost. he lost because at the time he used to drive a white jag and his brother in law and Jack Idle said Richie didnt like black people because he never came to rum shops and give the fellas a drink.

same reason Esther Byer lost in SGS. she didnt stop by the love rock corner and by the fellas a drink inter alia. local politics at its best

28. Will wait and see if the people of St. George allows a do nothing Union boss to speak on behalf of their interest in Parliament
    Moore is not even worth what paddy shot at

29. Having sat in the Senate as an independent senator, a fact we now know was most probably a deception, given that she could not be a new member of the ruling party and be offered a safe constituency in a by-election;

Would you please explain the deception when one of the rules is that the trade union must be represented in the Senate and the GG is the person that appoints independent senators?

30. @Greene

Your clarification is accepted, wanted to stress St. George is very uncompromising about certain candidates, to Sargeants inquiry- the candidate must fit the bill. Obviously Mottley believes Toni Moore brings something extra. We should debate what is the extra.

31. Hal Austin

Agree in essence with most of your 11:48 am post.

32. @Michael Campbell September 24, 2020 1:21 PM

Correct me if I am wrong, but the GG and the PM share the same old school tie, do they not?

33. To whom it may concern
    SGN and SGS are two different constituencies.

34. Michael Ca.pbell why wastr time with Mariposa.She speaks out of both sides of her mouth.Ms Moore is no more a sellout than Sir Frank Walcott, Sir Roy Trotman , Mr Morris or Mr Evelyn Greaves were.Then as AC Mariposa ain, t had no problem with these gentlemen being MP, s in her DLP government or were they sellouts too?Pray tell us what is the difference?Mariposa also mentioned Ms Mottley being loved by the media.Do you have amnesia? As Artax told you forgot CBC and moderatorslike Maureen Holder whose sole agenda every week in cohoots with the trini dem and others along with Mr Lovell two known Dems?Where are they now?How about the Dems disgraceful meeting in Waterford for which they have yet to apologise cussing Ms Mottley and wbere are they now ? Karma is a bitch and long may the Dems stay in the wilderness for my part.

35. Her deception lies in the shabby and disgraceful manner in which she treated the Union members pretending to be looking out for them when as evident now she was looking out for herself
    Not to mention the cheesy 5percent she took from govt
    She all but undermined the membership
    Her readiness to say yes to govt proposals in these hard economic times instead of the better interest of members cannot be overlooked and is equally mindboggling to expect Moore to put St. George people interest ahead of govt agenda
    Her history in the last years of being Head of the Union makes less to be desired
    Presently many households which have union members are left out to fend for self and not a word of comfort has been uttered from her mouth
    Hasnt Moore bread been buttered
    Cant forget her refusal of a larger increase for govt workers by past govt but her quickness to settle for pigeon drops offered by this govt