A dispute involving Irish investor Alan McIntosh and other parties with local hotelier Peter Odle continues to be a source of embarrassment for Barbadians and makes public what ordinary Barbadians have been complaining about for many years. We have a court system that is broken and a ‘buddy system’ that protects the favoured in society. In local parlance, two Barbadoses.

The two political parties come and the two political parties go and the problem remains.

See other blogs posted on a dispute which continues to expose our moribund court system and to dent our reputation as a domicile fit and proper to conduct international business. This imbroglio is occurring as Prime Minister Mia Mottley has been promoting the Barbados Welcome Stamp – Work Remotely in Barbados initiative in the international media. It should not be forgotten that attracting foreign direct investment is important to the economic planners to ensure we can honour foreign commitments.

Alan McIntosh dubbed by Barbados Underground as that pesky Irish investor has written a second letter to the Prime Minister of Barbados which encapsulates in summary detail the dysfunctional governance setup and toxic business ethos prevailing in Barbados. The letter separates the issues for the Prime Minister’s under the headings – Court Delay Tactics, Corporate Governance and Abuse of Personal Relationships to Circumvent Creditors.

It is clear from reading the letter that Attorney General Dale Marshall is also aware of the ongoing dispute that threatens to compromise Barbados’ economic recovery effort. In an Affidavit filed with the Barbados court, Abagi Ekoku who is a shareholder in Sandy Bay Holdings Inc (SBHI) named as First Defendant in the pending court matter, explains how a repurchase agreement with Richard Bradford and Peter Odle has gone south and precipitated litigious action.

Clause 23 extracted from the Affidavit sworn by Agagi Ekoku:

On Monday the 10th day of February, 2020, pursuant legal advice which I received from my Attorney-at-Law, I wrote to the Attorney General of Barbados, the Hon. D. Marshall, Q.C., MP. I requested acknowledgement of my aforementioned letter from the office of the Attorney General and received the acknowledgement on the same date from Hazel Mederick, the executive secretary to the Attorney General. To date, I have not received a response to my letter. True copies of the email/letter dated 10th day of February, 2020 and the acknowledgment of the same date are hereto attached and marked “AE3”.

Extracted from the Affidavit of Abagi Ekoku

It pains the blogmaster no end each time a blog of this type is posted which shines a light at the underbelly of Barbados. The upside is that it is being done with the aim of making Barbados a better country for ALL.

Barbadians should be reminded of an Irish saying – May the enemies of Ireland never meet a friend..

186 responses to “Peter Odle Under the Gun”

1. Good advice especially with players willing to leak more info in the pubic domain.

2. @Vincent Codrington September 19, 2020 9:08am

A friend in need is a friend indeed???

3. @ Heather September 19, 2020 1:28 PM

We do not know the facts, but everything always only from hearsay. What is clear is that in Barbados the losing party points to the court. Our Supreme Court unfortunately plays the role of a whipping boy, although there is no evidence of bad or slow justice.

In many cases clients go to cheap and incompetent lawyers to save money. In London, a top lawyer costs up to GBP 500-700 per hour (i.e. not per day). If you go to a cheap lawyer, you must not complain about any delay.

Lastly: As far as Lord Marshal Dale is concerned, the man is beyond reasonable doubt. Why should he explain himself or answer letters from an angry foreign investor? The press might interpret any answer as an interference with the independence of the judiciary.

It is important that we trust our leader Mia Mottley and her right-hand man, Lord Marshal Dale, unconditionally.

4. @ Heather September 19, 2020 1:28 PM

Incidentally, the case also refutes the narrative that white businessmen are privileged in Barbados. Last week the BU community was still upset about white privileges in Barbados, now some are defending a white businessman from Ireland. Somehow a contradiction.

5. Peter Pan.

The Irish bookie have to wait. My case took 6.5 years to resolved in the Supreme Courts (in my favor). Ask the next Attorney General Deighton Kingsley Rawlins. One of Barbados 🇧🇧 most Distinguished Attorneys.

6. @Tron September 19, 2020 8:19 AM “… he masses dependent on social transfers like the drug addict on cocaine.”

You mean like the $300 million just transferred to the masses of hoteliers?

The business class which never tires of sucking on the tired bubbies of the Bajan taxpayers?

Stupssseee!!!

P.S. Good Lord, a baby is weaned at a year or two, or in times of war or famine maybe at 3 years old, but these perpetual babies sicken me. If my baby insisted on sucking on my bubbies past 3 years old, war or no war, famine or or famine, covid or no covid. I would smash its head against the nearest rock.

7. @Vincent Codrington September 19, 2020 9:08 AM “@ David BU. Why are you promoting this issue? Is Bu the place to ventilate ad nauseam what is really a private legal dispute which should be handled in the law courts however broken it is?

@Vincent Codrington September 19, 2020 9:08 AM “@ David BU. Why are you promoting this issue?
    My response: Because he can.

@Vincent Codrington September 19, 2020 9:08 AM “@ David BU “…a private legal dispute which should be handled in the law courts however broken it.”

The thing is. It appears that it is NOT BEING HANDLED.

8. @Hants September 19, 2020 11:35 AM “One of my strong points is loyalty except to ex wives and girlfriends.”

Give the ex-wives and ex-girlfriends a break nuh! They were young, foolish, and lusty just as you were.

This is how to handle it.

Do not concentrate on what made the relationship fail.

Concentrate on the sweetness which they shared with you while the going was good.

And you will all live happily [even if separately] ever after.

9. @ Vincent.

I’m sending you a life preserver old chap.

10. All right thinking Barbadians would agree that the justice system in Barbados works too slowly and needs to be speeded up. That is not Mr Odle’s fault . All we know is that Mr McIntosh has filled a case against Mr Odle .We are not privy to the facts of the case , indeed we do not know will be the outcome .Yet the ranters and ravers and “puller-downers”of The BU family have tried , convicted , tarred and feathered Mr Odle Shame on you

11. I must admit that i am not too fond of Bajan lawyers.

25 years ago I gave one a non-contentious civil matter to expedite for me. Unlike what Tron thinks I was willing and able to pay the going rate, whatever that was.

He, it is ALWAYS a he, responded in WRITING that he would handle it.

I haven’t heard from him since.

The Irish man is more patient than I am.

I got another lawyer, a SHE to do the work. Work done in less than six months.

Women can walk and chew gum.

Some of our MEN just damn lazy. We know. We were raised in the same houses as they were. Some of us had the misfortune to be married to some of them.

Oh Lordie!

Doan lemme go there.

12. If there is a legal dispute between a plaintiff and the Government, the Office of the Attorney General is sued.

Dale Marshall just for the moment happens to occupy that Office.

If he is removed, whoever takes his place will have to respond to Mr. Mcintosh.

13. Cuhdear BajanSeptember 19, 2020 3:58 PM

The Irish man is more patient than I am.

I got another lawyer, a SHE to do the work. Work done in less than six months.

Not Cheriann Parris or Vonda Plie by any chance?

14. Spikes,

Count Donna out. I have been very careful with my words – AS USUAL.

All I have said is that IF the gentleman is constantly involved in financial dooflickies it would be inappropriate for him to be appointed to the post.

No conviction of the man. Just an opinion on the decision made by the Government in hypothetical circumstances.

15. Vonda Pile is interesting.

She maintains her innocence.

https://annsvg.com/index.php/2019/06/05/barbados-lawyer-convicted-remanded/

16. Oh dear, Cuhdear Bajan! You walked right into that one.

I happen to know a few female attorneys who can be trusted. The one male attorney I trusted is dead.

We must be careful though, not to define things so rigidly in gender terms. There will always be exceptions to the norm.

17. From what I have read I agree with Donna the only lawyer you can trust is a dead one

18. Both male and female lawyers steal.

Both male and female lawyers waste their client’s time and money!!

I know!!!

19. … and unfortunately, the higher the lawyer the worse the offender!!

20. Quaker John

Whether or not she is guilty, she should not be jailed. They were making an example of her, which is always bad justice.

21. From my dealings with Vonda I found her to be conscientious. She was recommended to me by a friend who could not handle my matter because it would jeopardise another relationship.

I remain surprised by Vonda’s case. Don’t know what the hell happened there!

22. Pile admitted she withheld the money from her client to offset monies owed by said client.

23. That’s not what I said, Lawson but in Barbados one does have to be very careful in choosing an attorney – male or female.

24. @Spikes

That is the court of public opinion for you. Why did Odle borrow from external players in USD?

25. “Moments after she finished her submission Lashley returned fully robed and told Justice Beckles that Pile was a good and proper candidate for bail. He pointed to her stellar attendance at her court sittings, the fact that she is gainfully employed, that she was not a flight risk and that the “strictest of conditions” could be imposed.

The Acting DPP responded saying that Pile’s status was now changed and that any bail application prior to sentencing should be heard at another hearing.

“It has always been tradition when a person is found guilty of offences that they are remanded into custody pending any bail application prior to sentencing . . . that is the normal course and we know that. I am not saying to this court that this now convicted person cannot be considered for bail at a future time, what I am saying is that, this is not the stage for a bail application to be heard. And we have to be careful . . . in setting precedence in these cases,” Blackman submitted.

Justice Beckles stated that the maximum sentence for such an offence was “a lengthy one” and that must be considered under the circumstances.

“We have to be very careful in the precedence that we set,” the judge said as she remanded Pile to Dodds pending sentencing and as her colleagues watched, some tearful.”

You see the process.

Taking away a person’s liberty is a serious matter.

The person is protected by the constitution regardless of who he/she is.

Vonda Pile has been remanded, her liberty has been taken away.

When she returns to court for her bail hearing she will be in handcuffs because as the prosecutor made plain to the court, her status has changed.

Mr. Nadur is on remand at Dodds.

His status has changed although he has not been found guilty of the offence of which he is accused.

When he returns for his bail hearing he will be handcuffed.

If he or she is not, then is the time to talk about double standards.

26. You will probably find that both Cheraine Parris Vonda Pile left court not only with a conviction but also in handcuffs.

Both are guaranteed by the constitution a “fair hearing in a reasonable time” in an “independent and impartial” court.

Anyone wants to opine what the court must be independent of?

27. Was Vonda representing the plaintiff in a case against the Nation?

28. Donna. You are counted out. Question for You though , if a Barbadian had a case tied in the British legal system would it be appropriate for him to write the Br Pm about it ? Or should he write the Lord Chief Justice. We know that Mr Macintosh wrote the Pm because he was trying to get her to interfere in our judicial system .Surprised that we are condoning his behavior

29. Maximum sentence is a ‘lengthy one’, which sentencing course did he go on? It is ‘tradition’ to remand people convicted in custody? What jokes.
    A sentence must be determined, unless it is indeterminate or real life. This is a human rights issue. And a convicted person can be remanded on bail for sentence by the judge. This is an abuse of process.
    Is there a sentencing council?

30. @ Spikes
    Don’t be feelin sorry for Mr Odle. He love gossip and always talking bout other people misfortune.
    He mess with wrong people this time. People not scared of his contacts and not buying his BS excuses. He just hate payin. Simple.
    What make he think people should wait forever?

31. There is a reason why players looking to the Barbados Courts for Justice maybe tempted to seek assistance from the execution. This is Barbados, this is how we roll.

32. Dear Mango truth. I don’t deal with gossip and I am not concerned with any other cases , true or false , either from current disgruntled or former disgruntled employee.My comments relate to this McIntosh thing

33. She -man Lorenza, ya can’t even change ya writing style, fowl slave in hiding..

ya are an enabler, like Comissiong, you would enable crimes against anyone, especially your own people, as long as it’s family and friends committing those atrocities and grand thefts, the blighted plight of the yardfowl…

34. Mango Truth,

I do not think the prime minister should be the first person to be written. I would have acknowleged the letter however and told him where he should have written. I think last time I said I would have passed it on but that may have given the impression that it should be prioritised.

35. We noticed her colleagues weren’t crying for the people she robbed, gang of thieves.

36. Sorry! That was meant for Spikes. Lack of sleep.

37. Dear Mango truth I don’t deal with accusations whether true or false or from present or past disgruntled employees My comments relate to the McIntosh issue and why we are so quick to pass judgment without the facts

38. @Spikes

You recognized that Ekoku had his matter which is related to the substantive matter highlighted here acknowledged by the AG?

39. “Why should he explain himself or answer letters from an angry foreign investor?”

we will know by the number of investors or lack of, rushing to get into the island now……short memories make people forget that the Irish dude is not the only person complaining about the supreme court, the lawyers, the judges etc, but he is certainly the one to do the most damage internationally, in combination ……with…..

40. The blog master.seems to have a fixation on Mr Odle. What does it matter whether the supposed loan was in Bds, Pounds , Yen Euros Marks etc

41. Will repeat the question Spikes- do you acknowledge that the AG if Barbados acknowledged receipt of a notification of a matter that is directly related to the substantive issue raised by McIntosh?

42. Yes Spikes, the blogmaster is curious why would Odle borrower from the external market at a time when access to forex in Barbados was tight. To boot he forgot to register the funds.

43. So what we saying here is we have a court system here that will allow somone to borrow millions and dont pay them back as committed. Then if they dont like it you tell them “Well carry me court then”, knowing it will take ten years. So in the meantime you invest the lender money and turn it 2 or 3 times then if the case ever conclude you give him back just what you borrow and keep the profit..

The got a list anywhere of the lenders cause i got a few projects to do first of which is my lab raised chicken with 4 wings for sale to the supermarkets.

When you study it a man could get rich taking advantage of the court speed. Hold on apparently some are already doing it! LOL

44. @ Tron,
    It is important that we trust our leader Mia Mottley and her right-hand man, Lord Marshal Dale, unconditionally.

UNCONDITIONALLY? What are you smoking to suggest this? We all have a brains that we must use to determine what is right or wrong regardless of what anyone says. I do not drink Trump koolaid.

45. Waru you are so intent in shite talk you puttinge in an issue i have not commented on.You should realise by now i ignore your cut and paste repetitive boring idle talk.In other words i scroll past any comments you make so why are you calling my name?I do not know anything of this matter and hence unlike you who feel you are a know all chose not to comment on certain topics.Perhaps you should try it as Spikes said a bunch of doom and gloomers on this blog every day saying the same thing.It gets boring hence my taking time off and responding to very few posters on here when i feel like it and you Waru are definately one i ignore. Therefore you and the regulars can speculate all you want i gone.

46. Granted some female lawyers are not above board…but none have kept be waiting for 25 years.

Just tell me “yes” i can do the work”

Or

“No” I can’t do the work.

And let me get on with my life.

But to tell me yes, and then do me no?

Sorry I dun wid you.

Women can walk and chew gum.

47. @Tron,
    TronSeptember 19, 2020 2:37 PM

@ Heather September 19, 2020 1:28 PM

Incidentally, the case also refutes the narrative that white businessmen are privileged in Barbados. Last week the BU community was still upset about white privileges in Barbados, now some are defending a white businessman from Ireland. Somehow a contradiction.

In this case the foreign business appears not to have political privileges. His white privilege did not suffice.

48. @ TronSeptember 19, 2020 2:34 PM

@ Heather September 19, 2020 1:28 PM

We do not know the facts, but everything always only from hearsay

Wrong, we have 2 sworn affidavits.

Leave a Reply to JohnCancel reply