As the 65th Annual Conference of the Democratic Labour Party nears, it is appropriate to examine that disastrous political party, which I shall do in a series of articles. 

The Dems have faced an existential challenge since the death of its most beloved leader, E.W. Barrow. That the DLP has failed to build up a sustainable political movement after this tragic event, is perhaps best seen in the fact that the DLP’s list of notable achievements as a government seems to stop in 1976. Let us set aside the fact that the Democratic Labour Party has had two failed administrations since 1986, and that their last dispensation was particularly awful, and that to this day in 2020, they remain bankrupt of ideas and inspiring leadership. Let us look, presently, instead at the DLP’s paltry electoral performance since 1991 to illustrate the deep hole which the Dems have found themselves in, long before their much-deserved rout in 2018. [Note: the analysis which follows does not include the 2018 election, which is clearly a remarkable statistical outlier].

Since 1991, there have been six elections, three of which the DLP have won. However, a closer examination reveals something more interesting. In 1991 (with historically low turnout), a mere 1,075 votes gave the DLP another term in office. Similarly, in 2013, had two seats or 164 votes swung the other way, Barbados might have been saved the peril of the 2013-18 period. The post-1991 period simply has not been the DLP’s “golden era”, to put it mildly. 

While the national picture is bad enough, a microanalysis at the constituency level reveals a party which simply has not created or maintained a solid, winning support base, even though the DLP is said to have more grassroots supporters than the BLP. 

St Michael East is a somewhat marginal seat, however the Dems have done little to translate Joe Tudor’s commanding lead in 1991 and ‘94 into enduring success. 

Where the BLP has been able to pull off substantial margins when they have won St Michael West Central (when you remove 1994), the DLP has not achieved anything more than a 4% margin of victory, since Wes Hall in 1991. 

In reliable constituencies, they fare no better.

In St Michael West, after Branford Taitt, the DLP has not risen above 53% of the vote share at any time.

In St Philip South, since 1991, the Dems have won the seat four times, but have never made it back to 1991 levels, in terms of vote share. 

St Michael South Central is much the same. The BLP has only won the seat once at its highest tide (again excluding 2018). However, since 1991, the DLP has not risen above 54% of the vote share in any election

In St Lucy, apart from 2008, there has been no significant expansion in vote share for the DLP, beginning and ending the period with 53/54%

Not only is the DLP not entrenching themselves in ‘safe’ and DLP leaning seats. They have also failed to make any tangible inroads in areas that are historically unfriendly to them, making it much harder for them to ever hope to turn those seats into DLP seats.

Apart from Byer-Suckoo’s win in 2008 in St George South, the Dems have remained consistently under 44% of the vote share since 1991. 

In St James North between 1991 and 2013, DLP vote share fluctuated but ultimately returned in 2013 to the 1991 level of 45% showing little long-term growth.

The DLP faces a tough road ahead and will almost certainly remain in Opposition for quite a while to come. To get through the rough times, you should have a reserve store to fall back on. A mixture of terrible candidate selection and bad governance since 1991 has made that store remarkably thin, even without considering 2018 and the disastrous mouthings of their members and leadership since then.

Can they survive this time in the wilderness? Probably. It would be politically immature to count them out just yet. But certainly, if not dead, the Democratic Labour Party is, now and for the foreseeable future, comatose. Considering that Barbadians live better and Barbados functions better when the DLP is out of office, their time in the wilderness is for the best. Next, we delve into the quality of their performance, in and out, of government.

74 responses to “The Deceased Labour Party – Part One”

1. @ Koolaid Kid (BLP)

INSTEAD OF YOU TRYING TO DO SOMETHING PRODUCTIVE WITH YOUR YOUNG LIFE YOU CONTINUE TO POST BOVINE NONSENSE.

BLP AND DLP LABOUR PARTIES SHOULD BE BOTH DEAD AND BURIED.

I POSTED A VIDEO UNDER YOUR LAST ARTICLE SHOWING HOW A 9 YEAR OLD BLACK AMERICAN BOY STARTED LEARNING ABOUT INVESTING AND ENTREPRENEURSHIP WHO NOW AT 13 IS A MILLIONAIRE AND GIVING BACK TO HIS BLACK COMMUNITY.

WHILE YOU CONTINUE WAFFLING SEWAGE ON BU ON A REGULAR BASIS BLINDED BY YOUR BLP INDOCTRINATION..

HAVING MISGUIDED ELDERS WHO TOLERATE AND ALLOW YOU TO CONTINUE WITH FOOLISHNESS BECAUSE YOU ARE BEING USED AS SOMEONE TOOL.

I SUGGEST START DOING SOMETHING CONSTRUCTIVE SO THAT YOU CAN CONTRIBUTE TO YOUR LOCAL COMMUNITY. HAVING YOUR NECK STUCK UP THE ASS OF EITHER BLP OR DLP IS NOT CONTRIBUTING TO PROGRESS BUT A CONTINUATION OF THE SAME MERRY GO AROUND OF MUSICAL CHAIRS.

2. Verla sends Mia a strong message
    A message with a reminder that the blp had internal issues by which Mia was a party to division within the party
    Also to tell Mia to stay out of the dlp internal affairs

3. DE PEIZA TO MOTTLEY:
    STAY OUT OF OUR INTERNAL AFFAIRS!

“…One would think the Prime Minister would have enough on her hands…with a bloated Cabinet…and 30 no-performing assets…”

4. Michael Campbell spot on as Mariposa, s side kick in the UK says.Mariposa along with Austin, John A, Pacha, Greene , Skinner and a few others on here agenda is to try and destabilize a democratically elected government by whipping up a frenzy about a lot of trivial nonsense.They hope to bring back the incompetent dems from the dead.Problem is i do not think even the great Mr Barrow can bring them back in under 15 years.Therefore let them continue their nonsense since most of them do not live about here and could stop up in their ideal world and spout nonsense.They care little about Barbados or bajans in my view.

5. Yuh mean make believe ideal world!

Steupse!

6. Wunna blp yardies are amazing
    Wunna had ten years of bad mouthing past govt and giving past govt hell
    The continuous articles on BU left no stone unturned as to where even Mottley described Haiti as a country in better economic standing than Barbados under Stuart
    Now the shoe is on present govt foot
    You lorenzo and other blp yardies got the nerve to cry unfair and want to have people banned
    Wuhloss muh shirt

7. Therefore let them continue their nonsense since most of them do not live about here and could stop up in their ideal world and spout nonsense.They care little about Barbados or bajans in my view.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

I AM HAPPY YOU ADMIT THAT YOU SEE THINGS IN YOUR SMALL 2×3 ISLAND VIEW.

FORTUNATELY MANY OF US HAVE SEEN THE NARROW MINDED VIEW RAMPANT ON THE ISLAND AND THE BIGGER WORLD.

HENCE HAVE NO PRETEND BIASES.

YOUR ELECTED BLP POLITICIANS PROMISED ANYTHING MATES WERE ELECTED TO CARE AND LOOK AFTER THE PEOPLE NOT BUSINESS AS USUAL.

MOST OF US CALL A SPADE A SPADE AND NOT HAVING OUR NECK STUCK UP SOMEONE’S ASS OR CONTROLLED BY OTHERS AROUND US LIKE HOW IS DONE ON THE ISLAND.

8. The last DLP administration was the worst we ever had. What did they do that could be praised????

The garbage truck picks up my garbage twice a week almost like clockwork. The buses are running up and down here like mad. The shit is off the streets even if the problem is not totally solved. The courts have been sped up. The COVID is not kiling us. The Government was OVER PREPARED.

AND just yesterday they tried to give me money. Unfortunately the refund for the 2016 income tax was not mine but that of a woman with the same name who once lived in the same area where I used to live. The postman could not find her. I told them it couldn’t be mine, gave them my ID number and they realised it was not.

So… the DLP income tax refunds are being paid.

Signed
    Not living in heaven. Not living in hell.

9. Buses and garbage trucks does not complete any economy
    Maybe your life is so economically sustained that the only thing that you have to think about and find comfort are in the fact govt bought air conditioned buses and garbage truckd
    However they are people who cannot afford the 3.50 bus fare and the unconscionable sewage fees
    Get real fool there are many issues that are effecting barbadians socially and economically and present govt has yet to put feasible policies in place
    Btw did you see the condition of the streets after sunday flooding
    Yuh mean to say that is how tax payers monies can be easily washed away

10. Donna – I purposely refused to mention the court system. Lol. Just like I didn’t mention the desal plants promised in Chancery Lane and St.Lucy me thinks (John desal plants are in response to drought, so toast you say?)

William Skinner has highlighted some missteps etc, fair enough; but what government is perfect. Yet even in comparing this government and the previous one, this one is willing to admit, amend and move on. Arni Walters? Who thinks voters will vote against the government because of the appointment of a Deputy CoP? Caswell may have “won” the legal argument in the public domain, but failed miserably in demonstrating that a deputy is not essential. Who will vote against the govt for choosing not to let the Rams juck out we eyes or knocking down the old NIS building to make for a park? In response to his point about walking back on the CE, the Throne Speech is clear: “[m]y Government
    has already announced its intention to reform the transfer from primary to
    secondary school. We will review the Common Entrance Examination and we will
    work with all of the stakeholders to make every school in Barbados a top school
    as promised, each specializing in different areas.” That does not sound like walking back to me.

11. Mariposa
    But the inability to buy neither, higher debt and 20+ downgrades makes an economy, because a society is more than an economy (while asking UWI students to pay) right?

12. @enuff

We looking for the promise to be kept with the reintroduction of integrity legislation early in this session.

13. Me too. But tell the Opposition senators to vote like their party leader and the Independents to don’t play mas if dem fraid powda.

14. MariposaSeptember 18, 2020 4:59 PM DE PEIZA TO MOTTLEY: STAY OUT OF OUR INTERNAL AFFAIRS!

++++

And long may they stay internal, to the DLP. Shameful! None of the rest of us want to see that lot again.

15. Buses and garbage trucks does not complete any economy.

++++++

We may be harmonious in consideration of that comment. However, many promises of the former administration were not consummated. From that, the cosmopolite may excogitate that at least some augmentation of reality for the inhabitants accumulates significant improvement over the prior station.

16. The inabilty to buy neither was due to funds
    This govt took and initiative rather than downgrades borrow
    Rather than downgrades placed a hangmans noose of debt around the peoples neck
    I dont see nothing in present govt policies to cheer about
    Busses yes
    Garbage trucks yes but at what cost
    In the midst of all that is going on people livelihood are evermore becoming a nightmare

17. And crusoe u speak of better
    Check the crumbling and decay state of bridgetown
    Small businesses folding daily yet govt found money to blow up a building
    Small business played a very important part in building barbados
    Present govt has all but handed them their death certificate while pumping millions in the one nest economy a nest which has been handed the keys to the treasury many times over
    Your idea of progress has sorely missed the mark having a govt who has placed more debt on the shoulders of barbadians
    In legal terms this govt can be described as grossly incompetent

18. Piece the Prophet Avatar

@ Mr William Skinner

Truly well said!

“…So, to all those kool aid drinkers and apologists , who think that they are going to get away by silly posts and embarrassingly written nonsense and that one Mia Amor Mottley , is going to bluff her way beyond criticism, let them be now served that the honeymoon is over and that the pen will be as sharp as it was for Barrow when he brought the Public Order Act; for Arthur when he attempted to sell out Barbados by making deals like the Marina where Barbadians have been treated to the indignity of having to wait on a bridge to close so that luxury yachts can have access to their owners multi-million dollar condos and one Freundel Stuart who along with a pack of idiots almost ruined the country…”

Each iterative point logically penned and soundly reasoned!

You dear sir are an anachronism and belong to an age where men, albeit an exclusive group, met to discuss abstract concepts with similarly gifted minds NOT SHEEPLE, as is the majority of the Barbadian population

A state if being that will not change for the next 500 years

De ole man fears that a discussion such as yours CANNOT BE conducted in a rushed around the island

And that is the shameful reality

19. Piece the Prophet Avatar

Rumshop, rushed is the wrong word

20. @ Piece
    Thanks. There are too many political hypocrites operating on BU. I assure you that while I am prepared to give Mottley and Company their support when deserved, I remain steadfast that I will not tolerate blatant hypocrisy. Nobody has yet mastered how to convince me that a Timex is a Rolex.
    For instance : How can we extend hardship on the poor for two consecutive years and then give them $40 million in some sophisticated debushing/ maintenance program and then take up $300 million to support hoteliers in an industry that the entire world knows will not bounce back under two years. Furthermore for every collar earned in Tourism at least 60 cents never reach us.
    In the meantime, you are giving a $5000 pittance to small black business people who trying to eke out a living.
    This is nothing more than economic genocide being practiced on the most vulnerable while propping up the rich and infamous.

21. Piece the Prophet Avatar

@ Mr. William Skinner

For speaking these truths you can expect to be hounded by the Mugabe Mottley pair of Rented Jackasses Hee Hee and Hee Haw

Watch dem earn their pay

22. @ Enuff September 18, 2020 11:01 PM

I do not see any mistakes by the government at all. The opponent exaggerates irrelevant details. I have full confidence in Lord Marshal Dale and all other ministers.

23. […] The Deceased Labour Party – Part One […]

24. Hard to take this column seriously when it is titled “THE DECEASED LABOUR PARTY”. Doesn’t matter how much analysis is involved or how many “facts” you use, this sort of thing is probably more suited to be put on the BLP’s website – You should contact them.

Leave a Reply to SargeantCancel reply