Peter Odle

We now know veteran hotelier Peter Odle was recently appointed Chairman of Barbados Port Inc to replace Senator Lisa Cummins who was promote to the Cabinet of Barbados. His first salvo to the media was to sell his private sector experience acquired over many years. We will see Mr. Odle, we will see.

Meanwhile elsewhere it is left to social media players to prosecute a matter where Peter Odle’s name is mentioned. In recent days an unsigned letter addressed to Prime Minister Mia Mottley has been circulating in the Barbados social media space.

In brief, a dispute has arisen between Irish investor Alan McIntosh (Emerald Investment) and newly appointed Chairman Peter Odle. The investor resorted to the Barbados Courts on April 2018 – seeking for matter CV1233 of 2018 to be heard on an urgent basis. Mr. McIntosh has expressed shock that to date the matter is outstanding. See the letter attached which reaffirms an issue promoted regularly in this space, justice delayed is justice denied.

The blogmaster has communicated with our source, reviewed voluminous documents received to understand the details of the dispute. Mr. McIntosh deserves his day in court. The letter confirms a similar filing was made in a Guernsey court – the jurisdiction in which a loan agreement between the parties was consummated – and it was resolved in five months. There are no words to describe how Mr. McIntosh and others gripped in a full nelson by our court system must be feeling. Barbados is a country dependent on tourism and foreign direct investment (FDI). This case does not recommend Barbados as an easy place to do business if our courts are not functioning efficiently to dispense justice in a satisfactory time frame.

It is noteworthy Justice Rajendra Narine is acting Chief Justice now that former Chief Justice Marston Gibson has retired. The vacancy was advertised across the region and the application process will close on 7 September 2020. Successive governments have been unable to wrestle our moribund judicature labouring under the weight of a backlog of cases. Check BU Archives and Lawyer in the News Page for the avoidance of doubt. Prime Minister Mottley was on CNN International assuring all within earshot that Barbados is open for business despite COVID 19. On the flip side our Courts are not equipped to discharge all assigned duties were our guests forced to seek legal remedy.

The blogmaster holds no brief for Peter Odle, therefore this blog is not meant to denigrate the newly appointed Chairman and veteran hotelier. The primary message is to ask why Barbados is unable to deliver timely justice guaranteed under the Constitution to its constituents. William Alan McIntosh deserves for the local Courts to rule on his claim of USD550,000 (with interest and cost) owed by First Defendant Sandy Bay Holdings (2014) Inc and Second Defendant Peter Odle. For an aggrieved party to have to fight the Barbados Courts et al to remedy an injustice is the antithesis to what it should represent.

Emerald Investment Partners (“Emerald”) is the private UK and Irish family investment office of Mr. Alan McIntosh. Our investment record in the UK and Ireland includes co-founding Cairn Homes plc, Ireland’s largest house builder which is quoted on both the Dublin and London stock exchange with a market capitalisation of £800m. Emerald is a significant stakeholder in Interserve plc, a UK outsource provider that employs over 50,000 staff. Mr. McIntosh was co-founder of Punch Taverns in the late 90’s a company he grew to an estate of over 5,000 pubs. Emerald was the lead investor in the acquisition of a portfolio of airport hotels which were being privatised by the Irish Government (Great Southern Hotels) and we acquired and funded Carechoice, a company that has gone on to become one of the largest nursing homes operators in Ireland. Emerald continues to be an active investor in UK & Irish residential and commercial real estate, hotel and leisure assets.

Emerald Investment

66 responses to “Foreign Investor Unable to Have Case Heard Against Hotelier Peter Odle”

1. “especially by the late Amused.”

Amused, may he RIP, later changed his stance and was encouraging me to change mine because fool that I am i gave Gibson the benefit of the doubt for far too long….and he just proved to be another tool used by corrupt government ministers to do the bidding of insurance companies et al..

2. “especially by the late Amused.”

Hahaha. Amused..not a practising lawyer… not living in Barbados…but a very good actor, on and off the stage.

3. The problem with the justice system is that lawyers want to graduate at 6:00 PM one evening and expect to own a plantation by 8:00 AM the following morning.
    Not burdened with huge student loans , they then rape the same people , who look like them , and who provided the free education.

4. Don’t take BU too seriously. I use my lap top, so can multi-task when doing other things. I have an escape – we have literally scores of televisions stations, 18 national newspapers, hundreds of magazine and journals and nice, cheap restaurants in which to relax. I enjoy my own company. {Quote}

I feel it should be don’t take Hal Austin too seriously.

Lucus said he don’t post so regular like before because he got bored of the samey, samey comments. But when I read what Hal Austin tell he, I laugh out so hard that the people in the house think I did gine mad.

I remember when Hal Austin was accusing David BU of banning Mariposa and say he gine off BU and the only way he coming back is when she come back.

Now, bear in mind Mari did off from BU fuh bout 5 or 6 weeks. Yuh wudduh think that with the ESCAPE he got, with he laptop, all uh them scores of television stations, newspapers, magazines, journals and restaurants, he wudduh enjoy he own company and stay off BU until Mari CAME BACK…….. OR EVEN LONGER.

NO. It look like he got BORED uh ALL OF THEM THINGS, (and he own company too), because after bout THREE (3) DAYS HE WAS BACK ON BU posting and ending them with “By the way, where is @Mariposa?”

I remember another time he say his friends asked why he does be on BU because they think it is foolishness and the contributors foolish. If none uh wunnuh on BU ain’t deceitful, wunnuh done know Austin really don’t think highly of none uh we either.

What got me real puzzled is why would a man with the type of ESCAPE Hal Austin say he got, WOULD WANT TO COME ON BU FROM EARLY IN THE MORNING TO LATE AT NIGHT AND INTERACT WITH THE SAME PEOPLE HE DOES CALL “some fool or idiot, fibbers, insane, mentally challenged, wild barking dogs, BU predators, wild beast and savages that should be in the jungle, billy goats, mealy mouth keyboard warriors, appallingly ignorant semi-literate buffoons that learn by rote?”

IT JUST DON’T MAKE SENSE, or is it a case of BIRDS OF A FEATHER FLOCKING TOGETHER?

5. @peterlawrencethompson: re your comment.
    Sounds like a pretty terrible attorney who provided your information.

There is an affidavit filed at the courts showing none of the delays are due to McIntosh.

Perhaps this attorney is affiliated….

×××××
    I have been informed by a senior local attorney with no political affiliation that there is currently a defamation suit, Odle v McIntosh, before the court. Furthermore that the suit filed by McIntosh has been judicially ruled to be seriously flawed, requiring significant amendment prior to any pursuance. He says the ball is actually in McIntosh’s court and the delay largely of his own making

6. I already warned PLT to keep away from those jackasses in Barbados, they are going to run him into a deep, dark hole and leave him right there….and then blame him for it too….

7. […] William McIntosh Vs Peter Odle (second defendant) – Foreign Investor Unable to Have Case Heard Against Hotelier Peter Odle – raises the question who should be considered fit and proper to carry out duties of state. […]

8. Why is China building up its food reserves?

9. What does this comment have to do with the topic?

10. Hal AustinSeptember 6, 2020 2:24 PM Why is China building up its food reserves?

Maybe because the Chinese are very clever and astute? Probably expect some sort of calamity with the US election with the lunatic trying to retain power, before or after.

In that scenario, food supplies will be disrupted. Hope the Bdos government takes note.

11. @Crusoe

Spot on. This is a war footing. The two great powers are getting ready for war and we are talking about an insignificant court case.

12. Piece the Prophet Avatar
    Piece the Prophet

@ Mr Hal Austin.

This note about war AINT SOMETHING THAT THESE PEOPLE ON THE BLOG can see so you can’t blame them.

However the article does bring your friend Mugabe Mottley otherwise called Dictator fir Life, centerstage

“…Prime Minister Mottley was on CNN International assuring all within earshot that Barbados is open for business despite COVID 19.

On the flip side our Courts are not equipped to discharge all assigned duties were our guests forced to seek legal remedy…”

So in one statement Mugabe saying she shop open for business, but dis Odle situation, show dat she shop selling defective goods!

13. Only greedy fools and suckers invest in Barbados, Wait until 2023 when the government is removed, Google or reach me if you are thinking of sending or spending money in Barbados, We are the only one who will give you the full truth! BFP

14. Why do you think we can’t see the war coming?

The lunatic cult leader will stop at nothing! He fears prosecution and jail. Also the power of being president would be addictive for such a personality. Most of his cult members are fully loaded and ready to go.

All that remains to be seen is which way the army will swing. And hence the recent leaks to sway the rank and file most of whom voted for him.

15. […] Foreign Investor Unable to Have Case Heard Against Hotelier Peter Odle […]

16. […] Foreign Investor Unable to Have Case Heard Against Hotelier Peter Odle […]

Leave a Reply to PachamamaCancel reply