We are on a path of national destruction.  Most Barbadians will likely scoff at that analysis, because we have been brainwashed to accept failure as a celebratory achievement.  Any attempt to explain to Barbadians that we can do so much better, is met by emotional pleas that the Ministers are doing their best.  Tragically for us, that may be true.

Anyone questioning their failures is dismissed as being politically motivated.  Barbadians are so politically abused, that they voluntarily submit to re-education strategies of political consultants.

A crack has developed in the re-education of Barbadians.  Ironically, it has come from an independent comparative analysis of national educational systems.  Our educational system was ranked near the bottom of 93 nations [1].  Predictably, we ignore this evidence, to avoid facing the reality that we are being misled.

The purpose of the Ministry of Education is to prepare Barbadians to solve problems.  Secondary school graduates should have a positive outlook that they, or their class, can solve any problem.  Instead, we continue to graduate most persons with low levels of self-esteem, which is the root cause of most of our social problems.

INVESTMENTS.

Our graduates become our employers, managers, and politicians.  Their low self-esteem leads them to stifle any innovation they encounter.  We destroy ourselves when we no longer invest in ourselves.  We do not invest in objects.  Rather, we invest in people whom we think will bring us a return.

We no longer invest in our children.  Instead, we politicised their schools, and converted them into daycare centres.  We give them newer toys, to keep them distracted while their parents work.  As expected, political consultants rushed to redefine that as investment.

The sargassum seaweed presented an opportunity for Barbadian innovators to design and build seaweed harvesters, and market them to other countries.  The Government had our research and development funds to invest in us.  However, their low self-esteem guided their investment decisions.

Americans, Canadians, Europeans, and Asians can build these simple machines, but never descendants of the enslaved.  The Government gave away our research and innovation funds to another country.  Barbadians marvelled at the crude imported machine, and cheered their own destruction.

Like the seaweed harvester, electric buses are new technology.  All nations are at a similar starting line.  We could have funded a local innovation competition, where winners would need to drive their electric bus around the island, and up Rendezvous, Farley, and Coggins hills.  Each winner would be paid $1M, which is about what the Government invested in other countries for one imported bus.

Once again, low self-esteem guided Government policy.  We accepted that no descendent of enslaved persons could ever be smart enough to design and build an electric bus.  So, the Government simply walked away from the starting line.

We shamelessly and proudly gave away our research and development funds to other countries, and paid their citizens build our buses.  Predictably, Barbadians cheered this failure as a major achievement.

The Government had an opportunity to allow Barbadians to design and build garbage compactor trucks.  The technology is relatively simple.  However, it is far too complex for descendants of enslaved people to figure out, regardless of how qualified we are.

DANGEROUS POISON.

Celebrating failure is now part of Barbadian culture.  We invest our innovation funds in other countries, because we automatically believe that any investment in ourselves will be wasted.  We lost the confidence to manage our insurance company and national bank.  Now we have lost the confidence to manage our airport.  These actions have damaged something within us.

Our enslaved fore-parents actively resisted the slavers most dangerous poison to their self-esteem.  That was the belief that we were intrinsically inferior to other races.  Investing in others over ourselves, demonstrates our surrender to this belief, and completes their re-education.  We can be depended on to loudly react to racial injustice, but embrace our inferiority when it really counts.

It is not too late for us.  All secondary school students can leave school with a profitable business.  All public services can be managed to the international management standard, ISO 9001.  Corruption can be meaningfully addressed by fining both bribe givers and takers, and rewarding whistle-blowers with the full value of the bribes.

Innovation funds can be invested in Barbados, where prototypes can be developed, patented, and licensed.  But none of this is possible if we keep thinking of ourselves as inferior human beings, and that ISO 9001 is unattainable for only us.    Currently, Solutions Barbados stands alone in trying to pull Barbados back from the brink.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and President of Solutions Barbados. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

Reference [1] – CEO World Magazine Ltd, 10 May 2020.

152 responses to “On a Path of Destruction”

1. What’s happening on the
    Underground
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SDiHqIG6C9M
    Suffer
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DY-VbDVH03w
    (*) Demo Version Excursions

2. @ Hal Austin August 25, 2020 3:27 PM

As this is a global problem, Barbados may exceptionally deviate from the BERT requirements. We should take advantage of the moment to put even more pressure on the masses.

As you might remember, I already advocated for an inheritance tax and a general asset tax (beside land tax). Of course, business people must be exempted from inheritance tax so that their children can continue the business.

A laziness tax for the unemployed and civil servants would also be very profitable, especially in Barbados: All those who work less than 60 hours per week pay a flat rate of 10 BBD per hour. For civil servants, this would mean 400 BBD per week with a real working time of 20 hours and around 1800 BBD per month. Unemployed persons pay 60×4.5 = 2700 BBD per month. The government may seize cars, house, wife and children for tax collection and sell or rent them if necessary.

I also plead for a second debt cut, but much higher, I propose 75 percent on capital for Barbadian citizens, but not for foreign investors and banks. Ratio: It is the local masses that have been screwing up Barbados at the ballot box since 1966, not the foreign investors and the banks.So now the government should strike a final blow at the naive masses.

3. People were far worse off a hundred years ago than they are now. Problem is we expected to be doing better. Progress has not kept up with our expectations.

THAT IS ALL!

4. “History has told us that this was the norm at one time. Might was right without any recourse.
    Most people don’t even believe THAT anymore.
    I say things have improved.”

There are still wars going on for capitalism, Global Resources are limited and greediest still want it all.

MO is not as overt and is more covert.
    such as:
    black ops
    regime changes
    false evidence for war
    putting chosen amenable leaders in power
    keeping other nations from becoming powerful

with false claims they are fighting:
    against-
    terrorism
    oppressive regimes
    and for-
    women’s rights
    human rights
    war for peace

The military industrial complex is one of the biggest industries with arm sales to anyone and wars keeps it going.
    There has been non stop wars for last two decades since drones were invented and used.
    Although these wars are far away in foreign lands and people hardly notice and it’s no longer reported on.

5. Lol Waru PR Nelson is Prince and he has a life size statue there because of purple rain, was just having fun at how stupid it is to pull all nelson statues down, it can happen to mandela , if it can happen to washington
    Donna its nice to hear your life has been good you may have left your self open for an attack of the sisters though, how dare you have a decent life seems to be the mantra by some. Tim Scott and I know he is american but said last night about his family from picking cotton to congress in one generation he also is a glass half full person..

6. People in war zones are suffering large and places like South America and Africa are suffering serious food shortages due to lack of food crops from Global warming. Refugees are risking their lives to come to countries where it safe but have no choice anyway as they are risking their lives staying where they live anyhow.

7. Donna…there is going to be a systems collapse, it’s inevitable, we not talking about the little shit collapse in Barbados that was mostly because of corrupt governments and tiefing minorities, they will just all go broke because they have no control over anything, can’t wait to laugh my ass off…lol.

https://youtu.be/kxI6cXfEytY?t=192

8. “Lol Waru ”

that is for people who cares about a bunch of stone statues, they are not important..graven images.

9. As soon as the hutus and tutsis go at it again the american passports will miraculously appear and want a ride home. Saw the same in lebanon in 2006

10. I am very pleased to see how easily the masses on BU are distracted by Grand Admiral Nelson, so-called white shadows, BLM and Trump instead of once reflecting the unemployment rate of at least 40 percent (I have also heard the number 50). Very nice. Unfortunately, Hal remains focused on the real problems. How sad.

If this continues, our leader should finally get an ambassadorial position for Hal in order to silence him.

11. Real business people doing real business…

https://youtu.be/LdQDxvnx-Xs?t=73

12. I have not personally seen the interior of the buses but this what someone is saying FB..

“Wayne HeadleyBarbados Hall of Shame
    5m ·
    I think those busses are a waste of money bus only has 5 bells and are situated by the back door there are not enough seats and not enough standing room we shouldn’t complain but I believe that the government could have gotten better busses for less even coach busses would have been a preferred choice but it is what it is.”

13. Lawson…hope it’s not you having to run outta Canada, ya know ya can’t go anywhere on the Continent, so it’s UK, Scotland or Ireland for you and back to the dark ages coal mines….Rwanda learned its lesson, the very first thing they did was get rid of all the cursed and blighted colonial slave laws…have you seen their beautiful cities…all of that in 20 years..no slave laws no colonial interference..

stay there and eat your jealous heart out, if I catch you or any of the criminals from Barbados out there you will see.

14. lol waru shouldnt be surprised the housing crap your promoting is tied to hillary clinton enjoy the rnc tonight

15. Lawson…did you not hear…NO WHITES INVITED..it’s a BLACKS ONLY THING, yall are NOT Africans,,,….no minorities, no thieves, no lowlifes, no sellouts, no fowl slaves, no wannabe slave masters, no racists, exploiters or oppressors….we will through your asses out BODILY………stay in ya lane…

16. Mingo arrested by police in election fraud probe

Police this afternoon arrested GECOM’s Returning Officer for District Four, Clairmont Mingo at his Mahaicony home and he is now in custody at the Criminal Investigation Department (CID) Headquarters at Eve Leary.

According to reports Mingo was arrested in connection with electoral fraud. The police last week announced that they have launched an investigation into the March 2nd elections and the events that occurred during the ensuing five months up to when President Irfaan Ali was declared winner on August 2nd.

Mingo had created chaos at the Ashmins Building on High Street on March 5th after he used a spreadsheet to declare the APNU+AFC coalition the winner of District Four though his numbers were later proven to be false. He persisted with the false numbers even after a court order.

A recount of the votes also proved that his numbers were fictitious.

https://www.stabroeknews.com/2020/08/25/news/guyana/mingo-arrested-by-police-in-election-fraud-probe/

17. Yall STUCK in the West, ya TAINTED……what a thing…and ya done know there are those working overtime to make sure that all of you are BANNED from the CONTINENT permanently and perpetually….how bout that…

…..😂😂😂🤣🤣🤣

18. There will be a system breakdown and then what will replace it? A perfect system?

And I’ve been reading up on the Hopi people and Pachamama. What makes their religion any more believable I don’t know!

I refuse to spend my time buried in doom and gloom. I don’t know why Pachamama or anyone else would wish to punish all humankind including me so harshly. Some of us haven’t done that much harm. We just haven’t been perfect. And I would guess we weren’t made perfect. And we sure did not make ourselves.

19. Donna…ever so often after decades there is a systems change, even through a break down, then an upgrade occurs, our ancestors would not have even recognized that change over 70 years ago, being subjugated and beaten down as they were, not having the requisite education to be as conscious as we are today and all types of oppressive, exploitative shit…

……….this time around it’s running its natural course with Karma etc ruling roost and heavily attached, no one has to wish anything, nothing lasts forever and mankind is resilient and as usual will survive, it’s up to you which system you want to continue living under, ya already know ya got idiots and crooks in ya parliament who are only in control of their corruption and the shite laws they create……..so your choice is easy…

man created the system, so no one can rely on it staying the same through every generation…they have had a long 400-year run, the contract has expired, time for new beginnings, I certainly don’t want to continue hearing the same complaints and whining and nothing changes, there are those who always like to complain and if anything changes, they will have nothing to moan and bitch about, they prefer to stay in their colonial, slave themed comfort zone…….. be happy for the evil shit to collapse then the rebuilding can start, wherever that may be…don’t know about others, but this system will not bring happiness and progress to my future generations, those who want to keep it are welcome i just don’t want to hear any more of their bullshit grumbling when it all goes south.., but for those who can actually see what will happen next, it’s time for changes and moving on…new beginnings.

20. Donna

Do you know that 250 specie of plants and animals are made extinct every single months.?

We cannot be guided that there’s anything so special about the humanoid requiring mass-extinction events from which it is to be eternally exempted.

Sooner or later our time must come, given present trajectory. And life supporting systems failure for us will not necessarily proceed at a predictable pace. Meaning it could be abrupt and catastrophic.

Are the Hopi prophecies not similar to those of the leading world religions? What”s so unique about the Abrahamic current to preach Armageddon and hell fire? Have we not have mass extinction events on this earth 5 times previouly?

Pachamama is not alone with this thinking. It happens to be the considered opinion of 98 percent of the top climate scientists on the globe.

21. I won’t bother with the evilest parts of Barbados’ slave codes but would want anyone to point out to me where anything has changed in Barbados in this particular section where the blackface negro rats in the parliament and in the supreme court STILL TO THIS DAY….promote and perpetuate this brutal section of the Slave Code against the majority Black population who pay their salaries…and have continued it from the 1960s pre and post independence…stealing treating their people as chattel with no human rights in the Supreme Court.

“The Barbados Slave Code of 1661 was a law passed by the colonial English legislature to provide a legal base for slavery in the Caribbean island of Barbados. The code’s preamble, which stated that the law’s purpose was to “protect them [slaves] as we do men’s other goods and Chattels,” established that black slaves would be treated as chattel property in the island’s court…”

22. stealing FROM AND treating their people as chattel with no human rights in the Supreme Court.

now the whole world knows.

23. Pay attention Donna…this is how colonial system upgrades occur undetected..

. the sell out negros in the parliament will pay dearly for their sins and crimes against Africa’s children., Karma will never let them escape…

“Subsequent laws abolished blacks’ rights to vote, hold office, and bear arms but the first full-scale slave code in British North America was South Carolina’s (1696), which was modeled on the Barbados slave code of 1661 and was updated and expanded regularly throughout the 18th century.

South Carolina introduced a basic slave code in 1712. The Code was revised in 1739.”

24. Howard’s warning
    Professor ‘very pessimistic’ about economic prospects
    ECONOMIST Professor Michael Howard is “very pessimistic” about Barbados’ immediate prospects and warns that it is “in a long waiting game cloaked in uncertainty”.
    Howard, a former long-standing economics lecturer at the University of the West Indies, Cave Hill, said his “guestimate” was that Barbados “will only start to emerge from this catastrophic recession if the tourism industry is restored to over 60 per cent or more occupancy”.
    “I am highly pessimistic about the immediate prospects for the Barbadian economy now undergoing the terrible effects of the COVID-19 pandemic,” he told the MIDWEEK NATION.
    “The resuscitation of the private sector is also heavily dependent on tourism’s rebound, as well as increased consumption spending in the private sector by households in Barbados. Government should not attempt to reduce liquidity in the private sector. Counter cyclical policy by expanding the money supply in people’s pockets is anti-recessionary.
    “But we are really in a long waiting game cloaked in uncertainty. If the economy was only able to grow by 0.6 per cent in 2019 when tourism was doing well, how can we expect the economy to achieve any positive growth in the next two or three years, especially if we are still under an IMF/BERT programme revised by any means? This is why I am very pessimistic,” Howard explained.
    The economist stressed that the International Monetary Fund/ Barbados Economic Recovery and Transformation programmes and Barbados Optional Savings Scheme could not provide solutions to the present woes.
    “These programmes are based on the Government’s attempt to create fiscal space and achieve a one per cent primary surplus, which really do not address the additional economic problems posed by COVID-19.
    “The COVID-19 economic problems include a collapsed tourism industry, extremely heavy unemployment, a sharp decline of sales in the private sector, a collapse of many private sector businesses, heavy [National Insurance Scheme] disbursements, and a 27 per cent decline of economic output in the second quarter of 2020,” Howard noted.
    “Another problem has also emerged in relation to possible high severance payments by private sector
    businesses.”
    In yesterday’s DAILY NATION, senior economic advisor to Government, Dr Kevin Greenidge, defended the BERT programme, adding it was currently the best option.
    He said that contrary to views that BERT was simply too rigid for this period of uncertainty, it was meeting the economic, health and social challenges.
    In a separate assessment of Barbados’ economic prospects, CIBC FirstCaribbean International Bank’s senior manager, strategy and economics, Tiffany Grosvenor-Drakes, said the accumulation of foreign reserves was encouraging, while the Barbados Welcome Stamp was a possible fillip for tourism.
    However, she too, pointed to uncertain future outcomes in the latest Caribbean Market Overview produced by CIBC Capital Markets and CIBC FirstCaribbean.
    “Despite the resumption of international commercial flights to Barbados on July 12, global uncertainty, fears surrounding everchanging protocols on arrival and return, and reduced air capacity continue to restrict arrival growth,” she said.
    “The newly launched Welcome Stamp visa, designed to mitigate some of these concerns and boost average spend per visitor, increases capacity to bolster domestic demand, but the eventual impact rests on the take-up and on Barbados’ ability to keep active COVID-19 cases contained.
    “The push to restart public and private sector projects over [the second half of the year] could also cushion the impact and allow for a stronger recovery.” (SC)

25. When shall it be
    I get rid of this misery
    Misery, like an old legacy
    ‘Cause this man them say to stand away
    this man just won’t give me no pass
    ‘Cause this man them say stand away
    this man just won’t give me no good
    By this man action I’ve seen a lot of reaction

26. The notion of fiscal space is an IMF-driven concept, and as an staffer at the IMF I would expect Dr Greenidge to sing from the same song sheet.
    However, Professor Howard has good reason for his pessimism, but his optimism, build on a 60 per cent occupancy rate for hotels is far too optimistic.
    First, it is based only on a post-CoVid analysis which does not include any consideration of the performance of the UK economy, or its projections, as our primary tourism market, nor indeed of the other major ones: Germany, Canada or the US.
    It also ignores or down plays the fact that log haul tourism is a luxury. UK tourists are not even returning to Spain, Portugal, Greece and France in the numbers they historically do, and that is a market of one, two and three hour flights.
    Secondly, if government embarks on a policy of subsidising the hotel sector, as is being promoted by tourism officials, all it will be doing is attempting to pump breath in to the the corpse of zombie, mainly badly run, family businesses.
    In an environment of officially 40 per cent unemploy7ment, which means in real terms it must be nearer 50 per cent, there is an urgent need to look at the demographic that is actually unemployed.
    Most of those unemployed people will be young, aged 16-25 – many will be graduates and a large number will be people who have never held a fulltime job since leaving school, college or university. This suggests a serious short to medium term problem.
    Prof Howard also rightly suggests that consumer spending should be stimulated, but caught in the Washington Consensus trap, the quantitative easing that will stimulate consumer spending has been ruled out by the IMF.
    Further, government has no economic plans, apart from the panic of their own making. I am also uneasy about the obsession with never-ending economic growth and would suggest a reading of James K. Galbraith’s The End of Normal. There are other ways to measuring progress than by GDP.

27. My opinion is that humankind was far worse hundreds of years ago. I believe improvements have occurred and that most people are far less brutish than they were at that time.

So….this idea that there is no hope for positive change is what I don’t agree with at all.

As for prophesy in any religion I pay no attention to it.

And certainly I am well aware that species go extinct and so I do not rule it out for us, however I do not think that we have reached that point of inevitability.

It seems you and WURA are not on the same page on that score.

I don’t claim to have the answer to what will happen in the future. I just don’t believe anybody has.

P.S. Watched a video where the Hopi say they get about 80% of their money from coal. I guess they have no problem hastening our departure?????

28. For the record
    It was me
    that put the word “warmonger” into the public domain
    taken from the hit tune lyrics above
    first heard in notting hill carnival when it was dropped by Aba Shanthi I earth rocker lightning and thunder soundsystem

29. “My opinion is that humankind was far worse hundreds of years ago. I believe improvements have occurred and that most people are far less brutish than they were at that time.”

and some of us believe given our heightened level of intelligence that things can be much, much …or better…..some just cannot settle for mediocre…we are not in “hundreds of years ago” and there are laws in place TODAY to DEMAND much better…

“far less brutish” is relative, it may no longer be a lynching, mutilating and set on fire, but 7 or 8 bullets to the back while stepping into your car to get your children out of a situation….is just as deadly and brutish, am not falling for the pretense and delusion of being more civil in these times, that is a delusion, that never exists when Black people are still being brutally slaughtered right in their homes in many societies…or openly disenfranchised and marginalized in little petty slave societies like Barbados..

better can always be demanded and achieved.

30. David

Well, it seems that only the diehard imf types, like Greenidge, will be sticking to BERT prescriptions

That 11 plus boy will have to wait until his masters give him permission to abandon ship. These 11 plus boys who never learnt to think or develop their own intuition are the biggest problems this country has had.

David, you would fully recall that this writer predicted this precise scenario 2 years ago and at the time when we introduced the possible economic model that the administration was using for BERT management. It was a time when most scribes here were of the view that a SD would make the economic skies fall in. We demurred then while citing the grander problems immediately ahead. We are there now.

What is more important is that the regime in Bridgetown did not think pass BERT and therefore failed to develop redundancies to try to stop the skies from falling. Not that that would have been easy. But as an elected government foresight must be a requirement.

Admittedly, we too can only estimate the most catastrophic economic circumstances, at least in the short run.

31. @Pacha

Underlying many of our economic problems is conspicuous consumption behaviour and lack of national productivity.

32. How convenient your arguments. You ridicule Greenidge for wanting to create a fiscal space, however Professor Howard uses the term in the article and he receives a pass.

33. correction
    The thinking past BERT only involved rosy scenarios.

34. David
    We agree with you on the conspicuous consumption argument.

On produtivity we part ways. For there is no basis on which sustainable productivity can be achieved in Barbados.

35. @Pacha

We are an overly dependent country on services. In the prevailing environment there must be austerity measures to survive. We can debate why we are here now, it does not change the current reality. It is not a binary issue to solve.

36. @Pacha

Why the pessimism? Barbadians emigrate afar and assimilate, work their asses off. Are you suggesting there is an obstacle of cultural nature to wrestle with?

37. David
    Austerity!

Have we not been under austerity measures for the last 12 years? And they have failed spectacularly.

Surely, there must be another marketing term to describe the period ahead. We suggest depression economics.

38. @Pacha

We should have done better in the period to which you refer, there was to pandemic that necessitated a self induced coma.

39. David

No, not at all.

We are suggesting that the policy prescription cubbard is bare. And that we are entering into a place unlike any in recent times. Worse than the great depression by some measures.

40. @Pacha

Who dares to disagree.

41. David

This is not the first nor the last pandemic to strike. We are to expect many more.

What we really have is a recession and a pandemic at the same time.

Be careful of partisans who would want to attribute all causation to Covid.

Maybe they should be explaining how this gpverment so badly missed these events. Even foreseeing the recession alone would have been preparation for both.

42. @Pacha

Even if we proceed on your hypothesis – rational though it is – there is much to regret that as a people we are unable to see the wisdom in parking political agendas to relentlessly search for consensus on key national priorities. We cannot continue to be so blind and resort to the same acrimonious behaviour that has landed us where we are today.

43. David
    We agree, without reservation.

Would you also agree that a necessary requirement for national consensus building, given all the circumstances, would be a fresh general election?

44. David
    BTW, this regime did not badly in this regard earlier on.

45. @Pacha

Wouldn’t having a General Election compare to pouring new wine in old skins?

46. Why the pessimism? Barbadians emigrate afar and assimilate, work their asses off. Are you suggesting there is an obstacle of cultural nature to wrestle with?

@Blogmaster you adopt a fairly narrow view of productivity. It goes beyond the notion of “hard wuk” and speaks to things like processes, structures, agility, reward and more. Optimal productivity in Barbados is extremely difficult to achieve partly because of the longstanding culture of ‘inferior superiors’ as GP would put it. There are simply too many mediocre persons in positions of authority and decision making. We understand there would be these types in any institution. any where but in Barbados the culture of second-rate decision makers has been an ongoing epidemic for a long time. Even worse these persons are often promoted and feted!

47. @Dullard

Hence the reference to cultural issues at play.:

48. David

By their own admission the GoB has said that its own manifesto is irrelevant to these dire circumstances.

This admission suggests that the basis on which it was overwhelmingly elected now represents a fraud.

Therefore, if it is a democracy you say we should have, then there can only be a single corrective. A new general election.

Certianly, consensus cannot be properly constructed on a fraudulent base, could it?

49. @Pacha

An academic view you must admit. Manifesto *promises* (emphasis) by political parties are observed in the breach.

50. David
    Really, academic?
    We have an open admission by a goverment, less than 2 years after an election, about a matter they should have foreseen, afterall it was 5 years that they presented themselves for. Should a new election not be necessary in these cicumstances then we have a situation not dissimilar to FJS going into or pass the 90 days, maybe even worse.

Leave a Reply to TheOGazertsCancel reply