This week a strange development unravelled in the glare of the public. One minister stayed home and one minister went to…

The eagerly anticipated Integrity in Public Life Act 2020 failed to pass the Upper House again. If it did we understand it would have died this week with the prorogation of parliament. If the government is serious about enacting and operationalizing the failed Bill, we HOPE to see it listed on the Order Paper in September 2020 when the House of Assembly resumes after the break. Are we gluttons for receiving punishment from the political class.

What led us to this point civic minded Barbadians want to know? Was the debate designed and orchestrated to fail by hoodwinking independent and opposition Senators or were they willing participants in the show?

It is incomprehensible the government side – led by the experienced Senator Jerome Walcott and member of the kitchen cabinet – was not able to win the support of three Senators. The assumption is that Senator Lucille Moe is onboard with the Bill and not off sulking some where shirking the people’s business. Do we need to remind the political class and so called independents this Bill was recorded in the Chamber for three years before it died in the last session of parliament?

… is that if you have a good bill, then that means it will have support and opposition because the bill will actually do something. Because of this, the bill will require some negotiating and compromise. This means that you should start with the biggest, broadest bill possible because as your bill moves through both houses of the Legislature, you will inevitably have to remove or change some parts of the bill…

CAP.impact

To this blogmaster’s simple way of thinking, enacting integrity legislation is expected to be a contentious undertaking in any place. It follows the citizenry of Barbados expect elected officials in a mature setting to negotiate a final position in the interest of who they were elected to (Rh) serve. We have been trying to pass this type of law since the mid 70s . Our failure to accomplish the task exposes the political class – read Barbados Labour Party (BLP) and Democratic Labour Party (DLP) – as a disingenuous cabal.

How in heavens name can the Minister of Health Jefferey Bostic make a decision out of caution to remain isolated after receiving a negative COVID 19 test AND the Chief Medical Officer (ag) issue a medical clearance to rookie Minister Lisa Cummins to attend the Upper Chamber where the Integrity in Public Life Act 2020 was about to be voted. The minister is the the de facto boss of the CMO for crissakes.

What was the point?

How is it connected?

Minister Lisa Cummins’ apology

Minster Lisa Cummins was instructed to apologize to public criticism. Not the way she wanted to start her tenure as a new minister of government but she appears to be a smart lady and will have to wrestle her conscience if being a politician allows her to the individualist she appears to be.

The blogmaster continues to reflect … if this pandemic does not disrupt what will?

226 responses to “The Fool’s Mate”

1. The early morning shootings continue
    Also COVID is on the rise
    Four more people tested positive
    BU is doing a dam good job keeping the rabbit hole active
    That is ok
    However there are other social media platforms that are actively keeping the ball rolling

2. @ Hal,
    I just read your post about the female footballer. You mentioned that the protocols surrounding visitors are unclear. Barbados, to date, has done reasonably well in containing covid-19. I would be surprised if this protocol was open to misinterpretation. Why the footballer assumed that Barbados would have a relaxed attitude towards the enforcement of their covid-19 protocol rules does not surprise me. This is why Covid-19 is rampant in the UK and should be a warning to the government that the health of the country will be severely exposed with visitors from the UK and the States.

This footballer, as you already know, is a highly intelligent and famous woman in the UK. Let’s give her the benefit of the doubt. What disturbs me is the question of race. Would this woman have been hauled off to the courts if she where white? Famous or not famous. As for publishing this woman’s address? This a complete lack of professionalism and has compromised her safety,

Hopefully, this story will send out a message to our visitors that they will have to respect our laws. However, this story highlights that in Barbados we have a huge problem with race.

3. The Barbados protocols are comprehensive, published and communicated to incoming visitors. The visitor should repeat what she told Barbadians on the ZR she travelled on when she left the hotel. Then again Barbados is a banana republic and failed state. Some of you criticise because of why?

Barbados Travel Protocol

4. I hope the fraud leaders are recognizing that most Bajans are waking up from the lost sheeple ideology, hope they are ready mass awakening…….lol

5. There is a covid Page properly updated and a murder tracker in the sidebar. What is the matter with some you?

6. @TLSN

Have you noticed that the prosecuting sargeant (why do we still have police prosecuting cases?) wanted her remanded in prison? They are beasts,aren’t they?
    You mentioned race and colour, I thought of it but tried to avoid it, giving the local officials the benefit of the doubt. The issue is the bad reporting, putting the woman’s safety at risk.
    @TLSN you say that we have managed CoVid well, and we have, and I congratulate officials for that. I asked what system have we used, the epidemiological model, and was heavily criticised.

7. Persons travelling from High-Risk countries with a valid negative COVID-19 PCR test result will be quarantined at a designated holding hotel or villa at their own expense, or free of charge at a government facility, and will be monitored daily for the onset of symptoms. These persons will be required to take a second COVID-19 PCR test within 7 days after the last test accepted by the Ministry of Health and Wellness. Persons will typically be released once the test result is negative.

8. If your test is positive, you will be transported to an alternative accommodation for isolation, where you’ll stay until you’ve recovered. Upon recovery, you can resume your vacation or you may return home.

9. The position of the Prosecutor must be given context.

Prosecutor Sergeant Vernon Waithe at first objected to bail for Aluko stating that the society had to be protected from her, but Aluko insisted that her test had come back negative.
    The court summoned quarantine facility manager Alvin Hart who confirmed that Aluko’s test was negative and she was cleared to move around without restriction. He said that when she arrived from the United Kingdom, which is considered medium-risk, Aluko had a test result from August 2 which was longer than the required 72 hours prior to travel, so she was tested here.

10. DPD

i am interested in hearing your comments on the release of the nurses, who had the virus, After 8/9 days instead of 14
    and linking it to the minister following protocols and instead of making a personal decision.

To me there is an obvious change in protocols. so the minister decision would have to be personal to continue following the older ones.

11. To be considered exposed to COVID-19, you have to have had close contact with someone with COVID-19. Close contact includes:

Living with a person who has COVID-19
    Providing care for a person who has COVID-19
    Being within 6 feet of a person with COVID-19 for 15 minutes or more, or
    Having exposure to respiratory secretions from a person with COVID-19 (e.g., being coughed or sneezed on, sharing a drinking glass or utensils, kissing)

12. Wouldnt be surprise if this isnt the first time a quarantined person was out and about
    Only this time this person was caught
    Barbados does not have the manpower and resources to police every person placed in quarantine outside govt isolation centre
    Govt continues to pretends as if they have all the answers in treating this virus
    Govt has once again exposed itself to a myraid of inept decisions on this issue if COVID
    What next

13. Good program about the failed integrity bill on the radio today.

Please post further comments abo covid to the covid lage found at the top of t(e page.

14. David
    i wasnt sure if you petticoat comment was aimed at my upp suggestion or was about lisa but as you said to move on i assume its lisa.

I made 2 suggestions to UPP within the last few day so i thought maybe you were trying to pin me to them.

15. “Senators left the chamber on a position of principle and out of concern for their own health. Their exit compromised the ability of the bill to be passed based on numbers, yet the decision was made by the Government benches to advance to a vote when it could have been deferred. In my view, it seemed to create a ripe opportunity to apportion blame to everyone else for the failed outcome. Simply put, the vote should not have taken place on Wednesday, August 5, 2020,” Moore concluded.

(~_~)

Once upon a time certain blogmasters would say what he wanted to say. No beating around the bush or asking rhetorical questions. That was a time when certain politicians wanted certain blogs banned or controlled.

Yuh mean tuh tell me dat he thinks, and Senator Moore confirms what he thinks and he still asking people to explain a “clear as day” paragraph for 5 marks?

Big Man, if you want tuh tell de people dat dem bees did mekking mock sport and wanted the bill to fail, den seh suh nuh! Why you beating round de bush suh sir?

Anyhow, give me my 5 marks. Senator Moore says that the bill was put to a vote when the government senators knew that they did not have the required numbers.
    They would then be able to report to the best and brightest that they tried to get it passed, but the independent senators eff it up and it got to get do over another next time.

16. Very pitiful in the 21st century that backward governments are still glamorizing slave plantations when they were such a challenge for our ancestors to escape them, but Karma is marching steadily on ahead, she is not looking left nor right, onward bound. An African game from Ghana that slaves showed their savvy skills in utilizing as a vehicle of escape from plantations on some islands..

“Well, in the Caribbean, Oware was not just considered a game or sport. When men played Oware, it showed that they collectively engaged their African roots.

In Oware, among the slaves, the counters represented men and the pits represented the various sections of the plantations on which they worked. As they moved the counters from hole to hole, it was a way to communicate the next move in action for the slaves or report the happenings in different sections without uttering a word. They also used Oware as a way to plan, strategize and communicate possible escape routes and plans for the future.”

17. Lisa Cummings went to the airport.
    Eniolo Aluko went to the same airport

Doan get vex David, I just putting white rice in de pot.

18. @Rawbake

Have not seen this moniker for the last two years or so?

The blogmaster will adopt different approaches from time to time. Sometimes it is useful to facilitate discussion.

On the substantive matter, it is unfortunate after three years the Bill would have died on Wednesday. The Bill bounced around the House for 3 years and on the day of voting clause 19 was being amended. There was sufficient time for the leader of government business- who had the benefit of the joint select committee of parliament- to build consensus for the Bill. Contrary to what you have implied the blogmaster has pointed to this in several comments and on this blog.

Here is the thing, nothing prevents you or another boy or girl from making your points on BU.

19. Lisa Cummings in her apology spoke to the stigmatization of COVID people whether negative or positive
    A truth which as gone unnoticed and one which was well demonstrated in Parliament by those ministers who run as far away as possible from her
    All in all that demonstration speaks well to a weakness in govt policy and the way the issue is being handled
    With a great oversight of govt not truly understanding all the other built in fears associated with the virus

20. @Rawbake

PS. BTW no brackets required when posting YouTube links. The technology has moved on LOL

21. And then it is noted that either colonial government would have tried to implement this outright shame and disgrace that is being shared around..everyone is finding out the truth about Barbados’ inactive, unfocused governments, if anyone deserves a swift kick up their mis-educated asses and a very rude awakening it’s those incompetent clueless leaders….

Marijuana Slave Plantations = Modern Day Slavery = Violations of Human Rights..how bout that..

.it only takes one email to be sent to the relevant international agencies….so carry on smartly..

“Barbadian politicians continue to advocate for, and support the tourism industry, disregarding the obvious and proven fact that our great dependence on it, is now proving to be our downfall.

Should a small island state such as Barbados rely on a single industry for its economic stability and progress? Those that are heavily invested in tourism will want to make us believe that no other viable industrial options are open to Barbados. This could not be further from the truth.

The government of Barbados is trying desperately to advance a Medicinal Cannabis Industry, that will be structured within the frameworks of the old sugar plantation and the modern tourism plantation, owned almost exclusively by wealthy white interests.

Barbados has more to offer, and with a population of around 300,000 people, industrial diversity to effect poverty alleviation should not be that difficult. Aloe vera is a plant that is well known to Barbadians. A lot of Barbadians grow Aloe vera at their homes, and have a range of traditional uses for it. However Aloe vera is not on the table for consideration as an industry that could benefit the island greatly.

22. David,
    I still heh tekking it easy. Believe you me 😉 I duz read BU everyday.
    Activism should be a young people thing and since I am now officially a senior, I ain’t got much to say most days.

I ain’t know bout nuh brackets. I was flabbergasted when the video appeared. I just copied and pasted the link. I think it was the embed code though.

So how come the technology moved on and Senators still got tuh call in sick when duh might not be sick, but just sick uh de boss; and others dat ain’t sick, but could be sick; got to run and come work?
    Why duh can’t video conference like in the old time days? Yuh mean we best and brightest ent think bout a Virtual Senate yet or them gine got to change the constitution first?

Still we must ask:
    Why the last minute rush to beat a self-imposed deadline?
    Why shut the shop before the goods truck delivered the goods?
    Building consensus takes lots of hard work and compromise.
    Gully boars doan play dat deh so.

23. People on FB are very serious about this, your criminals in the parliament believe they are going to be allowed to reshape exploitation and oppression against their people to appease their business partners…but we will go to the ends of the earth to see yall dirty asses in prison and no one really cares where they lock your sell out asses up…too many slave laws are still on the statute books and we will get people joining forces with us….because those same stinking slave codes out of Barbados destroyed generations of Black people across the Americas and some Brown people too…

…..don’t mind all the parliamentary games, just dig a little deeper…..that plantation shit that they are reconstructing yall better watch out…..don’t mind the smoke screen and mirrors and game playing in the parliament, start gearing up to do battle with the trash and the dirty minorities…and don’t let them use the EU as any scapegoat, we have to make a living example of the black faces, take them down and destroy their plans…kick them out…

https://scontent.fbgi3-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/117122389_3454002447963847_7902008703751611526_n.jpg?_nc_cat=103&_nc_sid=b9115d&_nc_ohc=Q9jfqih4HJ4AX-N5VvA&_nc_oc=AQmNDjVUprXfN6HEQz11yjGuUZm27WqP6XehXMU4W_WtdEa0IpkA_InxFnyaqsCRaDI&_nc_ht=scontent.fbgi3-1.fna&oh=a6ab4400347dbcab10ddb80ce4589871&oe=5F555E53

24. WURA,

Got an aloes patch right here in my front yard.

But back to the topic.

Dear David,

This government has bungled a lot over the last three years. Maybe they are expecting us to add this to the list.

First we had a finance minister who knew not where to place a decimal point and now we have a leader of government business who cannot do fractions?????

This time though we know that a man cannot become a medical doctor without knowing how much is two thirds.

I will not be accepting any excuses.

By the way – will the bill, whenever it is passed, be retroactive to May 25, 2018 or will persons be given five years to collect the loot and pass go with a get out of jail free card?

Somebody help, help, help!

Signed

Duke Check-ed Shirt wfdobv

25. Anytime an attack is launched on me it’s because they know what they are doing, but when yall asses get chased out of the parliament, ya better don’t head to Africa, because they have already been warned about ya sell out ways…many of us have already connected with our brothers and sisters on the Continent.

26. Donna…the point the dude was trying to make is that Barbados has had decades to make aloe a very successful industry, but we already know that as long as it involves the Black population controlling the industry and generating wealth among themselves that the black faces for governments will never be interested and will go out of their way to stop it…hence everyone grows their own little aloe patch for personal uses, including me..

Now i stopped engaging on Trump about 2 years now because he has way too much more energy than me and i can’t keep up, but sometimes it’s good to listen to him and his round about way of articulating anything which is already controversial , this time his message is very clear in the mix up mix up and the interview was stopped….i am well aware of why he is getting the message out…

“Trump for the history of injustice and inequality forced upon Black Americans, turned into a complete mess of an answer, turned into Trump telling Black people to learn US history or risk “going back to it again.”

MY MESSAGE IS that we have a great country, we have the greatest country on Earth. We have a heritage, we have a history and we should learn from the history, and if you don’t understand your history, you will go back to it again. You will go right back to it. You have to learn. Think of it, you take away that whole era and you’re going to go back to it sometime. People won’t know about it. They’re going to forget about it. It’s okay.”

27. @Donna

Found it interesting government declined the invitation to sit on the VOB panel this morning to discuss the matter. Up to now the government has wanted to represent itself at every dogfight. It suggests they are in defensive mode.

28. @ the Honourable Blogmaster

You surprise de ole man when you said and i quote “… The assumption is that Senator Lucille Moe is onboard with the Bill and not off sulking some where shirking the people’s business…”

What you tink cause dis falling out among friends?

heheheheheheheh

29. De ole man has noted one Raw Bake who posted and I quote

“… Raw Bake August 8, 2020 1:08 PM

I am yet to be convinced that certain blogmasters (nuh name nuh lockup) really wants disruption and change.

Some years ago, his clarion call was for the best and brightest. He got his wish but now wants disruption. Disrupt what? Disrupt who? The political class?

Until certain blogmasters (again no names) go through the archives of BU and get back to the mission.

The disruption he pretends to seek will remain an elusive dream…”

De ole man jes here watching and pondering dese tings as prophets do

30. Mia and her trash minorities have to be removed from Barbados’ landscape, they will no longer be driving any upgraded slave society to continue the captivity of Black people on the island, they can all put THAT in their Marijuana and cocaine pipes and smoke it..

https://youtu.be/6uD7hqml6mw?t=527

31. Take note that neither the Black sellouts from Barbados’ parliament NOR the trash minorities that they SELL OUT their own people to are ever going to be invited…stay in ya lanes, we made sure that you no good lowlifes are well famous on the Continent, ya are known as wannabe slave masters and ya done done how enslavers are WELL HATED THERE……

https://youtu.be/4CA1eAIKLkk?t=140

32. it will be interesting to see who replaces Cheltenham as President of the senate. perhaps Sir George Payne? and whether Cheltenham indeed becomes the acting interim CJ to hand over to his brother in a few months?

33. Saw a Nationnews article yesterday where the Chief Justice post is being advertised for the first time ever…cause Mia done know that she can’t put either of the Cheltenhams nor Haynes there in the Supreme Court without a massive backlash.

34. a massive backlash from who?

35. a massive backlash from whe? {Quote}

The same 10 or so people that does be pun a certain Facebook page talking shyte all day long.

36. @John2 and Dee Word

Interesting to hear David Ellis and his guess on the afternoon talk show explaining a view that the CMO has some questions to answer. It is good to know others are swiping as well.

37. has David grown a pair now? i suppose it is never too late

38. “a massive backlash from who?”

it’s clear that some of you are brain dead and can’t see what is happening in real time, no wonder a bunch of pissy ass nobodies in DBLP for the last 50+ years calling themselves leaders and politicians/lawyers/ministers and the descendants of thieves in the minority community got away with robbing the country for so long and relegating the Black people who did not run to the Diaspora looking to escape, to mere modern day slaves.

39. @Greene

You are new to BU.

40. that is to say what, pray tell?

41. look, woman, just answer the bloody question if you care and stop yuh long winded empty desultory diatribes

42. i just recognise this Lisa Cummins. wasnt she a part of our trade delegation to the US under the DLP? and was recalled? small bloody world. i believe that is her but i may be wrong. if it is her i knew her ex husband well

43. Greene…if something has to be spelt out for you, it’s not worth my time to explain, i stopped that shit on BU a couple years now, suffice it to say that you have not been on BU longer than a couple years, some of us have been for quite a few and am one of those people who love results…and don’t rest until i get it…..nothing long winded about that…

that was not said in french nor spanish, so you should be able to understand….this is not a game.

44. for the love of a straight answer

45. @ Greene

I gine ask you a big favour. Forget bout we lil disagreements and just read the comments on the link below. It gine give yuh an idea bout who yuh really dealing with.

https://barbadosunderground.net/?s=The+anatomy+of+an+election+campaign

46. “for the love of a straight answer.”

that’s so sad then, that the level of exposure has risen way above the heads of many…if we were depending on yall to get the requisite changes started, we would be shit outta luck and right back where we started when Keltruth, BFP and BU started over 15 YEAR AGO….but, people who actually know what they are doing got on board and most of you got lost along the way…which is a damn good thing, must shed the DEAD WEIGHT.

no one has the time Greene…

Leave a Reply to GPCancel reply