ˌCabinet reˈshuffle noun  –  a change in the members of the British Cabinetdecided by the prime minister, in which some members are given different jobs, some members lose their jobs, and new members are brought in.

Longman

The Mottley cabinet reshuffle has generated tanta debate in the country. This is not surprising given her decision to appoint a 26 strong Cabinet supported by a bevy of parliamentary secretaries and consultants said to be the largest anywhere in the world per thousand of population.

Civic minded citizens appreciate the importance of a vibrant opposition within the parliamentary setup AND The Third Estate. Unfortunately the culture of local parliamentary politics has not morphed to a level of maturity to witness routine voting that challenges the front bench. Members of parliament – like puppets on a string – happily discharge parliamentary duties by parroting the positions of the front benchers. How refreshing it would be in the current configuration of the Lower House to have backbenchers voting and contributing based on conscience. Wishful thinking from the blogmaster because Prime Minister Mottley removed that possibility by selecting 26 ministers that she recently reduced to 24.

What informs the decision by a prime minister to reshuffle a cabinet is left to speculation. All the opinions expressed as to Mottley’s motive for the changes to her cabinet remain just that, opinions. That is unless she sees good reason to disclose her reasons to the public and how would we know she is not being politically diplomatic given the nature of the blood sport?

At a glance the reshuffle leaves the blogmaster to speculate about a few things supported by a little research.

Prime Minister Mottley for the moment regards Ministers Jerome Walcott, Dale Marshall, Santia Bradshaw and Jeffery Bostic, Cynthia Forde and possibly Ronald Toppin as the nucleus of her Cabinet. It is important as leader for stability be maintained in the Cabinet room and by extension the government.

The reshuffle was possibly to accommodate Lisa Cummins and Ian Gooding-Edghill who demonstrated competence and high work effort. The inclusion of the two is meant to infuse Cabinet with greater energy to match that of prime minister Mottley at a challenging period of the countries existence. There is the speculation Cummins is also being given the opportunity to raise her national profile with an eye to 2023.

The government has not yet implemented Integrity in Public Life (Bill) although the law was passed recently. It has to be operationalized. The devil is always in the detail (execution). By shuffling ministers around it serves to upset relationships, destabilized fledgling power structures that may have taken root after two years. Until the integrity in public life apparatus is implemented the prime minister has the option given the large MP pool to use the reshuffle option in the toolbox to suppress corrupt behaviour.

In June when the large cabinet was selected the prime minister would have based her decision for the most part on potential. After two years she is in a position to match potential with performance. It is an opportunity for Prime Minster Mottley to FIRE a couple ministers under the cloak of a reshuffle. If Trevor Prescod wants to make a fuss about a prime minister exercising the prerogative to relieve him of his ministry the blogmaster sees the upside, a more active bank bench which is integral to adversarial politics in the system we try to practicee. Some of us maybe encouraged to tune in to debates in the Lower House.

Those ministers who escaped the reshuffle should not feel they operate in a safe zone. Mottley is aware her large cabinet will be a platform issue in the upcoming general election. She will have to do another assessment before she rings the bell to determine if she can defend the position that she needed a large Cabinet to get a difficult job done. If the answer is no, she will jettison a few more.

The 64k question for the BU intelligentsia- which bucket does Prescod, Payne, Hinkson or Moe fit? Bear in mind it is speculative because with the exception of a couple BU commenters, we do not live in the head of Mia Mottley.

178 responses to “The Mottley Shuffle”

1. Well it look like the royal prerogative powers of the reshuffle were exercised by the ‘white shadows’ and Mia was only the messenger. Yet some people keep calling it a democratic political system.

2. Donna…since the 1970s, that is as far back as i have cognizant memories of these parasites, still a then teenager, they spew the same stupidity every election cycle when they have their inhouse fighting and petty grievances, right up until the time they kiss and make up again, then we never hear anything bout “white shadows” and discrimination against the people ever again, because parliamentary kinship was restored…

….just like Abrahams bringing the same lies to the people of St. John who were so fed up he is lucky one of them did not slap the shit out of him for his dishonesty, they insult the intelligence of the people so much with their derogatory behaviors that they do not even bother to create new lies and deceptions….they use the same templates of deception from 40 years ago, too lazy to even upgrade..

did Arthur not fire Liz Thompson, can’t remember if it was more than once, but it did not take long for them to appear in public as a “married” couple again, holding each other’s dirty secrets closer to their chests….the people lost again……

3. @Tee White

How do you know? Did you look into a crystal ball?

4. @Greene

May be now is the time to put party biases aside and read the runes. The discussion is nothing about Prescod or any other sacked minister; it is about how the president rules and the powers behind the throne.
    I will give you an example. I was once sitting in the gallery of a Barbadian when he got a call from a permanent secretary arranging to visit his home the following day, where, no doubt, she was going to disclose government business before she had with her own minister. That is how Barbados is ruled.
    We can either come on an insignificant blog and get cheap laughs, then go off to the rum shop and drink and eat fishcakes, or we can take the future of the nation seriously.
    It is in the interest of the ruling political elite and the business class to keep the people in ignorance. Let the b right and ambitious train to be lawyers then go in to courts in their robes and defend petty criminals then imagine they have arrived.
    The alternative is too frightening to contemplate – social upheaval, a clash between working class police and BDF and their cousins, uncles, sons, daughters, neighbours, and former school colleagues. That is the game plan, a working class divided by uniforms.
    Do you honestly think Mottley has a real interest in working class Barbadians?
    Our media and the mock media, such as BU, have failed. Remember when Mottley came off her sick bed and appointed her CoVid economic council? No members were announced, but eight sub-committees were appointed each with a chairman and a given task and given four weeks to report.
    Since then, sadly, Owen Arthur the man given the task of creating jobs, has died; months have passed, and no report has been published. Nor, shamefully, the media has not asked when it is going to be published.
    We conspire in the waffle. The president got more comments on BU about giving an interview to Amanpour on CNN, one to the BBC and another to cheap daytime tabloid UK television than she has got on her CoVid policies.
    Instead of policies, we got a reshuffle that the predators seem to think was done at a ‘whim’ and that she had the constitutional power (this from an experienced lawyer and former politician) to do. Who is surprised the debate on BU has taken the course that it has. It is the norm in this virtual rum shop.
    Barbados is not only a failed state, it is a nation of Plato’s one-eyed people, they are in the dark cave looking in and believe the world is a dark place, not realising the light is behind them. But, they just do not have the confidence to turn around.
    It will end in tears.

5. @Tron

“emigration rolls out and we get rid of the worst boarders.”

Thank God most countries borders are CLOSED, nice try though to export your problem, civil servants, criminals & politicians.

6. @ Donna

Was Trevor Prescod blinded by those ‘white shadows’ when he was in Cabinet and felt COMFORTABLE in their presence or is he disgruntled having regained his sight now he’s out?

Or, perhaps “white shadows” is just rhetoric used by Pan Africanists to gain sympathy?

But, if you really want to know who are these “white shadows,” perhaps we should ask Mr. Greene. He seems to be of the ‘old time,’ mistaken belief white people ONLY support the BLP.

Additionally, I remember Mr. Skinner ‘saying’ as the next general election approaches, the BLP will sacrifice a few of its members to make way for a DLP presence in Parliament. Is the script being followed?

We all know Neil Rowe is a weak, pompous, one-term candidate who, if not for the ‘swing,’ wouldn’t have beaten Sinckler.

I’m surprised at the ‘out pouring of sympathy’ for Geroge Payne, especially when people expressed dissatisfaction with him being appointed to Cabinet, after BU highlighted his ‘deeds’ in ‘Lawyers in the News.’

At the Emancipation Walk on August 1st, Prescod was reported as having said wherever he goes, whether it is “BLP, DLP” he will always be the servant of the people of Barbados. He said whoever wants him, must “take it, or leave it as I am.”

I note with interest Prescod DID NOT mentioned anything about PdP, Solutions Barbados or even UPP…… he said “BLP, DLP.” Or as Mr. Skinner would ‘say,’ ‘the BDLP duopoly.”

At the end of the day, Prescod’s and Payne’s performance was just part of the ‘show’ to appease the audience (constituents). If those gentlemen actually felt aggrieved, they should have resigned from the BLP and either join Atherley’s Opposition PdP or, similarly to Owen Arthur, remain in Parliament as independent representatives.

And, since I mentioned PdP. I recall Joseph Atherley expressing sentiments similar to those now being expressed by Payne and Prescod, when he was not included in Mottley’s first Cabinet. Atherley ‘crossed the floor’ to become Opposition Leader and there wasn’t anyone from the ‘old guard’ that stood in solidarity with him. The guys got ministries, so ‘to hell’ with Atherley.

7. Everyone trying to make political calculations about Payne’s and Prescod’s removal but they are overlooking the salient human emotional need for revenge of which it is said to be “a dish best served cold”.

Payne was the leader of the faction that took the leadership of the parliamentary group away from Mia (never mind Dale, he is a follower not a leader) and it takes a more magnanimous leader than Mia to accept such public humiliation, the dish was served up in that phone call. Unlike Freundel who governed with a razor thin majority Mia has the luxury of firing Ministers and all they can do is sulk publicly or fume privately.

In a move that could make Machiavelli proud, the PM took out her good friend the Senator (people could say its not personal), then an unknown and unheralded Parl. Sec. an underperforming Minister (Hinkson) a gaffe prone Minister Prescod and the big kahuna Payne. In that way she could satisfy her detractors who constantly complain about the size of the Cabinet and achieve her objective.

The shuffle will soon be yesterday’s news and we will be focusing on the many issues that beset the country.

Many hands make light work

8. William Skinner Avatar

@ Hal
    My brother, Comrade Prescod has said he would not be silenced. As for the back and forth going on here now ; all that happening is that people I consider to be extremely intelligent, getting involved in petty arguments with the BLP apologists. And I enjoying the friendly fire. Like the blogmaster says: Why would Mottley need Prescod if she got Commissiong . Now brother Hal if you dont understand that statement, I politiely suggest you missing the boat…………..

9. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

George Payne was and will remain waste that Mottley sought to recycle. He is part of the piss poor brigade that is only good for controversy and confrontation. There is nothing to shout about when it comes to that Payne and his contribution to the improvement of things in Barbados. Glad is Skunt he gone! However, I take issue with Mottley for keeping the other recyclables in the form of Marshall, Duguid and Cynthia Forde. There is no need to base your decisions on loyalty anymore, Madam First. Barbados has long gone past that optic now that the island finds itself in Shite street. Performance must outweigh Privilege and any aspiring politician who thinks he has arrived and got it made when becoming part of the government, must think again when he underperforms and his ministry is tied up in financial controversies. The Privilege to serve as a sitting matter must not translate into a talk shop but a workshop. It is common knowledge that Barbados has very little for each Ministry to work with but that does not mean that things cannot be done. Georgie found all sorts of excuses, just like Prescod provided insight to the White shadows that run Barbados. Both seem prepared to talk out of the corner of their mouths now that they have been tossed aside. I wonder what goodies gine fall off the back of a truck to raise problems in Camp – Change Mia. I got to say though, I like the Mia Moves. But, keeping Dale Marshall, Cynthia Forde, William Duguid regardless of their pooch licking is a joke if Mottley is serious of changing the political landscape towards the greater good. Let these braying mules go as well. There is nothing to shout about them barren loyalty.

10. Artax,

quote] But, if you really want to know who are these “white shadows,” perhaps we should ask Mr. Greene. He seems to be of the ‘old time,’ mistaken belief white people ONLY support the BLP. [unquote

i have no issue with our arguments. at least not from you. but if you are referencing what i have said please do it correctly. i made no such statements. How could you so believe when in fact i have employed many times MAMA MIA’s statements about Maloney and his relationship with the DLP?

and i am on record as saying that whites in Bim must openly participate in our elections. time for a few of them to run. i would mind having a few run for the DLP. that goes for Indians and Syrians too. they live in Bim. they have businesses. they should participate. eventually everything comes to light.

11. @Greene

You are right. In the long-term interest of Barbados, traditional black and white Barbadians must reach a settlement. No settlement, no peace.
    I was told by a white Barbadian professional that he would like to stand for parliament but he felt black voters would not vote for him. I tried to persuade him to stand.
    But parliament is not the only way to serve; it is not our top debating chamber, nor does it attract the brightest and the best. There are other ways of contribution to the improvement of society. They must find a way.
    In the meantime, keep your eyes on the prize.

12. “Why would Mottley need Prescod if she got Commissiong . ”

the problem with that is that tens of thousands of taxpayer’s dollars were misused to pay them all in the last 2 years with perks…it IS NOT MIA’S MONEY…as they all tend to believe.

13. “but if you are referencing what i have said please do it correctly. i made no such statements.”

@ Mr. Greene

My opinion was based on your following comment as well as SIMILAR ‘pronouncements’ you’ve made on several occasions previously.

Greene August 5, 2020 6:53 AM #: “BTW- the white shadows NO LONGER LINGER in the DARK they are OUT and ABOUT NOW the BLP is IN power.”

I believed I interpreted your comments appropriately. Or, perhaps, you’re willing to clarify.

14. The BLIVUK got me confused with his questioning of the constitutionality of the reshuffle. I have seen on tv, Cabinet ministers in the land of the expert walk into the PM’s office and come out retained, relieved or reassigned. The PM gives no justification…none! So is the UK a failed state too? Dr.Rowley in Trinidad & Tobago is at the end of his first term, he reshuffled his Cabinet at least 4 times. The first was a year after being elected (2 senior ministers were relieved) and more recently in December 2019. Here is one of the reasons for a reshuffle outlined by the Institute of Government:

Cabinet and party management – The appointment and dismissal of ministers is an important part of a prime minister’s power. Through their patronage, they can reward loyalty and punish dissent, build alliances, and manage their party by making sure all the factions within it feel represented in government.

I am not suggesting this is the reason for the reshuffle; but just to reiterate the power prime ministers have when it comes to Cabinet appointments in the land of the expert and Barbados. Prescod believes ‘white shadows’ led to his removal and GP says he is upset at the manner. 🤣 All of a sudden the reduction of a Cabinet deemed incompetent and too large needs justification, simply because a comrade lost a pick. Anybody recall the first set ah ‘white shadows’?🤣

In relation to the Job and Investment Council, did the PM not say that “Parliament will be prorogued on August 8 and resume with a new session on September 15 with a new throne speech which will address the government’s direction going forward”? Was it not in the newspaper that in addition to the late PM and Sinckler, Senator John Rogers, Dodridge Millar, Prof Eudine Barriteau etc more would chair the individual committees? Not listing ALL the individual committee members is failed state behaviour? Geez, read more before spewing garbage. Stupse!

15. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

David…again an unwanted dload issue: ‘bn_manley_mn_03.pdf’ is the listed name.

Not sure if it’s on this blog specifically but please disable that file ideally. Much thanks.

16. @Artax,

i have made too many comments about MAMA MIA being hypocritical about the supposedly seedy relationship between Maloney and the DLP to be consumed by that.

Carry on smartly

17. @Hal,

i must confess that having lived in the uk and having interacted closely with Whites i find bajan Whites intriguing.

deliberately i have engaged a few of them especially when i was looking for land to buy. as expected they are just like black bajans. same eating habits, same language and same likes and dislikes. the thing is some of them know more bim history than most blacks especially about land ownership as can be expected.

i dont find many racist. i know i will be criticized here but let me explain. i think they are afraid. i think they believe that black bajans will curse at them and accuse them of slavery and all the attendant issues. because of that, i think over the years they have retreated so far into their enclaves and narrow social life that they dont know how to interact with black bajans beyond who work for them and whom they know socially, who are few and far between. and believe me they are not all rich like we seem to think. many are tho- v rich too. and many have outside black children who they love to brag about

i met a few who worked in certain fields in Canada mostly and would have like to work in the same areas in Bim but would not because they fear the backlash from their own and black bajans. i feel sorry for many because it is not right to live in fear in your own land. yes it is their land just like it is black bajan land if not more so.

i talked to one who can wax lyrically about the Dipper. he knew more about Barrow than many people i know. was quite a revelation. he gave Barrow more credit than any other politician which had me on the back foot until he explained. it was personal. beautiful story actually.

that is why i often advocate for them to come out and participate in every aspect of bajan life. the ones that i met are as funny and ignorant as any bajan and have a lot to offer.

mate, i agree with you, this is 2020. time for all Bim to come together and stop fearing one another. amazing how we will realise we are not so different.

18. @ Enuff August 5, 2020 10:40 AM

I once heard that you can see white shadows when you drink too much white rum…

The opposition on BU is once again showing its true, destructive colours. First they demand the reduction of the cabinet and now they criticize exactly this reduction with racist conspiracy theories.

The fact is that our government is doing many things right now. Wages are down, which means we are becoming competitive again. The national budget is in best condition because our government is spending money very cautiously. Barbados has an excellent COVID19 management – in contrast to the hellholes in the North. And most importantly, our leader Mia Mottley has corrected Barrow’s historic mistake of tailoring CARICOM policy to ethnicity. As a thank you, Barbados is therefore receiving preferential treatment from Prince Ali in Georgetown. So we can hope for investments from Guyana.

19. @ Greene

You are right. A lot of the white social isolation is because of fear. That is why they arm themselves. The other outcome of the political marginalisation is working through the backdoor to influence policy. The system has created its own monster.
    You are also right about the culture. I think both black and white Bajans will be surprised if they realised how similar they are in social habits and political views. It is the Barbadian Condition.
    Years ago I worked with an English guy who was married to a white Bajan woman; her parents came over to visit and one morning he came in to work with a wide grin on his face. He thought it funny that they talked like me.
    On another occasion my line managers at the FT went to cricket at Lord’s and sat near to the late Donville Johnson, then deputy high commissioner. They introduced themselves to him. They came back to the office saying they met someone who talked like me.
    Their business practices and ethics are also similar. I was once interested in a property being sold by a white Bajan called Mr Pile. I got a survey done and he rang up the people and asked for a copy, as Bajans say, behind my back. They have more in common than they think.
    The other thing is that there are about 10000 white Bajans in the UK,, most of them in London and the South East. How many have you met?
    They usually come out for talks about land. Some years ago Mr Forde, from the Land tax department, gave a wonderful speech at the high commission. Immediately it finished they vanished. No fish cakes, no rum and cokes, no sweet bread, no socialising.
    You must remind me to tell you about white English, black Africans and black Caribbeans. An interesting tale.

20. Many comments in this forum remind me more and more of the USA and Zimbabwe. There ignorant racists are also trying to distract from their own incompetence.

One time these racists are white, another time black. But basically they are the same breed of people.

21. One more word about Big Sinck’s constituency. The BLP would need a challenged person for this constituency in order to address the same group of voters as Big Sinck, that is, lazybones, criminals and people with weak minds.

22. Many on BU have been upset about the oversized cabinet. Perhaps they now understand our leader Mia Mottley’s initial motives for the large size, after a former minister has revealed himself to be a dangerous racist who threatens Barbadian citizens.

Our DPP must finally act and indict Presscott for incitement to racial hatred, rebellion against the government and treason.

Enough is enough.

23. Amazing how some people commenting here live overseas, hardly travel back to Barbados and give themselves license to speak negatively about Barbaos 24/7.

Steuspe

24. Some uh wunna are blasted idiots. Getting caught up with the mouthings uh political corpses. Wuh wrong wid wunna? White shadows an all dat shyte. I won duh if my boy Pressie really examine de fate uh he former boss who pioneer de phrase. Wealthy white businesspeople are gine to come down and exert pressure pun Mottley tuh fire Pressie? Gimme a RH break. Pressie is well known to be like dat and Dey always got one, used to be Caddle den Blackman and in recent years he. Dey tolerate folks like him and he get a middle ministry but his personality always mean he gone be insignificant. De white shadows got bigguh fish to fry yuh. Georgie get he comeuppance.

As to Markie M. De Dee ELL Pee give Butch, CUL, Markie gold frankincense and myrrh and de sun and de moon too. De Dems lie down, invite dem people in and get d*ggie pour into de backside uh dis country. Mottley onstan dat Markie is a big economic players and yuh cahn get rid uh people suh big. But she ent lettin he do as he feel. Wid de same Hyatt she mekkin he do all kinda tings and mek all kinda concessions. De Dems say do wuh yuh wan. Mia say you is a business fella, you and yuh workers must live, dat is de nature uh life but yuh cahn do as yuh feel like. Dat is de difference between Mottley and dem bandits dat Greene in luv wid. So he need to shut up bout mark because he ent mekkin nuh sense. But den again de last Dem who did mek any sense was Talma, so yuh cahn have tuh much high hopes.

25. The blogmaster listened carefully to Prescod’s mouthings in parliament yesterday. He said he did nothing wrong. Does a minister have to do anything wrong to be dismissed from Cabinet?

He said when there was nothing to do in the office he would visit the SSA and other departments in his ministry to dance with workers etc. the blogmaster is unaware of many jobs where there is ever not anything to do.

26. “i think they believe that black bajans will curse at them and accuse them of slavery and all the attendant issues.”

what kind of fcked up excuse is that,the redlegs etc who were brought to the Caribbean ultimately became the slave patrol and some of you either don’t or are pretending that you don’t know but they were not exactly treated like princes by the UK either way they were free to leave and go where ever after 5 or 7 years or so, it was more of a prison camp…..and Black people had nothing to do with that, so i don’t know where some of them and the foreign whites somehow believe they own slaves.

yall old brainwashed negros really need to sit down..

27. It is in the interest of the ruling political elite and the business class to keep the people in ignorance. Let the b right and ambitious train to be lawyers then go in to courts in their robes and defend petty criminals then imagine they have arrived.
    The alternative is too frightening to contemplate – social upheaval, a clash between working class police and BDF and their cousins, uncles, sons, daughters, neighbours, and former school colleagues. That is the game plan, a working class divided by uniforms.
    Do you honestly think Mottley has a real interest in working class Barbadians?
    Our media and the mock media, such as BU, have failed. Remember when Mottley came off her sick bed and appointed her CoVid economic council? No members were announced, but eight sub-committees were appointed each with a chairman and a given task and given four weeks to report.
    Since then, sadly, Owen Arthur the man given the task of creating jobs, has died; months have passed, and no report has been published. Nor, shamefully, the media has not asked when it is going to be published.
    We conspire in the waffle. The president got more comments on BU about giving an interview to Amanpour on CNN, one to the BBC and another to cheap daytime tabloid UK television than she has got on her CoVid policies.
    Instead of policies, we got a reshuffle that the predators seem to think was done at a ‘whim’ and that she had the constitutional power (this from an experienced lawyer and former politician) to do. Who is surprised the debate on BU has taken the course that it has. It is the norm in this virtual rum shop.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

NOW YOU SEE WHY THEY COME ON BU TO TRY TO GET RID OF YOU WHILST CURSING YOU OUT ALL THE WHILE TRYING TO DESTROY YOUR CREDIBILITY..

YOU MUST LEARN TO STOP TELLING THE TRUTH SO THAT THEY CAN CONTINUE THE DECEPTION AND KEEPING IN LINE THE BLACK BAJAN MASSES.

OF LATE @greene HAS ALSO BEEN SHINING THE SPOT LIGHT ON TRUTH AND SEE HOW HE HAS BEEN ATTACKED AND CHALLENGED BY THE SAME DEMONS THAT WANT TO KEEP THEIR OWN BLACK PEOPLE IN MENTAL SLAVERY LIKE CRABS IN THE BUCKET.

ALL BECAUSE THEY AND THEIR BLP BENEFACTORS CAN CONTINUE THEIR CROOKED SCHEMES TO HOODWINK AND ROB BLACK BAJAN MASSES.

TOO MANY BLACK BAJANS ARE THEIR WORST ENEMY.

28. Things hot in the Senate.

29. Senators Franklyn and Taitt have forced the adjournment of the Upper House by protesting the attendance of Minister Lisa Cummins after 5 days of isolation. She was given the all clear by the CMO (ag)

30. Very hot David!🤣🤣

31. @ David,

more procedural issues haunting the BLP. when will they learn

32. @Greene

Explain how it is a procedural issue?

33. This debate tells me a lot though. We waan go heaven but……..

34. @enuff

It is a simple issue to solve. Accept the gold standard for the number of days for the virus to show, which is what the CMO has done OR accept what members are comfortable with doing. Put it to a secret ballot.

35. notwithstanding the clearance from the CMO, whats is the procedural for a person who has been in the physical distance of a person tested positive with COVID? If it isnt an issue why did the senate adjourn on that point?

36. I don’t mean Cummins Gate. I am referring to the IL debate.

37. If you present a medical certificate to your employer this is the accepted in work places. That said carona is a novel situation.

38. Senator Cummins was allowed to enter the Chamber which triggered a mass exodus by Senators.

39. And she slaughtered them!!🤣🤣🤣🤣

40. Saw George Payne on social media, looking fit as a fiddle. I believe that both of George’s parents lived past the age of 85, so i well expect that he will be with us for a long, long, long time yet. Indeed he may well “bury” many of the current political class.

So tek it easy Georgie.

41. @David,

Mass exodus? lol. so yuh mean even her BLP colleagues abandoned her?

42. No, the opposition and and couple independents. Looks like only Toni Moore and Rogers remained according to press report.

43. man, politics can be fun sometimes lol

44. Artax,

Prescod is just embarassed. I don’t expect we’ll hear anything more from him. Just a little huff with very little puff.

Greene,

The white folk have boxed themselves into their little corner. It is their own damned fault. It wasn’t the blacks who withdrew to the tennis courts at Q.C EVERY BREAK AND LUNCH TIME. They chose to separate themselves.

And they know damned well that if they behaved differently most black Bajans would have no beef with them. Nobody wants any revenge.

P.S. I must object most vociferously to the idea that it is possibly more their country than ours. Weren’t our ancestors the ones who worked for free????

You want to paint these people as victims?????? They are only victims of their own lack of foresight!

45. (Quote):
    i dont find many racist. i know i will be criticized here but let me explain. i think they are afraid. i think they believe that black bajans will curse at them and accuse them of slavery and all the attendant issues. because of that, i think over the years they have retreated so far into their enclaves and narrow social life that they dont know how to interact with black bajans beyond who work for them and whom they know socially, who are few and far between. and believe me they are not all rich like we seem to think. many are tho- v rich too. and many have outside black children who they love to brag about..(Unquote).
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

LOL!!
    Greenie, that’s the biggest joke told on Bu for a long time!

Bajan white people afraid of Bajan blacks??? You have this thing in reverse.

Black Bajans adore their white ‘superiors’ both culturally and economically.

Have you ever seen how Bajan blacks ‘behave themselves’ in the presence of their white bosses as they display their inherently subservient social traits?

Why do you think the current administration ‘succumbed’ to the decision to relocate the statue of the racist Nelson only after getting the go-ahead from one of the local grandees of the ‘passing-for-white’ financial interests.

Bajan white people have Bajan blacks down pat especially after the fears of Independence were allayed.

Even with the disappearance of the old white-controlled conglomerates like the BS&T, why do you think the likes of the Williams Bros and Mal money can still call the shots; both politically and financially?

However the Bajan whites are a fast disappearing species.
    It is those from East Indian and Middle Eastern ancestry who will be the new bosses of the blacks to replace the erstwhile Bajan white masters.

46. @Donna,

this blog has a way of interpreting things that is mind boggling. i dont think anything i wrote there can be construed or in this case misconstrued to be interpreted as “You want to paint these people as victims???” with or without the question mark. yes if they fear, it is of their own belief. i have said as much.

i have lived as a minority for a good part of my life and it is not good to feel fear or marginalisation even if it is of your own making

if you are referring to this bit, ” i feel sorry for many because it is not right to live in fear in your own land. yes it is their land just like it is black bajan land if not more so.” the “if not more so” simply they or some iteration of white people were here before any African slaves that they brought to Bim.

Sheesh Donna

47. @ Greene August 5, 2020 12:46 PM

Good observation. Even in the gated communities, the white long-established Barbadians hardly show themselves – in contrast to the white Americans, British and other expats, who have no fear of contact with the native population. Perhaps it is the same with the white Barbadians as with the Hobbits from the Shire or the Dwarves in the Misty Mountains …You used to see them, and eventually they’re just legends.

@ Miller August 5, 2020 5:14 PM

Guyana is back! I hear Mia and Prince Ali are best friends now. So expect big investments in Barbados – of course on the terms of the Guyanese. Also have Surinam in mind, another new El Dorado.

There will come a time when we will wish the Williams brothers back as patriarchs! The new gentlemen from Guyana and Surinam know NO MERCY.

48. Why is the quality of our parliamentary debate so poor?

49. @Miller,

that is how i used to see it too, until i engaged with them. v reluctant at first and guarded until they realised i didnt want anything. like bajan blacks behave. then once we talk you can see the relief that can talk freely in their voices, so to speak.

i place the blame squarely on them. you cannot retreat in your enclaves and expect to be accepted fully, if that is what they want and i think it is. you must be free to live the life you want. they must make effort to re engage and come into the light. darkness breeds fear, yes. the fear i am talking about is a verbal and physical one, not economic. in that regard they have nothing to fear lol

and you are right the Indians and Syrians are a different story. Hal does a good job of cautioning us about that.

man, you people have me defending what i thought was a rather benign side topic

50. @Hal,

the quality of political debate all over the world is beyond. i know you have listened to the Commons and save for a few it is bollocks. and dont talk about the yanks?

Bim has been poor rakey for years since the early 80s. there was a time when people used to attend political meetings to hear a clever turn of phrase or a new word or a novel thought. now our politicians can barely form a sentence or speak proper english, mind you, i didnt say accented english.

Leave a Reply to GreeneCancel reply